Company News

Sony Movie Channel Gets Into The Halloween Spirit With Themed Films Leading Up To And Celebrating All Hallows Eve

Sony Pictures Television - 09/30/2013

CULVER CITY, Calif., Sept. 30, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Sony Movie Channel will have many sweet treats for movie fans in its October lineup with spooky, scary and campy Halloween-themed films as well as sci-fi classics and milestone anniversaries.

Continuing the tradition of showcasing some of the prestigious films in the history of the Industry, the movie channel will commemorate many special anniversaries including those of Oscar® classics THE WAY WE WERE, which premiered 40 years ago and THE AGE OF INNOCENCE, which hit theaters 20 years ago.

The month of October, featuring 75 films, 41 of which are making their debuts on the network, kicks its special events off with the 20th anniversary of THE AGE OF INNOCENCE on Tuesday, October 1 at 10 p.m. ET /7 p.m. PT.  In this award-winning drama director Martin Scorsese takes us back to 1870s New York and tells the tale of a wealthy aristocrat (Daniel Day-Lewis), who is torn between two women (Michelle Pfeiffer and Winona Ryder) and two worlds. 

The centerpiece of the month, however, is the 40th anniversary of the 1973 Sydney Pollack classic, THE WAY WE WERE, which will be shown at 10 p.m. ET/ 7p.m. PT on Wednesday, October 16.  Set against the backdrop of World War II and McCarthyism, the love story focuses on a diametrically opposed couple (Barbra Streisand and Robert Redford) who cross religious and political lines to be together.  Marvin Hamlisch's music for the feature won Academy Awards for Best Original Dramatic Score and Best Original Song ("The Way We Were.").

And not be forgotten, on Friday, October 11, SMC is celebrating the 30th anniversaries of sci-fi cult classics from 1983 – KRULL at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT, YOR, THE HUNTER FROM THE FUTURE at 10 p.m. ET / 7p.m. PT and SPACEHUNTER: ADVENTURES IN THE FORBIDDEN ZONE at 11:35 p.m. ET / 8:35 p.m. PT.

THE HALLOWEEN SCENE

The hit-packed month culminates with a celebration of Halloween with a week of programming, including horror dramas on October 31.  At 10 p.m. ET /7p.m. PT, grab that leftover candy and a seat on the sofa to enjoy WOLF, the Mike Nichols horror film that follows a publishing house editor-in-chief in Vermont (Jack Nicholson), who is bitten by a wolf and goes through drastic physical and psychological changes. At 12:15 a.m. ET / 9:15 pm. PT (November 1), Sting and Jennifer Beal star in THE BRIDE, a romantic take on the legend of Frankenstein. Other Halloween programming includes a night of horror sequels on Friday, October 25 showcasing HOSTEL: PART III at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT, THE GRUDGE 3 at 11:35 p.m. ET / 8:35 p.m. PT and MESSENGERS 2: THE SCARECROW at 1:15 a.m. ET / 10:15 p.m. PT. (October 26). The theme week continues on Monday, October 28 with vampire movies RISE: BLOOD HUNTER at 10 p.m. ET / 7p.m. PT, followed by THE BREED at 11:45 p.m. ET / 8:45 p.m. PTWednesday, October 30 brings campy Hollywood horror with THE CREEPING FLESH at 10 p.m.  ET / 7p.m. PT, A REFLECTION OF FEAR at 11:40 p.m. ET /8:40 p.m. PT and THE BROTHERHOOD OF SATAN at 1:15 a.m. ET (October 31) / 10:15 p.m. PT.

HOW THE WEST WAS WATCHED

In addition to the 30th anniversary films, Jack Nicholson double bill and horror sequels, the Friday Feature lineup will also include modern westerns. On Friday, October 4, the film THE QUICK AND THE DEAD (1995) will be shown at 10 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. PT. The picture, directed by Sam Raimi, stars Sharon Stone, Gene Hackman, Russell Crowe and Leonardo DiCaprio and focuses on "The Lady" (Stone), a gunfighter who rides into the 1878 western town of Redemption, controlled by the ruthless John Herod (Hackman). The Lady joins a deadly dueling competition in an attempt to exact revenge for her father's death. THE QUICK AND THE DEAD will be followed at 11:50 p.m. ET/8:50 p.m. PT, by SILVERADO (1985), featuring an ensemble cast including Kevin Kline, Scott Glennon, Danny Glover, Kevin Costner, John Cleese, Jeff Goldblum, Linda Hunt and Brian Dennehy.

Other Western-themed titles airing on Sony Movie Channel this month include THREE HOURS TO KILL, HANGMAN'S KNOT, GERONIMO: AN AMERICAN LEGEND, BROKEN TRAIL, LEGENDS OF THE FALL, A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT, THE BALLAD OF LUCY WHIPPLE and the 1972 cult classic DIRTY LITTLE BILLY.

STAR STUDDED NIGHTS

-Demi Moore Marathon – Sunday, Oct. 20 -  NO SMALL AFFAIR at 6:10 p.m. ET / 3:10 p.m. PT; ST. ELMO'S FIRE at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT, ABOUT LAST NIGHT at 10 p.m. ET| 7p.m. PT and MORTAL THOUGHTS at midnight ET /9 p.m. PT
-Jack Nicholson NightFriday, Oct. 18 - FIVE EASY PIECES at 10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT and EASY RIDER at 11:45 p.m. ET / 8:45 p.m. PT.
-Kim Basinger Films – Tuesday, Oct. 15BLIND DATE at 10 pm. ET/ 7 p.m. PT and NADINE at 11:40 p.m. ET/ 8:40 p.m. PT.
-Carmen Electra Features – Tuesday, Oct. 22MARDI GRAS: SPRING BREAK at 10 pm. ET/ 7 p.m. PT and MATING HABITS OF THE EARTHBOUND HUMAN at 11:35 p.m. ET/ 8:35 p.m. PT.

For a complete schedule of films and times, visit www.Sonymoviechannel.com/schedule.

In addition to airing these films on the dates noted above, some of the movies mentioned are scheduled for further broadcasts throughout the month. (See listings for further details.)

About Sony Movie Channel
Sony Movie Channel is the first U.S. multi-platform television network from Sony Pictures Television created specifically for the Hollywood movie fan. Offering uncut, uncensored theatrical releases in stunning high definition, Sony Movie Channel showcases titles from Sony Pictures' vast library including award-winning features, cult favorites, family comedies and gripping dramas. Programming is selected from more than 3,500 Sony Pictures films, which collectively have received 184 Academy Awards including 12 for Best Picture. Sony Movie Channel is available on DISH Network, DIRECTV and AT&T U-Verse TV on linear as well as on authenticated VOD and online platforms. For more information, visit SonyMovieChannel.com, Facebook and/or Twitter @SonyMovieCh.

SOURCE Sony Movie Channel