Company News

Sony Movie Channel Takes You Behind The Scenes Of 'THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 2', With The TV Special 'HEROES AND VILLAINS: THE AMAZING WORLD OF SPIDER-MAN', On Friday, April 25

Sony Pictures Television - 03/31/2014

CULVER CITY, Calif., March 31, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Sony Movie Channel slings into action this April, with HEROES AND VILLAINS: THE AMAZING WORLD OF SPIDER-MAN, on Friday, April 25, at 7:40 p.m. ET/4:40 p.m. PT and 2:15 a.m. ET/11:15 p.m. PT. The broadcast TV exclusive half-hour special takes viewers behind the scenes of THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 2, giving fans a taste of what they can expect before the blockbuster hits theaters on Friday, May 2. The special will repeat throughout the weekend, with additional viewings on Saturday, April 26, at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT, and 5:35 p.m. ET/2:35 p.m. PT; and again on Monday, April 28, at 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT and 1:25 a.m. ET/10:25 p.m. PT.

Sony Movie Channel logo

Also this month, Sony Movie Channel presents the television premiere of LONDON BOULEVARD on Friday, April 18, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Colin Farrell stars as Mitchel, a South London criminal looking to get his life back on track after being released from prison. His new job and blossoming romance with a reclusive actress Charlotte (Keira Knightley) is threatened, however, when a brutal mob boss (Ray Winstone) comes calling. A repeat viewing will follow at 1:50 a.m. ET/10:50 p.m. PT.

Every Wednesday in April, Sony Movie Channel will highlight the work of William Castle, with 15 of the prolific director's classic films that influenced a generation of filmmakers. While Castle is best known for his more sinister subject matter, this career-spanning block highlights some of the films audiences may not be familiar with, such as crime capers THE WHISTLER, and NEW ORLEANS UNCENSORED; Western MASTERSON OF KANSAS; and the historical drama SERPENT OF THE NILE; in addition to fan-favorites such as THE TINGLER, starring horror icon Vincent Price, and STRAIT-JACKET, starring Joan Crawford. All 15 films will re-air as part of a special William Castle Marathon on Wednesday, April 30, at 3:30 a.m. ET/12:30 a.m. PT.

Spend an evening with Godzilla, as the network presents a gargantuan double-feature on Monday, April 28, at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. At 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, the green beast is pitted against the giant flying monster Megaguirus, and her horde of hungry larva, in GODZILLA VS. MEGAGUIRUS. Then, the Japanese government builds a cyborg Godzilla to protect the country from the destructive lizard in GODZILLA AGAINST MECHAGODZILLA, at 11:55 p.m. ET/8:55 p.m. PT.

Top events for the month of April include: (Times Below Are Eastern)

HEROES AND VILLAINS: THE AMAZING WORLD OF SPIDER-MAN – Sony Movie Channel presents a special half-hour segment taking viewers behind the masks of the heroes and villains of THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN 2, featuring appearances from stars Andrew Garfield, Emma Stone, Jamie Foxx, and Paul Giamatti.

April 257:40 p.m. and 2:15 a.m.
April 2610:00 a.m. and 5:35 p.m.
April 289:30 p.m. and 1:25 a.m.

WILLIAM CASTLE MONTH – Wednesdays in April are dedicated to influential filmmaker and producer William Castle, who's provocative works thrilled and chilled the nation. All films listed below will re-air in a special William Castle Marathon, on Wednesday, April 30, at 3:30 a.m.

April 2THE WHISTLER 8:00 p.m. and 11:45 p.m.; NEW ORLEANS UNCENSORED 9:05 p.m. and 12:50 a.m.; and THE URANIUM BOOM 10:30 p.m. and 2:15 a.m.
April 9MASTERSON OF KANSAS 8:00 p.m. and 11:55 p.m.; THE GUN THAT WON THE WEST 9:20 p.m. and 1:15 a.m.; and DUEL ON THE MISSISSIPPI 10:35 p.m. and 2:30 a.m.
April 16THE TINGLER 8:00 p.m. and 12:35 a.m.; 13 GHOSTS 9:30 p.m. and 2:05 a.m.; and MR. SARDONICUS 11:00 p.m. and 3:30 a.m.
April 23ZOTZ! 8:00 p.m. and 12:45 a.m.; 13 FRIGHTENED GIRLS! 9:35 p.m.; and 2:20 a.m.; and THE OLD DARK HOUSE 11:10 p.m. and 4:00 a.m.
April 30STRAIT-JACKET 8:00 p.m. and 12:30 a.m.; CHARGE OF THE LANCERS 9:40 p.m. and 2:10 a.m.; and SERPENT OF THE NILE 11:00 p.m. and 3:30 a.m.

Other highlights include:

MANDAY INVASION – Get ready for a testosterone-fueled extravaganza with the Manday Invasion marathon on Saturday, April 26, at 10:00 a.m. The day kicks off with HEROES AND VILLAINS: THE AMAZING WORLD OF SPIDER-MAN, followed by the eight-film knuckle-fest of THE DEATH AND LIFE OF BOBBY Z, starring Laurence Fishburne and Paul Walker; Ben Kingsley and Donald Sutherland in THE ASSIGNMENT; Wesley Snipes in THE MARKSMAN and THE CONTRACTOR; Colin Farrell in LONDON BOULEVARD; Sean Patrick Flanery in THE BOONDOCK SAINTS II: ALL SAINTS DAY; and a double dose of Jean-Claude Van Damme in THE ORDER and THE HARD CORPS.

DEMI MOOREOn Saturday, April 12, the network puts the spotlight on one of cinema's most diverse talents with the five-film Demi Moore marathon. The day begins at 3:00 p.m. with Rob Reiner's acclaimed military drama A FEW GOOD MEN, also starring Tom Cruise, Jack Nicholson, and Kevin Bacon, followed by Joel Schumacher's Brat Pack staple ST. ELMO'S FIRE, with Rob Lowe and Emilio Estevez; ABOUT LAST NIGHT, with Jim Belushi and Rob Lowe; apocalyptic thriller THE SEVENTH SIGN; MORTAL THOUGHTS, with Bruce Willis and Harvey Keitel.

GODZILLA – The lizard king rules the night in this monstrous double feature on Monday, April 28, with GODZILLA VS. MEGAGUIRUS at 10:00 p.m. and 1:55 a.m., and GODZILLA AGAINST MECHAGODZILLA at 11:55 p.m. and 3:50 a.m.

COURTROOM MARATHON – On Sunday, April 27, Sony Movie Channel swears to tell the whole truth and nothing but the truth in the Courtroom Marathon at 2:00 p.m. Settle in for a day devoted to legal dramas with the Truman Capote adaptation IN COLD BLOOD starring Robert Blake; ANATOMY OF A MURDER with James Stewart and George C. Scott; Tom Hanks and Denzel Washington in PHILADELPHIA; Jack Nicholson, Tom Cruise, and Demi Moore in A FEW GOOD MEN; and THE PEOPLE VS. LARRY FLYNT with Woody Harrelson, Edward Norton, and Courtney Love.

ANTONIO BANDERASWatch Antonio Banderas in two of his most explosive adventures on Friday, April 25, as he dons THE MASK OF ZORRO with Anthony Hopkins and Catherine Zeta-Jones at 10:00 p.m. and 2:45 a.m., and steps into the spurs of El Mariachi in Robert Rodriguez's DESPERADO, with Salma Hayek, at 12:25 a.m.

For a complete schedule of films and times, visit www.Sonymoviechannel.com/schedule.
In addition to airing these films on the dates noted above, some of the movies mentioned are scheduled for further broadcasts throughout the month. (See listings for further details.)

About Sony Movie Channel
Sony Movie Channel is the first U.S. multi-platform television network from Sony Pictures Television created specifically for the Hollywood movie fan. Offering uncut, uncensored theatrical releases in stunning high definition, Sony Movie Channel showcases titles from Sony Pictures' vast library including award-winning features, cult favorites, family comedies and gripping dramas. Programming is selected from more than 3,500 Sony Pictures films, which collectively have received 184 Academy Awards including 12 for Best Picture. Sony Movie Channel is available on DISH Network, DIRECTV and AT&T U-Verse TV on linear as well as on authenticated VOD and online platforms. For more information, visit SonyMovieChannel.com, Facebook and/or Twitter @SonyMovieCh.

Logo - http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20120322/LA74713LOGO

SOURCE Sony Movie Channel