Skip to Content
230

4.5 based on 230 customer reviews

153
58
7
4
8
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Powerful Camera -- Perfect for Baby-Boomers

DSCRX100/B 26/07/2012 by BeJay (USA)

This review comes after my having read all of the pre-release and early on-line reviews, then buying an RX100 in a local Sony Store -- it totally exceeds my expectations. This product review is probably different from most others. I am a Senior Citizen with very specific needs, needs which the RX100 is satisfying brilliantly, for instance: (1) I have been experiencing vision issues which challenge my use of a DSLR's eyepiece. The huge and hugely bright LCD display on the RX100 aides my composition and focusing comfort (as does the quick and accurate autofocus). (2) The combination of several features in one compact camera body precludes my needing other equipment. In particular, the 28mm-100mm optical zoom together with the digital zoom extension to 200mm; the ultra-wide angle panorama mode; and, its breath-taking 1080 HD video with full active camera functions and still frame capture ability. I'm using its MP4 format and Mac computers. (3) Also, besides adding years to its "Obsolescence Window" by jumping to 20Mpixel resolution [my last Nikon digital camera works but has only 5Mpixel, hence obsolete], having such large images allows me to crop down to smaller sections of the image and still have plenty of pixels to print -- effectively increasing the RX100's "magnification" even more than it's stated optical and digital zoom ranges. (4) The combination of a very large sensor and the F1.8 lens, together with the camera's uncanny ability to adjust for strong backlight, has allowed me to minimize the need for any flash at all. I'm taking pictures that my previous equipment simply couldn't handle w/o fill flash. (5) And, finally, the fast internal processor and support for large, fast memory cards, encourages me to use the RX100's 10 image per second burst capture, which is a major aide in getting just the right expression when I am photographing blinking adults and/or typically hyperactive Newborn to 4-year-old granchildren. The price of having to kill all of the "extra" stills in the burst is small compared to getting the perfect shot, or not getting it. I'm using a 16Gb Class 10 but intend to try a 95Mbps Extreme Pro memory to see whether the Rx100 is even faster! So, although there are a few "shortcomings" as mentioned in the on-line and other customers' reviews (i.e., weak on-camera flash, no hot shoe, HDMI port next to the tripod mount, weak user manual so far), this camera truly is top of its class and an excellent investment for people like me who do a lot of grandchild photos and vacation/travel photos -- I started photographing my latest grandson's birth the same afternoon that I bought the RX100; and I can hardly wait for next February to take this little beauty along to New Zealand and Australia (for this active vacation I am buying a trekking pole with a camera mount to use as a monopod).

72

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Frustratingly Disappointed

DSC-RX100 03/06/2014 by Sadder (United Kingdom)

Sent 2 back. First started great - fantastic picture quality, then something went wrong, picture quality went haywire and it corrupted sd card. Second one had noticeably poorer picture quality than first one. So disappointing as at it's best the pictures were fantastic. Need to up the quality control. Didn't risk a third.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

231 Customer Reviews

0

My new toy!

DSC-RX100 21/03/2017 by Wirralite (United Kingdom)

I have had this less than one week and the quality of the photographs is VERY good. I have not fully had the chance of using it fully but look forward to. By all accopunts it seems to be a top rated camera by the people in the know, as I am not one of them I may take some time trying it out!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great compact camera

DSC-RX100 13/03/2017 by JC29 (United Kingdom)

I bought my RX100 camera a month ago, so it will be dificult for me to to make a full revew, I found it to be easy to use.The in-camera guide is very usefull. The quality of photos exelent, very nice to handel. Great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Camera

DSCRX100/B 04/03/2017 by larryG1 (USA)

Had the camera a month,it is easy to use and take great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony - DSC-RX100

DSC-RX100 14/02/2017 by Paulinerose (United Kingdom)

Have only had it a short time. Will really try it out when I go to South Africa in March.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Replacement

DSCRX100/B 14/02/2017 by The Saint (USA)

This is a Replacement. My previous DSC-RX100 was purchased in 2014.On January 29th 2017 I activated the Camera by depressing the On/Off button and a set of Multi Colored Horizontal and Vertical lines appeared on the LCD Screen.I re-formatted the Memory Card and Initialized the Camera but was unable to resolve the problem. I checked out an Authorized Sony Repair Facility Online and supplied the information about the LCD screen. The Cost that was required to repair the Camera was approximately $12.00 less than this New Camera. I purchased this New Camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Large sensor - tiny package!

DSC-RX100 07/01/2017 by nigelphoto (United Kingdom)

High quality images, accurate exposure, quick focus and best of all RAW format in a true 'pocket' camera! The jpgs straight from cam are usually high enough quality with excellent exposure, white balance and colour to manage in PSE Elements 15 but if the highlights are ever blown out or not enough shadow detail, then the .ARW in Capture One Express for Sony is always on hand to remedy the situation. The menu system is intuitive and very simple and all image controls which an advanced photographer may need are accessed directly on the back plate. Video quality is superb even in the MP4 format (I use Final Cut on an iMac) although the sound is not of the best quality - however, this is to be expected from such a tiny camera and a compromise I'm very happy to make. Excellent free software, easy to use, superb image quality at a very affordable price. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100 06/01/2017 by Stephen197 (United Kingdom)

The RX100 lives up to hype. Getting such fantastic results from a compact has opened up a whole new world. I carry it everywhere and no longer have that "I wish I had my dslr with me" feeling. It is easy to customise so that the functions you want are a click away. Anybody want to buy a second hand dslr?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

pocket size camera with SLR quality

DSC-RX100 16/12/2016 by cristal tips (United Kingdom)

perfect for travel...takes up less space in my cabin case for those budget fligt getaways and performs like an SLR. Can cope with reasonable macro images and compensates for camera shake ...not so much need for a tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Quick focusing

DSC-RX100 11/12/2016 by Frosty2 (United Kingdom)

So far excellent, I'm still learning. Nice and pocketable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Slomo is amazing

DSC-RX100 05/12/2016 by TonyJOD (United Kingdom)

4K video is very good as is HD. Slomo at up to 1000fps is superb. I have had some issues shooting stills at night but that's probably getting used to a new camera (I'm used to a Nikon full frame. My rating of 4 is probably based upon lack of experience but overall a great camera. Buttons are a bit fiddley bat that may be my old thumbs!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

A very good camera

DSC-RX100 02/10/2016 by Pompey55 (United Kingdom)

A really good camera that delivers in the way I hoped. The quality of the image is excellent and yet can be a basic point and shoot. There are enough controls to take you near to a dslr yet is a genuine pocket size. The overall design is just a delight as well. The only negative was the cost of the case which was just too high.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Love it!!

DSC-RX100 16/09/2016 by Maestro1234 (United Kingdom)

We are really pleased with this little camera. It not only takes excellent photos but it is packed with Scenes and Functions that we will be experimenting with, it's like a built in Photoshop! There are four aspect ratios too so we'll be trying out all of the combinations possible. It's beautifully made and I think it will become our walk round camera although one of us will continue to bring our DSLR along to reach the parts that this camera can't. I am glad that I knew as much about the menu systems and how the PASM settings work etc. before I switched this camera on though. Whilst it takes super pictures on the Intelligent Auto and general Scene settings it is not a first timer device, well not if you want to get the best out of it straight away. It's possibilities almost 'blew my mind'....but what fun eh! My next camera will be similar but with a view finder, I can't think I'll need anything else. We take photos for fun, friends, holidays, pets etc. and like to experiment and be creative. We are NOT professional photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

excellent build quality

DSC-RX100 13/09/2016 by beastie (United Kingdom)

Great pictures, lots of features to experiment with, compact and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb camera very sharp images

DSC-RX100 13/09/2016 by Xcalibur1 (United Kingdom)

I bought the this camera recently takes excellent sharp well exposed images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fantastic picture quality. Many usefull feature

DSC-RX100 03/09/2016 by AndyMainMan (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a back up camera but to be honest it does everythinv my much larger and heavier dslr can do and it fits in my pocket. I could be really picky and find one or two things that could be improved but they are so minor and only personal preferences. Small but packed with everything i need. Especially like Cont Shooting. Very fast .Around 7 fps !!! Basically its awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Takes good photos

DSC-RX100 01/09/2016 by Heidicat (United Kingdom)

Easy to use takes excellent photos, Would have given 5* but editing is limited.when I bought the camera I did not know you couldn't clip and save picture on the camera. this was something I could do on my much cheaper previous Sony camera. I take a lot of photos and it is tedious having to edit them all at once at home!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

camera great play memories no good on windows 10

DSC-RX100 22/08/2016 by jon 234 (United Kingdom)

I bought my camera two years ago and play memories worked well on windows7 Now it ill not work on 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Simply the best

DSC-RX100 20/08/2016 by Boycie47 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera two weeks ago to replace an earlier model RX100 that I lost a month ago while on holiday in France. It is difficult to improve, but the major change for me was the inability to accidentally press the movie button which was a constant issue on the earlier model

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great picture quality and easy to use

DSC-RX100 10/08/2016 by Craig2611 (United Kingdom)

Recently purchased this to compliment my dlsr. Took it away this weekend and really pleased with the picture quality especially in low light. Easy to use. Have a longer holiday planned soon and expect to experiment more then.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features and ease of use

DSC-RX100 09/08/2016 by jimboM (United Kingdom)

Had this camera now a few weeks and I am very pleased with it. Handy to keep in your pocket. The only let down is the zoom. Would have been better with a bit more zoom. But never mind it takes great images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love my camera!

DSC-RX100 01/08/2016 by SREdwards (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for a trip to Glasgow in March. I have been so impressed that I now take it with me wherever I go. Easy to use, fantastic results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact Cyber-shot with a Zeiss Lens

DSC-RX100 24/07/2016 by Percy M (United Kingdom)

This is a fabulous product, so easy to use and the results are startling with Zeiss lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100 20/07/2016 by Jaffo (United Kingdom)

I purchased this two weeks ago after waiting for stock coming to store after the earth quake in Japan and all I can say is .....it was well worth the wait. What a brilliant piece of kit. Photos are astounding and crisp. Menu is easy to navigate as I already own a Sony A6000 and am used to it. The zoom isn't the longest but you get a one inch sensor and the build quality is great apart from the battery cover. Buy one....you won't be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent quality and compact

DSC-RX100 02/07/2016  (United Kingdom)

After using thins 2 month, Ithaca replaced my Nikon D200, it takes better pictures, colour and size are very impressive. I have been using it mainly with a feature that takes 3 pictures in one burst and then merges them together, to produce some lovely images. This feature makes the image pop so you will have much less over and under exposure. Great for taking hiking as it's not anywhere as heavy as an SLR. It really is packed full of features so be prepares to spend a day going through the menus and having a play.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

light, robust easy to use

DSC-RX100 28/06/2016 by SB1966 (United Kingdom)

I invested in this camera as a companion to my main camera for taking pictures on the move and for backpacking and wilderness walks it has all the features I need great picture quality even in low light very easy to set up and use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect hand fit

DSC-RX100 10/06/2016 by Sliema (United Kingdom)

This replaces my SLR and easier to carry round when out and about

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket Dynamite

DSC-RX100 05/06/2016 by rauschaxleman (United Kingdom)

I invested in this handy little pocket size camera as I found lugging my FZ1000 Lumix bridge camera around on holidays and long walks a bit of a strain. I fully expected that the quality would suffer, how wrong was I!! Seriously the images for a camera of this size are exceptional, the video is very good also.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Simply amazing

DSC-RX100 26/05/2016 by Atko G (United Kingdom)

For years I have lugged a DSLR around trekking, walking holidays and often thought how nice it would be to have less weighty bulky camera that offered similar quality. I often read the camera reviews looking for the ideal camera. I finally chose the Sony thinking, okay I just want a smaller camera. When I viewed the first images from it I was very pleasantly surprised and the more I used it the more pleased I have become, it simply produces amazing images, great auto focus, exposure and features. Before buying it I contemplated taking my DSLR and Sony on holiday, but I am so pleased with the images it produces I am only going to take my pocket-able little Sony, I just think its so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does a lot for the money

DSC-RX100 23/04/2016 by Redkite11 (United Kingdom)

Reserched a new camera for some time and wanted a Sony to replace my previous camera which had been excellent. Found this and very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Excellent little camera packed with features

DSC-RX100 13/04/2016 by Loggerhead (United Kingdom)

Excellent camera which can be used as a point and shoot or alternatively extend to manual control. Only minus point is the ergonomics of the design. There is a natural tendency to place your finger of left hand over the pop up flash. I would rather it be front mounted, even if it means extending the width somewhat. Makes picture taking a little fiddly. All things considered this is a great little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-RX100 03/04/2016 by mikeymoo (United Kingdom)

This camera stood out from all the others when i needed a compact camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

DSC-RX100 12/03/2016 by Voodoodave2016 (United Kingdom)

A cracking little camera i bought this mainly because i like to shot RAW also because i get fed up carting my SLR around holidays/flights etc ect. Very pleasant & simple to use i would highly recommend it for a couple of reasons the 1st being the price 2nd the sensor size which is larger than most of its competitors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

stunning photos

DSC-RX100 09/03/2016 by Poppy2015 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple of days before I went on holiday to Iceland. Even for an amateur photographer the results are stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing little camera

DSC-RX100 28/02/2016 by Papatroll (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera a week and I'm very impressed with the picture quality, the only fault I can find is that it doesn't have a front grip you can buy one as an extra but should come with one as standard

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Vakue

DSC-RX100 20/02/2016 by Bizzybee (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera after a friend researched it on Internet for me as I had never considered Sony for a camera, I could not be happier and would wholeheartedly recommend this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superb pochetable camera

DSC-RX100 18/02/2016 by stan the man (United Kingdom)

The RX100 is a superb little camera with a big heart. I have had the camera a couple of weeks and I love it. I carry it around with me whenever I step outside the door and snap away at everything that takes my eye. I would not be without this little beauty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressed, great value

DSC-RX100 12/02/2016 by dg1901 (United Kingdom)

Just bought this camera prior to travelling for a month. Initial impressions are that it's a great little camera. Only used in auto mode so far, need some time to understand the other features. Picture quality so far is superb. Highly recommended if you want a simple point and shoot with great picture quality, and the ability to overide.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Raw, Great lens fits in the pocket

DSC-RX100 10/02/2016 by Fred and Ginger (United Kingdom)

Lovely camera any body can use from beginner to pro ,ideal for going out with friends and the family.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rx100

DSC-RX100 08/02/2016 by Chrisb770 (United Kingdom)

Mega camera for its size picture quality point and shoot camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony RX 100

DSC-RX100 06/02/2016 by Tyke007 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic kit great shots and fits in pocket. You can control all features or just be creative.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High quality in a pocketable package

DSC-RX100 27/01/2016 by Evergreen2253 (United Kingdom)

I'd had my eye on one for some time, and received it as a Christmas present.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony dsc rx100

DSC-RX100 12/01/2016  (United Kingdom)

My wifebroughtmethis as a Christmas gift another picturesque of beautiful quality so very happy, I just need to learn how to use it :), great design as are all the Sony products ie tablet/phones

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

megapixels

DSC-RX100 09/01/2016 by Carpy (United Kingdom)

Excellent to use and great clarity. I won this product on a local radio station and I am really pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera!!

DSC-RX100 09/01/2016 by elen7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera few weeks ago. I am so happy with it . Its very easy to use , has a lot of great features and quality of the pictures are great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal for requirements

DSC-RX100 09/01/2016 by Mbray (United Kingdom)

I bought this for using whilst mountaineering where size is important but ease of use is also a requisite. The quality needs to be good as well and initial indications are that images are of a good quality for the size of the camera. Using different modes is easy and adjustments straightforward with the control wheel and the lens ring.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent photo quality.

DSC-RX100 07/01/2016 by Clyne1 (United Kingdom)

Had it for Christmas. Like all new gadgets it takes time to get accustomed to it's capability. I feel the operating button could have been further back and slightly to the right. I am right handed so that may only help right handed people.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100 06/01/2016 by grumpyword (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for my husband and he finds the camera so easy to use and the screen is so clear and the photos are true to colour, excellent little camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100 05/01/2016 by LouiseB (United Kingdom)

This was a Christmas present from my husband I am over the moon with it. So many great features and the quality of the photos is amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not fantastic

DSC-RX100 02/01/2016 by the easiest (United Kingdom)

all pictures on auto with flash are too white and without too dark

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Really like it so far

DSC-RX100 28/12/2015 by R2d20 (United Kingdom)

Only had this a few weeks but really like it so far it works on a quick photo grab scenario and also if you have the time to be creative on manual. Haven't explored all the possibilities yet as haven't been in the environment to but have great expectations. The only thing I don't like is the positioning of the flash it is right in the position that I hold it so is a surprise when it pops up under your finger, perhaps its a thing to have to get used to. I bought a device to enable filter use which has been surprisingly effective.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A solid compact that that delivers quality results

DSC-RX100 14/12/2015 by Lovely Rob (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently as I wanted a pocketable camera that was capable of producing high quality prints. My wife, it seems, was thinking the same thing and now takes it with her everywhere. So far we have only made prints up to A4 but the quality is so good that I am sure we can go larger if needed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

camera

DSC-RX100 14/12/2015 by ray59 (United Kingdom)

we bought the camera to take photos of our grandson

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony DSC-RX100

DSC-RX100 30/11/2015 by patricka (United Kingdom)

I was very pleased with the quality of the results of the camera.however big disappointment was the fact that Sony made a Cash Back Offer on this camera but do not seem to want to honour this Offer.I have had my invoice rejected twice and no aknowledgement of the third time I sent a copy of the invoice . Looking on the Blog it seems lots of buyers are having the same problems. It makes me concerned what sort of service I would get if I had a claim under the warranty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It's a shame.

DSC-RX100 12/11/2015  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago just before my 6 month traveling adventure because it had all the features that I wanted in a compact camera. Week 1, a tiny speck of dirt appeared on the internal lense .. Since then every photo I have taken has a blurred dot in the middle of it .... This has been a real downer to the adventure as I was hoping to capture it in HD. I'm so disappointed! I would add a photo but they all on SD till I get home.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Fab point n shoot!

DSC-RX100 20/10/2015 by colmcn (United Kingdom)

Just bought this cracking wee camera. Wanted something small yet decent and this fits the bill.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Rx 100 Review

DSC-RX100 15/10/2015 by Derekc15 (United Kingdom)

Bought this product for myself after my Cannon had leaking batteries. Read a number of reviews re this camera and was impressed by how many people and professionals rated this camera. It can be a simple 'press & shoot' or be near professional quality with various options eg Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority, Intelligent Automatic and so on. Uses a Lith-Ion rechargeable battery. I bought and extra just in case I ran out of power while on holiday. Didn't really need to as the battery lasted very well and can be charged in the camera. A great buy!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great features

DSC-RX100 09/10/2015 by truste (United Kingdom)

brilliant little camera - takes great indoor pictures when one can't use a flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100. Recommended.

DSC-RX100 04/10/2015 by J_o_h_n (United Kingdom)

If you know a little about photography you may know that it was once considered most important to have a quality lens rather than just having an expensive camera body, for good image quality, as the camera was, by and large, a holder for the film, (a bit simplified I know), now you have to have a good sensor too, and the bigger the better. In the RX100 you not only get an an F1.8 ZEISS® Vario-Sonnar® T* lens but also a (relatively) large sensor, certainly for a compact camera. Compare the sensor surface area for this camera and that of a sensor from a regular compact, including the cameras with huge zoom ranges, and this camera's sensor is huge. The size of this camera is remarkable, I carry it in a jacket pocket, it could, at a push, go in my trouser pocket, yet it is an advanced camera with great features. It will not give the same features, dynamic range, and functions of a DSLR or Sony's own SLT cameras, and you will have more need of the menu rather than dedicated buttons, but there is a high degree of customisation with the controls available so you can minimise menu use to suit yourself, BUT... this is tiny, the images from it are, as far as I am concerned, a revelation. I have never been able to comfortably crop the image from a compact camera due to lack of image quality when studied up close, this though is entirely different. Add to that the ability to shoot pictures in RAW (around 20MB files) and you have images you can work on if you want to or use 'FINE' setting in JPEG and you have high quality images straight from the camera. There is, in my opinion, a good balance here between pixel count and sensor size, as the low light/high ISO performance is still very good, I'm more than happy with the JPEG output at 3200 ISO for regular prints, you can adjust the noise reduction to suit youself, don't expect miracles, but still be prepared to be pleasantly surprised. A reasonably quick start up means it's ready almost as it's coming out of your pocket, and the screen offers a good bright sharp view. If you want a pocketable camera, or want high quality images without the hassle of changing lenses I suggest you consider a camera from the Sony RX100 range. Accept that in order to keep the size as it is that this is not a 'super-zoom' model, but zoom by walking closer......it's worth it. Build quality seems very good, but the finish is quite smooth, and I have large hands, so I found the addition of the Sony stick on grip improved handling enormously.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sophisticated Compact Beauty!

DSC-RX100 03/10/2015 by Skins (United Kingdom)

I'd been looking @ this Camera for some time & following favourable media reviews purchased 1st September & first major use was family Wedding on the 11th where I used in both still & movie mode. Very quiet & easy to use during the Ceremony which I recorded in full (unfortunately from the back - not the Camera's fault!). Still awaiting feedback from the Family on the results which were out before the official versions! Slowly getting to grips with the Technology but certainly don't regret buying & would recommend. I love the compactness which makes it very unobtrusive when using.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great all-rounder camara

DSC-RX100 26/09/2015  (United Kingdom)

As a point and press this camera can not be beaten. Excellent shots and the best panoramic feature in the business

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

small good quality pics

DSC-RX100 22/09/2015 by bobpenarth (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and am still awaiting cutback from Sony who have been a regular pin

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100 17/09/2015 by Ian27 (United Kingdom)

I picked up the Mark 1 a couple of weeks ago as a "carryround", because I hate using the phone for photos. As a professional wedding photographer I use full-frame cameras, but the Sony's great for personal work plus with an eye-fi card I can wirelessly send images to the phone and upload to Instagram and Facebook. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0