Skip to Content
78

4.5 based on 78 customer reviews

55
17
2
0
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Razor sharp pictures.

DSC-RX100M4 15/01/2016 by Jackflyer (United Kingdom)

Best compact camera I ever had. I was looking for a camera that I can take with me everywhere instead of my large DSLR without compromising the IQ. This is it, love it. Cost a little to much perhaps? I still think it's worth it. It is the best advanced compact out there at the moment... untill the m5 comes out that is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Dreadful customer service

DSC-RX100M4 29/01/2016 by grahamthefez (United Kingdom)

I will never buy another Sony Product. Dreadful customer service

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

78 Customer Reviews

0

Small so easy to carry with amazing features

DSC-RX100M4 15/03/2017 by Bromley 47 (United Kingdom)

Only bought two weeks ago so lots to I learn but on first look it has some amazing features. Don't worry about the 5 min 4K recording as 5 mins is plenty of time to get some snap shot videos to build up into a longer fulm

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic photos from a pocket camera

DSC-RX100M4 13/03/2017 by jtnn (United Kingdom)

My key requirement was to be able to have all the flexibility of an SLR but in a pocket-size camera, and the RX100 IV succeeds very well. Slightly larger than I would like, but the picture quality is superb. I particularly like the WiFi feature which allows me to review pictures on the camera on my phone and then transfer them over. This is Great for publishing on Facebook etc. All photos come out sharp and clear with good colour control. Much better than my friend's Nikon SLR!!! Only down side is that the wheel is easily turned, so taking it out of the pocket can change the camera settings!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

More that just a compact camera

DSC-RX100M4 16/02/2017 by Davy 2303 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the RX100-IV to carry all the time with me as it had all of the features I needed, rather than my DSLR and 35mm SLR film camera gear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat package

DSC-RX100M4 04/02/2017 by nonenonenone (United Kingdom)

Early days but very pleased so far. The Zeiss lens with its f1.8 to f2.8 is magnificent and a very useful range for distance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great pocket go anywhere camera

DSC-RX100M4 30/01/2017 by GeofL (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace the mark 3, good improvements, 4k, faster shutter speeds and better EVF in particular.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quality images and performance

DSC-RX100M4 17/01/2017 by Swanney (United Kingdom)

Too early to give a detailed review as I've only had the camera for a couple of weeks. So far it has produced excellent quality images and videos under challenging lighting conditions. Amazing range of facilities in such a small camera which, due to its size, now enables me never to be without a camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This Camera Replicates the Human Eye - Outstanding

DSCRX100M4/B 29/12/2016 by catholicfocus (USA)

I've bought a few of the digital pocket cameras and was always disappointed at the slow response time, the limited ISO/speeds, and memory limitations. When Sony announced this camera was revolutionary, I was skeptical. Yes, it was pricey, but you get what you pay for. I love this camera. Everyone who sees my photos, wants to know what camera I have so they can buy one. The secret is out, this camera is really fast, huge memory, and the picture quality is on par with professional photographers who carry those 10 pound camera to a wedding or news event. Of course knowing about ISO speeds and aperture settings is an added bonus to use this in all lighting conditions to capture high quality and well lit photos even in dimly lit rooms.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Fantastic Quality Camera

DSC-RX100M4 27/12/2016 by Garry (United Kingdom)

I have now had this camera for many months having upgraded from the M3 and the results that I have achieved have been exceptional The quality of the photos and videos are epic. I would certainly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A compacamera which performs well beyond its size!

DSC-RX100M4 19/12/2016 by pixels4u (United Kingdom)

So glad I bought it. I wanted a camera that I could carry at all times. My large wildlife dSLR lenses often were too long when I saw a landscape opportunity. This allows me to capture those images I would have otherwise missed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

best camera for 1 inch sensor

DSC-RX100M4 26/11/2016 by nikosp (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a rplacement for my old rx100mk2 I own that for about 4 years and that means that I am totaly satisfied from the buildig quality and especially for the picture quality and how handy this camera is

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera, operator needs training!

DSC-RX100M4 07/11/2016 by theboss348 (United Kingdom)

I bought this primarily for concert photography as it came well reviewed. It is compact enough to pass through security checks at venues without issue, but is more than capable of taking great photos. The optical zoom isn't the best, so the closer you can get to the stage the better, but the image quality is fantastic when you get it right!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A joy to use, and strong too.....

DSC-RX100M4 06/11/2016 by RJM353 (United Kingdom)

Have thoroughly enjoyed using the IV for about a year now. Unfortunately, I dropped it on concrete within a month of getting it. The lense cover frame was dented and the lense cover would not close properly. Amazingly, after a few eeks it corrected itself and now, except for a slight mark/scratch it works perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Little Camera

DSC-RX100M4 03/11/2016 by Alpina41 (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace a Mk I which failed after 3 years with error 'E62', the Mk IV is a quality product. Pity however, just missed the Mk V.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Compact camera that will slip into your pocket

DSC-RX100M4 01/11/2016 by steven13 (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera a month ago very pleased with the quality of the pictures and how easy it is to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceeds expectations

DSC-RX100M4 26/10/2016 by bosstan (United Kingdom)

I did a lot of research to find a small but powerful camera that would produce very high quality images. It's just a fantastical design. I was so pleased with the images having sold my SLR and really didn't think they would match up. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Small, produces excellent pictures

DSC-RX100M4 18/10/2016 by DaveUK (United Kingdom)

Bought as an update to the DSC RX100 M1, it's slightly thicker and heavier, which makes it less pocketable, but it makes much better images & movies, especially in low light, and has useful additional features (wi-fi, EVF, and moveable screen). A touch screen would be a useful improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 14/10/2016 by Fedupandenglish (United Kingdom)

Powerful pocketable camera. Brilliant on automatic but with enough controls for experienced photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Features / Easy to use

DSC-RX100M4 24/09/2016 by DaveJH (United Kingdom)

I had the Rx100 which was good then the RX100 IV came along and took the plunge and yes very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast with superb images & video

DSC-RX100M4 17/09/2016 by jaglad (United Kingdom)

The RX100 IV has lived up to expectations having read all the reviews. If like me you want a pocketable compact, it's speed, quality of images & video is outstanding. Yes, it is expensive, a touch screen would be nice, & it does need a moulded grip on the front to make more secure in your hand. But it really is a fabulous camera, & I am delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Sony RX100 iv

DSC-RX100M4 14/09/2016 by Jsde55 (United Kingdom)

Very good camera. Well made. Good specification. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The little camera that can.

DSC-RX100M4 11/08/2016  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a much older cybershot model. This camera offers a great many features, stunning stills and impressive video quality. The camera's compact body is a bonus as I don't like to carry extra lenses etc. I have been blown away by every aspect of this device since purchase and I look forward to many years of adventures with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

2

0

My favourite camera!

DSC-RX100M4 12/07/2016 by Jus123 (United Kingdom)

I love the RX100 series, ive had a mk1, mk3 and now mk4 and each iteration keeps getting better. I can get almost DSLR quality images without the bulk to carry. Video from this little camera is simply brilliant, i tested the mk4 against the Sony 4k HandyCam AXP33 and if im honest i prefer the output from the mk4! If youre in any doubt about this camera you shouldnt be, you get what you pay for and the RX100 ticks all the right boxes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

All You Need

DSC-RX100M4 05/07/2016 by ashaz (United Kingdom)

Does everything imaginable and the results even impress a friend who works in the professional business. Great lens, useable photos at top ISO and 1/32,000s shutter speed will freeze anything. EVF much more useful than I imagined beforehand. It has 4K video but the other options are so good you don't really need it. Only problem is not being able to work the shutter with my phone (Galaxy Note 4) via NFC. The best thing compared to rivals is that it is so small you can slip it into your jeans pocket and barely know it is there. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Portable with cracking image quality, with buts.

DSC-RX100M4 03/07/2016 by Jayaysee (United Kingdom)

Bought two weeks ago to replace an aging Nikon. Menu could do with tidying up and quick access settings coukd be cleaner, Lovely images straight from the camera and clean video Gripes are the limited zoom and macro facility

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Best in class!

DSC-RX100M4 07/06/2016 by FunkyBudda (United Kingdom)

So much in such a small compact device! World class product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Excellent design and build quality

DSC-RX100M4 27/05/2016 by boggit (United Kingdom)

I had become tired of carrying a backpack with full-frame DSLR and lenses - especially trekking through deep snow in the Arctic this spring so decided on a complete change of tack - sold the DSLR and all the lenses. The Sony takes some learning, but the size and build quality are excellent. Minimum f/11 is a bit on the large size but the picture quality of excellent. Plenty of scene selections and full manual control when you want it. Only tried basic video as yet but again the quality seems excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Marvellous dichotomy

DSC-RX100M4 20/05/2016 by Greyhoundgirl (United Kingdom)

Compact size and ease of use belies the amazing sophistication that this camera affords the user. At the basic level it gives me great pictures on automatic - let's leave it there as I am still reading the manual!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Sony Windows Phone Support

DSC-RX100M4 17/05/2016 by DaveMD (United Kingdom)

I bought this after I'd established there was at least a third party remote control app for Windows Phone 8.1. It is still unacceptable that the official Sony PlayMemories app is RESTRICTED to only being available on some phones.

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

9

0

tiny camera, huge personality

DSC-RX100M4 14/05/2016 by Spanner60 (United Kingdom)

You can read all the reviews about rx100 m4, and it clearly is a fantastic camera, but once you hold this camera, you can't believe all the features it has in this tiny body!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Very compact but very competent camera

DSC-RX100M4 14/05/2016 by Glen MK (United Kingdom)

Only a few weeks in, but already very very impressed. The general picture quality and low-light pictures in particular are very good. The pop-up viewfinder reminds me of using an SLR, you seem to get a very clear more involving picture-taking experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great little camera.

DSC-RX100M4 13/05/2016 by chc007 (United Kingdom)

Still exploring all the features and getting used to the Sony menu system which isn't intuitive and doesn't lend itself to on the fly adjustments at ease. Has a nice fast lens great for low light situations, focus lock is okay if somewhat a bit random, need to look into the settings a bit more. HFR 4k produces some great slow motion video. Worth spending some time exploring the manual and practising to get used to features and menu, or if like me you dive straight in then be prepared for a steep learning curve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Best compact on the market

DSC-RX100M4 05/05/2016  (United Kingdom)

The camera is a bit over priced but it's a fantastic bit of kit. I have been shooting in raw+jpg mode but most of the time there's no need for the raw image as the camera makes such a good job of the jpg's I find myself just using them and not bothering with any processing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great features

DSC-RX100M4 29/04/2016 by Peter380 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and I am so pleased I did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good 4K video quality

DSC-RX100M4 18/04/2016 by Video man (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with the photo and 4K video quality. But very disappointed at being unable to adjust the monitor brightness, this makes it extremely difficult to frame the subject when using the camera outside

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

0

RX 100 iv

DSC-RX100M4 15/04/2016 by CMCM (United Kingdom)

Super neat camera, which takes excellent photographs. Intuitive menus and a great viewfinder

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow

DSC-RX100M4 14/04/2016 by Acerimer (United Kingdom)

Bought this as a pocket replacement for my dead casio. This small camera takes fantastic pics in any and every conceivable way thought it would take ages to get into but had no problems with intuitive help system glad i bought it. The only fly in the ointment is getting the apps, i cant connect via my mac tho it does see my photos but it will not connect to the apps so i connect to it using the camera, i also cannot top up my wallet via card or paypal but have to buy a voucher, redeem it and add it to wallet. Come on sony sort it out or yr gonna lose dosh? Anyhoo great little gadget.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worked for 3 days

DSC-RX100M4 31/03/2016 by Paulea3 (United Kingdom)

Brought this camera to take on holiday and it worked for three days and then one morning it wouldn't turn on. I have 3 Sony batteries and all are fully charged but no camera. Really disappointed as this is a special holiday and I had thought Sony products were quality but it seems that this camera slipped through the quality control net. Thanks Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

0

Not quite there

DSC-RX100M4 24/03/2016 by RaphGB (United Kingdom)

For the size of this camera, it's performance and features are extraordinary. My only gripes are the ergonomics and the lack of a microphone input. Personally, I would sacrifice the flash in order to have a hot shoe, and I think that a hand-grip should be included. Furthermore, would like the ability to switch off the EVF sensor because I use an eyecup to exclude extraneous light, but that switches off the LCD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

sony rx100 iv

DSC-RX100M4 26/02/2016 by draffyjohn (United Kingdom)

I would like to obtain a full user manual as the information supplied with the camera leaves a lot to be desired

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Compact, high quality

DSC-RX100M4 17/02/2016 by Bbbbb be (United Kingdom)

Wanting a pocketable camera to complement A7M2 ---------

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Powerful pocket camera.

DSC-RX100M4 17/02/2016 by Zawnguy (United Kingdom)

I purchased this item as a travel/street/always have with you camera but it doesn't end there.This camera works in a similar fashion to the more expensive Sony cameras. Creative styles/profiles same as my A7 II,even includes Slog 2. USB charging is excellent i can use a power block and charge the camera in my bag as i travel or put 20% on a battery whilst having a cup of coffee.Just got the timelapse app and will use it as i keep the battery topped up from the usb block.I enjoy street photography and the ISO Auto minimum shutter speed is a must.Steady shot works well and 5 minutes of 4k - no problems.Manual focus assist,zebras and peaking all help with video. Just be aware that the apps can have separate settings,otherwise this is a fully featured camera along with the HFR slow motion and produces fine quality images.Spend sometime setting up the camera to your liking it will be worth it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great little camera.

DSC-RX100M4 17/02/2016 by Bonus (United Kingdom)

Surprisingly good picture quality from a small yet powerful camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A high quality camera

DSC-RX100M4 15/02/2016 by Bartali (United Kingdom)

My RX100IV is now five months old and overall, I am delighted with it. It is a very sophisticated product and not for a beginner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Excellent Picture quality in a small package

DSC-RX100M4 11/02/2016 by RDDimages (United Kingdom)

I just bought this as I wanted a camera that would fit into my pocket, I also have a Sony A7r ii, and this is the perfect compliment to it. The image quality is excellent.... which is important as I belong to a camera club and enter lots of competions. Whilst this has obviously not the image quality of the A7r ii I would not hesitate to use it for competion entries. I bought a Panasonic LX100 which I sold as I couldn't get on with it, in my opinion this is a far better camera than the LX100. They say that the best camera that you have is the one that you have with you, and this is always with me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Some disappointments

DSC-RX100M4 11/02/2016 by Rayw90 (United Kingdom)

I don't understand why Sony has made the intelligent auto settings have a speed of 1/30 . This means that if there is the slightest movement of subject or camera operator then the pictures are not sharp. I understand that it combines three images but in my experience it does not work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

3

0

Lots of features but confusing interface

DSC-RX100M4 31/01/2016 by middletonian (United Kingdom)

Bought this about two weeks ago. Many great features, but the non-intuitive menu system and the lousy manual (even the complete on-line version) makes them difficult to access. Only by buying a third party guide could I begin to use the camera to its full potential. The image quality, though, is outstanding, particularly the low-light capability. Haven't yet used the high-speed video. The pop-up viewfinder seems a bit fragile, ditto the flash. Love the ability to charge from USB. Overall, excellent camera but quite hard to exploit all its features - more mode memories would help. Maybe this could come with a software upgrade?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

Dreadful customer service

DSC-RX100M4 29/01/2016 by grahamthefez (United Kingdom)

I will never buy another Sony Product. Dreadful customer service

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

0

Awesome pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M4 22/01/2016 by devilz (United Kingdom)

I have the Sony A6000 which is awesome, but at times when i want to only go out and have a pocket friendly with as awesome picture quality as my A6000, i bought the RX100 IV. This little camera is simply brilliant and amazing. in daylight you may fool yourself at looking at taken pictures for a bigger sensor. Dont regret one bit with this cam. Vert fast and so many manual controls... The lens is superbe... No need of flash at night almost all the time.... Cant praise enough the RX100 IV. try it and you'll sure love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Razor sharp pictures.

DSC-RX100M4 15/01/2016 by Jackflyer (United Kingdom)

Best compact camera I ever had. I was looking for a camera that I can take with me everywhere instead of my large DSLR without compromising the IQ. This is it, love it. Cost a little to much perhaps? I still think it's worth it. It is the best advanced compact out there at the moment... untill the m5 comes out that is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Offers so many possibilities

DSC-RX100M4 11/01/2016 by Marcus85 (United Kingdom)

First up the Image and video quality is unparalleled. On top of that there are so many features and it all fits in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Very useful feature is the Flash Button.

DSC-RX100M4 10/01/2016 by Edward4 (United Kingdom)

This is my 3rd RX100 camera I bought, my first RX100 went to my daughter, my second RS100 II went to my wife and now my latest RX100 Mark-IV is my full time companion, I use the flash most of the times, even day-time sunny days because it removes shadows specially when taking photos with the sun against me, so the Flash Button is a wonderful addition for me without having to go to the menu to switch it on. I also like the extra wide angle of the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and powerful

DSC-RX100M4 10/01/2016  (United Kingdom)

Just got it. But seems a very nice piece of kit. It's a step up from the point and shoot range. So if you know what your doing it can handle most jobs. The high shooting range and the low light setting will get you out of trouble. Shame the NFC doesn't work with an iPhone (not Sony's fault)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Zoom spoilt it for me.

DSC-RX100M4 09/01/2016  (United Kingdom)

Wanted an all round camera and for the price I paid felt a bit let down. Excellent photo quality but the zoom was very limited. Returned it to supplier and traded it in for the A6000.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Love the 4K movies.

DSC-RX100M4 07/01/2016 by planner london (United Kingdom)

Fantastic little camera, with a huge line up of features. The only let down is the poor battery life when shooting 4K. You should buy at least one additional battery and charger or you risk the camera turning off mid shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and highly specked

DSC-RX100M4 16/12/2015 by John4good (United Kingdom)

Clean and compact design. I have used to date as supplied but will fit the additional grip to make for more secure handling. Better to be safe than sorry! Image quality as expected....Brilliant for such a compact camera. Longer zoom would have been welcome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M4 15/12/2015  (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera two months ago and, for the first time, I have used it in low light conditions. All I can say is that the quality is superb! Good photos in all conditions and the option to send the photos to smartphone I think it makes the camera perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good camera

DSC-RX100M4 08/12/2015 by Why do I need a nickname (United Kingdom)

Don't normally do reviews, I'm really impressed by the quality of this camera, easy to use and is full of excellent features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

The best compact in the world?

DSC-RX100M4 08/12/2015 by DrMagical (United Kingdom)

Bought this after a lot of online research, a lot of professional reviewers calling this the best compact camera. Only had a short time and cannot disagree. The picture quality is great and I haven't yet experimented with the video but this is where the camera is really meant to shine. Pros: very compact, large sensor, great lens, massive video features including 4k and 1000 fps HFR video. Cons: overheating issues (not experienced personally) mean that 4k video recording duration very limited. I want the best camera but I know I won't lug around a big SLR so for me this is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony X100 MIV

DSC-RX100M4 07/12/2015 by Chinaman (United Kingdom)

Had also the MIII. Both brilliant. Much quucker and brighter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera ****

DSC-RX100M4 22/11/2015 by musman002 (United Kingdom)

+ve -excellent results while taking photos of moving objects (16fps is simply awesome) -low light shooting is no more a problem -great sensor -great for pro and non-pro photographers -professional level output -ve -limited time 4K video capability -better camera grip needed -touch screen is missing -zoom capability very limited In short, positives are outweighing negatives if you can live without zoom capability. This product will be unmatched if the negatives mentioned above are somehow taken care in next model. Highly recommended!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Brilliant Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M4 21/10/2015 by Digiclkr (United Kingdom)

Bought this as an upgrade to the RX100 iii especially for the new video features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Complex and powerful

DSC-RX100M4 08/10/2015 by Miwn (United Kingdom)

The RX100M4 packs a huge amount into a small package.Quality and features are excellent. The tilting viewfinder is great and I'm using it mostly as a waist level finder It's the only camera I have ever owned where reading the manual is vital. Remembering where features lie in the menu structure is a challenge. A touch screen would add hugely to the usability of the device: maybe on the M5?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good Features

DSC-RX100M4 30/09/2015 by A111 (United Kingdom)

Good quality pictures and video from a camera that fits neatly in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simply Fantastic!

DSC-RX100M4 25/09/2015 by Photous (United Kingdom)

After reading about this new model in the Sony lineup a few months ago I finally managed to get one in my hands and try it out, the result - I bought one! How is it living up to my expectations - it's Simply Fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This goes a lot further than point and shoot!

DSC-RX100M4 24/09/2015 by Musoade (United Kingdom)

Bought this for discrete photography that can be carried anywhere.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Astonishing quality images and video

DSC-RX100M4 17/09/2015 by AndyN (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer and videographer for many years and I have to say I'm amazed at the quality of both images and video, as well as the operator flexibility available on this camera. For the beginner, it's extremely simple to use but for the more serious photographer, the opportunity is there for serious creativity and (more to my requirements) Camera Raw images, and the sensational S-LOG2. S-LOG2 shoots video in a format that gives an extremely wide dynamic range, meaning you can shoot movies in difficult and varying lighting conditions (such as with the sun going behind clouds etc) and still come up with stunning quality footage. The 4K footage is truly wonderful to see and although there's a limit of five minutes shooting time for 4K because the camera is so tiny and there's nowhere for the heat to dissipate if you shoot for more than that time, personally, I rarely need more than a five minute clip at any one time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

constant companion

DSC-RX100M4 17/09/2015  (United Kingdom)

Now I can happily carry a high quality, high resolution camera at all times

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features. Difficult to use.

DSC-RX100M4 16/09/2015 by Heckers (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as I wanted a small device, packed with features. It has all this in spades. I am pretty sure that it is the smallest and best quality camera currently on the market and, in this area I am delighted with it. The functionality is exceptionally complex and the user manual is, in places, illegible. In particular, the High Frame Rate (i.e. slow motion) facility is an absolute nightmare to set up and use. I have tried on a number of occasions and am still struggling to catch any action.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Even better than the first version

DSC-RX100M4 14/09/2015 by Ackers (United Kingdom)

I bought it to replace the first version of the camera which took superb pictures. The digital view finder is brilliant - bright, clear and optically adjustable so I can use it without my glasses. The articulated screen is very useful when holding the camera up to take pictures above a crowd. The high speed video is fun (a bit tricky to work out how to work it). Pictures seem as good as before but - I miss the longer zoom on the M1, the battery doesn't last long but the most annoying features is that closing down the digital viewfinder closes down the camera. All round - a big step forwards and a great camera if you want something you can put in your pocket and take high quality images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M4 14/09/2015 by NMShah (United Kingdom)

Got this camera for an expedition to Kilimanjaro and I am impressed with the durability and performance in what I would consider to be some extreme conditions. For the price we paid for the camera the standard items in the package needs improvement. The camera needs a case, memory card and a longer lasting battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect substitue to lugging around an SLR

DSC-RX100M4 13/09/2015 by Hikensnap (United Kingdom)

Bought this cameral in HK at the end of a holiday and regret not having it for the majority of my trip. Great for those that love the quality of images from their SLR but the convenience that comes with taking photos with their phone. Amazing quality for such a small camera... my SLR has stayed in the bag ever since I bought it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

4K for all

DSC-RX100M4 12/09/2015 by bobmc (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to record 4K and still be able to put the camera in my pocket. It is a replacement for the MK1 on which I have recorded many movies and edited in Final Cut Pro X. The quality of the new camera is superlative with one grave caveat. Camera shake and rolling shutter can be obtrusive in 4K. Some of the stabilisation features are not deployed when using 4K rather than HD. There are workarounds such as holding the camera very still, avoiding sudden movements, and moving to programmed shutter of 1/50th of a second to smooth out movement and give a 180 degree shutter. The slow-motion is OK but there is a decided drop in resolution. If your main purpose is to shoot stills from a compact camera then this is the machine for you. If you want to shoot movies then bear the above in mind

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0