Skip to Content
9

4.7 based on 9 customer reviews

7
1
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

9 Customer Reviews

0

Bells and Whistles

ILCA-99M2 11/03/2017 by RogersG (United Kingdom)

Bought it less than three weeks ago and delighted with the upgrade from A77. What a pity I have to wait up to twelve (12) weeks for a full frame 24-70 Sony Zeiss lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Image sensor, metering and auto focus are stunning

ILCA-99M2 03/03/2017 by Trevor125 (United Kingdom)

Pros: 1. The image sensor captures over a very wide dynamic range with very high picture quality. 2. The metering system is superb, accurately capturing the correct settings in challenging lighting conditions, particularly back-lit scenes. 3. The auto focus system is excellent for moving subjects. 4. Frequently accessed features and settings are easy to get to and are customisable. 5. The screen can be moved and rotated over a wide range, making it easy to shoot with the camera help away from you. 6. The view finder is very clear. Cons: 1. The configurable menu options can seem a bit overwhelming. 2. Auto focus for still images, particularly landscape, really requires centre-only focusing. Any other auto focus setting requires frequent tuning. 3. That's about it. This camera really is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

All that I expected

ILCA99M2 27/02/2017 by Fuzzy66 (USA)

I bought and used an A65 3 years ago and was very happy about using it. I had a couple of lenses. As my experience has grown I wanted to move to a full frame version. When I saw the A99m2 I thought it would be ideal. I was right. I brought it primarily too improve overall sharpness for my pictures and for the ability to maintain focus while tracking moving images. The camera exceeded my expectations in both areas, based on my initial test shots. There is enough similarity with that the learning curve for the use of this camera has not been too steep. From the first, I have been happy with all my photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Sony Alpha camera

ILCA99M2 13/02/2017 by pelai138 (USA)

I bought this a couple months ago . I took hundred pictures of the Bald Eagles they turned out better than expected . The tracking is fast and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

4

0

Great Camera

ILCA-99M2 11/02/2017  (United Kingdom)

Professional level features without the higher price tag of other well know brands

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Sony Hits A Home Run!

ILCA99M2 08/01/2017 by dfwatt (USA)

PROS: 1) FF sensor that is clearly Sony’s (and industry’s) best. Combines high resolution and high speed FPS, 4k, and variable frame rate video (both time lapse plus slow motion effects). Very good high ISO and excellent detail. Amazing functional ability and versatility in a single package. Not available in any other FF camera and Sony isn’t selling this sensor to anyone else, unlike previous 36MP FF sensor. 2) Excellent 5 axis IBIS worth (on paper – but see discussion) 4+ stops that is functionally invisible (i.e., does not adversely impact IQ), and available on all lenses. Allows you to drop ISO several stops over all but the best OS lens-based image stabilization systems, and is advertised to be ~2 stops better than previous IBIS system (in A77ii). Decent IS options in video as well, in 1080p and 4k (but see discussion). 3) Ability to use the full range of A-mount glass, with full IS benefits (but see Con #1 and discussion). This gives many options: both modern (and expensive) Zeiss and Sony G glass but also high-value legacy Minolta glass options to the user, depending on budgets and priorities. 4) 4k is amazingly detailed, and competes with best in class (A7RII/A7SII/A6500/GH5), with excellent low light ability. Exceptionally versatile video specs and codecs (but see Con #2). 5) Compact form factor body, very slightly smaller than A77ii (but feeling like the same camera) and with excellent ergonomics and customizable controls – making this the most compact FF body out there, outside of the A7x series (but without the ergonomic limitations of the A7x group). 6) Hybrid AF system combining 399 on-sensor PD elements, combined with 79 focus points from dedicated PDAF array, fed by SLT mirror (but again see Con #1 and discussion). 7) Much better organized operating system and menu structure, with major degree of potential customization of control architecture to suit end user preference and style. Additionally the Fx button gives instant access to 12 selectable camera functions of the users choice to streamline menu access. 8) Ability for Wi-Fi and NFC to send images to your smartphone. 9) Dramatically improved Wi-Fi remote control app over the A77II – which was appallingly bad. This version of smart phone remote control appears as capable the apps for RX10/100 models, and for E-mount, which are class leading. 10) Multiple point MFA, wide and telephoto ends for zooms, plus separate settings for the four corners and center for lenses that do hybrid AF (but seen con #7) 11) A reasonably deep buffer, with ability to review images immediately, enhancing usability in sports and action photography – 9 seconds roughly of 8 FPS with my card if shooting full sized JPEGs or RAW. Enormous flexibility too – if shooting RAW or JPEG, at 8 FPS, and utilizing crop sensor mode (18MP files), the buffer is almost unlimited (153 RAW images using my card Samsung Pro SDXC I card - but see Con #8). 12) Real functionality for your crop sensor DT lens library – (don’t reflexively dump your lens library in other words if your coming up from APS-C). If you want smaller files (18MP) or a lighter lens/camera combo, you get increased buffer depth, extra reach on your telephoto lenses, and still plenty of image information. Works brilliantly with the DT 16-50 2.8 as a default Super 35 video or walk around lens. A major and almost totally unappreciated plus of that 42MP. CONS: 1) Only Sony lenses (and not quite all of them) allow access to hybrid AF system, although the dedicated PDAF system (upgraded version of system in A77ii) by itself is still quite competent and flexible. 2) Sony continues to limit AF in movie modes to Program mode only, with fixed aperture (3.5, or widest if lens doesn’t reach 3.5). Reasons for this are unclear, but perhaps to reduce competition with the more video-friendly E Mount? 3) Modest ½ stop light loss from SLT mirror. Much is made of this, but tests have shown that even at higher ISOs, individuals can’t reliably discriminate ½ stop of extra noise, without pixel peeping A/B displays, and never at typical viewing distances. Tradeoff to achieve better AF performance, as OSPDAF still hasn’t caught up to the best dedicated PDAF. If this is still troubling, the SLT mirror can be removed for landscape and any other MF shot if that last bit of ISO is deemed important (a dicey practice and not for the technically inept as semi-transparent mirror is fragile and impossible to clean without damaging it). 4) Speaking of ISO, according to initial DxO testing, ISO scale is almost one full stop optimistic (indicated 200 is ~ 110) – and a slightly less than one stop ‘boost’ to indicated ISO continues on up the ISO scale. Not clear if this is simply unusual sample variation (DxO tested a funky sample) or Sony’s thinly veiled attempt to exaggerate the apparent low light performance of the camera. Some ‘fudging’ on ISO is commonplace - almost universal - but typically it’s ~1/4 to 1/3 a stop, not ~ 1 stop. 5) Menu system is still rather bulky and complex (but not excessively so for pro/FF class of camera). 6) Joystick control is sometimes ‘fiddly’, making selection and scrolling processes somewhat unsure. Could Sony just spring for the premium switchgear in its flagship model, instead of something that feels like it cost .43 cents from a discount parts bin? 7) MFA can be complex, most esp. for H-AF lenses. Top, bottom, left and right corners, plus center (five points) X2 (wide and tele end for any zoom lens). Better for sure than NOT having multiple points of adjustment, but with these many places to check and calibrate, some form of auto setting might be desirable? Or at least a menu setting that allows you to clone center, corner, upper and lower into a single value for wide and in another single value for telephoto. This means you would only have to enter two values instead of the current 10. 8) Buffer clearing is a bit slow (~30 sec if shooting RAW in 42MP, and running out to full buffer depth of ~60 images), even though this is substantially mitigated by ability to review immediately. Unfathomably, Sony doesn’t support SDXC II cards, with their roughly 3x faster read/write times. You can still use a SDXC II, which will speed workflow from camera to your computer (in USB 3.0), but it won’t help with write times to speed up buffer clearing. Overall, what’s the bottom line? The camera is very smooth, and responsive in all its operations, from shooting to reviewing images, while color, contrast, detail and DR are all superb, as one would expect in this class of camera. And it’s just a pleasure to have it configured in a way that is ‘simpatico’ with how and what you shoot – kudos to Sony for making the camera so easy to configure “your way”. With the Fx menu setup properly, you can avoid menu diving almost completely, and rapidly access and segue through settings that you tend to modify. It’s just such a pleasure to shoot with, operate, and then enjoy the spectacular images and video that it can effortlessly generate. It’s nothing less than a screaming home run for A Mount and Sony. It might be the best ‘all arounder’ FF camera anyone has yet made, if you weigh 4k, sports, and landscape equally. It will, I predict, be back-ordered for all of 2017.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

23

0

0

Less than I expected!

ILCA-99M2 02/01/2017 by Zako (United Kingdom)

1) Advertised that it pairs with Playmemories on mobile and it does not. 2) The multi-selector is very difficult to use even after following recommendations. 3) unable to find out how to remove focus off shutter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

8

43

0

Exactly what an upgrade should be.

ILCA-99M2 26/12/2016 by Timvasvi (United Kingdom)

Having owned the A99 alongside the A77, I decided to add this to my kit bag and go entirely full frame. The A99II is a model example of how an upgraded version to a camera should be... Better in every way compared to it's predecessor. The Auto Focus system is vastly improved over the A99 and is now locks onto it's target faster and with less hunting. AF in low light conditions has also been improved too. This goes hand in hand with low light performance overall, as ISO performance on this camera is quite simply amazing. I find myself being able to shoot at ISO levels a lot higher than I have ever previously been able to and still manage to get usable shots in relation to noise. NFC transfer of images is a great addition, allowing me to upload to my social media whilst on a shoot which is great for engaging with clients, both current and potential. The WiFi remote via the Play Memories app is another feature that is welcomed and should come in handy when I am shooting my landscape shots and the camera is on it's tripod. Overall, I couldn't be happier with the decision to purchase this. The only thing I would have liked to see is support for 3rd party lenses with the new 4D Hybrid focusing system as I do feel like I am being limited when using some of my lenses with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

0

0

The best camera produced by Sony.

ILCA-99M2 02/12/2016  (United Kingdom)

Sony has finally produced a camera that can compete with the professional cameras from Nikon and Canon. The size has been reduced from the original Alpha 99 and has a similar size to the Sony Alpha 77II. The grip has been redesigned and feel very comfortable in your hand, especially when combined with the optional Sony VG-C77AM vertical grip. Those familiar with other cameras in the Sony Alpha DSLT line will feel at home with layout of the buttons. The majority of buttons can be customised to meet your needs. A very useful button is the function (FN) button which can display 12 different camera functions on either the viewfinder or monitor. These functions are fully customisable and allow you change functions without the need to access the camera menu. Another very useful button is the customisable front multi control button. This button allows you to change settings such as ISO very quickly while shooting. The full frame 42.2 megapixel back illuminated CMOS sensor produces the best photos I have seen from a Sony DSLT camera. The cameras have excellent low light performance. There is minimal noise, even at an ISO off 12800. The photos I took so far was very sharp and reproduced very accurate colours. I believe that the absence of an optical low pass filter has improved the sharpness of photos compared to the Alpha 99 or Alpha 77II. In addition to shooting in full frame mode you can shoot stills in APS-C mode or movies in Super 35 mode. In this mode, the camera shoots at 18 megapixels. This can be very useful to gain extra reach with a telephoto lens. The cameras AF and AE is very accurate even when shooting at 12 fps due the newly designed hybrid phase detection system. The camera was able to lock onto and track even fast moving targets. I was able to shoot a fast-moving subject at 12 fps with all the photos taken being in focus. I was able to review the images immediately after shooting compared to other cameras where there was a delay. When shooting at 8 fps live view is continuously available making it easier to track a moving subject. The 5-axis in body stabilisation also works very well when hand shooting both stills or movies. I was able to produce consistent results under fluorescent and other artificial lights due to the presence of a flicker free shooting mode. You have the option to add copyright information to your files on the camera. The OLED viewfinder makes it very easy to compose your image. You can clearly see what your picture will look like before taking it. The effect of changing the shutter, aperture, ISO, white balance etc. on your image is displayed in real time on the viewfinder. The camera also takes high quality 4K movies. Unfortunately, you are unable to change aperture when shooting with auto focus mode. The aperture is locked at F3.5. When shooting in manual focus the aperture and shutter can be adjust. In manual focus mode both aperture and shutter can be adjusted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

75

21