Skip to Content
67

4.5 based on 67 customer reviews

41
20
3
2
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Handling!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 22/09/2014 by ctid666 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality, great handling & takes superb pictures, well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

frustrating wifi, good imges

Body Only 26/01/2016 by lxkev (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago, and while the picture quality is good and the remote app is handy the restriction on the wifi really let it down. The on-board wifi hotspot only works up to 10 meter at a push. As the camera can connect to a normal wifi router to download app's I assumed this would be the same for the remote app - Nope. For some very odd reason the app only works through the hotspot. Also with the remote app the camera instantly sends pictures to your android or ios device. However when connecting to a mac/pc you can only dump send files. I had to buy a 3rd party wifi sd card to get this function. The camera image quality is good, very good low light vs noise. But don't buy this camera for its wifi connectivity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

67 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Smart and Fast

Body Only 01/04/2017 by JToeppen (USA)

This is a fast light weight camera with a great sensor with high speed and low light capabilities. The fast high ISO are no noisey joke, one can take waterfall shots by moonlight and get nice starfields. Mirrorless has a clear form advantage and the reliability of the focus is very good, which is great, because you can not set it yourself. The manual modes are not very manual. However, the "superior auto settings" will bracket for you if necessary, and make that decision quickly, well under two seconds. And you do have some nice bracke modes for RAW work. This is a good value for those who want a big sensor in a small body and want to use other lenses. I might buy a second one of these.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Overwhelming!

Body Only 20/03/2017 by IndraWP (United Kingdom)

I love this camera, I really do! It does pack a punch in a little package, so many professional features in this small camera, even though it can still be improved on some side, let me give a summary, Pros : + Compact, lightweight, fit in the pocket. + XAVC-S 60fps, wow! + The lenses are compact too. + So many features (Zebra, peak focus, guideline) + Amazing sensor, really works in low light. + Easy control Cons : - Overheat (The a6000 is fixed with firmware update, what about this one?) - XAVC-S only on 64GB or more SDCard (SDXC) - Few budget lens choices - Some guideline is still not in the right aspect ratio (I've tested it) - Some feature only available as purchasable apps. - Touchscreen only for focus, not in menu

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love it

Body Only 09/01/2017 by Russ5861 (United Kingdom)

I have had may full SLR and got through a number Compact Sony cameras over the years! (Water damage or being dropped, at least one a year) I decided this time to go one level up and I have to say what a great bit of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 17/12/2016 by BigBen2016 (USA)

easy to use but the programs aren't computer friendly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great!! Portable and Efficient!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 22/11/2016 by frazspeed (USA)

I am a Biker and a Grand Voyager in my bike around of Soth America and world... And this has been my more beautiful partner to my trip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing little gadget

Body Only 14/11/2016 by KDK16 (United Kingdom)

I bought this after looking at many reviews online. It was highly recommended by many youtubers. It is an excellent camera. Great quality pictures and the flip screen helps a lot too. You have to fiddle around with it a little but overall amazingly little piece of technology. Well worth the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Camera quality

Body Only 05/11/2016 by The General (United Kingdom)

Alpha 5100 compact system camera quality and versatility

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to use, with lots of choices

Body Only 07/08/2016 by leicester the cat (United Kingdom)

I wanted a camera that would have automatic features and be easy to carry, but also one that I could adapt by changing lenses. Sony 5100 so far answers all these needs. It is so easy to take beautiful pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

All the features that I need

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 13/07/2016 by Boydyq (United Kingdom)

Bought as a birthday present for my wife. Lots of features which take time to master, but having fun doing so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just what I needed!

Body Only 27/04/2016 by Lizara (United Kingdom)

The quality is supreme! Even better compared to some DSLRs which makes me happy as it is compact & easy to use once I got used to it. Navigation is OK. Would have been cool if I could download apps straight from the camera, or post photos straight form the camera to the internet (but maybe I'm getting ahead of myself). Overall really happy with the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Alpha a5100

Body Only 08/04/2016 by ChrisPhotographer (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera, so I could try mirrorless I am very impressed with Functions, Useability & most of all picture quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great package

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 14/03/2016 by Declan (United Kingdom)

Only purchased 2 weeks ago so need more time to play and learn all the features which there appears to many! Lovely size camera after using a DSLR for so long although need to get used to not having a viewfinder. The only negative is the hood will not fit once a filter is in use on the 210 lens. Also at present am unable to work out how to format SD card whilst in the camera. Overall so far I loved it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use first camera

Body Only 11/03/2016 by Antony93 (United Kingdom)

Bought it as a first camera for myself and I started using it on a holiday in the Caribbean. It's very easy to use in terms of choosing settings as the menu is well designed and taking photos. It has good size especially considering the picture quality. Would have been nice if it has GPS for tagging locations to photos and a string attached to the cap as I lost it after a few days. The screen is also difficult to view in bright light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dslr in your pocket

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11/03/2016 by Paul174 (United Kingdom)

If you want dslr quality photos but want a camera that fits in your pocket then this is the camera to buy. Lack of a viewfinder can be a problem in sunny weather but increasing the screen brightness and angling the screen you can get around the problem. Overall superb!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A step above a "push here dummy" camera

Body Only 03/02/2016 by HenryPasha58 (United Kingdom)

We bought this camera a month ago after extensive research. Next best to a full SLR but much smaller and more convenient to carry. Picture quality much better than our previous Samsung Galaxy but online features not as good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

frustrating wifi, good imges

Body Only 26/01/2016 by lxkev (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago, and while the picture quality is good and the remote app is handy the restriction on the wifi really let it down. The on-board wifi hotspot only works up to 10 meter at a push. As the camera can connect to a normal wifi router to download app's I assumed this would be the same for the remote app - Nope. For some very odd reason the app only works through the hotspot. Also with the remote app the camera instantly sends pictures to your android or ios device. However when connecting to a mac/pc you can only dump send files. I had to buy a 3rd party wifi sd card to get this function. The camera image quality is good, very good low light vs noise. But don't buy this camera for its wifi connectivity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Good backup camera

Body Only 19/01/2016 by PeterjG (United Kingdom)

Bought for when my DSLR was to big to bring with me. I thought image Quality was very poor for a 24mp camera until I got a 20mm 2.8 lens and yep the kit lens is poor not the body. I have produced good landscapes, portraits and street photography with the camera, but the AF has trouble locking onto fast moving objects. As a point and shoot camera with the ability to change lenses and more control (as long as you don't need to access quickly, having to dive into badly designed menus is not quick) then this is very good for the price. If this is your only camera I would recommend the A6000, because the lack of a view finder is a pain in sunlight since you cannot see the screen so you are shooting and hoping.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great price-value. Small but powerful.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 18/01/2016  (United Kingdom)

It's a wonderful camera, the autofocus is superb and quick and the picture quality is amazing. The camera is very light and small but has the power of a SLR. My only comment is that the body material feels plastic and the hdmi tap keeps opening, it should stick in somehow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sets the bar high for other compacts

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 15/01/2016 by JDRL (United Kingdom)

I needed something a little better than I've had in the past. Although not a pro photographer, I do use the camera for product photography for work and I was beginning to find my old camera (a much earlier Sony) showing its limitations. The Alpha5100L is an excellent starter package for someone who needs more from their camera but doesn't want to jump in with both feet and buy a thumping great DSLR. I'm still getting acquainted with the camera's many, many features and have been surprised and delighted along the way. The differential focusing this machine allows makes the images I produce just streets ahead of anything I've done in the past. Inevitably, you're going to have to spend some money on apps for it and, if you need higher levels of functionality than the supplied lens can give then you'll buy more lenses. However as crossovers go, this model is just superb. "A full touch screen would have been nice," say some reviewers. Maybe, but imagine what might happen if you kept accidentally touching the screen! It could be a double-edged sword then. The limited touch-screen feature that this model offers seems in keeping with the rest of its design. Sensible and solid. True, some things you do have to dial through menus to achieve, but they're often the kind of things that need setting up anyway. Final words? I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/01/2016 by turbojunk (United Kingdom)

The a5100 does everything that I hoped it would, and more!! Stunning images. Interchangeable lenses. A fantastic sub-dslr piece of kit. A minus point - Sony, the apps should be FREE!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07/01/2016 by Bubbaloola (United Kingdom)

I'm nowhere near a professional photographer but this camera has certainly started down the path. Great pictures even in auto settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing for price/quality

Body Only 04/01/2016 by Samok (United Kingdom)

I believe that this camera could be considered perfect (for the price) if it wasn't for the lack of accessories.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ease of use,perfect

Body Only 11/12/2015 by Durness1 (United Kingdom)

I got this camera for my 70th birthday on Dec. 1st. and it is the best piece of kit I have ever seen !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent image quality, poor durability

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/11/2015 by Unhappy Ex Sony Fan (United Kingdom)

Much lesser quality than the previous generation Nex series. Took a small knock and stopped working completely. Image quality is fine although low light performance doesn't seem as good as previous generation and focusing seems slower than claimed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Just WOW

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 12/08/2015 by Kiittykatt (USA)

I upgraded from a tiny Sony Cybershot point and shoot camera. This guy blew me away. It's not that much of a hassle to carry around since it still fits in my purse, but it packs a punch of a dslr camera. The sensor is downright amazing and is 4 times bigger than my previous camera which makes a huge difference, especially in low light. I tested the a5100 in Asia in all sorts of conditions and it surpassed all my expectations even in auto mode. The flip screen is perfect for selfies and the color is true to reality. I haven't felt the need to use the flash yet since it performs so well in low light. Only minus is that my iphone does bettet in burst mode (not sure why) and there is no view finders so it's a little bit harder to see in bright light. Other than that this camera is my new best travel companion!

7

0

0

Excellent camera but missing a few key features

Body Only 11/08/2015 by stodge (United Kingdom)

I love the size, weight and balance of the camera. Even with the 55-210 zoom lens fitted the stability is excellent. Picture quality is great in varying light levels. I am looking forward to getting to grips with some of the more advanced features. There are only two items I really miss - lack of a view finder and a jog wheel for quick switching between modes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

skeptical about moving to mirrorless cameras

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09/08/2015 by wahdaheck (USA)

I was skeptical about moving to mirrorless cameras from a DSLR platform. But after using the A5100 for a little over a month now, i am now a believer that these tiny ILCs are able to hold its own in picture quality, performance, and build quality of the product....i came from an entry level DSLR (2nd to the cheapest nikon available 5 yrs ago) and moved over to this entry-level (which is pretty much also the 2nd cheapest sony mirrorless at this time), so its a good apples to apples comparison

0

0

0

GOOD Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25/07/2015 by CEYLONSRI (USA)

Handy. Low light performance. Picture quality. Above 3 are the best features. Lack of viewfinder & hot shoe are shortcomings.

1

0

0

Best Ever Convinience Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 18/07/2015 by Eddies (USA)

I own some pro cameras Dslr Nikon D and Canon for years, some point and shoot digital Convinience carry (small size) always have been lacking in my quality department, sometimes on my short getaway vacations of 5 or 4 days I seem to want to pack light including my camera equipment. Sometimes unwantingly leaving myself quality deprived, not anymore. With what I get now with my Sony is a very Big Bang for my small size travel companion, you can't get any better than this camera unless you go bigger and I have that with my other cameras which I use in a more setup environment with slave flash and umbrellas for photo shoots. For a get up and go situations I can count on a small camera to give me unparalleled results. Very happy in my decision to purchase a camera that can fill the size gap and Convinience of a small carry camera that packs a large punch!

3

0

0

Amazing camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16/07/2015 by travelphotos (USA)

This camera takes great pictures - very clear and great definition. It does tons of things automatically. The pano feature works very well. When you take a group picture it also takes a portrait of the people it thinks are the main subject - you get both pictures with one click. It's so cool. Took it to Switzerland for vacation and got great pictures of the Matterhorn!

3

0

0

great camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 15/07/2015 by michaelpraekels (USA)

Great camera give you beautiful pictures.

1

0

0

First Camera Purchase and not at dissapointment

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 15/07/2015 by ericbarrow (USA)

This camera takes amazing photos, very satisfied with the build and overall quality of the camera.

1

0

0

Amazing for it's size, lens options could improve

Body Only 09/07/2015 by cameratime1212 (USA)

Some background about me. I'm serious about photography but don't always want to carry around a backpack full of gear. My approach with the a5100 was to replace my aps-c DSLR with it. I think I'm going to settle on still having a dslr (but a full frame one), keeping the a5100, and using them each about 50/50. The Sony a5100 is really awesome for a compact aps-c mirrorless camera. Most of the negative reviews come from the lack of an evf or physical controls. The a6000 has those, so if that's what you want, get the a6000. I prefer the a5100 because its just small enough to fit into a pocket with most of the lenses I have. I don't find switching settings too slow without the physical controls and the screen is pretty viewable in sunlight if you crank the brightness to sunlight mode (although admittedly an evf would be awesome if it stayed small). Anyways the dynamic range is amazing (although really only useful if you shoot raw and post process), and the high ISO noise is good compared to other aps-c cameras, although still far from the full frame competition. The only real downside to this camera is the lens selection/prices and the autofocus is awesome on slow moving subjects but isn't as good as a dslr when it comes to sports or fast action (I don't have kids, or shoot sports too often so this is fine by me but I'd imagine that's a lot of people's concern). For the lenses I have the 55-210mm, the 20mm pancake, the 35mm f/1.8, the 50mm f/1.8, and the kit 16-50mm. I really like prime lenses for the large aperture and the general image quality (plus Sony's image stabilization works like a charm). The 50mm f/1.8 is awesome. Great image quality at a good price. The others disappoint a little, and some of the ones I don't own and even worse that don't exist are a letdown too. The 35mm should cost a little less or be a little sharper, and I really wish there was a high quality prime in the 20-25mm (~35mm full frame equivalent) range that was essentially like the Zeiss 24mm but doesn't cost as much (I don't care if it drops the Zeiss name). Canon, Nikon, Fuji, and Olympus have this, but the $1,100 for the Zeiss is simply too much. That lens is nice but nowhere near good enough to justify the price. The main competitors charge half. It's also, unfortunately my favorite focal length, so instead I'm using the 20mm pancake, which is decent for a pancake, although I'd personally rather have a bigger lens that's sharper and with a wider aperture, and I'd pay up to $600 for it. Unfortunately too it seems Sony if focusing more on full frame lens development--not too many releases in the last year for aps-c, so my hope isn't likely to be fulfilled unless they do another price drop on the Zeiss. Also a faster standard zoom or telephoto would be great as well.

5

2

0

Very Happy with Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 08/07/2015 by Dougy88fresh (USA)

This camera is one of the best camera's I have purchased from Sony. Being I am more of an amateur photographer and just take family pictures and landscape pictures this camera allows me to take them like the pro's do. Very easy to use as compared to my older DSLR camera and much easier to switch out lens and take great shots. I would recommend this camera to everyone. Make a basic photo taker like a beginner pro!!

0

0

0

Pretty impressive for such a small form factor.

Body Only 24/06/2015 by joeinmiami (USA)

Upgraded from a Nex-5. Still learning to use it but I think this camera is a perfect choice for travel or casual photography. Low light conditions are no problem for this little one. Performance in daylight and sports is exceptional. WiFi to your cellphone/social media is truly a God-send. Thank you Sony!

0

0

0

Good camera with excellent ability.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20/06/2015 by krikker1973 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camara one mounth ago. I'm very happy. Now i learning and I go take some pictures. Thanks. :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent quality, needs to be more customisable

Body Only 20/06/2015 by CnickVuz (United Kingdom)

Can't fault the quality of this camera, it produces excellent results. I am particularly pleased with the video quality; the XAVC-S codec just adds that touch extra crispness to the footage. The ability to change lenses is a big plus for me. If your budget allows you can attach the highest quality available! The only issue I have had so far is the lack of choice when customising the buttons. In the NEX 3 it was possible to set one of the buttons to access 5 of the most used functions. Not so with this model, you can only modify one function. Maybe a firmware update will modify this in future. Also, the only button that can reasonably be used is the Help (?) button; all the others are already performing useful functions. Otherwise you have to trawl through menus to get the setting you want. Overall, an excellent little camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great Pictures - once you know how to use it

Body Only 16/06/2015 by JoannaWanna (United Kingdom)

This was the first camera beyond a point & shoot for me and its taken a little while to get used to. A couple of bits I like - the picture quality IF you get it right! What I don't like is that the menus and features are not simple to get to. I wanted to override the flash the other night and by the time i figured out how to get there the moment had gone!! The syncing is also a little tricky I cant find a click and upload all on one date so you have to select one by one.. annoying if you have taken hundreds.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Sony A5000

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 14/06/2015 by pinkroses (United Kingdom)

Purchased about a month ago but have not had the time to use it much so unable to comment much on its features. However, I am sorry that I did not buy the A6000. I have a DSLR camera and I always use the eye viewfinder and I do miss it with this camera. Disappointed with the quality of the photos - not as sharp as I expected. A very smart camera and it does feel nice to hold.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Compact, lightweight at a reasonable price

Body Only 04/06/2015 by acoda (United Kingdom)

This camera is better than I imagined. It is the first camera I have owned that has interchangeable lenses. Its very small and light but just a little too big to stick in your pocket. The battery seems to hold up for a day of casual shooting and if you want more I'd grab an extra battery. The quality of the shots and videos I've been able to get is simply amazing on both auto and manual. It can be a little tricky to switch up settings but once you have the menu figured out its quite quick to go in and change what you need. There are a few small issues I faced such as setting up the "Remote Camera Control" software on my computer. I had to set this on the camera menu which was under USBconnection -> PC Remote. The other small frustration was if you want to capture in the highest quality video format (XAVCS) you need to grab a SDXC card which I wished had been made clearer. All in all very happy with the product and would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic little camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 03/05/2015 by geekesse (United Kingdom)

Lightweight, easy to use, produces excellent quality pictures - exactly what I was looking for from a camera in this price range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing Video Quality

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 30/04/2015 by RCRicci (USA)

I am still a photography novice, but somewhat familiar with video. I found the video quality to be amazing, - as well, the feature to save MP4 simultaneously with the HD video file.

2

0

Response From Sony Support
06/05/2015

Hi RCRicci, It's good to know that you are satisfied with the performance of this Sony camera. Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate it.

0

Great camera, quality features!

Body Only 26/04/2015  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as a downgrade from the newer A6000. and have been pleasantly surprised by the camera. For a camera that a newer model already exists, this is great. took it abroad on holiday and it was perfect. I bought this with a lens and that is really handy, performs as expected and is something that I would definately recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 21/04/2015 by Dale1984 (United Kingdom)

Great camera for the money. Brilliant picture quality & features. Only downside is the touchscreen is mostly useless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Light Weight and Professional Quality

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20/04/2015 by Znem (USA)

I have always been a Nikon fan but Nikon has not done the small camera Mirrorless well. Sony, has always been the tops in making things small and this camera is no exception. It's a pleasure to carry around my neck for long time periods and the quality of the photos is amazing.

3

0

0

Good camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/04/2015 by Tral4l4 (USA)

This is a good camera, takes very nice pictures. Screen is a bit tough to see during sunlight. Touchscreen focus is very nice. If it would have a viewfinder and the touch screen would work in the menus as well, it would be the perfect camera. I was deciding between this camera and the a6000, but chose the a5100 because it has the same guts as the a6000 + better video codec, is smaller, has flip up screen, and is smaller/lighter. I am very happy with the purchase.

1

0

Response From Sony Support
13/04/2015

Hi TRal414,

It's very nice to hear that you love the a5100 camera. As for the LCD display, you can change the setting of the Monitor Brightness to Sunny Weather when using outdoors.

0

Great camera!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 28/03/2015 by RonSonyA5100 (USA)

Good kit lens for video and still photographs in most lighting conditions. Aperature is not fast, so you will need to get another lens for low light conditions. Automatic setting does most of the work for you when you are having fun and want to get in a few quick pictures of the activities.

0

0

0

Good for Begineers

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 16/03/2015 by AugustineChai9663 (USA)

Easy to handle and good quality pictures

0

6

0

Excellent camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 05/03/2015 by GoAlex (United Kingdom)

I think this is the best combination between compact camera and DSLR. I hope more E -mount lenses will be available for this camera at good prices :).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Bought it for the video capability

Body Only 03/03/2015 by kayenta (USA)

Sony XAVC codec is a great improvement over AVCHD. Adobe Premiere 5.5/6.0/CC has no problem accepting it.

6

0

0

Very impressive futures.

Body Only 19/02/2015 by ArnoldH (United Kingdom)

I have only bought this camera about a month now, I have only took very few snaps, the very first picture I took I could not believe the quality of the picture, fantastic. I still have the NEX-5 which is good but this ILCE-5100 is BEST.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Ideal travel companion.

Body Only 18/02/2015 by Freonwarrior (United Kingdom)

Very happy. Bought to take on a holiday to Russia, just the job as an alternative to my Nikon D610 full frame.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great Performance and Value

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25/01/2015 by dereknb (United Kingdom)

Very fast focusing, and its great being able to touch the screen where you want to focus and it instantly locks on. Great small camera size (fits in a bag on my belt round my waist), but with large sensor. Lack of EVF (which I would not use anyway) keeps camera very small.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

good camera, poor customer service, and website!.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 21/01/2015 by stevie28 (United Kingdom)

good camera, look forward to spending time outdoors with it, but bought an extended service warranty with it, that the activation website will not let me register. no response from customer service e-mails either... had a similar experience claiming cashback on a tablet. another great product let down by poor customer service and poor website.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great little camera

Body Only 19/01/2015 by Gonzo555 (United Kingdom)

I received this camera for a Christmas present. I love it. So light that it's great to take out on occasions instead of my DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

great camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 17/01/2015 by paul11111 (United Kingdom)

Fantastic camera. I use the WiFi sharing option to my phone his NFC all the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic for a beginner!

Body Only 13/01/2015  (United Kingdom)

This is my first interchangeable lens camera and a great intro into digital photography. I've already coupled this camera with Sony's 35f18 lens as a replacement/addition for the kit lens – the kit lens is good but the 35f18 has helped me get some great shots and learn more about fixed lenses. I absolutely love this camera and can see myself purchasing more lenses as I become more of an expert. Day to day use is great too, it's lightweight and small making it easy to take on holiday or just out and about.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to use and great features

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 05/01/2015  (United Kingdom)

had real trouble deciding what to go for, DLSR, compact etc, glad i landed on this one, nice and small with the feature of interchangable lens but what pictures! so used to compacts and phone camera quality, when i fist saw these on the computer screen they looked amazing and then zooming in you can really tell the quality. so easy to use i'v eonly used the pre set so far and the burst shot is brillant for catching action moves. just and alround nice bit of kit for the family photographer how wants more than the compact can offer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Know what you are buying

Body Only 31/12/2014 by Quinny50 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera, mainly due to the Wi-Fi transfer function. To do this you have to associate the camera to a computer. I have an Apple MacBook pro, and after downloading the necessary software, and spending a very a frustratingly long time trying to hook the camera up to Wi-Fi, could not do this. On contacting the technical support, I was advised that this model was not comparable with Mac. All of my photography is on my Mac, which leaves me with the only option of converting them onto windows, which will take some time. The most frustrating thing for me was I was able to download the software for Mac application, but would not recognise camera. A dissapointing review, as the camera itself is a very good product, taking good quality photos, with great functions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact and Capable

Body Only 15/12/2014 by barrieb (United Kingdom)

I have been following the Nex series of cameras for quite sometime but, until the introduction of the a6000 and a7 Sony cameras didn't seem exceptional. I wanted a 'professional' performing compact camera without 'breaking the bank' and I didn't particularly want an EVF, hotshoe or touch screen control. Having read reviews, and handled the models (cameras'-) at exhibitions I became impressed with both of the aforementioned units and considered buying one. The introduction of the a5100 was for me ideal, as it fitted most of my criteria. Since owning the camera during the past month or so I have been very satisfied with its overall performance, however there are minor issues regarding the ergonomics and menu system which could be improved: Ergonomics: Shutter button ok, but other buttons too far inset, can be awkward to press. A lip at the bottom of the LCD screen would assist with flipping up. Menu System: The menu system is not particularly intuitive and takes sometime to familiarise.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

only been able to test this out and the 55-210mm

Body Only 12/12/2014 by dragstar1100 (United Kingdom)

Had this for about a week now been testing it out only at work seems good super fast auto focus is great so is shooting speed. feels strong in hand and is a good weight i brought this and the zoom lense separate and i am still wondering what to do as do own the nikon d3200 with both theses lenses and the bigger 70-300mm lense all nikon. but should sell it on etc but the sony has no view finder or shoe for flash but does have some amazing features but can not find a trusty idiots guide any help ?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality in a small camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07/12/2014 by GrayT (United Kingdom)

Very good image quality and easy to use. An abundance of features to suit any situation. Amazing that so much is included in such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 01/12/2014 by Mike00001 (United Kingdom)

My best camera ever. Even if you only ever use the stock lens you will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

High Quality Sensor and Lenses

Body Only 30/11/2014 by BruceL (United Kingdom)

Over the last few years I have been using DSLRs, going through 3 different Nikon models and feel that this has both improved my pictures and heightened my interest in photography. However, I have been hearing about how "mirrorless" cameras are the future of photography, so was interested to try one that also has interchangeable lenses. What you notice first about this camera is how small it is - the body is about half the size of my latest DSLR - but it has the same 24.3 megapixels that you would only expect in the DSLR. While the body is small, the lens provided with the a5100 looks larger than it should be and feels quite solid and weighty. For me, this is a positive selling point - proper lenses (the catalogue included, lists some made by Zeiss!) with a high-spec sensor, means the quality of images should be good. Of course the compromise made with a small body is that there aren't many buttons on the outside and you have to trawl through menus using the small command wheel on the right, to find all the things you want to change. It is also easy to hit this wheel by mistake when shooting. However, it was quite easy to find things - even though in some cases the menus went to more than 5 or 6 layers deep. Sony seem to have managed to get all the vital functions close to the top. I was able to switch to my preferred mode of aperture priority, although I did leave it on auto for ISO - whereas on a DSLR I would prefer to change ISO according to conditions. Here it's too much hassle. The other big compromise with this model (although not on models higher up the Sony range) is the lack of a viewfinder. I really like to look though and frame my shot this way and find it awkward to just use the screen. Testing this camera out-doors it was often difficult to see the screen due to glare and then you are stuck with no shot, which wouldn't happen when looking through a viewfinder. Also the information given on the screen is in pretty small letters. If like me, you need glasses for reading, these can be difficult to see - again not a problem when looking through a viewfinder that has been calibrated properly. The big "feature" here is that the screen on the back tilts fully upright - this doesn't help with glare (I tried all angles) - but it does help you take "selfies". This, along with the colours offered, hints at where the camera is aimed. It's for beginners really, who want to "point and click" - but with the highest possible quality. The autofocus is very good and very fast - faster than my DSLRs! It is quite sophisticated, but again, to change it you have to trawl though menus, so I expect most will leave it on the default. The other big selling point of this, is its ability to take "broadcast quality" video - HD 1080 in such a small unit is quite a coup. This makes it the ultimate tool for social media - high quality selfies and Youtube clips are within easy reach. Personally I wouldn't use it for video as it can only take about 30 minutes and the battery will be running out very quickly on the highest quality, with your memory card filling fast. Having said all this, I can still see this being very useful for photography enthusiasts like myself. A DSLR with a few lenses is big and heavy, needing its own bag and a definite aim in mind to justify taking it out with you. Whereas you can slip this camera in a pocket or rucksack and get high quality captures, on the off-chance you come across something while on a walk or out and about anywhere. Perfect for holidays or short breaks where luggage space is tight. You can still shoot in RAW and take advantage of the 24.3 Mps sensor to get the kind of image you might on a DSLR. (A point of information - PS Elements 12 wouldn't read the RAW files produced by this camera - but you can download free software from Sony "Image Data Converter" to read RAW files) Overall I liked this as a fun camera with a decent grip and build quality - especially for the lenses - but which you could take anywhere. Day out in the City, walk in the country etc. It has downsides though, which are addressed higher up the range - but this is already in the price range of a decent entry level DSLR from Nikon or Canon. In summary : PROs/Likes: 24.3 Mps Sensor Fast 179-point Autofocus HD Video 1080 Very light and compact High quality interchangeable lenses Wi Fi file transfer Good construction and grip CONs/Dislikes: No Viewfinder (other models in the series allow this as an option) Screen Lettering small and not touch sensitive Control wheel can be easy to touch by mistake Lenses can be expensive (long lenses are more expensive than for DSLRs where used bargains make this cheaper) Battery Life adequate, but not as good as an equivalent DSLR Manual not comprehensive - although there is a lot of free software on Sony's website, I would have preferred to have all this gathered in one reference document, with indexes. In conclusion I would still prefer a DSLR for any kind of serious photography, but it is amazing how much Sony have packed into such a small space. A very nice little gadget for those who want to take high quality pictures, but don't want to be weighed down with gear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not a bad camera but not what I expected.

Body Only 29/11/2014 by funky unky (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because I was informed I could use my Minolta lenses with it, but they don't fit, there may be adapters available but I was disappointed. Also I lost the lens cap the first day because it has no cord to attach it to the body or strap. I'm not convinced about the size of the sensor and lack of mirror giving much better pictures. The camera is easy to use and very compact, and the menu system is 1st class. I need to spend more time using this camera to get the best from it and do not want to be too harsh in my judgement if there is a facility to amend this review later I may do so.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Easy to use, excellent quality!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 18/10/2014 by Irfan (United Kingdom)

Purchased 3 weeks ago, NFC is brilliant and help button makes use very easy. For the price bracket of this product, the picture quality is outstanding!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Handling!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 22/09/2014 by ctid666 (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality, great handling & takes superb pictures, well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0