Skip to Content
97

4.6 based on 97 customer reviews

69
21
3
2
2
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

sony a7 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Body Only 04/06/2014 by paul01071968 (United Kingdom)

i bought my a7 to replace my sony a850 mainly because of the weight difference and i was blowen away with the picture quality and the realy impresive video the fact i can use all my a mount lens with a lea 4 adaptor ment i did not have to go out and replace all my lens the build quality like all the sony cameres i own is realy good the menu system is very easy to use the camera is a quality piece of kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

it is not what i expected from camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 31/03/2015 by Bato (USA)

it has problem with focus. the camera is freezing a lot of time. need to switch off/on to start to use again.

10

2

97 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

good sensor, processing & color not adequate

Body Only 15/03/2017 by lepborzoi (USA)

My Canon and Nikons both have superior processing software post sensor and both are color truer. I was disappointed in this full frame..sensor is okay but Sony is way behind in all the other attributes. I actually shoot a suite of Canon FD film lenses via adapters manually to make the workarounds work. Your camera is behind Canon and my nikon d4 by a mile..I can make it work to max the sensor but a lot of workarounds are necessary. You know how to make sensors but not how to process or autofocus or have true color nearly as well as either Canon or Nikon.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera easy to use

Body Only 18/01/2017 by Malcolmh (United Kingdom)

Had the camera for a few weeks and am very impressed with the quality of the camera. Feels solid and substantial, all controls fall easily to hand and it has delivered some fantastic shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

SIMPLY THE VERY BEST.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16/01/2017 by CHRIS24FRAMES (United Kingdom)

Another fantastic Sony full frame camera that ticks all the boxes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony A7

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 01/01/2017 by nala64 (United Kingdom)

i bought my camera about 2 months ago and cant get over ow good it is fits my hand perfect infact its never out it now over 5k piture taken already people say its hard to use not any harder than any other camera mirroless or dslr not going into all the tec stuff as not needed the camera does what it says and does it very well happy happy photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Best thing i ever did

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23/11/2016 by TimmB15 (United Kingdom)

Mirror less is the way to go, compact , light, have used in the wet with on problems, i like that i can use high iso's with very little noise, like all the information available to me in the view finder. Kit lens is of a good quality, use it 80% of the time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

1

0

I love it so will you

Body Only 31/10/2016 by Branco1971 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this after having the a6000, I was super impressed with the a6000 but needed a full frame as myvwirkbas a photographer was increasing and I needed to up my game with a full frame. Wow is all I can say the picture quality is great. It's functions are easy to use even one handed. It's an amazing piece of equipment well worth the money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Produces great images.

Body Only 03/09/2016 by Ben_14 (United Kingdom)

Once I had got used to handling the camera and learning how to obtain the best results I have never looked back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Amazing upgrade from Canon 50d

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 22/08/2016 by Superstafik (United Kingdom)

I am over the moon with this camera. You have to know your needs and the type of photographer you are before making up your mind when you change the camera. Not only all the general superb features of this camera you can find in all specification description but I also want to concentrate on some of the facts and features I have particularly enjoyed since picking up the camera. First of all I am a fan of HDR photography and the built-in system in Sony a7 is just Amazing. Some other digital effects features are also a great addon. Ease of use of the camera is exceptional. It probably took me 3 days to get used to the buttons and it's facilities. If people have reservations about battery life... well: Get a second battery or only use a viewfinder! And comparing to my bigger Canon Sony is really not that noisy. Kit lens is also worth the price. The most amazing benefit of this camera, and I can't stress is enough, is it's size and it trumps minor issues you can find online about this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Images in a lightweight body

Body Only 29/07/2016 by muies69 (United Kingdom)

This is the best camera i have every owned. so many easy to use features and short cut buttons. The lens that comes with the camera is great don't be told you need a better lens i think the only lens better is the sony zeiss 55mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Value, rigid build, function design.

Body Only 25/07/2016 by Rupert1119 (United Kingdom)

Love it, a lot of helpful features, clean internal design, very good ergonomics despite of what most reviews say(wide hands, short fingers). The glass is good (but it will become large and bulku if you're into pro zooms (g master 24-70), which still gives you an option to break it down for easier bag packing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

As a full frame camera it is ideal for potraits.

Body Only 16/07/2016 by Shogun66 (United Kingdom)

as a small camera it punches way over its weght extremely happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Best Camera I've used in a long time.

Body Only 15/06/2016 by Joshyyeezzz (United Kingdom)

I have always been a Pentax Guy but when my gear got damaged I thought why not change. Working in a camera shop in Barnstaple Uk I get to see all upcoming cameras and Sony a7 has been my favourite all together. Image quality is super sharp and crisp, colours are bright and the depth of field you can get is amazing. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who is thinking about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Upgrade from Nex-7

Body Only 29/05/2016 by Jolyon (United Kingdom)

Decided to upgrade from Nex-7, and found the Alpha 7 to be the obvious choice. This was aided by the fact that I had some A-mount lenses that I wished to be able to use, so bought the LA Ea4 as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Lens versitality

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 27/05/2016 by joby (United Kingdom)

Still learning but so far so good . Needs assistance in addition to the manual to get the best out of.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great cameras

Body Only 23/04/2016 by jayneil (United Kingdom)

A7 its so good excellent quality, excellent pictures, and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony a7

Body Only 03/04/2016 by xemxia (United Kingdom)

stepped up the a77ii which is a great camera but this whole new ball game well pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice design and spec but costly lenses

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 31/03/2016 by APR9999 (United Kingdom)

The design and specification of this camera is excellent. However, after hours of research, I realised that lenses (to take advantage of the full frame sensor) are very expensive and, unlike other brands, there aren't good alternatives from 3rd party lens manufacturers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great features!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 04/03/2016 by danbar67 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a compact, full frame mirror less camera. This is perfect!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/02/2016 by Kazoo (United Kingdom)

I have always wanted a good, mid range camera for night photography and all round quality photos. I asked at my local photo store which camera is good and they suggested the Sony A7. After much research, 2 weeks ago i bought the A7 and was not disappointed. Sharp photos, great at low light and small and light makes it easy to carry and use outside. The kit lens is good for a starter but I can't wait to buy a good, wide lens for the nights sky and a good prime. Sony have made a lovely, high quality camera and i am so, so happy i took the advice and bought one, its the best camera i have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fall in love with taking photographs again

Body Only 01/02/2016 by Maclaren (United Kingdom)

I use my Sony A7 in mainly manual mode with legacy lenses that mean manual focussing, it gets me so much more involved in the process of taking pictures, rather than just point, bang, take a picture!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A great camera to use.

Body Only 28/01/2016 by Old geezer 68 (United Kingdom)

It is a great camera in the short time that I have been using it.It is balanced for handling in all positions .All controls are easy to use.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great little full-frame camera at a great price!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2016 by David in Northeast (United Kingdom)

Bought this with the 28-70mm kit lens. I have a full-sized, full frame camera with a professional (big and heavy) lens and was tired carrying it in the heat on a visit to China. I wanted a full-frame camera that was smaller and lighter to carry around but would give me quality pictures, hence the purchase of the Sony a7. As I am used to cameras allowing such a combination of settings, it wasn't difficult to find my way around the Sony a7. I love the custom buttons but more so the Fn button which gives me immediate access to a range of settings of my choice. On using the camera's wifi to transfer 31 photos to my phone, I was blown away at the speed they transferred; literally a few seconds! Incredible! I like the fact they transfer at 2Mb/photo thus saving valuable space on your phone. However, you do have the option to send full-size photos but you'd need a phone with a lot of storage. If you are new to photography or to this kind of camera, take your time reading the on-line manual which you can download to your lap-top, computer etc as you will get so much more out of this camera. Loving it so far!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The A7 went beyond my expectations

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 26/12/2015  (United Kingdom)

Previous cameras in order NEX5, NEX5N, NEX7 and NEX6. I still have the NEX6 as I liked everything about that camera. I have full frame SLRs, APSC's, Four Thirds sensor cameras and wanted to try Sony's Fullframe compact. I deliberately waited until now for any new product issues to be addressed and cost to plateau. I love the form, although took a little time to get used to the shutter button position, which has now moved on the mk2 models. I have now settled on how to comfortably holding the camera. The EVF is as really as good as anything I have seen on any other camera, clear, large and bright with all the shooting info to hand on screen. The rear screen is the same in terms of quality although I have fitted a matt screen protector which I do to all my cameras out of preference. Image quality is very very good, I now have the high ISO set to 'off' as I like to deal with any image noise myself. Images contain a huge amount of detail as expected from 24Mp cameras. The benefits of full frame are there, with huge dynamic range and the ability to have lovely shallow depth of field if wanted. Higher ISO images were initially of concern with heavy noise reduction being applied as standard. Images above as low as 800iso had loss of detail due to the 'standard' noise reduction being a little heavy. My camera had firmware 2.00 installed that had additional choices of noise reduction available. Setting this to low improved low light images but using 'off' was my preference. High ISO was overall better than I was expecting and compared to other very good cameras in this respect such as my Nikon D610. At ISO 3200 and above there was about 1/2 a stop difference in image noise in favour of the Nikon, so that is really good in my opinion. I have saved images that I have been pleased with up to ISO 4000 and would print up to 6400 up to A3 size, once worked on just a little bit. The camera has all the nice extras for people that use them, I like and use the panorama feature but there are also scene modes available. I normally shoot in Aperture mode but I have moved to Manual mode due to a 'quirk' with shutter speeds. There is not the option to choose a minimum shutter speed, as there is on other high end cameras - Nikon, Olympus, Fuji etc. The Sony A7 like others in the range shoots at a preferred minimum of 1/60th second and only goes slower once your ISO ceiling has been reached. With a stabilised lens or the 28mm prime that coule be faster than necessary and as a result cause loss of image quality due to the camera using higher ISO's to keep the image properly exposed. I can only guess 1/60th was chosen as it is a 'safe' shutter speed for general use. A quick example using Aperture mode with my 28mm lens at F4 aperture the camera defaults to 1/60th second shutter speed and an ISO of 3200 for my chosen image. If I move to manual mode and set 1/25th second and F4, as my image is static, the camera onlt needs to use ISO 1250 and the image is improved with less noise and more detail. It is my only real niggle with this otherwise superb camera but one potential owners who like to use Program mode or Aperture mode need to be aware of. No minimum shuuter speed option is a rather suprising omission. Another way I have tried to get around the no min shutter speed was to buy the HVL-F20M flash, not to be reviewed here, but it is nice and small, easy to use, has a built in bounce feature that I have used extensively. A built in small flash would have been great for fill flash and candid front room family shots as fitting the flash increases the camera size and takes away from spontaneous moments. I guess there is just not the physical room to have everything on a camera of this size, oh well. I recommend the camera to a rather wide spectrum of potential users from novices wanting to move on and up - they can use the auto features and scene modes and progress as they like. I recommend it also to amatuers and all the way up to professional photographers who work out in the field due to its small size and light weight. A caveat on that is to keep size down the battery has a small capacity and you will need a spare. Third party higher powered batteries are available but it would be nice if Sony provided a higher powered battery option. I could write a whole pages more but will end it here. Suffice to say that I am very pleased with my purchase and I am very much looking forward to using the camera more and exploring more of its options and capabilites.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

SONY THE INNOVATORS

Body Only 20/10/2015 by ABEY (United Kingdom)

I think that the anti moire filter is reducing the sharpness of the photograph and wish that the filter could be removed can this be done?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

1

0

The Sony A7 . Big Pictures from a small Body !

Body Only 07/10/2015 by dont have one Paul (United Kingdom)

I have owned a Sony A 7 camera for 2 weeks , and have nearly got the feel of it .Not bad ! For a sophisticated digital SLR. The A7 is well thought out , and the function controls are positive and straight forward . Love the exposure compensation dial.The greatest feature for me is the choice of lenses, that can be used with it, I have Minolta/ sony alpha lenses Sigma 10-20mm lens, Leica R lenses , Pentax M42mm lenses and a Novoflex 400mm lens .All can be made with adapters to work with it., Movies as well. I already have a Sony Handicam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony A7

Body Only 03/10/2015 by Phil W (United Kingdom)

The build quality of the A7 is apparent the moment you pick it up. Controls feel like they are built to last and the overall specification is excellent. The bundled 28-70mm Sony lens produces excellent results combined with the camera's high res senor. The price is very decent too. Plus the camera is about a third the weight of a typical full frame DSLR. The only downside I can see is unlike most classic DSLR the Sony A7 camera does not have a mirror. This means when you change a lens the senor is exposed to the environment. For this reason Sony recommend you change lens indoors in a dust free space. It's not an issue for me as the 28-70mm lens is for my needs. But it's a limitation that may concern some.

2

0

0

Good features and build quality++

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 27/09/2015 by Fiftysixa (United Kingdom)

Good compact and light weight camera, which feels solidly build and has a good feature set. The only criticisms would be that it is slow to auto focus and battery life could be better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 25/09/2015 by Manphibian (United Kingdom)

Simply the best thing I've ever bought. I've had a lot of cameras in the last 2 years trying to find my perfect camera... Happy to say I've found it... Amazing quality, unbelievably small and such a great price. Anyone thinking about getting this camera, just do it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great image quality!

Body Only 16/09/2015 by darkzbaron (United Kingdom)

I have been using the camera for little bit more than one year and I am extremely satisfied. Indeed, I was looking for something portable without compromising with image quality. This perfectly fits the bill ,I have been able to take the camera with me all my trips while shooting at the highest quality. I can only recommend this camera, it misses a few features and I think the connectivity over Wi-Fi is a little bit too complicated. On top of that, it is impossible to change the language having both my camera in Japan this is really annoying.This highlights the fact that although the hardware is great, the software is sometimes a little short of expectations..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Review of Sony alpha 7

Body Only 13/09/2015  (United Kingdom)

The camera is superb and I am very happy with it. I have a problem with being unable to download the latest firmware - the website is not easy to follow. The kit lens is not up to the quality of the camera - serious barrel distortion at the wide angle end.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

On the way towards perfection

Body Only 12/09/2015  (United Kingdom)

As a tripod user shooting landscapes, not needing IBIS and not printing large, this is still my first choice. Small, light and with a wonderful sensor giving wide dynamic range. Plus, it's a great platform for using legacy manual focus lenses with. However:- It should have a more robust base mount and lens mount...(sorted on the MkII) I'd prefer a multi angle and larger LCD, there is room for at least a 3.2". I wish I could record in EXIF which legacy lens I used for each shot. AWB with non native lenses is poor (coming from Canon 5DII). You do need a good user guide to get your head round all the custom setting options. (I use G. Friedman's) Yet even with these failings it is still my favourite camera. (I may be tempted by the A7rII when prices have fallen...a lot, though it is 151g heavier.)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 07/09/2015 by IIIsolitaireIII (United Kingdom)

Lot of features, great image quality, superb colour range and lots of room for extras expanding possibilities. The EVF is a dream to use, though not as much in low light. The focusing could be a bit better in low light too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

upload firmware disaster

Body Only 27/08/2015 by vonny57 (United Kingdom)

Trying to update the firmware on the camera on my mac air and it crashed and now the camera doesnt work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera but

Body Only 22/08/2015 by drape (USA)

I bought this camera along with the Zeiss 24-70 4.0 lens. Really good match. I have since then purchased the Zeiss 55 1.8 lens and the 90mm Macro. The 24-70 is still my favorite. So here is the "but". I only gave 4 stars rather than 5 due the RAW lossy compression which at times causes artifacting and information loss. I would rather have a large true RAW file than a compressed one. I am hoping that Sony will offer this choice either through a firmware update or an override via a playmemory app. I am interested in the 42 mp a7RII, but I cannot see spending over 3 grand on something that has the lossy compression problems mentioned.

4

1

0

DSLR vs Mirrorless - no contest for me!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 05/07/2015 by SianPG (United Kingdom)

Divorced Nikon to marry Sony! Sold all my gear and bought Sony A7 with lenses and adaptors. Absolutely delighted with my new system, and so, so glad I took the plunge. DSLRS are fantastic, but heavy, and as a woman I found they were killing my shoulders and wrists to carry around all the time. The Sony A7 is everything I need in a camera, full frame, light, fantastic quality and so much cheaper! A winner all around. Go on, take the plunge; I certainly haven't regretted it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Big sensor for a smaller price

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 18/06/2015 by Pete49 (United Kingdom)

I have wanted to move into the digital full frame field of photography for some time now. The cost up till now has hindered the move. Somy with the a7 has eliminated that problem for me. Do I like it? You bet. I love the size and build of the body. It is just wonderful to hold in your hand. The picture quality is in my humble opinion, out of this world. Sony has allowed me to enter into a photographic word (Full Frame) at an affordable price. What's not to like?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Back as a Sony fan...

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 02/06/2015 by johnjmail10 (USA)

I was a hardcore fan of Sony since my purchase of Sony Walkman and I had several Sony cordless phones and other Sony devices. But then Sony somehow disappeared from my home with not many market leading products that I was aware of. I bought a Nikon D5500 on the lookout for a smaller DSLR and while reading up on it, I heard many photography professionals praising mirror less cameras. It was a pleasant surprise to find Sony, the market leader for mirror less cameras. I took home an a7 with kit lens and the pictures from this full frame sensor was very impressive. I hate carrying big cameras and most times ditch my DSLRs to carry another little wonder, the not so known GE X5. I am sorry X5, now you have to stay home too! My only suggestion is while it is good to provide a zoom lens as the kit lens for smaller sensor cameras, it would give an edge for Sony to give out a small prime lens as a kit lens for the full frame cameras. That will really show how small a full frame can be and how easy it is to take anywhere you go. You may probably make DSLRs extinct too, if not in the near future. More photos taken using Sony a7 are available at http://www.facebook.com/runaiphotography

5

0

0

Full Frame!

Body Only 13/05/2015 by IcedJello (United Kingdom)

I can't be happier with this camera, Though I was really unsure about the mirrorless aspect of the camera. I can now say that I can't imagine ever going back to a mirrored camera again. It's image quality is superb and with features like peaking and zebra, it is the ultimate tool for any photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Turning the amateur into a pro

Body Only 06/05/2015 by Michaelmcg1 (United Kingdom)

Only have it a short while and moved up from the a5000 and I will not be going back. I am unsure of all its features as yet but so far I am really impressed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Great Camera!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 03/05/2015 by jah2112 (USA)

So far the camera has served me well, the worst is trying to get macro shots, but switching to manual focus seems to solve that problem. The screen can sometimes be hard to see, so I mostly stick to the view finder. The view finder sometimes jumps on and off based off of where my face is touching it. But besides little issues, it takes great pictures consistently and the video quality is also great!

5

0

0

Outstanding

Body Only 30/04/2015 by Tippy (USA)

This camera is equal or better than a Leica M6 I had years ago.

3

4

0

Best Camera ever!!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 27/04/2015 by Jbrownz2002 (USA)

Fast responsive full frame camera!

5

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 27/04/2015 by PictureTaker (USA)

Have a Sony A77 but wanted a full frame camera that was good for low light photography. Purchased the A7 and photographed a pre-wedding party, rehearsal party and then the wedding candid shots. The camera exceeded all my expectations. Rented the 55mm FE lense since mine was back-ordered and can't want to get mine.

2

0

0

Amazing quality, remarkable size

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 07/04/2015 by fotomonkey (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a few weeks ago and simply love it. The quality of the images is outstanding, the size of the camera is remarkable, the design is clean and rugged. This is what Sony does best. Incredible product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good but could be better

Body Only 06/04/2015 by Stevefly (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace 4/3 camera, but falls down with the lack of lenses and overly complicated options on the menu

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Great Camera.

Body Only 04/04/2015 by SamT (United Kingdom)

Good camera. My first full frame camera. Chosen because of size and great reviews online. Did not disappoint so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

it is not what i expected from camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 31/03/2015 by Bato (USA)

it has problem with focus. the camera is freezing a lot of time. need to switch off/on to start to use again.

10

2

0

My Camera is the A711

Body Only 31/03/2015 by pete37 (United Kingdom)

Had it one month so have not been out because of the weather. The camera is better than my A99 and my A77. Plus I can use all my A Lens on t. Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ASTOUNDING REVOLUTIONARY CAMERA...

Body Only 30/03/2015 by John Batten (United Kingdom)

My new Sony a7ii has exceeded all my expectations - the stabilised sensor alone has enabled me to use my Nikon lenses via the adapter with amazing results. The two shots here of the yellowhammer (full frame and cropped versions at ISO 400) were taken with a Nikkor 80-400 + TCE 14 Extender on the Sony - though I do NOT recommend manual focus for nature photography! It is much better to have the autofocus of Sony's native lenses. (As a freelance pro I normally use a 36Mp Nikon D810 and I look forward to a top quality Zeiss E mount autofocus 100-500!). The other thumbnails shown here were taken using the 24-70/4 and again the results speak for themselves. The 24-70 saves me having to fiddle around changing lenses and so miss the shot! This combination is also half the weight of my equivalent Nikon and hangs round my neck all day without any discomfort. Robert Capa famously said 'F8 and be there' - so what can be wrong with F4! The EVF is excellent. The controls and menus are logical and easy to access. The only warning I have to give is that you should carry a spare battery because the feature-rich demands placed on it are considerable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great little camera

Body Only 24/03/2015 by U Dias (United Kingdom)

Shooting HDR on the Sony A7 isn't the easiest thing to do. Takes a lot of getting used to but I really grown to like this camera and I'd buy it over and over again.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great camera for microscopists.

Body Only 23/03/2015 by Spearsy (United Kingdom)

I bought the A7 after doing a lot of research, as I wanted to replace a conventional DLSR which I attach to my microscope. The A7 has a number of features that makes it ideal for the purpose. It has an electronic first curtain shutter which means there is no vibration problem, unlike ordinary DSLRs. It is also full frame so there is no need for extra expensive optical adapters needed to get the correct magnification from the microscope. I also found that at high ISO and high shutter speeds, moving, live specimens can be frozen with very little image noise. Video is very good too. With the Sony software, time-lapse is easy and the only extra feature I'd like is a live view facility when tethered to my computer. Maybe there is a way of doing this that I haven't discovered yet!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Mirrorless full frame vintage beauty

Body Only 20/03/2015 by StuartH (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to upgrade from my NEX 5 which i had enjoyed using with my vintage glass, but the want and need for full frame and a viewfinder really appealed to me. The camera is perfect for my needs and the tech inside is unique to Sony themselves as they lead the mirrorless front. If you want a great camera with all the features you'd expect from a full DSLR and the wide option of vintage lens and Zeis A lenses, its a great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My new/second hand Alpha 7

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 20/03/2015 by TUCO (United Kingdom)

Bought at an extremely good second hand camera store in Manchester 2 weeks ago. By chance, they had the kit version in the shop; 28-70 lens. One bug; I like playing with depth of field and the F3.5 doesn't give you that ability much; but then, how many lenses are there out there that have F2.8 or less in a zoom of this range? This is a truly unique and brilliant camera. Now, another purchase of mine comes to mind. I bought a Honda CRX around 20 years ago; second hand, old shape/style. Superb for the price. In 1992, Honda, having done user research changed the shape. Bad move. They created a hideous car when their starting point was a beautiful, elegant design. Sony have similarly tripped up. They've created this fantastic, compact, precise piece of engineering and users said the grip was a bit small. The users missed the point; it needs to be small; everything about the camera needs to be small. Make any part bigger and you've lost sight of what you created. Version II of the Alpha 7 is a Honda CRX 1992+ shape; Sony; wake up; know what you made. You've got the engineers, you have the designers; listen to them. There is only one reason you could possibly have for making the grip bigger, and that's out of the necessity of fitting a bigger, longer life battery. And another thing; you know all of those cameras from over the last 10 years all rounded and curvy. Yuk! Suppository. Like every cheap car on the road these days. Camera enthusiasts need good, solid, rational, scientific engineering. Clean, simple, tight! Sony Alpha 7. Ever been in that situation that light levels are too low, you need to hold the camera on something to steady it. Hold it against a column in a church for example? You need a camera with a flat base, vertical sides and sharp corners; Alpha 7. Everyone with a strong interest in photography needs this camera; astounding! The last tick box in this review has a misleading question. I'm writing here about the Sony Alpha 7. Not about Sony. I'm ticking the box for how much I would recommend Sony Alpha 7. I don't recommend Sony; period. I highly recommend Sony Alpha 7; first model; not version II. Now if Sony start making a more compact version.... then I might be interested in their product development.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

really pleased with it

Body Only 17/03/2015 by soli (United Kingdom)

Had an original 5d, so this was quite a technology leap. Very pleased. Only annoyance is the way the zoom in works when reviewing photos, other than that its a brilliant camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing quality

Body Only 09/03/2015 by Murakami (United Kingdom)

I have owned the A7 for about 5 months and it still continues to amaze me. The picture quality is outstanding and the camera comes packed with lots of really useful features. The hot shoe is universal and I attached my Nikon SB900 flash to it at work one day just to see how easy it is to use and it worked a treat. The wireless capability is a really obvious feature to have on something like a DSLR these days and Sony have produced a solid system which works really well. It is somewhat limited in terms of how much control you have over camera settings without changing them on the camera itself but it works well and sends compressed images right over to the connected device. The choice of full frame E mount lenses at the time of release was frustratingly few but Sony have a whole host of them due to be released and for the meantime a simple adapter allows the use of most other lenses really easily. I really have not used the camera enough to learn about all of its features but I upgraded to this from an Alpha 500 and everything is intuitive enough to not really have to look at an instruction manual when using the camera in manual mode.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7 upgrade

Body Only 07/03/2015 by mc14 (United Kingdom)

having been using NEX for professional use this camera was the next logical step

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lots of amazing features .

Body Only 06/03/2015 by Mali B (United Kingdom)

I've had my A7 about 2 months now , I changed from a Nikon D90 , as I wanted a smaller lighter camera, and wanted to go full frame . I had read lots of reviews on the A7 , so I took the plunge . I've had some great results with the 28 -70 kit lens , but now I have just received the 55mm f1.8 prime lens and all I can say is WOW !! Keep it up Sony but please more good lenses .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Happy

Body Only 23/01/2015 by Alie15 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product about a month ago, mainly because I want a full frame camera but did not want the big heavy DSLR. I moved from a bridge to this so I am still getting used to it. The sharpest of the photographs is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best of the Best

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2015 by GhostBrigade (USA)

I would definitely recommend this camera to my family or friends. It's a nice compact design, fairly easy to use and maneuver, takes great photos and it full of tons of features. My faves are different filters including back & white, HDR, watercolor and some downloadable apps such as motion. Whether you are a novice or pro, you'll fall in love this this camera!

3

0

0

Sony A7 Best small camera around

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/01/2015 by cally (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera and lens after reading all reviews about it and I am not disappointed, the photo quality is amazing, I did buy an additional lens Zeiss 35mm full frame and I am glad I invested in this. I wanted a camera that could be simple to use that had WiFi to download to my iPad and it is really easy to do this, it can also be more complex if needs be but for me its perfect. I can highly recommend this camera to everyone from novice to professional, this photo was taken with the Zeiss lens and you can see the quality is fantastic, thank you Sony. After seeing a lot of my photos on face book a lot of people have made enquiries into what camera I used to take the shots so I can only guess a few more sales will go to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera..

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 12/12/2014 by Antoinette (United Kingdom)

I'm not a professional photographer, but I do like good image quality.. and I think a full frame camera, is as good as it gets, ..I recently owned another full frame, but although the image quality was good ,I found myself not using the camera much because it was just too big and noisy (click click) uncomfortable.. When I saw the A7 I thought great.. small, full frame and mirror-less (quieter) Unfortunately on reading the reviews I continually read 'slow focusing' so I was really put off buying it .. But I thought let me judge for myself,I can always return it ..So I went to a big store and tried it out.. Wow.. eureka... I loved it.. the size and weight first of all , is wonderful ... I did notice the focus did hunt a bit on multiple point focus .. but I never use that anyway.. flexible spot focus which I use all the time is spot on... each time every time.. in low light as well.. Much quieter than the one I had before only (click) .. The image quality is beautiful .. even in high ISO's.. I put a Sony 50mm f1.8 lens on it and hasn't been off the camera ..these are images I've always dreamed of getting , and in low light too.. this really is all I want in a camera .......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

An excellent choice

Body Only 23/11/2014 by Slipruler (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera for a month and achieved very high quality results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great performance

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 18/11/2014 by noneofthat (United Kingdom)

very good low light performance. Great handling, changing settings for example

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A7 with kit lens

Body Only 01/11/2014 by adwb (United Kingdom)

I am happy enough with the image quality and the customisable layout but in reality there are several top of the range Crop Frame bodies that will produce images of equal quality, I do not even have the Pentax K3 but the older K5 versions and I cannot see any image improvement over them. It is a pity that the much talked out remote control has been withdrawn, and that there is no Lightroom tethering without buying a third party LR plug in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony A7 - a pleasure to use

Body Only 26/10/2014 by DMax (USA)

I bought the A7 after using a Nex 5N and Nex 6 - both of which I loved and still use regularly. However, I wanted FF as well, hence the A7 purchase. I have never regretted it and love it. The menu systems have improved with each iteration, and I find the one in the A7 easy to set/customise and use. I have one FF AF lens for now, and the rest are all MF - everything from OM's, to Leica Ms, LTMs and Rs, as well as Nikon and Canon FD (in other words too many). For me IQ is especially good with the result that I have sold most of my DSLR kit and will be selling more in the future. Highly recommend the A7, certainly for anyone with legacy lenses, and for those wishing for an excellent digital mirrorless.

5

0

0

Best Camera I've Ever Owned

Body Only 23/10/2014 by 1blacksheep2 (USA)

Of all the cameras I've owned thru the years this is by far the best. I was looking for a full featured camera that was smaller and lighter. I was having trouble with the full sized DSLRs because of the bulk and weight. This one solved all my problems in one fell swoop. The image quality is top notch and since I had already purchased several e-mount lenses, they were transferable to this one. That's a big plus. Overall, I think this may well be the last camera I ever buy. I haven't begun to use all its features and am thoroughly satisfied with my photographic results.

4

1

0

The Digital Nikon FE I Always Wanted

Body Only 22/10/2014 by Jefenator (USA)

The Nikon FE was a triumph of simplicity and rugged durability from the manual 35mm film SLR days. I used to travel with one and a few lenses. Since going digital in 2001 I've been wanting to recapture that more involved, contemplative shooting experience, but was repeatedly thwarted. (The digital SLRs are not the same thing at all...) The Sony A7 is the first digital camera that allows me to work with the old manual lenses I like, uncropped and in a reasonably compact and affordable form. More importantly, it is extremely friendly for manual focus. Much friendlier than most DSLRs and usually quite a bit better even than the old manual film bodies. This product has no competition at the moment, except of course the more specialized 7r and 7s models. The plain old A7 is a good all-purpose choice that is easiest on the budget. I really like the control layout and build quality. Some yearn for the full retro experience but, much as I admire and crave that, I think Sony's approach makes the most sense for the digital age. You don't get the simple shutter dial with an "A" setting but you do get a mode dial that lets you change entire groups of settings before you even power up the camera. Image quality is superb. Even with a cheap old manual lens, I can usually get closer to a true 24 megapixel capture than I ever could with my APS-C camera with the best lenses. I find I really appreciate and use the extra low light and shallow focus capabilities. The colors seem more vivid and natural as well. This format definitely feels like "home" to me now. This camera may not be for everyone, but for the more hand-crafted approach, I can't imagine a better way to shoot.

5

0

0

Superb camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 11/10/2014 by Photografikwork (United Kingdom)

I made the switch from Nikon to Sony a few months ago. The Sony A7 is a fantastic camera! The most important thing for me is IQ and colour rendition. Both are off the charts. I purchased the unbelievably sharp, Sony Carl Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 and the 35mm f/2.8. I'm stunned by the images I get from these lenses. The Sony 28-70mm f/3.5-5.6 is also very good kit lens. I sold my Nikon D7100 and all my Nikon glass happily after I compared the results. The tilt screen on the A7 with all the most important controls, shutter speed, aperture and iso, etc make this a masterpiece and allows you to focus on photography. To be able to see what your exposure will be before you've even pressed the shutter is simply brilliant. The remote app (Play Memories) is just a joy to use with the A7, which allows you to touch focus and dial in your aperture, shutter speed and ISO, all with a live preview on you smart phone or tablet.!!! Props to Sony for making a fantastic small, aesthetically pleasing, high IQ camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

BEST CAMERA....SO FAR SO GOOD

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 29/09/2014 by jsalgado (USA)

I cannot believe the night shots without the need for a flash...stunning, the colors are amazing.. thanks!

5

0

0

Best value pro camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 29/09/2014 by OrvusChamber (USA)

Awesome camera! Great full frame image quality and really cool features like send pictures to your phone. Kit lens is pretty good in my opinion, nice and clear, hardly any lens flare from sun even without included lens hood. Autofocus is fast although sometimes it will keep hunting even after it has focused. (I havent yet upgraded the camera to the new version available, not sure if that would help actually) Very light and portable (for a pro camera) although when you have it on your shoulder you do just have to be careful not to swing it into anything that will smash it. Weather sealed so you can get small splashes or a light rain and not worry too much. I got this half price because I work for Naughty Dog, thanks Sony! :)

1

0

0

Superb images, but with compromises

Body Only 27/09/2014 by dhaImages (USA)

The images produced by the Alpha 7 are simply superb. I have been shooting with the Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 and the kit lens (28-70mm)--but mostly the Zeiss. Paired with the Zeiss, the photos are simply unsurpassed (I also have Canon 5dii). The kit lens is adequate for casual photos, cityscapes, and very convenient but there is a significant difference between the Zeiss and the kit zoom (as would be expected when comparing any zoom to a fixed focal length). The camera is also easy to work with, having multiple dials permitting manual control and customization without accessing menus. I greatly enjoy shooting with it and the results have been excellent. There are some negative aspects to this camera. 1) The battery life is truly abysmal. I have no idea what it is rated for, but after three hours and maybe 120 shots in a European city I would find my battery near zero. I could easily use three batteries in a single day without shooting any video. In order to accommodate this when traveling, it is essential to have at least two chargers with you in order to be ready for the next day. Sony should remedy this by sending everyone who bought the camera an additional battery and an external charger, because the battery performance is way below what it should be. I also shoot portraiture professionally; I would never think to use the Sony for this simply because I couldn't make it through a single session on one battery, which is standard on my Canon. 2) The system moves back and forth between the EVF and the back screen when you lift the camera to your face. But the system is not smart enough. In a city or a museum, I would frequently want to shoot at waist level to stabilize the camera at the end of the strap. This permits you to take advantage of the back screen articulated. However, if the camera is within 8 or 9 inches of your body, the screen won't come on because it thinks you are raising the camera to use the eye-piece. This is very frustrating. Not sure how they missed that. 3) In complex lighting situations the meter has a tendency to overexpose. This is counteracted by adjusting the exposure compensation which is at one's finger tip, but it requires constant adjusting for relatively similar situations. In some of my samples, the images were shot well below what the meter said was a good exposure. In effect, I stopped trusting the meter and habitually shot 1/3 or even 2/3 below the center point on the meter. When touring, I like to shoot Aperture Priority, but because of the need to pay such close attention to exposure, I might as well have had it on manual. What this means is that more casual snap-shooters should avoid this camera because it requires that you understand what you are doing to take full advantage of the cameras capabilities. These three issues are frustrating in their own right and they require adjustments by the photographer. Except for the battery, they can be accommodated. Overall, I very much enjoy shooting with the camera. I like the relatively small size of the body and lenses (compared to my DSLR) and the image quality, when appropriately exposed, is first rate.When traveling I leave my DSLR home and carry the A7 and a NEX-7 body. The images on both are of the highest quality. I have blown up A7 images to full poster size; they are gorgeous. And I regularly print at 18x12 in my studio--images are beautiful. I shoot exclusively in RAW so I cannot say anything about in-camera JPG. This is a serious camera for people who know what they are doing, so those who rely upon JPG may want a simpler tool anyway.

21

1