USB TURNTABLE

Product Reviews

$499.99

70

4.3 based on 70 customer reviews

43
17
4
2
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Wonderful Turntable

PSHX500 23/01/2017 by kylo69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What I have found is that it's a great buy for the $$$. The trick to it sounding very good is to make sure you have your arm balanced correctly. Sony gives excellent instructions on how to do this. I would recommend at some point upgrading the stylus to a Shure M97XE or better, but the Audio Technica one that comes with it is solid for the overall price of the turntable. If anyone is getting "sub par" performance of the turntable, either they aren't adjusting the arm to the correct pressure or they need some better cans (headphones for you non audiophile folk) to listen to. Make sure you set the weight to 3 if overall sound listening (2.5 for Bass or electronic type music, 3.5-4 for critical listening with Jazz or Classical). Make sure the vinyl is cleaned properly as well. The turntable has a good warmth to it, Dylan's Blonde on Blonde really comes through as does Alan Parson's IRobot. However, for John Coltrane's A Love Supreme, I had to move my stylus pressure to 4...then OMG sweet sounds. I would think a better stylus would remedy that, but I'm just being nit picky at this point. Recording is very easy with the software download. Make sure you adjust your settings depending on the type of Genre you are recording. 16bit, 48k is fine for most things in PCM. However, for Jazz, Classical or really good albums, you may want to use either DSD or 24bit/96k. The Rolling Stones song Angie from Goats Head Soup really sounds GREAT in the higher format. (You can actually hear the strings reverb on the digital recording, you can't hear this on native CD format and only on Vinyl usually). Well done Sony! Well done indeed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Mac OS High Sierra users... Be aware !

PS-HX500 20/11/2017 by sergevb (USA)

The turntable is just what I was looking for. But now that my Mac is updated to Mac OS High Sierra, the High-Res Recorder app is useless. I was even told by support that there might be no update for the app... :(

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

70 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent sound quality from analog signal

PS-HX500 28/02/2021 by Tequila Sy (USA)

My old one (PS-LX60) complete his mission today (25 year), Sony is a very good quality brand on audio equipment from my experience of PS-LX60, today this new force impress me and also the DSD from Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality

PS-HX500 15/02/2021 by TheRedUn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought tdhis to replace budget deck i previously had and the sound quality is much broader and deeper than the bidget model and I was please I invested in a more quaality product. I was surprised however that the deck does not feature an auto return arm, i.e when the music stops, the arm returns to the resting position. whilst the sound qualauty is not indoubt, i would thought that a feature that was on a budget model would also be on a a much moe expensive model. The 4 star grading reflects this, to re-iterate the sound qualuty is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very happy with this

PS-HX500 10/02/2021 by Durbun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to setup, great performance. The HD audio recording is easy to use with good results. Recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great turntable,bad lid &rubbish customer service

PS-HX500 14/01/2021 by Joe76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s a great turntable, but the lid scratches REALLY easily. Even following the cleaning instructions, it scratches. Sony don’t want to know and trying to talk to anyone there about it is impossible.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

True sound

PS-HX500 09/11/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this deck to replace my 50 year old Rotel, which sadly had died. I get the same true sound (as you can only get from vinyl) as I did with my Rotel, with the added advantage that there is a built-in pre-amp. The deck was easy to set up. I haven't tried the recording feature yet, although I have downloaded the software.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Its digital side betters the analog one.

PS-HX500 05/10/2020 by dscot (United Kingdom)

This product is highly recommended, it was bought as a Vinyl ripper in order to supplement a Sonos system. The big surprise, its quality shifted the whole system. My system now has an analog side that I never expected to fall in love with. I am old enough to feel a little humiliated having to recognise that millennials are right, Vinyl rocks and this turntable is god enough to enlighten me about it. Later on, taking Vinyl seriously I tried to improve my turntable, it is possible but a wee nightmare. To start, I compared the turntable to a relative's cheap 90s Sony record player, to my disappointment the motor bearing was identical and the general design too, even the old deck's straight arm was like a cheap inspired copy of the new one, so to sum up; Sony has not innovate enough on the Analog side. This is a typical 80's Sony cheap turntable on steroids, with upgraded materials such as a better made tonearm and a thicker aluminium platter. This has practical effects, the first one is that the belt which is weirdly similar to the old ones for light plates turntables. The original belt stretched rather quickly, an iPhone app registered a pathetic 0.3 wow and flutter just some month after Heavy use. I also had problems with statics, in part ought to the thick rubber mat which is a dust catcher. However this is a rather Japanese turntable trait, so I would have the same opinion even if it was a Technics. In the end I manage to upgrade it, I bought an Achromat and an upgraded elliptical stylus without changing the cartridge, in a whim I added a Cambridge Duo preamplifier. Also, I bought a new generic belt. Out of the box the sound was nice and warm but a little bit boomy, after the modifications the results are more than good. The elliptical stylus was the biggest change, in conjunct with the Achromat plays a more sophisticated sound, still warm but with taut bass; the new belt took the wow and flutter to an impressive 0.11, I also changed the turntable's location farther from the speakers. In the end, I got an "I cannot believe how much" sound, so a happy owner here. I gotta say the Sony PS-HX500 can really push beyond its class, but as it comes from the factory is not the best around at the same price bracket. The main reason is that Sony uses the AT91/3600 cart, this is the best of the cheap cartridges around but this is a Hi-Re recorder, not coming ought of the box with at least an elliptical stylus is disappointing as it means its DAC is fed low resolution analog. Sony should have already changed the cartridge to something like the ATVM95E. I did not changed the cartridges as it is difficult but if you venture into it you have the choice. Unlike other turntables the anti-skating is adjustable, so it is the counterweight and the fixed Head shell allows moving any cartridge forward or backward to help with alignment. Many cartridge alternatives are likely to be slightly taller than the 17mm of the original cartridge. In this case a mat swop will likely be a good idea, anything made of acrylic seems the way to go. In my humble opinion the plater is better than the cheaper siblings yet is one of the weakest part of the turntable. I have to praise its Phono preamp though, the Alva duo which is one of the class leaders certainly betters it, but it only provides a more extended bass and it was my less cost effective improvement. By the way, having an external phono doesn't disconnect the usb out, something I really like. I left the ripping capabilities for the end for a reason, they are beyond good and can only be praised. I do not bother in ripping albums with a CD version available but I have recorded some Vinyl at 24/48. If the Original is clean no matter how old, the results are impressive, no complaints here. Some of its recording can blow out of the water remastered versions of old songs. For the first time in ages I carry my own music on my iPhone and some of the recording are just more pleasant than Spotify or even Hi-Re streaming. If you need to record LPs I hardly believe you can better this without spending a fortune but you may wander around for a while trying to get the analog part at the level of the impressive recording capabilities. As a comment you can change speed moving a selector, this is to me essential and something that put me off from so call audiophile options, new to Vinyl people be aware this is rare a this price level and definitely a plus. On the downside not auto lift capabilities, though the tonearm is easy to position and it feels of good quality when dropping the needle. To conclude, a good out of the Box turntable with a lot of potential if you have some patience, you are unlikely to regret purchasing it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Product continues to confirm SONYs excellellence

PS-HX500 15/09/2020 by Brian No nickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used the SONYs online video to set up the turntable and all went well. I do find that the recording and editing software does leave some seemingly obvious questions unanswered. As I have only had the product for a month, maybe some more usage will resolve the issues ?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome

PS-HX500 07/09/2020 by Wizard of oz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So glad I bought this,no bother using Hi-Res Audio Just perfect. So pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great quality at an excellent price

PS-HX500 23/07/2020 by Ashleywhw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great turntable and USB combination at a great price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Turntable

PS-HX500 18/07/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used both the playback and now the recording functions, I think that this is a solid turntable for an interested listener. The controls are intuitive and the software to capture recordings is both effective and easy to use. Note, you will need to download the software from Sony's website.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply excellent.

PS-HX500 25/06/2020 by value seeker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought primarily to digitise charity shop vinyl purchases. The ease of use and overall sound quality of the resultant files is outstanding. I was curious to also hear the turntable as a playback device in my hi fi set up and was astounded at the quality of reproduction. In over 40 years of hi fi ownership this product rates as one of the most outstanding buys in relation to its price. You will not be disappointed with this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value and sound

PS-HX500 21/05/2020 by Mick 43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a month a go and I am very pleased with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality piece if equipmrnt

PS-HX500 08/05/2020 by Mitzi56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago to transfer vinyl to digital had purchased a cheaper turntable previously that sadly was faulty but due to delays in trying it out properly I let warranty lapse. This product is more sophisticated and I am learning each time I use it but it's fairly idiotproof for my needs. Will probably hook it to my very old stack in due course

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All in the box, stressful upgrade path.

PS-HX500 03/05/2020 by Dave Away (United Kingdom)

My first surprise being my first record player ever is how good Vinyl can sound, in this regard this is as good as any at the price. The sound background is quiet with little hiss, the music fun, clear, spacious and the integrated phono amp useful. You do not need to invest in anything else. I was deciding between the Rega P1 and this, the set up is very similar between both including identical cartridges, with no doubt that the Rega would be a better all analog sound. Nevertheless, I went for the Sony knowing that its DAC has to be good and so it is. Ripped albums sound excellent, no identical but conserving all the dynamics that has taken vinyl back to the mainstream. There is a big but, it is borderline unacceptable that Sony is using an AT91/3600L phono, which it is been their norm since who knows in the twentieth century. The cartridge is fun and venerable, but low (17 mm), too cheap and basic for a product that is meant to be the first step on the Hi-Fi or Hi-Re ladder. Also, when you have a not adjustable height tonearm, it makes a swoop for another one a bit of a nightmare. I have seen with horror aficionados that obviously know more than me cutting their own platter mats to accommodate their favourite cartridge. Though other Audio Technica, Ortofon and Nagaoka have similar height; so it is possible to do it without going through this as weight and anti skating adjustment are included. The tonearm has small lines on the head shell that help you to aling the screws so obviously Sony wanted you to have the choice, but observing the perfect alignment of the cartridge's screws, I am opting to buy a 3rd party eliptic needle as I believe the AT91 cartridge could be improved avoiding the hassle. Going back to the product as it is, the product's manual claims a wow and flutter of 0.1%, this is better than the less of 0.2% claimed when this product was launched in 2016. If there was an update it seems nobody noticed it. I believe this figure will matter to some people but I am not expert to comment more on it. Finally Sony obviously spent the money on Sound quality but created a too understated product, the mate finish is good to avoid fingermarks but without being a Lenco it could have been shinier. The high resolution logo I believe is distracting rather than catchy. But as it comes out of the box is an all rounded winner that is impossible not to recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Looks great and high sound quality

PS-HX500 27/04/2020 by crbcrabb1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks really good, feels heavy and durable metal. Set up is a little complicated but if you take your time you will get there and is satisfying when you finish it. If I managed it you can. Love the built in amp so I use it with my Google home max.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Recording sometimes not work

PS-HX500 21/04/2020 by Mikeomoss (United Kingdom)

Turntable itself works but hi-res Recording software sometimes does not bring up the option to write files at the end of the lp playing

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

New Record Player

PS-HX500 15/04/2020 by ps953 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and install with great sound and features. Priced well and looks good (if you like plain black).

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features, just beginning to expore

PSHX500 07/01/2020 by Kappastein22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Little frustrating to setup. Finally realized screws were loose on cartridge head shell after tightening them it was a breeze to setup I am enjoying it so far. Purchased based on stereophile and absolutes Sound reviews. So far my lps sound good and track we’ll have OT done hires vinyl transfer yet

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Ease of use, good instrument

PSHX500 09/12/2019 by ian81348 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After much research I decided to purchase this unit for my college--they have the invoice from Amazon. I am very happy with the purchase as we are in the process of making transfers from vinyl to digital for archival purposes in my next class. Simple to use and interfaces well with my PreSonus hardware and software. Worth considering for anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

PS-HX500 03/11/2019 by Mate 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unfortunately I have not been able to spend much time using my record player, but the time that I have has been most rewarding. The sound is great and the switching between record speeds is very good.. It was easy to set up and I was using it within a few minutes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Convenient, but could be better quality

PS-HX500 27/05/2019 by MTBW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a decent turntable, and is very convenient and easy to use. The built-in pre-amp and USB out make it dead easy to set up for listening and copying vinyl, which is a major plus. However, after using it at home for a week I've found little irritations which together are enough for me to trade it in for a different turntable. Firstly, the built-in pre-amp and DAC does clip with vinyl which is cut particularly loud, which means audible digital clicks during playback. Because it's all built-in and the levels are set internally there's nothing that can be done about that. Secondly, the stylus that comes with the turntable is cheap and looks like a fiddly nightmare to upgrade. The USB output can only be used with Sony's own software, which is fine but is clunky to use (no keyboard shortcuts, awkward zoom view on the recorded waveform) – it's designed not to work with any other audio recording software. Also, I've found that 33rpm runs a little bit fast (and is not adjustable). So all told it's very convenient and decent for the price point, but won't work for everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Fantastic turntable

PS-HX500 11/05/2019 by player75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been pondering should I get myself a new turntable for a few years before I decided to get this one mainly to digitised some very hard to replace vinyl in hi-res (this is the only turntable that I am aware of that has the built in ADC that supports hi-res output before it reaches the computer) and the fact that the price had dropped to almost half of the original RRP. The software download was surprisingly easy to use but is basic (it does what it should do but nothing more). Setting up the turntable was easier than I thought it would be and the vinyl I had recorded so far sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

First class turntable

PS-HX500 30/03/2019 by Jacko 52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Truly a great turntable sound quality very good and easy to set up also option to record your vinyl to your computer would highly recommend this Sony turntable if you love your vinyl this is the one for you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Works as a Good Turntable Should

PS-HX500 20/03/2019 by J0nB (United Kingdom)

Nice turntable, seems well made (nice and solid). Sounds Very Good ! Pity it doesn't look more STYLISH, but is a much better turntable than most with phono pre-amp and USB !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New school but old school!

PS-HX500 11/03/2019 by Oberörd nöjesarbetare (USA)

Simple to setup but still with great features. Clear Hi-Res sound. Easy to use. Nice digital features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound quality

PS-HX500 08/03/2019 by Jackj01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for a couple of weeks now and it is a real pleasure to sit down after work and listen to my records on a quality piece of kit. The sound is so pure and the turntable looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost there

PS-HX500 13/02/2019 by Brained1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about a month ago, and the sound seems smoother and more incisive and revealing than the venerable turntable before it. Easy to set up, and connect. Good value, good product, recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect!

PS-HX500 03/02/2019 by Mstansmith (United Kingdom)

I bought this after trying a much cheaper USB turntable to convert my records into digital media and what a good decision it was. This turntable is aesthetically beautiful in its minimalist approach and performs just as well. The ability to convert my vinyl into DSD at 2.8Mhz which takes up roughly the same room as a 24bit/96Khz Wav file is fantastic as the real width and depth of sound comes through especially when listening to a good quality live album (Dire Straits - Alchemy is sublime). I have been trying to decide if there is a background noise from the needle but can't seem to work out if I need to change the setup and correctly ground the deck or if it simply part of vinyl life. Absolutely no regrets at all with this purchase and my only complaint is that I may have to consider upgrading my Hi-Res player from the Xperia Walkman app to an original Sony Walkman, an expense I don't really need. Well done Sony you nailed it again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent first time turntable to use with Sonos

PS-HX500 06/01/2019 by DucksCrossing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven’t played vinyl for 20 years, and am now a Sonos die-hard advocate. I wanted a quality turntable to link into the Sonos system, using a Sonos Connect to stream to the rest of the house. Sound quality is great through the speakers directly attached to the Connect module, with the only challenge being when I stream to multiple rooms via wifi. Not sure why the turntable would create this issue though. It was nice to play music the old fashioned way, lifting the needle onto the vinyl.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony PS-HX500 - What a breath of fresh air

PS-HX500 06/01/2019 by brooksdm2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been playing Music digitally at DSD level for some time now and decide to go back down the Vinyl route to see if I was missing out on any detail. The Sony PS-HX500 attracted me because of it ability to Rip Vinyl to DSD format. Well I wasn't disappointed, the ripping part was easy to perform and the end result is very similar to what you would purchased in DSD format - preparation is key to ensuring your Vinyl is in good state so you have no pops and crackles.. Playback via analogue doesn't sound as clinical as DSD, the sound is smoother and the emotion of the recording or event can be felt. This player in my opinion is very good value for money in terms of build and sound quality. The sound quality can be improved by replacing the stock cartridge with an upgraded version, but this is limited due to no VTA adjustment. It would have been nice of Sony to publish tone arm and cartridge spec's to make this upgrade a smother process, but there plenty of info on the web, the Audio Technica VM540ML seems popular. Overall very pleased with purchase..........

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does what it says

PS-HX500 04/01/2019 by Cooperman20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m glad we didn’t ditch all our old vinyl. I wonder if we will be saying the same thing about CD a few years from now

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent

PS-HX500 08/12/2018 by Micknorthern (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks back easy set up quality sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

So far so good but...

PS-HX500 08/12/2018 by Jugnu1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is undoubtedly an excellent turntable. The only issue I have is that I bought it as much to digitise my vinyl collection as to play the records and the problem is that the High Res Audio software is not compatible with Mac OS Mojave. Please issue an update immediately!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Its a pretty nice table.

PS-HX500 01/12/2018 by ThatDude (USA)

I have this next to an AT LP5 and it's a good table, if you change the stylus on the stock cartridge to something similar to the lp5 (elliptical) the two become very similar and excellent, and should satisfy all but the elitists who have more money than brains usually. You can spend more for better built eye-candy, to me this is pretty enough. Replacement belts are available that resolve the pitch issues some people experience. Sony, put better belts in to begin with. Turntables that carry your name should last a long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

VERY SMOOTH AND SIMPLE

PSHX500 28/09/2018 by DJ H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

NEEDE A HIGH END TURNTABLE I HAVE VARIOUS SONY PRODUCTS AND NEVER HAVE ISSUES

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressed

PS-HX500 09/07/2018 by MB001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present Superb sound Great design and style

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good route back into vinyl

PS-HX500 13/05/2018 by Crambo63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks and sounds great, easy to set up so can enjoy your vinyl without any hassle

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good Sound

PS-HX500 11/05/2018 by milesman (United Kingdom)

I've used this for a month or so and am very pleased with the results - the sound is excellent. Setup was relatively straightforward. The deck looks very good, too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great quality

PS-HX500 26/02/2018 by mangas54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a top quality turntable and after reading the reviews on What Hi-Fi I bought the Sony PS-HX500. It was easy to assemble with the belt,weight etc. The sound quality is excellent and playing my vinyl again is great(some of my albums are 50yrs old). It helps having a decent sound system but would recommend the Sony to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It's a Keeper!

PSHX500 20/02/2018 by rsv145 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After going through 3 turntables in less than a month, my wife accidentally settled on the Sony PS- HX500. This unit became a keeper due to its simplicity and great sound reproduction. An added bonus is its ability to rip your vinyl records via a USB port and Sony's software that is included with the purchase. It was an accidental purchase as I was looking to get another brand. I decided to give the Sony a shot before sending it back but its simplicity, the USB feature, and great sound changed my opinion of it and I kept it. The only things I would change about it would be the ability to play 78 rpm records and to have a holding place for the 45 rpm adapter. Excellent product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Outstanding Sound. Fantastic Build Quality.

PS-HX500 13/02/2018 by thepars85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace an old PS-LX250. The sound quality is fantastic. The only thing missing is "auto return" but I knew that before purchasing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Solidly built turntable with great sound

PS-HX500 11/02/2018 by pubby (United Kingdom)

This is a very solid turntable and it produces great sound. It's surprisingly low-profile, giving it a stylish appearance. My one concern is that the on/off/speed selector is a little awkward to operate and I suspect will be the first thing to fail! My biggest problem is that the DSD-recording software does not work with Mac OS High Sierra. This is a disappointment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

DSD Hi-Res recording, design, pre-amp included.

PSHX500 08/02/2018 by Betamex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player has a nice design. It's very easy to assemble. I wish I could get more info about the cartridge. It records Hi-Res indeed making a big difference when I transfer to my Xperia XZ Premium or play them on my ES receiver on a USB. The only problem I've noticed is a constant and annoying fluctuation of speed while I play a record. I thought it had to break in but after several hours using it for several days, it is still there. Maybe it was made like that or I've got a defective product. In overall, I recommend it if you're interested in not only record Hi-Res files but the pleasure of playing a real record.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Junk Software

PS-HX500 03/02/2018 by WastedMyTime (USA)

Purchased this because I want to digitize some of my vinyl exclusive electronic records. Set up was easy and it sounds pretty good. However, the mandatory recording software is problematic. While my first recording was able to be saved, nothing else will save after ending the recording process. I'm on Windows 10 and have plenty of hard drive space. The software completely freezes. The hi-res recorder is minimalistic, so I was surprised to find that it's broken. Luckily, I have an audiophile grade soundcard. With this, I am able to input sound from a turntable and record into other recording software. I'm going to return the PS-HX500 and go with another company to do so.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/02/2018

Hello WastedMyTime, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! _Bob

0

worked well for a year

PS-HX500 02/02/2018 by whythis (USA)

My turntable worked well for a year, but now it plays only one track of a record. I'm immensely disappointed that something would break so quickly, and it is used only to digitize my album collection. Sony service is non-existent, and I live in Seattle, not way out in the countryside. Sony was very unhelpful, putting me in touch with a service center in East Syracuse, NY. Really? Nothing on the west coast? Very disappointed in Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

You can adjust the feet

PS-HX500 01/02/2018 by Jeff D (USA)

I work for Sony and have one of these turntables - I noticed someone was complaining about adjustment of the feet - it's not mentioned in the manual but you can adjust them. Turn the inside rubber part of the foot, you can't turn the outside of the foot - hence at least one reviewer thought (as I had at first) that you could not adjust the feet to level it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

No Longer Works on Macs

PS-HX500 30/01/2018 by CloudDog23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using my PS-HX500 to save my growing vinyl collecting to a high quality digital format, to my Mac, since I purchased it in March 2017. I recently updated my MacBook Pro (2014 spec) to High Sierra 10.13.2 and now the supplied Hi-Res Audio Recorder app can not 'write to file' which renders the purpose of the Turntable i.e. to preserve some precious vinyl records redundant. I get as far at the "Write to files" button, then I click it and nothing happens. This is regardless of the length of the recording or the number of markers. The review will remain at 1 star until Sony fix this problem

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

11

1

0

Great Hardware, Poor software

PS-HX500 22/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound quality and robust construction however software is not fit for purpose in terms of the updated MACOS I.e. Hi Sierra

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

So far so good

PSHX500 31/12/2017 by CWalsh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well as I have only purchased today Dec30/2017 it sounds fantastic. The wife wishes it shut off on its own, me to i guess but it is good exercise to get up to do it manually i think.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice turntable

PSHX500 27/12/2017 by ehrjohn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this turntable as a Xmas gift for my daughter. I tested it and found it to be a very good quality turntable. so much so that I recortded 15 of my own albums @ 24bit 192Khz. The only prtoblem was the recording software froze up 3 0r 4 times and I had to reinstall it or disconnect it from the turntable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love this turntable

PSHX500 11/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This turntable sounds fantastic. It also looks terrific. VERY happy with it and would recommend it to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Mac OS High Sierra users... Be aware !

PS-HX500 20/11/2017 by sergevb (USA)

The turntable is just what I was looking for. But now that my Mac is updated to Mac OS High Sierra, the High-Res Recorder app is useless. I was even told by support that there might be no update for the app... :(

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/11/2017

Hi sergevb, greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

Trouble - not level

PSHX500 22/10/2017 by None2345689 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it out of the box and one foot is too short, so it rocks. Moving the turntable didn't help either. Customer service was worthless, their solution is return it. As a disabled vet I'd have to get someone to do it for me. So, I folded paper under the short foot. Some solution for an expensive turntable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2017

Hi None2345689, we are sorry to hear what happened here and thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thanks again for your feedback.
Regards, _Bob

0

Nice good quality deck

PS-HX500 13/10/2017 by pmc7070 (United Kingdom)

Got this deck because of the reviews and found that it does the job really well. The deck is solidly built and doesn't take much effort to get it up and running. The downside is that the software, for Apple users is hopeless. No matter what I've tried to do after recording a track nothing will write to files. I have had to record and save using Audacity.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Just what I wanted!

PS-HX500 26/09/2017 by Keeto45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loving my re-entry to the world of vinyl! Thanks Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Vinyl loving perfectionist loves PS-HX500

PSHX500 25/08/2017 by 3 chars too short (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

EASY USAGE. CLOSEST REPRODUCTION OF ANALOG VINYL SOUND, SOLID BASS I HAVE EVER HEARD FROM A CD.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great looking deck

PS-HX500 19/07/2017 by Sumo64 (United Kingdom)

I bought the HX500 a month ago, mainly so I could enjoy the resurgence in vinyl and also enjoy my vinyl collection from the 80's. I wanted a good quality product to go with my Technics SU-V500 amp (20 years old but still a top amp) without breaking the bank, so after some research I felt the HX500 ticked all the boxes and I'm happy to say I'm not disappointed. The deck is simple to set up and the the instruction manual is easy to follow. When first playing a LP I noticed the speed wasn't in sync, it was slightly faster than should be. The manual troubleshooting section didnt cover this but I found customer feedback information on the internet explaining there are adjustment screws on the underside of the deck. Its a bit tricky to do but I managed to make adjustments to the correct speed. I'm puzzled why Sony dont include this in the instruction manual, the adjustment screws are not in an obvious place and so easy to go unoticed. I've since noticed the odd record appears to 'slow down'. I'm not sure if this is a problem with the deck or a power supply issue, but I'll keep my eye on it and contact Sony if it persists. Apart from being a great looking deck, which should still look good in 10-20 years, the best feature is the excellent sound quality. Its crystal clear and plays the true quality of vinyl through my Bose soundlink mini speaker. The only negative is the the tonearm isnt automatic so at the end of play you need to manually lift the arm back to the rest. I havent yet used the recording feature so cant give any feedback on this. Overall I'm very happy with the product and I think its good value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Works like a Swiss Clock!

PSHX500 16/06/2017 by LCQ428 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent turntable for digitizing my vinyl! No concerns of build quality, the turntable is whisper quiet. The updated software works great! Was easy to get up and running and recording my records. The built in phono preamp is a plus for those who just want to hook this up to powered speakers that are becoming very popular. What is also awesome is Sony is still backing the DSD format and this turntable does an excellent job of conversion! The conversion is coming from the table and not the computer so signal path is the shortest it can possibly be from the stylus to the analog to digital converter! Very well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Mixed feelings - some great, others not.

PS-HX500 22/05/2017 by JohnL44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having been into both vinyl and SACDs for many years, I jumped at the chance to digitise my vinyl collection to 96kHz 24 bit PCM via dsd for much more convenient listening. The quality is pretty good but, and it is a big BUT, the amplitude during record mode is too low, meaning that the final PCM wav files use way less than all of those 24 bits. The peak amplitude during recording rarely exceeds -12db meaning that at edit/write time the maximum 6db gain always has to be used and up to 6 more are really needed. So, amp volume during replay has to be very high just for a reasonable volume, but despite the wasted high bits, the quality is pretty good. I am having intermittent problems where one channel goes to zero volume, but too intermittent for repairs yet. I have put the question 'Is the low record mode peak amplitude a problem with my deck or intentional (the recording guide pdf shows much higher amplitudes in the screen shots)' to the Sony help desk, but they just ignored the question. They seem a waste of time. So, good, but could be fantastic!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Very slick and heavy

PS-HX500 01/02/2017 by DV5717 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bough this record player a couple of weeks ago and only started using it today. fist thought: Feels Solid and there is finesse about it that shows that the designers have done their job right. As for Sony's High Res recorder nothing but praise. Works better than any other app I have tried in the past 15 years, my only bugbear is that it has no automatic return at the end of the recording but other than that full marks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Wonderful Turntable

PSHX500 23/01/2017 by kylo69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What I have found is that it's a great buy for the $$$. The trick to it sounding very good is to make sure you have your arm balanced correctly. Sony gives excellent instructions on how to do this. I would recommend at some point upgrading the stylus to a Shure M97XE or better, but the Audio Technica one that comes with it is solid for the overall price of the turntable. If anyone is getting "sub par" performance of the turntable, either they aren't adjusting the arm to the correct pressure or they need some better cans (headphones for you non audiophile folk) to listen to. Make sure you set the weight to 3 if overall sound listening (2.5 for Bass or electronic type music, 3.5-4 for critical listening with Jazz or Classical). Make sure the vinyl is cleaned properly as well. The turntable has a good warmth to it, Dylan's Blonde on Blonde really comes through as does Alan Parson's IRobot. However, for John Coltrane's A Love Supreme, I had to move my stylus pressure to 4...then OMG sweet sounds. I would think a better stylus would remedy that, but I'm just being nit picky at this point. Recording is very easy with the software download. Make sure you adjust your settings depending on the type of Genre you are recording. 16bit, 48k is fine for most things in PCM. However, for Jazz, Classical or really good albums, you may want to use either DSD or 24bit/96k. The Rolling Stones song Angie from Goats Head Soup really sounds GREAT in the higher format. (You can actually hear the strings reverb on the digital recording, you can't hear this on native CD format and only on Vinyl usually). Well done Sony! Well done indeed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Great for money!

PS-HX500 11/01/2017 by Arvy807 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply for use. Nice look. Good sound. Worth every pounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Hi-Res turntable

PS-HX500 07/01/2017 by willma (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would like to have seen a detchable headshell to use even better cartriges and stylus. Plus the switch from line to phono, nearer somewhere for easirer reach, and the arm lift better to see probably white.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Great for vinyl to digital

PS-HX500 01/01/2017 by Boris1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent for transferring vinyl to digital, easy to insert breaks and to insert artist and track titles. The quality of the digital conversion is also very good. Easy to remove any noisy intervals between tracks too. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Love the capabilities of the HI-RES AUDIO RECORDER

PSHX500 07/12/2016 by Humberto3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the PCM.wav and DSD.dsf capabilities of the HI-RES AUDIO RECORDER application.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

PSHX500 26/09/2016 by cblack1891 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product several months ago and I really like it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Plain but Stylish

PS-HX500 16/09/2016 by Chat123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, but it needs the volume cranked up to really make it come alive but it's a joy to use. I was a little worried about the assembly, but I shouldn't have been, it was so straight forward. Personally I feel that the word, Sony, should have been placed on the front, opposite end to the Hi res logo. A little bit of Brand snobbery me thinks. I have played both new and old vVnyl with superb results from both. The old had taken some punishment back in the day, and I was really, and I mean really surprised how clean the sound quality was. I'm going to rip some High Res files, but not yet, I'm going to carry on using it for what it was made for, playing Vinyl.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

Elegant minimalism, adequate sonics, solid build.

PS-HX500 16/08/2016 by Mutthusio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upon opening my Sony PS-HX500, my first impression was that this is a notably solid, sleek and premium feeling turntable. It fills a curious gap in a resurgent vinyl market: as either a top-end entry-level turntable or as the first steps into higher-end audiophile territory. If you’re looking for either then the PS-HX500 is likely to deliver exactly what you want. With no auto-play you have to manually cue records, but if you can slip a record out of its cover you can cue it up, so don’t be shy. Indeed, therein lies its more premium edge: you get to twiddle with a counterweight and fiddle with anti-skating, welcome elements which enhance playback, can improve the life of your records, and are not found on more basic record players. As such, the PS-HX500 is a little more tricky to initially set-up than less expensive preset models, but you’ll be up and running quickly enough. The balance between ease of use and being able to fine-tune your equipment is struck well. The instructions are clear and the operational dial, tone-arm, cueing lever, platter and dust cover are intuitive and well-made. I have my PS-HX500 set-up with the supplied internal preamp running to mid-range Hi-Fi speakers via the line-out and have no complaints. Of course the sound you get will depend on your set-up, system and speakers, but for me playback is clear and has body and presence. If you are a committed audiophile used to set-ups that roll well into serious expense then this is unlikely to tick all of your boxes, but it may well get an appreciative nod as a turntable that pulls its weight and delivers well for its class. The average listener (such as myself), I suspect, would not notice the difference between this and a much more expensive turntable (especially without additional premium peripherals). I have, however, noticed an improvement in sound and playback experience compared with more budget lines. The fitted moving-magnet cartridge serves well and the supplied rubber slip-mat, 45 adapter and cables are high quality. Visually this turntable is splendid modesty: a well proportioned geometric treat. If you are not open to minimalism then you are unlikely to be considering this turntable, and there are many other more exuberant and high-tech styled turntables out there. The plinth is solid MDF with a matt-black effect coating. There are speckles of gloss, as noticeable in some other photos, but the effect is actually (of course) rather subtle - personally, I was not disappointed at all. It is also worth noting that the PS-HX500 is rather heavy (at least compared to cheaper plastic models), hovering around 3.5-4kg, which adds to its gravitas. I can’t comment on the digital recording process - for me it is a redundant extra on a turntable I bought for competent analogue playback and modern subtle aesthetics. But I suppose it's nice to know it's there if I need it. I don’t have enough knowledge to comment on the potential for upgrading this unit either, save the cartridge or running to an external pre-amp, which should be easy. Some PS-HX500 components are less or more expensive than others, and some may wish to spend a little more on future upgrades, but as a whole this turntable is tight and I’m happy to stick with it as is. In terms of cost, this turntable has to be considered in comparison to similarly classed turntables. There are likely more affordable models, however the PS-HX500 comes with a beautifully understated design on top of a strong audio performance and a very solid build. Anyone will have to make a decision between these qualities and the price. If you want a reliable, good-quality turntable with more than adequate sonics, and are drawn to the PS-HX500 for it’s sublime visual simplicity, I would suggest you get on-board. It is a delight to use and a delight to own and I have yet to find anything else that delivers quite the same package.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

My Sony PS-HX500

PS-HX500 13/06/2016 by Boring Malc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First, the deck was quite easy to set up, but with one proviso. My amp has a photo input, and I spent nearly half an hour wondering why I was getting terrible sound. Then I noticed in the manual the output switch. Now I knew the deck had a switchable output, but I didn't expect it to be set to Line by default, I expected it to work out of the box with a phono input. Maybe this could be made clearer in the manual. Anyway, once I had the deck working, there was some hum that the earthing lead couldn't entirely cure. Eventually I gave in and (setting the switch first) plugged the deck into a Line input on my amp - hum gone, so quite possibly it was my amp had too sensitive a Phono input. Still, now I could audition the deck properly. I have a reasonable CD player, feeding through a highly respected external Digital to Audio Convertor (DAC), and I feel a little let down. I couldn't tell the difference in sound quality between the (supposedly) inferior CD and (supposedly) superior vinyl. The vinyl gave me clicks, some vinyl roar, short playing time and (only when I looked at the spec of the deck) a surprisingly poor Wow And Flutter of around 0.25% - I expected a figure of around 0.15%, so was a bit disappointed for the money. I don't know if this is clearly audible, but on long synth notes there is definately some variation in pitch, although watching the arm when playing there is some in-and-out movement, so it could be the record is not perfectly centred/pressed poorly. Anyway, on normal music this is not noticable. I've recorded a couple of LPs into my computer and am pretty satisfied with the results (I used 96KHz/24-bit as a compromise between quality and file size). This enabled me to edit out clicks and trim tracks, and although the recording level appears a bit low, on one of my singles the wick has been turned up and the track is recorded loud (Can/Silent Night 7"), so I can see why Sony made this recording level fixed - I've not gone into the red yet...! On the whole, despite my niggles, I am pleased with my new record deck, and am glad I bought it, even though I won't be using it for most day-to-day music listening (I have over 2000 CDs, and about 30-40 LPs/singles). It'll mainly be used for archiving LPs that aren't on CD, as well as listening to them. The way the hi-fi mags go on about superior sound from vinyl, well I just didn't hear it. I may even go so far as to say there not a lot in it, and certainly for day-to-day use the silence of CD (no clicks, no vinyl roar), the less of a hassle actually playing a disc, and the longer playing time without turning over/changing discs (80 mins on CD compared to a max of about 25-30 mins on LP), keep me firmly welded to the silver disc. Still, at least I have a record deck again, and it's available should the need arise one day...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

27

13

0

Breathing new life into vinyl

PS-HX500 16/05/2016 by iano (United Kingdom)

There are plenty of turntables on the market for ripping of vinyl but in most cases it's a question of quantity over quality when ripping and none use their own proprietary software so there is a learning curve when recording. The PS-HX500 addresses all those issues - it is badged as Hi-Res Audio and quite rightly so. Playing vinyl is a joy. The ripping software is exclusive for this deck and although at first it looks basic it does a fantastic job of recording vinyl and retaining the warmth and sound of vinyl, particularly if done in DSD. I'm sure it does a fine job with the lesser sound formats but to me this deck is to preserve my vinyl collection. Highly recommended and well done Sony for coming up with an evolutionary product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

23