11

4.8 based on 11 customer reviews

9
2
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

11 Customer Reviews

0

END GAME AMPLIFIER

TA-ZH1ES 17/09/2020 by runernut (USA)

I just received my Sony TA-ZH1ES and I have to say it is the most refined sounding headphone amplifier I have ever heard. I am using with Audeze LCD-3, Focal Elear, Beyerdynamic T-1, and Klipsch HP-3 Heritage phones. The sound has so enchanted me I am looking forward to purchasing the matching MDR-Z1R SIGNATURES. Well done Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/09/2020

Hi runernut, Great! We're glad to hear you like the sound quality and overall features of your Sony TA-ZH1ES. We appreciate the 5-star rating and thank you for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Owned for 3 years and use every day - My GO2!

TA-ZH1ES 04/06/2020 by sanzman88 (USA)

I've owned this amp going on three years now and listen every day while working from my home office. I have two headphones connected all the time .... Sennheiser HD800s, and my close 2nd; the Sony Z1R, As many know, the HD800s is a 600ohm set of cans, and very hard to drive. Wow, the TA-ZH1ES has no problem driving them, even with SACD and DSD source content. It's the only amp I've owned that truly brings the HD800s to life, opening soundstage and accuracy I've never heard in my content. Now when you want big but deadly clear bass .... man, these things shine with the Sony paired Z1R. Before I owned this amp and headphone combo, I listed to my music maybe 2 days a week. Now I can listen for hours with no fatigue. And actually look forward to trying out new music sources to discover each day, excited about hearing it in a whole different way.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2020

Hi sanzman88, thank you for the kind words and we’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Regards, Erin

0

The Best!

TA-ZH1ES 11/06/2019 by FCAhound (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an expensive pice of kit, but oh so worth it. I am delighted and have it paired with its sister Walkman and headphones. Unbelievable quality HD listening!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

detail while sounding natural

TAZH1ES 09/05/2019 by ecamel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

pairs well with my HD800S and Focal Utopia, jazz and classical are my music of chlice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

DSD, I finally heard it

TAZH1ES 20/03/2019 by Basisunus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought an SACD almost 20 years ago, but was never able to hear the DSD music (it was a hybrid) because I never own an SACD player. I didn't say this model finally allowed me to listen to the SACD. It supports all the DSD formats so I could finally start gathering DSD and SACD iso files, including an iso file for the SACD I bought 20 years ago. Previously, I was only able to listen to DVD-Audio music. An early Creative sound card I had already supported it. Since most of my other music playing devices are Creative sound cards, I can say that the TA-ZH1ES amplifier does do something special comparing to the sound cards. Of course, I bought a pair of relatively good headphones to use with it. The headphones I use are Audeze LCD-MX4, at least having a matching price tag to the TA-ZH1ES. The reason I didn't get the MDR-Z1R is because I already own a pair of the MDR-7520. I never enjoyed the treble of the MDR-7520. I was afraid that the MDR-Z1R sounds similarly, especially after reading one review mentioning something like that. I think the Audeze fixed that problem for me. I can feel the touch of some of the songs I'm listening to. I think the feeling sometimes is like drinking alcohols. The soul comes out of the body and starts dancing with the sound of music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great DAC

TAZH1ES 17/01/2018 by D Rudd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve owned this DAC for a few months now and even though I have yet to use it for headphones “I’m waiting for the new HD 820 from Sennheiser...I use this DAC with the Sony STR-ZA3100ES and it’s great USB connect to Mac mini, as well as toslink connects to T.V as well as PS4pro....I would like for Sony to Update the USB connect on the PS4pro to take advantage of this DAC so we can have even more uses for this great DAC....Sony did this with the HAP-Z1ES high res player with a software update for the USB to take full advantage of this DAC....Sound quality from this DAC is very nice indeed and the DSD upscale is great two thumbs up....Thanks for such a great product, I hope you allow other products to take advantage of using this DAC as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

4

0

Great Headphone Amp Plus

TAZH1ES 30/11/2017 by Wyatt1050 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Though the years have a a few Sony items. This headphone amp is excellent, and doubles as a DAC for a system, as well as streaming. Only four starters as a ES product and cost, it should include a balanced output for connection to a system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Stunning with headphones and walkman

TA-ZH1ES 13/10/2017 by BudH (United Kingdom)

Having used (WM1Z) walkman for a while i took the plunge and went for the full desktop setup with matching Z1R headphones. Nothing short of spectacular results on all formats - even when fed digitally and used to listen to "regular" internet radio etc

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

Superb finishing & performance!

TA-ZH1ES 01/06/2017 by KKLeung218 (USA)

I haven't got much interest for headphone listening initially. So I just intend to buy it as a DA converter for my 2-channel home system. Having it for months and I never get disappointed about its performance! You would absolutely miss its potential if you just function it as a headphone amp only!Sound is stunning all the way round and I really love it so much! But one "star"will be deducted regarding the cosmetic design of the unit. It should have an acrylic cover or something like that in front of those headphone input which would undoubtedly make it looks more tidy and dust free when we supposed not to use all inputs!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/06/2017

Hi KKLeung218, we're glad that you're happy with the amp! Your kind words are very much appreciated. We'll take note of your acrylic cover suggestion, the team would love to hear this input. We hope that you'll have good use of the amp for a very long time. Enjoy!

0

Superb electronics engineering

TA-ZH1ES 20/04/2017 by jirams (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this amp to replace my Sennheiser HDVD800 amp and it has not disappointed me. My only negative is that the HDVD can drive up to 4 sets of 'phones at same time. The Sony is used mainly with MDR Z1R 'phones and the combination is breathtakingly good. Expensive is a relative term. It is just such a beautiful musical experience hearing them together.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

22

5

0

Super sound

TA-ZH1ES 11/02/2017 by Pavlova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent headphone amp. Produces superb sound. Very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

6