171

4.2 based on 171 customer reviews

88
50
21
8
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great value great features.

STR-DH550 18/06/2015 by TobyC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace an old receiver that died and I'm very pleased I did. Very simple to use and set up. My only gripe is the speaker connections, with so much blank space on the rear panel I would personally like the red/black connectors spaced a little further apart so as to make it easier to connect the speaker cables. Overall this is an excellent product and exceptional value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Lacks HDCP 2.2 Support

STRDH550 30/03/2017 by Frejyasdaeg (USA)

The sound quality and ease of use are great, but the advertised 4K but lack of HDCP 2.2 support makes the Sony STR-DH550 hard to recommend. Spend a few more dollars and get a receiver that will allow you to watch your copyright protected 4K content without having to jerryrig the connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

171 Customer Reviews

0

Do not purchase- Failed HDMI Card -Repair failed

STRDH550 27/08/2019 by Todd207 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchase because of Sonys High Standard of Quality-Love their interface of products. All Electronics in household are sony as well, never having any issue. Sony AVR STRDH550 having only 186 hrs and 14 months after purchase (used for SXRD projector) failed, having no HDMI video or Audio output approx 14 months after purchase. Had repaired by Sony-United Radio only to immediately happen again. Return for repair and lasted about 1 year. Unit is now a paperweight. Neither Sony or Best Buy will warranty their own repair unless I pay for it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/08/2019

Hi Todd207,

We regret that the receiver did not live up to your expectation. Please visit our service website to have it repaired.

https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US

Regards,

Erin

0

Don't Bother

STRDH550 22/08/2019 by BamaHot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product is not user friendly to set-up because they think it will feed back to the TV. To balance the speakers they say to place the enclosed mike where you normally sit and follow the on screen instructions. The mike cord will not reach across the room. I do not sit within a few feet of my Receiver!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/08/2019

Hi, BamaHot! We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations and needs. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

An excellent quality

STR-DH550 11/07/2019 by THORs_Hand (USA)

I've always praised Sony for it's products, my best audio gear is from Sony, all the way from reel to reel machines and tape decks to this exact reciver. (no, I don't consider myself audiophile, for me it's about the tech and it's history, not the quality of sound, although I fully enjoy good sound) Before this, I had a MHC-RG495 (I think it is 17 years old that model) , since I decided it was so the 80's swapping cables around since it had only one aux. Input, I got this, the sound was a night and day improvement, although I kept the old speakers and use it in 2.1 mode, since I don't have the space for all 6-7 speakers, the speakers from my old hi-fi are very good quality, typical of Sony, and they look cool too. Anyway, the sound is amazing, it's design very pleasing, the connectivity fair, but it lacks in features, the dock works only with iPhone, having a high end amp doesn't mean I'm also an apple fan, I use a Samsung TV and phone, and although the TV and amp get along well (except for using the TV's remote to control the amp, not the remote doesn't have the buttons I need to even open the menu in the amp... So Samsung's minimalistic design hits back) , I can't dock my phone to the amp. There's absolutley no wireless or network connectivity, there's no excuse not having Bluetooth with APT-X or not, Spotify and YouTube Music would've been even better, I solved it using a Raspberry pi among all things, but still, no excuse, your engineers know what shielding, guard trace and passive/active filters are, the costs are very low to implement this, so as I said, no excuse. I don't like the remote, using Samsung's smart remote (the small, cute thing with very few buttons), and having this Sony remote side by side exposes Sony's outdated remote control design even more. I'm overall happy with this, I can get past lack of features, even if I loose a HDMI port, it's even less of a problem as I can work around the lack of features and add them myself. One last thing that stands out to me is the quality of the radio tuner, it's a very good tuner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does not pass thru 4k content as stated.

STR-DH550 28/01/2019 by Missionary (USA)

Beautiful machine. Sounds amazing. Easy controls and flexible with a variety of speaker configurations. We bought a new Sony 4k Bravia to go along with it. The handshake between these two is outstanding with one glaring exception, the DH550 will not pass thru the 4k stream. In fact, 4k's HDCP 2.2 screen is triggered by the DH550 and our 4k dream comes to an abrupt halt. If you're fine with only 1080p. then you'll love the DH550.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good separation of sound !

STR-DH550 09/12/2018 by Musical lady (USA)

I have been a music lover all my life. I've bought many receivers this is the best so far.....I love the surround sound so real... powerful bass!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the sound

STRDH550 12/09/2018 by Scoobs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just another good sony product i appreciate the quick customer service response

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it

STR-DH550 07/08/2018 by Longshot35 (USA)

Have a problem with mine suddenly when I turn it on after about 3 seconds it starts flashing protector and the shuts off to standby what do I do

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great product

STR-DH550 06/07/2018 by Knidiffer1 (USA)

I bought this product about 2 years ago to replace a older version, and have only had the best experience with the product. Has amazing sound quality and does everything I need form a home theater to gaming setup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good reciver not compclated

STRDH550 30/06/2018 by lwaco3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this was a replacement for a identical unit that a lightening strikes EMF took out. That is how satisfied was with the old one and am with the new one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Buyer Beware. No HDCP 2.2 Compatible!!

STR-DH550 21/06/2018 by dcole001 (USA)

That's right if you have a 4K TV this does not support HDCP 2.2 which is required for True 4K Output. If all you have is 1080P TV Not a bad Solution, but not for 4K

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2018

Hi dcole001, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Outstanding Receiver

STRDH550 04/06/2018 by mike96 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought one for the living room theater, bought another one for the master bedroom theater. We love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Was working great, loved it till it quit working

STRDH550 22/05/2018 by BigFootHunter (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this as an early Xmas present back on 11/24/17 from my son. We hooked it up & set everything in the settings & it's been working great till yesterday, when all of a sudden we lost the picture on the LG 4K TV. I checked all the HDMI cables, nothing. I couldn't get any video or sound to the TV. All my components are jacked in the Sony, none of the other components sent a picture either. Couldn't even bring up the menu/settings from the Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Just what we wanted.

STRDH550 20/05/2018 by achiro59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this about 1 month ago and I'm glad I did,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just a Great Unit for the price

STRDH550 16/05/2018 by Give Me Cookie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on a whim because I got a great deal.. Other than the fact that I hate iPhones and cant use the app that came with it the unit provides an immense sound and is clear and just a blast to crank up and have fun with. I would stick to sony in the future... Lets do some android in the future... Come on... for real? Apple Only? :p

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

New Purchase AV Receiver DH550

STRDH550 07/04/2018 by Shellstps (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a Sony enthusiast but my latest purchase has me concern - I am used to a good manual included / only available on web site - when I turn the receiver off the Sony TV 4K stays on so I would like to talk to someone about how to sync them - who do I call. I own a Sony 4K Sony 4K Blue Ray Sony AV and speakers I was hoping that they would all work together am a bit disappointed right now

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2018

Hi Shellstps, first we would like to thank you for choosing Sony! With regards to your concern, please refer to the article below to further assist you.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00161073


Regards,
-Erin

0

good features and sound from front speakers.

STRDH550 30/03/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the receiver. Only problem is I can get no sound from the surround rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome options for extremely low price.

STRDH550 26/03/2018 by Cchrst310 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this as a replacement for 8 yo Sherwood home theater. Very simple setup and awesome sound features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent product

STRDH550 21/03/2018 by jab3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with this product so far, the sound control and quality are far better than my previous receiver which was a Panasonic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Buy

STRDH550 21/03/2018 by kcdad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older surround sound receiver that did not have HDMI inputs. It was very easy to set up using the supplied microphone. I mainly play movies on my Sony blu-ray. The sound quality on this unit using HDMI vs the sound quality on my old unit using optical digital is awesome. I'm very pleased with my purchase. You get a lot of Sony quality for the price. Money well spent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

awesome receiver with an outstanding price

STRDH550 12/03/2018 by Muddhawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago to go with my 4K TV! Very happy with it and sounds great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good quality receiver

STRDH550 11/03/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver works well, however the speaker balancing system does not do a very good job of balancing front to rear speaker volumes, using the supplied microphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great value

STRDH550 11/03/2018 by Daledf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product performs well. Product was not able to hookup to my subwoofer

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good value, decent features at a reasonable price

STRDH550 07/03/2018 by Dave in Wisconsin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an old, old Pioneer stereo receiver. I really don't have a sophisticated home theater system. This product is working well for me. Three comments/suggestions: (1.) I wish I could rename the various inputs instead of being stuck with what Sony has named them. (2.) I wish it had a mic level input fora turntable (I had to purchase a separate pre-amp). And, (3.) I wish it had a switched 120V output so that I could have the power for other devices controlled by this device. But overall, it works well and the sound quality is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Good price

STRDH550 07/03/2018 by barry 218 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this product to replace much older receiver. Easy to install and performance is good. I was disappointed that I could not connect my older sub-woofer, as this receiver requires an active speaker which is priced almost as much as the receiver itself.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/03/2018

Hi barry 218,


Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.


Regards,
Zac

0

Great sound and very easy setup.

STRDH550 27/02/2018 by douwd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is really good and the surround sound setup was a breeze! Very simple and easy to use remote control.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good receiver

STRDH550 22/02/2018 by Russ1217 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift and it is hard to understand functions on the unit to work with my home surround system

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sound is awesome for all my devices

STRDH550 20/02/2018 by TR13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set up was easy. Complimented well with my existing equipment. Spend more time listening to all my music now whether CD, ipod, FM or cassette player. Movies are great too. Only issue was no "in" ports for recording to my cassette which the old receiver had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value AV Reciever

STRDH550 18/02/2018 by Gary435 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is very good receiver for the price. Simple set up a sound very good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

STRDH550 17/02/2018 by HARDTIME (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Receiver was a good buy for the price, I will buy another Sony Product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works great with my perjection player

STRDH550 16/02/2018 by gilligan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

just purchased but am very pleased set up with projection screen player brings video to life very cool ,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Very clean unit for the price

STRDH550 12/02/2018 by jazzietony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use it in my home recording studio. I have 1 Klipsch SW12, 2 R-15M and 2 PCB4BK's speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect for what it is

STR-DH550 11/02/2018 by afonsocarmo (USA)

I bought this for christmas to connect my PC, turntable and Blu-Ray player and don't have any complaints. Great product for the price and for what it is,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Sound

STRDH550 02/02/2018 by YNNEK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just a week old , good so far , wish speaker connections were farther apart to make it easier to connect. also would be nice to have turntable input!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best features in it's class.

STRDH550 29/01/2018 by Esber (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 days ago and I am very pleased with the quality and ease of operation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ease of use

STRDH550 28/01/2018 by Walnut102 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely happy with this purchase and with the ease of integrating it with our other Sony products.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

nice unit does the job

STRDH550 27/01/2018 by bob123456 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

so far very happy with it works well with my other equipment

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Basic Amplifier

STRDH550 21/01/2018 by HubNoHub (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned several 5.1 surround systems which I have used to watch movies at home. The Automatic Speaker setup system included with this amplifier, (complete with microphone) made this the easiest home theater sound system I have ever set up other than one I purchased which cost me olore than 5 time's more than what I paid for this amplifier. Great value.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DH550 Best Bang for the BUCK!!!

STRDH550 16/01/2018 by DCG69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is by far the best 5 channel receiver for the money out there. It can't be beat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Own a5.2 and it's awesome.

STRDH550 15/01/2018 by ABBEY J (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month and LOVE it .Sony products is all I own. Excellent Products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

STRDH550 13/01/2018 by Scitman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it to replace my Bose 35V System that quit working. I’m very satisfied with this unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds great

STRDH550 09/01/2018 by Heartatax (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and does everything I need it to do. Plenty of bass and sounds great using a 5:1 speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value.

STRDH550 08/01/2018 by Lostboy32163 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old unit finally died. So I needed something to hold me over until I could get a high end set up. After using this for a month I have decided to keep it and save the money for better speakers. Only con is the lack of Bluetooth, which is available on the higher priced models. Sounds absolutely amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fair device

STRDH550 06/01/2018 by mutupe001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fair device. The "on screen" setup in difficult. Plug and play would be better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2018

Hi mutupe001, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Regards, ~Erin

0

Great Features

STRDH550 03/01/2018 by DFORD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this few days ago. It's exactly what I was hoping it would be. Had all the need HDMI outlets you would ever need. Set up was simple and clean.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One Major Flaw

STRDH550 01/01/2018 by RSBky (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a nice affordable unit. We recently moved and the family room has a built in speakers so I was looking for a basic unit to utilize them. I have a Samsung smart TV and Uverse TV service. I like that using HDMI cables, I can run everything through the receiver and control volume with the TV/Uverse remote...especially since the receiver is hidden in a built-in cabinet. The one major flaw is that the receiver automatically defaults the the TV input and there doesn't seem to be the ability to choose SAT/CATV as the default input. I had to find a work around through online forums and added an optical cable as a work around. Not a huge deal now, but hate that I had to add an additional cord to set up. I'm not sure why the TV is the default since the receiver is designed to run to the TV not vice versa.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Quality and Price

STRDH550 30/12/2017 by Mr C78 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product for the money. Beats soujnd bars every time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I expected

STRDH550 27/12/2017 by TonyP2552 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I realize very quickly that one in-put (BD/DVD) didn't work as it was supposed too. The pass threw forces you to use the recievers amp.and speakers, when you only want to use tv speakers. ex:late at night

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good value

STRDH550 27/12/2017 by rocketpdr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took me a while to set it up, but it seems to work fine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

GUTLESS WONDER!

STR-DH550 26/12/2017 by BOBBYK (USA)

CAN'T CRANK UP THE VOLUME ON DVD MOVIES WITHOUT IT SHUTTING DOWN AND DECLARING "PROTECT-OVERLOAD".

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2017

Hi BOBBYK, We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. To isolate the issue, you may refer to the Help Guide for troubleshooting steps to follow: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/homeav/STR-DH550_DH750/en/cover/level1_08.html

Regards,
-Erin

0

Sony 5.2 receiver.

STRDH550 24/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my new Sony receiver 5.2 for two months now and I am very pleased with the way it functions

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Bargain

STRDH550 20/12/2017 by jmw448 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this receiver for about a month and for the price I paid , you will not find another unit that will out perform this unit .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor Serial Number description

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by CageyK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Your registration form asks to look on the box to find the serial number. There are about 10 "numbers" on the box, none of which starts with S/N or says "Serial Number"! We have to guess at which one might be the correct one.....fix it....

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by Pmrjulio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The cornerstone of my hometheater. I have my ps3, PS4 and digital projector connected to it for my 5.1 surround system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far can only rate it high for Value

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by Lucky446 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is a great value. Just started to use the Receiver but I had to learn to use the TV to process and set certain functions. On older systems there were more buttons. Quick start should have Note: to turn on TV for all menu items for tuner especially if not using a smart TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for price

STRDH550 10/12/2017 by Sham_god (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought yesterday.. so far so good easy connectivity.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DH 550 receiver

STRDH550 23/11/2017 by Photonicmatt1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

there were a lot of options to select from the set it up. Instructions are pretty good but not the best and they have to be accessed online

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bad instructions

STR-DH550 04/11/2017 by Big Bob (USA)

Had it a week and returned it, my issues could not be resolved

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Supports
04/11/2017

Hi Big Bob, We appreciate your feedback and we would like to hear more from you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Thanks. -Jay

0

Great Product!

STRDH550 06/10/2017 by Crabs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife is a classical and opera fan. She said that the receiver's response was crisp, clear and very responsive at all audio frequencies. She appreciates the automatic equalizer feature making the use of CD, DVD and TV listening a joy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

STRDH550 05/10/2017 by Pergy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed that there was no owner's manual included that would provide basic information on how to work the remote control and the receiver.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/10/2017

Hi Pergy, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Linked below are the manuals of this unit. I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

https://docs.sony.com/release//STRDH550_refguide_EN_ES_FR.pdf
http://docs.esupport.sony.com/homeav/STR-DH550_DH750/en/index.html

0

No instructions

STR-DH550 02/10/2017 by Toooldfornew (USA)

BOught it to play records and listen to the radio. When try to autocalibrate,it says to hit enter. But there ls no enter on the remote nothing on the internet says what enter is, either.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/10/2017

Hello Toooldfornew, We are sorry for the inconvenience that it caused you. You may check the link given below and may consider the center button as the enter button.
http://docs.esupport.sony.com/homeav/STR-DH550_DH750/en/contents/TP0000243248.html

Regards, _Bob

0

Great Value for the money

STRDH550 28/09/2017 by Old Marc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver works as advertised. It also seemed to improve my 4K Sony TV slightly, maybe 5%.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Easy to use and looks good

STRDH550 26/09/2017 by hondagary58 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exactly what i was looking for in my price range. So far so good .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

More advanced then my first Sony receiver.

STRDH550 13/09/2017 by Tocham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a good product. Easy to setup and great sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup & use

STRDH550 05/09/2017 by HondaGary (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my Sony receiver so far. Have used Sony products before and am very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Good for the price!

STRDH550 04/09/2017 by Jaywills (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a receiver for the bedroom. I do miss not having the ability to control it via Wi-Fi.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2017

Hi Jaywills, Thank you for providing your honest feedback about the receiver. This will surely help us in improving the quality and performance of our products for better user experience. We're always looking to make SONY better. ~Ralph

0

Great features

STRDH550 25/08/2017 by Home Boy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I think I am really going to like this product. I have to admit the very first thing on the instruction was confusing. It needs to show from the cable box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Right connections

STRDH550 24/08/2017 by Zzzx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few months back, easy set up worked 1st time. Wish it had of been Bluetooth ready

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

could have benn easier with instructions

STRDH550 05/08/2017 by pinman 300 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

hard to set up hard to follow set up instructions

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/08/2017

Hi pinman 300, we are sorry for the inconvenience. You can refer to this link to help you with the setup: https://docs.sony.com/release//STRDH550_qs_EN_ES_FR.pdf. Best regards, -Erin

0

Good for the price, big flaw DTS HD

STR-DH550 19/07/2017 by Mario G (USA)

Had this for a few months had to set up as PCM because DTS HD and DTS sound so muffle or compress, compare to Dolby Digital 5.1 or DOLBY TRUE HD those last 2 sound fenomal the other makes me want to burn the unit

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/07/2017

Hi Mario G, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

GREAT! Once you get it set up!

STRDH550 15/07/2017 by Cornishgal01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took all day to set up because we are not tech savvy. The manual is on line, so you have to have a PC or an ipad or something to read the manual. The product set up instructions that come with the receiver are good for the initial connections, but if you have a DVD, CD player, Internet TV etc we need a bit more than generic help. The online manual and info is VERY limited. NOT GOOD. We are now 6 hours post start to finish, and very happy with the sound quality, and the radio etc. ( Plus it's happy hour now.... :) Have the iphone music going, and it sounds great! Would say it is a very good buy, but SONY needs to improve their overall instructions. We have an OLD SONY TV and a SONY Blue Ray DVD player, and we had the same issue. They have poor instructions. We wanted to avoid having to hire the Geek squad. So far, so good. Very happy with the sound for those audiophiles out there.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good Receiver

STRDH550 08/07/2017 by wayne57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I expected a more complete owner's manual. I had to get most of the information online. I was surprised how large the cabinet was.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/07/2017

Hi wayne57, thank you for sharing your feedback about the receiver. You can also access the manual online or check this link: https://docs.sony.com/release//STRDH550_refguide_EN_ES_FR.pdf. -Erin

0

Nothing to Write Home About

STRDH550 04/07/2017 by auschet1940 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had this receiver setup for 3 days, so it's hard to make a judgment on its performance. Having a real owners/operators manual with real instructions would be of immense help. On previously owned JVC receiver, I could adjust all the speakers individually, with output level, bass and treble ; on this product I cannot. Found that the bass can be adjusted. This lack of adjustment would have been a deal breaker had I known. Took a while to set it up because of the lack of explicit instructions and the receivers capabilities. Perhaps it will get better as I get used to it. Have many Sony products and have been satisfied with them. I replaced my old receiver because I had connection problems with it after the cable company changed my box. New HDMI connections on the Sony corrected that.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0