118

4.4 based on 118 customer reviews

74
30
8
2
4
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect for what we needed

STRDH590 10/03/2019 by Moobear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I actually replaced a Sony 1040 receiver with this because of upgrading our TV and Blu-Ray to 4K HDR. We use all Sony products except for our small surround system speakers which are Klipsch. I was concerned about going from top of the line to entry level, but all we have is a small 5.1 living room system. We suffered no loss of sound quality whatsoever and more power than we could ever need. Works perfectly with our Apple TV. Both picture and sound could not be better. Highly recommend this perfect little receiver!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

does not respond properly to on/off signal

STRDH590 04/07/2019 by diver9999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the HDMI input ports stopped working a few months after I bought it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

118 Customer Reviews

0

Such improved sound

STRDH590 22/05/2020 by Russo44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not only was it simple to install, but the improvement over the tv speakers was immediately apparent. My twenty-something grandson was even impressed. I had considered a sound bar, but I already owned a great pair of Bose speakers that I wanted to use. For the price, I think this is a great buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi Russo44, Thanks for your feedback on your STR-DH590, 5.2 multi-channel AV Receiver. Sounds like you’ve upgraded your home entertainment system to work with the latest 4K TV’s and HDR sources. Equipped with 4 HDMI inputs, Bluetooth and a host of advanced features, your new receiver is ready for whatever and wherever your content takes you. Erin

0

False advertising

STR-DH590 18/05/2020 by markinco (USA)

Bought this receiver because it says you can achieve Dolby vision, which is incorrect. When I try to watch Dolby Vision content on my Apple TV 4K. I cannot achieve with this brand new receiver and my Sony A9G TV. Spent over 3 hours chatting with tech support, useless. Even bought the same model receiver and still the same issue. They want me to send it back but I bought the same one and still had the same issue. Sony A9G EARC to Sony DH590 ARC Apple TV 4K to Sony DH590 Mediabox (Audioquest Pearl HDMI with directional installed correctly)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

Hi markinco, We regret to hear about this. The STRDH590 is Dolby Vision compatible. Please follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below to resolve the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00236133
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00196870

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great features n great sound!

STRDH590 17/05/2020 by Kev2112 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great receiver. Only worry was if my turntable would work n it does. Sony Bravia tv sounds awesome as well!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Kev2112, Glad to hear the unit works well with your turntable. Thanks for your feedback on your STR-DH590 5.2 multi-channel AV Receiver. Sounds like you’ve upgraded your home entertainment system to work with the latest 4K TV’s and HDR sources. Equipped with 4 HDMI inputs, Bluetooth, and a host of advanced features, your new receiver is ready for whatever and wherever your content takes you. -Sam

0

Garbage

STRDH590 11/05/2020 by TVatlanta (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lasted 3 months instill it had to be sent in for service.This was a replacement for a similar Sony Receiver model that aldo died

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/05/2020

Hi TVatlanta, We want to apologize for the experience you’ve had with our STR-DH590. This is usually not the case for our AV Receivers nor the experience we want you to have. Your unit comes with a 2-year limited manufacturer's warranty. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great receiver for the money.

STRDH590 09/05/2020 by Xman75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver two weeks ago and I’m very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi Xman75, Wow! Congratulations on your new STR-DH590 5.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver. Sounds like you’ve upgraded your home entertainment system to work with the latest 4K TV’s and HDR sources. Equipped with 4 HDMI inputs, Bluetooth, and a host of advanced features, your new receiver is ready for whatever and wherever your content takes you. -Sam

0

Actually pretty awesome

STRDH590 07/05/2020 by krockweeks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this amp just for the functionality. I just needed an optical input for my Samsung smart tv, and I thought the Bluetooth would be nice. I also input record player/turntable and have old-school Bose and Technic speakers that just need stereo wire inputs. I did not expect it to sound as good as it does. I did have issues running my minimac hdmi out into the reciever and into the Tv/moniter. It sounded ok but the screen kept trying to configure the scale for viewing and I gave up and eventually just ran the headphone output on the mac into the rca input on the receiver and it sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi krockweeks, That;s great! We're glad to hear you appreciate the sound and overall quality of your STR-DH590. Sounds like you’ve upgraded your home entertainment system to work with the latest 4K TV’s and HDR sources. Equipped with 4 HDMI inputs, Bluetooth, and a host of advanced features, your new receiver is ready for whatever and wherever your content takes you. Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

The best choice for home theater!

STRDH590 05/05/2020 by fwlii (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the STR-DH590 to replace my old Sony 5.1 receiver that was almost 15 years old. This was ridiculously easy to setup, has excellent audio features & I love the 4K video passthru. It allowed me to connect a single HDMI cable to my TV & have all my other devices plugged into the STR-DH590. Excellent value & I would highly recommend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/05/2020

Hi fwlii, we're glad that you're having a great time using this receiver. The 4K pass-through feature allows data to pass through the receiver without compromising image quality and is HDCP 2.2 compatible. The DH590 is the perfect combination of high-performance video capability and superb sonic fidelity. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

GREAT SOUND

STRDH590 22/04/2020 by MBM29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT SOUND AND VALUE. ONLY WISH IT HAD A B-SPEAKER FOR AUXILLIARY PATIO SPEAKERS I ALREADY HAVE HARD-WIRED... LOOKS LIKE EVERYTHING IS GOING TO BLUETOOTH NOW.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/04/2020

Hi MBM29, We're glad to hear you're enjoying the sound quality of your STRDH190. Every component in the STR-DH190 has been designed for detail and clarity. We hope you also enjoy the BLUETOOTH for easy connection with mobile devices and the A and B speaker function for flexible installation. Thank you for choosing SONY. -Sam

0

overall features interface with other electronics

STRDH590 22/04/2020 by Connectdiver (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Interfaces well with my other electronics and speakers - easy to operate

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/04/2020

Hi Connectdiver, Awesome! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the overall features of your STR-DH590.The STR-DH590 supports all the latest HDR formats(HDR10, HLG, and Dolby Vision). We hope you also utilize these video formats to give you remarkable video quality. The combination of superior video quality and great sound will improve your home theater experience. Also, be sure to check out the Bluetooth feature. You can easily play music from all your devices via Bluetooth to further enjoy your new 5.2ch 4K HDR Home Theater AV Receiver – STR-DH590. -Sam

0

AWSOME UNIT

STRDH590 21/04/2020 by MRPMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

BOUGHT 1 MONTH AGO INTEGRATES PERFECT WITH ALL MY SONY EQUIPMENT ,SOUND IS GREAT ,EASY TO HOOK UP

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/04/2020

Hi MRPMAN, we're glad you like your new STR-DH590 5.2ch Home Theater AV receiver. We hope you enjoy the consistent 4K quality as STR-DH590 maintains 4K quality from source to screen using our 4K pass-through feature which allows data to pass through the receiver without compromising image quality and it is HDCP 2.2 compatible. The 5.2ch AV receiver brings movies to life with 4K HDR pass-through, Dolby Vision, and flexible surround sound. You also have the ability to bring all your devices together with BLUETOOTH connectivity and multiple inputs. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

I just love it !

STRDH590 20/04/2020 by Fury III (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased it alittle over a year ago in December and its never given a minute of problem. I like the fact that you can turn the volume up all the way for a short amount of time ( to loud) and none of the speakers distort even the subwoofer ! That's why i purchased a Sony system and so glad i did ! Two thumbs up !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/04/2020

Hi Fury III, we're glad you like your new STR-DH590 5.2ch Home Theater AV receiver. We hope you enjoy the consistent 4K quality as STR-DH590 maintains 4K quality from source to screen using our 4K pass-through feature which allows data to pass through the receiver without compromising image quality and it is HDCP 2.2 compatible. The 5.2ch AV receiver brings movies to life with 4K HDR pass-through, Dolby Vision, and flexible surround sound. You also have the ability to bring all your devices together with BLUETOOTH connectivity and multiple inputs. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

first receiver

STR-DH590 08/04/2020 by seabass2005 (USA)

i bought it as my first receiver and i've had it for 2 months and its been the best. the sound is amazing for a big and small room and if you have good if not excellent speakers the sound will be incredible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/04/2020

Hi seabass2005, Congratulations on your new STR-DH590 AV Receiver. We're glad to hear you're enjoying the amazing sound quality of your STR-DH590 5.2 Multi-Channel 4K HDR AV Receiver. Just so you know, the STR-DH590 supports all the latest HDR formats(HDR10, HLG and Dolby Vision). These video formats give you remarkable video quality. The combination of superior video quality and great sound will improve your home theater experience. Also, be sure to check out the Bluetooth feature. You can easily play music from all your devices via Bluetooth to further enjoy your new 5.2ch 4K HDR Home Theater AV Receiver – STR-DH590. Thank you for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

The Menu

STRDH590 05/04/2020 by drunkinftl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price a good receiver ruined for me by the incomprehensible menu.. maybe I'm just getting old but not techphobic but the menu is awful.. however having said that The setup using the mic was simple and quick.Altho it gave the difference of 3 feet for the centre channel and the subwoofer when they were nigh on next to each other. My previous receiver an Onkyo took ages having to reposition it 3 times..Other than the menu I have not been able to reproduce the sound I got from my previous Onkyo.. but I am still working on that... with the menu?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/04/2020

Hi drunkinftl, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may find this link helpful: https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdh59/v1/en/contents/TP0001559200.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: Sincerely, ~Earl

0

Great features

STRDH590 10/03/2020 by Zuper3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a month ago and totally happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/03/2020

Hi Zuper3, that's great! We're more than happy to hear you're enjoying this receiver. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

great sound

STRDH590 20/02/2020 by Pattyglide (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have enjoyed listening to my new receiver. i have hooked up my other audio equipment to it also.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2020

Hello Pattyglide,

That's awesome! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying your new home receiver. Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Romeo

0

A solid unit

STRDH590 19/02/2020 by WaltN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We've had other Sony AV Receivers and they have all performed very well. So far this one seems to live up to it's predecessors level of performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2020

Hi WaltN,

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

great sound!

STRDH590 17/02/2020 by Nubes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just what I needed and fit into the space I had available.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/02/2020

Hi Nubes,

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a Home receiver. Thanks for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

Bluetooth works great

STRDH590 17/02/2020 by Duke367 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this for a couple of months and it works great. Crisp clean clear sound. Only using the 5.1 with a klipsh sub-woofer and sounds Pimpin.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/02/2020

Hi Duke367,

Great! Good to know that you're enjoying this 5.2 multi-channel 4k HDR AV Receiver. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Great sound and sleek looks at a reasonable price!

STRDH590 07/02/2020 by Bob on Books (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a month ago to replace a 5.2 receiver. I love the smaller footprint of this receiver, the sleek design, the bluetooth feature allowing me to stream music from my phone. I bought this primarily for audio and have found the sound spacious, clear, and rich. As a vinyl lover with a turntable, it would be helpful in product info to know that one needs to add a phono pre-amp to listen to records through this receiver, but with the separate pre-amp, my vinyl sounds better as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great, BUT...

STRDH590 07/02/2020 by Disappointed1000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This unit works fine except that you are FORCED to constantly exit the HOME menu (a two step process) every time you turn the TV on. What idiot forgot to add a delete option for this? This aggravating characteristic negates almost every good feature. Wake up SONY and fix this!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2020

Hi Disappointed1000,

We understand where you are coming from. We would like to know more information and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Great AV

STRDH590 05/02/2020 by meeeeeee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good unit. replaced expensive Onkyo and does so much better at amping our CDs. Thought I might have to replace the speakers but this unit solved our problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2020

Hey meeeeeee,

That's cool! we're glad to hear that our receiver solved your issue. Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Great receiver

STRDH590 20/01/2020 by Gator 69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up and works great sound really good to

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What Instructions?!

STRDH590 17/01/2020 by GrayDawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm having a problem programming my Sony av receiver and the background sound overwhelming. Sony's instructions don't say anything about connecting it to a wireless tv receiver like DirectTV for surround sound so I think maybe I'm setting it up wrong. Better instructions woulk be great.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/01/2020

Hi, GrayDawg!

 I'm sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience. If you're having trouble with the surround sound setup, we would recommend performing an auto-calibration. Please refer to the link below for further details:

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdh59/v1/en/contents/TP0001559209.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

User Friendly

STRDH590 12/01/2020 by Tpain (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed 4K pass through and replaced Pioneer with this Sony. Very, Very pleased. Used supplied microphone for easy set up and then tuned to my taste from there with small moves. Xbox One S, Xbox 360, 4K Fire Stick and new Samsung RU 7300 TV all work flawlessly (over kill I know what can't be streamed from any of these). Let the receiver decode audio and you won't be disappointed. This decodes and balances sound beautifully our sound system has never sounded better and definitely an upgrade for us.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH590 11/01/2020 by No entry (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent product. Performs like a gem. Non-trivial installation, but I had expert help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice receiver !

STRDH590 10/01/2020 by Jakb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with the receivers features and power. This is a great entry level receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Decent for price

STRDH590 07/01/2020 by Al from NH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Other than a totally useless FM connection , it does what it’s supposed to do

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/01/2020

Hi, Al!

So sorry if you're having an issue with the FM connection. We can follow the steps below to isolate the problem.

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdh59/v1/en/index.html

I hope this helps but if you still need assistance, do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Everything I needed!

STRDH590 04/01/2020 by Oid65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I got this. Great value for the money. Sounds very good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound

STRDH590 03/01/2020 by Little Red (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product arrived in good condition and sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Product Reasonable Price

STRDH590 29/12/2019 by JKS13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a Roku TV and had an older receiver that HDMI inputs but it didn't have provision for HDMI arc. I already had awesome 5.1 surround speakers so I had to replace the receiver. The Sony Receiver was affordable and with the use of an optical cable allows me to add my DVD Player and WD Hub. Only thing that would be a little nicer would be the ability to add banana plugs as they are so much easier to connect. But overall I am very impressed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k features are a plus

STRDH590 26/12/2019 by Glok (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it for Christmas of 2019 and it's easy to set up and hook-up and it sounds great. I love Sony and I prefer nothing else

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup and user friendly

STRDH590 23/12/2019 by Hawg2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony 5.2ch receiver was easy to setup up by just following the directions. The receiver is being used with a Secptre TV and interfaced with the TV without any issues plus the one remote works for the TV and receiver. Only one HDMI cable require that I had to buy separately. The sound is deep and rich even full with a Roku and over the air TV stations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice selection of settings allow flexibility

STRDH590 19/12/2019 by Fredforeal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Receiver is now a happy addition to our theater surround system and being enjoyed on a daily basis.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

works great

STRDH590 18/12/2019 by docman49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this to replace old sony surround receiver, like the new blue tooth and various system sounds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

set-up issues

STRDH590 16/12/2019 by zhandomplrtfv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this today and during set-up. the FM antenna broke. It is also way more gadgetry than I needed for its intended use but it seems that this is the way units are made

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/12/2019

Hi, zhandomplrtfv!

We are sorry to hear this issue with your unit. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Power,Price,Connectivity ease.Great features.

STRDH590 14/12/2019 by PA 61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a week ago.Was pretty easy to hookup and understand with modern HDMI jacks and easy speaker connection for surround sound ect.Plenty of power for my needs and color matches all my other components.If the on off switch lasts many years I will be very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STRDH590 08/12/2019 by Tom1951 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and love it the only complaint I have every time I turn it on after a few minutes the home screen pops up and I have to push home again for it to go away

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2019

Hi, Tom1951!

We are glad that you are happy with your purchase! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Good Value, Great Sound

STRDH590 05/12/2019 by 3dpro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very nice unit for the money - if you are looking for a basic, reliable home amplifier/tuner it's hard to beat. It accepts Bluetooth streaming input (the main reason I bought it) - the sound quality is very good, as long as you have a good set of speakers. Cheap speakers, well, sound like cheap speakers. If you want to really take advantage of this receiver, use a well-made set of Surround speakers The on-screen setup features - via the HDMI cable - and the supplied "User Position" microphone for auto calibration, work very well for balancing the Surround Sound effects. The unit will accept Optical Audio input as well, making it an excellent all-around amp. The only thing missing is a Phono input.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brand new

STRDH590 05/12/2019 by bdcosmo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got this receiver today and setup was a breeze. Hopefully I can come back and update this with in-depth thoughts but for now I have to say it sounds good, looks good, not overblown with features I don't need and was an excellent value. The Sony name comes with great expectations.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Home Screen

STRDH590 01/12/2019 by TeeTanOv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only had this for 2 days and brought it back. Everything worked fine except it has a Home Screen that won't go away. This only happens when turning on the equipment which wouldn't be bad except you have to use their remote to turn it off. If it could be turned off (The home screen for the Sony) with the cable box remote I would have kept it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Setup and Performance Exceeded Expectations

STRDH590 26/11/2019 by Valley Mike (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with the Home Theater Receiver and it expanded the capabilities of the new Smart TV I purchased around the same time even though a different brand. The sound quality is great and it was very easy to set up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

out of box failures

STRDH590 23/11/2019 by pajjrj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

out of box sat/cbl hdmi port dead. when turned on audio and video would flicker but found out if inputs were switched back and forth it stabilized. Exchanged unit for another one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/11/2019

Hi, pajjrj!

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. But, we're glad to hear that you've been able to have the unit replaced. And in case you have any questions/inquiry, or concerns in the future, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SonyUsername:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great product

STRDH590 19/11/2019 by boatlady (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with purchase. Fairly easy to install, even for a novice. Sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup and great performance!

STRDH590 16/11/2019 by SuaveDonut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far the Sony STR-DH590 has blow away my expectations. I opted for the 7.2 dolby atmos version but it went off sale right before I was going to buy it so I decided to go with the 5.2 version since I don't plan on getting a bigger room for my setup for awhile and boy oh boy was I glad I did. Even on 2.1 this thing rocks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Home screen

STR-DH590 12/11/2019 by TeeTanOv (USA)

I bought this last Saturday works great. The Home screen for this Sony receiver always pops when I turn the TV on so you have to use the Sony remote to close the Home screen. Sure I could use the through setting to bypass the receiver HDMI ARC, but isn't this defeating the purpose of having a home theater amp? Also my wife isn't mechanically inclined so I have to set it up so she can watch TV, until it gets turned off again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/11/2019

Hi, TeeTanOv! We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We value your feedback and we will surely take note of this for the betterment of our products. ~Ralph

0

Finally able to hear rear speakers and subwoofer!

STRDH590 22/10/2019 by razorbacker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Rearranged our viewing room a few years ago and thought poor sound was due to speakers being out of position. Repositioned speakers, but testing revealed Onkyo receiver was not separating sound. New Sony is a joy to my ears and adds greatly to enjoyment of movies and action scenes! Good purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, razorbacker!

We are glad that you are happy with your set up. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Easy setup

STRDH590 01/10/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This make the 2nd Sony AV receiver I've owned and have been very satisfied with both.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
03/10/2019

Hello, Jim Thompson!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

works like a charm

STRDH590 16/09/2019 by smokeybearmamabear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

would recommend this to anyone, easy to set some instruction not clear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, smokeybearmamabear!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Sony products are durable

STRDH590 04/08/2019 by wo3jones (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony receiver a month ago and I'm enjoying the new features on it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2019

Hi, wo3jones!

Thank you for supporting Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Easy set-up

STRDH590 04/08/2019 by Herbie1958 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit to replace my broken stereo receiver. It set up very easy and the quick calibration worked the first time I did it. Hopefully it will last a long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2019

Hi, Herbie1958!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl

0

Reciver is good but remote is another story

STR-DH590 28/07/2019 by Traveler74 (USA)

I bought a Sony receiver about 10 years ago and was great as I was able to connect everything to my receiver to everything and the remote could talk to everything and do all the functions I needed. This remote however is a big fail. We had to go out and buy another remote to combine all of my devices in to that remote. I wish they could at least sell a aftermarket remote that could do this task.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Traveler74!

We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. As a suggestion, you can try using our universal remote to control the devices connected on your receiver. Please visit our website or go to one of our authorized retailers
for this model rmvz320.

Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Regards,
Sam

0

My Son got it working!

STRDH590 15/07/2019 by Hobojoey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this 3 weeks and could not get the speakers to work, Have to turn TV on and off with this remote (sound) and TV remote picture. Pushed wrong button today and had to call my son to help me get it working again. Not cool for old folks.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Easy to use

STRDH590 07/07/2019 by Golfer 13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Use it all the time ty and blue tooth also whe I want to here music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow , killer sound

STRDH590 06/07/2019 by Flipp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A bit complex to set up , but it's working great now .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

does not respond properly to on/off signal

STRDH590 04/07/2019 by diver9999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the HDMI input ports stopped working a few months after I bought it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hello, diver9999!

We're sorry to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dh590/articles/00030375

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Just what I needed!

STRDH590 02/07/2019 by Sunny Bubbles (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a retired teacher. My hearing is very good, but I like my action movies exciting and my classical music foot thumping. The Sony 590 is exactly what I needed to beef up my home theater ( apartment) . It is paired with the superb Bravia 900 TV. I am very happy with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product

STRDH590 25/06/2019 by Hossman43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought today and everything was easy setup. Only thing wrong was remote didn’t work

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Receiver works fine

STRDH590 04/06/2019 by mike11292 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I give it 4 stars because the receiver itself works fine and does everything it needs to do. It loses a star because the remote only works about 20% of the time. It is not responsive. New batteries did not do that trick so I am fairly certain something is off with the remote. Kind of a bummer but could be worse.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect fit

STRDH590 26/05/2019 by ggrib127 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect size for the only rack provided by the TV stand. Plenty of wattage for the small room it’s used in

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Works Best w/Sony TV

STRDH590 20/05/2019 by Samsung owner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good, solid AV receiver . . . for a Sony TV. Unfortunately, I have a Samsung and had some unusual issues. I spent a lot of time on the phone with Sony support, and the one guy who I suspect was either technical or very experienced finally told me they had seen a lot of the problems I was having with Samsung and LG TV's but not with Sony's. I am replacing mine with a Denon, as recommended by the AV company I use. If you have a Sony TV, this is a great receiver for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Bluetooth Headphones

STR-DH590 03/05/2019 by Dave23464 (USA)

Not pleased with lack of the ability to use Bluetooth wireless headphones. The STR-DH590 is described as being Bluetooth compatible. Your description on the receiver indicates that the receiver is Bluetooth compatible, but it is NOT compatible with Bluetooth headphone. I guess I will need to find another manufacture that puts out correct information on their products.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
05/05/2019

Hi Dave23464, We apologize but this receiver does support wireless connection with headphones. You may want to check this model, STR-DN1080 which has the feature you are looking for.


Regards,
Erin

0

Bluetooth is not pairing

STRDH590 29/04/2019 by Dave23464 (USA)

Blue Tooth on this receiver will not pair with Blue Tooth Head Phone. All the information I have seen on this product indicates that this Sony STR-DH590 A/V Receiver, IS BLUE TOOTH COMPATIBLE. I am hearing impaired and want blue tooth head phones for listening to my music and for listening to my TV without blowing the windows out. I am extremely disappointed in Sony. I am well into my twilight years have purchased many Sony products all my life, still have many of them in my home... I would be more than happy to hear from Sony regarding this matter. Please note I do not read the owners manuals prior to purchasing and item. Dave

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Unexpected

STRDH590 20/04/2019 by 26uu43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love bt feature in pure direct. Excellent movie sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So far so good!

STRDH590 19/04/2019 by levi98 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this hooked up yo my TV for 2 days, but so far I really like. Still learning all the functions.

Sound Quality

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

STRDH590 19/04/2019 by SJScors1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound fields are amazing. Some have a little too much echo effect. The onscreen display is very helpful. Very please with this receiver, blue-tooth set up was very easy and has great sound from my phone connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great sound

STRDH590 13/04/2019 by DWsr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

love the productand sound great product and love it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sleek simple and great looking all black reciever

STRDH590 03/04/2019 by Drummer boy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I took it out of the box and hooked it up to my Sony speakers from my older Sony surround system, plugged in the calibration hook up that came with the system and wala!!!. Put the movie the gladiator in my DVD player and thought I was in the movie theater. The sound was unbelievable. Very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value for the price

STRDH590 31/03/2019 by Mae S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This replaced an old Marantz. The Sony is doing a fine job and cost far less than the one it replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for what we needed

STRDH590 10/03/2019 by Moobear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I actually replaced a Sony 1040 receiver with this because of upgrading our TV and Blu-Ray to 4K HDR. We use all Sony products except for our small surround system speakers which are Klipsch. I was concerned about going from top of the line to entry level, but all we have is a small 5.1 living room system. We suffered no loss of sound quality whatsoever and more power than we could ever need. Works perfectly with our Apple TV. Both picture and sound could not be better. Highly recommend this perfect little receiver!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

easy set up

STRDH590 07/03/2019 by bonney100 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased yesterday and I set this up in about 15 minutes. Hooked to TV now so the sound will now be coming thru my stereo. AWESOME! Price was right and can't beat Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound easy to use

STRDH590 18/02/2019 by FrankM2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product was fairly easy to hook up with quick start guide. Unfortunately, the product came with an instruction book in French and Spanish only, no English, so the quick start guide was the only thing to work with but was enough. Sound quality is superb. One note if you have a smart TV; you need an extra digital audio cable to get the sound from the Apps, such as Netflix. No issue, very easy to do, just took awhile to figure out with out an English instruction booklet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stereo Receiver

STRDH590 09/02/2019 by msworkout (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decent receiver for the price, but should have controls for balance, base and treble adjsutments for speakers. Also should have controls to limit speakers to two or 4 and subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0