60

4.4 based on 60 customer reviews

39
11
4
4
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing little Atmos av receiver

STR-DH790 06/08/2018 by PhilfromEaling (United Kingdom)

So ... after having Yamaha receivers for years, I thought it was a good idea to get a soundbar after moving to a new house! Yes - there was a wife involved who did not want the wires and mess. Warning! You can never accept the surround sound from a soundbar once you've had a discrete system and after a year and a half I opted to go for a Yamaha 683. Great amp but, after looking at the monster in its box, I realised that most of the receivers do not fit into our John Lewis wooden TV stand. I got rid of my PC World cheap unit which would have accommodated the Yamaha which is large but not unusual. It was either a new TV glass/chrome stand which shows all the wires or a smaller AMP. After a lot of research, I came across this Sony and realised that it did everything I wanted it to do and was the smallest ATMOS RV receiver available in the UK. No multi-room, no Wi-Fi linking to expensive speakers and no Spotify but ... I never really needed this anyway. And wow!! This is a great AMP that performs amazingly well with my 2016 LG TV and passes through HDR, Dolby Vision and Atmos from Netflix, SKY etc. My 3D movies work well and although the on-screen GUI is simple - it works. I am so glad I went back to proper speakers. My wife is happy I'm happy and in reality, the wooden, stylish TV cabinet hides the wires. So far, the setup is 5.1 and I am going to wait to see if ATMOS speakers get cheaper but the system, with cheap Pioneer 5.1 speakers sounds amazing and no dependence on being in a perfect sitting room that doesn't exist. Very happy! (Purchased from Richer Sounds).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Easy to use

STRDH790 29/12/2019 by LInda Gail (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was disappointed that there is no AM receiver and the antenna for the FM receiver is so flimsy. It is easy to use, the remote works great and it was easy to set up to work with our old speakers and new TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

61 Customer Reviews

0

Works great!

STRDH790 26/01/2020 by Stanged (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony STR-DH790 because my new TV only has HDMI in/out. I was able BlueTooth to the TV and use the cable outputs to the Sony receiver to connect to my older Bose surround sound system! Very happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 23/01/2020 by Big Tex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I bought it..................................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/01/2020

Hi, Big Tex! Great! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great sound, feature rich, simple set up

STR-DH790 20/01/2020 by BigWut (United Kingdom)

I had a Sony 5.1 tuner (STR-DH510) but needed to upgrade when I went UltraHD on my TV so it would support UHD (4K) pass trough. I purchased a new 5.1 Denon amp but had to return it because of a fault with the audio (random white noise) and nowhere to get support easily. I spent ages trying to find someone I could speak to, or a web site that would offer rather than take it in to the retailer. I returned the Denon to the retailer and upgraded to the DH970 from Sony. Great choice! Works perfectly (with Samsung TV and Sky Q box) straight out of the box! Sound is really good (Wharfdale 5.1 speakers at the moment but will soon now add two high level Atmos speakers). This is also smaller than my last amp, but still a stylish and quality appearance. Only minor points are with the Tuner part of the system. It's only FM (no AM or DAB); the aerial socket at the back is a strange almost PCN edge connector type rather than for coax (is there an adaptor available??) so my external roof mounted di-pole aerial can't be connected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Detail lacking

STRDH790 18/01/2020 by Pete1946 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace STR-DE675 that had Tuner failure, 3 out of 5 channels ions, and other functions not able to be set. Got the new one, set it up as described in the documentation and numerous aspects of it failed. Microphone auto calibration failed to work or respond to any changes in troubleshooting. Read this on line as a problem and don't use it . They were right. Doesn't work. Trying to listen to DVD's with all the right parameters to work on this new receiver failed as well. Had to manually set all aspects of the system manually. Big pain. Overall disappointed with this product offering out of the box. Works but fails to excel as Sony has alway done for me. Have owned Sony exclusively for all audio/video products for the last 30 years.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/01/2020

Hello, Pete1946!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Great features

STRDH790 13/01/2020 by Shakaman65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the box due to the connections as i do not have equipment that supposrts all the new HDMI connections. Love the set up which was a bit confusing at first because of the older TV set I have and the Firestick. Once I figure it out it was was easee peezee.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for modest home theater

STRDH790 31/12/2019 by PCSTEBB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a new receiver that had HDMI connections so this fit the bill at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect quality piece of equipment.

STRDH790 31/12/2019 by MrBIGGxDEAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had my last stereo surround sound receiver for probably 10 years and I had finally decided I needed to complete the final piece of my home entertainment setup.I know I needed 7.2ch, 4k sound, a decent amount of hdmi inputs and I was willing to pay big if I had to. So I went on down the you-tube / internet review rabbit hole and one particular model kept coming up. It was reasonably priced(and on sale) and so I took the plunge and I've felt the sy of relief and been more than satisfied with my purchase. It was easy to set up and program and now its completely integrated into my full 4kI surround sound big screen/ projector screen entertainment and video game super set up. Seriously it sounds great my bluetooth android phone connects to it and it's all packaged in a sleek unintrusive design. I recommend it highly. It's worth the price and then some.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

STRDH790 29/12/2019 by LInda Gail (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was disappointed that there is no AM receiver and the antenna for the FM receiver is so flimsy. It is easy to use, the remote works great and it was easy to set up to work with our old speakers and new TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/01/2020

Hi, LInda!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Works great

STRDH790 25/12/2019 by Txgentsr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about 2 months ago and very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very poor product. No TV display for settings

STR-DH790 03/12/2019 by yodavim (United Kingdom)

Used for a short duration just to experience ATMOS. The product is very poor- low quality sound output even with Bose speakers. Do not buy this tin box

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

0

Exceptional Home Theater Receiver

STRDH790 22/11/2019 by Bmick57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a Sony STR-DA50ES for close to 25 years and she finally bit the dust. Did have a lot of money to spend. Saw this DH790 and it seemed very similar to the DA50. At this point, I couldn't be more satisfied. Easy setup and operation. Great features allowing a great deal of variance in speaker settings. Very nice unit. Highly recommend for those with a budget.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great receiver at a great price

STRDH790 06/11/2019 by mbinsurance (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent, Easy set up, high quality as always from Sony. My last receiver lasted 25 yrs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

STR-DH790 19/10/2019 by Bowste (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up. Functions work well. Sound is great. Excellent product for the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceeded my expectations!

STR-DH790 25/09/2019 by bullie76 (USA)

Very pleased with my new str-dh790 receiver. I wanted dolby atmos so it was time to upgrade from my 20 y/o receiver. Pretty simple to set up although I didn't really care for the automatic calibration system. I guess it's useful as a starting point but I had to make several manual adjustments to get the sound balance I wanted. I also purchased the SS-CSE upfiring speakers and they work well with receiver. Overall pleased with my upgrades.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2019

Hello, Bullie76! That's great! Thanks for the feedback! We're truly grateful for your kind words! Thank you so much for trusting Sony! - Romeo

0

Great Product at great price

STRDH790 16/09/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am the new user to home theater AV and wanted to start with something that falls in my budget. Sony STR - DH790 do really met my expectiation and it is a great product to buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, SatyaSingh!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Great Design and great product Operation

STRDH790 05/09/2019 by JohnnyBlaze420 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the bluetooth option on the receiver. I can control sound wirelessly from anywhere in my home. The Speaker Calibration that measures the speakers space and volume is awesome

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2019

Hi, JohnnyBlaze420!

We are glad that you love the product's feature. Thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Great features!

STRDH790 23/08/2019 by Ricky g (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this about a month ago. It is awesome. The only feature I would like to see is the hey capabilities to edit the device names. Exp. Fios TV for cable box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2019

Hi, Ricky g!

Glad to hear that you like the receiver! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Regards,
Sam

0

Doesn't work well with Bravia TV

STRDH790 16/08/2019 by Potreroguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hooked it up (HDMI/ARC) with my new XBR900F. Menu on receiver face is TINY and awkward to use. They couldn't put a full interface on the TV screen? Set up is challenging. Biggest issue: the audio settings CHANGE when I change the TV channel, or switch to a streaming source. I have the system set for 2.1 front surround (just two speakers). But I have to RESELECT front sound every time I switch programs. Irritating.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
20/08/2019

Hello, Potreroguy!

We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.

~Zac

0

Causes periodic subwoofer chirping noise

STR-DH790 16/08/2019 by IrateCustomer (USA)

Tried all different wiring arrangements (on our own because Sony support was zero help). This will be our last Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/08/2019

Hello,

We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. Let's try to isolate the issue by performing some troubleshooting included on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dh790/articles/00027601

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Nice and clear

STRDH790 23/07/2019 by John57pm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup and easy to use. Setup instructions are in order.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great performance

STRDH790 24/06/2019 by sonybuyerman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

im very pleased with receiver. works well with my compnents

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Price and performance

STR-DH790 19/06/2019 by ironmantr (USA)

clear avr perfect! İf you dont want wifi, app.... YES! I use with definitive technology, really good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Receiver Has Issues!

STRDH790 12/05/2019 by Hollywood1953 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased just after Christmas, and wired it to my 4K TV in hopes of getting a great picture and sound. Well, as some of the reviews suggest, the video goes in and out during broadcasts from my Sat/Cable connection. I am disappointed! Will be contacting Sony to see what they recommend before my warranty is up. On a positive note, the sound (audio) is great1

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2019

Hi Hollywood1953,

I understand that your strdh790 is having issues with the video cutting in and out. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dh790/articles/00009061

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SONY Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Great features for the money

STRDH790 29/04/2019 by mel6502 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago to replace a Sony receiver I have been using for close to 10 years and very happy. The only reason I wanted to replace my old receiver was to take advantage of ARC and support for 7.2 and this receiver fits the bill. From a model line perspective, this receiver is a step down as the UI is scaled down with some features on screen, but most via the remote and small display on the receive itself. Considering the price point and the fact you get major features only available on higher end and costly receivers, this is a minor inconvenience and matters not once you are done with configuration. The receiver works great with improved sound, picture quality and ARC works like a charm after firmware update which was equally painless. I look forward to adding two floor standing speakers and experiencing 7.1 sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good bit of kit

STR-DH790 24/04/2019 by Steve 6790 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased I bought it.good value updated from previous model

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Price for the Power!

STR-DH790 12/04/2019 by PS4 Pro Gamer (USA)

The Horse Power you want, for the price you'll love. I can hook up 4 HDMI machines like my PlayStation 4 Pro, and other gaming platforms.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 11/04/2019 by Ldbaer88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded to this receiver to be compatible with my new Sony 55 in. 4K TV. Easy set-up and it provides great sound to my home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

STRDH790 03/04/2019 by srbristow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because of the great reviews that it had recieved and the receiver was exactly what I needed for the equipment that I had. Setup was simple and as the title states - the sound is great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver | STR-DH790

STRDH790 03/04/2019 by BT2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently and have been very satisfied . It puts out phenomenal sound was easy to install it enhances my TV/movie experience .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Power House

STRDH790 30/03/2019 by VengefullMessiah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 6 year old Sony STR just died and needed a new one. I hope this one last as long or longer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Music Lover

STRDH790 12/03/2019 by BlueMood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works really well with my Sony X900 TV and plays music from my iPhone really well Best of both worlds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice buy

STRDH790 11/03/2019 by MikeMc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good price, works great, and easy hookup. Good for a home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Its a SONY

STRDH790 17/02/2019 by RunsBattedIn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The perfect replacement for my old and damaged HTS. Its probably pilot error (me) but I m having a little trouble gettining my speakers hooked up properly for sound balancing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Very easy to set up.

STRDH790 31/01/2019 by Rickaz80 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to replace a very old AV receiver, after looking at a number of recievers, the Sony ended up being my best option. It had up to date 4K features along with intuitive engineering. The easy setup function worked well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I LOVE IT!!!

STRDH790 28/01/2019 by Claydogg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best receiver I ever got. The manual needs to be more detailed. It doesn't tell me how to change the name on the display for the unit that I plug in. Like I connected my PS4 to the receiver but it doesn't tell how to type in the name PS4 on the display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great receiver for the Money

STRDH790 27/01/2019 by HectorAyoso (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it to upgrade from my old receiver and for the Money I got what I was looking for and them some like 4k ready and 7.2 full surround sound it sounds really good I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgraded from old receiver

STRDH790 23/01/2019 by filanumis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best part is the Bluetooth connectivity. Fewer cables used due to HDMI connections and dedicated HDMI ARC.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fine Value Receiver

STRDH790 21/01/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'Easy Setup' is way wrong and definitely not true. I've been using audio/visual equipment for over 50 years, this receiver took many hours to get setup perfect. I had to go back and forth for hours to get all features set up correctly.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

TIMING IS EVERYTHING

STRDH790 21/01/2019 by BenderRodriguez (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cut the cord Jan 1 and needed a new AVR that supported HDCP 2.2 for 4K video pass thru. I bought this just after Christmas hooked it up and never looked back. It's everything I need in my living room. And as a bonus, the price for this on Amazon more than doubled the following week. So I saved myself nearly $200 on a great little AVR.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

It's ok

STRDH790 20/01/2019 by Jagnut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced an old RCA surround sound reciever that would kick this Sony models butt. Little or no change when adjusting bass and trebles. Horrible bass out of the surround bass unit. Well, I guess newer isn't better. Too bad the Amp blew on the RCA what a bummer.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great sound with a little hiccup

STRDH790 20/01/2019 by JD0506 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is awesome. Only problem I have is with the ARC. Every so often, when I switch on my Xbox One or PS4, if I adjust the volume, the screen on my TV starts flickering really bad until the visual volume display disappears. Other than that, it works great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

EASY TO USE!

STRDH790 16/01/2019 by ds17172 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present to replace an older product. This one lives up to all expectations!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy set up. Great sound. Contact size.

STRDH790 15/01/2019 by DrChese (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After the difficulty with the Denon 1612 I replaced I was concerned it would be difficult to get everything hooked up and working. Plugged in chromecast, blueray, Direct TV with no issue. Turns off with any device. Separation and surround is better than the Denon. Very satisfied on day one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

SAD

STRDH790 11/01/2019 by Richard1952 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not happy with at all, to hard to set up still can't get subwoofer to work.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
12/01/2019

Hi Richard1952, we regret that the receiver failed to meet your expectations. In relation to your concern with the subwoofer, we recommend following the step below to troubleshoot the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dh790/articles/00024783

Regards,
Erin

0

Excellent sound performance w/ Dolby Atmos/DTS:X!

STRDH790 06/01/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this receiver for about a week but I am already so pleased with it! I upgraded from a STR-DH520 and the output quality with the 790 blows me away! The sound fields are a huge upgrade and I love Pure Direct for crystal clear audio and hearing songs in movies without sound effects. Pair this with a 4K television, 4K UHD Sony UBP-X700 Player, HDR10, Dolby Atmos speakers and 21Gbps bandwidth and you're in for a real treat! The metal casing is a little flimsy but that helps with reduced heat absorption so it's okay. Also, be careful with the optical port or you will break the little door, it's very fragile! The unit is so much lighter compared to previous models and that's always a good thing. Bluetooth pairing is like night and day and it's so good. I have an LG V40 and am able to use DTS:X with Bluetooth pairing thanks to the Quad DAC in the phone! This is a great receiver for anyone who wants amazing studio quality audio, surround sound glory and a future proofed receiver without breaking the bank!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Dh 790

STRDH790 02/01/2019 by Dynadave98 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

About this about a month ago I'm very pleased with it I'm old school I'm just learning to the receiver but it's awesome

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Receiver

STRDH790 28/12/2018 by OSMc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Receiver replaced an older Yamaha receiver for my surround sound system and was just what I needed for my new Sony 4k. HDMI jacks really make a difference and the sound from my speakers and sub-woofer is excellent. The "Easy Setup" and "Auto Calibration" made the set-up a breeze.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great price

STRDH790 23/12/2018 by tommy88569 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great av receiver with ease of use and price, and pairs well with sony subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome receiver

STRDH790 05/12/2018 by Lonewolf48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this on black friday and im so happy with it its a really great product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Equipment

STRDH790 25/11/2018 by parsons2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

790 was easy to install and setup. did not have to think to much, just read the instructions and let the system guide mem

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony STR-DH790

STRDH790 23/11/2018 by Sfla886 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fairly easy to set up but more screens involved than previous Sony STR-DH740.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

STRDH790 28/10/2018 by Stroudism (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this twice actually. The old model (forget, think it was the DH770) I had broken the HDMI port that goes to the TV, so it was kind of useless. This is very similar - great features, great power output. I have a Polk Audio center channel that is huge, it easily powers this and 2 smaller fronts. I have a Polk self-powered sub and it sounds so good with this receiver. Love the bluetooth capability for playing music. No complaints at all!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

STRDH790 02/10/2018 by Mustanggtcs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I am very happy with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for the money

STRDH790 14/09/2018 by Mttop68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost a month ago, it has the bare minimum features for a atmos system. If you can afford it, go with the strdn1080, costs more but worth it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Very First Recieiver

STR-DH790 12/09/2018 by Garysunique (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Previously I had a Home Theatre in a Box system that I had been using for over 10 years. But after learning about Dolby Atmos, I got to thinking about how I could enjoy this more immersive tech in my less than ideal bedroom layout. So I started to research A V Receivers. As I'd just purchased a Sony Bravia 9005 TV (awesome I might add) Sony was high on my list of manufacturers to check out. Long story short, I found this Recieiver to be perfect for my needs. Not too expensive, well built, looks quality and gives me 5.1.2 surround sound. And after watching Avengers: Infinity War last night, I can fully recommend this product. Paired with Canton Movie 75 Speakers, and two over head Armco Speakers, attached to my ceiling, I found my self fully planted in the middle of the action. The volume not even above 24 and I really thought in was at the cinema! Also it's worth noting non Atmos Films benefit from the Dolby Surround mode, as that seems to do a great job, using the overhead Speakers! Better in my opinion then the Neural-X mode. Setting up the Recieiver was a doddle too. Clear instructions provided via online user guides and help guides. The automatic calibration process was simple and very fast. I mentioned my bedroom layout is not ideal but this seems to have compensated for my front three speakers being off axis to my rear speakers. It's certainly not a Dolby reference set up but to me, it still sounds incredible! The remote is very lightweight, easy to understand and sensibly layed out. The front surround mode is also very effective, which surprised me. Also I love how the Recieiver and TV work together, when set up using the 4K ARC facility. I turn on the TV, and on comes the Recieiver taking over the duty of TV sound. As for 4K HDR passthrough. It works flawlessly with my Blu-ray player. I have tried Bluetooth and "Music" mode and again, no complaints. I think a slightly better GUI would have been better but it's still easy to use. I'm hoping this will last me a few years at least. But for my needs, it's perfect!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sound's great...

STR-DH790 09/09/2018 by JesseG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

...and the auto setup for the speakers is cool. However the remote was unimpressive and a little awkward. Also, it occasionally starts the sound with a constant cycle of ---mute on---mute off---mute on--- mute off--- until you restart the device. Overall, it's perfectly fine for my needs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing little Atmos av receiver

STR-DH790 06/08/2018 by PhilfromEaling (United Kingdom)

So ... after having Yamaha receivers for years, I thought it was a good idea to get a soundbar after moving to a new house! Yes - there was a wife involved who did not want the wires and mess. Warning! You can never accept the surround sound from a soundbar once you've had a discrete system and after a year and a half I opted to go for a Yamaha 683. Great amp but, after looking at the monster in its box, I realised that most of the receivers do not fit into our John Lewis wooden TV stand. I got rid of my PC World cheap unit which would have accommodated the Yamaha which is large but not unusual. It was either a new TV glass/chrome stand which shows all the wires or a smaller AMP. After a lot of research, I came across this Sony and realised that it did everything I wanted it to do and was the smallest ATMOS RV receiver available in the UK. No multi-room, no Wi-Fi linking to expensive speakers and no Spotify but ... I never really needed this anyway. And wow!! This is a great AMP that performs amazingly well with my 2016 LG TV and passes through HDR, Dolby Vision and Atmos from Netflix, SKY etc. My 3D movies work well and although the on-screen GUI is simple - it works. I am so glad I went back to proper speakers. My wife is happy I'm happy and in reality, the wooden, stylish TV cabinet hides the wires. So far, the setup is 5.1 and I am going to wait to see if ATMOS speakers get cheaper but the system, with cheap Pioneer 5.1 speakers sounds amazing and no dependence on being in a perfect sitting room that doesn't exist. Very happy! (Purchased from Richer Sounds).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

No auto volume

STR-DH790 27/07/2018 by Mark Q (USA)

I can’t believe dont did not include auto volume on this product. This is the most important feature an audio product can have !! I have to keep adjusting volume for difference sources of AV! The product is expensive and does not have WiFi / Ethernet. There is already a lot of missing features and now even basic sound feature is missing ! Very disappointed in Sony!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/07/2018

Hi Mark Q, we regret that the receiver failed to meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Just horrible

STR-DH790 10/06/2018 by Alejoapari (USA)

It all sounds great till you add the center channel. The subwoofer gets all of its base from the center channel when listening to 3.1 to 7.1. The voices (dialogue) sounds weak because it doesn’t output full range from the center speaker

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2018

Hi Alejoapari, we're sorry to hear about this. However, please visit the link below for possible troubleshooting steps to fix/resolve this issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00024519

I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

0

works well with my new Sony TV

STRDH790 17/05/2018 by pisgahbill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded my receiver to match my new Sony Bravia and I am really glad I did it. It works really well and was easy to set-up. It sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great value for the money

STRDH790 12/05/2018 by Webz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a 5 year old Denon. Have system hooked up to Boston and Polk speakers, and sounds terrific. My wife, who has the most basic of basic home theater knowledge (push remote on button, sounds go boom) is really impressed when I demo’d Star Wars with Dolby ATMOS on for her, and xwings were zooming around and tie fighters were exploding behind her. It was quite amazing! CEC works with very few hiccups, another huge plus! My old receiver would turn off my tv as it turned on the receiver after initially turning the TVs on. Was a headache. All in all, definitely the best surround system in its price range. I’ve looked at several competitors and you have to fork over quite a bit more to get the same features, and nowhere near as simple user interface. Seriously, after hooking up the cables, the receiver set itself up in 45seconds. If you are looking for a good home theater receiver that will be future-proof for the next couple of years, don’t hesitate to pick this up!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0