84

4.4 based on 84 customer reviews

54
17
5
5
3
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing little Atmos av receiver

STR-DH790 06/08/2018 by PhilfromEaling (United Kingdom)

So ... after having Yamaha receivers for years, I thought it was a good idea to get a soundbar after moving to a new house! Yes - there was a wife involved who did not want the wires and mess. Warning! You can never accept the surround sound from a soundbar once you've had a discrete system and after a year and a half I opted to go for a Yamaha 683. Great amp but, after looking at the monster in its box, I realised that most of the receivers do not fit into our John Lewis wooden TV stand. I got rid of my PC World cheap unit which would have accommodated the Yamaha which is large but not unusual. It was either a new TV glass/chrome stand which shows all the wires or a smaller AMP. After a lot of research, I came across this Sony and realised that it did everything I wanted it to do and was the smallest ATMOS RV receiver available in the UK. No multi-room, no Wi-Fi linking to expensive speakers and no Spotify but ... I never really needed this anyway. And wow!! This is a great AMP that performs amazingly well with my 2016 LG TV and passes through HDR, Dolby Vision and Atmos from Netflix, SKY etc. My 3D movies work well and although the on-screen GUI is simple - it works. I am so glad I went back to proper speakers. My wife is happy I'm happy and in reality, the wooden, stylish TV cabinet hides the wires. So far, the setup is 5.1 and I am going to wait to see if ATMOS speakers get cheaper but the system, with cheap Pioneer 5.1 speakers sounds amazing and no dependence on being in a perfect sitting room that doesn't exist. Very happy! (Purchased from Richer Sounds).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointment, so far

STR-DH790 18/02/2020 by Jovan1210 (USA)

Big Box retailer had on sale for President's day sale at under $300. I was working on Sunday so went to pick up on Monday just to find out price was now $349! I had done my research so bit the bullet and bought anyway. First mistake. Got the unit home and disconnected my STR-DN1000, which still works flawlessly but does not support HDCP2.2 so could not get Atmos or 4K through. Unable to have Easy Setup calibrate the speakers-Error 35 SW something or other...Then, Mediabox HDMI input with AppleTV 4k just won't work. Keeps going in and out, even on Enhanced HDMI mode. After swapping HDMI cables, cycling power to TV, AVR and ATV etc...Swap to BD HDMI and works fine. Bad HDMI. Next, can't get eARC to work. Find out the AVR receiver I bought YESTERDAY has firmware ver 1.068, circa 2018!! I had even asked the Big Box rep if I would have THIS specific issue and they said NO WAY, it was definitely an updated receiver, yada yada...Update firmware to 1.171... NOW there is eARC on the receiver. BUT connected to XBR85X850G HDMI-3 eARC--Crickets... No ATMOS from the TV either on Netflix or Disney+. The most I can get is DD+. I have spent 5 hours on what should have been at MOST 1 hour!! I gave up at 1am and am considering throwing everything back in the box and returning today.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

84 Customer Reviews

0

easy to set up.

STRDH790 08/07/2020 by erara (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good replacement.Easy to install. Fits in my set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2020

Hello erara,

That is awesome!! Its good to know that you're happy with your strdh790 and it is living up to your expectations. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Great product

STRDH790 24/06/2020 by DJEastwood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it love it and take it with on party outdoor backyard movie nights... love it for whatever....

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi DJEastwood, we're glad to hear you're enjoying your STR-DH790 7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver. Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Great overall receiver

STRDH790 22/06/2020 by Gilbert59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older Yamaha, and needed the 4K HDR feature. Setup was easy with the help from my son-n-law who is very good at tech stuff. My Firestick and Roku streaming devices are working worked amazingly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi Gilbert59, Awesome! We're thrilled to hear you find it easy to set up and it works perfectly with your streaming devices. Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! -Sam

0

Great product

STRDH790 19/06/2020 by Cool J (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely please with this purchase. Very fond of the bluetooth feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2020

Hi Cool J, Awesome! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the Bluetooth feature of your strdh790. Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! -Sam

0

Do not buy

STR-DH790 06/06/2020 by Joey bass (USA)

I bought this same exact product about three months ago and it's already broke i will never buy sony product ever again

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi Joey, We regret to hear about this. We would like to know more about what happened with your AV receiver so we can better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Amazing Amp

STR-DH790 03/06/2020 by Warwick71 (United Kingdom)

Was looking at the Dn1080, but realised I didn’t actually need the two hdmi outputs or the chrome cast or any of the other networking features. I didn’t care about the banana connectors missing of the back as I like the clip connectors. So for me this was well worth the £150 saving. Still offers the same sound features and loud enough for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

works exactly as advertised. Sony always superior

STRDH790 01/06/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with the product. It was a little hard to translate from my old receiver and took longer than I expected but excellent sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi Tom_Morrow, We're glad to hear you like the sound quality of your new STR-DH790 7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver. Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! -Sam

0

sounds great but video went out

STR-DH790 30/05/2020 by Mr G of Birmingham (USA)

Bought about six months ago worked great than video just stop working. Try all the resets. changed cable nothing happen sent it back for repairs wanting for it to come back. I miss my sounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2020

Hi Mr G of Birmingham, we're glad you like the sound quality of our product. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. We would like to review your file so we can better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Ease of use, quality and features

STRDH790 24/05/2020 by gmoosep (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased, better than theater during Covid-19.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi gmoosep, Wow! Definitely a great way to stay safe at home! We're very happy to hear you're enjoying your STR-DH790. Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! -Sam

0

So far So good with some standard leakage

STR-DH790 21/05/2020 by kyawzeya555 (USA)

Overall great. All latest technology in one piece. Dolby Cinema=Dolby Vision + Dolby Atmos DTS X Only down size is 1. Don’t have AM tuner 2. FM antenna connector is not standard connector 3. Speaker connectors (except main L+R) not support banana connector. For this great product but not perfect. But I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2020

Hi kyawzeya555, we're glad you like our product. The powerful STR-DH790 7.2ch Home Theater AV receiver supports Dolby Atmos giving you 360` surround sound, by accurately positioning sound from every angle in your environment. It also supports DTS:X which delivers sounds that are precisely around and above you. This is done with object based audio decoding. Plus, you can enjoy superior picture quality to match with 4K HDR pass-through. You will enjoy an immersive theater-like experience in the comfort of your own home for a long time! Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Great for home theater

STRDH790 21/05/2020 by Detail83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it for about a month and so far I love it does what I need it to do. I have my home theater setup along with my 4k tv Im able to play music from my iPad via Bluetooth. I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/05/2020

Hi Detail83, We're thrilled to hear you love your new STR-DH790.Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! -Sam

0

Mixed opinion

STRDH790 13/05/2020 by gary075A (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cheap speaker terminals, broke two in my first week. Also, auto calibration mic doesn't seem to work. No tech support due to corona-19, will have to wait.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/05/2020

Hi gary075A, We regret to hear about what happened. This is usually not the case for our AV Receivers nor the experience we want you to have.

Due to Coronavirus events impacting our Call Center Staff availability, phone support is currently not available. We hope to have phone support available in the coming weeks. We apologize for the inconvenience and encourage you to make use of our many online resources to help with questions regarding your Sony product.

Your unit comes with a 2-year limited manufacturer's warranty. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great products!

STRDH790 04/05/2020 by stan619 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent product. Style and performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2020

Hi stan619, We're glad to hear you're enjoying your strdh790. Your new receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound formats including Dolby Atmos and DTS: X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4K Ultra HD picture quality, and support for all major HDR formats including Dolby Vision, your viewing experience will be transformed. You’re in for quite the cinematic upgrade! Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

Awesome sound. very crisp when you have a 4k Tv

STRDH790 25/04/2020 by roryjojo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i hooked my tv up to this and it sounds twice as good as before. very crisp and clear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/04/2020

Hi roryjojo, Awesome! We're very pleased to hear you appreciate the sound quality of your STR-DH790. The powerful STR-DH790 7.2ch Home Theater AV receiver supports Dolby Atmos giving you 360` surround sound, by accurately positioning sound from every angle in your environment. It also supports DTS:X which delivers sounds that are precisely around and above you. This is done with object based audio decoding. Plus, you can enjoy superior picture quality to match with 4K HDR pass-through. You will enjoy an immersive theater-like experience in the comfort of your own home for a long time! Enjoy!- Sam

0

Great sound

STRDH790 14/04/2020 by DBRob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this receiver and am thoroughly satisfied with the performance and the options it offers. I like the variable sound configurations from front stereo to full surround with subwoofer. I enjoy the "movement" of sound in action movies as it follows the visual effects. The sound from my iPad using Bluetooth is awesome. You can clearly pick out every individual instrument played. Remote is easy to use. Nice unit a

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/04/2020

Hi DBRob, Congratulations on your new STR-DH790! You’ve sure given your home entertainment system a cinematic upgrade. The powerful 7.2 channel receiver supports the latest three-dimensional surround sound audio formats including Dolby Atmos and dts:X, drawing you into the middle of the action you see on screen. And with 4k Ultra HD picture quality, and Dolby Vision, that’ll transform your viewing experiences, you’ll enjoy an immersive theater-like experience in the comfort of your own home for a long time! Enjoy!- Sam

0

Awesome Unit!!

STRDH790 13/04/2020 by Beardo76 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Highly recommended!! Great Bang for the Buck. Sounds great with my surround system!! Love the Bluetooth for music from our phones too!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/04/2020

Hi Beardo76, Great! We're very pleased to hear you're enjoying the sound quality and the overall features of your strdh790. Experience the same all-encompassing surround sound you get in movie theaters at home with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X support. Plus, superior picture quality to match with 4K HDR pass-through. -Sam

0

Excellent Value!

STRDH790 17/03/2020 by bigdholley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Researched Atmos receivers, this receiver had everything I wanted for a small man cave. Sound quality is excellent with my Elite speaker 5.1.2 system with HSU subwoofer. Very, very content when playing SACD's and Blu-ray movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2020

Hi bigdholley, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl


0

Straightforward and sound quality are good

STR-DH790 15/03/2020 by Louie32779 (USA)

So happy about this purchase i am looking for a receiver intendes just for movie and music use, i do not need casting features and home automation we all know it is not necessary how do we often use voice command just to power the receiver? Almost none because we have a cec features on hdmi from our devices and TV. If you already have streaming device a smart TV all those extra features are not needed from a receiver. Just get these 7.2 channel for a very reasonable price and invest on good speakers like the sony bookshelf and towers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

Hi Louie32779, Fantastic! We're very pleased to hear you're enjoying the sound quality of your receiver. Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

Disappointment, so far

STR-DH790 18/02/2020 by Jovan1210 (USA)

Big Box retailer had on sale for President's day sale at under $300. I was working on Sunday so went to pick up on Monday just to find out price was now $349! I had done my research so bit the bullet and bought anyway. First mistake. Got the unit home and disconnected my STR-DN1000, which still works flawlessly but does not support HDCP2.2 so could not get Atmos or 4K through. Unable to have Easy Setup calibrate the speakers-Error 35 SW something or other...Then, Mediabox HDMI input with AppleTV 4k just won't work. Keeps going in and out, even on Enhanced HDMI mode. After swapping HDMI cables, cycling power to TV, AVR and ATV etc...Swap to BD HDMI and works fine. Bad HDMI. Next, can't get eARC to work. Find out the AVR receiver I bought YESTERDAY has firmware ver 1.068, circa 2018!! I had even asked the Big Box rep if I would have THIS specific issue and they said NO WAY, it was definitely an updated receiver, yada yada...Update firmware to 1.171... NOW there is eARC on the receiver. BUT connected to XBR85X850G HDMI-3 eARC--Crickets... No ATMOS from the TV either on Netflix or Disney+. The most I can get is DD+. I have spent 5 hours on what should have been at MOST 1 hour!! I gave up at 1am and am considering throwing everything back in the box and returning today.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Quality product

STRDH790 17/02/2020 by walt68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We really like this receiver. we bought it to replace a different brand at the same price point and was immediately impressed with the sound quality, ease of set up, and features. thanks Sony for a great job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/02/2020

Hi walt68,

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Nice Receiver

STRDH790 11/02/2020 by Dusky49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

75 yrs old, had trouble setting up. SONY was excellent after several calls we finally got it to work properly. A younger person probably wouldn't have a problem. Works great now and sounds good. Would buy again. SONY support was excellent. They had lots of patience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/02/2020

Hi Dusky49,

Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Great Receiver

STRDH790 10/02/2020 by Ritter69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up and great sound. Very pleased with this purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi Ritter69!

We're very delighted to hear that you're satisfied with your purchase! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

I love the receiver

STR-DH790 05/02/2020 by Jacked66 (USA)

I bought this for myself for Christmas Mainly for Dolby Atmos and bluetooth.not sure I'm getting all the benefits of Atmos I have read the manual many times as well as the Enhanced 4k features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/02/2020

Hi Jacked66,

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Works great!

STRDH790 26/01/2020 by Stanged (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony STR-DH790 because my new TV only has HDMI in/out. I was able BlueTooth to the TV and use the cable outputs to the Sony receiver to connect to my older Bose surround sound system! Very happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/01/2020

Hi, Stanged!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Great features

STRDH790 23/01/2020 by Big Tex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I bought it..................................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/01/2020

Hi, Big Tex! Great! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great sound, feature rich, simple set up

STR-DH790 20/01/2020 by BigWut (United Kingdom)

I had a Sony 5.1 tuner (STR-DH510) but needed to upgrade when I went UltraHD on my TV so it would support UHD (4K) pass trough. I purchased a new 5.1 Denon amp but had to return it because of a fault with the audio (random white noise) and nowhere to get support easily. I spent ages trying to find someone I could speak to, or a web site that would offer rather than take it in to the retailer. I returned the Denon to the retailer and upgraded to the DH970 from Sony. Great choice! Works perfectly (with Samsung TV and Sky Q box) straight out of the box! Sound is really good (Wharfdale 5.1 speakers at the moment but will soon now add two high level Atmos speakers). This is also smaller than my last amp, but still a stylish and quality appearance. Only minor points are with the Tuner part of the system. It's only FM (no AM or DAB); the aerial socket at the back is a strange almost PCN edge connector type rather than for coax (is there an adaptor available??) so my external roof mounted di-pole aerial can't be connected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Detail lacking

STRDH790 18/01/2020 by Pete1946 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace STR-DE675 that had Tuner failure, 3 out of 5 channels ions, and other functions not able to be set. Got the new one, set it up as described in the documentation and numerous aspects of it failed. Microphone auto calibration failed to work or respond to any changes in troubleshooting. Read this on line as a problem and don't use it . They were right. Doesn't work. Trying to listen to DVD's with all the right parameters to work on this new receiver failed as well. Had to manually set all aspects of the system manually. Big pain. Overall disappointed with this product offering out of the box. Works but fails to excel as Sony has alway done for me. Have owned Sony exclusively for all audio/video products for the last 30 years.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/01/2020

Hello, Pete1946!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Great features

STRDH790 13/01/2020 by Shakaman65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the box due to the connections as i do not have equipment that supposrts all the new HDMI connections. Love the set up which was a bit confusing at first because of the older TV set I have and the Firestick. Once I figure it out it was was easee peezee.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for modest home theater

STRDH790 31/12/2019 by PCSTEBB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a new receiver that had HDMI connections so this fit the bill at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect quality piece of equipment.

STRDH790 31/12/2019 by MrBIGGxDEAL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had my last stereo surround sound receiver for probably 10 years and I had finally decided I needed to complete the final piece of my home entertainment setup.I know I needed 7.2ch, 4k sound, a decent amount of hdmi inputs and I was willing to pay big if I had to. So I went on down the you-tube / internet review rabbit hole and one particular model kept coming up. It was reasonably priced(and on sale) and so I took the plunge and I've felt the sy of relief and been more than satisfied with my purchase. It was easy to set up and program and now its completely integrated into my full 4kI surround sound big screen/ projector screen entertainment and video game super set up. Seriously it sounds great my bluetooth android phone connects to it and it's all packaged in a sleek unintrusive design. I recommend it highly. It's worth the price and then some.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

STRDH790 29/12/2019 by LInda Gail (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was disappointed that there is no AM receiver and the antenna for the FM receiver is so flimsy. It is easy to use, the remote works great and it was easy to set up to work with our old speakers and new TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/01/2020

Hi, LInda!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Works great

STRDH790 25/12/2019 by Txgentsr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about 2 months ago and very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very poor product. No TV display for settings

STR-DH790 03/12/2019 by yodavim (United Kingdom)

Used for a short duration just to experience ATMOS. The product is very poor- low quality sound output even with Bose speakers. Do not buy this tin box

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5

0

Exceptional Home Theater Receiver

STRDH790 22/11/2019 by Bmick57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a Sony STR-DA50ES for close to 25 years and she finally bit the dust. Did have a lot of money to spend. Saw this DH790 and it seemed very similar to the DA50. At this point, I couldn't be more satisfied. Easy setup and operation. Great features allowing a great deal of variance in speaker settings. Very nice unit. Highly recommend for those with a budget.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great receiver at a great price

STRDH790 06/11/2019 by mbinsurance (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent, Easy set up, high quality as always from Sony. My last receiver lasted 25 yrs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

STR-DH790 19/10/2019 by Bowste (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up. Functions work well. Sound is great. Excellent product for the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceeded my expectations!

STR-DH790 25/09/2019 by bullie76 (USA)

Very pleased with my new str-dh790 receiver. I wanted dolby atmos so it was time to upgrade from my 20 y/o receiver. Pretty simple to set up although I didn't really care for the automatic calibration system. I guess it's useful as a starting point but I had to make several manual adjustments to get the sound balance I wanted. I also purchased the SS-CSE upfiring speakers and they work well with receiver. Overall pleased with my upgrades.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2019

Hello, Bullie76! That's great! Thanks for the feedback! We're truly grateful for your kind words! Thank you so much for trusting Sony! - Romeo

0

Great Product at great price

STRDH790 16/09/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am the new user to home theater AV and wanted to start with something that falls in my budget. Sony STR - DH790 do really met my expectiation and it is a great product to buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, SatyaSingh!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Great Design and great product Operation

STRDH790 05/09/2019 by JohnnyBlaze420 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the bluetooth option on the receiver. I can control sound wirelessly from anywhere in my home. The Speaker Calibration that measures the speakers space and volume is awesome

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2019

Hi, JohnnyBlaze420!

We are glad that you love the product's feature. Thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Great features!

STRDH790 23/08/2019 by Ricky g (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this about a month ago. It is awesome. The only feature I would like to see is the hey capabilities to edit the device names. Exp. Fios TV for cable box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2019

Hi, Ricky g!

Glad to hear that you like the receiver! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Regards,
Sam

0

Doesn't work well with Bravia TV

STRDH790 16/08/2019 by Potreroguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hooked it up (HDMI/ARC) with my new XBR900F. Menu on receiver face is TINY and awkward to use. They couldn't put a full interface on the TV screen? Set up is challenging. Biggest issue: the audio settings CHANGE when I change the TV channel, or switch to a streaming source. I have the system set for 2.1 front surround (just two speakers). But I have to RESELECT front sound every time I switch programs. Irritating.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
20/08/2019

Hello, Potreroguy!

We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.

~Zac

0

Causes periodic subwoofer chirping noise

STR-DH790 16/08/2019 by IrateCustomer (USA)

Tried all different wiring arrangements (on our own because Sony support was zero help). This will be our last Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/08/2019

Hello,

We do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. Let's try to isolate the issue by performing some troubleshooting included on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dh790/articles/00027601

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Nice and clear

STRDH790 23/07/2019 by John57pm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup and easy to use. Setup instructions are in order.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great performance

STRDH790 24/06/2019 by sonybuyerman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

im very pleased with receiver. works well with my compnents

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Price and performance

STR-DH790 19/06/2019 by ironmantr (USA)

clear avr perfect! İf you dont want wifi, app.... YES! I use with definitive technology, really good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Receiver Has Issues!

STRDH790 12/05/2019 by Hollywood1953 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased just after Christmas, and wired it to my 4K TV in hopes of getting a great picture and sound. Well, as some of the reviews suggest, the video goes in and out during broadcasts from my Sat/Cable connection. I am disappointed! Will be contacting Sony to see what they recommend before my warranty is up. On a positive note, the sound (audio) is great1

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2019

Hi Hollywood1953,

I understand that your strdh790 is having issues with the video cutting in and out. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dh790/articles/00009061

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SONY Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Great features for the money

STRDH790 29/04/2019 by mel6502 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago to replace a Sony receiver I have been using for close to 10 years and very happy. The only reason I wanted to replace my old receiver was to take advantage of ARC and support for 7.2 and this receiver fits the bill. From a model line perspective, this receiver is a step down as the UI is scaled down with some features on screen, but most via the remote and small display on the receive itself. Considering the price point and the fact you get major features only available on higher end and costly receivers, this is a minor inconvenience and matters not once you are done with configuration. The receiver works great with improved sound, picture quality and ARC works like a charm after firmware update which was equally painless. I look forward to adding two floor standing speakers and experiencing 7.1 sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good bit of kit

STR-DH790 24/04/2019 by Steve 6790 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased I bought it.good value updated from previous model

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Price for the Power!

STR-DH790 12/04/2019 by PS4 Pro Gamer (USA)

The Horse Power you want, for the price you'll love. I can hook up 4 HDMI machines like my PlayStation 4 Pro, and other gaming platforms.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

STRDH790 11/04/2019 by Ldbaer88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded to this receiver to be compatible with my new Sony 55 in. 4K TV. Easy set-up and it provides great sound to my home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

STRDH790 03/04/2019 by srbristow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because of the great reviews that it had recieved and the receiver was exactly what I needed for the equipment that I had. Setup was simple and as the title states - the sound is great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver | STR-DH790

STRDH790 03/04/2019 by BT2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently and have been very satisfied . It puts out phenomenal sound was easy to install it enhances my TV/movie experience .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Power House

STRDH790 30/03/2019 by VengefullMessiah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My 6 year old Sony STR just died and needed a new one. I hope this one last as long or longer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Music Lover

STRDH790 12/03/2019 by BlueMood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works really well with my Sony X900 TV and plays music from my iPhone really well Best of both worlds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice buy

STRDH790 11/03/2019 by MikeMc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good price, works great, and easy hookup. Good for a home theater.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Its a SONY

STRDH790 17/02/2019 by RunsBattedIn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The perfect replacement for my old and damaged HTS. Its probably pilot error (me) but I m having a little trouble gettining my speakers hooked up properly for sound balancing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Very easy to set up.

STRDH790 31/01/2019 by Rickaz80 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to replace a very old AV receiver, after looking at a number of recievers, the Sony ended up being my best option. It had up to date 4K features along with intuitive engineering. The easy setup function worked well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I LOVE IT!!!

STRDH790 28/01/2019 by Claydogg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best receiver I ever got. The manual needs to be more detailed. It doesn't tell me how to change the name on the display for the unit that I plug in. Like I connected my PS4 to the receiver but it doesn't tell how to type in the name PS4 on the display.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great receiver for the Money

STRDH790 27/01/2019 by HectorAyoso (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it to upgrade from my old receiver and for the Money I got what I was looking for and them some like 4k ready and 7.2 full surround sound it sounds really good I love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgraded from old receiver

STRDH790 23/01/2019 by filanumis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best part is the Bluetooth connectivity. Fewer cables used due to HDMI connections and dedicated HDMI ARC.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fine Value Receiver

STRDH790 21/01/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'Easy Setup' is way wrong and definitely not true. I've been using audio/visual equipment for over 50 years, this receiver took many hours to get setup perfect. I had to go back and forth for hours to get all features set up correctly.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

TIMING IS EVERYTHING

STRDH790 21/01/2019 by BenderRodriguez (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cut the cord Jan 1 and needed a new AVR that supported HDCP 2.2 for 4K video pass thru. I bought this just after Christmas hooked it up and never looked back. It's everything I need in my living room. And as a bonus, the price for this on Amazon more than doubled the following week. So I saved myself nearly $200 on a great little AVR.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

It's ok

STRDH790 20/01/2019 by Jagnut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced an old RCA surround sound reciever that would kick this Sony models butt. Little or no change when adjusting bass and trebles. Horrible bass out of the surround bass unit. Well, I guess newer isn't better. Too bad the Amp blew on the RCA what a bummer.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great sound with a little hiccup

STRDH790 20/01/2019 by JD0506 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is awesome. Only problem I have is with the ARC. Every so often, when I switch on my Xbox One or PS4, if I adjust the volume, the screen on my TV starts flickering really bad until the visual volume display disappears. Other than that, it works great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

EASY TO USE!

STRDH790 16/01/2019 by ds17172 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Christmas present to replace an older product. This one lives up to all expectations!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy set up. Great sound. Contact size.

STRDH790 15/01/2019 by DrChese (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After the difficulty with the Denon 1612 I replaced I was concerned it would be difficult to get everything hooked up and working. Plugged in chromecast, blueray, Direct TV with no issue. Turns off with any device. Separation and surround is better than the Denon. Very satisfied on day one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

SAD

STRDH790 11/01/2019 by Richard1952 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not happy with at all, to hard to set up still can't get subwoofer to work.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
12/01/2019

Hi Richard1952, we regret that the receiver failed to meet your expectations. In relation to your concern with the subwoofer, we recommend following the step below to troubleshoot the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dh790/articles/00024783

Regards,
Erin

0

Excellent sound performance w/ Dolby Atmos/DTS:X!

STRDH790 06/01/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this receiver for about a week but I am already so pleased with it! I upgraded from a STR-DH520 and the output quality with the 790 blows me away! The sound fields are a huge upgrade and I love Pure Direct for crystal clear audio and hearing songs in movies without sound effects. Pair this with a 4K television, 4K UHD Sony UBP-X700 Player, HDR10, Dolby Atmos speakers and 21Gbps bandwidth and you're in for a real treat! The metal casing is a little flimsy but that helps with reduced heat absorption so it's okay. Also, be careful with the optical port or you will break the little door, it's very fragile! The unit is so much lighter compared to previous models and that's always a good thing. Bluetooth pairing is like night and day and it's so good. I have an LG V40 and am able to use DTS:X with Bluetooth pairing thanks to the Quad DAC in the phone! This is a great receiver for anyone who wants amazing studio quality audio, surround sound glory and a future proofed receiver without breaking the bank!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Dh 790

STRDH790 02/01/2019 by Dynadave98 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

About this about a month ago I'm very pleased with it I'm old school I'm just learning to the receiver but it's awesome

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Receiver

STRDH790 28/12/2018 by OSMc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Receiver replaced an older Yamaha receiver for my surround sound system and was just what I needed for my new Sony 4k. HDMI jacks really make a difference and the sound from my speakers and sub-woofer is excellent. The "Easy Setup" and "Auto Calibration" made the set-up a breeze.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great price

STRDH790 23/12/2018 by tommy88569 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great av receiver with ease of use and price, and pairs well with sony subwoofer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome receiver

STRDH790 05/12/2018 by Lonewolf48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this on black friday and im so happy with it its a really great product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0