376

4.2 based on 376 customer reviews

222
73
28
26
27
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26/10/2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

378 Customer Reviews

0

Love it.

STRDN1080 09/04/2021 by RobW0048 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love all the features and ease of use. I just wish there was a way to adjust the volume of the speakers individually. Sometimes I like the sound to just come from the rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/04/2021

Hi RobW0048, we're glad you love our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio that delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above.

You can only adjust the level of the speakers. You may check the link below for more information:

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221240.html?search=speaker%20level

Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Home Menu is Annoying!

STRDN1080 07/04/2021 by Scorch (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound on this unit is very good however, there is an annoying feature where the “Home” menu comes on every time the unit is turned on. It doesn’t simply default to the last input it was set to. I read about other buyers finding this to be a nuisance AFTER I bought the unit with Sony not proving a fix. If I had known this in advance I wouldn’t have purchased it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/04/2021

Hi Scorch, we're glad you like the sound quality. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY. This feature is part of the normal operation when the receiver is connected via HDMI. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Great Unit

STRDN1080 29/03/2021 by DPB001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this Home Theatre/ Receiver for my new home, and after swapping it out once for a new one, I am quite happy with the purchase. The first one would simply not auto calibrate despite no problems on my end. New Unit was able to self calibrate to teh new room, and it has worked flawlessly ever since then!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/03/2021

Hi DPB001,

We do apologize for the inconvenience. Now that the issue is resolved. We are glad you are happy with your purchase. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

This thing's amazing

STRDN1080 27/03/2021 by Rigbly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the Onkyo TX nr515 and I could not have made a better purchase for my needs. Yes there are other receivers out there that one could consider better however I have been scoping out this particular receiver for over a year-and-a-half and waiting for the moment to purchase. It just so happened that my video out on my Onkyo died. I went ahead and purchased this receiver from a retailer and the switch out was effortless. I was able to immediately notice the sound quality upgrade coming from the new board. My speakers are primarily Bowers & Wilkins and living an apartment I don't have a sub connected but don't need it thanks to the way that this particular receiver allows for various configurations. This is such a good receiver I went ahead and purchased Atmos speakers to complement the configuration and am just now even more happy. I'm hoping that this receiver lasts a very long time. The interface menu, the wireless capabilities, the software upgrade over internet or network in general is excellent. I don't have to worry about this device at all in short. I did purchase a nice little and Tech topper for the top of the receiver to suck any hot air out as it accumulates because this sits in a closed environment so it can get warm obviously. Last Lady I run a few gaming consoles on it and since the TV is Sony and the receiver is Sony in the gaming console with Sony, everything just works as it should. I do have a Nintendo switch hooked up so anytime I turn that on the receiver automatically turns to that input Channel and sends that signal to the TV and the TV takes the upscale from the receiver. If you are an audio file like I am you'll know that there are several options out there that are better but it's not always about better as it is to be the exact needs for the environment that you're in. So based on the power output and the configuration capabilities and the build itself, this thing's amazing. I'm so happy I'm broke again. Haha Oh one more thing, on the atmos hookup I used the recommended back surround and then the configuration interface allows for the back surround to be utilized as the front top Atmos speakers. You can also buy amp off the main fronts if you wanted oh, there are clear markers on the back of the receiver for bi amping but I didn't need to do that oh, but you could. Anyway go by this and stop reading my gibberish.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/03/2021

Hi Rigbly,

Thank you for the feedback. We really appreciate the time you took to share so many details about your experience with the AV receiver. We are glad that you are happy with your purchase. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

Exceeds Every Expectation

STR-DN1080 26/03/2021 by Cheshirechap (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned the STR-DN1050, so sort of knew what I was getting. I needed the newer 1080 model for 4K in my library, and I needed to replace my much-hated Denon AVR-X2400H. The difference in sound quality between the Denon and the Sony is extraordinary - so much clearer, more detailed and also fuller. Gone are the days of having to boost the centre channel volume due to the Denon's lack of power and precision - now every word is crystal clear and every explosion, thud, crunch of gravel pin-point accurate. The build quality is excellent too - slightly smaller (shorter) than the Denon, but beautifully and logically laid out. My only gripe is the insistence on having the USB on the front - it spoils the looks to have a USB stick jutting out, so why not have an alternative one on the back - at the price surely that's not too expensive an option. But the front display is clear, and the whole thing is as understated as a big black metal box can be. It's easy to set-up too - the built-in assistant with microphone works reasonably well, though it took me two attempts to get it to eventually accept that I do only have a 5.1 speaker set-up. But once set up it was just a couple of minor tweaks to get it to sound awesome. Linked to a Sky Q box, Sony PS4 and Sony 4K player means switching any of those on turns on the amp (to the correct channel and with the previously selected sound options) and there is no lag changing from source to source - it just works, every time. A couple of niggles, but nothing to knock a star off: the remote control feels cheap and nasty. The same remote (pretty much) for the 1050 feels better made, whereas the buttons on this feel loose and unresponsive. The amp does love to default to creating surround sound for everything - turning on Pure Direct resolves it, but it's an annoying assumption in a supposedly all-about-the-sound amp. And that's it - it's a well-made, well-specified, well-thought out amp. Expect to pay considerably more if you want to go beyond the Sony's capabilities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great features, sounds superb, looks good

STR-DN1080 23/03/2021 by Dave 885 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 weeks ago after reading superb reviews, and i have to say it is a great piece of kit for the money. I have had problems with poor sony software on products before (tvs mainly) but i have had no problems so far.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Works well

STRDN1080 22/03/2021 by Ron weien (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a mounts a go and am glad and glad I did

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2021

Hi Ron, awesome! We are so happy to hear you are overall satisfied with the superb performance of our STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver! You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too!

Thank you so much for the 4 Star rating and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

New Sony Receiver

STRDN1080 21/03/2021 by opmmotorsports (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had it a little better than a month, my 30yr. old Pioneer receiver had 1 channel that was all static. Not a real easy unit to set up and adjust, ACTUALLY TO 21ST CENTURY.,!! In time I will figure it out, but overall, NOT impressed

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2021

Hi opmmotorsports,

We are really sorry if the setup of our STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver did not live up to your expectations. We will surely take note of your feedback as we always strive to make this a better experience. In case you need information for settings, and on how you can completely set up your STRDN1080, please visit its instruction manual from our support website:

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/index.html

If there’s anything we can do to help, please feel free to email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can better assist you.

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Feature packed and fantastically equipped

STR-DN1080 16/03/2021 by YT76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since upgrading from my previous (fairly decent Onkyo) amp to this I am simply blown away. The sound quality is as good as the myriad of reviews will tell you, and the features for the price point are astonishing. The on-screen display when selecting the various options is very user friendly and it was a cinch to set up. This is a fab product and with change out of £500 I couldn’t be happier!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great product, great value

STR-DN1080 12/03/2021 by noname1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to upgrade from an older 840. basically very similar with a better menu, better setup/calibration, and ATMOS, at an amazing price. Upgraded speakers at same time so hard to judge if the sound quality is significantly different from the older model, but it sounds great, easy to use and setup. 4K capable and Dolby Atmos at an incredible price (from Richer sounds). Build quality seems same high quality as the older model, and no problems with that (i only replaced due to the better menu, 4k and Atmos).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Humming noise and intermittent remote control

STR-DN1080 12/03/2021 by Wibble59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this based on good reviews and recent price cut. In operation the unit sounds great. Sadly, there's an audible hum from the unit during quiet periods (even there with all speakers and HDMI cables disconnected). The unit intermittently stops responding to power on commands from the remote (and my other multi-function remotes), so I have to manually push the unit's power button to start it up. It also failed to update firmware over the internet and I had to do it via USB. It also didn't seem to always accept my speaker config when I entered it during the auto-cal procedure resulting in calibration failure. I had to repeat a couple of times before it accepted it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Love the ease of set up

STRDN1080 08/03/2021 by GTPhys70 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this and set up yesterday. Don’t have a lot of experience with the unit but set up was incredibly easy. Love the speaker calibration ease. The remote and accompanying software is, in my opinion, quite easy to use. I really wanted to be able to access Spotify and listen thru the system. This turned out to be super easy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/03/2021

Hi GTPhys70, fantastic! We are really thrilled to hear you are happy and satisfied with the superb performance- especially the easy setup function, speaker calibration, remote control, and features of our STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too!

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Works great

STRDN1080 02/03/2021 by rustyrussell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I set this up about three weeks ago and it has performed well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/03/2021

Hi rustyrussell, we're glad you are enjoying our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio that delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Room-shaking power, great sound, good interface

STR-DN1080 01/03/2021 by mrnmn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Straightforward setup with easy auto-configuration using the provided mic. Great sound. Really user-friendly interface makes device selection and setup easy. More than enough power for my needs at home. Ample HDMI inputs. The remote control received with the unit didn't work and had to be replaced - and the unit is difficult or impossible to operate fully without the remote.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent receiver

STRDN1080 27/02/2021 by Diowoptom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a replacement for my twenty year old cd recorder and receiver. I lived the cd recorder but Sony has no replacement I’m very happy with the receiver but setting it up can be problematic since you need to connect the unit to your tv to get any sort of instruction and be able to set it up properly. However, once you figure out how to do it, the sound is fantastic. No AM capability and still having trouble setting pre-set stations. No phono input so you need to use one of the video hookups. My primary use is for playing cds and when combined with a CD player you won’t be disappointed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/02/2021

Hello Diowoptom, We are thrilled to hear that you like your Sony home receiver. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio that delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

The best bang for your buck

STR-DN1080 26/02/2021 by Budget Enthusiast (USA)

I have had this DN1080 for about 2 years now. I had an Onkyo before I got this one and I like the sound of the Sony better. It is powering the JBL Venue series speakers (towers for fronts, large center, and nice sized rears), and some Sony Atmos Front height speakers. The TV is a Sony 65X900H. It all sounds awesome, and I like the ease of use. The thing that blew me away the most was the sound quality with music. I stream Spotify through it and when you turn the sound optimizer on it really gives the music depth and nuance. You can't beat all the features, sound Codecs, user interface, and sound quality for the price. It's a budget AV enthusiasts dream!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2021

Hi Budget Enthusiast, Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! -Carl

0

A good and a bad, one box solution!

STR-DN1080 26/02/2021 by Scottie148 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the DN1080 Sony amp on the back of some great reviews by those in the know. Unfortunately, though it’s packed with features, it keeps hanging, locking up. The Home, Listen and Watch buttons on the remote control, just don’t do anything, after a while. The only way to get round this is to clear the amps system, but that leads to having to set the whole amp up again, from scratch. It happens three times a week. Yes, I’ve checked the software’s up to date, before I’m asked. I see from looking online, that many have encountered this problem, but sat after clearing the system, theirs has been OK. Well, mine hadn’t been! When it is working, it’s very good. I’ve a 5.1 speaker system connected. I also use Zone 2, to play hi-res music through my tri-amped Linn Ninka speakers, though as the Home button doesn’t work, I can’t navigate to the Zone control feature, so you can’t control the volume. Hence, a good and a bad one box solution.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Doesn't play well with older TVs

STRDN1080 21/02/2021 by Masked Mosquito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When programming it to play from a cable box through a Harmony remote, setting the input to Cbl/Sat the unit will revert to TV mode after awhile and no sound will play, just video. I talked with Tech support and it doesn't appear to be a way to get it to stay on the Cbl/Sat input and get the audio from the HDMI cable. Going to try an HDMI video/audio splitter to see if that helps.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2021

Hi Masked Mosquito, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your AV receiver. We would like to know more about this issue so we can better assist you.

For now, please follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00173195


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Another Sony

STRDN1080 18/02/2021 by DU1974 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with new unit . Had similar Sony unit almost 40 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/02/2021

Hi DU1974, we're glad you are happy with our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio that delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

A Powerhouse Packed with Features

STRDN1080 09/02/2021 by Wynndi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't say enough about this Receiver! All of the features I need and then some - enough HDMI to connect all of my gear and then some. The auto-calibration using provided microphone is an exceptional feature that should be used at setup for impressive results - glad that Sony continues to provide the feature!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2021

Hi Wynndi, Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Sound outstanding easy-to-use

STRDN1080 08/02/2021 by Andy35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great piece of sound equipment. Ease of installation and interface with other features, surround sound and video.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2021

Hi Andy35, Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! -Carl

0

Versatile,good sound and a bargain!

STR-DN1080 08/02/2021 by Bullivap (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Versatile,sounds great and a bargain! I needed flexibility around the TV and Blu-ray/4K set up! I looked around and saw this model- all singing all dancing and a repeat What Hifi winner! So bought it- Richer sounds were great and once set up with good quality HDMI leads I was in business! The picture from Blu-ray was outstanding with the Audioquest Chocolate HDMI leads- couldn’t stop watching and the sound I bi amped ( a form of biamping) into a stereo pair of speakers! Once again the sound was great from the TV- did coaxial out on an old Rotel CD player effectively turning into a CD transport and again lovely detailed sound! Happy yes! Future proof! Well for what my needs are yes- HDMI 2.1 and 8k broadcasting is not around the corner and 4K pass through to an 8k TV will allow the TV to upscale which is the usual way to go about things! So plenty of mileage here! Great product and great price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic sound!

STRDN1080 31/01/2021 by Extremely good looking (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The extras are amazing and the sound is fantastic!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From ase Sony North America Customer Support
01/02/2021

Hi good looking,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

Feature packed A/V Amplifier

STR-DN1080 28/01/2021 by No Sa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace an older model found this had everything I required for the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

overheating unit

STR-DN1080 26/01/2021 by Romeo1964 (USA)

I brought home the Sony STR-DN1080 with the highest of confidence I made the right choice. After playing the receiver at a relatively high level it shut off by itself. I mirrored the scenario again.checked all my connections and again it failed.but this time we noticed the unit was exceptionally hot. long story short my second receiver preformed the same as the first.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/01/2021

Hi Romeo1964,

We regret to hear that you are having issues with the STRDN1080 7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver. We'd love to troubleshoot the issue and make this a better experience for you. In the meantime, please follow these steps to troubleshoot.

1. Plug your device into a working wall outlet, and not on a power strip or surge protector, to reduce the possibility of a short circuit.
2. Plug your device into a different wall outlet.
3. Remove the batteries from the remote control to avoid sending unintentional signals to your device.
4. Disconnect the speakers.
- If disconnecting the speakers resolves the issue, then either the speaker settings on your device aren't set correctly or there is a problem with the speakers. Reconnect the speakers to the unit one at a time to see if there is a speaker that is causing the issue.
5. Remove all connected components.
If resolved, then one of the previously connected components is causing the issue. To determine what device is faulty, reconnect each component one at a time to your device.
6. Turn off Sleep mode.
7.If the AUTO.STBY is set to ON, change the setting to STBY OFF or OFF.

May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Model Number:
Issue:

Regards,
Carl

0

AWEsome Sound!!!

STRDN1080 25/01/2021 by Grif (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy that I bought this and it is so easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/01/2021

Hi Grif,

Thank you for an amazing review! We're glad that you are happy with the sound and ease of use with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony! - Kris

0

Sound with all 7.2 Speakers.

STR-DN1080 25/01/2021 by Step1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kit when it arrived in very good packaging. Set the unit up using my smart TV which is needed for this kit. instructions could be better. Sound can be processed in a few ways. I found just using my ears give me the sound I wanted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

brilliant amp

STR-DN1080 21/01/2021 by norm83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb amp in every way purchased to replace older Sony str-dn1030 Just one complaint the lack of proper fm aerial socket

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

great features

STRDN1080 19/01/2021 by bearz40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this sounds so good easy to use and better than our onkyo!!!! we had 4 onkyo receivers and this one beats them by far!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/01/2021

Hi bearz40, Awesome! We're thrilled to hear you love the powerful sound and ease of use of your new receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Nice upgrade!

STRDN1080 17/01/2021 by Tom6951 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to upgrade my previous Sony receiver. More features and more power. I love how it improved the sound of my klipsch speakers with the extra power. The 4K pass through is definitely a plus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/01/2021

Hi Tom6951,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

Quality of STR-DN1080

STRDN1080 14/01/2021 by labdr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit several weeks ago and use it with my Sony TV. I am amazed at the sound quality and ease of use when combined with my TV and the ease of use with the Bravia sync.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/01/2021

Hi labdr, Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Love the new technology.

STRDN1080 05/01/2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish I did not wait so long to buy a new receiver and believe I bought the right one. With the ARC on TVs and all the Bluetooth devices of today’s era this receiver is easy to make all things look and sound great. You can notice a better picture runnings HDMI cables through the receiver and Bluetooth and all the features to make all things sound great was easy. Hooked up some old Bose speakers and a stand alone base and wow sounds great. I’ll bet if I invest in some nice speakers I could even take it up another level. I think the system is simple to set up and to calibrate with Sony’s technology and pretty awesome. The only thing I wished was I could have 1 remote for receiver and cable tv. Glad I spent the money wellwithin my budget.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2021

Hi MajorRoger,

We're glad that you're happy with your investment. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! We also hope you find a remote that works with all your devices. Thanks for choosing Sony!

~Ralph

0

Love it, but...

STRDN1080 02/01/2021 by Upper NW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a 1060 that I really like, but wanted the new audio features (Atmos, etc.), so I bought the 1080. It's working well with my 7.1 setup and my 4K HDR TV. The "but.." comes from two issues. I live in a small city on the north coast of Washington. I listen a lot to an FM station that is many miles away via a rooftop antenna. For whatever reason, Sony changed from the coax connector to a single wire connector which may be okay for a big city, but is lousy for here. I've built a coax connector from a TV adapter and a JST plug that works, but what a pain. The other "but.." is the change to the remote for choosing "presets". The old remote has 1, 2, and 3 while the new remote only has 1. Fortunately, the old remote works with the 1080. Other than those issues (antenna being the real pain), I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/01/2021

Hi Upper NW, Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. We appreciate your feedback about the antenna and the remote control. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Awesome

STRDN1080 29/12/2020 by Shorty123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've never heard my Bose surround sound speakers sound so good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi Shorty123, We're very grateful for this positive feedback! Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Installation was self intuitive...!

STRDN1080 29/12/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the receiver a week ago, & it has performed flawlessly...!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi Pukie, Awesome! Thank you for the 5-star rating! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the sound quality and overall performance of the receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Good unit but has some glitches

STRDN1080 28/12/2020 by AV8TER (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this unit last month after multiple online recommendations. We were also lucky to score a PS5 for my son but when we tried connecting via the DN1080 we were only able to get audio only (no video). I was surprised as both of these units are Sony products. After researching the issue online it seems to be a well known issue and the only fix is to wait for a software patch from Sony. Last week we were unable to get any video to display from this unit and ended up having to do a total reboot to get the video back which requires me to go back and redo my speaker setup and renaming all my source inputs again. I hope this does not continue otherwise I will be returning the unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi AV8TER, thank you for purchasing the STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. We are sorry you're having an issue with the unit. We'd love to help you troubleshoot your problem and turn your experience around. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Outstanding features and support is great

STRDN1080 26/12/2020 by RayRap (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We brought the new Receiver last November, six weeks ago, and the sound is fantastic. The built in FM antenna provides very good reception. We have established six pre-set channels, which works very well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2020

Hi RayRap, Thanks for sharing your experience with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Excellent sound / but poor functionality

STR-DN1080 26/12/2020 by Disappointed Ted (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We brought this produce as it was suggested as being a compatible product for Sony’s Master range KD-65AG9 Bravia TV. It’s produces a fantastic range of sound with a full deep rich spectrum. This was also a replacement for an earlier STR-DB925 which gave years of service without a glitch and is still fully functional. I love the ease of the set up process. However if you can’t get a picture there’s no way to access the setup meme. The only way I could change basic settings after a software glitch which Sony still have not corrected was to use a none Sony product which supported HDMI ( eARC / ARC ) It’s a great product if Sony would only get their finger out and sort its software issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent Upgrade

STR-DN1080 24/12/2020 by Charmer67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace a Sony STRDN1030 that had served me well for a number of years. This is a definite step up with better sound, 4K capability, HDR capability and Dolby Atmos. Very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Impressive Value

STRDN1080 19/12/2020 by Tarp1960 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to set up and the sound fills the room...Plenty of power to drive 7 speakers and sub...I have set up at 5.1.2 with over head atmos...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/12/2020

Hi Tarp1960, We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying the great sound quality and easy setup for your new receiver. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio that delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Great for the price!

STR-DN1080 17/12/2020 by Tony100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The plus points are that this box has brought my home cinema system to life. My old Pioneer was very outdated and wouldn’t work with HDMI ARC or the latest Dolby sound sound releases. Only disappointment is that I haven’t been able to get it to work with Alexa to channel music through the surround sound speakers. But I can do this bluetooth from my iPhone. Highly recommend this system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

VRR PASSTHROUGH !!!!!!

STR-DN1080 17/12/2020 by Will1962 (USA)

Please for the love of god!!! Add VRR PASSTHROUGH . I have a ps5 and would like to use vrr

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/12/2020

Hi Will1962, Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! We will take note of your inputs in the improvements to our product. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Very Intuitive Set-up

STRDN1080 16/12/2020 by Jimmy708 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took about 2 hours to set-up. Thought the receiver had a problem as the speakers on the lanai we're not working. Turns out the volume control on the lanai had died. Replaced it, receiver worked fine. Like the Spotify button. Nice feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/12/2020

Hi Jimmy708, We're very grateful for this positive feedback! Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you so much for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Really nice but....

STRDN1080 16/12/2020 by Scottthedentaltech (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's great has all the bells and whistles. My only issue is when using the hdmi port with my computer, I try to play a file it will screech super loud and you have to restart the file. Oh 31 clicks to set the sleep timer? Seriously sony, 31?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/12/2020

Hi Scottthedentaltech,

We regret to hear that it hasn't given you the complete experience. You can refer to the troubleshooting steps on this link to help resolve the noise you're hearing when playing content from your computer:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00024757

We do appreciate your feedback about the sleep timer function.

Should you need further assistance, please let us know. May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Receiver Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the STR-DN1080.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,

~Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Sony delivers again!

STRDN1080 13/12/2020 by Sunny1966 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We used/enjoyed our last Sony Amp Model STR-K9900P for 15 years and it performed well. We were over due for an upgrade so we stayed with Sony. We are very happy thus far. Many inputs, HDMI, and we don't own a 4K TV yet so we are covered there too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2020

Hi Sunny1966, we're glad you like our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great Value!

STRDN1080 06/12/2020 by Don708 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I currently have three Sony receivers at home and I really like them. I've never found the power and features for comparable prices from anyone else.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/12/2020

Hi Don708, Thank you for the 5-star rating! We are glad to hear that you are happy with your purchase! You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too!

0

Poor, Useless for FM Reception

STR-DN1080 01/12/2020 by M7955 (USA)

The FM jack to plug in the antenna is an unconventional design, and is NOT compatible to connect to a industry standard outdoor FM antenna. The single wire, OEM antenna included with the purchase provides extremely poor reception. For as many decades as FM radio has existed, this is an unacceptable and an embarrassing product for SONY to even consider putting on the market. When contacting SONY technical support, they tell you to try relocating the unit in the room, which is only an excuse, not a solution

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/12/2020

Hi M7955, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may follow this link to better isolate and fix the issue:

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221113.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Can't Go Wrong

STRDN1080 30/11/2020 by Sotak72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The receiver has features that on any other receiver would cost much more. It has plenty of inputs and supports all the major sound formats. It makes movies sound amazing. You won't regret buying this receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/11/2020

Hi Sotak72,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

Complete garbage

STR-DN1080 30/11/2020 by Gpet (USA)

Keeps dropping video audio drops more often and zone 2 operation is an engineering disaster. Returning it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/11/2020

Hi Gpet, We regret to hear about what happened. This is usually not the case for our AV receivers nor the experience we want you to have. We would like to know more about this issue so we can better assist you.

If you still have the unit and need assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Amazing sound for music aswell

STR-DN1080 27/11/2020 by monitorshelf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this receiver 11 months. I have Q Acoustic 3050 floor standing speakers and 3010 centre speaker. After auto calibration, please do a manual calibration and enter the values exactly with the calibration type set to "flat" The bass is deep and solid with clear vocals and high tones. You don't need a subwoofer has this receiver drives bass easy. High praise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Love the new features.

STRDN1080 23/11/2020 by Stormin Norman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My picture Quality improved on my television! Sound Quality is Awsome!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/11/2020

Hi Stormin, Thank you for the 5-star rating! You’re now able to experience true home theatre sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Carl

0

Fabulous sound!

STR-DN1080 15/11/2020 by MelNHead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The setting up was smooth sailing and had the unit up and working within an hour... including wiring the speakers in! The sound is well balanced and fabulous both for classical and rock/pop.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Receiver

STRDN1080 09/11/2020 by Jonnychistar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't been able to use it too much yet, but I was able to set it up and run it through some tests with music and Dolby Atmos videos. It sounds great and was very easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/11/2020

Hi Jonnychistar, Thank you for giving the product a perfect rating! We're thrilled to hear you appreciate the great sound quality and ease of set up with your new AV receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Best bang for the buck

STR-DN1080 06/11/2020 by Dig 14 (USA)

Research told me this set was the best bang for the buck and they weren’t kidding. Right now I have a set of Atmos set up the AVR handles them expertly only thing I hate was I had to sacrifice my back surround speakers but you can phase the front surround to make up the difference. Also the Upscale is very good as well if you have 4 K. I definitely made the right choice I could have spent muck more and got much less.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2020

Hi Dig 14, Awesome! We're glad to hear you feel that the STRDN1080 is worth its price! You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Looks Mean

STRDN1080 24/10/2020 by Bridge55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it set up, at 65 years old - it has great sound so far - will let you know after I get to watch a concert or good movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/10/2020

Hi Bridge55, we're glad you like the sound quality of our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

no good

STR-DN1080 16/10/2020 by disappointed in upstate (USA)

Everything works fine except the video. My television repeatedly turns on and off with this unit only. NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT!!!!!!! I either need to buy another brand home theater unit or replace a perfectly fine TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/10/2020

Hi disappointed in upstate, We regret to hear about what happened. This is usually not the case for our Receivers nor the experience we want you to have. Is your TV connected to the receiver via HDMI ARC? We would like to know more about this issue so we can troubleshoot the issue.

May we contact you to help and get more information? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the STRDN1080 :

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Amazing

STR-DN1080 15/10/2020 by Justinc87 (USA)

I believe Sony is the best brand, I’ve owned other brands like Harmon kardon and onkio and pioneer and Ken wood, but Sony has always been the best quality, and has always lasted the longest. I own the str dn 850, but used to have a DN 1030, till lightning struck it, but no repair shops really exist, however I wish that Sony would make affordable 8 ohm units rather than making them 6 ohms. I have to turn my unit up more than halfway to get good volum, other than that my product is amazing and would t trade it for the world. Hopefully Sony has plans to fix their balancing and calibrations on newer models to come. If my DN 850 were an 8 ohm receiver I would have no complaints ! I will always stand with Sony when it comes to home audio. I also love that you stick with the slick design for most models. However I’m in love with the design of the DN 1030 because you could use a knob to tune the unit rather than pushing buttons, I think Sony should add hdmi inputs to the front And stick with a design similar to the DN850, and combine it with the DN1030!!! Hopefully Sony will read my request and they’ll make a design that is like both those models!! Sony I believe definitely out lasts most other brands!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2020

Hi Justinc87, Awesome! We really appreciate you being a loyal customer and helping to share the word about us. Thank you for the 5-star rating! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the design and overall features of your new STR-DN1080.

You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you for sharing your feedback! -Sam

0

Great sound quality for home cinema and stereo too

STR-DN1080 13/10/2020 by Galadier (USA)

I would have like to buy an amplifier, that has builtnin chromecast and also has good sound quality in stereo listenning. (We use 80% in stereo mode and 20% in cinema mode). However there is no built in internet radio and Deezer, but not needed, because there can be useable within chromecast and bluetooth as well from mobile phone. The competitor amplifiers have these apps with joking usability, so I do not miss them at all. The sound optimizer is feelable to vol.12 and it is enough to listen the silent music with well enjoyable sound quality without disturbing the neighbours. If you buy good cables and/or source it is remarkable on the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/10/2020

Hi Galadier, That's great! Thank you for purchasing the Sony STRDN1080. We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying the sound quality of the unit. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Great AV Receiver

STRDN1080 10/10/2020 by CDicus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just spent the morning marking and sizing all the speaker cables, video cables, etc. Connected everything based on the Manual. Watched a couple good You Tube videos on how to program this unit. Spent about an hour programming. And everything sounded and looked great the first time I tested a Dolby Surround Movie! Next I’m purchasing the Sony 4K 65’ model 950H Smart TV w/ HDMI eARC!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2020

Hi CDicus,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

Great Home Theater Receiver

STRDN1080 07/10/2020 by ljstartrek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver 6 months ago and it has provided me with satisfaction in its performance and versatility.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2020

Hi ljstartrek, Congratulations on your new STRDN1080. Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Music Sound Quaility

STR-DN1080 30/09/2020 by JohnD74 (USA)

The surround sound for a movie is good, but the power for music is very low. The 165 watts per channel seams like 50 watts per channel. The power efficiency out ways the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2020

Hi JohnD74, While we're glad to hear you like the surround sound feature when watching your favorite movies, we regret to know you're having some sound quality issues with the unit. This is usually not the case for our home receivers nor the experience we want you to have.

To ensure you're getting the best audio experience, please follow the steps below:

-Check that all connecting cables are inserted to their input/output jacks on the receiver, speakers, and the devices.
-Check that MASTER VOLUME on the receiver is not set to “VOL MIN”.
-Check that the speaker settings are appropriate by using the following settings:
Perform Auto Calibration in [Easy Setup] from the home menu.
Press AMP MENU, then select “” - “PATTERN” on the display panel.
-Then check that sound is output from each speaker correctly by pressing the AMP MENU and selecting “” - “T. TONE” on the display panel.
-Be sure to select the optimal sound field for the content. For details on the sound fields, see “Selectable sound fields and their effects.” using the Help Guide.

Regards,
Sam

0

Top Notch

STR-DN1080 21/09/2020 by Nas41 (USA)

Hi normally I don’t have time to write reviews but this one is an exception. I’m an avid fan of Sony all my products for entertainment is from Sony. Brought this Amp to upgrade my old Sony Amp and I’m very impressed with the fuller sound that you get. I’m using 7 speakers and 2 Subs tried the conventional setup 7.1 for a few months and it don’t disappoint. Whole reason for this amp is the Atoms and DTS X now my setup is just that. No need to crank the volume up no more than 25 is just too loud smiles all the way for night time 15 on the master volume is enough to feel the cinematic soundtrack. Got all my devices plugged in and room for more still. The only 2 issues I have had is that when you turn the amp on and you select a input it doesn’t register the input signal so at times I have to rest the device (not the amp) then the signal is detected. Lastly when I turn the amp on for the 1st time any day I experience a popping noise from the speakers front left and right. All my cables are new including speakers can’t seem to fix but it’s a minor. Would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2020

Hi Nas41,

Thank you for reaching out to us! Your feedback about input selection and speaker setup is greatly appreciated. This will surely help us improve the quality and performance of our products. Thanks for sharing your review.

Regards,
David

0

Easy to set up

STRDN1080 21/09/2020 by Huskeratheart (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago after a lightening strike fried the other receiver. Glad we did we now have true HDR and 4K Television on our Sony TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2020

Hi Huskeratheart,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

FAILURE TO LAUNCH

STRDN1080 11/09/2020 by UBERPOP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WANTED ATMOS EXPERIENCE, NEW A/V, NEW BLU RAY, NEW SPEAKERS. $1600.00 WORTH OF PAPERWEIGHTS

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2020

Hi UBERPOP, we're sorry to hear this. We would like to know more about the issue so we can better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Amazing Receiver

STR-DN1080 11/09/2020 by Kydraiden (USA)

I Bought this about a month ago and I'm glad I did!! The Auto Cal is a amazing feature and it didn't disappoint. The Dolby Atmos is amazing. Everything is easy to navigate. Recommend for sure if your looking to move from Soundbar to your first Receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2020

Hi Kydraiden, good to know that you like the auto calibration, Atmos support, and user-friendly functions of the receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/09/2020 by Ants777 (United Kingdom)

Sound quality is superb. Options are great although I did expect a lot more options for music there only flaw is three chromecast cuts out every now and then but I use bluetooth for music anyway

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

easy setup

STRDN1080 06/09/2020 by kents (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very happy with sound / easy setup have always liked quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2020

Hi kents,

Thank you for the 5-star rating! Its good to know that you're happy with your strdn1080 and it is living up to your expectations. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

TIDAL no longer works!

STR-DN1080 05/09/2020 by jasonfr1974 (USA)

Tidal no longer works with this unit due to Sony not updating in Chromecast Built-In software provided by Google. If you're looking to use this with Chromecast Audio, forget it. Sony doesn't update it so it will continue to work with current Chromecast Audio apps.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2020

Hi jasonfr1974,

Your feedback about the Chromecast is greatly appreciated. We will surely take note of this feedback as it helps us improve our products/services.  Thanks for sharing your review.

Regards,
David

0

AAA+++ BEST SONY I HAVE BOUGHT IN 30 YEARS!!!

STRDN1080 03/09/2020 by Deke1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have alway bought SONY for 30 years and I love the STR-DN1080. I am sure I will find something I may be unhappy with but me at being 73 yrs. Old, it's ok.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2020

Hi Deke1, That's great! We really appreciate you being a loyal customer and helping to share the word about us. Good to know you love your new STR-DN1080. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for trusting Sony! -Sam

0

Decent performance, easy set up

STRDN1080 02/09/2020 by Marty H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit to replace a much heavier, much larger unit made by a competitor that died. The Sony unit is about half the weight, very easy to set up, much less complicated to operate and good at what it does. Using a Sony 4k Blu Ray player and a Sony Bravia TV makes it all work together nicely. The unit is responds slowly to menu items which is annoying. Overall the sound is pretty good - it plays SACD format well and that's what I really needed. But sadly, there are some Blu Ray disks (Lord of the Rings) that just cause problems such as severe breakup and distortion. That's using the HD Master audio channel. My old receiver didn't have that problem with the Klipsch surround sound 7.1 set I use. I do wish this unit had some nice optional audio enhancements such as adapting to different concert halls, etc. In the meantime, this will do.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2020

Hi Marty H,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Powerfully sound

STR-DN1080 24/08/2020 by Blesse (USA)

I brought it but i steel don't know how to operate it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

Hi Blesse,

Thank you for reaching out to us! We encourage you to make use of our many online resources to help with questions regarding your str-dn1080.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support (Sony Support website)
https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/support-contact?language=en_US (Chat support)

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Absolutely Fantastic !!!

STR-DN1080 21/08/2020 by MJJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

I owe this amazing receiver for over 6 month by now and can tell you that it's brilliant. The design, the sound quality, video processing and 4K pass through - all great! Dolby Atmos works like a dream too. Powerful, crystal clear full of depth sound, great bass, well what else you need??? I watch most of my content with Dolby Atmos on 4K ULTRA HD Blu-Ray Discs. All connected with my Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-Ray player & Sony 65" TV KD-65XF9005. Would be very happy to upgrade to a new model Sony UBP-X800M2 and benefit from Full HDR & Dolby Vision, but for the time been I'm pretty happy with what I've got. Sony is great again and multiple awards for this product just confirms that! Buy with confidence, you won't be disappointed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0