323

4.1 based on 323 customer reviews

190
61
25
22
25
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26/10/2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

324 Customer Reviews

0

Looks Mean

STRDN1080 24/10/2020 by Bridge55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got it set up, at 65 years old - it has great sound so far - will let you know after I get to watch a concert or good movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/10/2020

Hi Bridge55, we're glad you like the sound quality of our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

no good

STR-DN1080 16/10/2020 by disappointed in upstate (USA)

Everything works fine except the video. My television repeatedly turns on and off with this unit only. NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT!!!!!!! I either need to buy another brand home theater unit or replace a perfectly fine TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/10/2020

Hi disappointed in upstate, We regret to hear about what happened. This is usually not the case for our Receivers nor the experience we want you to have. Is your TV connected to the receiver via HDMI ARC? We would like to know more about this issue so we can troubleshoot the issue.

May we contact you to help and get more information? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony Username:
Telephone Number:
Sony Model Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the STRDN1080 :

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Amazing

STR-DN1080 15/10/2020 by Justinc87 (USA)

I believe Sony is the best brand, I’ve owned other brands like Harmon kardon and onkio and pioneer and Ken wood, but Sony has always been the best quality, and has always lasted the longest. I own the str dn 850, but used to have a DN 1030, till lightning struck it, but no repair shops really exist, however I wish that Sony would make affordable 8 ohm units rather than making them 6 ohms. I have to turn my unit up more than halfway to get good volum, other than that my product is amazing and would t trade it for the world. Hopefully Sony has plans to fix their balancing and calibrations on newer models to come. If my DN 850 were an 8 ohm receiver I would have no complaints ! I will always stand with Sony when it comes to home audio. I also love that you stick with the slick design for most models. However I’m in love with the design of the DN 1030 because you could use a knob to tune the unit rather than pushing buttons, I think Sony should add hdmi inputs to the front And stick with a design similar to the DN850, and combine it with the DN1030!!! Hopefully Sony will read my request and they’ll make a design that is like both those models!! Sony I believe definitely out lasts most other brands!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2020

Hi Justinc87, Awesome! We really appreciate you being a loyal customer and helping to share the word about us. Thank you for the 5-star rating! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the design and overall features of your new STR-DN1080.

You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you for sharing your feedback! -Sam

0

Great sound quality for home cinema and stereo too

STR-DN1080 13/10/2020 by Galadier (USA)

I would have like to buy an amplifier, that has builtnin chromecast and also has good sound quality in stereo listenning. (We use 80% in stereo mode and 20% in cinema mode). However there is no built in internet radio and Deezer, but not needed, because there can be useable within chromecast and bluetooth as well from mobile phone. The competitor amplifiers have these apps with joking usability, so I do not miss them at all. The sound optimizer is feelable to vol.12 and it is enough to listen the silent music with well enjoyable sound quality without disturbing the neighbours. If you buy good cables and/or source it is remarkable on the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/10/2020

Hi Galadier, That's great! Thank you for purchasing the Sony STRDN1080. We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying the sound quality of the unit. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Great AV Receiver

STRDN1080 10/10/2020 by CDicus (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just spent the morning marking and sizing all the speaker cables, video cables, etc. Connected everything based on the Manual. Watched a couple good You Tube videos on how to program this unit. Spent about an hour programming. And everything sounded and looked great the first time I tested a Dolby Surround Movie! Next I’m purchasing the Sony 4K 65’ model 950H Smart TV w/ HDMI eARC!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2020

Hi CDicus,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

Great Home Theater Receiver

STRDN1080 07/10/2020 by ljstartrek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver 6 months ago and it has provided me with satisfaction in its performance and versatility.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2020

Hi ljstartrek, Congratulations on your new STRDN1080. Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Music Sound Quaility

STR-DN1080 30/09/2020 by JohnD74 (USA)

The surround sound for a movie is good, but the power for music is very low. The 165 watts per channel seams like 50 watts per channel. The power efficiency out ways the sound quality.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2020

Hi JohnD74, While we're glad to hear you like the surround sound feature when watching your favorite movies, we regret to know you're having some sound quality issues with the unit. This is usually not the case for our home receivers nor the experience we want you to have.

To ensure you're getting the best audio experience, please follow the steps below:

-Check that all connecting cables are inserted to their input/output jacks on the receiver, speakers, and the devices.
-Check that MASTER VOLUME on the receiver is not set to “VOL MIN”.
-Check that the speaker settings are appropriate by using the following settings:
Perform Auto Calibration in [Easy Setup] from the home menu.
Press AMP MENU, then select “” - “PATTERN” on the display panel.
-Then check that sound is output from each speaker correctly by pressing the AMP MENU and selecting “” - “T. TONE” on the display panel.
-Be sure to select the optimal sound field for the content. For details on the sound fields, see “Selectable sound fields and their effects.” using the Help Guide.

Regards,
Sam

0

Top Notch

STR-DN1080 21/09/2020 by Nas41 (USA)

Hi normally I don’t have time to write reviews but this one is an exception. I’m an avid fan of Sony all my products for entertainment is from Sony. Brought this Amp to upgrade my old Sony Amp and I’m very impressed with the fuller sound that you get. I’m using 7 speakers and 2 Subs tried the conventional setup 7.1 for a few months and it don’t disappoint. Whole reason for this amp is the Atoms and DTS X now my setup is just that. No need to crank the volume up no more than 25 is just too loud smiles all the way for night time 15 on the master volume is enough to feel the cinematic soundtrack. Got all my devices plugged in and room for more still. The only 2 issues I have had is that when you turn the amp on and you select a input it doesn’t register the input signal so at times I have to rest the device (not the amp) then the signal is detected. Lastly when I turn the amp on for the 1st time any day I experience a popping noise from the speakers front left and right. All my cables are new including speakers can’t seem to fix but it’s a minor. Would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2020

Hi Nas41,

Thank you for reaching out to us! Your feedback about input selection and speaker setup is greatly appreciated. This will surely help us improve the quality and performance of our products. Thanks for sharing your review.

Regards,
David

0

Easy to set up

STRDN1080 21/09/2020 by Huskeratheart (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago after a lightening strike fried the other receiver. Glad we did we now have true HDR and 4K Television on our Sony TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2020

Hi Huskeratheart,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Regards,
David

0

FAILURE TO LAUNCH

STRDN1080 11/09/2020 by UBERPOP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WANTED ATMOS EXPERIENCE, NEW A/V, NEW BLU RAY, NEW SPEAKERS. $1600.00 WORTH OF PAPERWEIGHTS

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2020

Hi UBERPOP, we're sorry to hear this. We would like to know more about the issue so we can better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Amazing Receiver

STR-DN1080 11/09/2020 by Kydraiden (USA)

I Bought this about a month ago and I'm glad I did!! The Auto Cal is a amazing feature and it didn't disappoint. The Dolby Atmos is amazing. Everything is easy to navigate. Recommend for sure if your looking to move from Soundbar to your first Receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2020

Hi Kydraiden, good to know that you like the auto calibration, Atmos support, and user-friendly functions of the receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great sound

STR-DN1080 09/09/2020 by Ants777 (United Kingdom)

Sound quality is superb. Options are great although I did expect a lot more options for music there only flaw is three chromecast cuts out every now and then but I use bluetooth for music anyway

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

easy setup

STRDN1080 06/09/2020 by kents (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

very happy with sound / easy setup have always liked quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2020

Hi kents,

Thank you for the 5-star rating! Its good to know that you're happy with your strdn1080 and it is living up to your expectations. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

TIDAL no longer works!

STR-DN1080 05/09/2020 by jasonfr1974 (USA)

Tidal no longer works with this unit due to Sony not updating in Chromecast Built-In software provided by Google. If you're looking to use this with Chromecast Audio, forget it. Sony doesn't update it so it will continue to work with current Chromecast Audio apps.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2020

Hi jasonfr1974,

Your feedback about the Chromecast is greatly appreciated. We will surely take note of this feedback as it helps us improve our products/services.  Thanks for sharing your review.

Regards,
David

0

AAA+++ BEST SONY I HAVE BOUGHT IN 30 YEARS!!!

STRDN1080 03/09/2020 by Deke1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have alway bought SONY for 30 years and I love the STR-DN1080. I am sure I will find something I may be unhappy with but me at being 73 yrs. Old, it's ok.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2020

Hi Deke1, That's great! We really appreciate you being a loyal customer and helping to share the word about us. Good to know you love your new STR-DN1080. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for trusting Sony! -Sam

0

Decent performance, easy set up

STRDN1080 02/09/2020 by Marty H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit to replace a much heavier, much larger unit made by a competitor that died. The Sony unit is about half the weight, very easy to set up, much less complicated to operate and good at what it does. Using a Sony 4k Blu Ray player and a Sony Bravia TV makes it all work together nicely. The unit is responds slowly to menu items which is annoying. Overall the sound is pretty good - it plays SACD format well and that's what I really needed. But sadly, there are some Blu Ray disks (Lord of the Rings) that just cause problems such as severe breakup and distortion. That's using the HD Master audio channel. My old receiver didn't have that problem with the Klipsch surround sound 7.1 set I use. I do wish this unit had some nice optional audio enhancements such as adapting to different concert halls, etc. In the meantime, this will do.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2020

Hi Marty H,

Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too!

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Powerfully sound

STR-DN1080 24/08/2020 by Blesse (USA)

I brought it but i steel don't know how to operate it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

Hi Blesse,

Thank you for reaching out to us! We encourage you to make use of our many online resources to help with questions regarding your str-dn1080.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support (Sony Support website)
https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/support-contact?language=en_US (Chat support)

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Absolutely Fantastic !!!

STR-DN1080 21/08/2020 by MJJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

I owe this amazing receiver for over 6 month by now and can tell you that it's brilliant. The design, the sound quality, video processing and 4K pass through - all great! Dolby Atmos works like a dream too. Powerful, crystal clear full of depth sound, great bass, well what else you need??? I watch most of my content with Dolby Atmos on 4K ULTRA HD Blu-Ray Discs. All connected with my Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-Ray player & Sony 65" TV KD-65XF9005. Would be very happy to upgrade to a new model Sony UBP-X800M2 and benefit from Full HDR & Dolby Vision, but for the time been I'm pretty happy with what I've got. Sony is great again and multiple awards for this product just confirms that! Buy with confidence, you won't be disappointed!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Does everything I need and more

STR-DN1080 30/07/2020 by spokeshave33 (United Kingdom)

Lived up to all expectations from the research I did

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features

STRDN1080 29/07/2020 by kkevic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is wonderful. It was easy to hook up. Everything is labeled in the rear for easy hookup. The on screen feature are great and it make it easy to move from playing movies to watch tv, bluetooth and much more. The sound out put is great. I would recommend this receiver

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2020

Hi kkevic, we're glad you like our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Clean Clear Sound, Bought Two

STR-DN1080 27/07/2020 by kens121 (USA)

I bought an STR-DN1080 to replace my old Sony DS4ES. I was skeptical because the DS weighs much more than the 1080. Then I hooked it up and the audio is so good I bought a second one for my work shop.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2020

Hi kens121,

Wow! We can’t thank you enough for purchasing two! You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! Thank you for upgrading to Sony!

Regards,
David

0

easy setup

STRDN1080 06/07/2020 by john1000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality product with all options i was looking for

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2020

Hi john1000,

Thank you for the 5-star rating! We are so pleased that strdn1080 suits your needs. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

A great amp with no distortion, sounds great

STRDN1080 03/07/2020 by Billy0007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really happy that I purchased this Sony Amplifier

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2020

Hi Billy0007, Wow! We're very pleased to hear you like the sound quality of your STR-DN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Worthless and Worthless support

STR-DN1080 27/06/2020 by Ryan4 (USA)

This is my 2nd receiver I have bought the 1040 and the 1080. I had the same issue happen on both rendering them useless. Sony refused to offer any support. Looks like it's a common problem. https://community.sony.co.uk/t5/home-cinema-projectors-players/str-dn1040-home-menu-gui-not-working/td-p/2384375 https://us.community.sony.com/s/question/0D50B00004IL1fRSAT/strdn1040-broken-home-menu-yellow-boxes?language=en_US Denon will get my money from now on.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/07/2020

Hello Ryan4,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your AV receiver. This is not the experience we want you to have. Please allow us to help you and turn this into a better experience. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,
David

0

Amazing

STRDN1080 25/06/2020 by nye34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago and got it working today. Everything is very easy to hook up and the features are amazing. It money well spent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/07/2020

Hi nye34,


Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi® Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven- channel system too! Thank you for choosing Sony and have a nice day!

Regards,
David

0

Very disappointed in receiver!

STRDN1080 10/06/2020 by None67 (USA)

Receiver is overly complex to operate! Example: Rafio presets took 4 seperate steps to set stations, then, can not be accessed without turning TV on and viewing presets. Bluetooth requires resetting source when used, as it resets itself when turned off. "Zone 2", where separate speakers can be set up in remote location, does NOT TURN OFF when turning off amp! Requires going to set up and at least 4 more steps to turn it off! Never did get cable box video to react TV through receiver. Had to bypass receiver with RBG cables to view picture. Instruction book lacks info on radio and bluetooth. Have to PAY EXTRA for those written instructions! I'll NEVER buy SONY again!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/06/2020

Hi None67,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your AV receiver. This is not the experience we want you to have. We would love to provide assistance in getting the settings on your receiver setup to your liking. Please feel free to reach out to us for assistance by reaching out to socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
David

0

Receiver overly complex to operate

STR-DN1080 10/06/2020 by None67 (USA)

Receiver is overly complex to operate! Example: Rafio presets took 4 seperate steps to set stations, then, can not be accessed without turning TV on and viewing presets. Bluetooth requires resetting source when used, as it resets itself when turned off. "Zone 2", where separate speakers can be set up in remote location, does NOT TURN OFF when turning off amp! Requires going to set up and at least 4 more steps to turn it off! Never did get cable box video to react TV through receiver. Had to bypass receiver with RBG cables to view picture. Instruction book lacks info on radio and bluetooth. Have to PAY EXTRA for those written instructions! I'll NEVER buy SONY again!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

HDMI Arc (Audio) Problem

STRDN1080 04/06/2020 by Rafiki43 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The receiver does not receive audio when connected to the TV HDMI Arc input. The software update did not fix the issue. The LG 65B7A I own was completely reinitialized and set up again to see if that would solve the problem. 8K HDMI cables were also purchased. The receiver was than exchanged (Best Buy) with another unit to hopefully fix the problem. Again, No luck! I set up everything according to both LG and Sony's service manual. I have resorted to using the optical cable until a fix is possible. This is obviously a software issue that Sony needs to resolve. Note: I noticed the receiver input setting for the TV mode is locked in OPT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi Rafiki43, We regret to hear about this and apologize for the poor experience that you are having. Have you tried connecting another device to the TV that supports the ARC function to check that the TV is properly sending the audio signal from TV’s HDMI ARC input down to the receiver? If not, please do so to check and make sure that the TV is properly sending an audio signal through ARC input of the TV. If you can confirm that the TV is in fact sending audio through the ARC input to your device, then please proceed to reach out to us so that we can provide additional assistance. You can contact us by emailing socialsupport@am.sony.com. In the email, please be sure to include the following.

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Working GREAT!!

STRDN1080 03/06/2020 by myjunk32625 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Working GREAT!! Audio instrument and voice separation is Awesome! Works hand and hand with the Raspberry Pie Server in all modes of access. Aaron thank you for your assistance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi myjunk32625, Wow! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your STR-DN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! -Sam

0

Arc does not work well. Modes change randomly

STR-DN1080 31/05/2020 by Dissatisfied STR dn1080 b (USA)

I have owned this for 2-3 years. I will not trust Sony again. Arc does not work on my arc comparable tv.. it worked for a short while then quite. Sony does not provide adequate support to troubleshoot. The support they do have does not address the problem. In addition, when it did work the hdmi mode switched away from the desired selection randomly. $500.00 dollars for a media center that does not deliver it's promise.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/06/2020

Hi Dissatisfied STR dn1080 b, We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Let's try to isolate the issue by following the troubleshooting steps on the link below. Thanks!

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00191214


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Outstanding audio!

STRDN1080 31/05/2020 by Dan133 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve only had this for about six hours now and haven’t used all the features yet. It was easy to set up and I watched a couple movies with Dolby Atmos. It may have very well been my most enjoyable time watching movies at home. The audio was unbelievable! I’m surprised I didn’t get any complaints from my neighbors, though. It was money well spent. I hope to get years of enjoyment from this AV receiver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2020

Hi, Dan133, We are glad you are happy with your Receiver! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Easy

STRDN1080 15/05/2020 by Kb9srh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product. Looks good and easy to set up. Sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Kb9srh, Thanks for sharing your experience so far with your new STRDN1080 7.2 ch. Dolby Atmos Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver. You’re now able to experience true home theater sound without limitations. Once you take advantage of Dolby Atmos and DTS:X object-based surround sound, combined with 4K HDR and HDCP 2.2 support, there is no going back! Be sure to take advantage of the flexibility of 6- in/2-out HDMI and multi-room listening, plus voice control powered by Google Home. Don’t forget our Phantom rear surround channels can transform your five-channel system into a seven-channel system too! -Sam

0

Another Great Device from Sony

STRDN1080 09/05/2020 by LeoMV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Device has many distinctive features and sync with ProCinema 6D Speaker System i bought and the Bravaria TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi LeoMV, we're glad you like our product. The STR-DN1080 also supports DTS:X and Dolby Atmos so you can experience lifelike audio delivers breathtaking realism with 360° surround sound, accurately positioning sound within your environment so that the 7.1.2 speaker channels (including Phantom Surround Back) completely envelop you in sound—even from above. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Blown away by the huge sound improvement

STR-DN1080 23/04/2020 by Nasimul40 (United Kingdom)

I’m an avid Sony customer have two LCDs Blu-ray PS4 and an str de-497, just upgraded to this much talked about DN 1080 and it’s exactly as it says on the tin. The sound is much fuller compared to my previous amp loving all the streaming services perfect for my 7.2 set up works a treat with Cambridge Audio minx 22 plus 201 sub

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Total piece of Garbage

STR-DN1080 17/04/2020 by Supergrimm (USA)

Failed a second time, this one just out of warranty. Totally bricked and unusable. No support from Sony. Absolute joke for the $.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/04/2020

Hi Supergrimm, We regret to hear about this. We would like to know more about your concern so we can better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Shuts off

STRDN1080 12/04/2020 by Reggie 65 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This model does not function as well as the previous model! It shuts off during movies and while playing music! I'm in the process of sending it back! I'm not happy!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/04/2020

Hi Reggie, We regret to hear that your STR-DN1080 shuts off by itself during movie and music playback. To resolve this issue, please follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00032091


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Good sound but no individual control of subwoofer

STR-DN1080 09/04/2020 by SportyPete (United Kingdom)

As a system is good to get running. I would like more individual control over the subwoofer. I'm also connected to a Sony Smart TV and I can't listen to YouTube videos through the STR-DN1080. I can only listen through TV speakers

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Great features

STRDN1080 31/03/2020 by Sprinman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month and love it and enjoy the features way to go

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2020

Hi Sprinman, we're glad you love our product. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Awesome features, easy to use.

STRDN1080 14/03/2020 by glmaedl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got the Sony STR-DN1080 about 3 weeks ago, and we are loving it! In contrast to our old receiver, this Sony is very easy to set up and operate. The extensive features are simple to manage and understand, and it works perfectly with our other Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/03/2020

Hi glmaedl, Awesome! We're glad you love your AV Receiver. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Seamless Chromecast but has atmos issues

STR-DN1080 27/02/2020 by Reeces pieces (USA)

sound and integration with google cast is great! had all the features I wanted but... Issues: sound cuts and intermittent speaker popping when streaming from my 950g tv connected via earc with an ultra high speed hdmi cable. specifically when streaming dolby atmos content. I have a 5.1.2 set up and have changed HDMI cables, multiple resets, connecting reciver and tv to LAN and over wifi (connected over fiber with 1gb network speed), I even changed all speaker wire to a larger gauge this was not fun due to all speakers being in-wall in-ceiling. none of the steps I have taken fixed my issue. hopefully an update will happen or I will need to change my AV to a different brand

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/02/2020

Hi Reeces,

We're glad you like our product. I understand that your str-dn1080 is having issues with the sound cutting out. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00027755

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SONY store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Great receiver

STRDN1080 12/02/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great receiver, I'm so glad I made this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2020

Hey Paul,

That's awesome! We're more than happy to hear you're satisfied with our 7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver. Thank you so much for commending Sony!

Regards,

Romeo

0

HDMI Issues

STR-DN1080 09/02/2020 by Grizly87 (USA)

I bought this is 2018 and initially it sounded good. After 2 weeks audio kept cutting in and out on the HDMI to TV. Ended up putting it in the basement and bought a different receiver.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi Grizly87,

We regret to hear about what happened. To isolate the issue, please try these troubleshooting steps:

1.Power Reset:
-Turn off the Receiver.
-Unplug the power cable from the wall outlet.
-After one minute, replug the power cable back to the wall outlet.
-Turn on the Receiver.

2. Disconnect and reconnect the HDMI cable of the Receiver to your TV.
3. Replace the current cable connection of your Receiver with another HDMI cable or optical digital cable.
4. Try playing from a different source/input.
5. Perform a factory reset.
-Please refer to this link for the steps:
https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221267.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Difficult Set-up

STRDN1080 06/02/2020 by zdkb02 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was a bit of a pain to set up. No hard copy instructions provided. Downloaded PDF from web but to scroll through the 70+ pages a pain to find the right section. Had issues with setting up a simple 5.1 speaker system that were mounted ceiling. It kept pushing me to a different setting and then said I was missing 2 speakers. Finally got to the right place by accident. Needed to be at 5.1 with a ---. Then everything worked. Then could go to Audio Settings and say these are ceiling mounted speakers. The remote center Select button is a little small and not raised up high enough from the 4 arrow buttons. Had issues with it too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hello zdkb02,

We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We will pass along your concerns to our design team on the improvement of our product.

You can always email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com in any case you need assistance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Romeo

0

a great replacement for my STR DN1000

STRDN1080 30/01/2020 by DangerousDirk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking to replace my 10 year old STR DN1000 receiver, which had served me well over the years. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews and I have found that there was a lot of positive feedback on this DN1080. I got it a few days ago, and it was easy to setup. I really like that I can connect to wifi with it, and also to my phone so I can play music over my home theater speakers. This has plenty of HDMI slots which is nice, because I was maxed out at 4 on my DN1000 and I have a lot of stuff (apple tv, ps4, xbox one, xbox 360) so it's nice to have room for other items. I have a 5.1 surround system and this DN1080 utilizes it beautifully from what I've seen thus far. I am planning on upgrading my front speakers to something with built in atmos speakers to get the full use out of what this receiver can do. I didn't even knock off a star for this, because I don't really use it because I have a universal remote, but the included remote just felt cheap, and Sony usually has decent remotes. again, I didn't buy this thing for the remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/01/2020

Hi, DangerousDirk!


Thank you for your feedback on the STR-DN1080 7.2ch Home Theater AV Receiver. We are happy you are enjoying the unit. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Amazing Piece of equipment

STR-DN1080 29/01/2020 by SweatyPalms (USA)

The guys at Best Buy tried to talk me into a Denon. I've been using Sony A/V receivers for as long as I can remember. I'm happy I stuck with Sony on this one. The sound is incredible and the on-screen user interface is excellent. My home theater now has Atmos and it sounds amazing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
30/01/2020

Hello, SweatyPalms!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Audio/Video cuts out

STRDN1080 28/01/2020 by Fred 5564 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this STR-DN1080 receiver since October 2017 and am only now writing a review. This receiver is connected to a Sony Bravia TV XBR75X850E and an Xbox1 via a HDMI cables. Speakers are a Bose/Klipsch combo. This receiver is great... when it works. It has an issue where audio and video will cut in and out after switching to SAT/CATV from Game (Xbox1). The *only* way to resolve the cutting in/out is to simply turn the entire system, TV and receiver, off and turn back on. I've tried swapping out all HDMI cables and ensured the receiver and TV have the latest firmware. I read reviews of others with similar issues as mine but saw no viable solutions provided by Sony. This is annoying of course and there is no reason to have paid this amount of money to have this type of issue persist for years. It is because of this scenario with this receiver that I now scour the internet for user reviews for anything I plan to buy... placing blind loyalty in a brand is a recipe for being duped into purchasing sub-par components.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/01/2020

Hello, Fred 5564!

I sincerely regret to hear about your experience with our product. Let's try to isolate and fix the issue by performing some troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-components-receivers-amplifiers/str-dn1080/articles/00044401

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Annoying Sleep Timer. Great sound!

STR-DN1080 25/01/2020 by Steve305 (USA)

I purchased this December 16, 2019 and it’s already giving problems. The one minute sleep timer kicks in after 40 minutes of use. Never turned or activated it. Comes on every day after it is initially turned on. Annoying! The plus is it sounds great. But can’t get pass the annoying sleep timer. Hence only 3 stars. Sony quality control???

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/01/2020

Hi, Steve305!

Thank you for reaching us! If the receiver is turned off automatically the sleep timer function will automatically activate. To turn off the sleep timer function, check this link below.

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221326.html?search=sleep

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 

Sincerely,
David

0

Decent 5.1 receiver, but not a true 7.1.2 AV AMP

STR-DN1080 08/01/2020 by rabidsquirrel (USA)

I bought this believing the 7.1.2 verbiage on the descriptions. This amp doesn't do it. It is a 5.1.2 receiver that simulates a 7.1.2 sound field via audio processing. Sony, please market and describe these units as such. I didn't have as much time to research this amp prior to purchasing it. I feel that the descriptions of the unit I read (Sony and external media reviewers) mislead me into believing this receiver could support a 7.1.2 speaker configuration (Providing power to 8 theater speakers - 8 discreet amplifiers, plus outputs for 2 active subwoofers). Now I have to figure out if I can power the two additional surround speakers with a seperate component amp in a way that effectively incorporates them in the dolby atmos sound field processed by this receiver... I think it is fair to say that I feel a bit suckered by that. BestBuy was offering a killer discount for this receiver over the holiday and I had a BestBuy giftcard burning a hole in my pocket at the time of purchase, so I made a somewhat impulsive purchasing decision while I was buying a new TV. Source switching (HDMI) could be smoother/better/faster, but it's not a mood killer for me. Not sure if this is more of a software issue, switching HW or some combo of the two. All these issues aside, it does sound great in 5.1.1 (Adding a second sub soon) with quality 6 ohm speakers (Using a combination of Dayton Audio AMT towers and AMT bookshelf speakers at present). It's a nice amp overall, and when it's on-sale, a great value for a 5.1.2 receiver. Unfortunately my latest Sony product experience with this receiver was degraded a bit by misleading specs, descriptions and reviews labeling it as a 7.1.2 integrated receiver. I'm not even sure if it will actually process the 7 (I.e. 7.1.2) channels correctly if I do happen to add a dedicated amp for the 2 additional channes to make my 7.1.2 speaker config work correctly. Not looking forward to figuring that out, Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

6

0

Excellent sound

STRDN1080 07/01/2020 by DonaldoO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is amazing, great features easy to install highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Couldn't get audio & video to play at a same time

STRDN1080 06/01/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this model on Dec. 27th, 2019 to replace my Pioneer outdated A/V receiver. Connected the wiring to my projector then faced the problem of not able to play video and audio in the same time. I was only able to display video with no audio, or audio with no video regardless of whatever configurations I did on the Settings input channels.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2020

Hi, Nabeel Hendow!

We regret to hear about what happened. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent sound and power!

STRDN1080 05/01/2020 by Naughty (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So glad I bought this Reciever, and got a smoking Black Friday deal!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Sound

STRDN1080 03/01/2020 by Robert77777 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Sound, calibration was easy and I can sit in the sweet spot. Only problem is that it shuts down unexpectedly for protection error. Need a better explanation of why it is shutting down and a solution to solving the protection error. Also the speaker's connections took lots of time to connect. Need to be able to rename the imputs like the FM Stations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Two years, two months after purchase IT FAILED

STRDN1080 01/01/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upset, moving to another manufacture for electronic equipment. If a high end receiver cannot make it past the two year warranty only to fail a month or two after it means it is time to move to Onyx, Dennon or another.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/01/2020

Hi, there!

We regret to hear about what happened. We would like to know more about this issue and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

The amp failed to connect to any of the components

STR-DN1080 01/01/2020 by Gus2020 (USA)

I bought the srt dn 1080 in June 2019 by October 2019 it had failed to connect to anything. Sony's website gave steps to reset the amp. I followed it.. since October... now is Jan 1 2020 the amp has remained in "clearing" mode. Sony knows about this problem with this amp but has not acknowledged it. This is very poor service. Now I have worthless plastic solder and aluminium instead of an amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/01/2020

Hi, Gus2020! We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We value your feedback and we will surely take note of this for the betterment of our products. You may have it serviced by visiting our eservice website at https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US.

~Ralph

0

Great Features!

STRDN1080 30/12/2019 by George15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver a month ago and so glad I did. Sounds great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good quality AV receiver

STR-DN1080 21/12/2019 by KTO_UK (United Kingdom)

Bought this with some Q accoustics speakers. Excellent sound quality and design, very easy to use and set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

extremely annoying flaws

STR-DN1080 17/12/2019 by JP19 (USA)

**Why wasn't this published? I received an email confirming it was approved, however I can't find it on the page. Resubmitting again.** This receiver turns itself and the TV back on roughly 10-20 seconds after you turn it off every single time, requiring you to repeat the process. Also, after changing inputs on the remote, the receiver switches you to the home screen, so you have to select your input again. After a few weeks, these bugs will combine to drive you insane. Did some investigating, and it looks like it is due to the HDMI control (CEC) not playing well with my Samsung TV. Sony Support suggestions: 1) Turn off Control for HDMI (CEC). -Ok this fixes the issue above, but now using the receiver with Netflix is a huge hassle, and I have to use separate remotes for the volume and powering on/off the devices. You're just switching problems 2) Get a Bravia TV 3) Talk to Samsung about it Obviously these suggestions are not helpful. The sound is fine, but I could have gotten a cheaper one, with more channels, that doesn't make me want to throw it through the window. Ultimately I was able to solve the first issue with a universal remote, but the home screen issue is still present. This is just terrible UX design. It's hard to believe Sony couldn't fix this with a firmware update (other receiver brands don't seem to have these issues) however they prefer to simply blame the TV manufacturer. Unacceptable, and will make me shy away from future Sony purchases.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/12/2019

Hi, JP19!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please try following the steps on the Help Guide below to isolate the issue.

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/index.html


If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Ease of use/great for gaming/watching tv/movies.

STR-DN1080 13/12/2019 by Al56 (United Kingdom)

4 months in and the str-1080 keeps on impressing me. For the price it was well worth the investment to future proof myself for Atmos (sky Q/amazon prime/uhd bluray). Sounds are warm and enveloping through wharfedale diamonds, especially strings/piano. Really intuite setup. Literally set and forget. Make sure you use a 4K HDMI cable from amp to tv (at least).Really happy with purchase. The remote could be a little weightier, though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Built-In chromecast stopped working

STR-DN1080 12/12/2019  (USA)

I replaced my old trusty DN850 for this, and I was really happy with it in the beginning. Great features, a lot of power, and a very good price point. However, a couple a months casting with the built-in Chromecast stopped working, due to obsolete firmware, and Sony has yet to roll out a new firmware. It's not a specific issue to my unit either. Part of the reason I bought this was so that I could stream lossless music to Tidal, and this isn't possible anymore. Kind of regret selling my DN850 now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/12/2019

Hi, Erik Landström! Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~Ralph

0

Returned it for a Denon model.

STRDN1080 08/12/2019 by Johnny005 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really wanted to fall in love with this AVR unit. Playing music on it sounds great, and the GUI for setup is a nice touch. But there where just too many little quirks and issues with it. Too many to list here. Long story short, I returned and got a Denon model in the same price range that is a flawless unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/12/2019

Hello, Johnny005!

We're sorry to hear that our product did not meet your expectations. We will surely take note of this as we value your opinion. Thank you so much for your time in sharing this feedback.

Regards,

Romeo

0

Outstanding Sound Quality!!!

STRDN1080 06/12/2019 by The FISHnFoolSound guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased this unit STR-DN1080 three days ago, after 11 years with my last Sony Receiver STR-DH700 it was time to update! I went with this unit because of the power and for all the different features that this unit offered and for the ease and simplicity it has and was to set up and I am Very Pleased with my decision to go with this receiver STR-DN1080, The sound quality is OUTSTANDING and the clarity and quality of the sound are just AMAZING The DOLBY ATMOS is INCREDIBLE the lows and highs are so clear and defined and the bass seems to come from the where the action is on the screen when you are watching a 4K movie the surround sound is just OUTSTANDING!!!!! A+++++

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Kind of disappointing

STR-DN1080 03/12/2019 by RFMI (USA)

Bought it to replace an older Sony product that failed after a good long service life. Besides more power I expected better sound quality, which I haven't found yet. Audio tone or EQ as they refer to it is woefully under impressive. Bass & treble ONLY for front,center & surround but no control of the sub woofer, which I have all the way up but still can barely hear. I had better sound & more control from the old unit which had half the power. Everything sounds compressed - can't get enough bass even with a SW - depressing for the $$ I spent. You can now control settings from the TV or the unit but unfortunately some things you can only set from the screen so you almost have to have the screen on to just play the radio. Also doesn't handle analog video very well - can only play analog video through the monitor out but you can only change setting through the HDMI out. should be a better way. Instructions are also weak as they don't clearly point out what I just said, plus for most of the manual you have to go online.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/12/2019

Hello, RFMI!

We're sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve the quality and performance of our products.

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Finding the product serial number

STRDN1080 18/11/2019 by Chico5757 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Serial number not easy to read once set up. It should be displayed on the box also

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hello, Chico5757! We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve our products and services. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. - Romeo

0

not reliable

STR-DN1080 17/11/2019 by mikeh56 (USA)

mine had hdmi output trouble after 12 months , sound was good before repair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hi, mikeh56!

We're sorry to hear about this. To isolate the issue, can you tell us which HDMI input port are you having trouble with? And to troubleshoot the resolve the issue, please try to use a different HDMI cable or connect a different device on the faulty HDMI port. If performing these steps didn't resolve the issue, please reset the unit to its factory default settings.

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221267.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Multiple feature

STR-DN1080 14/11/2019 by Steve 0106 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to hdmi passthrough on this amp but can be a little complicated getting everything to work as it should..... menu scrolling via remote is slow and temperamental but sound is good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Good sound

STR-DN1080 01/11/2019 by Plymouh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this reciever to replace an old Denon model,this is a great improvement due to the fact that the 1080 has dolby surround,replacing pro logic II. However,there is one minor gripe that i have and that is when i switch on my tv or HD recorder,everything else switches on ok, but after a short time the 1080 goes into the home page which then i have to select what i want to watch when i already had what i wanted to watch,just a minor gripe i know,but i am happy with the sound and features otherwise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Audio

STR-DN1080 30/10/2019 by eggyiek (USA)

i bought this 10 months ago. i now have a problem with not passing audio to my Sony TV. I will have to switch off the power & turn on again for it to pass. Also sometimes the volume display on the bottom left of the screen show a black rectangle, have to unplug & plug and inn again to work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hello, eggyiek!

We're sorry to hear about what happened. Please try following the troubleshooting steps below to isolate the issue:

1. Make sure both the TV and other devices are turned on.
2. While turned on, unplug the power cords for the TV and device from the electrical outlet.
3. Disconnect the HDMI cables from the TV and other products.
4. Wait 60 seconds.
5. While the HDMI cables are disconnected, plug the power cords back into the electrical outlet.
6. Turn on the TV.
7. Re-connect the HDMI cables.
8. Turn on the HDMI-connected product.

The TV should now detect the HDMI signal from the connected device and operate normally. If there is still a problem, disconnect the HDMI cable from both products and then reconnect it in the opposite direction. In some situations, this has been reported to resolve connection issues.

On this site, we can assist customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Romeo

0

Excellent Sony product

STRDN1080 23/10/2019 by etjsd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this close to 2 months ago, and it is everything I was hoping it would be. This receive, to me is one great product. To buy this receiver you will not be unhappy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, etjsd!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with your new receiver. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Hard to beat a Sony for performance and price!

STRDN1080 17/10/2019 by GMan46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replacement for my DN1030 receiver. Great surround sound effect. Simpler to set up than my old Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/10/2019

Hi, GMan46!

We're glad to hear that you liked the product. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Breadth of speaker positioning

STRDN1080 11/10/2019 by Ronko (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed some initial help configuring Bluetooth and wireless speakers and SONY Tech Support was terrific!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/10/2019

Hi, Ronko!

We're glad to know that we could be of help to you. Thank you for sharing this awesome feedback!

Regards,
Sam

0

Transparent sound and confusing interface

STR-DN1080 02/10/2019 by mirrormurr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a week weighing back and forth, I decided to keep the DN1080, despite the fact that the interface is both slow and confusing, and there seem to be some HDMI-handshake issues plus some sync-problems mainly while it offers a clear and spacious sound, and fits our living-room good for both classical listening and movie-nights. Additionally, the possibility to connect via bluetooth (both ways) and the in-build chromecast functions are a bonus in connectivity. Only drawback is that Spotify-in-build has to be use with a premium-account.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Protector error when palying UHD discs

STRDN1080 24/09/2019 by JaL3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All worked fine until for about a month ago when it errored out during John Wick 3 and then again when watching X-Men: Dark Phoenix. Still works great when watching TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2019

Hi, JaL3!

Thanks for the feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you for supporting Sony!

Regards,
David