253

4.3 based on 253 customer reviews

157
51
16
15
14
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Receiver

STR-DN1080 03/07/2017 by Mark g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Have had this receiver for over four weeks and it is fantastick. Set up was essey and once I had connected the speakers and all my inputs i.e. Sony 4K blu ray player, an old Sony DVD recorder, a PS4 and a Sky HD box I ran the auto callabration then sat back and just enjoyed the sound from this receiver. The soud is just great from any of the inputs. so far musicly i have only played CDs and they sound great too. I would highly recomend this receiver to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unreliable and Slow

STR-DN1080 26/10/2018 by Matthewl0799 (USA)

I bought this new from Crutchfield in November 2017. I'm sending it to United Radio for it's second warranty repair in October 2018. The first time was because I kept loosing audio from all the HDMI inputs. Got the unit back and it worked for a few weeks. The second time is because it's now loosing the video from all the HDMI inputs. It also displays a strip of static (for lack of a better term) across the bottom of the TV screen whenever I use the remote control volume. The unit is extremely slow to respond to inputs, power up, and change channels. The FM channel scan is the slowest I've ever seen in my life. Why do I have a 20 year old Sony receiver that is literally 50 times faster? The only positive for this unit is the sound quality. It really brought my speakers alive with power, punch, and depth to movies and music. But what good is that if it never works or is always out for repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

265 Customer Reviews

0

Outstanding Sound Quality!!!

STRDN1080 06/12/2019 by The FISHnFoolSound guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just purchased this unit STR-DN1080 three days ago, after 11 years with my last Sony Receiver STR-DH700 it was time to update! I went with this unit because of the power and for all the different features that this unit offered and for the ease and simplicity it has and was to set up and I am Very Pleased with my decision to go with this receiver STR-DN1080, The sound quality is OUTSTANDING and the clarity and quality of the sound are just AMAZING The DOLBY ATMOS is INCREDIBLE the lows and highs are so clear and defined and the bass seems to come from the where the action is on the screen when you are watching a 4K movie the surround sound is just OUTSTANDING!!!!! A+++++

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

extremely annoying flaws

STR-DN1080 05/12/2019 by JP19 (USA)

This receiver turns itself and the TV back on roughly 10-20 seconds after you turn it off every single time, requiring you to repeat the process. Also, after changing inputs on the remote, the receiver switches you to the home screen, so you have to select your input again. After a few weeks, these bugs will combine to drive you insane. Did some investigating, and it looks like it is due to the HDMI control (CEC) not playing well with my Samsung TV. Sony Support suggestions: 1) Turn off Control for HDMI (CEC). -Ok this fixes the issue above, but now using the receiver with Netflix is a huge hassle, and I have to use separate remotes for the volume and powering on/off the devices. You're just switching problems 2) Get a Bravia TV 3) Talk to Samsung about it Obviously these suggestions are not helpful. The sound is fine, but I could have gotten a cheaper one, with more channels, that doesn't make me want to throw it through the window. Ultimately I was able to solve the first issue with a universal remote, but the home screen issue is still present. This is just terrible UX design. It's hard to believe Sony couldn't fix this with a firmware update (other receiver brands don't seem to have these issues) however they prefer to simply blame the TV manufacturer. Unacceptable, and will make me shy away from future Sony purchases.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Kind of disappointing

STR-DN1080 03/12/2019 by RFMI (USA)

Bought it to replace an older Sony product that failed after a good long service life. Besides more power I expected better sound quality, which I haven't found yet. Audio tone or EQ as they refer to it is woefully under impressive. Bass & treble ONLY for front,center & surround but no control of the sub woofer, which I have all the way up but still can barely hear. I had better sound & more control from the old unit which had half the power. Everything sounds compressed - can't get enough bass even with a SW - depressing for the $$ I spent. You can now control settings from the TV or the unit but unfortunately some things you can only set from the screen so you almost have to have the screen on to just play the radio. Also doesn't handle analog video very well - can only play analog video through the monitor out but you can only change setting through the HDMI out. should be a better way. Instructions are also weak as they don't clearly point out what I just said, plus for most of the manual you have to go online.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/12/2019

Hello, RFMI!

We're sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve the quality and performance of our products.

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Finding the product serial number

STRDN1080 18/11/2019 by Chico5757 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Serial number not easy to read once set up. It should be displayed on the box also

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hello, Chico5757! We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve our products and services. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. - Romeo

0

not reliable

STR-DN1080 17/11/2019 by mikeh56 (USA)

mine had hdmi output trouble after 12 months , sound was good before repair

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2019

Hi, mikeh56!

We're sorry to hear about this. To isolate the issue, can you tell us which HDMI input port are you having trouble with? And to troubleshoot the resolve the issue, please try to use a different HDMI cable or connect a different device on the faulty HDMI port. If performing these steps didn't resolve the issue, please reset the unit to its factory default settings.

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strdn108/v1/en/contents/TP0001221267.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Multiple feature

STR-DN1080 14/11/2019 by Steve 0106 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded to hdmi passthrough on this amp but can be a little complicated getting everything to work as it should..... menu scrolling via remote is slow and temperamental but sound is good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good sound

STR-DN1080 01/11/2019 by Plymouh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this reciever to replace an old Denon model,this is a great improvement due to the fact that the 1080 has dolby surround,replacing pro logic II. However,there is one minor gripe that i have and that is when i switch on my tv or HD recorder,everything else switches on ok, but after a short time the 1080 goes into the home page which then i have to select what i want to watch when i already had what i wanted to watch,just a minor gripe i know,but i am happy with the sound and features otherwise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Audio

STR-DN1080 30/10/2019 by eggyiek (USA)

i bought this 10 months ago. i now have a problem with not passing audio to my Sony TV. I will have to switch off the power & turn on again for it to pass. Also sometimes the volume display on the bottom left of the screen show a black rectangle, have to unplug & plug and inn again to work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hello, eggyiek!

We're sorry to hear about what happened. Please try following the troubleshooting steps below to isolate the issue:

1. Make sure both the TV and other devices are turned on.
2. While turned on, unplug the power cords for the TV and device from the electrical outlet.
3. Disconnect the HDMI cables from the TV and other products.
4. Wait 60 seconds.
5. While the HDMI cables are disconnected, plug the power cords back into the electrical outlet.
6. Turn on the TV.
7. Re-connect the HDMI cables.
8. Turn on the HDMI-connected product.

The TV should now detect the HDMI signal from the connected device and operate normally. If there is still a problem, disconnect the HDMI cable from both products and then reconnect it in the opposite direction. In some situations, this has been reported to resolve connection issues.

On this site, we can assist customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Romeo

0

Excellent Sony product

STRDN1080 23/10/2019 by etjsd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this close to 2 months ago, and it is everything I was hoping it would be. This receive, to me is one great product. To buy this receiver you will not be unhappy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, etjsd!

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with your new receiver. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Hard to beat a Sony for performance and price!

STRDN1080 17/10/2019 by GMan46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replacement for my DN1030 receiver. Great surround sound effect. Simpler to set up than my old Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/10/2019

Hi, GMan46!

We're glad to hear that you liked the product. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Breadth of speaker positioning

STRDN1080 11/10/2019 by Ronko (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed some initial help configuring Bluetooth and wireless speakers and SONY Tech Support was terrific!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/10/2019

Hi, Ronko!

We're glad to know that we could be of help to you. Thank you for sharing this awesome feedback!

Regards,
Sam

0

Transparent sound and confusing interface

STR-DN1080 02/10/2019 by mirrormurr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a week weighing back and forth, I decided to keep the DN1080, despite the fact that the interface is both slow and confusing, and there seem to be some HDMI-handshake issues plus some sync-problems mainly while it offers a clear and spacious sound, and fits our living-room good for both classical listening and movie-nights. Additionally, the possibility to connect via bluetooth (both ways) and the in-build chromecast functions are a bonus in connectivity. Only drawback is that Spotify-in-build has to be use with a premium-account.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Protector error when palying UHD discs

STRDN1080 24/09/2019 by JaL3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All worked fine until for about a month ago when it errored out during John Wick 3 and then again when watching X-Men: Dark Phoenix. Still works great when watching TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2019

Hi, JaL3!

Thanks for the feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you for supporting Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Great sound plenty of audio features

STR-DN1080 18/09/2019 by Stephen 72 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my Yamaha receiver that was getting on a bit.Im so glad I did excellent product with lots of great features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not good

STRDN1080 11/09/2019 by SavD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After connecting all speakers, hdmi and network cables, the pictures on all peripherals were washed out and not consistent. Tried resetting numerous times to no avail. Had to return unit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2019

Hi, SavD!

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.

Regards,
David

0

Excellent AV Receiver at a great price

STR-DN1080 09/09/2019 by PACman63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had it 10 days but very pleased with its features and performance. Connected to Sony UBP-X700 UHD Blu-ray and LG OLED TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

STR-DN1080 03/09/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product wonderful all round surrounding sound you feel like your in the theatre

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Read the specs carefully

STR-DN1080 30/08/2019 by Elrey79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decent enough receiver, but not superb. Upscaling requires a 1080p/24 signal else it won't work, therefore what's the point?! So stuff like Sky boxes etc aren't compatible with the upscaling feature. The operating system is painfully slow to respond (just like Sony Android TV's). I had this receiver for a week before returning it and buying a Denon 3500H which is far better all round.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Well specified but frustrating integration with TV

STR-DN1080 30/08/2019 by MusicManBaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A well specified receiver with the latest features and good interface. Frustrated by the unpredictable sound field selection when used with other devices including a Sony TV - may resort to turning off HDMI CEC and letting a Harmony remote take charge. Be aware that the audio input sockets are shared with the relevant HDMI channels.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Fantastic sound and an introduction to Dolby Atmos

STR-DN1080 28/08/2019 by EastAngular (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this amp for over a year now and it continues to impress me with its audio performance. Plenty of inputs for HDMI connections from various devices and support for a 5.1.2 Atmos speaker configuration. Set up is easy, with the supplied mic allowing the amp to balance the speakers automatically, though you have complete manual control if you prefer. My only negative is the menu system, which is surprisingly slow, and the amp itself when you first turn it on can take a few seconds to deliver a picture to your TV. It's a minor grumble but I'd love it if Sony could sort that out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony AV Amp

STR-DN1080 27/08/2019 by March1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value and specification product. hope it lasts as long as every other Sony product I have ever brought. Only tiny down side is as with most amps. Tight space getting all the speaker wires connected.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Ease of set up

STR-DN1080 27/08/2019 by mrb2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product seems to work well though the different settings are quite confusing.I have experienced loud base notes out of the subwoofer which are becoming annoying. I have yet to find a way of adjusting this

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony Home Theater Receiver

STRDN1080 11/08/2019 by White Rabbit 2 (USA)

I bought this receiver about 18 months ago and had it fail. It was still under warranty. I contacted a sony rep and they sent me the information to get it repaired. I am very pleased with the results.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2019

Hi, White Rabbit 2!

We're very glad to know that the issue had been resolved. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

Regards,
Sam

0

Best Receiver

STRDN1080 24/07/2019 by ssdm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought This Receiver Month Ago, Very Happy With Purchace

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive

STR-DN1080 20/07/2019 by Hovitose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the fourth AVR I’ve owned and the second Sony. I replaced a second Denon that I had. I’d read many positive reviews and decided to get one. It’s a powerful and capable AVR. The sound I’m getting is superb. Fills the room when watching movies. Most importantly for me is the sound quality when streaming music. My sources are either Apple Music or Tidal. The latter because of MQA quality. I’m extremely satisfied. And, ease of use is a significant factor. That is, the settings are straight forward and it was a breeze to set up initially. Choosing different sound settings is also easy. It does what you need it to do, simply and efficiently. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic abilities

STRDN1080 01/07/2019 by Charger212 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace a Sony home theater receiver that I have had for 25 years. It finally developed a problem with one of the channels, which I might add I’m going to get fixed. I loved the old one and I didn’t think they could improve on it but I was totally wrong, the new one is fantastic also and has many new things I couldn’t have thought of. I’m staying Sony......

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good amp power great features

STRDN1080 29/06/2019 by Sudaraminamoto78 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I.always research extensively before i buy tvs or receivers and this is perfect for my needs beefy amp high res wifi and bluetooth and its is the true successor to my es line receiver only being five watts less at 165 got a deal at best buy and compliments my Str dh750

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceeded expectations!

STR-DN1080 24/06/2019 by 2poc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My father has owned a Sony Amplifier since the late 1980's and It's still in amazing working order. With this in mind, I decided to buy this Amplifier (or receiver if you're American). I didn't really do much research into the product prior to buying (which in hindsight sounds a bit stupid) but one browse of the instruction manual is enough to see what this baby can do. Watch a YouTube review and buy. You won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

STRDN1080 21/06/2019 by John xyz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Our old receiver started sounding staticly. We went out and bought a better receiver than we needed. We are happy with the sound quality and the sound going to the back speakers. Setting it up was more than we could handle. Our tech savvy son came over and did a great job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

str-dn1080

STR-DN1080 21/06/2019 by top Hat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent AV Receiver good sound so meny settings you will find one that suits you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like it but had problems

STRDN1080 19/06/2019 by ARay (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver first about 18 months ago for our family room. Liked all features and was working great! I bought another one for our media room about six months ago. All worked fine for a while. Then the new one stopped working. The HDMI/ARC port would not work. After consulting the customer service this unit was sent out for repair under warranty. After repair-work the unit is working fine. However, the other unit stopped displaying the home screen. As a result this had to be sent out for repair as well. In both repairs, they had to change the central process controller board. Both are now working fine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2019

Hi ARay, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We are glad knowing that the issue has been handled already. Thanks for choosing Sony! Regards, Erin

0

Great sound and features

STRDN1080 18/06/2019 by DHJ1487 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this unit for about a month and am very pleased with it. I was on the fence between this unit and several other brands, but the price decreased on this and I jumped. Great sound. My 5.1.2 Atmos configured speakers produce fantastic clear sound with with a great fullness. My only problem to this point is getting my APpleTV (which passes through the receiver) to get Dolby Vision to my LG OLED TV. It may have nothing to do with the receiver. I'll have to figure that otherwise. Otherwise, very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Receiver!!

STRDN1080 18/06/2019 by Wlj22443 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this over the weekend my older Sony receiver died on me so I got another one. (Had the previous one over 8 yrs) So easy to set up and the option to rename the inputs are so cool!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome sound. Lots of features

STRDN1080 18/06/2019 by Whitetiger022574 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just awesome. I was super happy. And the ps4 rocks

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

STRDN 1080 amplifier

STRDN1080 17/06/2019 by Pjaspar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about a month ago and I am very happy with the performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound & quality!

STRDN1080 15/06/2019 by nancyjoey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy we decided on this Sony receiver. The sound is incredible. Now if we could only get the ultimate Sony TV!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

STRDN1080 14/06/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoyed my sony atmos receiver. it is awesome. the features are easy to set up. I own multiple sony products. Sony for Life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid performer!

STR-DN1080 12/06/2019 by Ray82 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Updated from Sony STR DA2400ES. Good solid performer with all the latest features and hardware to date

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cotton Picking freaking awesome

STRDN1080 09/06/2019 by Ningastixx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

OMG!! This rocks. Sony really make good products for midrange price points.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compares favorably to my premium STR-ZA3000ES

STRDN1080 31/05/2019 by Jonathan56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the STR-DN1080 as our second AV receiver for our secondary entertainment room/hobby room. Our primary AV receiver in our living room 5.1 setup is our one-year-old STR-ZA3000ES. Sony Core Series speakers are SSCS5 bookshelf size on stands in front and back surround, SSCS8 is the center, and SACS9 is the subwoofer. For the 3000ES, I have added with great ease and reasonable cost high-quality RF wireless headphones, a high-quality Bluetooth receiver, and a Chromecast Audio unit for casting audio via WiFi. I could easily also add other high-quality components such as a phono pre-amp with phono, a WiFi streamer, a separate wired headphone amp, and/or a great outboard DAC to the 3000ES. No, it did not originally come with those types of items baked in, but I prefer the flexibility the 3000ES gives me to customize my main system one or two great components at a time. I point this out to help anyone torn between purchasing the STR-DN1080 or any of the excellent ES receivers (other than the STR-ZA810ES upgrade similer to the 1080) that many reviewers say "lack" the many baked-in (i.e. "convenient") features of the 1080 or 810ES. As for sound, build quality, component part quality, ergonomics, functionality, and ease of use, my new STR-DN1080 compares very favorably with my workhorse STR-ZA3000ES. The edge across the board understandably goes to the premium 3000ES, which also still retails at $1,200 higher than the STR-DN1080 retail price. However, I am truly very surprised at how very good the 1080 performs, especially in sound quality, which comes surprisingly close and at least in the same ballpark of the 3000ES. Had I not already owned the 3000ES, but instead had the 1080, I would have been perfectly happy with the 1080 in all respects as our primary AV receiver. It simply is that surprisingly good in performance against my premium 3000ES. Sony did not cut any corners with the STR-DN1080. I recommend it very highly. If an ES model is in your budget, then by all means, you would certainly be very pleased with one of those excellent premium ES AV receivers, as well. Sony has an excellent array of high-quality AV receivers for every budget. While all sound great, you can still upgrade to your heart's content (or budget cap) to get incremental improvements across the board. Finally, I can confirm everything you hear about how very special the Sony sound quality is, generally, especially when you use the amazing Sony Core Series speakers. I encourage you to hear for yourself, rather than simply take my word for it. But I know the Sony sound will keep putting a big grin on your face. It does it to me all the time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I found it was what is advertised

STRDN1080 26/05/2019 by Baddog9q (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound easy to use and to set up. It’s well worth the cost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice amp with some great features, but...

STR-DN1080 21/05/2019 by Naywa01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this recently through Amazon and overall am happy with this receiver (STR-DN1080). Sound quality is very good, obviously this is subjective, and it has plenty of useful features. But (bad English I know!) it does have a few flaws which Sony could/should fix with software, in summary: 1) You cannot set a default input. I have a Virgin Media STB and Sony Blu-ray attached using HDMI ARC connection to an LG UHD/HDR LED TV. The amp seems to insist on defaulting to Blu-ray, even when switching on using the TV remote and... 2) even after you’ve already switched it to the CAB/SAT input it then insists on showing you the receivers ‘home’ menu. This is a menu that has ‘watch’, ‘listen’, receiver setup sub-menu etc. Very annoying! 3) Randomly the receiver has a habit of switching itself back on again, after you’ve put the TV & amp into standby. I have yet to figure out any commonality as to when or why it does this So recommended for its overall quality and features, in context of the price, but you need to be aware of these flaws. If you search Sony forums you will find many users with the same issues on this and other models.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Works like a champ!

STRDN1080 14/05/2019 by Gearhead55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this a month ago. Works really well. One thing I wish it had is a phono pre-amp, but that's my bad for not looking. Other than that, we're really pleased! The surround calibration took a bit of tweaking but it worked out well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love that sound

STR-DN1080 08/05/2019 by pipesflies (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my old and faulty Harmon Kardon. It was very easy to set up and the sound quality is very good with my 5.1 'Infinity' speaker system. I like the range of features and am still discovering extra ones. Not sure if I'll ever get away with adding any more speakers but I may try and sneak a couple in some time! This is a very good AVR and well worth the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound great features

STRDN1080 06/05/2019 by JohnWaynev (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the stereo little while ago And it's has met my expectations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Definitely a great purchase!

STRDN1080 29/04/2019 by Moe214 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The goal was to rebuild my home theater to take advantage of Dolby Atoms. I went to multiple high end (custom installation) and chain stores to get a good demonstration of Dolby Atmos. The best they could do was show me how they could turn the volume up really loud. Not one movie could reproduce objects flying overhead. So, I changed my goal; upgrade the receiver and speakers in my 7.2.1 set up. After A LOT of comparison shopping (i.e. comparing features), going to brick and mortar to listen to receivers in person and reading/listening/watching reviews, I chose the Sony STR-DN1080 based on number of HDMI inputs, it has Dolby Vision, capable of handling multiple speaker placements (it does an outstanding job when you run the configuration) and integration in my home environment (i.e. Airplay, Chrome cast, etc.). I have had the receiver for about 2 months now and I am extremely happy with my purchase. I found the setup to be pretty easy, the menu very intuitive and the options for sound quality to be amazing. You may be like me and didn’t consider Sony receivers when you started your plan for your home theater; I would strongly recommend you add Sony to the conversation based on features, sound quality and price point.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Functions!

STRDN1080 28/04/2019 by leftwinger7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few weeks ago and thoroughly enjoying with my tv and JBL studio floor speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy setup

STRDN1080 21/04/2019 by Nomad007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality product with current features which make home entertainment worthwhile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 1080Amp

STR-DN1080 10/04/2019 by Macduff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the amp in September and have been delighted with the sound and many of its features. However three things are very disappointing. When initially setup the amp could be turned on via the ethernet, useful when getting Spotify to connect via Chromcast. However after a s/w update this functionality was removed and has not been reinstated. Secondly the amp does not support video over DLNA. Music, yes, but no video. Finally, the remote is a waste of plastic.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Works well. See comments on Documentation

STRDN1080 02/04/2019 by Tentwo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for a month. Complex setup and use. Absolutely a must to download the 395 page Help Guide. Setup and Operating Instructions are definitely inadequate. My setup is Blu-ray player to this unit and this unit connected to TV via ARC cable. Must also use a Optical Digital Audio Cable between this unit and TV to get two way sound communication. ARC cable only provides one way audio communication. Bluetooth requires a Bluetooth Receiver Transmitter for use with Bluetooth Head Phones. Bluetooth use is limited to items such as Smart Cell Phones. Once set up all systems are up and running great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Slick design

STR-DN1080 02/04/2019 by Boveybutcher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Sony amp decided it was time to upgrade as it was 20 plus years old and had performed faultlessly over that time. My new STR-DN 1080 is a slick looking amp. With 7.1 Dolby Atmos and a range of connectivity options it was a must. It performs very well but I have noticed the centre channel sounds muffled and quiet on occasions and also the sound dips for a split second. It’s not constant but can be annoying. I have emailed my local store where I got it from and I’m awaiting a response. Will update review when I hear something.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sounds good

STRDN1080 01/04/2019 by Scarecrow2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have many Sony AVR's. Setup is greatly improved on the 1080. Can only use the wire aerial. Powered aerial is no good on this AVR. Remote is sub-standard. Should have zone button, and number pad. My older Sony's do. I use the older remote's on the newer amps.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Sound

STRDN1080 30/03/2019 by VinInCT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace an older Sony unit that was losing a channel. This unit is easy to set up right out of the box. Simple on screen programming, a wide range of sound configurations, optical out, multi channel HDMI. Sony universal remote controls all of my equipment which is a huge plus. Was a bit more $$ than what I wanted to spend, but does what I want and more quite nicely. Great surround theatre sound and sound quality. One knock - Plastic knobs....On a unit with this price? Sony certainly could've done better. But I'm happy, so...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

STR-DN1080 25/03/2019 by Davros24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this amp for about a fortnight now and have just finished all the wiring, and what a lot of wiring there is. A big design fault is the close proximity of the speaker terminals on the back of the amp, very fiddly. I found it quite easy to set up but mainly through trial and error, the instructions are not always that easy to follow and can be seemingly very contradictory. One thing puzzling me is how to balance the volume between the amp volume and the TV volume, so that when reverting to the TV speakers you are not deafened, still working on this. I hope there is a logical answer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Receiver

STRDN1080 22/03/2019 by Roadhouse Ranger (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just what the (receiver) doctor ordered. Great capability, connectivity. I have yet to explore all the features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do your homework

STR-DN1080 21/03/2019 by Melot (USA)

Sound quality is acceptable, nothing really special. Setup and control is anything but user friendly, much like their Bravia TV. Remote controls for TV and AVR have functional overlap which creates setup problems with each other. English as a second language doesn't help when dealing with support. These newest units cannot extract an analog audio for zone 2 function making it useless for listening to Pandora or other streaming music sources in other areas. My 10 year old Harman Kardon didn't have that problem. Technology just passed it by and it couldn't communicate with new tvs. Forget "bang for the buck" and get what you need.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
25/03/2019

Hi Melot,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent features and sound quality

STR-DN1080 20/03/2019 by jayemm090847 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver as a replacement for an older model Pioneer which was giving good service, but was limited by the outdated HDMI only allowing 4K/Ultra HD passthrough at 30fps. I have 4 sources capable of frame rates higher than the Pioneer could handle, and my Samsung TV had insufficient inputs, so I looked for a receiver that would handle my requirements. Another must for me was DSD decoding via HDMI, as I enjoy SACDs from a Sony UHD disc player. Richer Sounds offered the STR-DN1080 at a fair price, and my research showed that it was well regarded, so I decided to try it. Installation was relatively easy, simplifying my previous arrangement. All sources were connected via HDMI and I used the TV's ARC for TV sound only . Everything worked immediately, and I used the automated speaker configuration program for my 4.1 setup. This was quick; after listening tests I decided that I wanted my subwoofer to be in use at all times, so manually set the speaker size to small and set a crossover frequency. I also set each input to Direct, as I did not wish the Sony to add any sound fields. After a couple of weeks' use I am still very pleased with the sound produced by the unit, which is slightly smoother than the previous unit in the treble, and slightly fuller in the lower midrange. Full justice is done to both pounding film tracks and delicate classical music. Assuming reliability is up to Sony's usual standard, I will be very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds great

STR-DN1080 12/03/2019 by GAR003 (USA)

Even though I have had it only a week,it totally blows my ht-st5000 out of the water....but I understand the soundbar couldn’t possibly compare to this and it doesn’t....very easy to hook up and calibrate speakers with it...fantastic sound! Just wish it had hd radio in it....!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality

STR-DN1080 09/03/2019 by Bill54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a big heavy box. Set up was not as easy as it could be. It kept telling me that there was a problem with my high speakers. I don't have any. Rerunning the set up worked though and the result was phenomenal. I heard things on my music DVDs that I didn't know were picked up. Every mutter in the background can be heard. The best is that I can now hear speech on the TV with the background music where it should be, the background.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Quality

STR-DN1080 05/03/2019 by Allan32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading multiple reviews I decided the Sony 1080 was the one It is very easy to install and set up, and lots of control if you wish to manually set it up. The sound is great with punch, dynamism this is on my old speakers which i intend to update shortly. The inbuilt Chromecast is a audio only but works very well with google home or your mobile phone casting music. I have a Sky box,Video Chromecast and fire stick plugged into HDMI s all work fine. There are two things i think could be better one is the HDMI switching you have to go to the home menu to change to certain inputs and i would have liked a backlit remote. Apart from these it a great av amp value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

STRDN1080 03/03/2019 by Supernani1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this center speakerl about a month ago and it is awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Not a simple set up

STRDN1080 01/03/2019 by MartinY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set up was not as easy as I thought. Happy with performance.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/03/2019

Hi MartinY,

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit, we are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

Regards,
Earl

0

Superb sound and looks, features let it down

STR-DN1080 28/02/2019 by Zak D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for a few months now and the sound is brilliant. However, the following things let it down. The software is slow and clunky. My 10 year old yamaha was way faster. Takes too long switching between HDMI inputs. You can't change the passthrough input without turning the amp on. The dual HDMI ports can't work independently without losing arc capability. Even clone mode doesnt work easily. The google cast option only allows audio, why? The app is not well develop for controlling the dual HDMI ports. The remote is not great, no leds for use in the dark. The home button is slow to load the menu and cannot work transparently I.e. it cuts the current input, there is no small screen in the corner or anything. Dlna does not work well, and only suppprts audio files, really? Only the plus side, the sound controls have a good level of detail, speaker config and level settings are easy to set. Atmos sounds really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

So far, so good!

STR-DN1080 23/02/2019 by Stuf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this receiver so far, easy to setup with a Sony Smart TV. Only issue is the difficult to remove sticker on the front of the unit which blights the look some what.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Watch/Listen function is deceiving

STRDN1080 21/02/2019 by Patrick1752 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to watch business news (no sound) on cable while listening to USB music. Watch/Listen does not allow for that. It is very deceiving. pressing watch for CATV and then listen for USB just puts the TV screen on USB-I don"t want that! I've purchased a HDMI splitter for $30.00 on Amazon and now I can watch CATV (no sound) while playing music via USB

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not compatible with Google home according to Sony.

STR-DN1080 21/02/2019 by Mike858 (USA)

I bought this receiver in December 2018 and have been struggling with integration to Google home although it says it's Chromecast built in it does not behave like my Chromecast audio dongle. I have a premium Pandora subscription and whenever I ask my Google home to play a specific song on Pandora and play this on the receiver, it will load up the song in the Chromecast app and then just freeze and do nothing. I have also experienced some strange behavior related to the receiver constantly muting when being controlled by the Google home application this happens either on my phone (pixel 3) or using the Google home itself. The funny thing is I also have a Sony TV with Android TV built-in and I am able to cast specific songs via Pandora directly to the TV and this works correctly. To me it seems like Sony did a half-baked implementation of "Chromecast built-in". I actually returned the receiver to the repair company (United radio Sony's official third-party repair partner) regarding this issue and and the reply I got was that unit is functioning normally and it is not compatible with Google home.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
25/02/2019

Hi Mike858, we regret that the receiver failed meeting your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. we will pass this to a relevant team.

Regards,
Erin

0

Where is 7.2?

STR-DN1080 21/02/2019 by Sreedharrao (USA)

I bought this thinking this i can connect 7.1.2 all the configurations i get is 5.1.2 there is no 7.1.2 .How do you connect this in 7.1.2?

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
25/02/2019

Hi Sreedharrao, The receiver allows you to enjoy a surround-sound effect acoustically equivalent to that of up to a 7.1.2-channel speaker system when you select [Type A] or [Type B] for [SpeakerRelocation/PhantomSurroundBack] in the
[Speaker Settings] menu. Regards, Erin

0

App quit working

STR-DN1080 17/02/2019 by Bdrake333 (USA)

One of the main reasons I purchased this receiver was for the app music center and now it doesn’t work!!! Never buy Sony again!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Powerful home theatre amp with easy(ish) set up

STR-DN1080 11/02/2019 by Deggsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy to have trhis onboard - with Sky Q, Apple TV (4k) and Sony TV and blu ray plugged into it. Sound quality excellent - what you would expect, and set up was relatively easy. Two recommendations to Sony would be: In setup, once speakers identified, the software should select appropriate speaker recommendations - initially setting this up for a 5.2 set up was not as simple as it could be, and why can't the 4k output identify it has a 4k capable TV through eArc and then set inputs to 4k resolutions? Very minor groans for a great AV amp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Good but not great

STR-DN1080 10/02/2019 by fredcat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good: Sound is very good, everything seems focused and well placed. Set up very easy Spotify and sound Cromecast built in. Bad: Really cheap remote control Very plastic and will not control other hifi items Only Cromecast sound, no Cromecast video HDMI through-put only operates when in higher level (wattage) of standby and often confuses the unit. Unit sound great but there is not the level of customisation and control of older Sony units

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Buggy networking features

STR-DN1080 09/02/2019 by alxsj21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver one month ago and I am very disappointed by the buggy networking features. I am using wired network with the Android Qobuz/Sony music applications (mainly) and I am experiencing the following issues : - I cannot stream to the receiver after a receiver poweroff/on cycle. I have to set up wired network each time I want to use it, which is really annoying. - While streaming with Qobuz to the receiver (via Chromecast), the streaming is regularly paused without any known reason.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wow!!

STRDN1080 06/02/2019 by DocS52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just finished hooking up my Atmos speakers. Sound check....amazing!! My friends are here...one is a Bose guy the other an Onkyo. They swallowed hard when I cranked it up. This just feels good. This my third Sony amp (a Denon 7.1 and an Onkyo 5.1 in other rooms) an STRN-970 (this one replaced it) is now in the custody of my son. Atmos is it!! I love Sony, everything in my sound system is Sony....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3