12

4.6 based on 12 customer reviews

8
3
1
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

12 Customer Reviews

0

Great

STR-ZA5000ES 07/08/2020 by DrKV (USA)

Hi I am unable to connect 7.1.4 pattern. I connected the external amplifier to the pre out. Did the selection of 7.1.4. However still nit getting audio from ceiling speakers. I tested the speaker tone and no sound coming out from pre out speakers. Do I need to select any other choices in the system. I checked and everyone is directing to the manual and I did all that. Please advise. Thank you Sony in advance. Regards Dr.KV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Overall Quality

STRZA5000ES 10/12/2019 by Barry45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the Sony STR-ZA5000ES about 1 1/2 months ago. Seems consistent with what a consumer might expect from Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2019

Hi, Barry45! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Easy setup Easy Navigation Great sound

STRZA5000ES 21/11/2019 by Jimboliolio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was not my first choice as I was coming out of a older NAD, but I am very pleased with its performance. I believe only the finest ear may be able to tell the difference in sound. Video i as good as the TV which doesn't say much. I would purchase this again without hesitation. Support is prompt and very good. Lacks HDMI 2.1

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Manual without labeling connections?????

STR-ZA5000ES 12/11/2019 by Joejoe22 (USA)

The manual that comes with the unit doesn’t even label the connections and explain what they do.. It’s terrribly written and absolutely no help. This is a far cry from the old days of ES quality

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hi, Joejoe22

I understand that your str-za5000es are having issues with installation. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4584/80cdd8d623132488fe88cd50da91a7a8/45849691M.pdf

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Better than I hoped

STRZA5000ES 19/09/2019 by TheReviewdator (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picked this receiver up open box, had been wanting one for a couple years to go with my 75" Z9D. Took about an hour and a half to get everything(TV,Player,Amp.), connected and programmed. As always Sony's programming is simple, direct, and user friendly. I configured it as 7.1.2, connected it to four older PA Tsi500's, 2 400's, a 20 center, and two 10's as uppers. Wow...this thing has no problem running at loud volumes, we watched several Ubd's...amazing. We don't do whole house automation, however as a stand alone amp. it works great. After two + years we get to watch the "Z", at one scene in a movie we had to cover our eyes to "block out the sun", yes I know I'm going off topic but wow! Good job Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/09/2019

Hi, TheReviewdator!

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our team will definitely be happy to read what you wrote.

Regards,
Sam

0

Excellent Receiver

STRZA5000ES 08/09/2019 by Johnnyboy71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This receiver is very impressive! Set up was straight forward and easy! Ethernet connection is a must in my opinion as it allows additional set up options such as setting the crossover frequencies for all your speakers. The sound quality is incredibly rich and clean! The sound stage is deep and seamless from my towers to subwoofers with music and movies (something I have struggled with for years). Auto calibration seems to be very accurate as repeated calibration is very consistent.The video quality is very impressive as well with a notable improvement in picture quality. No regrets here!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2019

Hi, Johnnyboy71!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Fantastic!

STRZA5000ES 31/03/2019 by Tim K (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've bought only Sony electronics for the last 40 years because I am convinced of their superiority over other brands. This is definitely top rate.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Awesome!

STRZA5000ES 27/03/2019 by Billy07 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Truly the complete AV receiver. GREAT sound. Handles ALL my AV components. Easy to use. THE BEST!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Features and easy to use!

STRZA5000ES 26/02/2019 by Christopher700000000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver about a week ago and just love it. I have been an avid Sony purchaser since I bought my first component stereo set in 1984. This receiver is packed with tones of features and is easy to set up. I love the expandability of this receiver and the 130W per channel. The sound is amazing whether I am watching a movie or listening to music. I also love the fact that I can setup the receiver online with its IP address. This receiver is sold and really heavy, but I think that is a testament to the build quality. The only things missing are WiFi and Bluetooth. Not a big deal to me, but could be useful to others. I also love the 8-port switch on the back as well. This will allow me to remove the switch I am currently using and free up some room behind my entertainment center. Don't hesitate to buy this receiver if you have the budget or if you can find it cheap like I did. I bought mine refurbished for less then a third of the MSRP.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

great amp

STRZA5000ES 06/01/2019 by Al 48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great amp works well with atmos speakers. Amp will not work with any other remotes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

The Flagship of Ikea !!!

STRZA5000ES 13/11/2018 by AllMightyFox (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony's Flagship Audio Receiver STR-ZA5000ES (Elite Series) puts on a good front until you get into the details, where this device finds it's Dante's Inferno …. PROs: 1) a great amount of hook-ups, can choose between running different speaker arrangements for customization 2) simple to use interface, set-up & calibration 3) I can't talk to it .... in an age of every device is monitoring and reporting on you, having not to worry about when Alexa/Cortana is going to call the police over jokes is wonderful. CONs: 1) Power : wish it had power to use all of hookups in a 7.2.4 or 11.2 2) Inputs : I can't even contemplate how they decided to put the "GAME" input on the front of the device … they obviously didn't expect their PS4 owners to purchase this unit or they planned on a cable hanging out the front all the time ?!? 3) Sound Fields : missing great S.F.'s like Hall and Concert and left with only a couple options which really aren't options as much as requirements based on content. (Music/Movie) 4) Remote : I have many Sony devices and I generally love how my devices will use whatever remote I grab. (BD Player, TV) But the 5000 Elite Series doesn't work with other devices as friendly as most Sony devices do, leaving me grabbing at 2 remotes for whatever I plan on doing besides radio. 5) System communication : Before with PS4 hooked to Bravia tv I could turn on PS4 and tv comes on to right input, or turn on tv and put on PS4 input and it turns on the PS4, they were linked. This unit breaks that link and makes everything independent which is a shame. In the end this unit is overpriced even at $2200 (was $2800) It doesn't fail but it doesn't accel either, and being attached to a very inflated price tag only makes for buyer remorse.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

12

Response From Sony Social Support
13/11/2018

Hi AllMightyFox, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Great Machine.

STRZA5000ES 25/08/2017 by Youngblood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit last month and am very happy I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

27