18

3.7 based on 18 customer reviews

10
2
1
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

18 Customer Reviews

0

This receiver is my best friend!!

STRZA810ES 24/09/2020 by Judy in Illinois (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the features. It sends my music all over the house, when I want it to. And I did not realize that it would do airplay until I got it. It can handle whatever I need it to do...even tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2020

Hi Judy in Illinois, Awesome! Thank you for giving the product a perfect rating! We're thrilled to hear you love the overall features, amazing sound quality, and airplay support of the unit. You now have flexible connectivity, powerful configurability and renowned ES quality in this 7.2 channel 4K AV receiver with Dolby Atmos and DTS: X object-based surround sound. With Seamless IP Control integration with the leading control systems, you’re now ready for almost anything! Thanks so much for your purchase. -Sam

0

Great A/V receiver for the money.

STRZA810ES 21/05/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it a month now. No complaints. Sounds GREAT! Easy set up, easy instruction for an old dog like me to figure out. I fully expected the improvement in modern technology, WiFi, Bluetooth, etc. But, I DID NOT expect the improvement in sound quality. So, win/win. GUI (Graphic User Interface) was easy to figure out. Instruction were very clear. BTW, the Sony tech support service people are THE BEST!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi Rollo, thanks for purchasing the STR-ZA810ES. Enjoy flexible connectivity and high-fidelity sound from this 7.2-channel 4K AV receiver with Dolby Atmos® and DTS:X object-based surround sound. eARC lets you enjoy these latest audio formats with one-cable HDMI connection from your compatible TV. Add in full 4K HDR compatibility and easy IP integration with leading control systems and you have the total package of installation-friendly features and audio/video performance. Erin

0

Like it

STRZA810ES 01/04/2020 by Whitedevil26 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So i bought this a month ago and quality is nice same has my last model but seems like the volume has to crank up alot higher then my old one to hear everything which is weird cause this model was suposta be alot higher quailty

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/04/2020

Hi Whitedevil26, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may check this link for better sound depending on your taste: https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strza81/v1/en/contents/TP0001221284.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: Sincerely, ~Earl

0

Easy set up

STRZA810ES 17/02/2020 by Twalker97 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very happy with the upgrade of my Sony AV receiver. Would definitely buy again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/02/2020

Hi Twalker97,

We are happy that you love it. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

A pretty good AV receiver

STRZA810ES 24/12/2019 by EyesOfTexas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a pretty good AV receiver, but it can be improved upon. A few of my observations after owning this receiver for about a month follow. I bought the STR-ZA810ES AV receiver to replace and older STR-DN1020 AV receiver for use in a 5.1 configuration. I bought the new receiver because it is generally better and it supports 4K video and has Bluetooth 4 built in. I should point out that the old receiver is still in good working condition. The on-screen menus for setting the receiver options are improved over the older model. Unfortunately, the new receiver has the same irritating design limitation as the older model. Specifically, the receiver option to direct the audio to both the speakers and the TV must be set each time the AV receiver is turned on. I use this option to enable the use of wireless headphones connected to the television. I wonder why some setting options for the AV receiver are memorized in non-volatile memory and other settings are not. For the Sony engineers who might see this review, I want the HDMI, Audio option to memorize the AMP+TV setting instead of defaulting to the AMP only setting. Alternatively, if the Bluetooth transmitter and audio speaker output could be turned on simultaneously, one could work around the above limitation. In addition, the remote control seems to be not up to the standards expected for an ES (Elevated Standard) product. The remote included with the older model had better functionality for setting receiver options and was still in good condition. In contrast, most options of the new receiver must be selected via the on-screen menu system. I doubt that new remote will last as long at the old one has. Lastly, I will point out that the new receiver is the fourth Sony receiver that I have owned since the 1970's. None of the earlier Sony receivers ever broke or even had a knob come loose, so one can state with confidence that one never has to worry about the quality of workmanship or parts if it is made by Sony. Instead, you must be careful to purchase a model that has all the features you may desire or may need in the future.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Awesome

STRZA810ES 05/07/2019 by Brocarey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great buy bought this year and I've enjoy every bit of the system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Yeah, great features.

STRZA810ES 27/05/2019 by SCMike (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy set up. Lots of features. Excellent sound quality. So many things I didn't know about digital audio. The on-line help guide is a great learning experience. This receiver is very versatile. Even after three weeks I find myself tweaking. Superb sound even with my "thirty-some" year old speakers. I like my new "toy".

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound. Great features. Minor flaws.

STR-ZA810ES 26/05/2019 by OctavioM (USA)

I bought this unit 3 weeks ago. Setup was very easy and I connected an Apple TV 4K, a Sony UHD Blu-ray player and an OLED LG TV. ARC works well. I've been listening music from Spotify, Airplay and music files from the USB port. Haven't tried Chromecast and multizone yet. So far I'm very happy with this receiver because of its great sound quality and many features. I don't give it a 5 star punctuation because of the plastic quality of the remote control, specially the middle section which feels loose. Also is directional, meaning that you have to point at the receiver to operate it, unlike my TV, Sony Blu-ray, Apple TV and Directv receiver whose remotes can be pointed everywhere in the room to work them. Besides, there could be audio-video sync issues that can't be resolved if audio lags behind the video because lag adjustments only allow to increase the audio lag.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

4

0

Perfect for multizone

STR-ZA810ES 19/04/2019 by JoeH27 (USA)

Using this for surround sound in living room and kitchen speakers works very well. We were told this product integrates better with our control system so we went with the recommendation and it works flawlessly. Better sound quality than our previous Denon.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good for secondary surround zone!

STR-ZA810ES 28/12/2018 by WesSunbelt (USA)

We like to use these for budgetary purposes in secondary surround rooms.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Does not deliver on features it promises

STR-ZA810ES 13/11/2018 by Roen (USA)

Says compatible with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X. I have speakers set in a Front Dolby (upfiring) configuration. Dolby Atmos works fine. DTS:X does not activate at all. No sound from upfiring speakers. What is this? If you advertise works with DTS:X, then it needs to work with DTS:X!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

31

Response From Sony Social Support
13/11/2018

Hi Roen, thanks for bringing this to our attention. However, you may need to change some audio settings regarding the DTS:X issue. Please refer to the link below for more information. I hope it helps. We appreciate your feedback. Thanks! ^Ron

https://helpguide.sony.net/ha/strza81/v1/en/contents/TP0001272308.html

0

Great receiver

STRZA810ES 16/05/2018 by froggerpr26 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this receiver a month ago and it is great. Covers all my needs and Dolby Atmos sounds great. The ES Series are truly awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Mid range Price, ES Capabilities

STR-ZA810ES 28/11/2017 by RTGpaintball (USA)

Upgraded to a 4k x930d, so my str-da5500es (which I love) needed an upgrade. Looked at several "high end" receivers za5000es, Yamaha Aventage line, Onkyo, Denon etc. I went with the za810es primarily because of it's well rounded features and at Cyber Monday price. I don't need the Ethernet hub in my receiver but blutooth, airplay, Spotify and chromecast all built in work great, no more extras to plug in just to connect to the receiver. I do enjoy variety, the more option's on the back of the receiver the better, this one seemed pretty barren to me but really there are more connections than I needed or am using. So here's my setup; x930d ubp-x800 hopper3 xbox one x apple tv bose front and center speakers 8ohm boston acoustic surround and surround back 8ohm Yamaha active sub (yes my speakers are the next to upgrade) I connect all components using hdmi into receiver and tv into hdmi with arc (works perfectly). Easy setup, auto calibration worked incredibly well, phase matched the speakers no problem and set the crossover frequency on the first attempt. Already happy with my purchase as my older receiver never quite got the auto calibration right. Network setup was next and it was even easier of course once connected there's an update, 30 minutes later I begin checking all of my imputs and setting them to my taste. Hopper3 hd/sd looks just like they did plugged directly into tv, set audio to neural:x (which is DTS:X) all 7.1 speakers firing and the sound was crisp and immersive. ubp-x800 was next ran netflix, hulu, Ghostbusters 4k UHD bluray and 3D bluray. Again the video was just as good as pluged directly into the tv, the 4k bluray playback actually seemed to have smoother playback as I have had judder on some of the wide panning scenes before. I ran the same apps and discs on the xbox one x with the same wonderful results. In addition there's a 4k download (insects) that looked amazing; 4k, hdr, 60fps and spacial sound coming from everywhere. Apple TV ran flawlessly and looked even better as the receiver upped the 1080 output to 4k.This is where I started the music and playing with the different sound fields and fine tuning the EQ. Blutooth is simple to connect to as is Apple Airplay. Music is rich and full with plenty of thump. I was a little leary about the 810 from other reviews but the specs were at least what I was looking for and the price was just too good to pass up. This is definately a well rounded AV receiver with Sony's ES upper tier capabilities. I probably would have gone with a higher end receiver za3100es or za5000es if the connectivity options where in them - I'm glad for whatever reason they were left out, I saved a ton of money and am more than happy (even a little surprised) with the STR-ZA810ES. If I run into any issues I will update this review.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Design, sound, features are truly awesome.

STRZA810ES 17/11/2017 by Coepilot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sirs: the sound and features of this product are quite remarkable. However, I have a problem with getting sound when running the Netflix app. Your support folks will not answer the phone, even after very long waits. I have yet to get an email answered. Your support needs improving or I would not recommend any Sony products. Dennis C

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/01/2018

Hi Coepilot, we would like to further review your concern, Since Netflix is not part of the receiver, what is the source that you are using for Netflix? This sounds could a setup issue and we would be glad to assist you. Please reply with your complete setup, including connections along with a telephone number, and times that you are available, and email it to socialsupport@am.sony.com.

Regards,
-Erin

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/11/2017

Hi Coepilot, We are sorry to hear about what happened. You can troubleshoot audio issues by following the guidelines from this link. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/51885
Regards, -Jay

0

Does not pass video

STR-ZA810ES 14/11/2017 by The AV Guy (USA)

This receiver was purchased for a client to replace a non functional receiver in their home theater. I was looking forward to using a new product the Sony had designed for the CI channel. After hooking up the speakers and the sources, I powered up the unit. Much to my dismay there was sound but no video. I rechecked the connections. I verified the HDMI cables. I power cycled all devices. Still no video. Apparently this is not an AV receiver, it is merely an A receiver. Too bad. This looks like a nice piece on paper. It just does not deliver in the field.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

34

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2017

Hi The AV Guy, We are sorry to hear this issue with your receiver. The cause of this issue is the hookup and the power interruption. You can follow the troubleshooting steps from this link for more details. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40230
Regards, -Jay

0

IP control is wacky

STR-ZA810ES 31/10/2017 by wgmcg (USA)

Seems alright but the IP control is very poorly implemented and completely undocumented.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

22

0

Sony A/V Receiver

STRZA810ES 30/09/2017 by BhamGolfer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from an A/V shop, high end. They installed it. Worked for 3 weeks and then HDMI output would not work. Store replaced the unit and after 2 days, same problem I now have an Integra. Don't know if it was compatible with my LG TV or what, but I had problems. Store was outstanding service. Paulson's in Farmington Hills, MI

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/01/2018

Hi BhamGolfer, We are sorry that you returned your product. We would have liked to see if we could have helped you get this working. If you purchase a replacement unit from Sony, please contact our ES support group at 877-619-7669. The hours of operation are 9am-8pm EST Mon-Fri.

Regards,
-Erin

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/10/2017

Hi BhamGolfer, we regret to hear what happened with your unit. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Excellent Sound

STRZA810ES 27/08/2017 by Merv57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always liked the amplifier sections of sony's ES receivers. They drive bowers and Wilkins speakers very well. This receiver has a lot of bells and whistles that are useful such as Dolby Atmos. I would recommend this receiver for its easy set up and great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0