Skip to Content
126

4.2 based on 126 customer reviews

69
34
9
6
8
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony BDP-S1500 Blu-ray player

BDP-S1500 06/03/2015 by tsl14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First rate product. Only criticism would be time elapse & chapter should be shown.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Playback, What Apps? Appalling Instructions

BDP-S1500 02/11/2015 by Save Me (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't fault the playback on DVD or Blu-ray. No relevant instructions in hard copy or on-line form for this model. This makes the set-up to access You Tube, Netflix, etc. impossible. I have 2/3's of a player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

126 Customer Reviews

0

Lousy

BDP-S1500 20/11/2017 by Mama is mad (USA)

This thing works well for awhile and then just freezes up. Sometimes it takes an eternity for it to respond to commands from the remote (no, it's not the batteries). Sometimes it freezes for so long that I have to turn it off at the power strip and restart it. I use to be a Sony fan. Not so much anymore! I am very disappointed in Sony!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/11/2017

Hello Mama is mad, we apologize for the inconvenience. Kindly check the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps to isolate and fix the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41801
Regards, _Bob

0

Became a piece of junk after forced upgrade

BDP-S1500 31/10/2017 by Bruce unhappy (USA)

Worked until I was forced to perform a software upgrade. Since then it does not work most of the time. Information from Sony did not resolve the problems.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2017

Hi Bruce unhappy, we are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

short life

BDPS1500 14/09/2017 by LO1AB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yes, it's been over a year since I bought it but it hasn't had many miles put on it. Now it has problems and won't play right.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/09/2017

Hi LO1AB,
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

Thanks,
>Joffrey

0

Does what it says on the can

BDP-S1500 19/08/2017 by PPLb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality HD from DVDs. Have found extremely good in upgrading my home DVDs that were copied from 20yr old VHS tapes from an old analogue camera to end up almost like true HD. Have not tried the BlueRay yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slow. Too few apps. Can't skip publicty on discs.

BDP-S1500 13/08/2017 by Urubu (USA)

I really wanted this system because it looks great and it's super compact. However, I had to return the unit. I am super disapointed by the lack of apps, and by the overall sluggish response when navigating menus. I bought this unit to replace an AppleTV and get out of that ecosystem, but the difference in responsiveness is huge. Also, not Vevo, no Ted TV. I guess they compete with Sony's own services, so that's a big nono. But the worst is the DVD: when you load a disk, you have to watch the commercial. Every time. Can't skip them: "operation not allowed". Sony, I bought the disc player, and I bought the DVD disk: why do you force me to watch the advertisement? Is this my disc player or yours? I guess it's yours, so I am returning it. Forcing us to watch your pub is treating us like stupid people.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2017

Hi, Urubu, It is unfortunate that the unit had to be returned. We're sorry for what happens here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback.
Regards, _Bob

0

Great value for money

BDP-S1500 13/06/2017 by Dazjez76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only down side to this product not enough apps other than that absolutely brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and great

BDP-S1500 08/03/2017 by jmw140 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this. I am a bit late to Blu Ray but this replacement for my Panasonic DVD player really hits the spot. I am impressed with ability to access the internet and various apps, still discovering the apps that I can get. Love it that I can get You tube on my Samsung.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

BDPS1500 29/01/2017 by Peter1971 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 years ago and love it. The quality is second to none

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very good product.

BDPS1500 28/01/2017 by MARYKAY77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this three months ago and it has worked great so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

BDPS1500 11/01/2017 by Art3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ease of installation and love the size. Fits well into my small place.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does exactly waht it says it will

BDP-S1500 17/12/2016 by Viridian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only minor problem is the remote which is poorly designed and non-intuitive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to install

BDPS1500 29/11/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought a couple of days ago and it works great with all the other wireless items I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

BDP-S1500 02/10/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it to replace my game console for the time being and I'm loving it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid performer

BDP-S1500 22/09/2016 by Gilh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although one of the lower end Sony Blu-ray players, it's a reliable performer with no weaknesses and gives a great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Good

BDPS1500 20/09/2016 by Carolena (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Seven months old and will NOT power on! Never buy again!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

nice and small perfect for bedroom

BDP-S1500 14/08/2016 by soxs1710 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for my sons bedroom - great size and simple to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Updated my DVD player

BDP-S1500 28/05/2016 by Batchy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as my present Sony DVD player was not Blu-Ray

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture quality

BDP-S1500 25/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it is light and very easy to understand the instructions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Blu-Ray DVD Player

BDP-S1500 26/04/2016 by Grotty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best DVD I have brought very easy to set up picture is perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Didn't work

BDPS1500 13/04/2016 by Jaknolly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It wouldn't open so returned it and bought an LG. That one is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Great Features!

BDP-S1500 12/04/2016 by Flamenco16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy I bought this blu ray player. It's features are brilliant. It has online connectivity and has a great range of apps such as iplayer; Netflix; Amazon video; Curzon Cinema; etc. It plays blu ray and upgrades DVD discs to much higher quality. my previous blu Ray player had started to slow down, it was one of the first models and unlike this one had no online connectivity so it couldn't be updated like this one. It is really easy to check for updates to the software. A brilliant blu Ray player with excellent features and apps, I am delighted with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible remote control

BDP-S1500 29/03/2016 by RRPP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is far to easy to press the wrong button by mistake (especially that awful Netflix button which dominates the remote), strangely causing the DVD/Blu-ray to start again from the beginning rather than simply continue.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great replacement for our old Sony DVD player

BDP-S1500 26/03/2016 by Aust1603 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great replacement/upgrade from our old Sony DVD player to a Blu ray player. Small, compact & value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great, tiny blu-Ray player!

BDP-S1500 18/03/2016 by KerryC18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this around a month ago and am very pleased with it. The up scaling of DVDs is very impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Not bad, has netflix and lovefim !

BDP-S1500 11/03/2016 by Brydeca (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's not too bad, it's a bit noisy and can be slow. It has Netflix and Lovefilm which work great so am very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0