Skip to Content
118

3.9 based on 118 customer reviews

61
25
9
7
16
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

So simple, even adults can use it.

BDP-S1700 29/10/2017 by Mr PEDANTIC (United Kingdom)

Very compact. DVD zone automatically switches. Blu-Ray switching by single button push. Remote control compact & easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Six days and One movie watched

BDPS1700 04/02/2017 by Phillimonster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My husband purchased this product only six days ago and managed to watch one movie. After purchasing another 4 brand new movies we find the player has stopped working completely, failing to recognize even the BD we had originally watched. After updating the firmware, pouring through the customer support pages (243 posts) in total, we realize we purchased poor workmanship at best. My suggestion is steer clear of this product.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

118 Customer Reviews

0

IT does everthing I had hoped it wouild do

BDPS1700 13/12/2017 by Balonnie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy using the player and it is easy to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr C Barrett

BDPS1700 13/12/2017 by slowhands (USA)

Im so happy i bought a new blue ray / dvd player toady

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great picture

BDPS1700 11/12/2017 by Linda Jo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can' t wait to watch a whole movie. Good picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would you make one even better ?

BDPS1700 05/12/2017 by Bay1996 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well I got a wrong one but I know its cool to use.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Another nice Sony hardware product.

BDPS1700 05/12/2017 by kn8aw (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player comes with many useful features, such as a Netflix button on the remote, a network connector, which I prefer to wireless and more internet selections than I could probably watch during my lifetime. It is very easy to use and I like the USB port up front. This player will play just about any motion picture format that I can throw at it, though most of my files are of the mp4, m4v and mkv variety. Overall, a very nice player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

On bluray

BDPS1700 03/12/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month ago good products . I love sony products

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like it

BDPS1700 30/11/2017 by Joie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a new one so I bought this one and I like it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good value for your money.

BDPS1700 28/11/2017 by Nefertiti (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony products are reliable and good value for your money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Won't connect to the internet

BDP-S1700 27/11/2017 by Dick56473829 (USA)

Won't connect to the internet. I have tried everything. I have a different brand that works no problem

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/11/2017

Hi Dick56473829, we are sorry for any inconvenience. We recommend following the steps from this link to isolate the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42306


Best regards,
-Erin

0

Excellent machine

BDPS1700 23/11/2017 by NMBob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used it several times & it has been excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Can’t play disc

BDP-S1700 22/11/2017 by Discapointed (USA)

Stop playing discs. No matter what disc is inserted a message comes up that says. Disc can’t be played. Check if is scratched or dirty.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/11/2017

Hi Discapointed, we are sorry to hear that. You may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate the issue:
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4579663131.pdf see page 32.

If the issue still persists, kindly contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can review your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Connection Problems after 1 Year

BDP-S1700 19/11/2017 by KRKR (USA)

We received this as a Christmas present and it worked for almost a year. Recently it has been losing connection to online services. Everyday we have to reconnect to the router (even though it's on a wired connection). Some days we even need to reset the connection when we get home from work as well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/11/2017

Hi KRKR, we are sorry to hear that you're having this kind of ssue with your player. Please ensure that the unit has the latest software installed which is version M30.R.0433. For reference, please check this link:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75355
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/32902


Best regards,
-Erin

0

Piece of Garbage

BDPS1700 17/11/2017 by Unhappy501 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 45 days ago, now it will not turn on, eject disc, lay disc, or anything else. It has a green light on, so it has power, but has become a paper weight. DO NOT BUY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/11/2017

Hi Unhappy501, We are sorry to hear this issue with your unit. This problem is due to disc is damaged or was inserted incorrectly it may cause the tray of the Blu-ray Disc player to malfunction. You can isolate and follow the guidelines from this link. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30451
Regards, -Jay

0

More than I bargained for

BDP-S1700 14/11/2017 by A J C (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and found there is more to it than I realised a great bargain. Very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Difficulty trying to get movies to appear

BDPS1700 02/11/2017 by Pat the Brat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You need more explicit instructions on getting the feature to operate using both remotes : the tv and the blue ray player. Don't forget we all aren't experts on getting this to operate like you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Loved it until it stopped connecting to internet

BDPS1700 29/10/2017 by Karkar78 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It worked for 2 months, now it won’t connect to internet. Worthless. Don’t buy this.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

So simple, even adults can use it.

BDP-S1700 29/10/2017 by Mr PEDANTIC (United Kingdom)

Very compact. DVD zone automatically switches. Blu-Ray switching by single button push. Remote control compact & easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

clear and concise

BDP-S1700 28/10/2017 by yramaseret (United Kingdom)

I bought this because I bought a DVD blu ray in error and it was a good reason to update. We love it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

wifi adapter

BDP-S1700 17/10/2017 by lisamariesoho (USA)

the wifi adapter i have forthis to connect to the wifi wont work with the dvd player.... help its for my salon and i cant connect a cord!

0

0

0

great basic blu - ray player

BDPS1700 08/10/2017 by zubes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player a mounth a go. It is greatbasic blu - ray player. It has more options then I will use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Universal Remote

BDP-S1700 07/10/2017 by Coli83 (USA)

not a review just a question. someone gave this device to me, but it didn't come with a remote. What universal remote will you all recommend purchasing to pair with this device.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hi Coli83, we highly suggest purchasing the original remote control for this unit for full compatibility. The model number of the remote for this BluRay player is RMT-VB201U. I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

0

wonder about reliability

BDPS1700 02/10/2017 by guyfffffff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this and it seems to work fine. All I wanted it for was to play video disks. Sony seemed to be a bit fussy about the location of the plug-in power module because of excessive heat. Also the unit vibrates quite a bit, enough so that it is audible. Don't know if this is normal, time will tell.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2017

Hello guyfffffff, Thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions and feedbacks are very much welcome for further improvements of our products and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter. Hope you will enjoy the player.
Regards, _Bob

0

sad

BDPS1700 24/09/2017 by missy123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product on 9/24/17 and am quite disapointed to ind out i couldn't connect it wireless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Shuts off for no reason!

BDP-S1700 28/08/2017 by Coopera17 (USA)

Bought this blu-ray player and it's been glitching and having issues the past couple months. Definitely would not recommend this product to anyone, very frustrating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2017

Hi, Coopera17, We're sorry for the inconvenience. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You may check the link below on how to troubleshoot this kind of issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41801.
Best Regards, _Bob

0

Easy set up and use

BDPS1700 25/08/2017 by Guest2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a bit of a technical geek, its setup was simple ,use is simple

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent value

BDPS1700 24/08/2017 by Chef Pizza (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent value for the price . Works great! Only problem is remote is a little small for old eyes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

perfect for me

BDPS1700 24/08/2017 by gayle27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this dvd player about a month ago,this sony smart dvd player is the perfect size , small, compact, and plays dvd perfectly,I don't own and blu ray, but the regular dvd's played perfectly!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Died on the shelf.

BDPS1700 24/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I liked the player just fine until it died during a thunder storm, in spite of the fact that it was plugged into a surge protector. Player would not power off nor eject the disk tray leaving me with a high tech paper weight and a disk lost in the player. Won't recommend it nor buy another.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2017

Hi pi99iss off, Well, that's not the kind of experience we wanted to hear. In this error, the disc is damaged or was inserted incorrectly so the tray of the Blu-ray Disc™ player to malfunction. Kindly check and follow the troubleshooting steps from this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30451.

0

Blu-ray Player

BDPS1700 09/08/2017 by Jenn157 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the features of this player it is easy to use and easy to connect up to our home system. No problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture and features

BDP-S1700 09/08/2017 by Joejoegun (USA)

Just purchased this Blue Ray/DVD Player and so far exceptional quality...hope it continues to operate this awesome!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

no more home menu

BDP-S1700 08/08/2017 by JJBel (USA)

no more home menu and not possible to reset the device. Impossible to have any technical information even on the sony website

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/08/2017

Hi JJBel, we're sorry to hear your experience with the Bluray player. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and we'll help you out with any issues that you're currently having with it. Hope to hear from you.

0

Died in a power surge

BDPS1700 01/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this less than a month ago and after a power outage the player would neither power off or open the disc tray, thus trapping a blue ray disc inside. The player is basically useless.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/08/2017

Hi painintheass, we are sorry to hear what happened with the player. Below are the recommended troubleshooting steps to perform to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39194
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30451


Regards,
-Erin

0

Great product

BDP-S1700 31/07/2017 by Cloughy 23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Couldn't live without it now ..easy to set up and use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - Blu-ray Disc™ Player

BDPS1700 22/07/2017 by Nick1945 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great. Easy as heck to hook-up and play. Just a HDMI to HDMI; that's all there is to it. (-;

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not sure about this product

BDPS1700 13/07/2017 by Skeptic1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second unit. I just received it today as a new unit because my first one didn't work right

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/07/2017

Hi Skeptic1, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Erin

0

ok

BDPS1700 13/07/2017 by mommom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced combo VCR/DVD player. Wish it had hdmi cable included.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great features

BDPS1700 08/07/2017 by law3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i dont have to owen a computer to get live internet tv movies music great pitchures/sound/shop.its HDMI/BD LIVE AND Java powered. so i beleave its alive enough for me.thank you sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice....

BDP-S1700 06/07/2017 by nelsonts (USA)

Lucky that I bought the protection plan, which I rarely do. After about 2 months it the first one quit working. The power light stays, on but nothing operates and no signal to the TV. The second one lasted two weeks and did the same thing. It does show a Sony Blu-ray screen on the TV, but nothing else works. Not sure if I get another return, or if I even feel like going through the trouble. Never had problems like this with a Sony product. Look good? Just click and you're done. Thanks

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/07/2017

Hi nelsonts, we regret that the player did not live up your expectation. We would like to hear more from you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your Event ID if any. ~Erin

0

Easy to operate

BDPS1700 05/07/2017 by Rocking Robin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This blue ray player is easy to operate and hookup to the tv or monitor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Dissatisfied

BDP-S1700 01/07/2017 by RandyN (USA)

Bought this thinking it was wireless. Packaging label is deceptive. Says things like., Steam, Game Streaming nowhere does it say I need to be wired to my router. Sorry Sony. Taking it back and buying from a different company.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2017

Hi, RandyN, We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. You may try a different model instead: https://www.sony.com/electronics/blu-ray-dvd-players/t/blu-ray-disc-players. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback.-Vincent

0

Love it!! Bought another one from Amazon...

BDPS1700 28/06/2017 by wish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this dvd player because it does it all - Blu-Ray, regular and cd. Love it!!! Bought another one to register right after this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Horrible

BDP-S1700 25/06/2017 by SoSuperG (USA)

We bought this after Christmas and it stopped working a couple of months later. It turns off randomly, the favorites options disappear and reappear every other time you use it, it refuses to leave the blue ray title screen, and we often have to reset the entire player to do anything. I'm really upset that we wasted money on this.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2017

Hi SoSuperG, we regret that the player randomly turns off. Kindly refer to this link to troubleshoot the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39194. Regards, ~Erin

0

Set Up Issues

BDPS1700 20/06/2017 by enon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am unable figure out how to access my Netflix account via this unit. The installation process is complicated and esoteric. I can only give the following ratings because I am frustrated.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2017

Hi enon, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. To access Netflix in this player, make sure you are on the Home screen by pressing the Home button on the remote control. Kindly check this link to further assist you: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/51876. Regards, -Erin

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2017

Hi enon, we're sorry to hear that you have experienced difficulties in setting up the Bluray player as a whole. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can provide you with a detailed walkthrough of everything you need. Regards.