Skip to Content
213

4.3 based on 213 customer reviews

131
49
13
6
14
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Perfect and Practical

BDPS3500 20/05/2015 by Ando (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I walked into Best Buy to get a ROKU because I had Just bought Netflix and Hulu. I also needed a new DVD player. I only had one HDMI port left. The salesman told me that The BDPS3500 would be better for my needs and cheaper. It plays blue ray videos and for a few bucks more I could get ultra HD or 3-D all the same Sony Player size. The Blue Ray is Phenomenal, it up converts my DVDs, It plays Netflix, Hulu and You Tube. There is also a good app called Crackle, free and unique to Sony. As always the Sony Remote works with ALL my Sony Products - The Reason I switched to all Sony Entertainment since my first Betamax - I'm old but my 11 year old son still watches Betas and VHSs they never put on disk. He loves '80s movies before watching remakes. I Love the player, I love Sony.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nothing but trouble

BDPS3500 22/06/2015 by mefresno (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had this player long just a couple of weeks and I am going to return it today. It stops playing, sound stops it is not worth the money I paid for it.

3

0

213 Customer Reviews

0

Has a lot great features

BDPS3500 01/10/2017 by Meemies (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it! Easy to use, small in size, plays dvds and br dvds with equal quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Dissapointment

BDP-S3500 04/09/2017 by melissaC (USA)

I got this around churstmas time and it worked fine till August. Then it started freezing in the middle of me doing something and the remote and box became useless. I'd try to log into wifi when I get it back up and I ended up doing it a thousand time over and over. Then it would take 5 minutes just to get the internet content back up just for it to freeze again. When it's working it's good but otherwise it seems useless u could just watch from your phone better.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2017

Hello, melissaC, We are sorry for the inconvenience. Let us help you on this one. Kindly check the links provided below and simply follow the troubleshooting steps given for you to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/32902
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41801
Best Regards, _Bob

0

disappointed

BDP-S3500 28/08/2017  (USA)

I bought this player a little over one year ago and it's now useless.I ONLY used it for playing DVD's and it was fine until about a month ago when it started freezing in the middle of a movie.I've tried several different discs,have done all the resetting and unplugging Sony suggests multiple times.It plays fine and then randomly freezes at different times each play.It also will NOT respond to the remote when this happens.All I can do is turn it off.It's now trash!Apparently Sony is aware of the problem but keeps selling them.

2

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2017

Hi Brendakay, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model and serial no, address, and phone number and let's see how we can be of assistance. Thank you. -Erin

0

Not as advertised

BDP-S3500 17/08/2017 by Troussercoff (USA)

Purchased 2days ago....advertising stated could watch tv thru mirroring....not true

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/08/2017

Hi, Troussercoff, Screen Mirroring feature on the player will work if your mobile phone is compatible with Miracast Technology. For the reference, you may visit the link below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/45091.
Regards, _Bob

0

2 months

BDP-S3500 27/07/2017 by Peteatsony (USA)

Lasted me two months befor factory reseting every time i clicked on nexflix/hulu. would have to resign in EVERY time. will NEVER buy sony again.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/07/2017

Hi, Peteatsony, We apologize for any inconvenience. Please visit the links below for troubleshooting steps to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/33377/,
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/55501/,
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75355/.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Good review

BDPS3500 03/07/2017 by Tyree (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A gift From a friend for my house warmin gift.moved I. New house.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2017

Hi, Tyree, We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I’ll pass what you've said onto the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Good but the picture size changing

BDP-S3500 23/06/2017 by Hercy32 (USA)

The Blu-ray is great except when I go to scroll through on the Wi-Fi side or try to enter passwords etc. it changes the picture size with each choice and it gets frustrating . I have changed it on my television and set it up so it's just standard but my Blu-ray remote no matter what button I push changes the picture with each push of a button

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

7

0

It freezes​ up quite a bit.

BDP-S3500 09/06/2017 by madincovert (USA)

The device will freeze up leaving the spinning arrows. This happens in Amazon, Netflix, Hulu, or whatever I'm streaming. The only way to continue is to unplug the device for about 30 seconds. It happens regardless of WiFi or a physical network. I've had the device for about 2 years, and it's always done this. I'd also like to have more options on the main screen with regard to apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2017

Hi there! we recommend making sure that the players software version is M24.R.0221. For the main concern that the unit freezes when streaming the apps, you can use this link: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/33377. Regards, ~Erin

0

Great except remote

BDP-S3500 02/06/2017 by TBL58 (USA)

I just bought my Sony DVD player with streaming capabilities it works great no problems except with the remote control. Hate Hate Hate it why? It's because of the placement of the Home button it's right below the down button so accidentally you Frequently hit it and it knocks you out of the system and you have to reload everything to get back to where you are. One night while placing movies on "my list" I must have hit it 5 times so frustrating. Fix this and no more problems. Thx Sony Trisha

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

quit working after 10-12 uses

BDP-S3500 29/05/2017 by Loriw13 (USA)

Bought the BDP-S3500 for our home gym in our 2nd home, to play workout DVD's and to use the wireless capabilty to watch netflix, etc.., when we visited here every 2-3 months, so although we have had it for a little over a year and 1/2, it hasn't actually gotten much use. In our experience, it worked fine the first couple of times we used it, but it has been inconsistent thereafter. We followed the trouble shooting instructions, disconnecting it in the specific order recommended and then reconnecting it similarly. That worked to get it running again 3 or 4 times but in the end we have gotten only 10-12 successful uses out of it over the last year and 1/2. It is now completely useless. Perfect, now that we have moved into this home as our primary residence. To confirm the problem in our gym was the Blu-Ray player (S3500), I hooked up our older Sony Blu-Ray BDP-S3200 we brought when we moved here permanently about a week ago. It fired up perfectly in our gym, but unfortunately I can't leave it there as I need it in our living room with our main TV and home theatre system. The think is the S-3200 still works great after much more significant use and 5+years. I would never recommend the Sony BDP-3500 after our experience and would give it a -0- star rating if I could. Of course we are past the warranty period so we are just out of luck with this product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/05/2017

Hi Loriw13, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We regret that the Bluray failed to meet your expectations and we're still hoping that it didn't spoil your workouts. We'll make sure to have your feedback forwarded to the team for improvements.

0

great

BDPS3500 04/05/2017 by Angeginia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great! I love this product. I use it almost daily. I would recommend it to friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Expansive

BDP-S3500 25/04/2017 by V A Masonic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We love to mainly play CD's and browse YouTube on this little wonder machine and along with our other Sony products it's amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Fun!

BDPS3500 22/04/2017 by Jackie K (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a gift and I am not an expert at installing electronics, etc., but my son walked me through it over the phone and it was completed and streaming a movie via WiFi for me in less than a half hour!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Review for Blu-ray

BDPS3500 23/03/2017 by sijose (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good Player, easy to use,has Wifi connectivity and has CD drive

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

easy to set up

BDPS3500 18/03/2017 by sist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a birthday gift from my sister. I had a Sony Blu-ray player with the internet, but did not have wifi, this one does. However it did not request my wifi id or password, I want to access the internet via this device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quiet and does what I want

BDP-S3500 08/03/2017 by kentishman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We wanted a smart device to connect to our Plex media server and this did the job

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Value Blu Ray Player

BDP-S3500 03/03/2017 by Justin1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a fairly economical player, and studied the spec. of Sony's players carefully. I was happy with this one, and so it turned out. I got a Sony so I could match it with my TV. And thus, I can use either remote.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Magic

BDP-S3500 18/02/2017 by Dogrosie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does what ithe says on the box. Great size. Really sharp picture and love the extras. Great value. Would definitely recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

VERY Disappointed - no more Sony Now Service

BDPS3500 16/02/2017 by bossman29 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not a review of the product. However, I am very happy with the DVD player. LOTS of great apps to choose from and the quality of the disc playback is excellent. I am really writing in to express a huge disappointment that the Sony Now service is being discontinued. I was looking forward to using it as an option for affordable game entertainment and fun activity at home. I don't play video games really, but would like a cheap option without the major investment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quit working very quickly

BDPS3500 12/02/2017 by cmae1625 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this for our daughter for Christmas and within just a couple months of operation, the product no longer works. We push the power button and have a green light but nothing happens when we attempt to eject the disc to put anything in/take anything out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Such Versatility!

BDPS3500 03/02/2017 by Mitzi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can't believe all the things this product can do! My only disappointment is in the speakers. Yes, it can play a CD - but whew, you can hardly make it through listening to it! Lol!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Network connectivity issues

BDP-S3500 01/02/2017 by Matth85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Blueray player itself is great but having problems with connecting to a network with both wifi and Hardwired, have requested help from Sony but no response

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good player good features

BDPS3500 31/01/2017 by ttodd0450 (USA)

Had to hunt down specific instructions to get region b to work , I like how remote can adjust to my lg tv for volume and power .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

BDPS3500 17/01/2017 by MomFJA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with our purchase. would like more apps pre installed but over all satisfactory!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Five Stars From Me

BDPS3500 13/01/2017 by Shawna007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy my dvd player, it provides me with all I want to do and more. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

As advertised

BDPS3500 04/01/2017 by BruceBruceBruce (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player worked as advertised. However, I had to go through the installation process twice, even though I was sure I had done it correctly the first time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

great features

BDPS3500 30/12/2016 by DonM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to set up. Liked the small compact size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony Blu Ray Disv Player Streaming with Built-In W

BDPS3500 16/12/2016 by Bash (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent features, easy to handle and good value for money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Apps are incompatible with other devices

BDPS3500 24/11/2016 by VanessaAgosto16 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The device works great and the apps are fair. The product would be amazing if it were compatible with Google services.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

turned into a brick after five uses

BDPS3500 17/09/2016 by filmmakerNC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used it a couple of times and now it does not work.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

wifi

BDP-S3500 04/08/2016 by sidj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the fact its got wifi built in a dvd player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

just what i have been looking for

BDP-S3500 04/08/2016 by KMAT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have already got the KDL-50W809C-BDP-S5500-HTC-CT780 and Now second Room with KDL-40W705C-BDP-S3500-HT-CT180 Mission completed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great little box

BDP-S3500 17/07/2016 by Blossom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up and use. Great picture quality and made my tv a smart TVs!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great product

BDP-S3500 02/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does everything it says it does, great product, love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

A Small Machine With a Big Personality

BDP-S3500 16/05/2016 by Jax56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A really neat and tidy looking machine. Very simple to set up even for 2 technically challenged OAPs. Plays discs beautifully. Really nice to be able to look at our photos on our TV via the USB port. Also handy to catch all those pesky programmes you missed on BBC iPlayer. We have tried using it to go on the internet and to read our e-mails but found it very user unfriendly and extremely clunky. But that wasn't the main reason for buying this machine and we do have a laptop so not a real problem. The jury is still out on YouTube. We've never had that before and can't believe how addictive it is. You only have to remember a part of a song title or group from the 60s and 70s and it finds it for you. We have spent hours singing down memory lane. So if they could make this machine with a time out button it would be perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent bit of kit

BDP-S3500 14/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does everything I need to do with the added bonus of Amazon Prime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

good but not as good as I had hoped

BDP-S3500 20/04/2016 by oldmonovian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture and sound good but not exceptional as I had hoped. Cannot get ITV hub. Starts instantly and DVD playing and Netflix are fine Good for the price

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony Blu-Ray player with Wi-Fi

BDP-S3500 16/04/2016 by J A W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great player very easy to set up, quick to start up, great picture on TV. Does what it says on the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Ideal Player with WiFi

BDP-S3500 06/04/2016 by Wirenickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A nice little compact machine that started immediately on connecting to television

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

good features except for see comments

BDP-S3500 05/04/2016 by mike417 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with product except which as far as the dvds blue ray etc very good does what it says on the tin. However disappointed that ITV player, UKtvplayer, and other catchup players are not available, BBC player and 5 player work well. Looking forward to software update which includes the missing players.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1