Skip to Content
106

4.2 based on 106 customer reviews

58
27
12
3
6
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

bdp-s5500

BDP-S5500 02/04/2015 by Bobbyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great little 3D Blu-Ray player, upscaling from standard DVD to HD is impressive, 3D playback is good, access to internet content is OK (I have mostly used it for YouTube). It has both Wi-Fi & LAN connections. Purchasers need to be aware that the only connection for TV is HDMI and that the output is HD so it will not work with older tech. Cons This player is very light and vibrates when a disk is rotating, in our case this was made worse by being housed in a wooden cabinet which just amplified the vibration, our solution was to stand it on a piece of that kitchen non-slip stuff, this fixed the problem. The power cable is pretty short. There is no HDMI cable in the box, make sure you order one at the same time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

I like the Blu-ray player

BDPS5500 26/07/2015 by Redhead61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I would recommend the Blu-ray player, but would warn my friends that they have to buy all the cables and internet connections separately. There was nothing on the packaging that stated these items were separate.

3

0

106 Customer Reviews

0

3D Blu Ray S5500

BDP-S5500 08/12/2017  (USA)

good product / excellent picture quality and good design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Plex APP is very old

BDP-S5500 27/08/2017  (USA)

The Plex App is very old and does not show all the features from Plex, such as external streaming channels. It only shows local videos, photos and music. I've updated the unit several times, but there is not an update for this app.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Major malfunction

BDPS5500 02/07/2017 by Charles and Nanette (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used occasionally,but unit stopped working when it was 10 months old.Very unusual for Sony product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2017

Hi Charles and Nanette, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we apologize that the unit failed you after a very short span of time. Please visit https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl for information on how to reach our support team and we may be able to do a little something for you. Regards.

0

Persistently crashes

BDP-S5500 22/06/2017 by Xphilemike (USA)

I do not know how Sony could get away with making a product like this. Though the Blu-ray player part of it has no problems the apps are constantly crashing. I don't think that I go more than two uses without some kind of crash that I have to unplug it and plug it back in. When I use the Netflix app I get regular freezes. And it's not because it's buffering. It just freezes. The Amazon app is always buggy! I just tried to crackle app and it doesn't work either

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2017

Hi, Xphilemike, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Make sure the player is running the latest software version. These articles may be able to help us out in resolving this issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/33377/
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/75612
Regards,
Vincent

0

Performs very well

BDPS5500 01/04/2017 by Grampe1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this DVD player 6 months ago and am just getting it installed in my new remodel. It performs up to expectations and I'm very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very Disappointed!!

BDPS5500 08/01/2017 by Steve1229 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this thinking SONY would have great products for streaming becuase of PlayStation technology. The streaming quality has always been slow and frustrating with the buffering wheel of death stuck at 25% until i restart. I use my Roku stick that has no problem. When i tried to watch DVDs it doesn't recognize or claims the DVD is faulty when all DVDs can be read in any other player i have. This is waste of money.

4

3

0

Great Easy to set up

BDPS5500 04/11/2016 by busterb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just receined my new 3D Blu-Ray player. Setup took a few minutes. Had to go online to get latest Firmware updates/

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Average from my experiences with BRP

BDPS5500 08/10/2016 by Calhounas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first purchase it, I thought "Great a Sony product, I shouldn't have to replace this anytime soon!" Well although the BRP works well and picture quality is excellent, my issues seem to be with the Apps. I bought this for my bedroom, after two Toshiba's crashed in two years. I have a PS3 & Sony 5.1 SS and have never had a problem. But this unit just keeps locking up on Netflix, YouTube, Pandora, Web browser. I think its a memory problem. I either have to reset the entire unit (3 times in less than a year) or go through all of my apps and erase history. That doesn't work quite as well, but it is easier than having to input all the information again. I came on this site today to get support to remove the apps I never use and prevent it from adding new ones on updates. Wish me luck!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

A space saving device.

BDP-S5500 05/10/2016 by Swerve46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't believe the picture is sharp and clear for a small compact device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Blue Ray disc player

BDP-S5500 18/09/2016 by Seagull (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product produces good pictures and when controlled by the provided controller works well. I would like to put this on my home network and control the product from my iPhone using an app (as I do with my Sony TV). I would like a Sony app for iPhone to control the unit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great picture sound and features.

BDP-S5500 16/09/2016 by TonyS55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good player ,great picture, coax sound out, good Wi Fi and small size.Very good value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

BDP-S5500 07/09/2016 by Alchemist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up. Super quality picture on both blue ray and DVD.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony S5500 blu-ray player

BDP-S5500 01/08/2016 by DrReed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product about 2 months ago. It's a great bit of kit which many great features! Wireless connection to broadband and USB compatibility, plays every type of disc I need and at a great price! One down side is the lack of connection on the back!! No optical link etc! Just one hdmi socket and if you lose or break the remote it's pretty much useless unless you have a spare or buy another one!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

BDP-S5500 30/07/2016 by BigBadTed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality is spot on. Features are good aswell

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

DVD

BDP-S5500 26/06/2016 by Mistyjet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very versatile play's all types of DVD's and Blu-rays

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great features quality

BDP-S5500 26/05/2016 by Lez1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good features, good price, 3D, wireless lan, usb,one hdmi would like 2 as a through, would like a better search engine on internet fiddly controls,small and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

small & compact

BDP-S5500 20/04/2016 by glynny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

brilliant product. would highly recommend. Excellent value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

3d blu ray

BDP-S5500 05/04/2016 by Donthaveanickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the blu ray player a couple of weeks ago, well tested, good product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Able to wirelessly link to all of my accounts

BDP-S5500 24/03/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, compact with great features very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's ok

BDP-S5500 25/02/2016 by Hullman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality and speed of menu's are really good, but the wifi facility isn't too great, you have to keep registering the router all the time and it doesn't play all mp4's which my last blu - ray did.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Smart blu-Ray player

BDP-S5500 22/02/2016 by Trekkiemo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had read a review on this blu-Ray player and was expecting the size to be small and was not surprised that it was small but Sony has packed a lot into this player and as this is my first Sony and was chosen over my usual brand, Panasonic, as it had wifi I expected it to be good and was happy my purchase. Good value for a Smart blu-Ray player packed with more than others in this price class

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony dbp5500

BDP-S5500 20/02/2016 by Mad max 18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had it about a week so still finding out Plays most of my old DVDs but doesn't play some discs that were recorded on my Panasonic DMR- 86 for some reason apart from that seems good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Usual Sony High Standard

BDP-S5500 29/01/2016 by Yogi bear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this DVD player about three weeks ago, really easy to install, better sound than my last other brand DVD player and loving the WIFI access features like catch up TV as I recently stopped my Sky package

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Blu Ray player

BDP-S5500 26/01/2016 by Jenbo58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 2 weeks ago and I'm afraid it's already faulty , child lock has put itself on and can't be taken off so returning it to shop

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Just what I needed

BDP-S5500 12/01/2016 by Stum (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having returned from New Zealand with many DVDs this solves the problem of multiple regions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Good product

BDP-S5500 07/01/2016 by Tozak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the player so that I could play 3D films, its great for that

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So much in such a small box

BDP-S5500 01/01/2016 by DelT1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So many features packed into a unit with a very tiny footprint. Easy to use, modestly priced and picture quality is fantastic. In additon to playing Blu Rays it's given new life to old DVD's and turned my 'dumb' TV into a 'smart' one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Execellent performance and good value.

BDP-S5500 28/12/2015 by PeterJB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use. Excellent picture quality. BBC IPlayer and Demand 5 apps present, but ITV Player and Demand 4 are sad omissions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Small and compact

BDP-S5500 21/12/2015 by geniemummy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Blu-ray disc player is a compact design and allows you to access Blu-ray dvds and smart services wirelessly from your TV. The remote is OK but the range could be better. We have struggled with strength of internet connection to access Netflix and Sony have tried to help us with this but we are still unable to access this service wirelessly. Check the strength of your wireless connection where you'll be using the device before purchasing this. You may well not be able to access all the services without connecting via Ethernet.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Simple to set up - easy to use

BDP-S5500 12/12/2015 by Happy Sony user (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to use with a Sony smart TV as previous DVD player required scart lead and it was not practical to connect, due to accessibilty with wall baracket. The option for wi-fi connection is perfect for the new set up. No unsightly leads etc. Controls all integrate with the TV, and as you would expect perfect picture quality from Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Excellent player.

BDP-S5500 06/12/2015 by Les H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very fast startup, quiet in operation, very compact and easy to set up. Good upscaling of DVDs and pin-sharp Blu-Ray images. 3D Blu-Rays look clear with good depth. The smart hub apps work well but it's a shame that you can't reprogramme the Netflix button on the remote control as I only use Amazon Prime Video. The only thing missing is an optical digital audio out. However, it does have a coaxial digital out jack which, fortunately, my home cinema receiver accepts. Overall, an excellent player at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great size with a great output

BDP-S5500 02/12/2015 by Victor18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have brought Sony units before and all work well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DVDs player

BDP-S5500 22/11/2015 by Tobydolly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item a week ago & it is a very good product in that it is a Sony, very compact & works quickly & efficiently. Well wort what I paid for it - good value for money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

wifi function fantastic

BDP-S5500 29/10/2015 by popping (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently. Really pleased with this. WiFi is fantastic. Once setup you can access apps using wifi without ethernet cable. So pleased with this function I bought a second unit and threw out one I had. Sony is great brand. Quality really great as expected. Small compact unit. Don't know about 4k functions as don't have 4k tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0