25

4.6 based on 25 customer reviews

18
5
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very nice player

UBPX1000ES 24/10/2018 by TechGeek73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy using the player. The video and audio outputs are pretty impressive. However, I still have a lot of purchased music CDs as well as CD-Rs I personally created. I do notice that at times, the CD-Rs intermittently skips, and I have to restart the tracks. I am transitioning from the OPPO Digital BDP-103D, and I never had any issues playing these CD-Rs which I keep in immaculate condition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Powers off 2 or 3 times during movie playback

UBPX1000ES 18/06/2018 by adaman7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this unit because it was highly recommended by the electronics store we purchased our new OLED TV at. The unit has never worked properly and has given us problems since the first day we purchased. We have tried updating and everything we could to get the unit to not power off while watching UHD Blue Rays which is the only reason we bought it. I'm very disappointed and will not be buying sony again if they can not resolve the issue.

13

8

25 Customer Reviews

0

UBP-X1000ES Has no Dolby Vision Despite its Cost

UBPX1000ES 22/08/2019 by jghsony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the X1000ES expecting it to support all video formats but was left in the cold when Sony introduced the UBP-X1100ES which supports Dolby Vision. No relief for owners of the X1000ES to upgrade to the X1100ES once that new model was available. I also have a $200 UBP-X700 4K player that DOES support Dolby Vision but I use that one in bedroom.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2019

Hi, jghsony!


We greatly appreciate your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.

Regards,
David

0

Excellent Player

UBPX1000ES 13/07/2019 by SACDfan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Plays just about anything. SACD's are outstanding. Great picture with blu ray. Well constructed, but I might have expected a more substantial three prong power cord for the money. No info on Dolby Vision thus far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Everything that you want in a Player.

UBPX1000ES 24/05/2019 by Will T (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Decided it was time to go 4K 3D, my old player in the Family Room. All Sony Products in my home.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Well thought out design

UBPX1000ES 10/05/2019 by Garylh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The design of this Blu-ray makes many streaming services easy to access. And, this devices recognition of the many streaming and disc formats is totally seamless to the listener... no knowledge required!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product with multiple apps

UBPX1000ES 02/05/2019 by ITSAJAM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to connect and set up and plays like a charm!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

UBPX1000ES 27/04/2019 by Messenger (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player is a upgrade from my older sony 5 disk player l must say what a difference in audio! Big sound stage depth and clarity and picture quality is awesome even older DVDs look good.If you are thinking of buying this player you won't be sorry buy it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great. Very fast. Excellent picture.

UBPX1000ES 30/03/2019 by TRex67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend this player. I had the ubx-80 Sony and I replaced it with this one. I would get this if you are considering the the ubx80, as this 1000 is way faster and has front display that the ubx80 doesn't have. The picture and graphics with this are excellent. Very versatile and easy to set-up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Best 4K Player for your Money

UBPX1000ES 24/03/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality Built I remember Buying My Sony BDPS 1 IN the year 2006 My first BLU-Ray Player. It still works. No Questioning this 4K Player I love everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Surprising features

UBPX1000ES 09/03/2019 by mello_caver (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

In researching this player I found it will output multichannel SACD thru HDMI to appropriate receivers. Plus, it plays 2ch SACDs thru the audio outputs. Excellent! It also loads my blu-rays extremely fast. I only wish the panel display would show track number info. Plus, info on remembering where to resume playback (if disc is stopped) doesn't seem to be mentioned in the manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great picture quality! Audio, not so much.

UBPX1000ES 06/02/2019 by Beneteau First 30E (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredible picture quality and the sound is remarkably clear, but not as resolute as my previous Blu-ray player (Oppo BDP-95) that I am replacing. The Sony Player lacks authority and has poor amplification. It just doesn't draw you in for an immersive Home Theater experience. You get what you pay for. However, it's much faster loading the discs and, as I mentioned, the picture quality is superb. Just as a side note, the legacy Sony ES products were known for having "elevated standards" and build quality. Then again the Sony ES line was super pricey. I guess I expected better performance in the sound output.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Excellent!

UBPX1000ES 26/01/2019 by Kaveman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Surprised at how much better my home theater sounds with this upgrade over the PS3 (for cds) and the PS4 for blu-ray. I have high-end components (Krell, Apogee, Aerial Acoustics, etc.) and this player does an exceptional job transferring audiophile sound with a great picture. If you don't step up to the Oppo (no longer in production) this player comes close for a lot less. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy doing the set up and great picture

UBPX1000ES 30/12/2018 by Buttercup19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned for about 3 weeks and a great picture on my sony old.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

UBPX1000ES

UBPX1000ES 30/12/2018 by Bill Tech (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to upgrade from the Sony BDP-S550. I have had this player one day and have already locked up control input. By pressing fast forward more than once playing a DVD+RW disc. It only responded to power off, then hung up doing that. Had to pull the power cord to fix! This player is missing one important feature. The ability to select 'TIME REMAINING' on the front display. Please find a way to add this even though no remote button exists. Still this is a good product but the firmware needs a little more attention.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Very nice player

UBPX1000ES 24/10/2018 by TechGeek73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy using the player. The video and audio outputs are pretty impressive. However, I still have a lot of purchased music CDs as well as CD-Rs I personally created. I do notice that at times, the CD-Rs intermittently skips, and I have to restart the tracks. I am transitioning from the OPPO Digital BDP-103D, and I never had any issues playing these CD-Rs which I keep in immaculate condition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great Piece

UBPX1000ES 16/10/2018 by JKBB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super piece of equipment. DVD players have come a long way, and Sony has stayed on top for sure. The speed of the unit and pure quality of the movies is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent 4K Player

UBP-X1000ES 15/10/2018 by jghsony (USA)

I have it matched with my Z9F Sound Bar and X900F 4K TV. I attached it to the SB in order to get the best audio capabilities. Its only missing one thing and that is Dolby Vision support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Wonderful for 2 channel audio.

UBPX1000ES 12/10/2018 by Trelawny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily for two channel audio because of it's options of outputs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Goo build quality, great warranty

UBPX1000ES 12/10/2018 by mr2160p (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted to get one of these to connect to my Z9D and ES series A/V receiver. I like the quality of Sony's ES line.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Thank's Sony

UBPX1000ES 05/10/2018 by Romo1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This ES UBP-X1000 Ultra HD Blu-ray DVD Player's performance is truly wonderful. Just finished a simple installation and was treated to a concert performance by "The Eagles" in My Living Room. The player's features and performance made Me feel as though I had front row seats for a private concert. Sony has proven once again, that it is the Leader in Audio and Video Equipment!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Audio and Video

UBPX1000ES 10/09/2018 by LAcouple (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This review is for the Sony UBP-X1000ES. This unit has proven to be an excellent product for both high-resolution music and 4k HDR video reproduction. I mostly use it for listening to SACDs. It sounds great. Very sturdy construction and a three-year warranty add to the value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Powers off 2 or 3 times during movie playback

UBPX1000ES 18/06/2018 by adaman7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this unit because it was highly recommended by the electronics store we purchased our new OLED TV at. The unit has never worked properly and has given us problems since the first day we purchased. We have tried updating and everything we could to get the unit to not power off while watching UHD Blue Rays which is the only reason we bought it. I'm very disappointed and will not be buying sony again if they can not resolve the issue.

13

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2018

Hello adaman7, we're sorry to hear that. To isolate the issue, you may try to reset the player. Kindly visit the link below to know how:
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4687312111.pdf, see page 26.
Regards, _Bob

0

The ultimate in Audio and Video

UBP-X1000ES 09/04/2018 by Smker (USA)

Had purchased a previously released player and liked that compared to others available. With the addition of 4K had to also pick up this model, the video is extremely life-like and audio is crisp and clear. I wish that a feature on my uhp-h1 was on this model, the option of pure direct that cuts the video when listening to music. Love the sleek design and quality build of Sony's players. Get yours while you can.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

9

0

Superb 4K Blu-ray player

UBP-X1000ES 14/10/2017 by Macbob (USA)

I purchased this several months ago and I’m extremely pleased with the picture and sound quality. 4k movies are better looking than the theatre, and my regular Blu-ray movies and concerts have never looked better. CDs and SACD’s are stunning sounding. Matched with my 65” ZD9 Sony tv, I’m in home theater heaven.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

80

0

Great clear picture and movie quality sound.

UBPX1000ES 05/10/2017 by vinnie2750 (USA)

I bought this to complete my home theater. This is a perfect match with my high end AV receiver and speakers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

75

0

FEATURE PACKED PLAYER

UBPX1000ES 04/10/2017 by MR DEVIL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THE PLAYER HAS NUMEROUS ABILITIES TO PLAY THE MAINSTREAM FORMATS SUCH ULTRA BLU-RAY, DVD AUDIO, SACD ETC...

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

24

118

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2017

Hi MR DEVIL, we're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! Regards, ^Ron