21

3.4 based on 21 customer reviews

8
3
5
0
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good quality player

UBP-X1100ES 15/08/2019 by One Happy Camper (USA)

Dolby Vision auto-detect is missing, so minus one star. Other than that, this thing is a champ. I use it a lot to play SACD's. It works flawlessly. The remote has all the functionality I need and more. It has a wide variety of digital and analog outputs which has proven to be very useful. I really like the minimalistic design. One of the most important things to me when buying electronic components is the customer support. There is no one who does it better than Sony. I can get a live, intelligent person on the phone without having to navigate a maddening menu. All Sony needs to do is release a firmware update for the DV auto-detect and I'd gladly give them their star back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

Most Helpful Critical
0

Unbelievable there is no Dobly Vision auto-detect!

UBP-X1100ES 12/08/2019 by Super Mega (USA)

Imagine how super annoying it is to have to closely investigate all of the video formats on your UHD blu-ray disc just to see if it supports Dolby Vision, then you have to completely exit to the system menu and toggle it to Dolby Vision output. Next time you watch a movie, rinse and repeat. Oh don't forget that you *must* go into that menu every time you put in a disc just to check which mode it is in, lest you start watching in the wrong mode! Terrible, Sony. This is supposed to be a high end device. So can this be fixed with a firmware update? If not, it's going back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

24

3

21 Customer Reviews

0

Great AQ/PQ

UBPX1100ES 21/01/2020 by 4runner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm happy with the unit so far. I replaced a UX-80 and am pleased with my decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Apps

UBP-X1100ES 12/01/2020 by NVsarge (USA)

Very disappointed the functionally I enjoyed with the 1000ES is gone with this unit. No app install option (Hulu, Disney, XM, etc.), limited to 3 streaming services (two of which I have no interest). Outstanding picture and audio though. Returning and re-racking the 1000ES.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hello, NVsarge!

I'm sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. We will surely take note of your feedback on the improvement of our products.

Best regards,

Romeo

0

Outstanding video and audio quality - No Apps

UBPX1100ES 12/01/2020 by Steve 911 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing video and audio throughput, makes my purchase of an OLED so much more worthwhile. Easy to setup, lots of auto tuned features so you do not have to be a rocket scientist to figure out how to optimize video/audio settings. Sadly lacking in apps to utilize other streaming sources - a bitter realization at this price point. On the Apps that come on this product for network streaming, picture/sound/no latency is impressive. Again, only 3 services that work with this product - a serious design flaw.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still Curious about Streaming

UBPX1100ES 04/01/2020 by manniquin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still Curious about Streaming. one of the reasons to buy this was to have the ability to stream Disney +... So far, it 'appears' that will not be possible with this device. But I did need a new 4K player and OPPO jumped out of the market, so I went with Sony. The TV has worked flawlessly for a year

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2020

Hi, manniquin!

We're sorry but the Disney+ app isn't supported and we cannot use the app on Blu-ray Disc™ players.

Regards,

Erin

0

Great product

UBPX1100ES 31/12/2019 by James BNC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product, so far I have it for a month and all works well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/01/2020

Hi, James BNC!

That's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the product. Thank you for choosing Sony.

~Earl

0

4K Blu-ray to blow you away!

UBPX1100ES 16/12/2019 by Kitchenman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently installed my new UBP-X1100ES as a upgrade from my two year old Sony UBP-X800 Blu-ray player. The new model offered faster starts, a picture upgrade and additional analog RCA outputs. The build quality is excellent and it fit into my equipment setup with ease.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Works great. Very fast. Great features.

UBPX1100ES 05/12/2019 by TRex67 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This replaced a UBP-800 and it's been a great replacement. I've only used it about 2 weeks but so far it's amazing. The picture quality is awesome. The speed of power on to ready is super-fast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Great Sound and Great Picture

UBPX1100ES 07/11/2019 by JDawg (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I mostly use this unit for listening to SACDs. It does a great job and is so much better than other models that play CDs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Freezing up after 4 months of ownership

UBP-X1100ES 01/11/2019 by retroalli (USA)

I bought this player as soon as it came out and have been very pleased with its performance and video quality but, after four months, it has now frozen up and shut itself down three times in one week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

4

Response From Sony Social Support
02/11/2019

Hello,retroalli!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Steaming what happened!!

UBP-X1100ES 28/10/2019 by Audio Video Innovations (USA)

I had the UBP-1000ES and it had a issue of rebooting every now and then so Sony was very nice to send a replacement the UBP-X1100ES. But the home page is very basic and only has netflix / amazon / and youtube. were is everything else?

7

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/10/2019

Hi, Audio Video Innovationstscqz0evohzfe10su6k97qlpu!

We regret to hear the issue with this unit. You can isolate this issue by following the troubleshooting steps from the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x1100es/articles/00175201

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Great features and exceptional build quality

UBPX1100ES 23/09/2019 by Dreday1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine a month ago and I love it The player is built like a tank with awesome features and picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/09/2019

Hi, Dreday1!

Thank for the star rating! We appreciate it! Thank you for choosing Sony!.

Regards,
David

0

Best DVD Player for OLED Television

UBPX1100ES 21/09/2019 by Follower of Christ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Movies load quickly and the navigation is easy. The available apps are easy to maneuver. Easy to set up. I have a nice receiver, but it is pre-UHD passthrough. This DVD player allows me to send UHD signal to TV, separate from audio so I'm still able to get the best picture with great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2019

Hi, Follower of Christ!

We're happy that you're satisfied with your purchase! Thank you for sharing this awesome review!

Regards,
Sam

0

Freezes

UBP-X1100ES 16/09/2019 by techplayer (USA)

This is the 3rd model Sony UHD Blu-Ray Player I have purchased and they all Intermittently freeze during playback of UHD discs.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/09/2019

Hi, techplayer!

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
[Insert platform name] Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.


Sincerely,
David

0

Look for that Dolby Vision logo on the Disc's Case

UBP-X1100ES 29/08/2019 by Bravo Bravia (USA)

How ridiculous would this sound (see title)? Sony, please push a firmware update to let this 4k blu-ray player auto-detect Dolby Vision as we customers are not spending high dollars and still having to do this MANUAL work! It's supposed to be your flagship and we're in year 2019 now! Get your act together and have this fixed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/09/2019

Hi Bravo Bravia,

Thank you for writing us your review about the player. We are sorry to inform you that, Sony doesn’t have any plan to update Dolby Vision for UBP-X1000ES. An update is technically impossible from a hardware standpoint.

We looked at all options to update this model but were unsuccessful due to hardware limitations.

Thank you for your understanding.


Regards,

Erin

0

Good quality player

UBP-X1100ES 15/08/2019 by One Happy Camper (USA)

Dolby Vision auto-detect is missing, so minus one star. Other than that, this thing is a champ. I use it a lot to play SACD's. It works flawlessly. The remote has all the functionality I need and more. It has a wide variety of digital and analog outputs which has proven to be very useful. I really like the minimalistic design. One of the most important things to me when buying electronic components is the customer support. There is no one who does it better than Sony. I can get a live, intelligent person on the phone without having to navigate a maddening menu. All Sony needs to do is release a firmware update for the DV auto-detect and I'd gladly give them their star back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/08/2019

Hello, One Happy Camper!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Unbelievable there is no Dobly Vision auto-detect!

UBP-X1100ES 12/08/2019 by Super Mega (USA)

Imagine how super annoying it is to have to closely investigate all of the video formats on your UHD blu-ray disc just to see if it supports Dolby Vision, then you have to completely exit to the system menu and toggle it to Dolby Vision output. Next time you watch a movie, rinse and repeat. Oh don't forget that you *must* go into that menu every time you put in a disc just to check which mode it is in, lest you start watching in the wrong mode! Terrible, Sony. This is supposed to be a high end device. So can this be fixed with a firmware update? If not, it's going back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

24

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2019

Hi, Super Mega! We apologize for the inconvenience. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We'll pass this to the proper department. ~Ralph

0

Dolby Atmos for Netflix and Imax

UBP-X1100ES 23/07/2019  (USA)

The UBP-X1100ES player is not supporting Dolby Atmos for Netflix application and it is not a Certified IMAX product. I think this is a negative point for the product.

15

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/07/2019

Hi, Ali!

We're sorry to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

NO DOLBY VISION AUTO DETECTION!!!

UBP-X1100ES 21/07/2019 by Dre327 (USA)

Not having this feature is inexcusable! Sony needs to add Dolby Vision auto detection to their players ASAP!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

28

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Dre327! We appreciate bringing this to our attention. We value your feedback and we will surely take note of this for the betterment of our products.. We'll forward this to the proper department. ~Ralph

0

Awesome Player of All Formats

UBP-X1100ES 19/07/2019 by Big Jerry (USA)

I love this player! I was leaning towards the new Panasonic DP-UB9000, but it is not a universal player and it is $400 more. This player does it all playing any format. It has two HDMI outs, two digital outs, RCA analogue outs, ethernet, RS232C, WiFi, and Bluetooth. It is solidly built and looks like a component. Picture and sound quality are amazing. Though the specs on the Sony ES UBP-X1100ES are pretty similar to the Sony UBP-X800M2 (I have one of these as well), this is an upgrade all around from that unit. You will love this player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Bad DV Implementation

UBP-X1100ES 13/07/2019 by Jr1971 (USA)

$600 for a player that can't auto detect DV? No thanks. Sony should know better. Every 4K player in the market can do DV auto detection except for Sony. This is an ES model and there should be absolutely no reason for this player not to have DV auto detection. I'm always been loyal to Sony but sadly they are forcing me to go with a different brand. Sony listens? Listen to this: A lot of loyal customers aren't happy about your players manual DV implementation, please do the right thing and fix this up via firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

34

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2019

Hi, Jr1971!

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

~Earl

0

VERY GOOD

UBP-X1100ES 04/06/2019 by DJS7744VJS (USA)

VERY GOOD 4 K BLU RAY PLAYERS VERY GOOD AUDIO AND VIDEO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

42