377

4.2 based on 377 customer reviews

233
74
21
16
33
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great picture quality but Dolby Vision needs work!

UBP-X700 26/09/2018 by nabeelsheikh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago with the updated firmware that supports Dolby Vision. Overall great image quality. The set is a bit basic in bulid and much smaller that the UBP-X800 with no digital display or screen on the set. However one huge advatange is that with a firmware update it supports Dolby Vision. This is, however SEVERELY hampered - unfortunately, the unit does not auto-switch when you play a Dolby Vision disc which means that a) the switching has to be done manually from the menu and b) if you don’t know a disc has Dolby Vision and you don't therefore activate it in the menu, you miss out on the benefits (it can be quite difficult to see on Blu Ray discs whether a Dolby Vision signal is included) Sony - this could be an excellent product... please come up with a firmware update that auto-switches Dolby Vision on when it detects a Dolby Vision signal!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X700

UBPX700 18/08/2018 by GrizzlyAdams (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product and great picture when it works. I have had the unit freeze up multiple times playing Blu-ray, DVD and Blu-ray 4k ultra.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

377 Customer Reviews

0

very pleased

UBPX700 03/08/2020 by Yogi Beara (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

we had an old thing on it's last legs. this one is so quick and works so nice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome!

UBP-X700 30/07/2020 by CamMan962 (USA)

I recently gotten this new 4K UHD Blu-ray player for Christmas this past year and its been very great to use. It has great picture quality with the video and the audio is great too. I have noticed that it does lag a little with the audio on playback, whenever it comes out of being paused. But it only lasts like about 2-3 seconds and the audio is back. I know that is something people have said in their reviews about it and I don't mind it. All you can simply do is just rewind it and that is it. What I also have noticed lately is that I have encounter a few minor issues that started about 3 months ago in April. Sometimes when I try to play a DVD, it would do either two things: 1.) It would start to play, but it would not continue on and would show a blank screen, indicating it would be stuck (I press the "Display" button on the remote and I would see it not play); or 2.) It would pop up an error message stating the disc could not be read or unable to play and to check to make sure that the disc is clean of scratches and is playable. I never had encountered this kind of problem before with my player and it was a little frustrating. But to help fix it, I just reset the player or unplug it for about 30 seconds to a minute, so that it can restart itself back up. Once I did that, it worked again and that was it. It doesn't happen every time or every day, it only happens like once in a while and its rare to happen. That is why its an easy fix to do and why I went online to Sony's website and their forum on what to do. I probably plan to mention this to Sony and see what they can do to fix this minor issue because from what I read from other people, they said it could possibly be a software issue and that is another thing to that I do, I always make sure that I keep the player up to date and I have the latest software version installed. I just hope that Sony would release a new software version update since its been over a year since they did. Besides that, the only other minor issue I have also encountered lately is the Internet connection sometimes. It started about a few weeks ago and I've noticed that when I also check on updating the Services of the built-in apps for the player, it would give me a message stating that it a network connection cannot be confirmed and that I would need to setup the Network settings, even though I already have and the player is connected to the Internet. After encountering this other issue, it still does it and it gets annoying. Luckily, I went online to Sony's forum for advice and it seems that the reason that it is doing it is because of several reasons relating to my Internet/Network setup and some of them could be that I would need to either reset my modem, check for any connection issues with my ISP or if there any interferences from other networks, or if the Network is busy during a high period of streaming services. Either way, I found that the simplest way to fix this minor issue was to reset my player by unplugging it for 30 seconds and then plug it back in. After that, it worked. But that is something else I have encountered and one I am going to look at into more with equipment and my ISP, so that the issue doesn't repeat itself. I have only encountered it about like 2 times and that is it. But that will be something else I will also talk to Sony about. Anyways, in conclusion, while I may have encountered two minor issues with the player, it doesn't discourage that its a bad player. This is a really great 4K UHD Blu-ray player. It is fast, has great video/picture and audio quality, and has the latest technology in home entertainment. My biggest advice to everyone has it or plans to get it, make sure you take extra special care of it and make sure that you have it up to date on the latest software too, and if you do encounter some of the issues I have stated in my review, just go to Sony's website for help and you will be fine. I just hope that there will be a new software version for the player very soon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY IS QUALITY IS

UBPX700 30/07/2020 by JANY 59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

IM HAPPY WITH THE SONY 4K ULTRA HD BLU-RAY.EXCELLENT

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Buy

UBPX700 29/07/2020 by Minister Ann (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoyed the features and ease of operation. I also liked the arrangement of apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to install

UBP-X700 27/07/2020 by Chrissy Lyn (United Kingdom)

Easy to install with my Sony 4khdr TV. Upscales my old DVDS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k blue ray player

UBPX700 26/07/2020 by Branton (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had for 3 week froze up once it has no display And a very small power on light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love it except the pause feature doesn't work

UBPX700 21/07/2020 by Nymeria (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish that the pause feature would last for longer than 15 minutes or so. Whenever I pause my Blu ray disc, the blu ray machine shuts off automatically, after 15 min. or so, which is inconvenient as then I have to power it on and go back in and find the place where I was, which isn't convenient.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Unplug and re-plug to gain back power

UBPX700 21/07/2020 by Koolp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lost power after several hours of non-use. I had to unplug and to plug it back in to get the power back. This happens when plugged in to a Soundbar. It's okay if it's plugged in directly to the TV but then you don't have Dolby Atmos. I tried to use the HDMI Out Audio only but no sound. Sony told me to unplug the HDMI cable and turn Control for HDMI to Off. That didn't work either. Sony replaced the player but just the same it didn't work. I think the problem is the setup program. It's turning the player off for some reason. They should give a software update. So, now the rating is one star only because that is the lowest rating.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great update!

UBPX700 20/07/2020 by Craig1204 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product that replaced much older version. Come on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This blueray player is a GEM!

UBPX700 17/07/2020 by Bolinger 48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This blueray player is awesome!!! Set-up was a snap......and "getting to Netflix " is faster than fast! We couldn't be more pleased!!! Crutchfield did it again!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compatibility to both on-line files and home mpg

UBPX700 17/07/2020 by Roy48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This model does not have the issues of not being able to accurately play computer generated MPG files. I would like to see a description on how to configure a media server on this system; i have one configured and I do not how it got configured. I would also like to see search capabilities on YouTube and Amazon Prime.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Blue Ray

UBPX700 15/07/2020 by Birman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good product with lots of features that give you flexibility in setting up a video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed in failure

UBPX700 13/07/2020 by Starrman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Guys, I have always had excellent experience with all my Sony stuff, except this X700. It was my primary for my Home Theater, which BTW I only get to use 1 per month due to my travel. Bought it in Dec 2018, and it totally failed when I went to use it. Tried to get support no luck. Just threw it in the trash and pondering whether to buy again...I hope your reviews are more positive. With Regrets, Neil

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Easy set up-great features

UBPX700 13/07/2020 by hallfatboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product easy to use and great performance Sony quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Enhances TV Picture

UBPX700 09/07/2020 by Kathy Fun (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This HD Blu-ray Player improves the quality of the TV I'm watching. Further, I'm able to add apps, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Works great!

UBPX700 09/07/2020 by Ringofonebone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good. I love it! No problems. Easy install.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Easy to set-up works beautifully

UBPX700 08/07/2020 by Verdell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product was effortess to setup and so easy to use, wish I would have purchased it sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great Features!!!

UBPX700 08/07/2020 by Nique (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just brought this Blu-Ray receiver & it's great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Excellent picture upscaling of DVD to 4K

UBP-X700 05/07/2020 by GWR man (United Kingdom)

Bought this as i was unhappy with my previous DVD player that upscales to HD when viewed on my new Sony Bravia 4K TV. So pleased with the result i bought a second one for my second 4K Bravia TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

The player is dead, will not update...

UBPX700 04/07/2020 by jharris9999 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned this unit since it first came out. At some point it tried to update over wifi and then became a BRICK. I've called Sony customer support 3 times with no luck. Avoid this unit and possible Sony Blue Ray players all together unitl they improve thier device software. BTW, when it worked the player did an amazing job of deliving a beatiful picture, but it's not worth the risk.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/07/2020

Hi jharris9999, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY. We're glad you like the picture quality of our product. SONY provides a 1-year limited warranty for this unit. We would like to check your file so we can better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Works Good

UBPX700 03/07/2020 by videowood (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works functions good, but HiFi sound a little weak.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Easy to use

UBPX700 02/07/2020 by COMAZZA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Performs very well, not enought buttons on the front

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great purchase!

UBPX700 29/06/2020 by Dr Schwartz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a week ago after reading several very positive reviews. Extremely pleased with this player after watching several 4K movies. It is simply terrific and easy to operate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Another poorly designed product from Sony

UBP-X700 28/06/2020 by davidsco (USA)

If you enjoy randomly having to waste your time resetting all your setting, this piece of junk is the player for you. Yep, as with other Sony models this one too will randomly reset itself to Factory causing you to have to go through and reset every setting to your liking again, including all the apps. Oh, and as for the apps, don't expect them to last as Sony sunsets them early. Even their own Crackle no longer works. Hulu too. What a pathetic company this is

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/07/2020

Hi davidsco, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. This is not the experience we want our customers to have. We would like to turn your opinion around. Please make sure the firmware is up to date to avoid issues. You may check the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/downloads/00015979

SONY provides a 1-year limited warranty for this unit. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Great Picture

UBPX700 25/06/2020 by Greatwhite 2020 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I only had this player for a day and watched 30 minutes of video, I am very happy with the picture and sound quality. Maybe I am overly optimistic, but so far, I have a smile on my face.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2020

Hi Greatwhite 2020, thank you for the kind words and we’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Regards, Erin

0

4k blu Ray player

UBPX700 22/06/2020 by rccurtin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product last month and it’s awesome. Delivers outstanding picture quality and it works beautifully.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/07/2020

Hi, Rccurtin,

Good to know that you are happy with your purchase! Thank you for choosing SONY. Jay

0

UBP-X700 DVD player

UBPX700 19/06/2020 by Mel99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed help from a tech savvy son to hook up to WiFi but once we got it connected it is easy to use and control. Everything but the sound bar is controlled by the remote. I can play DVDs, stream Netflix and Amazon Prime, and switch inputs all from the remote.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi Mel99, thank you for the kind words and we’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Regards, Erin

0

Awesome 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray

UBPX700 18/06/2020 by bryantnatl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best Blu-ray I have ever owned so far, great looking 4K and really love the software and smart hub and the way it works would buy it again

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi, bryantnatl, We are happy that your Sony Blu-ray player is the best player you have ever owned. Thank you for choosing Sony! -VIncent

0

Great Blu-ray player!

UBPX700 11/06/2020 by MikeBoston56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m trying to lessen a lot of electronics I have to make way for new furniture and the addition of a 4K smart tv when it becomes necessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/06/2020

Hi MikeBoston56, We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Where Are The APPs?

UBPX700 10/06/2020 by Jeepster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great video and sound. Poor selection of APPs and no browser.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi, Jeepster, We're glad that you appreciate the quality of video and sound from the Blu-ray player. We apologize if the applications failed to meet your expectations. The UBP-X700 has applications such as Netflix, Youtube, and Prime Video to enjoy fast, stable streaming from this unit. For more details, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony StoreUsername:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Jay

0

Great for the money

UBPX700 10/06/2020 by svid (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd UBPX700 I have one UBPX1000ES in my theater room with my XBR75Z9D

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Looking for Amazon Prime and got more!

UBPX700 07/06/2020 by DilbertW01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought another Sony BluRay only to find out that the ones in its model that were serial #4000000 or higher had Amazon Prime cut off. We had one that was 4110000 something. I took it back. I got an LG from Best Buy. Big mistake. Took it back. I tried one more time with this one. It is quick, has Amazon Prime and seems to be a great unit. I got the 3 year protection plan on it - just in case. We really like this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2020

Hi DilbertW01, Awesome! We're glad to hear that this is what you are looking for in a 4K player. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Great Product

UBPX700 06/06/2020 by Tommy P (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good. Does everything I want it to do with excellent quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2020

Hi Tommy, That's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the UBP-X700. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

nice player

UBPX700 02/06/2020 by joeblob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this player because i cut the cable. i use it in the bedroom, the apps work fine even though my modem is in the living room, two rooms and 30 feet away. i expected some buffering, there has been none yet. the dvd player is real sensive to dirty discs though,i have had to remove and clean the disc a few times. overall i love it , it does just what i wanted it to, perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/06/2020

Hi joeblob, Wow! We're very pleased to hear you're enjoying your ubpx700. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Super Sharp Picture Super Sound

UBPX700 24/05/2020 by Tatertot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony UBP-800M2 is a perfect match to our Sony 4K TV picture and sound are amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2020

Hi Tatertot, Wow! We're very pleased to hear that the unit works perfectly with your 4K TV. Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

Terrible product

UBPX700 18/05/2020 by Stan J (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The unit does not allow me to download an app even though there is a screen called My Apps. STUPID.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi Stan J, we're sorry to hear that our product failed your expectations. Apps cannot be added or installed to the Blu-ray Disc player, and they can not be removed or uninstalled. Only apps that are preinstalled on your player can be used. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Earl

0

Quality product

UBPX700 16/05/2020 by Mary55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was easy to install and connect to QLED TV once I changed the HDMI cable to 2.00 and 18gps, Easy to setup and use, picture quality great, sound great using sound bar hdmi arc

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi Mary55, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Very useful and works very well with home WiFi.

UBPX700 13/05/2020 by GlenP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace DVD player, and does a very good job with streaming and various dvd formats

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

Hi GlenP, Awesome! We're glad to hear you're enjoying your UBP-X700 4K player. Thanks for sharing your feedback. -Sam

0

New experience!

UBPX700 12/05/2020 by Vic D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replacing MY OLD Friend,the 2009 laptop was heart rendering but I am very pleased with Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

H, Vic, We are glad you are very pleased with your new Blu-ray player. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

A Remarkable Player

UBPX700 12/05/2020 by Koksie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player about two weeks ago and I am just beginning to put it through its paces. So far, it is performing very well connected to my 12-year plus Sharp Aquos LCD 52-inch television. I expect it to show its true colors when I hook it up to my soon-to-be purchased QLED 55-incher. I may then consider updating this review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/05/2020

Hi Koksie, we are glad to hear that the player works well. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Great

UBPX700 08/05/2020 by duck eggs (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this 4k dvd player for 3 weeks , watched a lot of movies no problems

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/05/2020

Hi duck eggs, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl

0

Door stuck first month, then stopped

UBPX700 05/05/2020 by Legendsofheaven (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the third player before I found one that worked good. I had to go into the store because they believed that the first one was damaged through mail handling. I tried another Sony product and it didn't work it would pause all the time and you missed part of the show about every 60 Seconds even if you were just watching TV. This one plays fine but I have never used the Wi-Fi or connected it because my Wi-Fi is weak. I use it just for playing DVD and Blu-ray and it works perfectly. The second one I bought the coloring of everything looked like I had gone back to the 1960s and it all looked Brown and hazy and I didn't think I would ever find one that worked. I don't like that you can't see anything on the front. I wish it told you where you were in the movie and had the time of day on the actual player. I like to watch movies in a dark room because they show up better especially in dark scenes and I really rather there be some buttons on the actual player because if the remote ever breaks there's no way to use the device. I've never had a device that I couldn't use without the remote and I think that's a huge drawback and why I gave it a four. It is superior to the others I tried including LG and another Sony. I'm using it with a brand new Vizio TV. The design looks nice except for the lack of being functionable from the actual device and I don't like that there are no numbers or clock or anything on the actual device. There's a button on the remote you can push to see where you're at in the show so that if you stop it you know where you were. I do like the fact that even if the power is off it's intelligent enough to know where I was in a movie and start right back where I was most of the time but not all of the time. I have had electronic devices in multiple rooms of my house since they first came out with them. I grew up in a theater and so watching movies has been a huge part of my life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi Legendsofheaven, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

My new DVD/Blu-Ray Player

UBPX700 05/05/2020 by Ms Jane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this today. It was very easy to install and start using. I love it!!! I've already watched 2 movies. The picture and sound quality were excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi Ms Jane, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl

0

Blu-ray Player

UBPX700 04/05/2020 by Paddler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The device is amazingly simple to hook up, configure, and use. I highly recommend it. The only feature I would like to see added is the ability to add sites that are not hard wired into the system, such as "Curiosity Stream," etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2020

Hi Paddler, Wow! We're happy to know you're enjoying your UBP-X700. We really appreciate the feedback and suggestions. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Does not work properly

UBPX700 03/05/2020 by Mikewilkns (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player flashes a grey snowy screen many times when I try to watch amazon or Netflix. Will be returning the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture

UBPX700 27/04/2020 by FreddyPro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does everything it claims to do. Simple menu. Good product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/04/2020

Hi FreddyPro, we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Sony UBP- X700

UBPX700 24/04/2020 by Fraug (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this UHD DVD player for about a month and it’s easy to operate and provides a great viewing experience with very good audio quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/04/2020

Hi Fraug, we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! ~Earl

0

Good basic features.

UBPX700 23/04/2020 by TKnut (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago, Still not sure if 4K is better than blu-ray

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/04/2020

Hi TKnut, we're glad you like our product. Get the best seat in the house with this 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player. Lose yourself in theater and TV shows in High Dynamic Range Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great unit. Wondering if it plays region 2 discs?

UBP-X700 18/04/2020 by Sjtweave (USA)

Is this a region free player? Can it play region 2 DVDs?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/04/2020

Hi Sjtweave, we're glad you like our product. You may find this link helpful:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00029369

Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great Blu-Ray Player!

UBPX700 17/04/2020 by Wornslick (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to send my first one back due to some freezing issues but the second one is working just fine so far. I love the player, great picture and unlike other reviews I like the size of the remote!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/04/2020

Hi Wornslick, we're glad you love our product. Get the best seat in the house with this 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player. Lose yourself in theater and TV shows in High Dynamic Range. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great Job!

UBPX700 15/04/2020 by PSC64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony Blu-Ray player the same time as I bought a new Samsung 4K TV. The Sony Blue-Ray is connected to my 15 year (?) old Sony STR DE835 receiver. Great picture and sound but the UBP-X700 needs a display. My old Blu-Ray, a Sony S370 has a display but I had to feel the buttons to tell what is being pressed. My new system is in a cabinet and it makes it hard to see where I am with this player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/04/2020

Hi, PSC64, It is good to hear that your new Blu-ray player works great with your TV and with your old receiver. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. -Vincent

0

Great product all around!

UBPX700 12/04/2020 by BKriley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this DVD player over a month ago and have really put it to the test! Would recommend this to anyone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/04/2020

That's awesome, BKriley! We are glad to hear about your feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Problems turning on the blu-ray player

UBPX700 07/04/2020 by dls8459 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having trouble with the remote. It doesn't seem to turn on the unit unless I unplug it and plug it back in. Then I had problems accessing the menu.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2020

Hi, dls8459,

We are sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Blu-ray player. To isolate this remote issue, we suggest performing troubleshooting steps: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00006827.

If you are still having the same issue, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

great product

UBPX700 02/04/2020 by RWSJR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a mouth ago and I think it is great I would recommend this Blu-ray player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/04/2020

Hi RWSJR, Awesome! We're very pleased to hear you're enjoying your Bluray player. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Great features

UBPX700 31/03/2020 by Sprinman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago and live every feature and the 4 k is absolutely great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2020

Hi Sprinman, Fantastic! We're happy to hear you're enjoying your t 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

love the features

UBPX700 31/03/2020 by Chop47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the product for the APPs Netflix and Prime. The BluRay Player is Vivid Beautiful color.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2020

@Chop47, great! We're glad that you like the picture quality and the features of the player. We appreciate your star rating review and thank you for choosing Sony/! -Erin

0

No Disney+ App

UBP-X700 31/03/2020 by RLJ43 (USA)

I was misled by the salesman at Best Buy who assured me that apps could be installed by the user after purchase which is not the case. Since I wanted to use it as a 4K streaming platform that was very dissapointing. Sony, why can't you update your app list with the most popular apps, i.e., Sling, Disney+, etc. I guarantee you that would make a lot of customers including me happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2020

Hi RLJ43, we are sorry for the misinformation. The Disney+ app is not supported by our BD players. Erin

0

Plus on features and speed Negative for quality

UBPX700 28/03/2020 by DrCoffee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am writing about my experiece with my purchase and the replacement received because of first device failure. After several months the player began regularly failing to keep personsl settings and would during normal use lock up and not turn off or escape the current screen being displayed. Unplugging the device and re-entering all personal information and sign-ins to streaming applications was required. I returned this first device and the second has worked as expected for several months. However, it too is experienceing the same failures. I am going to see if Sony will take this back and provide me with a different model that is more reliable / less trouble to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/03/2020

Hi DrCoffee, we are sorry that you're having the same exact issue with the replacement player. We would like to know how we can further assist you with this. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Seems cheaply made

UBPX700 25/03/2020 by Black dog dad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It seems to be working OK. If your going to plug into the USB port you need to grab a hold from the back because the unit is so light weight. I'm used to previous units that had some substance to them. Way too much money for what you receive. Wouldn't do it again and sure would NOT recommend this to a friend. Sadly disappointed in Sony, years ago I couldn't say anything but good about their products. Now instead of maintaining quality they manufacture junk..

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/03/2020

Hi, Black dog dad, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on your Blu-ray player. We will forward your review to the proper department. We appreciate your time. -Vincent

0

Love it!

UBPX700 21/03/2020 by EdSC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded my Blu-ray player to this 3-D capable model to take advantage of a new home theater projector. I absolutely love it. The only thing that could be a drawback for some people is the inability to add more apps. But I think this is pretty standard for most “smart” Blu-ray players. It came with all the apps I use (Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, YouTube and Netflix). All apps stream wirelessly with no issues. The most exciting thing about this player for me is the 3-D capability. I have watched seven 3-D movies and it has performed flawlessly using the separate Audio and Video HDMI outputs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/03/2020

Hi EdSC,

We are glad that you like the 4K player. We also appreciate your detailed review. Thanks for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Mediocre Player

UBPX700 10/03/2020 by talltexan58 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first Blueray DVD player. I was disappointed that it felt so cheap for the price, but setup was painless. Also disappointed the remote is not universal - It has TV power and input buttons but guess that's only for Sony TVs. I like that it gives you wireless access to apps like Prime Video and Netflix but the selection of apps is very slim compared to a Roku. Picture quality is very good but a standard DVD I played showed flickering lights at the top of the picture even though it plays fine in my BOSE DVD player.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/03/2020

Hi talltexan58,

Good to know that you like the picture quality of the unit. The remote must be programmed depending on the manufacturer. You may refer to page 11 of this link for steps on programming the remote:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4698/004dd925e705a2ef013ac81130d0ab2a/46984061M.pdf

For the picture issue that you are having, please refer the troubleshooting steps on this link:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00184822

If still not resolved, please visit the Sony support site and look for Contact Support for different ways to reach us.

~Ralph

0

Truly Great Guality

UBPX700 09/03/2020 by T12345SS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I added this to my equipment, because the human interface for my prior 4K DVD player was not friendly. This has a human interface that one would expect from a high quality DVD player and gives me the stunning video that i expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/03/2020

Hi T12345SS,

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

satisfied

UBPX700 09/03/2020 by a50s (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

works as expected. happy with performance.well made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/03/2020

Hi, a50s. We are glad to hear that the unit works as expected, and you are happy with it. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent