222

4.2 based on 222 customer reviews

139
43
11
9
20
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great picture quality but Dolby Vision needs work!

UBP-X700 26/09/2018 by nabeelsheikh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago with the updated firmware that supports Dolby Vision. Overall great image quality. The set is a bit basic in bulid and much smaller that the UBP-X800 with no digital display or screen on the set. However one huge advatange is that with a firmware update it supports Dolby Vision. This is, however SEVERELY hampered - unfortunately, the unit does not auto-switch when you play a Dolby Vision disc which means that a) the switching has to be done manually from the menu and b) if you don’t know a disc has Dolby Vision and you don't therefore activate it in the menu, you miss out on the benefits (it can be quite difficult to see on Blu Ray discs whether a Dolby Vision signal is included) Sony - this could be an excellent product... please come up with a firmware update that auto-switches Dolby Vision on when it detects a Dolby Vision signal!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X700

UBPX700 18/08/2018 by GrizzlyAdams (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product and great picture when it works. I have had the unit freeze up multiple times playing Blu-ray, DVD and Blu-ray 4k ultra.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

245 Customer Reviews

0

great features

UBPX700 27/11/2019 by oday (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product a few days ago it works good only used it a few tims

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful BluRay 3D player !!

UBPX700 26/11/2019 by Bob In Towson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace another Sony BlyRay player (an earlier model) that still works perfectly. I have been able to count on Sony all my life !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

I got two lemons?

UBP-X700 26/11/2019 by Jeffhencie (USA)

I bought the DVD player from Best Buy at a very good price. But I could not get the remote control to work right out of the box. I had it exchanged for a new one.. well, it worked this time...but in less than two weeks’ time, my TV could not even detect it. When it did, the images and audio went on and off. I replaced the HDMI cable, still could not correct the problem. I am really disappointed that something like this could happen on a Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/11/2019

Hi, Jeffhencie!

We regret to hear about what happened. Please make sure that the software of the unit is up-to-date:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/downloads/00015979

You may also perform a factory reset to help isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00139302

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Sony Blu-ray UBP-X700

UBPX700 17/11/2019 by Aaryan1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard time getting apps to login into my accounts. Also unable to add apps .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/11/2019

Hello, Aaryan1!

We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. Your feedback has been duly noted to improve our products and services.

You can add or remove apps from the My Apps section on your Blu-ray Disc™ player. However, unlike a computer, tablet, or mobile device, the Blu-ray Disc player doesn't allow apps to be manually added. You can only add the apps available in the All Apps menu of your device.

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Feature set is good, sale price makes it a bargain

UBPX700 17/11/2019 by daddyor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far, so good. Good feature set @ good price (on sale). Quick to load with good picture and audio quality. Op instructions do decent job of explaining all the features but can be somewhat confusing to wade through if you are a casual user of modern A/V devices. Setup was straight-forward with only 3 wires to connect in my case.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
21/11/2019

Hello, daddyor!

Awesome! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Good Player, But..........

UBPX700 15/11/2019 by Dfisher44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality isn't an issue with me. It is a good player, but there are a lot of good players out there. I made the mistake of buying the Sony instead of LG, based on the recommendation of the sales person, who told me the Sony was the better player. But he didn't tell me the incompatibility with my new LG TV and SoundBar. Maybe I just can't figure out how to do it, yet, but right now I have to use two remotes instead of one. Maybe I'll get it figured out, but if I had it to do over, I would have purchased the LG instead, where compatibility isn't an issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/11/2019

Hi, Dfisher44

We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We'll pass this to the proper team. Thank you.


Erin

0

Great value

UBPX700 13/11/2019 by Ejcampeau (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I buy Sony products as often as I can and this player did not disappoint. Good value!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Better than Roku

UBPX700 12/11/2019 by Caveman80 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Plays 4K awesomely Amazon and Netflix works better than our Roku. And it is one of the newer Roku that supports 4K. The interface is fast and responsive with little to no lag on the apps. Also integrates well with our Bravia 4K tv. It is very slim and easy to “hide” if that’s what’s important. It could definitely use some more apps tho.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality control ?

UBP-X700 10/11/2019 by Andy75 (United Kingdom)

Unfortunately this is another poor Sony product I’ve purchased over the past 2 years. Both of which became faulty a couple of months out of warranty. Just about every movie I watch on it freezes several times. Then the machine switches itself off. So then I have to go through the process of reloading and going through the disc menus to find the part of the movie it froze on, and continue watching. I’m very disappointed in recent Sony purchases. Lots of owners online have encountered the same issue.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Continues Sony's run of good quality players.

UBP-X700 10/11/2019 by Macmador (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace my BPD-s5200 Blu-ray player. It's unsurprisingly a slightly more advanced device, but effortless to learn. Its apps run much more quickly. The main menu screen is more intelligently designed so there is less need to hit the arrow keys. So far I've not suffered the nuisance loud vibration experienced with the BDP-s5200 on certain films. I withheld one star because it's an ugly-looking beast, boring and black like some hardback book bereft its dust-jacket. But overall it performs very well, if overpriced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really feel good about buying this

UBPX700 09/11/2019 by Robert123456 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very good Blu-ray player with all the top apps like VUDU, AMAZON Prime Video, Netflix Youtube Hulu Crackle and TUBI TV, it also has Pandora and Sirius XM and other apps, It plays real 4k on the apps also and of course the Blu Ray player does too. I bought a cheapo Samsung Blu-ray player when my Sony PS3 started to not read Blu Rays anymore, and that was horrible! so I did research on wha was the cheapest and best Blu Ray player that had 4k capabilities and I ended up buying Sony X700, there were cheaper brands but with Sony brands you know it will probably be better quality. Its good to buy something and not regret your purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent 4K

UBPX700 08/11/2019 by Drew88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a month ago and have enjoyed the Sony Experience!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice features but lack few things..!!

UBP-X700 06/11/2019 by silans (USA)

Nice features but lack in playing eac3 codec videos and No amazon prime included...only have Youtube and Netflix application on board...no option to add other apps too.. sad...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hi,silans!

We will forward your feedback to the relevant team. Thank you for the feedback and for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

So easy to use

UBPX700 04/11/2019 by brownie3492 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've the 4K player for about a month and so far I have had no complaints. Its easy to use and the quality is amazing. Fully satisfied with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect performance

UBPX700 27/10/2019 by LouieCat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has changed my whole movie-watching experience! Besides playing Blu-rays, I am using this player to stream digital 4K UHD movies from various websites. It passes through the Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos features without a problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/11/2019

Hello, LouieCat!

We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

So easy to use and superb quality

UBP-X700 25/10/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using my laptop for playing dvds on my TV for years I decided if I was getting a machine to play dvds etc I was going top end. This is amazing with great features including Netflix and superb quality. Made watching Suranne Jones even more pleasurable!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Decent playback and up scaling

UBPX700 18/10/2019 by 10110R (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two months ago. The unit won’t connect to Wi-Fi even though I followed all the directions and tried multiple times. The play back feature and up scaling is great. I would not buy this product again. I won’t recommend anybody else purchase it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/10/2019

Hello, 10110R!

We are sorry to hear what happened. Please try following the steps on the link below to isolate the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00012477

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Fast disc load

UBPX700 17/10/2019 by JC 1966 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Sony UHD Blue Ray player. Very happy with it's new features. Great picture and sound. Would recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/10/2019

HI, JC 1966!

We are glad to now that you are very happy with your second Blu-ray player. Thank you for the feedback and for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great player

UBP-X700 15/10/2019 by Bassist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent picture quality, great sound, brilliant price point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Expected great features

UBPX700 10/10/2019 by Fefmouse (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not happy that I did bought this unit as unit is not working and Sony has refused to replace same after one month, of use

Picture Quality

Poor

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2019

Hi, Fefmouse!

We are sorry to hear that. You may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your case number and your product details. We will review your file.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great product

UBPX700 09/10/2019 by graham 6927 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product a few weeks ago and it operates great. Its easy to use and the instructions were easy to understand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/10/2019

Hi, graham 6927!

We're thrilled to know that you liked this product! Thank you for sharing this awesome feedback!

Regards,
Sam

0

Sony 4K X700

UBPX700 08/10/2019 by dl8241 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because all the reviews advised it was the best rated 4K player. It’s has worked flawlessly with excellent upscaling. Very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/10/2019

Hello, dl8241! That's great! We're really glad to hear that our player meets your expectations. Thank you for trusting Sony! - Romeo

0

Easy To Use

UBPX700 05/10/2019 by Condor92 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Virtually a "plug and play" this DVD player works extremely well and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, Condor92!

Thank you for the 5-star rating! Enjoy your DVD player!

Regards,
David

0

Great

UBPX700 27/09/2019 by 3cavaliers (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have only had it a short while and we like it a lot so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2019

Hi, 3cavaliers!

We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!


Erin

0

Great, but...

UBP-X700 25/09/2019 by Max2187 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the product but one of the reasons for buying this instead of a PS4 was that it advertised that it played Playstation Videos and I have several that I wanted to access but unfortunately it does not. Would have gave 5 stars otherwise as the player is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

0

Poor quality

UBPX700 16/09/2019 by GW50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Dead after 6 months. Would only open door nothing I did would get it to turn off or react.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

Response From Sony Social Support
17/09/2019

Hello, GW50!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great features like hdmi video out audio out

UBPX700 14/09/2019 by Fellerboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The ubp-x700 great value great quality and picture and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

Response From Sony Social Support
19/09/2019

Hello, Fellerboy!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

expensive, quit working after a few uses

UBPX700 08/09/2019 by steven1390 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

although i bought this over a year ago but only used it 5 times. It worked well, while it was working. The last time i tried to use it, it would not work. i called technical support and was told i just needed to buy another one.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2019

Hi, steven1390!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Dolby Vision

UBPX700 06/09/2019 by LilDoc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a month of usage I am still amazed at picture clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
11/09/2019

Hello, LilDoc!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Excellent Product

UBPX700 05/09/2019 by Heinrich56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product, excellent features and excellent value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2019

Hi, Heinrich56!

We are glad that you are happy with your purchase. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

great player- bad dolby vision

UBP-X700 02/09/2019 by reruss (USA)

Very pleased with performance on 4k and blu ray disc. Sony should be embarrassed about having to go into setup to access dolby vision

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2019

Hello, Reruss! Thank you so much for the feedback. We apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. We will surely take note of this to improve our future products and services. Thank you! - Romeo

0

Will not stay connected to internet

UBPX700 01/09/2019 by Ddog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought product in June of this year and have lots of problems staying connect to internet. Product will connect then will not connect on next power on. Tells us we have to keep signing up for Netflix. I have gone through this same process of signing up the it works then it doesn’t work then sign up again and so on and so forth. Can’t return to bestbuy cause they only allow 14 days. So now I must be without my player for the next month or so until I can HOPEFULLY get a new one from Sony. The speed is amazing picture great when the player works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2019

Hi, Ddog!

We are sorry to hear that you're having an issue accessing the internet. Please try following the steps on the link below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00012477


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,

Erin

0

Excellent quality!

UBP-X700 31/08/2019 by JPSchulz82 (USA)

I have had this Sony Ultra HD player for almost a year now. I had to do very little in terms of changing the default setup. My first test was the Greatest Showman 4K Disc. Amazing picture and sound quality coupled with my TCL 6 Series TV. The Dolby Vision setting to tends to look a little darker but is still pristine. I also enjoy the interface of the included apps for Pandora, Slacker, and Crackle. The system is frequently updated. I am very pleased with this unit!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2019

Hi, JPSchulz82!

We are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

Awesome Unit for the Price and Size!!

UBPX700 30/08/2019 by Covey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced this with a competitor brand and very happy with this product. To setup and install only took 10min and I was watching a movie or streaming with no problem. Very happy with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Covey!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Excellent value

UBP-X700 26/08/2019 by delboy99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Now been using with blue ray discs for opera recordings and this player gives excellent results in both vision and sound with a 4k Television and quality hi fi. Particularly welcome is the separate output for the amplifier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Ease of use

UBPX700 21/08/2019 by dan222 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

To register you have to optionally upload reciept...not an easy task

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2019

Hi, dan222!

We are sorry to hear this issue. What receipt are you referring?

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:

0

Sorry I got this.

UBPX700 21/08/2019 by Cookie 223 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve always purchased Sony products and never had a problem. This BR player doesn’t play the sound/voice properly. I cannot take advantage of my expensive Sony receiver and it’s full surround sound potential due to having to set the player on PCM mode, otherwise CD’s that are BR and also from Sony, the sounds/voice is in descriptive mode which is very annoying. Sony Tech support was wasn’t able to help, and this never happened with my previous BR player, even non Sony player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/08/2019

Hello, Cookie 223!

We sincerely regret what happened. Let's try to isolate the issue by performing some troubleshooting steps on this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00007467

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great sound

UBPX700 18/08/2019 by DaveG54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and esy to setup. Als allows me to use one remote for all components.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, DaveG54!

We're delighted to know that you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Works great

UBPX700 16/08/2019 by Bodfish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchase it about 2 months ago and the unit works well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/08/2019

Hello, Bodfish!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Reflicted

UBPX700 15/08/2019 by disgruntled x 30079 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This one is better than my old BP however it is not supported by Hallmark and its software is glitchy or the processor is very slow. Freezes up when successive commands are too quick.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, disgruntled x 30079! We regret to hear about what happened. Make sure that the software of the unit is up-to-date:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/downloads/00015979
You may also try performing a power reset to refresh its system:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00175201
~Ralph

0

Stunning 4K dolby vision quality

UBP-X700 14/08/2019 by Vovgan (USA)

Stunning 4K dolby vision quality. Separate thanks to Sony for making the chassis not too wide.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2019

Hi, Vovgan!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl


0

Glad we got it

UBPX700 12/08/2019 by Dr Phil (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This one was to replace my old Sony Blu-Ray player that was fried by a lightning strike. Picture is crisp on our new Sony TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2019

Hi, Dr. Phil!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl



0

Disappointed

UBP-X700 11/08/2019 by MarkRaleighNC (USA)

Had to buy a smart player because my Sony Bravia apps wouldn’t work anymore due to Sony not doing anymore development on the model. Nothing but problems with this player. First problem was device would freeze which required defaulting config to make it work again. After a month or so Sony patched the player and fixed that bug. Since that patch player freezes while using Netflix app then reboots on its own, when it comes back up all logins are gone. Similar issue with YouTube :( . My next purchase will be a Vizio, so long Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2019

Hi, MarkRaleighNC!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. To fix the issue, try to reset the unit to factory default and make sure the firmware is up to date. Please refer to the link below for the instructions:

https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4698406131.pdf (see page 25)


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

great features

UBPX700 03/08/2019 by royboy50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased too go with 4K HD Sony TV, really enjoy the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hello, royboy50!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Didn't meet expectations.

UBPX700 30/07/2019 by PPullam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for a gift, this bd player sometimes won't shut off with the remote, you have to unplug it to regain the controls. And it was very hard to connect with the Wi-Fi.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/07/2019

Hi, PPullam!

We regret that the player did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to help you in fixing the issues you have encountered. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Great features

UBPX700 29/07/2019 by Mary 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so very happy with DVD players and it go with my tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Easy to use

UBPX700 27/07/2019 by Bill 3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony X700 DVD player to replace an older Sony player and am completely satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

works fine

UBPX700 26/07/2019 by photosteve13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player to use with my new 4K tv, and I am glad I did. it shows great quality when paired with the tv, is easy to use and is compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excellent product

UBP-X700 25/07/2019 by Chaps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought following purchase of a new OLED. Great picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great features

UBPX700 19/07/2019 by Monroe38 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great device and easy to operate. Great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Compact, Worked perfectly right out of the box

UBPX700 18/07/2019 by FusionPilot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced an older DVD player that was getting "flaky". Surprised how compact this new unit is, and that it has added features for streaming built in. Plugged it in and inserted a disc and it took off! This was not the entry-level unit, but it was definitely less costly than the older unit I replaced, and had a ton more features. Thank you, Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

excellent

UBP-X700 12/07/2019 by rebaa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

we bought this sony 4k blu-ray player the quality was first class and the picture was excellent its like being there in real life, best dvd we ever bought

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing value

UBPX700 10/07/2019 by DaveInWoodland (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has been a great player once you decide how to connect everything to work with a non 4K receiver (not a big deal). It upscales regular DVDs almost magically. Highly recommend this model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice features/great disk play back/streaming sucks

UBP-X700 10/07/2019 by Wholland7 (USA)

Nice clean look and ease of operation. Blu-ray/DVD playback is phenomenal. Pleased with the device in that department. However, during streaming (Netflix, Amazon) the device keeps “resetting” by freezing (picture and remote control inputs) then powering off. This is not an Internet issue as I do not have the problem during streaming play back on my iPad or other streaming devices. The unit is not stacked with other A/V equipment and is in open air (not overheating) and has the latest firmware update. According to the forums Sony is aware of the problem but has taken no steps to correct.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Wholland7!

We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Earl

0

I love it!

UBPX700 10/07/2019 by walo64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's great, the menu is simple and works very fast, its reproduction is fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great 4K Player.

UBPX700 09/07/2019 by wlarson504 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my UBP-X700 about a month ago. Beautiful picture, impressive blacks and colors. It did a GREAT upscaling of a blu-ray dvd. Compairing the disc in blu-ray player compaired to the 4K player, the colors just jump out at you. Very Impresses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features and easy to use

UBPX700 09/07/2019 by francineb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is by far the easiest and smallest 4K player I have ever used. I like it so much I have purchased several of the exact same unit. It has all the features that I need and the remote control is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

lots of extras

UBPX700 06/07/2019 by butch72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was looking for a 4k blue ray and this model gave me a lot of features for the buck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent performance and ease of use

UBPX700 23/06/2019 by Bill38 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is great, but registration is confusing. The registration instruction sheet states that the product serial number is on the main unit and the carton box. There is no serial number on either. Having exhausted all the possible numbers, I finally attempted a login and found that you wanted me to specify the model number. Perhaps you should work to eliminate this confusion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Works perfect

UBPX700 22/06/2019 by jdanq (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it about a month and am very pleased with it. The picture quality is excellent and it was easy to install and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great functions and features with all formats supp

UBP-X700 20/06/2019 by superfreak (USA)

I like the Sony style and it's running durability!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Just stopped working

UBP-X700 19/06/2019 by Slandis (USA)

In less than 6 months the machine stopped working. We've tried the trouble shooting tips: different outlets, unplugging/replugging, etc.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2019

Hi Slandis,

We are sorry to hear what happened. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Another fantastic Sony product!

UBPX700 18/06/2019 by barneygoogle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony UBP-X700 Blu-Ray player is a fantastic machine that does everything an afficiondo could wish for!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Terrible Product!

UBP-X700 16/06/2019 by Higgy50 (United Kingdom)

Oh dear Sony! What a terrible product this is! I bought this 4K player after reading all the good reviews but for me it's been a terrible experience from the start! Picture quality is average to say the least. The player has been temperamental since the start, sometimes playing first time others taking 10 minutes of trying different things to get it to play a disc! Then today it just refused to play a Blu ray disc at all ! I checked disc compatibility, new batteries in the remote etc etc but whatever I tried the disc just wouldn't play! In frustration I plugged in my old Sony Blu Ray BDP-S560 Player and WOW! the picture is ten times better than on this heap of rubbish! The only let down is that I can't play 4K discs in my old player, although even 4K discs look worse quality on the new player than Blu Ray discs look on the old player! The UBP-X700 will be returning to Sony as it really is rubbish!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

0

poor play of std DVD

UBPX700 09/06/2019 by pitken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this unit plays blu-ray disks great but has a problem playing standard dvds. the picture flashes black approx every 90 seconds. I have tried changing some of the system settings but nothing works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2019

Hi pitken, we appreciate taking your time to share your feedback about your player. Please try the following steps in the link below to isolate the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00032671

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Brilliant! Into the 4K-verse!

UBP-X700 08/06/2019 by Spiderkemp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched for a while for an affordable 4K player and it was clear this was the main contender. I’m really impressed- I tested it on a 4K disc of spider man, into the spider verse and it looks absolutely incredible! Also I can play all my old dvds and cds, so very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Player

UBP-X700 25/05/2019 by Irishpaper (USA)

Love this player. Plays 4K movie discs just fine. I use a high speed (>18Gbps) HDMI cable for best picture possible. I own a Sony 4K Dolby Vision supported TV and this player has a firmware update for Dolby Vision. It would be better if the feature was auto-detected. If the disc does not have dolby vision then you have to turn off dolbyvision in the menu of the player before viewing the disc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An excellent Blu-ray player

UBP-X700 25/05/2019 by Ray K (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I buy all my electrical goods by first consulting the Which magazine as I did with this fantastic Blu-ray player. I would highly recommend this player to anyone. The picture, the sound and the price were excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

almost perfect

UBPX700 22/05/2019 by MTbilly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After careful research of Sony and similar products I settled on the Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X70 to compliment our new 4K TV. IT's been Great so far with one exception. The remote volume control will not sync with the TV sound. So when viewing we have to control the volume with the TV remote and everything else with the DVD remote. Having followed the directions on Syncing the two in the manual without success, there is no trouble shooting of this covered in the manual or other TV codes to try. This is very frustrating to an otherwise perfect DVD player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0