220

4.2 based on 220 customer reviews

138
42
11
9
20
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great picture quality but Dolby Vision needs work!

UBP-X700 26/09/2018 by nabeelsheikh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago with the updated firmware that supports Dolby Vision. Overall great image quality. The set is a bit basic in bulid and much smaller that the UBP-X800 with no digital display or screen on the set. However one huge advatange is that with a firmware update it supports Dolby Vision. This is, however SEVERELY hampered - unfortunately, the unit does not auto-switch when you play a Dolby Vision disc which means that a) the switching has to be done manually from the menu and b) if you don’t know a disc has Dolby Vision and you don't therefore activate it in the menu, you miss out on the benefits (it can be quite difficult to see on Blu Ray discs whether a Dolby Vision signal is included) Sony - this could be an excellent product... please come up with a firmware update that auto-switches Dolby Vision on when it detects a Dolby Vision signal!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X700

UBPX700 18/08/2018 by GrizzlyAdams (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product and great picture when it works. I have had the unit freeze up multiple times playing Blu-ray, DVD and Blu-ray 4k ultra.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

220 Customer Reviews

0

Poor quality

UBPX700 16/09/2019 by GW50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Dead after 6 months. Would only open door nothing I did would get it to turn off or react.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
17/09/2019

Hello, GW50!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great features like hdmi video out audio out

UBPX700 14/09/2019 by Fellerboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The ubp-x700 great value great quality and picture and sound

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
19/09/2019

Hello, Fellerboy!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

expensive, quit working after a few uses

UBPX700 08/09/2019 by steven1390 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

although i bought this over a year ago but only used it 5 times. It worked well, while it was working. The last time i tried to use it, it would not work. i called technical support and was told i just needed to buy another one.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2019

Hi, steven1390!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Dolby Vision

UBPX700 06/09/2019 by LilDoc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a month of usage I am still amazed at picture clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
11/09/2019

Hello, LilDoc!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Excellent Product

UBPX700 05/09/2019 by Heinrich56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product, excellent features and excellent value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2019

Hi, Heinrich56!

We are glad that you are happy with your purchase. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

great player- bad dolby vision

UBP-X700 02/09/2019 by reruss (USA)

Very pleased with performance on 4k and blu ray disc. Sony should be embarrassed about having to go into setup to access dolby vision

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2019

Hello, Reruss! Thank you so much for the feedback. We apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. We will surely take note of this to improve our future products and services. Thank you! - Romeo

0

Will not stay connected to internet

UBPX700 01/09/2019 by Ddog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought product in June of this year and have lots of problems staying connect to internet. Product will connect then will not connect on next power on. Tells us we have to keep signing up for Netflix. I have gone through this same process of signing up the it works then it doesn’t work then sign up again and so on and so forth. Can’t return to bestbuy cause they only allow 14 days. So now I must be without my player for the next month or so until I can HOPEFULLY get a new one from Sony. The speed is amazing picture great when the player works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2019

Hi, Ddog!

We are sorry to hear that you're having an issue accessing the internet. Please try following the steps on the link below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00012477


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,

Erin

0

Excellent quality!

UBP-X700 31/08/2019 by JPSchulz82 (USA)

I have had this Sony Ultra HD player for almost a year now. I had to do very little in terms of changing the default setup. My first test was the Greatest Showman 4K Disc. Amazing picture and sound quality coupled with my TCL 6 Series TV. The Dolby Vision setting to tends to look a little darker but is still pristine. I also enjoy the interface of the included apps for Pandora, Slacker, and Crackle. The system is frequently updated. I am very pleased with this unit!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2019

Hi, JPSchulz82!

We are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

Awesome Unit for the Price and Size!!

UBPX700 30/08/2019 by Covey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced this with a competitor brand and very happy with this product. To setup and install only took 10min and I was watching a movie or streaming with no problem. Very happy with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Covey!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Excellent value

UBP-X700 26/08/2019 by delboy99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Now been using with blue ray discs for opera recordings and this player gives excellent results in both vision and sound with a 4k Television and quality hi fi. Particularly welcome is the separate output for the amplifier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Ease of use

UBPX700 21/08/2019 by dan222 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

To register you have to optionally upload reciept...not an easy task

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2019

Hi, dan222!

We are sorry to hear this issue. What receipt are you referring?

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:

0

Sorry I got this.

UBPX700 21/08/2019 by Cookie 223 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve always purchased Sony products and never had a problem. This BR player doesn’t play the sound/voice properly. I cannot take advantage of my expensive Sony receiver and it’s full surround sound potential due to having to set the player on PCM mode, otherwise CD’s that are BR and also from Sony, the sounds/voice is in descriptive mode which is very annoying. Sony Tech support was wasn’t able to help, and this never happened with my previous BR player, even non Sony player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/08/2019

Hello, Cookie 223!

We sincerely regret what happened. Let's try to isolate the issue by performing some troubleshooting steps on this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00007467

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great sound

UBPX700 18/08/2019 by DaveG54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and esy to setup. Als allows me to use one remote for all components.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, DaveG54!

We're delighted to know that you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Works great

UBPX700 16/08/2019 by Bodfish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchase it about 2 months ago and the unit works well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/08/2019

Hello, Bodfish!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Reflicted

UBPX700 15/08/2019 by disgruntled x 30079 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This one is better than my old BP however it is not supported by Hallmark and its software is glitchy or the processor is very slow. Freezes up when successive commands are too quick.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, disgruntled x 30079! We regret to hear about what happened. Make sure that the software of the unit is up-to-date:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/downloads/00015979
You may also try performing a power reset to refresh its system:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00175201
~Ralph

0

Stunning 4K dolby vision quality

UBP-X700 14/08/2019 by Vovgan (USA)

Stunning 4K dolby vision quality. Separate thanks to Sony for making the chassis not too wide.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2019

Hi, Vovgan!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl


0

Glad we got it

UBPX700 12/08/2019 by Dr Phil (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This one was to replace my old Sony Blu-Ray player that was fried by a lightning strike. Picture is crisp on our new Sony TV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2019

Hi, Dr. Phil!

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl



0

Disappointed

UBP-X700 11/08/2019 by MarkRaleighNC (USA)

Had to buy a smart player because my Sony Bravia apps wouldn’t work anymore due to Sony not doing anymore development on the model. Nothing but problems with this player. First problem was device would freeze which required defaulting config to make it work again. After a month or so Sony patched the player and fixed that bug. Since that patch player freezes while using Netflix app then reboots on its own, when it comes back up all logins are gone. Similar issue with YouTube :( . My next purchase will be a Vizio, so long Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2019

Hi, MarkRaleighNC!

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. To fix the issue, try to reset the unit to factory default and make sure the firmware is up to date. Please refer to the link below for the instructions:

https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4698406131.pdf (see page 25)


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

great features

UBPX700 03/08/2019 by royboy50 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased too go with 4K HD Sony TV, really enjoy the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hello, royboy50!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Didn't meet expectations.

UBPX700 30/07/2019 by PPullam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this for a gift, this bd player sometimes won't shut off with the remote, you have to unplug it to regain the controls. And it was very hard to connect with the Wi-Fi.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/07/2019

Hi, PPullam!

We regret that the player did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to help you in fixing the issues you have encountered. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Great features

UBPX700 29/07/2019 by Mary 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so very happy with DVD players and it go with my tv

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Easy to use

UBPX700 27/07/2019 by Bill 3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony X700 DVD player to replace an older Sony player and am completely satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

works fine

UBPX700 26/07/2019 by photosteve13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player to use with my new 4K tv, and I am glad I did. it shows great quality when paired with the tv, is easy to use and is compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excellent product

UBP-X700 25/07/2019 by Chaps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought following purchase of a new OLED. Great picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great features

UBPX700 19/07/2019 by Monroe38 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great device and easy to operate. Great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Compact, Worked perfectly right out of the box

UBPX700 18/07/2019 by FusionPilot (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced an older DVD player that was getting "flaky". Surprised how compact this new unit is, and that it has added features for streaming built in. Plugged it in and inserted a disc and it took off! This was not the entry-level unit, but it was definitely less costly than the older unit I replaced, and had a ton more features. Thank you, Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

excellent

UBP-X700 12/07/2019 by rebaa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

we bought this sony 4k blu-ray player the quality was first class and the picture was excellent its like being there in real life, best dvd we ever bought

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing value

UBPX700 10/07/2019 by DaveInWoodland (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has been a great player once you decide how to connect everything to work with a non 4K receiver (not a big deal). It upscales regular DVDs almost magically. Highly recommend this model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice features/great disk play back/streaming sucks

UBP-X700 10/07/2019 by Wholland7 (USA)

Nice clean look and ease of operation. Blu-ray/DVD playback is phenomenal. Pleased with the device in that department. However, during streaming (Netflix, Amazon) the device keeps “resetting” by freezing (picture and remote control inputs) then powering off. This is not an Internet issue as I do not have the problem during streaming play back on my iPad or other streaming devices. The unit is not stacked with other A/V equipment and is in open air (not overheating) and has the latest firmware update. According to the forums Sony is aware of the problem but has taken no steps to correct.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Wholland7!

We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Earl

0

I love it!

UBPX700 10/07/2019 by walo64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's great, the menu is simple and works very fast, its reproduction is fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great 4K Player.

UBPX700 09/07/2019 by wlarson504 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my UBP-X700 about a month ago. Beautiful picture, impressive blacks and colors. It did a GREAT upscaling of a blu-ray dvd. Compairing the disc in blu-ray player compaired to the 4K player, the colors just jump out at you. Very Impresses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features and easy to use

UBPX700 09/07/2019 by francineb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is by far the easiest and smallest 4K player I have ever used. I like it so much I have purchased several of the exact same unit. It has all the features that I need and the remote control is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

lots of extras

UBPX700 06/07/2019 by butch72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was looking for a 4k blue ray and this model gave me a lot of features for the buck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent performance and ease of use

UBPX700 23/06/2019 by Bill38 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is great, but registration is confusing. The registration instruction sheet states that the product serial number is on the main unit and the carton box. There is no serial number on either. Having exhausted all the possible numbers, I finally attempted a login and found that you wanted me to specify the model number. Perhaps you should work to eliminate this confusion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Works perfect

UBPX700 22/06/2019 by jdanq (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it about a month and am very pleased with it. The picture quality is excellent and it was easy to install and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great functions and features with all formats supp

UBP-X700 20/06/2019 by superfreak (USA)

I like the Sony style and it's running durability!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Just stopped working

UBP-X700 19/06/2019 by Slandis (USA)

In less than 6 months the machine stopped working. We've tried the trouble shooting tips: different outlets, unplugging/replugging, etc.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2019

Hi Slandis,

We are sorry to hear what happened. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Another fantastic Sony product!

UBPX700 18/06/2019 by barneygoogle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony UBP-X700 Blu-Ray player is a fantastic machine that does everything an afficiondo could wish for!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Terrible Product!

UBP-X700 16/06/2019 by Higgy50 (United Kingdom)

Oh dear Sony! What a terrible product this is! I bought this 4K player after reading all the good reviews but for me it's been a terrible experience from the start! Picture quality is average to say the least. The player has been temperamental since the start, sometimes playing first time others taking 10 minutes of trying different things to get it to play a disc! Then today it just refused to play a Blu ray disc at all ! I checked disc compatibility, new batteries in the remote etc etc but whatever I tried the disc just wouldn't play! In frustration I plugged in my old Sony Blu Ray BDP-S560 Player and WOW! the picture is ten times better than on this heap of rubbish! The only let down is that I can't play 4K discs in my old player, although even 4K discs look worse quality on the new player than Blu Ray discs look on the old player! The UBP-X700 will be returning to Sony as it really is rubbish!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

0

poor play of std DVD

UBPX700 09/06/2019 by pitken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this unit plays blu-ray disks great but has a problem playing standard dvds. the picture flashes black approx every 90 seconds. I have tried changing some of the system settings but nothing works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2019

Hi pitken, we appreciate taking your time to share your feedback about your player. Please try the following steps in the link below to isolate the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00032671

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Brilliant! Into the 4K-verse!

UBP-X700 08/06/2019 by Spiderkemp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched for a while for an affordable 4K player and it was clear this was the main contender. I’m really impressed- I tested it on a 4K disc of spider man, into the spider verse and it looks absolutely incredible! Also I can play all my old dvds and cds, so very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Player

UBP-X700 25/05/2019 by Irishpaper (USA)

Love this player. Plays 4K movie discs just fine. I use a high speed (>18Gbps) HDMI cable for best picture possible. I own a Sony 4K Dolby Vision supported TV and this player has a firmware update for Dolby Vision. It would be better if the feature was auto-detected. If the disc does not have dolby vision then you have to turn off dolbyvision in the menu of the player before viewing the disc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An excellent Blu-ray player

UBP-X700 25/05/2019 by Ray K (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I buy all my electrical goods by first consulting the Which magazine as I did with this fantastic Blu-ray player. I would highly recommend this player to anyone. The picture, the sound and the price were excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

almost perfect

UBPX700 22/05/2019 by MTbilly (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After careful research of Sony and similar products I settled on the Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X70 to compliment our new 4K TV. IT's been Great so far with one exception. The remote volume control will not sync with the TV sound. So when viewing we have to control the volume with the TV remote and everything else with the DVD remote. Having followed the directions on Syncing the two in the manual without success, there is no trouble shooting of this covered in the manual or other TV codes to try. This is very frustrating to an otherwise perfect DVD player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Outstanding Features and pictures

UBPX700 21/05/2019 by Bo Isabell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 2 months ago and wow I love it. Great job Sony I'll keep buy Sony products from now on. I also bought Sony Headphones Nosie reduction Bluetooth Headphones Love them also

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Reliable multi format player

UBP-X700 21/05/2019 by MJ20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this uhd blue ray player a month ago, and am very happy with the picture/sound quality.I did not purchase it to use any apps so can’t comment on those.The support for Dolby vision is appreciated

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

UBPX700 20/05/2019 by Sundance70 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this player about a month ago. Was at first concerned on it playing 4k dvd's. Well was I surprised! Worked wonders. I bought this player too replace a Samsung I bought a year ago. After 6 months the Samsung stopped playing my 4k's. So tried this Sony and was so surprised too see how easy it was too set up. Have not had any problems. I should have known better and bought a Sony instead of a Samsung. Having a Sony stereo system and a 400 cd player with no problems I should have gone with Sony on a DVD player too. Well worth the buy you won't go wrong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality images!

UBPX700 20/05/2019 by nonickname27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This unit is a great value, in particular because it is Dolby Vision capable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Usual great quality from Sony

UBP-X700 17/05/2019 by RuthD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As usual it spoke to our Sony tv so nice and easy to set up and quality great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

When it works, it's solid.... however.

UBPX700 13/05/2019 by testaal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For most part this unit performs well and it's up-conversion on DVD's does a nice job. It's a clean design, no clutter. However, it's a bit buggy because sometimes it will simply freeze and become unresponsive. The only way to resolve is to disconnect the power cord and start over. Quite annoying and something my nearly 10-year old Panasonic never did. Judging from some recent receivers, it seems Sony has definitely slipped from their quality pedestal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/05/2019

Hello testaal,

We regret to know that you are having issues with this player, please check the link below and follow the steps provided to isolate the fix the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00139302

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

appears to work fine so far

UBP-X700 07/05/2019 by chris46310 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought on a review by "What Hi-fi " have not used the 4k yet has no stable TV but no complaints about dvd and blue-ray, do not use net flix etc so can make no comment on these.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

GREAT PLAYER

UBPX700 02/05/2019 by mr ROBS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

NO REGRETS would buy again, and recommend to my friends

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome picture quality!

UBPX700 30/04/2019 by Nick976 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can tell a HUGE difference when I play my 4K blu rays with this machine. For the price, it is a great 4K played. Highly recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

This is a fantastic DVD player......but

UBPX700 28/04/2019 by Gbandy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only huge non-issue was the Voice read out on the Appts it would not shut up! Volume up volume down. On Netflix started reading every title! Finally figured out how to turn it off in Settings. However fabulous player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

4k Bluray Player

UBPX700 25/04/2019 by Sharock (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this last month now I really see in 4k clarity❣

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture and audio

UBPX700 22/04/2019 by 39dodge (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this to replace a old Sony DVD player that worked great for years. But all good things come to an end and this new player is a very big improvement. This player was recommended by the repairman at a large electronics store.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Worked Once

UBPX700 20/04/2019 by Media Enthusiast (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This could just a faulty unit from a bad batch. But I used this player once and it hasn’t worked since. I’ve tried all the trouble shooting possible. Nothing. Will be contacting Sony Support to see if I can exchange for a working unit. Love my Sony Bravia TV, it’s a shame I haven’t been able to watch my 4K Blu Rays and unleash their full potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
22/04/2019

Hi Media Enthusiast, we are sorry to hear what happened. We would like to know more about the issue. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com for further assistance.


Regards,
Erin

0

Great DVD PLAYER!

UBPX700 19/04/2019 by Nate21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Our 12 year old Sony Blue-ray player finally got to the point that we needed to upgrade it due to Netflix -audio not being able to convert to English language many of their movies are in foreign languages. The player still works with DVDs but we decided to replace it with this great Sony player. It was so easy to setup and along with our great Sony TV the quality of video is perfection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Works great

UBPX700 19/04/2019 by Magurk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love that it plays so many different kinds of disks! Picture & sound are terrific! 4k upgrades improve the look of DVDs on our tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent UHD DVD

UBPX700 15/04/2019 by Richv71 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recommended by my Best Buy salesperson and just great performance and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent

UBPX700 12/04/2019 by Eyedoc1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent compatability and intuitiveness. Just the right number of features and formats. And Best Buy made it easy with price matching, I bought 2.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Won't play sound properly

UBP-X700 09/04/2019 by JJ7070 (USA)

I bought this player and I can not get the sound to play properly. Regular blu rays work fine but the ultra blue rays will not play the main feature soundtrack. I can hear the regular sounds before the movie starts but as soon as the ultra blue ray starts the movie there is no sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
11/04/2019

Hi JJ7070,

We regret to hear that you have issues with your SONY unit. Please check the link below to better resolve the issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00174021

Regards,
Earl
Sony Social Support

0

App selection is horendous and so disappointing

UBP-X700 08/04/2019 by RamblinWreck89 (USA)

Should have paid more attention before I restricted my self to this narrow app selection. For all the talk, Sony does not offer many apps. I will find another way.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

Response From Sony Social Support
10/04/2019

Hi RamblinWreck89,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support

0

Great Machine

UBPX700 07/04/2019 by Howard Co Jim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this for 2 months. Easy to set up. Seems to work fine. Sends good pix and audio. Remote fairly intuitive, altho is does 'feel' cheap since it's so light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Tempermental

UBP-X700 05/04/2019 by BukImyk (USA)

I purchased this between Thanksgiving and Christmas 2018. Along with this I purchased a new sound bar and 55" TV. After the first of the year... I had built a new bookcase and was able to finally watch 4K Sony TV. We were both looking so forward to this unimaginable hype that had been written about and talked about from sales people to professional personnel... all raving about this. To say the least... totally disappointed! I have purchased new 4K movies to watch... and not the first one has played cleanly... not 1. On the other hand... I have used Blu-ray's in the place of the 4K's and they play just fine. At first I thought it was some fingerprints on the disc. Removing the disc and cleaning it worked on the first one. But on the others no matter what I do... it freezes... or blanks out... or blanks out and loses audio. Nothing I seem to do seems to work... and I am at my wits end... and ready to buy something else. I am and have been a "Sony" person for most of my life... so it bothers me to have this type of "lack" of quality. Still looking for answers.. and hoping to find answers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
08/04/2019

Hi BukImyk, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your player. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. In relation to the issue you have encountered, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com for further assistance.


Regards,
-Erin

0

What an upgrade!

UBPX700 04/04/2019 by Natbob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the perfect compliment to our new Sony 4K tv. So easy to us and raises the bar on 4K movie picture quality. Great price at Best Buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Functions well but again quality is dropping

UBP-X700 04/04/2019 by Stayahead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, easy to use product but in my view very fragile because of poor quality materials. Come on Sony, I would rather pay more for better quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

WOW!

UBPX700 03/04/2019 by RoboTramp73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A beautiful piece of equipment! I love all the features it has and I'm glad a friend of mine recommended this model to me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Not blue about this Blu-Ray

UBPX700 03/04/2019 by rho2019 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up. Easy to use. Sharp picture and great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Did not last but 2 months!

UBPX700 03/04/2019 by ravidlasmjaxx23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This particular Sony UBP-X700 stopped working after 50 days after it was purchased. The network connection and streaming services never worked for more that one session and the device had to be reset to factory defaults and the power reset on the device because it would not respond to remote control to turn off the device. Fortunately it was covered by a 4 year service plan by the retailer and I wa able to exchange the item for a replacement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
06/04/2019

Hi ravidlasmjaxx23, we regret that the player failed to meet your expectation and our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We will forward this to a relevant team.

Regards,
Erin