587

4.2 based on 587 customer reviews

374
92
37
25
59
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easily the BEST VALUE player for cost!!

ubpx800-b 13/03/2017 by SteveP421 (USA)

I replaced a Samsung UBD-K8500 with this player and there is no comparison. The build quality of this player is on an entirely different level. This player loads faster and runs MUCH quieter. PQ from this player is better as well as I have noticed more fine detail and highlights on UHD Blu-ray discs I have watched numerous times before on the Samsung but never noticed, the Sony made those differences noticeable immediately. I am not surprised as Sony has always made top notch players. All 4 of my standard Blu-ray players throughout the house are Sony's With some 6-7 years old. All work perfectly and are TANKS. I expect the same reliability from this new UHD player. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook (United Kingdom)

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

587 Customer Reviews

0

250.00 wasted

UBP-X800 15/01/2020 by Canuck68 (USA)

Had it less than 6 months when the streaming stopped working then a week later power wouldn’t shut off and didn’t function at all.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi, Canuck68hp7c6jiikvy6u4axuj07m8w6s!

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry about your bad experience with this Blu-ray player. In this case, please follow the troubleshooting steps from the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00142575

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Failed 16 days after warranty expired.

UBP-X800 08/01/2020 by ToolShedd (USA)

I have owned this player for just over a year. After 381 days of very light use the tray no longer opens. I used it primarily to play my SACD and Blu-Ray Audio discs once or twice a month. It did that very well and I was very happy with it. I don’t think I ever used it to watch a movie. I contacted Sony support and was told that they would not cover it as the warranty had expired, $300 for a device that fails after only one year of use is way overpriced.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/01/2020

Hi, ToolSheddt6b8o7p1ucszj4ovn2t1tdlhk!

We're sorry to hear about the issue with this Blu-ray player. You can resolve this issue by following the troubleshooting steps from the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00007575

0

Used 4 times then stopped working

UBPX800 26/12/2019 by Ryanformat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did purchase this unit in Jan 28th 2018 and loved the picture quality when I got a 4K movie. I had used it hook to 4K Xbr Sony tv about 4 times and when I went to use it again this Xmas it did not boot up. I had to unplug then plug back in and it turned on. Then it would not let me play a movie without freezing. It did tell me to update but it failed ever time I tried any way wired wireless and usb. Called Sony tech support and they told me out of warranty here is a repair shop. Well not the response I expected from Sony customer support. Well I am out a 259$ Blu-ray player. I also don’t believe in extended warranty since product quality should be present. If you google this problem I am not the only one with the same thing. i feel this should be covered under defect in manufacturing or software issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/12/2019

Hi, Ryanformat!

This is not the experience we want you to have. So sorry if you are having multiple issues with the player. Since you have contacted our hotline, we would like to check and review your file, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Case Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Just what I wanted

ubpx800-b 25/12/2019 by PreEsprit Guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this unit for over a month, and I'm very happy with it. Picture quality with DVDs, Blu-Rays amd 4K discs is all I could ask for on my Sony 4K TV. The remote is compact and has just the buttons I need--it doesn't over-complicate things. I don't have to resort to using the T's remote at all. My only nit-pick is that I wish the unit had a front-panel display, rather than having to use the on-screen display to check on elapsed or remaining time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent 4K player !!

UBPX800 07/12/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This $k player is very easy to use, friendly remote and the picture is unbelievable nice, I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good 4K - Blue ray player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Constantly Locks Up

UBP-X800 07/12/2019 by Josh23 (USA)

Constantly locks up and now it’s died. I waste of $300. It started locking up a few months after I bought it and completely died after about 18 months. This will be the last Sony product I purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/12/2019

Hi, Josh23!

Thank you for reaching us! For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Locks Up

ubpx800-b 07/12/2019 by Josh23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k bluray player has a fantastic picture and great features when it works. The problem is it constantly locks up. No matter how many software updates it does or how many times I unplug it and plug it back in. It started doing this a few months after I purchased it and after about a year and a half I can barely get it to turn on now. I wanted to like this bluray player, but unfortunately I’m now stuck with a $300 paperweight. Sony refuses to acknowledge this issue even though they are well aware this is a common problem. Just very poor product and customer service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/12/2019

Hi, Josh23!

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We suggest resetting the player to factory settings to isolate the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00175201.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Case Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

No manual play button

UBP-X800 28/11/2019 by francis1945 (USA)

It sucks! It may be a great product and has proved itself in the past. But currently the remote will not work (and yes I put in new batteries). What really sucks about it is that there is no 'manual' play button. If you lose the remote or it doesn't work you cannot push a button the the unit itself to make it play. There is a manual turn on and eject button, but no PLAY button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/12/2019

Hi, francis1945!

We regret to hear about this. To isolate the issue, please follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00132426

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

best blueray player

ubpx800-b 17/11/2019 by kilgore 95 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It plays cds,old dvds,new dvds, bluerays, practically it plays every thing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

kept locking up - died completely at 13 months

UBP-X800 11/11/2019 by looking for value (USA)

Sony had a good name - what happened? New high dollar DVD player is junk. My old ones still work great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/11/2019

Hello,

We're sorry to hear that this Blu-ray player failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

My third Sony UHD Player

UBPX800 02/10/2019 by Saundra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have two other units and bought a 3rd for my daughters bedroom.Works great. Even standard DVD and Blu Ray Disks look better on this player. She plays DVD's every day so we needed a rugged dependable player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/10/2019

Hi, Saundra!

We are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

Disappointing

UBP-X800 30/09/2019 by Ben57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There seems to be a problem with using USB stick containing movie (mp4) downloads. Keep getting a message that the file is corrupt or unsupported. But if you leave it for a few minutes then suddenly files are ok and you can view them. Had the same problem with a Sony TV bought at the same time but I have since replaced it with another Sony TV that doesn’t have this problem.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Best DVD PLAYER I've used so far

UBP-X800 28/09/2019 by Smith9107 (USA)

Only complaints is when playing old DVDs systems completely freezes, had to perform hard reboot multiple times (no audio past DVD MENU, picture freeze & pixelated, complete system doesn't respond to buttons & remote. (couldn't watch a whole season of a show, 7 of 8 seasons worked) Main purpose for buying was just for HI-RES AUDIO. It makes everything sound better/clearer. Using with SRSZR7 via Bluetooth. Video upscaling is pretty good. (tried connecting old 720P TV, made it look better than 1080P) using with xbr800e Sony customer for life, (Tvs, smartphone, HI-RES AUDIO products, mp3 players)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2019

Hi, Smith9107!

Thank you for sharing this awesome review. To isolate your concern with regards to the unit that randomly freezes when playing old DVDs, We would suggest examining the DVD for fingerprints, smudges, or scratches. Use a soft, dry cloth to clean the disc. Attempt to play different discs on the DVD player. If the issue only occurs with the one disc, then the disc may be faulty. Also, check if your unit has the latest firmware update.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Sleek Design

UBPX800 25/09/2019 by Mattizsokewl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this product easy to use and I have a awesome picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/09/2019

Hi, Mattizsokewl!

We are glad that you like the design and the product itself. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Terrible 4k player -- No sound comes out.

UBP-X800 25/09/2019 by DisappointwithSony (USA)

I bought this player for my new Epson projector in my home theater. No sound comes through the system but when I plug in my old blueray player, the sound does work. I spent 4 hours with Sony technical support and they refused to replace it or refund. This is a terrible product and horrible customer service. I expected Sony to be much better.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/09/2019

Hi, DisappointwithSony!

We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We would like to know more about this issue and help you out. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Case ID:
Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,
Sam

0

All round impressive product

UBP-X800 17/09/2019 by Aztec51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k ultra hd blu ray player has so much more - many apps including Netflix and Amazon Prime Video and terrific sound reproduction including HDD. Great value and very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High Hopes

UBPX800 17/09/2019 by Rusty 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a warranty replacement unit, my previous unit would intermittently freeze and lose all programming. I have had this unit for a couple weeks, and I have high hopes. It seems that the included apps are sparse and Grace note is no longer available. Sound and picture are wonderful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/09/2019

Hi, Rusty!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Great player with great features

UBPX800 29/08/2019 by rishii (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this product for several months now and it's been great. I've used it to watch 4K movies and the picture are clear as it can be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Rishii!

We're happy to know that you like the player! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.

Regards,
Sam

0

Remarkable picture

ubpx800-b 27/08/2019 by Shellcaptain (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it to replace BDP-6500, which turned out to be not 4K, but 4K upscaling, whatever that is (would not play 4K DVD disc). Did not know BDP-6500 would not play 4K disc, so, upgraded to UBP-800. New player plays 4K disc, and picture is remarkable. Remote easier to use than previous player because it is bigger, but still is not backlit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Shellcaptain! We are glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Sony Quality

UBPX800 18/08/2019 by VideoJunkie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine to start my upgrade to 4K. Although I don't yet have a 4K TV, the picture quality I get running this through my standard 1080P set is excellent. I've got it tweaked mainly for movie viewing, so I cannot speak to the quality of the High Res audio, as I have that "disabled". Once I am able to upgrade to a full 4K TV I'll come back and see if I can change my rating. Right now I give it only 4 stars because I have not yet been able to take advantage of it's 4K output. Once I do and am able to assess the quality of that picture, I may decide to update my review and rating. So, stay tuned.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2019

Hi, VideoJunkie!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Best Ultra HD Blu-ray/DVD Player

UBPX800 06/08/2019 by Weasley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic 4K Video and wonderful Audio. I would highly recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hi, Weasley!

Thank you for leaving a review of your Sony Blu-ray player. We are glad to hear about your experience. You chose the best brand!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Almost fool proof

UBPX800 01/08/2019 by Lake0453 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Followed the steps and the first time turned on it updated the apps and played a 4K DVD in 4k. Aquaman looks great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hi, Lake0453!

Thank you for the 5-star rating! We are happy that you love it. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Streaming Issue

ubpx800-b 31/07/2019 by nothappy2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After about a year of use the player won't stream Netflix or Amazon Prime. It starts then reverts to the menu. Replaced with X700.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/08/2019

Hi, nothappy2!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Locks up

UBPX800 29/07/2019 by djmiser (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Don't buy this product until Sony fixes the freezing issue.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, djmiser!

We're sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with the unit. Please isolate the issue by following the steps on this link.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00008473


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

Good BD Player

UBPX800 13/07/2019 by txbham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player is great. The performance is more than I could ask for. It plays all formats with good picture and sound. It also comes with apps. In final it exceeds my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Audio & playback issues

UBP-X800 11/07/2019 by Kristopherj (USA)

Have had issues with video cutting out which was a little annoying but after a few minutes of tinkering got it to play but had to skip freezing moment, so hope it wasn’t important. On its last freeze the audio cut out and won’t return. I have tried unplugging and replugging, turning it off/on, and resetting factory settings but no fix. I thought maybe it was the tv having issues but it plays other devices perfectly fine. So now I’ve spent over an hour trying to fix just to get frustrated enough to leave a review in hopes someone doesn’t have to deal with this.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Kristopherj!

We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Earl

0

Solid 4K Player with 3D Playback!!!

UBPX800 22/06/2019 by KingKey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Samsung 3D player recently died. Our family has over 150 3D films, 130 standard Bluray and about 45 4K films. While we already had a designated 4K player, we still required a 3D player on a splitter, and after doing some research, I was comfortable with trying the Sony UBP-X800. It offers 4K and 3D playback!!! We know that Samsung killed 3D for all consumers, which is really unfortunate to take our options away from us in order to force 4K and streaming to everyone. When companies want consumers to accept something (ie. 4K, streaming services), they simply take away our options (3D) so that we are limited and therefore MUST adapt. It's funny... No 3D at home anymore, yet 3D movies are still released in theaters and DVD's are still around, and they are now at least 3 generations old. Once you see an amazing 3D film in theaters (Star Wars, Avengers, etc.), you will NEVER again be able to experience that thanks to Samsung. Thank you to Sony for including 3D playback in the X800! Please don't kill 3D just because Samsung abandoned us. Many of us still enjoy it. If anything, it should still be offered on the "flagship" models of TV's and 4K players for the high-end consumers who want it all. And for crying out loud, keep the front (LED) display on the unit! I can't stand it when players no longer have a front display and you can't tell what's going on with the unit. Thankfully, this unit has one and that's another key reason for my purchase. If I had one issue, it would be that the player does not offer an audio sync function and sometimes the audio syncing does get off a little bit when going from streaming services to a 4K disc. Standard Bluray discs play without any issues. It doesn't happen all the time, but often enough that Sony should add a feature to allow users to adjust the audio sync. Otherwise, it's an amazing unit and well worth the purchase. (I got it on sale at the BX for a steal!) :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Very Disapponted

UBP-X800 19/06/2019 by SteveB7Too (USA)

I'm one of those "brand loyal" types; so I didn't want to believe the negative feedback this player has received, until I started to experience them. The freezing begins sporadically and eventually becomes a regular occurrence. Having to constantly reset the player is tiresome. I don't know if there's firmware that will correct the problem. At this stage; I'd rather not bother. Seems it's time to look elsewhere.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/06/2019

Hello SteveB7Too,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Please try following the steps on the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00139302

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Very pleased with my UBP-X800 Player

UBP-X800 18/06/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my player through John Lewis via the net. No hassle, arrived when stated; well packed and with a book of instructions. As it was replacing an existing BD all I had to do was link up the existing cables. When it first started it updated itself and went through the set up process without a hitch. Since then it has played CD, DVD Blu-Ray and 4K BD without any problems. I have also streamed from a nas a lot of music, mostly wav. The picture is excellent and the sound is a good few steps up from the player it replaced. It feels well made, feet grip enough to hinder sliding into position without lifting slightly and sit solidly on the glass shelf. Chassis is very rigid and just looks good. So far I am pleased with the purchase and would recommend it with confidence.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

UBPX800 18/06/2019 by pauly wauly 49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this player a month ago and have been extremely impressed with its performance, including it's Hi-Res Sound feature!! We bought it to take the place of another DVD player who's 3D feature gave out. Can't say enough about the quality of 4K video in 3D. This player was a fantastic investment. We look forward to many years of enjoyment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Greta picture when it works

UBP-X800 10/06/2019 by Mr645 (USA)

I purchased the X800 and a Sony 85" X850 TV and the X800 is a mess. Overtime I start it up it forgets the wifi connections and the selected apps. Now it powers on, shows the Sony logo for a second and goes black with occasional snow showing up. I already spoke to Sony tech support and we reset it, worked a couple of times now doing this. I am thinking of returning everything and trying a different brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2019

Hi Mr645, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. - Romeo

0

best features and performance

UBPX800 12/05/2019 by techfreak64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having just purchased a 4k UHD TV it was time to update the DVD player. I've always liked Sony's products. This player was on my short list and bonus SACD support. Played a few standard Blu Ray, up-converting is flawless, and a remastered to 4k original Blade runner , picture is just fabulous. I'll come back around to comment when I have a few true 4k uhd disks to play, but at this point this machine is just great. The build quality is much better then the plastic boxes most players come in. The unit itself is virtually silent. Also really like the fact this has 2 hdmi outputs. I have a Yamaha Aventage reciever which handles 4k but only up to 10 bit 4,4,4 60hz for video ( audio is full Atmos etc.) So with this Sony player HDMI2 goes to the receiver for audio, HDMI1 goes direct to the TV. The TV (not sony sorry I needed 40 inch tv) and the Sony Player handshaked immediately and at full 4.4.4 etc. Having 2 separate HDMI insures the Audio is one path and the Video on the other. Wifi also works quite well. Bonus for me was Best Buy had this on sale for 229. In short just get this unit if you want best audio & video performance for your $

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

good sound / picture ok

UBP-X800 08/05/2019 by Slimey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the X800 a month ago to integrate into my q acoustics surroundsound system. the conventional blu ray discs are ok, not as good as my old Panansonic blu ray, normal DVD's again are just passable, 4k is when it comes alive. soundwise good clarity, definition and control. Streaming music Wav files from my server is excellent quality, up sampling of the AAC files is ok but still not as good as the Wav files as claimed by Sony so expect this to make a great deal of difference. Not many apps and no download of many popular apps available so a big failing there, Netflix fails every time although on my TV in the same room the Netflix app is perfect. Internet connection a long way from the router is good. Overall happy with the player at £230.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Reasonable Product

UBP-X800 06/05/2019 by 617S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased from Retailer in Cheltenham UK. Seemed to be the obvious choice when buying a Bravia from same place. Works well with my KD55AF8B TV. Would've preferred more info thru the operating booklet rather than the seemingly hit'n'miss strategy of using the remote set to figure things out for yourself.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Sony Quality!

ubpx800-b 20/04/2019 by SteveScott77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the Sony UBP-X800B BLU-RAY Player. It is amazing - typical Sony quality. The construction is solid - top notch understated minimalism. The operation is quiet, seemless and fluid. I will soon purchase a new Sony HD TV to pair with this superlative BLU-RAY Player. Thank you Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Upgrade

UBP-X800 17/04/2019 by Palfrey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has been a worthwhile upgrade to my previous Sony Blu Ray player. More depth of colour and detail. The biggest bonus is it plays the Multichannel Super Audio CDs I have. Coupled to a Sony STR DH790 amp, and decent speakers. A great addition for Home cinema experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to set up

UBP-X800 12/04/2019 by Sueeee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about month ago to match new 4k tv easy to set up and use great value

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice blu-ray player

ubpx800-b 12/04/2019 by wayne32 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i just got the 2nd one the other one wes freezeing up so i take it back to the store an got this one so i got hoot up to my onkyo rz620 7,2 12"klischs subwoofer an 70"4k hdr smart oled tv it has dolby vision but my x800 dont have it sony need to send a update out for dolby vision to the x800 blu-ray player ......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good example of an excellent bluray player.

UBP-X800 11/04/2019 by Big7274 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the X800 Sony for about 3 weeks and it’s quality of picture, sound and ease of use surpasses any other bluray player on the market. A unit worth investing in . I also found the Wi Fi very strong and updating was quick. Go for it if you are in the market for one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning picture, whisper quiet

UBP-X800 04/04/2019 by Tall Paul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to link up with my Bravia KD43XF8096BU TV and HT-CT380 soundbar. It replaced a BDP-S570B which had always served me very well, so I was a little concerned that any improvements would only be minor. I need not have worried. I've been absolutely blown away by the picture quality, especially on up-scaled non-4K Blu-rays. It is simply breathtaking. Sound quality is excellent too and to top it all the unit operates quickly and silently.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Works as expected

UBPX800 02/04/2019 by Tentwo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for a month. connected to A/V unit,which is connected to TV and works as expected

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound and picture.Poor interface

UBP-X800 01/04/2019 by fredcat (United Kingdom)

This has a great sound and picture. The machine feels solid and well built. But_ The remote is cheap. It has no number buttons and can not change the volume on the Sony AV receiver. There is no display on the disk player and now Sony does not support the Gracenote function, you only get a small T3 (or T4ect) in the corner of your large screen TV to say what CD track you are listening to, which is a bit pathetic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great product

UBP-X800 28/03/2019 by Clive 53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very comprehensive product and the SACD is a real bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

I’m on my third unit...

UBP-X800 23/03/2019 by MPS37 (USA)

This is the third UBPX800 I have owned, and all three forget my settings upon powering off. The first one I returned to Best Buy. The second one was exchanged by Sony. The third is now in the process of “troubleshooting” with tech support. I have had a wonderful experience with all my other Sony products, but this particular product line had been horrible for me personally. Try the UBPX700 instead!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony Social Support
26/03/2019

Hi MPS37,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Could be better

UBP-X800 15/03/2019 by Retired Medic (USA)

First it’s a good, almost great player - no issues for what it does playing a 4K UHD disk. The menu screen for the player leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Yes you can add Apps - only a small selection of preloaded ones to favorites but you can’t clean up the interface to make it more customizable/friendly for your personal taste as I did with my Sony 55X800E - overall great price and picture. Not a great experience.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

Response From Sony Social Support
19/03/2019

Hi Retired Medic,


We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support

0

Great 4k hdr Blu-ray player

ubpx800-b 13/03/2019 by Joshua345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It shows the best picture wow every one musk get one I have it hoot to my hometheater an 70" lg 4k hdr OLED tv onky has 7 speakers 2 12" klipsch subwoofer s I'm good to go just need the popcorn an the coke........go out an get the x800 u will love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

First Class Blu Ray player

UBP-X800 11/03/2019 by bromsman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with my UBP-X800 I've had many Blu Ray over the years and this is the best all the features but one you could want. Love the Bluetooth feed for headphones. Only feature missing is Dolby Vision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

When it works it’s superb

UBP-X800 11/03/2019 by Holmzirules (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased two weeks ago, kept freezing on movies, had to turn off and start again, tried updating and different cables ,no good,now returned for a different manufacturer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

Bad product.

UBP-X800 09/03/2019 by Rickdog54 (USA)

I bought this product 13 months ago. I played it twice. Now it has no picture or power dead.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
28/03/2019

Hi Rickdog54,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this player. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video-home-video/articles/00015721

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support

0

Dead

UBPX800 05/03/2019 by Dead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After 6 months, the player would not power up. I unplugged the player from the power source, and after a few minutes plugged it back in. This worked to get the unit up and running until recently. Now it will not power up. Dead. I have tried everything to get it to operate, but nothing. I have read other reviews from buyers who have wrote that their player stopped working as well. One person said he returned it to the store where he purchased it and they swapped it out. The new unit works great, he wrote. Other manufacturers of the 4K Blu ray are having the same issue, a from what I have read.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
02/04/2019

Hello Dead,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great Blu-ray player 4k hdr

ubpx800-b 03/03/2019 by Joshua276 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this x800 this one is better then the x700 It's awesome sony did it this time keep up the good work sony its hoot up to my 70" l g 4k hdr smart oled tv onky nr676 2 12" subwoofer 7 speaker s my hometheater is completely finished........so now I need some popcorn an a coke......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

easy setup

ubpx800-b 27/02/2019 by Jack1944 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Met my needs and ease of setup. Good price and quality product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Awful! Constant freezing issues.

UBPX800 27/02/2019 by PJJ9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Do not buy X800 model. First unit froze constantly after 6 months. Had a replacement unit with the warranty and second unit froze constantly after 6 months. Sony refused to do anything to fix the issue. DO NOT BUY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

Response From Sony Social Support
02/03/2019

Hi PJJ9, we are sorry to hear what happened as well for the inconvenience. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

Excellent but one small frustration.

UBP-X800 25/02/2019 by Dicker1966 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a competent all-rounder with a lot of functionality inside one box but it also has a niggle that robs it of being a 5 star performer; it can't be converted at the point of sale to be multi-region DVD. If you have a large legacy collection, you can't play your discs and have to retain an older player, as well as this new one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Product Quality

ubpx800-b 24/02/2019 by Hemi Biker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product about 6 months ago and have enjoyed greatly The picture and quality are excellent and last a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal addition to my system

UBP-X800 21/02/2019 by xxxxx10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only have had the player for a couple of weeks but it lives up to my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Had the product for 18 months and it stopped

UBP-X800 19/02/2019 by 4K user (USA)

Sony recommended sending it it united Radio and it could be be repaired

Picture Quality

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Great picture

UBP-X800 18/02/2019 by Kungfukid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used a couple of times but so far the picture is very good and the machine is very quiet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not worth the money

UBP-X800 13/02/2019 by Jeff16 (USA)

I bought my first one two months ago. Since then I have returned it twice and the third one is being returned this week. Each one them worked half of the time when you turned it on or put in a disc. The door would open, but not close unless you give it a tap. It consistently said there wasn't a disc in, when there was one. I would have to unplug it to reset it and get it to play. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLAYER

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
18/02/2019

Hi Jeff16,



We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Clean, simple, smooth system and operations.

UBPX800 05/02/2019 by R W H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a product that will adapt to new technologies in TV and related entertainment. Sony's DVD/CD player is the best available and will work well into the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Great Blu-ray player

UBPX800 31/01/2019 by Phila12180 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas gift I purchased for myself. I had a problem with it right out of the box. Sony took care of the problem for me very quickly by sending me a new one. Now I have used it I am very happy with it, the player has great features. This is my third Sony product, I have two Sony XBR TV's. Picture quality is always great with Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Functions

ubpx800-b 28/01/2019 by mortallywounded (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

$200 at Best Buy. Plays Blu-ray discs that weren't working on my old player. Netflix works. Image quality on all media is better than my 2009 Sony Blu-ray.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

It worked only 7 times!

UBP-X800 28/01/2019 by TrueAudio (USA)

I bought this a bit over a year ago and I only used it to play Ultra HD movies. Well, I tired to use it a few weeks ago and it doesn’t play Ultra HD movies, only regular Blu-ray. Spent time with customer service but because I had just past the one year mark, no warranty, no support! It’s my second high end product that fails in a year. My Sony Oled TV also failed!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0