610

4.1 based on 610 customer reviews

379
94
39
29
69
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easily the BEST VALUE player for cost!!

ubpx800-b 13/03/2017 by SteveP421 (USA)

I replaced a Samsung UBD-K8500 with this player and there is no comparison. The build quality of this player is on an entirely different level. This player loads faster and runs MUCH quieter. PQ from this player is better as well as I have noticed more fine detail and highlights on UHD Blu-ray discs I have watched numerous times before on the Samsung but never noticed, the Sony made those differences noticeable immediately. I am not surprised as Sony has always made top notch players. All 4 of my standard Blu-ray players throughout the house are Sony's With some 6-7 years old. All work perfectly and are TANKS. I expect the same reliability from this new UHD player. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook (United Kingdom)

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

610 Customer Reviews

0

software update crashed

ubpx800-b 11/11/2020 by wolf broke (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

software update crashed making player unusable. sony support not helpful. had to put unit in the trash and buy a new one. again, it worked great until software update.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Freezing issues only way to reboot is to unplug it

UBPX800 28/10/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Player constantly Freezes with no repair in sight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

The first one died

UBPX800 26/10/2020 by MIDNIRDR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would be a higher rating if this wasn’t the second one I had to buy because the first one died after about 60 plays and of course out of warranty. Never had problems with Sony before but....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great starter 4k player for release time

UBP-X800 23/10/2020 by McDog (USA)

Sony representative stated as Sony stopped support for this model including firmware updates over 1 year ago will continue to have operating issues ( often unable to load new 4k & blu-ray discs, unable to play when load successful, tray locks with disc inside and cannot release - have to unplug from power and/or perform reset. He said the newer -800M model is still supported @ this time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

QUIT WORKING AFTER ABOUT 60 PLAYS

UBP-X800 30/09/2020 by MIDNIRDR (USA)

It stopped working after about 60 plays. Of course the warranty had expired by then. This is unacceptable for a Sony product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Control Alt, Delete

UBP-X800 28/09/2020 by Sony75fan (USA)

I purchased this player with a Sony 75 inch F900 TV. For the first year it was fine, then it would freeze up and I called customer service and they told me to unplug it and restart it again. I have done this several times over the few years and it got the better of me last night....We had movie night, last night and it wouldn't even start the movie so I disconnected it walked it out the the curb and smashed until the case came flying off and there was plastic all over the street. Can say one thing the metal chassis is stout. I'm still a Sony guy, but this thing really angered me . My first Sony product was a 7 inch B&W TV back in the mid 60's

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

5

0

Great at first, but has problems later in life

UBP-X800 22/09/2020 by CKeeler (USA)

I've had this unit since early '18. It was great at first, but over the last year it has really started to have problems. It will completely freeze sometimes when trying to access streaming apps. No consistency, just randomly decides to freeze. The only way to fix it is unplug the unit for a minute. Many times it doesn't load the menus on movies. And I have a few movies that it will skip about 2-5 minutes at the same exact spot everytime. I had a Sony HD blu-ray player before that played every single one of my movies without a problem. I thought this unit would be just as dependable. It's not. No update to the unit since March of '19. Over a year and a half without an update, even though it's still listed as a current product. And it seems I'm not the only one with these problems.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Fantastic player for a reasonable price

UBP-X800 09/08/2020 by MJJBALTIC (United Kingdom)

Sony’s first 4K Blu-ray player - great example of success ! I really enjoyed video quality and upscaling capabilities of this player. Even my older DVD's came back to life again watching upscaled picture. The sound quality of this player deserves a separate award just for that ! Outstanding sound quality, Hi-Resolution Audio support and excellent clarity - simply amazing! The player works extremely well with Sony 7.2 CH STR-DN1080 AV Receiver. I would highly recommend to buy them together for outstanding performance and to open up full potential of this amazing product. The only downside of this player is absence of Dolby Vision. As I owe a 65" Sony TV which supports Dolby Vision it would be great to have this feature on UBP-X800. But, yet again, for the money you pay I think it's a great deal. Pros: Great video quality and detail Superb sound Vibrant colours Excellent build quality Cons: No Dolby Vision

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

11

0

Stopped working

UBP-X800 19/06/2020 by UBPX800 (USA)

I have been having this for two year. It worked well. then suddenly stopped working. Blue ray disk can't be played and apps can't be launched. I contacted Sony tech support and reset the player but still not working. I was asked to contact United Radio Service for the repair. I called them. Then he said they no longer have the parts for that device. It's too expensive to have that blue ray player just for two years. I thought Sony is a good and reliable brand. I don't recommend Sony products.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/07/2020

Hi, Joe,

Thank you for the feedback. Here's my revised suggested response:



Hi, UBPX800, We regret to hear about what happened with your Blu-ray player. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. You can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can review your case:


Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Case Number (if available):


Sincerely,
Vincent

0

UBP-X800

UBPX800 17/06/2020 by Ken Thomas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this from Target on 5/22/2020. The 1st 2 weeks it was operating as expected. As of 6/6/2020 it has been freezing up when I'm streaming Amazon Prime and/or Netflix. The HDMI is premium 6' in length and the firmware is current. It is so frustrating, powering down the internet, unplugging the hdmi, unplugging the network and utilizing easy set up only to have it fail. My internet speed is at 28Mbps. How may I return this to Sony and a possible upgrade to the UBP-X800M2 and/or UBP-X1100ES.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/06/2020

Hi Ken, we're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You may follow this link to better isolate and fix the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00013427 SONY provides a 1-year limited warranty for this unit. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Works ok.

UBP-X800 09/06/2020 by Nushie (USA)

It plays 4K and bluray movies however I have had some freezes and could not continue watching the movie. It has audio problems with most of my DVD movies. It will only click and garble and I cannot watch the movie. I would think that a high end unit would have no problem playing older DVD disks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2020

Hi, Nushie, We're sorry to hear the issue with this Blu-ray player. To enhance the performance of this unit, follow the troubleshooting steps from this link. https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00008473

If still unresolved this issue, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Jay

0

ULTRA BAD PRODUCT

ubpx800-b 08/06/2020 by RSONAB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I HAVE HAD SEVERAL DVD & BLU-RAY PLAYERS. THIS IS BY FAR THE WORST PLAYER I HAVE EVER OWNED. I PURCHUSED THE SAME UNIT PRIOR TO THIS ONE AND RETURNED IT BACK TO THE RETAILER AND PURCHASED THIS ONE. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN FROM PRIOR EXPERIENCE ON SAME MODEL I RETURNED TO NOT TO PURCHASE ANOTHER ONE. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT GREEFE WITH THIS UNIT, EVERY TIME I PUT IN A DISK IT DOESN'T WORK WIGHT OUT SCREWING WITH IT. EVEN WHEN STREAMING MOVIES THE UNIT CONTINUES TO LOCK UP WHERE I HAVE TO UNPLUG THE UNIT AND START ALL OVER AGAIN TO GET THE MOVIE I WAS WATCHING. 2 NEW UNITS BOTH BAD THIS SUCKS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2020

Hi, RSONAB, We're sorry to hear about the issue with this Blu-ray player. If you still have this unit, please check if the firmware of this unit is M36.R.0338. If the firmware is not updated, please check the link below to isolate this issue.
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/downloads/00015920


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
Jay

0

One minor problem.

UBP-X800 27/05/2020 by Micheal49 (USA)

I have had this device for over a year. Every six or seven weeks it will either stay on but not connect to media or will not turn on. It will have to be completely unplugged for five or six minutes in order to re-set the device. A minor inconvenience to be sure, but still there is something awry either with hardware or firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/05/2020

Hi Micheal49, We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Let's try to isolate the issue by following the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00025061

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Sony's Worst

UBP-X800 22/05/2020 by Disappointed Patron (USA)

Purchased the UBP-X800 and it appeared to be a great product. Quality picture and sound, substantial feel and loaded with smart features. However, a bit slow on the loading and play mode. Then the Sony virus appeared. Would not eject the disc loaded in the player or turn off unless hard rebooted. Regardless of reboots, would not play a disc and would not update despite saying it needed to update. Unplugged, rebooted and tried to install update from flash drive. Nothing worked. Web posts revealed this to be a common problem. Took it to certified repair center and they could not repair without replacing the circuit board (costs more than a new X800. If you see an X800 for sale which is not an X800M2, DO NOT BUY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/05/2020

Hi, Disappointed Patron, We are sorry to hear about what happened. This is not the experience we like you to have. Your Blu-ray player comes with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty. If you need further assistance, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

We value your input and appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Outstanding!

UBPX800 22/05/2020 by Alfredo X (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quick upstart, easy controls, excellent picture, works well together with Samsung Atmos sound bar!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi Alfredo, thanks for the cool feedback! We're thrilled to hear you're enjoying your new 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray player. Thank you so much for the 5-Star review and for commending Sony! - Romeo

0

Only lasted 2 years

ubpx800-b 18/05/2020 by DROD (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quit working after only 2 years..hoping the next one last longer

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/05/2020

Hi DROD, we're sorry to hear this. We would like to know more about the issue to better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Excellent performance

UBP-X800 16/05/2020 by Tricky Trev (United Kingdom)

I've had the product for a year now and it has been superb. It really does bring the best out of my Blu-ray collection in both vision and sound. Absolutely fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

NO UPDATES FOR TWO YEARS NOW

UBP-X800 11/05/2020 by samsonex1 (USA)

i bought about two years ago, i have been using ever since but am disappointed buy SONY. They are not providing updates for this product. for two years now without the update

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/05/2020

Hi samsonex1, we're sorry to hear this. We have the latest firmware update for the ubp-x800 on 03/12/2019. You may check this link: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/downloads

We would like to know more about your issue. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Amazing 4K Blu-ray player and great value.

ubpx800-b 15/04/2020 by Dealzguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s been almost 2.5 years of this player and still is amazing. Very fast. Well built compared to any other flimsy built players out there. Seems like a keeper for few years for sure! Only bummer is even after registration with Sony for the 2 free 4K Blu-ray titles, Sony never sent it in spite of follow ups . So kind of feeling cheated here... Not sure if Sony will ever honor its promise

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/04/2020

Hi, Dealzguy, We are happy to hear about your experience with your Blu-ray player. Sony products are built to last. We appreciate your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We appreciate your feedback. -Vincent

0

Great player.

UBPX800 06/04/2020 by Hockey1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player has a great picture and sound to it. Very sharp picture. A well made unit. Keep up the great job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/04/2020

Hi, Hockey1, Thaks for your positive feedback, We are happy you like the picture and audio quality of your new TV. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

When it works, it’s great.

UBPX800 06/04/2020 by Gman72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve found a few disks that won’t play on this machine, and they all will play on other machines. Also some 4k disks will pause several times during their play. But when it’s working it’s a great experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/04/2020

Hi, Gman72, Please make sure you are playing the supported discs. This player will only player region 1 DVDs and region A Blu-ray discs. Perform a power reset by following the guide here to isolate the issue further: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00175201.

If you are still having the same issue, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Paperweight

UBP-X800 26/02/2020 by prix03gt (USA)

Worked well for about 6 months, then began randomly freezing. The device would get into a state where it could not be powered on or off and the only resolution is to power cycle the product. After power cycling, it will work for a time, and then misbehave again seemingly at random. I am running the latest firmware, which has not been updated by SONY since the month I purchased the product almost a year ago. This is my second AND LAST sony player. Both SONY devices I have owned have become paperweights within a year of service. It's almost as if they are designed to fail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
28/02/2020

@prix03gt, I'm sorry to hear about this experience. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

-Zac

0

Very Glitchy and poor user experience

ubpx800-b 24/02/2020 by SonytechGuy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 4K player in mid 2017 and experienced unit issues within 6 months. I had a total of 4 malfunction issues and finally retired the unit in early 2020. This player would initially power on but nothing could be done after it was on. The Sony logo would appear on my Bravia TV and then...nothing. The remote was unresponsive and I couldn't even power down the unit manually. Very disappointed with this specific Sony UBP 800 unit. I am a loyal Sony electronics customer and simply chalk it up to poor unit Quality Control.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2020

Hi, SonytechGuy,

We are sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Blu-ray player. When the player is powering on, but nothing is happening, try to perform a power reset by following the steps here: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00175201. To troubleshoot the remote control issue, visit this article: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00006827. Please perform a factory reset if it still didn't work: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00089497.

If the issue still occurs, your device may need to be repaired: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US.


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

250.00 wasted

UBP-X800 15/01/2020 by Canuck68 (USA)

Had it less than 6 months when the streaming stopped working then a week later power wouldn’t shut off and didn’t function at all.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi, Canuck68hp7c6jiikvy6u4axuj07m8w6s!

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry about your bad experience with this Blu-ray player. In this case, please follow the troubleshooting steps from the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00142575

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Failed 16 days after warranty expired.

UBP-X800 08/01/2020 by ToolShedd (USA)

I have owned this player for just over a year. After 381 days of very light use the tray no longer opens. I used it primarily to play my SACD and Blu-Ray Audio discs once or twice a month. It did that very well and I was very happy with it. I don’t think I ever used it to watch a movie. I contacted Sony support and was told that they would not cover it as the warranty had expired, $300 for a device that fails after only one year of use is way overpriced.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/01/2020

Hi, ToolSheddt6b8o7p1ucszj4ovn2t1tdlhk!

We're sorry to hear about the issue with this Blu-ray player. You can resolve this issue by following the troubleshooting steps from the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00007575

0

Used 4 times then stopped working

UBPX800 26/12/2019 by Ryanformat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did purchase this unit in Jan 28th 2018 and loved the picture quality when I got a 4K movie. I had used it hook to 4K Xbr Sony tv about 4 times and when I went to use it again this Xmas it did not boot up. I had to unplug then plug back in and it turned on. Then it would not let me play a movie without freezing. It did tell me to update but it failed ever time I tried any way wired wireless and usb. Called Sony tech support and they told me out of warranty here is a repair shop. Well not the response I expected from Sony customer support. Well I am out a 259$ Blu-ray player. I also don’t believe in extended warranty since product quality should be present. If you google this problem I am not the only one with the same thing. i feel this should be covered under defect in manufacturing or software issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/12/2019

Hi, Ryanformat!

This is not the experience we want you to have. So sorry if you are having multiple issues with the player. Since you have contacted our hotline, we would like to check and review your file, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Case Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Just what I wanted

ubpx800-b 25/12/2019 by PreEsprit Guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this unit for over a month, and I'm very happy with it. Picture quality with DVDs, Blu-Rays amd 4K discs is all I could ask for on my Sony 4K TV. The remote is compact and has just the buttons I need--it doesn't over-complicate things. I don't have to resort to using the T's remote at all. My only nit-pick is that I wish the unit had a front-panel display, rather than having to use the on-screen display to check on elapsed or remaining time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Excellent 4K player !!

UBPX800 07/12/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This $k player is very easy to use, friendly remote and the picture is unbelievable nice, I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good 4K - Blue ray player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Constantly Locks Up

UBP-X800 07/12/2019 by Josh23 (USA)

Constantly locks up and now it’s died. I waste of $300. It started locking up a few months after I bought it and completely died after about 18 months. This will be the last Sony product I purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/12/2019

Hi, Josh23!

Thank you for reaching us! For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Locks Up

ubpx800-b 07/12/2019 by Josh23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k bluray player has a fantastic picture and great features when it works. The problem is it constantly locks up. No matter how many software updates it does or how many times I unplug it and plug it back in. It started doing this a few months after I purchased it and after about a year and a half I can barely get it to turn on now. I wanted to like this bluray player, but unfortunately I’m now stuck with a $300 paperweight. Sony refuses to acknowledge this issue even though they are well aware this is a common problem. Just very poor product and customer service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/12/2019

Hi, Josh23!

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We suggest resetting the player to factory settings to isolate the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00175201.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Case Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

No manual play button

UBP-X800 28/11/2019 by francis1945 (USA)

It sucks! It may be a great product and has proved itself in the past. But currently the remote will not work (and yes I put in new batteries). What really sucks about it is that there is no 'manual' play button. If you lose the remote or it doesn't work you cannot push a button the the unit itself to make it play. There is a manual turn on and eject button, but no PLAY button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/12/2019

Hi, francis1945!

We regret to hear about this. To isolate the issue, please follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00132426

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

best blueray player

ubpx800-b 17/11/2019 by kilgore 95 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It plays cds,old dvds,new dvds, bluerays, practically it plays every thing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

kept locking up - died completely at 13 months

UBP-X800 11/11/2019 by looking for value (USA)

Sony had a good name - what happened? New high dollar DVD player is junk. My old ones still work great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/11/2019

Hello,

We're sorry to hear that this Blu-ray player failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

My third Sony UHD Player

UBPX800 02/10/2019 by Saundra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have two other units and bought a 3rd for my daughters bedroom.Works great. Even standard DVD and Blu Ray Disks look better on this player. She plays DVD's every day so we needed a rugged dependable player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/10/2019

Hi, Saundra!

We are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

Disappointing

UBP-X800 30/09/2019 by Ben57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There seems to be a problem with using USB stick containing movie (mp4) downloads. Keep getting a message that the file is corrupt or unsupported. But if you leave it for a few minutes then suddenly files are ok and you can view them. Had the same problem with a Sony TV bought at the same time but I have since replaced it with another Sony TV that doesn’t have this problem.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Best DVD PLAYER I've used so far

UBP-X800 28/09/2019 by Smith9107 (USA)

Only complaints is when playing old DVDs systems completely freezes, had to perform hard reboot multiple times (no audio past DVD MENU, picture freeze & pixelated, complete system doesn't respond to buttons & remote. (couldn't watch a whole season of a show, 7 of 8 seasons worked) Main purpose for buying was just for HI-RES AUDIO. It makes everything sound better/clearer. Using with SRSZR7 via Bluetooth. Video upscaling is pretty good. (tried connecting old 720P TV, made it look better than 1080P) using with xbr800e Sony customer for life, (Tvs, smartphone, HI-RES AUDIO products, mp3 players)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2019

Hi, Smith9107!

Thank you for sharing this awesome review. To isolate your concern with regards to the unit that randomly freezes when playing old DVDs, We would suggest examining the DVD for fingerprints, smudges, or scratches. Use a soft, dry cloth to clean the disc. Attempt to play different discs on the DVD player. If the issue only occurs with the one disc, then the disc may be faulty. Also, check if your unit has the latest firmware update.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Sleek Design

UBPX800 25/09/2019 by Mattizsokewl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this product easy to use and I have a awesome picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/09/2019

Hi, Mattizsokewl!

We are glad that you like the design and the product itself. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Terrible 4k player -- No sound comes out.

UBP-X800 25/09/2019 by DisappointwithSony (USA)

I bought this player for my new Epson projector in my home theater. No sound comes through the system but when I plug in my old blueray player, the sound does work. I spent 4 hours with Sony technical support and they refused to replace it or refund. This is a terrible product and horrible customer service. I expected Sony to be much better.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/09/2019

Hi, DisappointwithSony!

We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We would like to know more about this issue and help you out. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Case ID:
Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,
Sam

0

All round impressive product

UBP-X800 17/09/2019 by Aztec51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k ultra hd blu ray player has so much more - many apps including Netflix and Amazon Prime Video and terrific sound reproduction including HDD. Great value and very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High Hopes

UBPX800 17/09/2019 by Rusty 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a warranty replacement unit, my previous unit would intermittently freeze and lose all programming. I have had this unit for a couple weeks, and I have high hopes. It seems that the included apps are sparse and Grace note is no longer available. Sound and picture are wonderful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/09/2019

Hi, Rusty!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Great player with great features

UBPX800 29/08/2019 by rishii (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this product for several months now and it's been great. I've used it to watch 4K movies and the picture are clear as it can be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Rishii!

We're happy to know that you like the player! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.

Regards,
Sam

0

Remarkable picture

ubpx800-b 27/08/2019 by Shellcaptain (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought it to replace BDP-6500, which turned out to be not 4K, but 4K upscaling, whatever that is (would not play 4K DVD disc). Did not know BDP-6500 would not play 4K disc, so, upgraded to UBP-800. New player plays 4K disc, and picture is remarkable. Remote easier to use than previous player because it is bigger, but still is not backlit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Shellcaptain! We are glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Sony Quality

UBPX800 18/08/2019 by VideoJunkie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this machine to start my upgrade to 4K. Although I don't yet have a 4K TV, the picture quality I get running this through my standard 1080P set is excellent. I've got it tweaked mainly for movie viewing, so I cannot speak to the quality of the High Res audio, as I have that "disabled". Once I am able to upgrade to a full 4K TV I'll come back and see if I can change my rating. Right now I give it only 4 stars because I have not yet been able to take advantage of it's 4K output. Once I do and am able to assess the quality of that picture, I may decide to update my review and rating. So, stay tuned.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2019

Hi, VideoJunkie!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Best Ultra HD Blu-ray/DVD Player

UBPX800 06/08/2019 by Weasley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic 4K Video and wonderful Audio. I would highly recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hi, Weasley!

Thank you for leaving a review of your Sony Blu-ray player. We are glad to hear about your experience. You chose the best brand!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Almost fool proof

UBPX800 01/08/2019 by Lake0453 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Followed the steps and the first time turned on it updated the apps and played a 4K DVD in 4k. Aquaman looks great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hi, Lake0453!

Thank you for the 5-star rating! We are happy that you love it. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Streaming Issue

ubpx800-b 31/07/2019 by nothappy2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After about a year of use the player won't stream Netflix or Amazon Prime. It starts then reverts to the menu. Replaced with X700.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/08/2019

Hi, nothappy2!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Locks up

UBPX800 29/07/2019 by djmiser (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Don't buy this product until Sony fixes the freezing issue.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, djmiser!

We're sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with the unit. Please isolate the issue by following the steps on this link.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00008473


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

Good BD Player

UBPX800 13/07/2019 by txbham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player is great. The performance is more than I could ask for. It plays all formats with good picture and sound. It also comes with apps. In final it exceeds my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Audio & playback issues

UBP-X800 11/07/2019 by Kristopherj (USA)

Have had issues with video cutting out which was a little annoying but after a few minutes of tinkering got it to play but had to skip freezing moment, so hope it wasn’t important. On its last freeze the audio cut out and won’t return. I have tried unplugging and replugging, turning it off/on, and resetting factory settings but no fix. I thought maybe it was the tv having issues but it plays other devices perfectly fine. So now I’ve spent over an hour trying to fix just to get frustrated enough to leave a review in hopes someone doesn’t have to deal with this.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, Kristopherj!

We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Earl

0

Solid 4K Player with 3D Playback!!!

UBPX800 22/06/2019 by KingKey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Samsung 3D player recently died. Our family has over 150 3D films, 130 standard Bluray and about 45 4K films. While we already had a designated 4K player, we still required a 3D player on a splitter, and after doing some research, I was comfortable with trying the Sony UBP-X800. It offers 4K and 3D playback!!! We know that Samsung killed 3D for all consumers, which is really unfortunate to take our options away from us in order to force 4K and streaming to everyone. When companies want consumers to accept something (ie. 4K, streaming services), they simply take away our options (3D) so that we are limited and therefore MUST adapt. It's funny... No 3D at home anymore, yet 3D movies are still released in theaters and DVD's are still around, and they are now at least 3 generations old. Once you see an amazing 3D film in theaters (Star Wars, Avengers, etc.), you will NEVER again be able to experience that thanks to Samsung. Thank you to Sony for including 3D playback in the X800! Please don't kill 3D just because Samsung abandoned us. Many of us still enjoy it. If anything, it should still be offered on the "flagship" models of TV's and 4K players for the high-end consumers who want it all. And for crying out loud, keep the front (LED) display on the unit! I can't stand it when players no longer have a front display and you can't tell what's going on with the unit. Thankfully, this unit has one and that's another key reason for my purchase. If I had one issue, it would be that the player does not offer an audio sync function and sometimes the audio syncing does get off a little bit when going from streaming services to a 4K disc. Standard Bluray discs play without any issues. It doesn't happen all the time, but often enough that Sony should add a feature to allow users to adjust the audio sync. Otherwise, it's an amazing unit and well worth the purchase. (I got it on sale at the BX for a steal!) :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Very Disapponted

UBP-X800 19/06/2019 by SteveB7Too (USA)

I'm one of those "brand loyal" types; so I didn't want to believe the negative feedback this player has received, until I started to experience them. The freezing begins sporadically and eventually becomes a regular occurrence. Having to constantly reset the player is tiresome. I don't know if there's firmware that will correct the problem. At this stage; I'd rather not bother. Seems it's time to look elsewhere.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/06/2019

Hello SteveB7Too,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Please try following the steps on the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00139302

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Very pleased with my UBP-X800 Player

UBP-X800 18/06/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my player through John Lewis via the net. No hassle, arrived when stated; well packed and with a book of instructions. As it was replacing an existing BD all I had to do was link up the existing cables. When it first started it updated itself and went through the set up process without a hitch. Since then it has played CD, DVD Blu-Ray and 4K BD without any problems. I have also streamed from a nas a lot of music, mostly wav. The picture is excellent and the sound is a good few steps up from the player it replaced. It feels well made, feet grip enough to hinder sliding into position without lifting slightly and sit solidly on the glass shelf. Chassis is very rigid and just looks good. So far I am pleased with the purchase and would recommend it with confidence.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

UBPX800 18/06/2019 by pauly wauly 49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this player a month ago and have been extremely impressed with its performance, including it's Hi-Res Sound feature!! We bought it to take the place of another DVD player who's 3D feature gave out. Can't say enough about the quality of 4K video in 3D. This player was a fantastic investment. We look forward to many years of enjoyment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Greta picture when it works

UBP-X800 10/06/2019 by Mr645 (USA)

I purchased the X800 and a Sony 85" X850 TV and the X800 is a mess. Overtime I start it up it forgets the wifi connections and the selected apps. Now it powers on, shows the Sony logo for a second and goes black with occasional snow showing up. I already spoke to Sony tech support and we reset it, worked a couple of times now doing this. I am thinking of returning everything and trying a different brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2019

Hi Mr645, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. - Romeo

0

best features and performance

UBPX800 12/05/2019 by techfreak64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having just purchased a 4k UHD TV it was time to update the DVD player. I've always liked Sony's products. This player was on my short list and bonus SACD support. Played a few standard Blu Ray, up-converting is flawless, and a remastered to 4k original Blade runner , picture is just fabulous. I'll come back around to comment when I have a few true 4k uhd disks to play, but at this point this machine is just great. The build quality is much better then the plastic boxes most players come in. The unit itself is virtually silent. Also really like the fact this has 2 hdmi outputs. I have a Yamaha Aventage reciever which handles 4k but only up to 10 bit 4,4,4 60hz for video ( audio is full Atmos etc.) So with this Sony player HDMI2 goes to the receiver for audio, HDMI1 goes direct to the TV. The TV (not sony sorry I needed 40 inch tv) and the Sony Player handshaked immediately and at full 4.4.4 etc. Having 2 separate HDMI insures the Audio is one path and the Video on the other. Wifi also works quite well. Bonus for me was Best Buy had this on sale for 229. In short just get this unit if you want best audio & video performance for your $

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

good sound / picture ok

UBP-X800 08/05/2019 by Slimey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the X800 a month ago to integrate into my q acoustics surroundsound system. the conventional blu ray discs are ok, not as good as my old Panansonic blu ray, normal DVD's again are just passable, 4k is when it comes alive. soundwise good clarity, definition and control. Streaming music Wav files from my server is excellent quality, up sampling of the AAC files is ok but still not as good as the Wav files as claimed by Sony so expect this to make a great deal of difference. Not many apps and no download of many popular apps available so a big failing there, Netflix fails every time although on my TV in the same room the Netflix app is perfect. Internet connection a long way from the router is good. Overall happy with the player at £230.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Reasonable Product

UBP-X800 06/05/2019 by 617S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased from Retailer in Cheltenham UK. Seemed to be the obvious choice when buying a Bravia from same place. Works well with my KD55AF8B TV. Would've preferred more info thru the operating booklet rather than the seemingly hit'n'miss strategy of using the remote set to figure things out for yourself.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2