563

4.2 based on 563 customer reviews

364
89
35
24
51
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easily the BEST VALUE player for cost!!

ubpx800-b 13/03/2017 by SteveP421 (USA)

I replaced a Samsung UBD-K8500 with this player and there is no comparison. The build quality of this player is on an entirely different level. This player loads faster and runs MUCH quieter. PQ from this player is better as well as I have noticed more fine detail and highlights on UHD Blu-ray discs I have watched numerous times before on the Samsung but never noticed, the Sony made those differences noticeable immediately. I am not surprised as Sony has always made top notch players. All 4 of my standard Blu-ray players throughout the house are Sony's With some 6-7 years old. All work perfectly and are TANKS. I expect the same reliability from this new UHD player. Great job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fails to play many 4k disk titles properly

UBP-X800 16/09/2018 by Bluebook (United Kingdom)

Many titles simply dont play - they "stutter" and Pause/stop - usually half way through the film. I expect a new 4k player to play 4k Films. Some eventually play after firmware updates. but still having problems and reported to Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

563 Customer Reviews

0

Good BD Player

UBPX800 13/07/2019 by txbham (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player is great. The performance is more than I could ask for. It plays all formats with good picture and sound. It also comes with apps. In final it exceeds my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Audio & playback issues

UBP-X800 11/07/2019 by Kristopherj (USA)

Have had issues with video cutting out which was a little annoying but after a few minutes of tinkering got it to play but had to skip freezing moment, so hope it wasn’t important. On its last freeze the audio cut out and won’t return. I have tried unplugging and replugging, turning it off/on, and resetting factory settings but no fix. I thought maybe it was the tv having issues but it plays other devices perfectly fine. So now I’ve spent over an hour trying to fix just to get frustrated enough to leave a review in hopes someone doesn’t have to deal with this.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Solid 4K Player with 3D Playback!!!

UBPX800 22/06/2019 by KingKey (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Samsung 3D player recently died. Our family has over 150 3D films, 130 standard Bluray and about 45 4K films. While we already had a designated 4K player, we still required a 3D player on a splitter, and after doing some research, I was comfortable with trying the Sony UBP-X800. It offers 4K and 3D playback!!! We know that Samsung killed 3D for all consumers, which is really unfortunate to take our options away from us in order to force 4K and streaming to everyone. When companies want consumers to accept something (ie. 4K, streaming services), they simply take away our options (3D) so that we are limited and therefore MUST adapt. It's funny... No 3D at home anymore, yet 3D movies are still released in theaters and DVD's are still around, and they are now at least 3 generations old. Once you see an amazing 3D film in theaters (Star Wars, Avengers, etc.), you will NEVER again be able to experience that thanks to Samsung. Thank you to Sony for including 3D playback in the X800! Please don't kill 3D just because Samsung abandoned us. Many of us still enjoy it. If anything, it should still be offered on the "flagship" models of TV's and 4K players for the high-end consumers who want it all. And for crying out loud, keep the front (LED) display on the unit! I can't stand it when players no longer have a front display and you can't tell what's going on with the unit. Thankfully, this unit has one and that's another key reason for my purchase. If I had one issue, it would be that the player does not offer an audio sync function and sometimes the audio syncing does get off a little bit when going from streaming services to a 4K disc. Standard Bluray discs play without any issues. It doesn't happen all the time, but often enough that Sony should add a feature to allow users to adjust the audio sync. Otherwise, it's an amazing unit and well worth the purchase. (I got it on sale at the BX for a steal!) :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very Disapponted

UBP-X800 19/06/2019 by SteveB7Too (USA)

I'm one of those "brand loyal" types; so I didn't want to believe the negative feedback this player has received, until I started to experience them. The freezing begins sporadically and eventually becomes a regular occurrence. Having to constantly reset the player is tiresome. I don't know if there's firmware that will correct the problem. At this stage; I'd rather not bother. Seems it's time to look elsewhere.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/06/2019

Hello SteveB7Too,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Please try following the steps on the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video/articles/00139302

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Very pleased with my UBP-X800 Player

UBP-X800 18/06/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my player through John Lewis via the net. No hassle, arrived when stated; well packed and with a book of instructions. As it was replacing an existing BD all I had to do was link up the existing cables. When it first started it updated itself and went through the set up process without a hitch. Since then it has played CD, DVD Blu-Ray and 4K BD without any problems. I have also streamed from a nas a lot of music, mostly wav. The picture is excellent and the sound is a good few steps up from the player it replaced. It feels well made, feet grip enough to hinder sliding into position without lifting slightly and sit solidly on the glass shelf. Chassis is very rigid and just looks good. So far I am pleased with the purchase and would recommend it with confidence.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

UBPX800 18/06/2019 by pauly wauly 49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this player a month ago and have been extremely impressed with its performance, including it's Hi-Res Sound feature!! We bought it to take the place of another DVD player who's 3D feature gave out. Can't say enough about the quality of 4K video in 3D. This player was a fantastic investment. We look forward to many years of enjoyment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Greta picture when it works

UBP-X800 10/06/2019 by Mr645 (USA)

I purchased the X800 and a Sony 85" X850 TV and the X800 is a mess. Overtime I start it up it forgets the wifi connections and the selected apps. Now it powers on, shows the Sony logo for a second and goes black with occasional snow showing up. I already spoke to Sony tech support and we reset it, worked a couple of times now doing this. I am thinking of returning everything and trying a different brand.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2019

Hi Mr645, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. - Romeo

0

best features and performance

UBPX800 12/05/2019 by techfreak64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having just purchased a 4k UHD TV it was time to update the DVD player. I've always liked Sony's products. This player was on my short list and bonus SACD support. Played a few standard Blu Ray, up-converting is flawless, and a remastered to 4k original Blade runner , picture is just fabulous. I'll come back around to comment when I have a few true 4k uhd disks to play, but at this point this machine is just great. The build quality is much better then the plastic boxes most players come in. The unit itself is virtually silent. Also really like the fact this has 2 hdmi outputs. I have a Yamaha Aventage reciever which handles 4k but only up to 10 bit 4,4,4 60hz for video ( audio is full Atmos etc.) So with this Sony player HDMI2 goes to the receiver for audio, HDMI1 goes direct to the TV. The TV (not sony sorry I needed 40 inch tv) and the Sony Player handshaked immediately and at full 4.4.4 etc. Having 2 separate HDMI insures the Audio is one path and the Video on the other. Wifi also works quite well. Bonus for me was Best Buy had this on sale for 229. In short just get this unit if you want best audio & video performance for your $

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

good sound / picture ok

UBP-X800 08/05/2019 by Slimey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the X800 a month ago to integrate into my q acoustics surroundsound system. the conventional blu ray discs are ok, not as good as my old Panansonic blu ray, normal DVD's again are just passable, 4k is when it comes alive. soundwise good clarity, definition and control. Streaming music Wav files from my server is excellent quality, up sampling of the AAC files is ok but still not as good as the Wav files as claimed by Sony so expect this to make a great deal of difference. Not many apps and no download of many popular apps available so a big failing there, Netflix fails every time although on my TV in the same room the Netflix app is perfect. Internet connection a long way from the router is good. Overall happy with the player at £230.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Reasonable Product

UBP-X800 06/05/2019 by 617S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased from Retailer in Cheltenham UK. Seemed to be the obvious choice when buying a Bravia from same place. Works well with my KD55AF8B TV. Would've preferred more info thru the operating booklet rather than the seemingly hit'n'miss strategy of using the remote set to figure things out for yourself.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Sony Quality!

ubpx800-b 20/04/2019 by SteveScott77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the Sony UBP-X800B BLU-RAY Player. It is amazing - typical Sony quality. The construction is solid - top notch understated minimalism. The operation is quiet, seemless and fluid. I will soon purchase a new Sony HD TV to pair with this superlative BLU-RAY Player. Thank you Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Upgrade

UBP-X800 17/04/2019 by Palfrey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has been a worthwhile upgrade to my previous Sony Blu Ray player. More depth of colour and detail. The biggest bonus is it plays the Multichannel Super Audio CDs I have. Coupled to a Sony STR DH790 amp, and decent speakers. A great addition for Home cinema experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to set up

UBP-X800 12/04/2019 by Sueeee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about month ago to match new 4k tv easy to set up and use great value

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice blu-ray player

ubpx800-b 12/04/2019 by wayne32 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i just got the 2nd one the other one wes freezeing up so i take it back to the store an got this one so i got hoot up to my onkyo rz620 7,2 12"klischs subwoofer an 70"4k hdr smart oled tv it has dolby vision but my x800 dont have it sony need to send a update out for dolby vision to the x800 blu-ray player ......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A good example of an excellent bluray player.

UBP-X800 11/04/2019 by Big7274 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the X800 Sony for about 3 weeks and it’s quality of picture, sound and ease of use surpasses any other bluray player on the market. A unit worth investing in . I also found the Wi Fi very strong and updating was quick. Go for it if you are in the market for one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning picture, whisper quiet

UBP-X800 04/04/2019 by Tall Paul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to link up with my Bravia KD43XF8096BU TV and HT-CT380 soundbar. It replaced a BDP-S570B which had always served me very well, so I was a little concerned that any improvements would only be minor. I need not have worried. I've been absolutely blown away by the picture quality, especially on up-scaled non-4K Blu-rays. It is simply breathtaking. Sound quality is excellent too and to top it all the unit operates quickly and silently.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Works as expected

UBPX800 02/04/2019 by Tentwo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for a month. connected to A/V unit,which is connected to TV and works as expected

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound and picture.Poor interface

UBP-X800 01/04/2019 by fredcat (United Kingdom)

This has a great sound and picture. The machine feels solid and well built. But_ The remote is cheap. It has no number buttons and can not change the volume on the Sony AV receiver. There is no display on the disk player and now Sony does not support the Gracenote function, you only get a small T3 (or T4ect) in the corner of your large screen TV to say what CD track you are listening to, which is a bit pathetic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great product

UBP-X800 28/03/2019 by Clive 53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very comprehensive product and the SACD is a real bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

I’m on my third unit...

UBP-X800 23/03/2019 by MPS37 (USA)

This is the third UBPX800 I have owned, and all three forget my settings upon powering off. The first one I returned to Best Buy. The second one was exchanged by Sony. The third is now in the process of “troubleshooting” with tech support. I have had a wonderful experience with all my other Sony products, but this particular product line had been horrible for me personally. Try the UBPX700 instead!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
26/03/2019

Hi MPS37,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Could be better

UBP-X800 15/03/2019 by Retired Medic (USA)

First it’s a good, almost great player - no issues for what it does playing a 4K UHD disk. The menu screen for the player leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Yes you can add Apps - only a small selection of preloaded ones to favorites but you can’t clean up the interface to make it more customizable/friendly for your personal taste as I did with my Sony 55X800E - overall great price and picture. Not a great experience.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
19/03/2019

Hi Retired Medic,


We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support

0

Great 4k hdr Blu-ray player

ubpx800-b 13/03/2019 by Joshua345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It shows the best picture wow every one musk get one I have it hoot to my hometheater an 70" lg 4k hdr OLED tv onky has 7 speakers 2 12" klipsch subwoofer s I'm good to go just need the popcorn an the coke........go out an get the x800 u will love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

First Class Blu Ray player

UBP-X800 11/03/2019 by bromsman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with my UBP-X800 I've had many Blu Ray over the years and this is the best all the features but one you could want. Love the Bluetooth feed for headphones. Only feature missing is Dolby Vision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

When it works it’s superb

UBP-X800 11/03/2019 by Holmzirules (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased two weeks ago, kept freezing on movies, had to turn off and start again, tried updating and different cables ,no good,now returned for a different manufacturer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Bad product.

UBP-X800 09/03/2019 by Rickdog54 (USA)

I bought this product 13 months ago. I played it twice. Now it has no picture or power dead.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
28/03/2019

Hi Rickdog54,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this player. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/audio-video-home-video/articles/00015721

Regards,
Sam
Sony Social Support

0

Dead

UBPX800 05/03/2019 by Dead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After 6 months, the player would not power up. I unplugged the player from the power source, and after a few minutes plugged it back in. This worked to get the unit up and running until recently. Now it will not power up. Dead. I have tried everything to get it to operate, but nothing. I have read other reviews from buyers who have wrote that their player stopped working as well. One person said he returned it to the store where he purchased it and they swapped it out. The new unit works great, he wrote. Other manufacturers of the 4K Blu ray are having the same issue, a from what I have read.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
02/04/2019

Hello Dead,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great Blu-ray player 4k hdr

ubpx800-b 03/03/2019 by Joshua276 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this x800 this one is better then the x700 It's awesome sony did it this time keep up the good work sony its hoot up to my 70" l g 4k hdr smart oled tv onky nr676 2 12" subwoofer 7 speaker s my hometheater is completely finished........so now I need some popcorn an a coke......

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

easy setup

ubpx800-b 27/02/2019 by Jack1944 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Met my needs and ease of setup. Good price and quality product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Awful! Constant freezing issues.

UBPX800 27/02/2019 by PJJ9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Do not buy X800 model. First unit froze constantly after 6 months. Had a replacement unit with the warranty and second unit froze constantly after 6 months. Sony refused to do anything to fix the issue. DO NOT BUY!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

Response From Sony Social Support
02/03/2019

Hi PJJ9, we are sorry to hear what happened as well for the inconvenience. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

Excellent but one small frustration.

UBP-X800 25/02/2019 by Dicker1966 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a competent all-rounder with a lot of functionality inside one box but it also has a niggle that robs it of being a 5 star performer; it can't be converted at the point of sale to be multi-region DVD. If you have a large legacy collection, you can't play your discs and have to retain an older player, as well as this new one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Product Quality

ubpx800-b 24/02/2019 by Hemi Biker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product about 6 months ago and have enjoyed greatly The picture and quality are excellent and last a long time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal addition to my system

UBP-X800 21/02/2019 by xxxxx10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only have had the player for a couple of weeks but it lives up to my expectations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Had the product for 18 months and it stopped

UBP-X800 19/02/2019 by 4K user (USA)

Sony recommended sending it it united Radio and it could be be repaired

Picture Quality

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Great picture

UBP-X800 18/02/2019 by Kungfukid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used a couple of times but so far the picture is very good and the machine is very quiet

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not worth the money

UBP-X800 13/02/2019 by Jeff16 (USA)

I bought my first one two months ago. Since then I have returned it twice and the third one is being returned this week. Each one them worked half of the time when you turned it on or put in a disc. The door would open, but not close unless you give it a tap. It consistently said there wasn't a disc in, when there was one. I would have to unplug it to reset it and get it to play. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLAYER

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
18/02/2019

Hi Jeff16,



We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Clean, simple, smooth system and operations.

UBPX800 05/02/2019 by R W H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a product that will adapt to new technologies in TV and related entertainment. Sony's DVD/CD player is the best available and will work well into the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Great Blu-ray player

UBPX800 31/01/2019 by Phila12180 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas gift I purchased for myself. I had a problem with it right out of the box. Sony took care of the problem for me very quickly by sending me a new one. Now I have used it I am very happy with it, the player has great features. This is my third Sony product, I have two Sony XBR TV's. Picture quality is always great with Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Functions

ubpx800-b 28/01/2019 by mortallywounded (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

$200 at Best Buy. Plays Blu-ray discs that weren't working on my old player. Netflix works. Image quality on all media is better than my 2009 Sony Blu-ray.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

It worked only 7 times!

UBP-X800 28/01/2019 by TrueAudio (USA)

I bought this a bit over a year ago and I only used it to play Ultra HD movies. Well, I tired to use it a few weeks ago and it doesn’t play Ultra HD movies, only regular Blu-ray. Spent time with customer service but because I had just past the one year mark, no warranty, no support! It’s my second high end product that fails in a year. My Sony Oled TV also failed!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works well.

ubpx800-b 26/01/2019 by Rod05 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Remote controller has awkward placement of most frequently needed buttons, play, pause, ff, rev, previous, next, stop. They should be located at the bottom of the remote and different colors or shapes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Solid as a rock.

UBP-X800 23/01/2019 by Catfan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a month ago after replacing my previous five year old 100% reliable SONY Blu-Ray DVD player because I wanted a 4K UHD DVD player. This player is so solid & looks very well built, lots of features & delivers fantastic picture & sound quality to my TV. Seems strange having no display only a green light to show the player is switched on but I'll get used to that. The UBP-X100 is very quiet in operation too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to install

UBP-X800 22/01/2019 by Tony451 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Usual Sony quality and makes the operation fairly easy

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So pleased and satisfied

ubpx800-b 20/01/2019 by Nat1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony continues to build great products at a resonable price. I am verysatisfied with UBP-X700 Ultra HD blue-ray player. The sound and picture are truly AWESOME! It performs as well as higher price players with out the high price tag! Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent audio and video

UBP-X800 20/01/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used Sony products for decade (TVs, Walkman, PlayStation, SACD...) and am always please with the product quality, both build and performance. The UBP-X800 is no exception. If you want excellent audio and video reproduction then this product is for you. If you want downloadable apps? Look elsewhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Intuative

UBP-X800 20/01/2019 by Nelly Dee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only used DVDs to date but have been impressed so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning Player except for.....

UBP-X800 17/01/2019 by Fallen (United Kingdom)

A Stunning Player with excellent and beautiful picture and stunning sound...the only let down is it's random pause and freeze on random 4K discs only mid way through a film or documentary which is disappointing as 4K is one of it's main Award Winning points. I can only hope a firmware update will solve this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great product

UBPX800 16/01/2019 by Mondos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this for Christmas and I’m very happy my son purchase this for me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Good audio and video quality, rigid too

UBP-X800 15/01/2019  (USA)

Very good audio quality (especially if we use blutooth head set), Picture quality amazing. Rigid construction. So overall good. I am out of US, so streaming is not working.(that is region problem) I watch 4 (four) 4K movies....wonderful. Parentel control is also good. lots of features packed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k blue ray

UBP-X800 14/01/2019 by DG57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I originally bought a Xbox one X to play 4k blue ray disc as it's main use however it is a very fickle machine so took it back and replaced with this Sony player which I am so glad I did as it plays everything without hassle, excellent picture and sound and very easy to set up. Would have liked all freeview channels not just IPlayer and Demand 5 but there might be updates later !. I would have given it 5 stars if it had all the freeview play apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony UBP X800 UHD 4K player

UBP-X800 13/01/2019 by Wingco_2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product was bought as a Christmas present but was returned for refund around January 6th. While giving an exceptional picture and sound it displayed intermittent loss of sound and vision on every Blu-ray and 4K Blu-Ray disc that I played on it. Most disappointing. Checking with the forums, the fault could only be addressed by turning off Deep Colour. This was a poor answer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s OK as a 4K BluRay player.....

UBP-X800 11/01/2019 by NaimGuy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

.... and at £239 in the January sale, it was good value. Not the last word in picture quality (it’s no Oppo UDP-205, but is 20% of the Oppo’s cost and still available!). Overall it functions well and is OK.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Worked well until it failed...twice !

UBPX800 09/01/2019 by ErickM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the UBP-X800 in December 2017. The player worked flawlessly until April 2018, when it stopped functioning entirely. Returned the player to Sony, and they shipped a replacement. That replacement failed in the exact same manner in November 2018. Returned that unit, and Sony reimbursed my purchase claiming that they had "no comparable model to offer"... I have been a loyal Sony customer for many years, but have strong doubts about the quality control of the UBP-X800, and will not be purchasing another SONY blu-ray player in the near future. I feel sad writing this as the UBP-X800 performed extremely well (when it was actually working) and would prefer to have written a positive review about it. Not mentioning that Sony did not reimburse me for the box I had to purchase to return the first player, nor for the taxes I paid on the initial player purchase, nor could make the effort to offer another 4K BR player for the issues I encountered and time spent with their customer service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
11/01/2019

Hi ErickM,


We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Dramatic change to any movie or show

UBPX800 03/01/2019 by JoeS01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this player immediately after I bought my 4k TV. The sound and picture it presents have taken me to a place that I had never been. I find myself watching and buying movies in 4k quality for the sheer pleasure of the quality involved on shows and movies that I've already seen. It's almost as if I'm viewing them for the first time!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very sharp image

UBPX800 03/01/2019 by Gd1451 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is very good price for the quality of device you get

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome multi-talented kit

UBP-X800 02/01/2019 by Brewdog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not had this long, but seriously impressed. Bought for music skills as well as video. Video quality (and audio with it) great. Firing up a CD really shows off music skills as well - easily a replacement for one box hifi, almost up to separates standard. But then, a great bonus; via the Sony Music Centre app, can run music off my phone via wi-fi. Can load up a USB stick with music as well, all controlled via the app (can also control via TV). It's also a smart box, which is something of a bonus. Limited connections; to get the best of audio if not using 4K AV amp need HDMI or coaxial input to amp, having connected DVD player direct to 4K TV. Have I mentioned excellent upscaling for non-4K DVDs? I have not tried Bluetooth output to headphones yet, but hoping LDAC will make a difference when I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bricked for BD/DVD after software update

ubpx800-b 01/01/2019 by jodyz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this in late November 2018. Opened on Christmas. Unit performed fine for three days until I finally acknowledged the screen prompts to update the player's software. Player no longer recognizes any BD or DVD I insert

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/01/2019

Hi jodyz,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this player. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00139302

0

Great product

ubpx800-b 30/12/2018 by The Grand Wazoo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great 4K-Blu-ray DVD player. Awesome Picure and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K and UHD picture

UBPX800 28/12/2018 by Widjy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago for my husband and I for Christmas and couldn't be happier unless it included an Internet Browser which we had hoped.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stck in 3-D mode after Year and Half of little use

ubpx800-b 25/12/2018 by Tfiddler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It stopped working last night on Christmas Eve! It seems to be stuck in 3-D mode. The first thing was the movie I was watching Froze. Tried to turn it off and unplug it and all my settings were erased. Went through setup and reset a few times and tried to watch Wolverine 3-D again and it kept flashing in and out of 3-D. Finally froze in 3-D mode and can't see any of the menus or play any disks at all. Everything is double vision. Rebooted several times with no success. I have other Sony gear that's lasted years and years. Not this one. It was Expensive too!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2018

Hello Tfiddler, we're sorry to hear that. You may isolate the issue by simply following the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800/articles/00030275
Regards, _Bob

0

Excellent 4k machine

UBP-X800 19/12/2018 by Brad478 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very new to 4k as I have over one hundred Blu-Ray movies so I thought I would jump on board. I've just purchased this player along with the Sony 55XF9005 and WOW! firstly I'm aware that their is no display probably due to Sony increasing space inside to make this a better machine also just press the button on the remote (display) and all information shows on screen as its no big deal, the machine loads up fine with no issues. When I took delivery of it I was quite shocked that Spiderman Homecoming was inside the box so this was a nice touch from Sony especially as it wasn't stated on the John Lewis Website, I decided to use the HDMI from the rear audio of the player and connect it to my Soundbar and was I amazed. Picture quality is clear to see bearing in mind I've constantly watched Blu-Ray so I could clearly see the difference and so could my children, we watched Spiderman and everything in the background is very clear, sharp with unbelievable detail where as normally it would tend to be slightly blurry on DVD or Blu-Ray also the colours are electrifying especially flames, lightning and explosions. All the apps worked well on the machine with no issues and basically this is a beautiful machine from the moment you take it out of the box and feel the weight of it you know it's quality. I personally wouldn't buy films that have been transferred from Blu-Ray to 4K as I wouldn't be sure of the quality so I will stick to buying new releases in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Player at a Great Price

ubpx800-b 18/12/2018 by Arloff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to my old Sony DVD/CD player which I bought 16 years ago. The old one still works great but I needed a player with HDMI outputs. I have a huge selection of SACD and DVD-Audio discs so I needed a player that can handle anything. I choose this one and I am sure glad I did. Set up was very easy and now my music and movies play better than ever. You can't go wrong with Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hmmm

UBP-X800 17/12/2018  (USA)

I bought this 17 months ago. The unit has failed. It will not re-set via powering down, unplugging or any other known work arounds. We have its predecessor Pioneer Elite in the basement which is over 10 years which performed eloquently without any problems. It’s disappointing to have to change your Sony Blu-ray almost as often as your car engine filter. What the blank.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Response From Sony Social Support
18/12/2018

Hi Obser Vaunt,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this player. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00139302

0

Fails to play a disc without issues

ubpx800-b 13/12/2018 by Cooter15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4K DVD player has been used less than dozen times and every time I want to see a new movie, it skips randomly, fails to play and at times shuts itself off. When it does play it provides a fantastic picture and sound to compliment my system. More problem than its worth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
14/12/2018

Hi Cooter15, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.



Regards,
Erin

0

NO longer works

ubpx800-b 12/12/2018 by UBP x800 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lasted a year, now my blu ray player will no longer recognize any dvds or blu ray discs. Also, doesn't play Vudu UHD from the player. I have to purchase and play VUDU UHD from my TV.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
12/12/2018

Hello there,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this player. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00139302

0

Great with one reservation.

UBP-X800 11/12/2018 by RickGr4 (USA)

1. + Build quality seems great for the price. 2. + Obviously love the 4K/HDR picture quality on my 65" OLED. 3. + Very predictable control from my universal remotes. 4. - Very limited streaming apps. It would never replace a streaming device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent product

UBP-X800 11/12/2018 by Derek99 (United Kingdom)

Very clear quality picture when playing a 4K movie

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0