156

3.9 based on 156 customer reviews

78
29
19
9
21
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing

UBP-X800M2 31/03/2020 by AlanHinckley (United Kingdom)

Had this a little while now and still getting to grips with everything it can do, however, so far so amazingly good. Firstly the picture quality of my (mostly old) DVDs has suddenly renewed my pleasure at seeing my favourite DVDs like they were Blu-rays. This in itself is a huge bonus, one that makes the cost of this player worthwhile and yet on top of that, the even better picture quality of my Blu-rays (and the sound is far better too) blows me away. AND I have not yet mentioned 4K - all I will say is that until you see it you won't believe the difference. OK so I have a new Sony 4K TV so it was 'necessary' for the player upgrade, but in all honesty I was not expecting such a huge quality increase. Wow! At this time of needing to self isolate my wife and I are watching a lot more television so I am patting myself on the back for getting the new tv and player at just the right time. In all honesty, I do believe I am enjoying my favourite films more now than ever before. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needs an update

UBP-X800M2 22/05/2019 by OctavioM (USA)

Splendid look and excellent build quality. Very good picture and sound from BD and Netflix. However there are three problems: 1) Dolby Vision doesn't activate automatically. Must be turned off manually each time you are watching a non DV movie. 2) Does not support Dolby Digital Plus (eac3 codec) when watching movies through USB hard disc. 3) Moving through the Netflix menu is very slow compared to my LG TV or laptop. I hope Sony solve these issues with a firmware update.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

0

156 Customer Reviews

0

A+++++++++++++ :)

UBPX800M2 01/07/2020 by JCR0007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Anything Sony I love the Rolls Royce of electronics but just 1 buggy thing if it stops turning on just unplug it then back in & change the power saver to turn on slow & that fixed the problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

It's great

UBPX800M2 29/06/2020 by Little flower (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This DVD is the best picture I have ever4 had.....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Only 3 streaming apps?

UBPX800M2 22/06/2020 by raeddy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very surprised this machine does not support a suite of streaming apps. Only Amazon Prime, Netflix, and Youtube. Disapointed

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/06/2020

Hi raeddy, we're sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. Apps on this unit are being updated along with the firmware update. Please make sure that the firmware of your device is always up to date. You may check this link: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800m2/downloads/00016618 SONY provides a 1-year limited warranty for this unit. Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

4K Wow

UBPX800M2 19/06/2020 by USAF E8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed a new blu-ray play and purchased Sony UBP-X800M2 4K UHD player with HDR. Have been watching a show on Regular Blu-ray player and the upgrade produces a clear, bright picture. Very happy with this 4K player. Worth every penny and definitely recommend this unit. Did not by for streaming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi USAF E8, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl

0

Falls Just Short

UBPX800M2 17/06/2020 by Gtiguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just set this up a day ago. Tv has great picture and can be seen from the side very well. Sound is not as good as expected but since it didn’t come with a Owners Operation Manual I may not have it set up correctly. The remote works well but instead of little colored buttons why not have a couple for Hulu and Sling. My complaint here is that I have a Amazon Firestick plugged into it and I can choose what I want to watch with the tv’s remote but can’t control sound or pull up menu. That’s Crazy. These are the short comings , setup sheet should have better instructions, tv should have operators manual, remote lacks access to other program providers. All this being said is why it’s not 5 star.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi, Gtiguy, Thank you for sharing your positive reviews and concerns on the TV. Regarding the issue, please check the connections/set up of the HDMI devices. If you have Sony TV, press the Help button on your TV remote control for your reference. Jay

0

The non plus ultra in home theater experience

UBP-X800M2 17/06/2020 by Badado (USA)

Unpacking the Sony UBP-X800M2 is already an experience of its own. While unwrapping the product you realize immediately from the weight that the produce has been built differently from every other consumer blu-ray players. Solid and well constructed. The Audio and video experience is of another planet. Vibrant colors and deep contrast, crystal clear sound and full bass make the UBP-X800M2 the non plus ultra in high end audio/video products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

14

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi, Badado,

We're glad that you like the quality of this Blu-ray player. Thank you for sharing this feedback. Jay

0

definitely an upgrade from the X-700

UBPX800M2 13/06/2020 by sudara1978 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I retired my mostly functional X-700 to the bedroom and upgraded to the X-800M2 for my main theater and Its quality build is immediately apparent and its Stylish as well but Its Not Just about aesthetics, I also notice the big Improvement in clarity even in already exceptional HDR Enhancements. Does Help Having A QuantumLED TV the X-700 Was Good enough But the X-800M2 is Immersively vivid and Bright and the contrast in the picture is the best I've seen

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

19

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/06/2020

Hi sudara1978, thank you for the kind words and we’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Regards, Erin

0

Terrible Waste of Money

UBPX800M2 11/06/2020 by toddca1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for Black Friday in 2019 to replace my existing Sony Blue Ray player which has become increasingly unresponsive to remote input over the years. I was initially disappointed to find that the UBP-X800M2 does not allow installation of any additional apps, so you are stuck with Netflix, YouTube and PrimeVideo. That eliminates our ability to use Hulu, DisneyPlus, HBONow and VUDU for which we also have subscriptions. I was willing to live with that, but, due to the fact that we typically just cast the other services from our phones using Chromecast, we really didn't use this thing much in the last 6 months. So just a day or two ago I went to turn it on so my 4 year old could use the remote to watch Netflix (without the need for my phone) and low and behold the UBP-X800M2 turns on but will not transmit a signal to my TV over the same HDMI that it's been connected to since November. Additionally, the remote control will not open the disk tray, but when i manually click the bottom on top of the UBP-X800M2 the disc tray opens. I put brand new batteries in the remote to double check and it still won't open, nor does it appear to respond to any of the other button clicks, except the TV on/off button, which does indeed turn my TV on and off. So in short, owned it for 6 months, barely used it because there's a limited app support, and it crapped out. And naturally I didn't keep my receipt, which is required for proof of purchase to register this thing online and make a complaint, so I'm stuck with a $150 electrical paper weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

16

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/06/2020

Hi toddca1,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your Blu-ray player. This is not the experience we want you to have.
For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Hope to hear from you soon,
David

0

Missing remote features

UBP-X800M2 08/06/2020 by art c (USA)

No replay or advance features on the remote. Should be standard for all dvd players.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

19

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2020

Hi, art, We value your input and appreciate your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Exceeded expectations

UBPX800M2 06/06/2020 by Ssirguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Replaced a dead blu-ray player. I was reluctant to purchase because everything is about streaming these days. I wish I would have not waited so long. What a difference. I expected a better picture but the sound is amazing. All of my old DVD’s have never looked or sounded better. Really good upscaling. Bought on sale so was reasonably priced. Player is solid and heavy and does not look cheap. I hope it lasts for a long time. Can’t comment on Netflix. I don’t use it for streaming I have other devices that I use for Netflix, YouTube, etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2020

Hi Ssirguy, We're very happy to hear you've upgraded to your new UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Sony TV excellent. Blu Ray not as much

UBPX800M2 05/06/2020 by Benny30 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a new one to replace one that I had less than two years. Before that I had one that didn't even last that long. I did buy the extra ins. but because of the covid virus I couldn't get help with that. It's just my husband and myself and the only time we use it is in the evening and I clean it periodically so I am not pleased with the lasting power. I am pleased with the sharp color and I would not have replaced AGAIN if I didn't basically like it.I am so hoping this one last since I couldn't get ins. on it because of the covid. It was nice to be able to tell the store what one I had and to order a new one and do a pick up because it was a necessity, again because of covid. Anyway I hope you can improve their lasting power.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

17

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/06/2020

Hi Benny30,

Thanks for the feedback. We appreciate it! Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Excellent performance but not user friendly

UBPX800M2 28/05/2020 by Darren1701 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality and overall performance are excellent and the inclusion of SACD and DVD-A playback is very welcome, but as others have pointed out, the Dolby Vision implementation is abysmal and there’s no reason for it to be so difficult to to switch to. After many firmware updates without resolution, I’m assuming there is not going to be any fix for it anytime soon which is why I’m leaving only three stars. Also, the lack of streaming apps is annoying since the previous model in the line included many options. Note to Sony: You don’t gain customers by removing popular features from your newest models of electronics. Overall, good performance but lacking in user-friendly features and use. If the DV issue is ever fixed, I’ll gladly re-evaluate my rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/06/2020

Hi Darren1701, we are glad that you like the overall performance of the player. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely, Erin

0

Nothing but issues from the start!

UBPX800M2 26/05/2020 by wjohn61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this player for a little over 2 weeks. I've used, or tried to use to be more accurate, the player maybe a dozen times in that time period, and I have yet to start it up once and make it through a movie/show without having to restart the player. It either completely freezes, or more often lately, the picture cuts out and audio continues running. It's nothing in my setup causing the issue, it's the unit. Returning it this weekend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/06/2020

Hi wjohn61, we regret to hear about the issues you have encountered with the player. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. Please try performing a factory reset to isolate these issues. Please follow the steps below.
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00139302

Your player comes with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty. I hope this helps but if you still need assistance, do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Good Buy!

UBPX800M2 24/05/2020 by Oldphred (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still new, but works great! All the features are exactly as advertised and set-up was easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2020

Hi Oldphred, Awesome! We're glad to hear you're enjoying the overall features of your new UBPX800M2 player. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Great working player but no Hulu or Vudu

UBPX800M2 22/05/2020 by Putintane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great working player but it only has Netflix, Prime and YouTube. I had to install a separate stream box to get Hulu and Vudu. Overpriced for getting mainly just a player. I have the 2017 version of this player and it has the streaming apps. Come on Sony, why so stingy. Bring back the apps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/05/2020

Hi Putintane, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Best Blu-ray I’ve ever owned

UBPX800M2 21/05/2020 by rusty nova (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything works great features and great and user-friendly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/05/2020

Hi rusty, we are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day! ~Earl

0

Easy operation

UBP-X800M2 20/05/2020 by Johnnie38 (United Kingdom)

I have just bought this product. Found set up easy and operation very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great design and video quality but chassis twisted

UBP-X800M2 19/05/2020 by justadude (USA)

First off – I love the player's video quality and design and would definitely recommend it to others. However, there is one thing that bothers me a little – I have purchased three of these so far, two used and one new from a very reputable authorized Sony dealer, and none of them sat flat on a perfectly flat, even surface. With the used ones I assumed that it was because of shipping damage and sent them back, however, the brand new one, which was double-boxed and came sealed in a glossy Sony box that had zero damage and not even a single dent or scuff on the outside, had the same issue. It goes without saying that I have tried multiple flat surfaces – first the TV console, then coffee table, and finally a side table with a glass top. The glass top is definitely perfectly flat, and I tried it just in case the wooden tops are not. On all of those surfaces my brand-new X800M2 rocks a little. A 1/64" thick piece of electrical tape under one of the feet will fix this, but I feel like I should not have to do this. If this is a manufacturing issue and the chassis cannot be made perfectly flat, one of the feet simply has to be made adjustable the way furniture makers do it. Actually, Apple had the same issue with their latest iPad Pro, which also arrived to some people slightly twisted, and Apple's response was that it is impossible to make them perfectly flat. I suspect that the same is true of Sony's Blu-ray player frames. Based on my web searches, others have noticed this issue as well, although from what I see it is not a common complaint. Again, this is not a deal-breaker to me, just something to be aware of. If the player is unsteady, it can start skipping due to vibrations from the subwoofer, speakers, and people walking by. Sony – Is this normal?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi, justadude7b1ydp7pya0unrj8qqoymer21,

We're glad that you love the quality and design of this unit. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

3rd player works

UBPX800M2 18/05/2020 by angst (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the 1st 2 players i got from best buy skipped. the final one sent from texas works. i would like you to notify me and best buy what caused the skipping problem?

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi angst, We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. If the picture skips or freezes when playing a movie, there may be a problem with the disc or the unit itself. Please follow the troubleshooting steps to resolve this issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800m2/articles/00008473

Your unit comes with a 1-year limited manufacturer's warranty. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Decent update, but not keeping pace

UBPX800M2 17/05/2020 by ConsolidateNow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a 13 year old Sony. The previous model was good, but had a few quirks That seems to be a trend with sony. The new model Is sleek and I like the form factor. They just don't go far enough on the features. No USB connection, despite what the manual and software say. You can stream NetFlix, Amazon, and YouTube, but not YouTubeTV. Disney plus requires an Android TV. The product details says "may play more streaming services", but that apparently is wishful thinking. I can see these limitation if you are looking at a $50 model, but at $250, I was hoping not to be so limited. I don't think Sony really cares about this technology like it should. I am looking for a device that I can centralize everything. But as it is, I need Roku and a DVD player...more devices and multiple remotes (have not found a universal that works well with what I have.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Unit

UBPX800M2 16/05/2020 by Inspector869 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent unit. Is much heavier than previous player, operates very quite, easy to use, set up was a breeze. Bought to mate up with our new 75X900F and picture and playback is excellent. I don't require a lot of apps as the TV already has them, and I prefer to unit to be focused on its primary function anyhow. We have been building our 4K movie library and we really enjoy getting the full benefit of the playback in 4K. I would recommend this unit and look forward to many years of service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi Inspector869, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

What happened to all the apps????

UBPX800M2 14/05/2020 by marganon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I also own a UBP-X800, and I bought this unit thinking it would be comparable. I am sorry to say it falls way short of the X800. The X800 has Pandora, Hulu, Sirius XM, Slacker Radio and so many other wonderful apps. All this has is YouTube, Netflix, and Amazon Prime, as does the X800, but out of all of those, I only use YouTube. Sirius and Pandora would have been nice as I bough this unit for the living room and I do have subscription. A weak imitation of it's older brother. The only thing I can say is a superiority about this unit is that its YouTube app works better than its older brother. It does not truncate the beginning of videos like the older model does. I am disappointed, and it is your own fault, Sony, for setting such high standards and then not keeping up with them.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi, marganon, Different models have different features and the number of apps. We appreciate your feedback about the Equalizer. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Skips

UBP-X800M2 11/05/2020 by RW59 (USA)

For the moment, wanted to just use it to play audio CDs. Skips within every song. On every CD. Had to plug in my teenage daughter's cheap, portable kareoke machine for no-problem results. Also, there's no front panel display to indicate what is going on. I guess this is supposed to be progress. What a disappointment.

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/05/2020

Hi RW59, We regret to hear that you're having issues playing audio CDs with your unit. Follow the steps below to troubleshoot if the Blu-ray Disc player cannot read, play, or skips the disc.

-Make sure the disc is playable. Please refer to the link below for supported disc type:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4740/043cf5641adf90fb7113c8029fdb0239/47408221M.pdf (page 35)

If the issue occurs with all discs, please contact us so we can better assist you. Email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Very high quality player

UBPX800M2 06/05/2020 by joel105 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player is made extremely well and is very fast compared to others I have owned. I love it! What I don't love is the way Sony is dragging their heels with regard to my missing sony reward points. It has been many months now and I have heard nothing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2020

Hi joel105, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl

0

Great new quality product

UBP-X800M2 30/04/2020 by Ropes (United Kingdom)

Too early to comment. However first impressions great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony - UBP-UX80 Junk

UBP-X800M2 26/04/2020 by Ggggrrtt (USA)

Unit is a piece of junk. Bought 14 months ago and after expires the unit keeps shutting down. Turn it back on repeatedly and it just shuts down. Rebooting does help. Happens every time it is used. Expensive and a piece of absolute junk Do not buy for any reason

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/04/2020

Hi, Ggggrrtt, I am sorry to hear about your experience with your Blu-ray player. Instead of just rebooting the player, we suggest performing a power reset by following the guide from this article: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00175201.

If you are still having the same issue, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Sony quality

UBPX800M2 25/04/2020 by Bertag40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love my new Sony 4K player, brilliant match with my Sony 4K TV. All I buy is Sony because of the quality and reliability. Highly recommended to all !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/04/2020

Hi, Bertag40, We are glad to hear that you love your new Blu-ray player. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Meh

UBPX800M2 25/04/2020 by Gtrmantb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had an oppo bdp before this and loved it. However, it started having trouble reading disc so I replaced it with this Sony. I don’t think the picture is as good and it has some artifacts that show up. Not great.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/04/2020

Hi Gtrmantb, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Almost Perfect

UBP-X800M2 19/04/2020 by MattyT (United Kingdom)

Had this almost 6 months now and no problems (touch wood)! To sum it up in three words, slow, slick and silent. For 4K discs I have to say its a little sluggish for load times - but only 4K discs (which I guess you could argue is the main point of having it) Obviously there is a huge amount more data on a 4K UHD disc compared to a Blu Ray disc, but pop a Blu Ray inside and it's rapid. Scene selections are instant. Upscaling fantastic too. I'm not going to review picture quality (although mine is simply outstanding) as it will depend on what television you have. I cannot get over how silent this machine is - I don't think I've ever heard it. Audio features are excellent, I also use mine for CD's. Interface is a little bog-standard, but simple and concise. The unit had a great weight and size - and even sits under my bravia - not in the telly stand. It looks so slick too, remote simple. All in all, I wish it was a little nippier for 4K discs loading times and to turn off can take a while, but this isn't enough to knock it down a star. 5/5!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Loving it!

UBPX800M2 16/04/2020 by chris123454 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Puts a great picture on my TV screen. Easy to set up and use, including the remote. It all makes sense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/04/2020

Hi, chris123454, We are glad to know that you love your new Blu-ray player. UBP-X800M2 plays 4K videos and provides a great picture quality to the connected TV. Thank you for the feedback and for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Very limited media apps

UBPX800M2 16/04/2020 by Dudedad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was expecting to be able to access media apps on the device. It only comes with three and NO WAY to add more; very dissapointed,

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/04/2020

Hi Dudedad, we're sorry that our product did not meet your expectations. You can only use the apps that are pre-installed on your Blu-ray Disc player. Apps cannot be added or installed to the Blu-ray Disc player. ~Earl



0

Better than my previous Sony DVD player

UBPX800M2 14/04/2020 by Rob713 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it just over a month ago. Much simpler and easier to use than my prior Sony DVD player I bought 11 years ago. Highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/04/2020

Hi, Rob713, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Excellent Player

UBPX800M2 10/04/2020 by Jseward99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player was easy to set up and connect with my wifi. It plays 4K movies beautifully and I can’t believe the excellent sound when I play CD’s. It also plays other hi end music formats.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/04/2020

Hi Jseward99, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Great support fromSony

UBPX800M2 09/04/2020 by Tiger1lam (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Get replacements when product not working, very happy with product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/04/2020

Hi Tiger1lam, we are glad that you are happy with your purchase. Get the real theater experience with this 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player. 4K UHD resolution gives you the big screen picture, while Dolby Atmos® and DTS:X create the authentic theater atmosphere.

Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

The software feels dated

UBP-X800M2 09/04/2020 by VoobdooV (USA)

My experience with Sony has typically been that they make good hardware, but mediocre software. The same is true with this Blu-ray player... and it manifests itself in the controller design. Dated Controller Design The usability of the controller feels like it's 20 years old when compared to the usability of the Apple TV controller. - My biggest complaint is the placement of the stop button. Why is it so close to frequently used controls? Do you know how annoying it is to press stop when the UHD Blu-ray from Paramount doesn't know how to resume the movie and you are forced to sit multiple screens before you can search your way to the place your were at? And what exactly is the difference between the Stop button and the Home button? Why do we even need the stop button? - If you press Pause and then Fast-Forward, you step through the frames... but if you press Pause then Rewind, you Rewind... how does that make sense? - Having to cycle through 24 different subtitles in order to turn it off because you pressed it accidentally - that's 20 year old stuff. The Subtitles button should open/close a menu on the screen with all the subtitle choices. This is not the same as the popup-menu, which opens the entire main menu. The same goes for the Audio button. - A dedicated Netflix button also feels like it's 20 years old. In players that support multiple tasks (disc or streaming), a task switching button/function (like on cell phones) is a better idea. Odd Default Settings - Why is Playback Options/Picture Quality Mode not set to "Direct" by default? Playback Options is a "hidden" menu that is available only during playback. The default setting applies Noise Reduction, which removes the sharpness of Blu-rays. - Why is Audio Settings/BD Secondary Audio not set to "On" by default. Some Blu-rays apparently use that for the soundtrack. If this is disabled, the menu will have sound, but the movie will be completely silent. I can't imagine a usage scenario for this feature, let alone for it to be the default setting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/04/2020

Hi VoobdooV, thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. Erin

0

Works great.

UBPX800M2 05/04/2020 by jfd1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player about 4 weeks ago to replace my old Samsung Blu-ray player. Easy to use and provides a great picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/04/2020

Hi, jfd1, Thanks for the feedback. We are glad that your new Blu-ray player works great with your setup. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Great product

UBPX800M2 02/04/2020 by Olex70 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad to have it again. I like Sony products. High quality. But I think that the front opening door is a little bit too big. That's it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/04/2020

Hi Olex70, We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Blu Ray

UBP-X800M2 01/04/2020 by Walshy66 (United Kingdom)

I have just starter to use the Blu Ray player so far so good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Amazing

UBP-X800M2 31/03/2020 by AlanHinckley (United Kingdom)

Had this a little while now and still getting to grips with everything it can do, however, so far so amazingly good. Firstly the picture quality of my (mostly old) DVDs has suddenly renewed my pleasure at seeing my favourite DVDs like they were Blu-rays. This in itself is a huge bonus, one that makes the cost of this player worthwhile and yet on top of that, the even better picture quality of my Blu-rays (and the sound is far better too) blows me away. AND I have not yet mentioned 4K - all I will say is that until you see it you won't believe the difference. OK so I have a new Sony 4K TV so it was 'necessary' for the player upgrade, but in all honesty I was not expecting such a huge quality increase. Wow! At this time of needing to self isolate my wife and I are watching a lot more television so I am patting myself on the back for getting the new tv and player at just the right time. In all honesty, I do believe I am enjoying my favourite films more now than ever before. Thank you Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Awesome product !!!

UBPX800M2 24/03/2020 by Mrmoses1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This DVD Player makes my Sony Bravia picture even that much better . Both work and perform flawlessly !! Thanks Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/03/2020

@Mrmoses1, cool! I am glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. This player has a stunning picture indeed. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Great Picture Quality.

UBPX800M2 22/03/2020 by ptsteno (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has another player that plays everything. HDBlurays, CD’s, SACD, etc....An easy to set up, easy to use player. And picture & sound is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2020

Hi, ptsteno. It's nice to hear that you like your Blu-ray player, especially its picture and sound quality. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Good image but bad features!

UBP-X800M2 19/03/2020 by 94suburban (USA)

I bought this to upgrade my theater room to 4k. The image is good and it loads quickly, but why won't Sony fix the Dolby Vision setting to auto?!!! I have read many complaints about this and no one from Sony deals with this issue. If it was noted on the package I would not have purchased it. Seems like a simple fix!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/03/2020

Hi 94suburban, we're glad that you like the picture quality of our product. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with the Dolby Atmos of this unit. Please follow this link to isolate and fix the issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x800m2/articles/00199921

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: Sincerely, ~Earl
\

0

Good value for the money.

UBPX800M2 16/03/2020 by pjb83 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player has outstanding picture quality puts the 4k LG it replaced to shame.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2020

@pjb83, I am glad that you like the picture quality of the player. Indeed a great player. Erin

0

Flawless Performance!

UBPX800M2 10/03/2020 by nuge48 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only use Sony Blue Ray Players. They are the best!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/03/2020

Hi, nuge48, We are happy to hear your feedback. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent

0

Easy and Fast with Excellent Performance

UBPX800M2 07/03/2020 by circlingwater (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This blu-ray player has a lot of nice features including app support. Able to improve older TVs or other non-smart TVs. Easy and clean firmware upgrade once it was connected to the internet. Easy setup. Fast loading of movies and flawless playback so far. I like how it grips to the glass table I have it sitting on so it can't be picked up easily or slid about.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/03/2020

Hi circlingwater,

Awesome, We're happy to hear that you're enjoying the Bluray player. Thanks for sharing your feedback! -Sam

0

Second Sony DVD BluRay Player, even better

UBPX800M2 05/03/2020 by Sparkie_GB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the ultra high-definition Sony UBP-X800M2 after reviewing what is on the market currently. This is my second Sony Blu-ray player, paired to a new OLED TV I recently purchased. Set-up was quick and easy, construction appears to be solid, performance has been perfect with both DVD and blu-ray discs. The outer surface of the player is perfect, giving it a smudge-free appearance. So far, no complaints or problems!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/03/2020

Hi Sparkie_GB,

Great! We're glad that you like this 4K UHD Blu-ray player. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

GREAT 4K UPSCALE STREAMING

UBPX800M2 05/03/2020 by BASSETT7755 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

IVE had this player for about two weeks now and love it.. VERY GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT.. It even upscale regular DVDs and streaming.. I would recommend this to A FRIEND.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/03/2020

Hi BASSETT7755,

Awesome! We're glad that you are satisfied with this 4K UHD Blu-ray player. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

BEST BLUE RAY PLAYER I HAVE EVER OWNED

UBPX800M2 23/02/2020 by Harleyrider69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This 4k Blueray Player is from SONY and the picture quality on my 4k Samsung TV is quality without saying any more. It plays my 3D discs also! Simply the Best!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/02/2020

Hi Harleyrider69,

We're delighted to hear that you're enjoying the picture quality of the Bluray player. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

easy to set up and easy to control

UBPX800M2 15/02/2020 by RalphS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this device today and so fay I installed it to my Tv and is doing a good job working . It does what it says but would have wanted more streaming apps than 3

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/02/2020

Hi RalphS,

Good to know that you appreciate this 4K UHD Blu-ray player. We understand your need for more apps. We appreciate bringing this to our attention and we'll surely take note of this for the betterment of our products.

~Ralph

0

Bought ourselves a Great Christmas Present!

UBPX800M2 13/02/2020 by Ossa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Terrific build quality. Very fast start-up. Phenomenal picture quality. It even upscales my older DVDs to a whole new level of crystal clarity. Outstanding purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2020

Hi, Ossa7fmcvdinin5nhgnl4ntquta4m!

Thank you, we’re happy to hear that you appreciate the quality and functions of this unit. Good to know that you choose SONY!

0

Solid unit

UBPX800M2 10/02/2020 by Sting (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

4K player matched well with the 75” 950 4K TV. Affordable price for a quality unit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/02/2020

Hi Sting,

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a 4K Bluray player. Thanks for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

Rattle rattle thunder clatter boom boom boom

UBP-X800M2 10/02/2020 by NWINepicentre (USA)

This machine, packed with so many features, is supposed to more than sit in the rack and spin. DVD, BD or BD UHD my ability to watch a disk is a crapshoot. Sometimes from the beginning, sometimes during the movie (embarrassing having so many of your products racked) it just spins making noise. It may come out of it or sometimes I have to do a cold reboot. I am floored this hasn't been annotated by the individuals leaving recommendations. It doesn't meet the quality standard I am used to in Sony. Every one but one other of my Sony components work until they die years and years after racked or are given to a family member. The UBP-X800 Mark 2 has been a complete let down, especially with guests. Until now since the eighties and my VHS, SACD table, tape deck and Walk/Watchman(s) I have run only Sony and Polk. I am at a loss as to what I'll do with this thing. Had to break out my BDP-S5100.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/02/2020

Hi NWINepicentre,

We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We would like to help you out and turn this experience around. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Great Universal 4K Blu-ray Player

UBPX800M2 07/02/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent player that plays Blu-ray video and DVD-A and SACD audio formats flawlessly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/02/2020

Hi Kit,

We are glad that you like the player. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

First Blu-ray

UBPX800M2 05/02/2020 by JKinLA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sleek and solid and pairs perfectly with my new Sony A9G Oled. Easy set up and sync with the Oled and my AVR system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Bad SONY CR

UBPX800M2 02/02/2020 by Disappointed Char (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Returned because it did not have VUDU nor could it be added. In an online chat your rep told me it had VUDU. So I opened it and was disappointed!

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/02/2020

Hello, Char!

I'm sorry to hear that our product did not meet your expectations. We will surely take note of your feedback on the improvements of our products and services. You may also check out this model, UBP-X800, which has the application that you're looking for.

Regards,

Romeo

0

Sony - UBP-X800M2 4K UHD Blu-ray Player With HDR

UBPX800M2 28/01/2020 by Semper Fi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this DVD player to pair with a new 4K tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/01/2020

Hi, Semper Fi! We’re glad you are enjoying its 4K capability. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Great multi featured player

UBPX800M2 28/01/2020 by lmjk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works as advertised. Great feature set. Also replaced an elderly CD player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/01/2020

Hi, lmjk!

We are glad that you like the player. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Excellent quality and great features.

UBPX800M2 19/01/2020 by GOMBO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a couple months ago, and really enjoying this 4K Ultra High Definition player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/01/2020

Hi, GOMBO!

That's great to hear! Thank you for sharing your feedback about your new Blu-ray player. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Freezes Randomly

UBP-X800M2 12/01/2020 by MikeJS75 (USA)

I purchased this on December 9, 2019. So far, it's frozen up at least twice randomly while playing Blu-ray discs. It has the most recent firmware. This is frustrating as I have to start the entire disc over. I thought I was buying a quality player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, MikeJS75!

So sorry to hear that the player freezes. Let's isolate the issue by following the step below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-video-blu-ray-disc-players-recorders/ubp-x700/articles/00030275


If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Excellent

UBP-X800M2 07/01/2020 by Scrogs (United Kingdom)

This is a quality player, much better than my previous model. Pictures are fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Easy setup

UBPX800M2 05/01/2020 by Randy R (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I got this, features are perfect. Update was transparent and we are enjoying the quality ; top to bottom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great while it works

UBPX800M2 05/01/2020 by Texas Aggie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this exact model over a year ago. As soon as the factory warranty expired so the the player. I bought another this time with the extended warranty

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2020

Hi, Texas Aggie!

We regret to hear about this. We would like to know more about the issue from your previous player so we can better assist you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

800M2 Disappointment

UBPX800M2 31/12/2019 by Rzur243 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already had a Sony UBP-800 and purchased the UBP-800M2 for an additional TV. I really enjoyed the ability to add apps. I was disappointed to discover that the ability to add apps is no longer an option. I almost returned it to the store. Otherwise, I have no complaints.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Wifi works very well

UBPX800M2 30/12/2019 by Rick 57 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Has great picture and sound quality are great but the player has froze up twice I couldn't even shut it off had to unplug it .

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

very good product

UBPX800M2 28/12/2019 by rgart88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great video in 4K. Also very rapid response time. Good interface with my Sony tv. The only problem is that I can't add any apps such as Pandora, Spotify, or Tidal. The Music icon is missing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Cannot add applications

UBPX800M2 28/12/2019 by Wd_Coyote (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got this for Christmas, set it up and Sony tells me that I cannot add apps. Everything I have allows that flexibility.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/12/2019

Hello, Wd_Coyote!

We're sorry if the features of our product did not meet your expectations. Unlike a computer, tablet, or mobile device, the Blu-ray Disc player doesn't allow apps to be manually added. You can only add the apps available in the All Apps menu of your device.

We will surely take note of this as we value your feedback.

Regards,

Romeo

0

love it!

UBPX800M2 26/12/2019 by jtsmith0225 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the TV and Blu-ray player. However I'm very unhappy that I did not get the Blu-ray DVD's I thought I would get for registering the TV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great Bang, for your bucks

UBPX800M2 25/12/2019 by Blue77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far, so very good, looks like a very good choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good but not many options for apps

UBP-X800M2 20/12/2019 by tstar1978 (USA)

I like the player, however I don’t like that they have limited options on apps. Most people stream using all kinds of different apps. It should have the option to add apps at least. I do prime and also been using Disney plus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/12/2019

Hi, tstar1978!

Thank you for sharing your input about your Sony Blu-ray player. We will forward your feedback to the relevant department. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great image quality

UBPX800M2 18/12/2019 by Custer13 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this unit for several weeks now and am still getting used to how it operates. It is very solidly constructed, has excellent video and audio quality, and will play just about any disc-based media. I am very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great Features

UBP-X800M2 18/12/2019 by Tony190 (United Kingdom)

We owned an older Sony DVD player and this new one is a welcome upgrade with a lot of additional features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Best yet!

UBPX800M2 04/12/2019 by jrb1505 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned the ubp-x800 for about two years. The UBP-X800M2 is better in every way. Still just as quiet, but better picture and faster when loading disks. The new home menu is much nicer. It has given me zero problems so far. I have 4 other Blu-Ray players right now, but this is the best of the bunch.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3