Skip to Content
19

4.3 based on 19 customer reviews

11
6
0
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

19 Customer Reviews

0

Cannot add Apps

UHP-H1 19/11/2017 by indusind (USA)

I bought this reading all great reviews and am disappointed to know that I can not add any apps besides Netflix, Sony Live, Studio and Youtube. I tried hours reading online help and Sony forums, but cannot get anywhere. Netflix quality seems to be very good on a Home Theatre Projector, but issue with adding more Apps makes the experience a little sour.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2017

Hello indusind, we apologize for the inconvenience. This player doesn't have the capability to download or install any other applications. There is a lot of pre-installed application that you may use and utilize.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Stopped working

UHPH1 11/10/2017 by SaltLakeBraves (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this player for 10 months. The player started out working just great, until a month ago, then it started resetting itself, and now as of yesterday (10/10/2017) it just stopped frozen. On the front of the player it says "Hello" and can not do anything else. I am very loyal to Sony, and have never had any of their products die on me like this. But I must say, if this is a sign of things to come from Sony, I might have to find another manufacturer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2017

Hi SaltLakeBraves, thanks for bringing this up and we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your concern so we can further assist you. Please also include your contact and product information as well. We will do our best to help. Regards, ^Ron

0

Perfect!

UHP-H1 04/09/2017 by Sparkg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased as an upgrade from my existing Sony player. Well engineered good looking but most importantly reproduces great pictures. Integrates well with my othe Sony products. A bit biased but I do like Sony gear!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

UHP-H1

UHP-H1 29/08/2017 by piejc (USA)

I bought this universal audio/video player yesterday. I know Hi-Res Audio from my HAP-S1, gracenote database and DSEE HX too. It is also recommended to use extended remote control via your tablet or cell phone as an Android application. Instead of CD Text you can see details about your Audio CD on your screen thankx to gracenote db if your are connected to the Internet. 4K upscaling looks good to so I have to give five stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

Great Except for You Tube app

UHP-H1 14/08/2017 by jedipeter (USA)

Great sounding player, cd's, sacd, the LDAC blutooth delivers cd plus sound quality music via blue tooth (wonderful). However, After 8 months of ownership and a working You Tube app, the you tube app no longer works!! Argh. It said the app is too large? Very frustrating. But now it's working again. Strange. So I'm giving this a 4star review instead of 5 stars because the you tube app is inconsistent.

0

8

0

Playstation Vue?

UHP-H1 07/07/2017 by Brad77 (USA)

Don't get me wrong, this 4K player is amazing and it has tons of features but no way to link my Sony Playstation Vue account to stream my tv channels. This needs to come is a future software update, if this would happen, I could easily get rid of my other streaming device (amazon). Any timeframe on when this may come to the player?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

Fantastic Do all machine

UHP-H1 28/05/2017 by Richard259 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent player that does everything it says on the tin including and this was important to me, playing back multi-channel mixed SACD discs via the HDMI output. Very few high end CD/SACD players can do this now. So at last I can listen to my 5.1 channel mixes of Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon, The Moody Blues' Days of Future Passed and many others as they were intended to be heard. Picture quality is first rate and although my amp and TV cannot yet handle 4K upscaling, 1080p is more than adequate for my needs. This machine was designed for multi media too and a nice surprise was in store when I updated the software. It is now compatible with Amazon Prime TV so there is no need to buy a Firestick anymore, it's all there along with the usual BBC iPlayer etc. All in all an excellent Blu-Ray/DVD and SACD/CD player and did I mention that it will also play DVD-Audio discs too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

8

0

Brilliant product

UHP-H1 15/03/2017 by Churton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the product just over a week ago and have been very pleased with it. As well as doing a great job with Blu-ray Discs it is also very good with DVD discs. In fact, dvds can look as good as Blu-ray Discs. For me the star quality of this product is its ability to play all kinds of audio discs which I have not been able to play in the past eg SACD and dvd audio discs. Even standard cds sound great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8

0

Good player

UHP-H1 13/03/2017 by Cruste (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp Pictures, excellent sound. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

very good

UHP-H1 04/03/2017 by Fritzh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very good pictures, very good audio, particularly playback of audio cds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good player let down by poor manual

UHP-H1 24/01/2017 by Corrigap (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Player is excellent and does everything it claims to do in the advertising. However, the standard of English in the manual is poor at times and things have to be read a few times in order to understand what is being said (e.g. "to avoid sudden high volume outbursts", "The playback pictures and sound may be ...", "consult a doctor if you believe necessary", "Wait for a short while before the player turns on and starts", "You may improve by adjusting ..."). The manual is also poor as regards coverage of the apps and DLNA.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

5

0

A good all in one box of tricks

UHP-H1 24/01/2017 by Jasper1024 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for the ability to play all formats of audio and video files, so far I am happy with its performance, it doesn't take up much space and I needed the 4k upscaling feature as I own a new TV. This player however is only a gap filler until I can get my hands on the up and coming HDR version but on the whole a very versatile bit of tech.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Excellent quality!

UHPH1 14/01/2017 by Buddymc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this A/V Receiver to compliment my new Sony 4K TV. No disappointment here, it's Sony quality. Functions flawlessly and great features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

6

0

UHP-H1

UHP-H1 12/01/2017 by ColinC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this produce after Christmas to replace a similar item from another Manufacturer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Good Product

UHP-H1 10/01/2017 by MikDob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product with great picture quality and great sountd output on CD

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

4

0

UHP-P1 - a great buy and sounds good too!

UHP-H1 07/01/2017 by snogger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for myself for Christmas, with a little help. I was looking to upgrade from a very old DVD and had also been collecting some Blu-ray audio discs so needed a player to connect to my audio system. This was able to do everything I needed and the sound (stereo so far) is very impressive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

2

0

The UHP-H1 is a Quality Premioum Player, no doubt.

UHP-H1 05/01/2017 by Technojunky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This player will play just about any format and type of Audio and Video Disc, which it will upscale to the current highest Audio and Video Resolutions. A premium product indeed. On the negative side I would describe it as the most paradoxical product of 2016; it will upscale non-4K video to near - 4K UHD quality BUT it will not play Blu-Ray 4K UHD Discs that have obviously been recorded with 4K source material.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Stunning picture quality

UHP-H1 11/12/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this player for its abilities to upscale video to 4K, play cd, SACD and DVD-audio discs to a high standard and send high definition audio via LDAC to my Sony headphones. We watched the Revenant on blu-ray and the whole family commented on how stunning the picture quality was. It plays SACDs like Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon to great effect on my 5.1 system. The player looks great and is discreetly sized. Overall very pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

6

0

great upscaling and sound quality

UHP-H1 30/09/2016 by elbeem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First unit was replaced because of network problems after firmware update.New unit is fantastic...video and audio quality are outstanding,however signing in to the youtube app is not straightforward

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

28

48