Skip to Content
CD/CASSETTE BOOMBOX

Product Reviews

$49.99

88

4.1 based on 88 customer reviews

47
22
6
6
7
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A Delightful Surprise

1.7 + 1.7 W 01/02/2015 by HappyOldGoat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My bride and I like to listen to recorded books while doing menial tasks or traveling by car. Our faithful boombox of 26 years finally died of natural causes and was buried with honors. After a lot of shopping around, we came across the Sony CFD-S50 and soon decided it was the winner. It plays CDs flawlessly, has an AM/FM receiver with good sensitivity and records either on it's cassette recorder/player, one feature tough to find nowadays. But the real winning feature was the sound quality which worked well for my 71 year old ears, unlike many others we tried. Sony hasn't failed us yet. I doubt we'll worry about it now.

20

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Should have battery supported radio presets.

cfds50 21/06/2015  (USA)

This radio/CD player/cassette recorder was purchased to replace a SONY radio/cassette recorder CFS-W505 (purchased in 1990) of which the FM aerial was broken. I found difficulty in setting several presets which worked with the latter and when I unplugged the set the presets that I did get were lost. If this machine had an AA 1.5V battery, as does the CFS-W505, it would memorize the presets when unplugged and I should not have to but 6 C batteries to operate this radio was desired. A simple remedy that regrettably was overlooked by the engineers who designed it! It is not clear from the manual what happens if batteries are installed AND AC power applied. Again, so simple - why not say so?

9

0

88 Customer Reviews

0

Junk !

CFD-S50 15/11/2017  (USA)

I just purchased this as a gift. I am so glad I listened to it before I gave it as a gift to my autistic grandson. People with autism have super sensitive hearing. The sound is horrible it hurts my ears . I tried to adjust the bass, this player does not tune at all. I own other Sony products and have never had a problem that is why I purchased this item.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2017

Hi Annie Hopely, We are sorry to hear this issue with your unit. We apologize for the inconvenience. You can check troubleshooting steps from this link.https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42755
Regards, -Jay

0

CD stop working

CFD-S50 05/09/2017 by panda321 (USA)

I has this product for approx. 2 years until the CD player stop working. The radio and cassette player works fine. Can you imagine how many of this product went to the landfill?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2017

Hello, panda321, We are sorry for the inconvenience. You may check the link below and follow the simple troubleshooting step provided to fix the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40372
Thanks! _Bob

0

unhappy

CFD-S50 24/08/2017 by redsaab905 (USA)

bought for nightly cd playing. I listen to audiio books to sleep. After 6 months the lazer quit reading the discs..

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Disappointed in quality

CFD-S50 25/07/2017 by BillH620 (USA)

I have owned several other Sony boomboxes that sounded great and lasted for years of constant playing. I played CDs all night every night for many years on all of my Sony players. After I bought this model, the CD player stopped working within within 6 months of overnight playing. Now I'm faced with buying another boombox player. Do I want to take another chance on Sony? What happened to Sony quality?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/07/2017

Hi BillH620, we are sorry to hear what happened. We would like to hear more from you. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number and a brief description of the issue you have so that we can assist you. Thank you. Best regards, -Erin

0

Great product

CFD-S50 04/03/2017 by harryu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for our pleasure in our motorhome looks great sounds great overall first class product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Shame about the CD laser reader

CFD-S50 12/07/2016 by PinEwe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my wife that enjoys Radio and audio books on tape and CD. Sadly only after 9 months the CD laser reader has stopped working so only a radio and tape are available. After reading online reviews and forums I discovered that this seems to be a common fault.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

very easy to use

CFD-S50 23/06/2016 by raj141 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my mother who is 98 years old. She has not used such technology before so I had to be careful that the machine would be very easy to understand and easy for me to explain to her. Also, I had to look carefully for features such as colour. There was a very attractive white colour but upon careful consideration, I figured that she would have difficulty in reading the symbols (gray on white background) whereas the black model makes it very easy to read off. I decided that i would explain only one part of the functioning on one day (like how to use CD). Indeed, it was easy for me to explain the functions to my mother and easy for her to understand them. She has been using the machine since then. I am very happy with this machine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good Basic Machine

CFD-S50 10/05/2016 by Nisey 100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 weeks ago to listen to story cd's and it is fine for this purpose. The thing I find annoying about it is that there is no on/off switch so you have to unplug it to switch off the amp.Have not used the cassette player yet.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Neat old style box

CFD-S50 05/05/2016 by Barrowford Bluesman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my garage, mainly to play CDs and it fits the bill nicely i.e. if I wreck it and it ceases to function due to dust or grime I haven't wasted a fortune. It actually has quite a nice tone to it - I've not messed with it and tbh I don't know if you can do much with the tone or not, but out of the box it sounds quite nice. I haven't tested the tape player. Whether I'll use it or not I don't know. Initially I had a wave of nostalgia for making up compilation tapes or mix tapes, but it soon passed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact CD Player with Good Audio

CFD-S50 05/05/2016 by SuzyVH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a larger radio/CD stereo player that had separate speakers. I found there is no difference in performance and I have saved the space taken up by the old unit and have less wires dangling around the floor.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Compact, quite versatile

CFD-S50 24/04/2016 by Country lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Useful for the bedroom and easy to move about if necessary.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound from a Neat and Compact unit.

CFD-S50 21/04/2016 by trouble2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit to play music whilst doing one of my hobbies which is making hand made greeting cards. Whether playing tapes, CDs or the FM radio the sound is beautifully balanced and great. The compactness of the unit means it occupies very little space and is unobtrusive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

great

CFD-S50 10/03/2016 by Stant (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it for a neighbour who as poor eyesight so that he can play his talking books

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0