97

3.8 based on 97 customer reviews

46
21
8
8
14
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player won't read a CD

CFD-S70 12/03/2018 by roxieann (USA)

Bought this CD/cassette player 4/30/2017. The CD player says "NoCD". I Went thru procedures of the trouble shooting guide. Still doesn't work. Online chat says to unplug, then replug. Can't get thru the warranty service number, so I guess I'm stuck with a broken dust collector. This is NOT worth the price.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

97 Customer Reviews

0

pretty much like the old one

CFDS70BLK 16/10/2018 by snag (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hopefully the CD player and cassette last longer than the previous model but so far It is working fine. Great customer service on behalf of Sony so thanks

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Gift

CFDS70BLK 08/10/2018 by Bender59 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son sent me a Boombox to upgrade an old & well-used one.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2018

Hello Bender59, good to know that you are happy with the product. We appreciate your feedback. Hoping you'll enjoy the boombox.
Regards, _Bob

0

New boombox

CFD-S70 07/10/2018 by sem44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently to replace an ageing model (different make). Feel it is a little 'flimsy' but it does the job well and easy to set up and use. Good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

"STANDBY"

CFDS70BLK 05/10/2018 by sharon36 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I play CDs. Suddenly it will not respond to anything, even CDs it has played many times. The message in small print is in the window: standby

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/10/2018

Hi sharon36, we regret to hear that your boombox failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Died 1 month past the 1 year warrantee

CFD-S70 26/09/2018 by dagopo (USA)

Lasted 1 month past the 1 year warrantee... and died.

Design

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/09/2018

Hi dagopo, we regret that the radio did not live up to your expectation. A servicer can help diagnose your issue and recommend next steps. To locate a servicer near you, go to https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US. Regards, Erin

0

nice looks great sounds

CFD-S70 25/09/2018 by yetibigjohn (United Kingdom)

had it as birthday gift so pleased with it ,it s just what i wanted

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sleeping again

CFDS70BLK 25/09/2018 by pm25 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with the features of this boombox, offering its variety of capabilities, especially the sleep button that allows me to drift off to sleep knowing that it will shut itself off.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

CD player poor

CFD-S70 24/09/2018 by mumanddad (United Kingdom)

Had this 2 years now. Cd player has always had anannoying "click" when playing and now has started to jump despite cleaning every cd played. Other features ok. Radio reception good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very disappointed in my Sony CFG-S70.

CFD-S70 23/09/2018 by Rick49 (USA)

I bought this 3 to 4 months and now it will not play ANY type of CD's. Says noCD and I have tried many. It worked great to start with. Worked one day and the next day Nothing. I even unpluged it thinking that might help but it didn't. I am so dissappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/10/2018

Hi Rick49,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/boomboxes-cfd-series/cfd-s70/articles/00027417

0

Very poor sound quality

CFD-S70 06/09/2018 by Psl3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have many Sony products including a couple of really nice sounding Bluetooth speakers, unfortunately this product did not meet my expectations in terms of sound quality. Seems to have no bass at all.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Terrible CD player

CFD-S70 05/09/2018 by Chatcat (USA)

I received this boombox for Christmas and used through Jan and early Feb just fine. This summer tried to play a CD and it tells me No CD, so it's not recognizing there is one in it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2018

Hi Chatcat, we regret to hear that your boombox failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Perfect

CFD-S70 04/09/2018 by Nannalaine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just the job for what I needed. Very happy with this item.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DO NOT BUY THIS CD/CASSETTE BOOMBOX w/Radio

CFD-S70 01/09/2018 by Retired Counselor (USA)

I bought this unit in Dec 2017 but just now needed to use it 9/1?/18 The CD player does not work at all!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have put multiple CD's in, after the CD player "reads" it, it tells me there is "no CD". Other words I have a faulty player but can not return since beyond the return date. DO NOT BUY THIS CD/CASSETTE BOOMBOX w/Radio

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2018

Hi Retired Counselor,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with a brief description of the issue, the exact error message, serial number and where you purchased it. Include also my name and this feedback post for reference. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Jen

0

Just opened & power button won't push dow n

CFD-S70 27/08/2018 by Tonster (USA)

I bought this online at Walmart a few months ago & did not open until today..POWER BUTTON WILL NOT BUDGE SO 100% USELESS & WALMART WON'T TAKE IT BACK

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2018

Hi Tonster, We regret to hear about this. You can send your boombox to a Sony facility to be repaired, please visit https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl for more information. Regards, Jen

0

not what Sony products used to be

CFDS70BLK 25/08/2018 by Doten (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first impression is that the plastic as very thin, the controls are hard to push in to operate and the reception is poor (channels that come in clear with another radio are weak and very poor sound.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Average

CFD-S70 20/08/2018 by Ginger 1950 (United Kingdom)

Not bad. Mains power connection lets it down probably will try with batteries

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great sound but wont play CDs after 7 months

CFD-S70 14/08/2018 by dintx (USA)

Great sounding but now say no CD! Worked great for about 7 months. Played CD one day, next day it stopped. Tape player works and sounds great but bought so I could listen to both! Very annoying. Now I'll have to but a separate CD player. The last Sony CD player I owned lasted 10 years. Hoped to get more than 7 months out of this new one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2018

Hi dintx, We regret to hear that it failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, ~Ralph

0

Very Dissapointed!!

CFDS70BLK 13/08/2018 by Jackson33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Boombox with DC/Radio/Casette 9 months ago. Was initially very pleased with it. Very good sound quality. However, it will no longer play CDs. It reads "noCD" even though there is a disc in it. I tried several different discs and tried every step in the trouble shooting guide. Has a 1-year warranty, but it seems like a big hassle to have to ship it back and pay for shipping.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2018

Hello Jackson33, we do apologize for the inconvenience. You may visit the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps to isolate and fix the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00027417
Regards, _Bob

0

All the features that I wanted and more.

CFD-S70 07/08/2018 by Stokie60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All I wanted and more as the cassette was a bonus. The timer is useful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

antenna

CFD-S70 02/08/2018 by jaie (USA)

the antenna was very hard to turn and finally broke. hard to replace hard to find repair shop near.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/08/2018

Hello jaie, we're sorry for what happened here and we feel your disappointments and frustrations. Please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number so that we can assist you.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Good product

CFD-S70 23/07/2018 by Stevie t (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this unit for our granddaughter and she’s over the moon with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!!!

CFDS70BLK 17/07/2018 by Sierra15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this unit. Great sound quality and worth the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good product

CFDS70BLK 28/06/2018 by noooooo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was hesitant about buying it at first. I thought it was too small, but it's great and has a good sound. To make this radio perfect, find a way to store the electrical cord inside or with a couple of clips on the outside and wrap the cord around them. If you think it may look ugly, thats okay. I will least likely misplace or lose it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

CFDS70BLK 25/06/2018 by WireMan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Sony boombox was showing its age and finding a replacement was probematic because "they don't make them like they used to." This model proved to be a very satisfying replacement plus it does not weigh a ton like the old one. The mega bass actually enhances the sound. It pulls in FM louder and clearer than any of my other devices. I do wish it had a balance and tone adjustment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice to have CD, cassette & radio in one item

CFD-S70 20/06/2018 by Army barmy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with item only downside the power connector comes out when boombox is moved otherwise would have given it 5 stars

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Junk

CFD-S70 14/06/2018 by Dennis1 (USA)

Bought the first one in April of 2017. In November it stopped playing CDs. Returned to Sony for replacement. New one stopped working in June of 2018. Sony says replacement only had 3 month warranty instead of original 12 months. Neither unit worked more than 7 months. Since replacement warranty is less than original warranty Sony must know it is an inferior product. Save your money buy something else

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0