182

3.7 based on 182 customer reviews

84
38
18
12
30
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player Broke in One Year

CFD-S70 13/01/2019 by rayray222 (USA)

I bought this CD Cassette player from Fry's Electronics in Anaheim CA. Within one year, the CD player broke and reads "NO DISC" now. I bought this because of Sony's reputation in boomboxes in the 80s. Now this is broken. I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

182 Customer Reviews

0

Compact and Smart - Great Quality Sound!

CFD-S70 15/02/2020 by zg215 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this for my Grandma's 83rd birthday, her old tape and CD player had come to it's end and was ruining her tapes. She absolutely love this new boombox, she can play all her CD's now and the sound quality is excellent. It's actually quite compact too, very smart device. Sony proving it's worth once again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 14/02/2020 by Miming (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this month ago im so happy to bought this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

shame about the instruction manual (s)

CFD-S70 13/02/2020 by JayWW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm still trying to learn how to use it as only 7 manuals were included - nothing in English

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great little product.

CFDS70BLK 13/02/2020 by Suzebroc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son bought me this for Xmas. It works very well, it’s nice and small, but does a great job. I like Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/02/2020

Hi Suzebroc,

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Bought for the cassette function

CFD-S70 08/02/2020  (USA)

Sony always made great cassette players so now that many of my favorite artists are releasing cassettes I needed something to play them on in 2020. I only wish they would put out a portable cassette player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/02/2020

Hi, Doug Hendersontzk11hfw9m7jzmos3jt5htwfv!

Good to know that you are happy with your purchase! Thank you for choosing this CFD-S70BLK Stereo CD/Cassette Boombox.

0

frustrated

CFDS70BLK 06/02/2020 by vic871 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The trouble with this product is I can't turn the radio off. I have to unplug the radio to so I won't have a high electric bill.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/02/2020

Hello vic871,

I’m so sorry that you are having an issue powering off the radio. Please ensure that the power button is not damaged, stuck or worn out. You may also check additional troubleshooting steps available on the manual for further assistance.
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4584/54beaca2744ad6bf875ddecd5c65fef7/45843491M.pdf

If the suggested step did not work, please do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Great little boom box

CFDS70BLK 01/02/2020 by Jmiklety69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact but sounds great. Plays all CDs including mp3, which most cheaper brands don’t.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/02/2020

Hi, Jmiklety69!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

good

CFD-S70 29/01/2020 by joan222 (United Kingdom)

only just about to stat using it, so far so good plays CDs fine

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Waste of money

CFD-S70 27/01/2020 by Jimoke1526 (USA)

Purchased unit 6 months ago poor sound and cheap plastic case. Cd motor stop working after 5 months and no product support or warranty

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/01/2020

Hi, Jimoke1526!

We are sorry to hear what happen. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Lovely sound & easy to use.

CFD-S70 26/01/2020 by Mr Gaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace the previous model (exactly the same!), as the laser on the CD player packed up just outside the warranty!. This time I purchased a extra warranty.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to operate..

CFDS70BLK 21/01/2020 by Ramarruth (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it for myself after searching other options.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/01/2020

Hi, Ramarruth!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a cd player. Thanks for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

nice featacers

CFDS70BLK 13/01/2020 by titch 45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to play my old tapes and CD that I kept around a long time

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent replacement

CFDS70BLK 27/12/2019 by Pastor John (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent choice for our needs, actually surpassed our previous equipment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CD/Cassette Boombox CFD-S70

CFD-S70 22/12/2019 by Pict (United Kingdom)

I bought this for recording CDs to cassette tape,it seems to do its job.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

CFDS70BLK 05/12/2019 by Mayda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it because I have a lot of tapes and cd, easy to use, nice sound, so i am very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant

CFD-S70 03/12/2019 by JGabs (United Kingdom)

At last we have a radio that stays on station, and also plays cassettes and CDs - great!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Not bad but could be better!!

CFD-S70 20/11/2019 by rafael6867 (USA)

I own this so called boombox from Sony and while I love that it has an AM/FM tuner, cassette recorder/player and CD the sound while clear almost has no bass! Pressing the Mega Bass feature almost does nothing to the sound. The system is only rated as having 1.7W/channel so I already knew that going in. Hopefully Sony will wake up and bring out a future model that's a bit more powerful, rated as 5W or 10W/channel. So because of this, I am only giving it 3 stars!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/11/2019

Hi, rafael6867!

We appreciate your time and feedback. We will pass your review on your Sony boombox to the relevant team. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 18/11/2019 by Jane E (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like better than previous Sony player, compact.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0