195

3.8 based on 195 customer reviews

93
38
19
13
32
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player Broke in One Year

CFD-S70 13/01/2019 by rayray222 (USA)

I bought this CD Cassette player from Fry's Electronics in Anaheim CA. Within one year, the CD player broke and reads "NO DISC" now. I bought this because of Sony's reputation in boomboxes in the 80s. Now this is broken. I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

195 Customer Reviews

0

Nice radio but CD stopped

CFDS70BLK 23/05/2020 by Sodamania (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as gift for Birthday but CD stopped working

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi Sodamania,

We appreciate you like our product. We're sorry if the CD function stopped working. Please try following the steps provided on the link below to isolate the problem.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/boomboxes-cfd-series/cfd-s70/articles/00027417

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Very good

CFD-S70 21/05/2020 by A J R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this short while & we listen to it each day ideal nice sound & easy to use a good buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CD/Cassette boombox failed after 5 weeks

CFD-S70 18/05/2020 by Satchel (USA)

I bought this CD/cassette player 5 weeks ago and the CD player has stopped working. It reads and reads and then says "no CD."

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Satchel, We regret to hear about this. If you're having a CD playback issue, please follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/boomboxes-cfd-series/cfd-s70/articles/00027417

Your unit comes with a 1-year limited manufacturer's warranty. If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

A great find!

CFD-S70 11/05/2020 by polish at newpoprt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sought out such an audio cassetteplayer with radio, to replace a very old and inefficient model for use in my workshop. Doubting that with modern advances such would be easily accessible but finding this Sony CFD-S70, with the additional CD facility was a great find. Top marks Sony and Argos for making this purchase so satisfying!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has great features for all our needs

CFDS70BLK 04/05/2020 by Lujack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

AM/FM radio, CD player and cassette player. AC power or battery Great boombox!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/05/2020

Hi Lujack, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl

0

Should change name to Sorry

CFDS70BLK 01/05/2020 by Sorry I bought Sony (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and the speakers sound really bad ... Very poor quality ... The CD went out in less than 1 month ... Found out that this model is Very Bad

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/05/2020

Hi Sorry I bought Sony, We regret to hear you're having issues with your cfds70blk. This is usually not the case for our Boombox and the experience we want you to have. Please refer to the link below to resolve your CD playback issue:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/boomboxes-cfd-series/cfd-s70/articles/S1Q0530

Your unit comes with a 1-year limited manufacturer's warranty. Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 06/04/2020 by Bill8745 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The flexibility of playing cassettes and cd's is wonderful.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/04/2020

Hi Bill8745, we're glad you like flexibility of our product. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

A small product with with deep base

CFD-S70 25/03/2020 by popee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product to replace a much larger one which was taking up to much space. This may be small but the sound quality is excellent from the two speakers and when the *Mega Boost* button is pressed the base quality is fantastic without distortion. Also has avery good fm radio. All in all a true boombox

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 10/03/2020 by Kapualoke (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a Christmas gift. I don’t know about service I wasn’t there

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/03/2020

Hi Kapualoke, awesome! We're happy you're enjoying your Boombox. In any case, you need assistance, you can always email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Thank you for commending Sony! - Romeo

0

The best purchase I've made in a long time!!

CFDS70BLK 03/03/2020 by DJEricSpear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this boombox for almost a year now and it's stood up to my daily life. I've taken this thing all over the place. From doing landscaping to parties this has provided vital music. I am also able to record from my turntables to tape which was the main reason I purchased it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/03/2020

Hi DJEricSpear,

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

Great quality

CFDS70BLK 03/03/2020 by Kuuipo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As usual, the Sony CD/Cassette Boombox did not disappoint. Very high quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/03/2020

Hi Kuuipo,

Awesome! We're glad you're happy with the quality we provided. Thanks for trusting Sony!

- Romeo

0

Disappointed

CFD-S70 26/02/2020 by NYLady (USA)

Thought this Sony boombox would last longer then the cheaper ones I had in the past but the same problem happened. I listen to books on cd's because of eye problem. The sound is great, nice looking item. Eventually when placing a clean cd the boombox said NO CD. No matter which cd I tried I got the same message. The cd's played in other players but not this one. This part of the boombox is not warrantied. Now I have a boombox that only plays tapes and radio. For the price and life of the boombox cd player I I might as well buy 2 cheaper machines which would last longer. Also, I would like to know why put black buttons on a black cabinet making them harder to read.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi, NYLadyef5nrqp6y0qj6mu8dl3yhqddq!

We regret to hear about what happened. You can isolate this issue by following the troubleshooting steps from the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/boomboxes-cfd-series/cfd-s70/articles/00082110

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

0

Good Product

CFD-S70 24/02/2020 by Sally Tony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We were looking for a Cassette player, as the ones we had we had to get rid of, and this was the only one we could find locally. So far so good with the cassette side and have set the radio to station we listen to. ALSO TRID THE cd PLAYER ONE.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and Smart - Great Quality Sound!

CFD-S70 15/02/2020 by zg215 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this for my Grandma's 83rd birthday, her old tape and CD player had come to it's end and was ruining her tapes. She absolutely love this new boombox, she can play all her CD's now and the sound quality is excellent. It's actually quite compact too, very smart device. Sony proving it's worth once again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 14/02/2020 by Miming (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this month ago im so happy to bought this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

shame about the instruction manual (s)

CFD-S70 13/02/2020 by JayWW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm still trying to learn how to use it as only 7 manuals were included - nothing in English

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great little product.

CFDS70BLK 13/02/2020 by Suzebroc (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son bought me this for Xmas. It works very well, it’s nice and small, but does a great job. I like Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/02/2020

Hi Suzebroc,

We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with this unit. We are always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

~Earl

0

Bought for the cassette function

CFD-S70 08/02/2020  (USA)

Sony always made great cassette players so now that many of my favorite artists are releasing cassettes I needed something to play them on in 2020. I only wish they would put out a portable cassette player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/02/2020

Hi, Doug Hendersontzk11hfw9m7jzmos3jt5htwfv!

Good to know that you are happy with your purchase! Thank you for choosing this CFD-S70BLK Stereo CD/Cassette Boombox.

0

frustrated

CFDS70BLK 06/02/2020 by vic871 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The trouble with this product is I can't turn the radio off. I have to unplug the radio to so I won't have a high electric bill.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/02/2020

Hello vic871,

I’m so sorry that you are having an issue powering off the radio. Please ensure that the power button is not damaged, stuck or worn out. You may also check additional troubleshooting steps available on the manual for further assistance.
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4584/54beaca2744ad6bf875ddecd5c65fef7/45843491M.pdf

If the suggested step did not work, please do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Great little boom box

CFDS70BLK 01/02/2020 by Jmiklety69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact but sounds great. Plays all CDs including mp3, which most cheaper brands don’t.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/02/2020

Hi, Jmiklety69!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

good

CFD-S70 29/01/2020 by joan222 (United Kingdom)

only just about to stat using it, so far so good plays CDs fine

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Waste of money

CFD-S70 27/01/2020 by Jimoke1526 (USA)

Purchased unit 6 months ago poor sound and cheap plastic case. Cd motor stop working after 5 months and no product support or warranty

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/01/2020

Hi, Jimoke1526!

We are sorry to hear what happen. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Lovely sound & easy to use.

CFD-S70 26/01/2020 by Mr Gaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace the previous model (exactly the same!), as the laser on the CD player packed up just outside the warranty!. This time I purchased a extra warranty.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0