76

4.1 based on 76 customer reviews

44
17
5
2
8
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25/07/2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player won't read a CD

CFD-S70 12/03/2018 by roxieann (USA)

Bought this CD/cassette player 4/30/2017. The CD player says "NoCD". I Went thru procedures of the trouble shooting guide. Still doesn't work. Online chat says to unplug, then replug. Can't get thru the warranty service number, so I guess I'm stuck with a broken dust collector. This is NOT worth the price.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

76 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound!!!

CFDS70BLK 17/07/2018 by Sierra15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this unit. Great sound quality and worth the price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good product

CFDS70BLK 28/06/2018 by noooooo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was hesitant about buying it at first. I thought it was too small, but it's great and has a good sound. To make this radio perfect, find a way to store the electrical cord inside or with a couple of clips on the outside and wrap the cord around them. If you think it may look ugly, thats okay. I will least likely misplace or lose it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound

CFDS70BLK 25/06/2018 by WireMan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Sony boombox was showing its age and finding a replacement was probematic because "they don't make them like they used to." This model proved to be a very satisfying replacement plus it does not weigh a ton like the old one. The mega bass actually enhances the sound. It pulls in FM louder and clearer than any of my other devices. I do wish it had a balance and tone adjustment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice to have CD, cassette & radio in one item

CFD-S70 20/06/2018 by Army barmy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with item only downside the power connector comes out when boombox is moved otherwise would have given it 5 stars

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Junk

CFD-S70 14/06/2018 by Dennis1 (USA)

Bought the first one in April of 2017. In November it stopped playing CDs. Returned to Sony for replacement. New one stopped working in June of 2018. Sony says replacement only had 3 month warranty instead of original 12 months. Neither unit worked more than 7 months. Since replacement warranty is less than original warranty Sony must know it is an inferior product. Save your money buy something else

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact Sound System

CFDS70BLK 04/06/2018 by Anna Lucinda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because I was moving and missed my full sound system while packing. This unit is great - I could easily move it from the old house to the new house while doing the "soft" move.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hard to find replacement parts.

CFD-S70 28/05/2018 by Singerman27 (USA)

I have a CFD S05. It was working fine until 4 months ago. When I turn on the power, it cuts right back off. Tried to replace the circuit board, but could not find the part.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/05/2018

Hi Singerman27,

We're sorry to hear about this. You may check the replacement parts for your boombox at https://sony.encompass.com/search?searchTerm=CFDS05.

Regards,
Jen

0

Well written instructions

CFDS70BLK 12/05/2018 by Leader man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the design and appearance of my unit. It has many features that are attractive.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good allrounder for the price

CFD-S70 27/04/2018 by jock 19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with product however I must express my surprise at the extremely poor power cable connection this is not to usual sony standards,the slightest movement causes cable to disconnect.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

cd

CFD-S70 24/04/2018 by PapaMN (USA)

we have had this unit for about nine months. all was great til today. The cd player has stopped working. Can find no troubleshooting in instructions. could you advise what to do?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/04/2018

Hello PapaMN, we're sorry to hear that. You may follow the troubleshooting steps on the link below:
https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4584349131.pdf

If the issue persists, please contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com to further assist you.
Regards, _Bob

0

Very Good Product

CFD-S70 17/04/2018 by Pea50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this item so far, I hope it lives up to expectations.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very basic boombox

CFDS70BLK 12/04/2018 by libraryspecialist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A little disappointed. Speakers are weak, so is the Mega Bass. Rewind and fast-forward do not stop immediately after winding tape. No remote. Has an aux-in jack (cable not included). Overall, a no frills lightweight basic radio.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/04/2018

Hi libraryspecialist, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

Very poor quality

CFD-S70 28/03/2018 by Dtq7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and was very disappointed by the sound quality - very tinny with virtually no bass. I then tried to use the headphone socket and found it did not work. It went back to the retailer yesterday for replacement.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Good performance

CFD-S70 20/03/2018 by 68Kev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up radio stations from the instructions supplied

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Was nice, but broke before 1 year

CFDS70BLK 20/03/2018 by mominstitches (USA)

I appreciated the Brand Sony, however, I am not sure if I just got a lemon or there products are going down hill. I hope it was just a lemon because I really have respect for SONY products. My present boombox is only good for the radio. The CD player stopped working several months ago. I bought this 4/24/17, it's not even one year old. I could probably pay to have it fixed/replaced, I don't think it would be worth it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/03/2018

Hi mominstitches,


We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with this Boombox. Let's try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps, kindly check this link, on page 2, under the troubleshooting category:


https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4584349131.pdf

Thanks,
Zac

0

CD Player won't read a CD

CFD-S70 12/03/2018 by roxieann (USA)

Bought this CD/cassette player 4/30/2017. The CD player says "NoCD". I Went thru procedures of the trouble shooting guide. Still doesn't work. Online chat says to unplug, then replug. Can't get thru the warranty service number, so I guess I'm stuck with a broken dust collector. This is NOT worth the price.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/03/2018

Hi roxieann, we apologize for the inconvenience. You may refer to the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40372
Thanks, _Bob

0

Problem with CD player

CFD-S70 01/03/2018 by LueL (USA)

There is a problem with the CD player. After a few months, when you put a CD in to play, it says NO CD. We called Sony customer service and they sent a new boombox. The same thing happened after a few months. Our product is less than a year old and is no longer under warranty. Troubleshooting tips have not helped. I believe there is a flaw in the CD player.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/03/2018

Hi LueL,



Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.


Regards,
Zac

0

Very Satisfied

CFD-S70 09/02/2018 by frankbbb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I surveyed the market and found this model which meets all my needs. I'm glad I did as it is neat and smart with good performance and is easy to use at a reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

CFD-S70 31/01/2018 by revchris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am really pleased with this. For the money it is amzing. Also very light to carry around

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

CFD-S70 23/01/2018 by Jimi73 (USA)

The only gripe I have with this unit is that the laser eye quit working after only 2 years of normal everyday use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

It took alot of finding the MP3 player

CFD-S70 21/01/2018 by Marty A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound the cds play very well lt was reasonably priced

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent machine

CFD-S70 14/01/2018 by Pip1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as my Xmas present and I'm really pleased with it as it does everything I require - old enough to still have cassette tapes!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0