Skip to Content
12

4.7 based on 12 customer reviews

9
2
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

12 Customer Reviews

0

Great lens, except for Zoom tensioning method.

SEL100400GM 13/10/2017 by KimKn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp, especially for a long zoom. Tension ring not so great. After a few trips looking for birds, the zoom starts slipping. Now, after a couple of months, I have to move the lens back every few minutes when walking with the lens pointing down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 07/10/2017 by jandtkane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for taking photos of birds. It's fast and clear. I really like it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29/09/2017 by Yervant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Stupendous when matched with the a9 body

SEL100400GM 26/09/2017 by dcstep (USA)

I've had this lens a few days and have shot about 2,000-shots, with it mounted on my Sony a9 body. I'm comparing it to my Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II. The image quality of the Sony and Canon is very close. Shooting wildlife, neither is leaping ahead of the other in IQ. I'll trust DxOMark when they say that the Sony is slightly better. What is stunning, is the quick and accurate autofocus, even when using all 693-autofocus points of the a9. When I at the Sony 1.4x teleconverter, there's no slowing. It's amazing. The performance is an order of magnitude better than the Canon on a Canon body. Someone was comparing to a Sigma lens. There's NO COMPARISON of the Sigma 150-600mm. The Sigma's image quality is several steps behind the Sony and the Canon. If you crop the shorter lenses to match 600mm, the Sony image will be sharper than the Sigma image. Oh, did I mention, the Sony is noticeably lighter than the competing Canon. Okay Sony, send us a 600/f4 G Master lens and I'll be totally crossed over from Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Superb quality

SEL100400GM 09/09/2017 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for this lens for some time and the wait was worth it, fantastic optical quality and also excellent with a 2x, the only negatives for me is at f40 the images show any dust on the sensor and the A9 really attracts dust and there is an issue with manual focus when using back button focusing, I have highlighted to Sony and it should be fixed with a firmware update (the problem is not on the 70-200), still really love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A very fine lens

SEL100400GM 31/08/2017 by MagW (USA)

After having this lens for a few weeks, I am impressed. I had the A-mount 70-400 mm (and also still have the Minolta APO 400 mm f:4.5), and the E-mount lens is better than it's A-mount zoom sibling in every respect. This lens even focuses fast with my old A7 camera, and can successfully be used for action, like birds in flight. I also like how the tripod socket foot can be removed from the lens, very clever design. Sharpness and contast is excellent wide open at 400 mm, which is the main reason I bought this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Nice lens

SEL100400GM 26/08/2017 by 0824 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like the focal lengthened the size wish it was fixed aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Just wanted to add a photo to my previous post.

SEL100400GM 21/08/2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I shot with an a9 on full auto with stock settings straight out of the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Excellent Lens!

SEL100400GM 15/08/2017 by Robert45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wonderful lens a week ago. It focuses quickly on the Sony A7R. So far, I have used it to photograph a swallowtail butterfly. I shot handheld at 400 mm, f/11 aperture preferred, and the camera set the shutter speed over 1/1000 sec. The attached photos are edited and cropped. It is a delightful lens to use. The lens uses a lot of power, so I bought a vertical grip and another battery (now 4 total).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Great Lens.

SEL100400GM 13/08/2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I've been waiting for some time for Sony to make a quality e-mount zoom telephoto lens I just wish they done it sooner. One thing is for sure this is a very good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Excellent Optics; doesn't zoom smoothly though

SEL100400GM 31/07/2017 by Yitzchal (USA)

The optics from this lens are first-rate; as good or better than the Canon 100-400 L ii lens and better than Sony's 70-200 F4 offering. However, my copy of the lens has a definite grinding feel when zooming down from 200-100mm in focal length, and that concerns me that the gearing might have a problem or need lubrication.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

2

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 13/06/2017 by Datboi34 (USA)

This review is not complaining about the lens itself, it is a very good lens, I am just saying that you can get just as good lens quality and more focal length With the sigma 150-600 and it costs less than half. The reason you would buy this lens is because the sigma Mc 11 adapter is very bad with af.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

131