35

4.8 based on 35 customer reviews

29
4
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29/09/2017 by Yervant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03/08/2018 by FITZGERALD (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

35 Customer Reviews

0

Best Sony Lens Ever

SEL100400GM 06/11/2018 by KP2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp! It's my favorite lens. Fast focusing and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

superb lens.

SEL100400GM 19/10/2018 by Frank171 (United Kingdom)

Always had a 200mm lens but upgraded to the 100-400 cant rate it enough, super fast and pin sharp focusing, a superb companion for the A7riii. Amazing results, and very acceptable with the 2x converter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fabulous resolution and clarity

SEL100400GM 14/10/2018 by MarkM (United Kingdom)

Very impressed, even with the 1.4 teleconverter, image sharpness and focussing is impressive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 27/09/2018 by Mel1of4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use with a7rii and have added 1.4xs converter. Reducing to APC delivers as much as 896mm focal length at f8. Autofocus can still cope and I have good results. The lens is even manageable hand held. Do not be greedy and go for 2xs converter unless you have the a9. A7 and 2xs will drop to f11 and you will be manually focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 31/08/2018 by Bob_Riach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens works well with the A9 still waiting fro the 1.4 extension the lens is also not heavy to carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great telephoto but a little husky!

SEL100400GM 10/08/2018 by cvctiger (USA)

I bought this lens because I needed the focal range for my action photography. Nice sharp photos through out its focal range. Only thing I probably have to get used to is its heftiness at just over 3lbs.....that's me coming off an APS-C format camera setup with kit lenses that weigh much lighter. I guess this is where monopods and tripods will help. Lastly I think the price is a little on the high side when comparing it to other mfgs that have similar focal lengths and specs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03/08/2018 by FITZGERALD (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/08/2018

Hi FITZGERALD, Please make sure the firmware of both the camera and the lens are updated. This may resolve any possible software issues. Reset the camera and see if the issue will resolve in case the issue persists.
We will forward your feedback to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Brilliant for wildlife.

SEL100400GM 28/07/2018 by Robonova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just the job for nature walks because you can use it for distant birds etc. or because it focuses so close at 400mm macro's of butterflies etc. & its light as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06/07/2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL100400GM 17/06/2018 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An expensive but high quality lens that works well with the Alpha A7R3 giving good auto focus performance and good sharpness, colour rendition and contrast. Works well with the 2x converter. A good lens for wildlifeif you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Amazing lens. Far better than my previous 600mm

SEL100400GM 15/06/2018 by Maaggiem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best lens I have bought. Picture quality and sharpness is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best purchase

SEL100400GM 10/05/2018 by Pro Papa (USA)

Bought this to photograph my little ones, sports in the future and some nature/animal shots. Love to be far away and get their pure joyous smiling faces. Highly recommended if you didn’t mind the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent performance

SEL100400GM 06/05/2018 by IkeG (USA)

I am happy with performance, very sharp images at the right light of course. Bit slow but that what to expect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4

0

Top Class

SEL100400GM 01/05/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best super telephoto zoom for your E-mount Sony. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sports and wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 20/04/2018 by Chutch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens together with the 2x extender for most of my nature and distance work as it is an ideal combination ie a 200-800mm lens. I am well pleased with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Exceeds expectations

SEL100400GM 09/04/2018 by G1ITV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tremendous capability for hand held use in Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic IQ

SEL100400GM 08/04/2018 by Viramati (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens mostly for landscape use and I have to say that the IQ that it delivers even at wide open apertures across the frame is simply stunning. Focus is very fast and silent and is still good in low light on the A7rIII. Build quality would appear to be excellent and all the controls are well placed. It is not a small or light lens but that is to be expected. My only serious issue with it is that they have not included a zoom lock as my 70-300 G lens had and this means that even when set to the 'tight' position front of the lens can extend if it is hung at your side and you are walking about. There are work arounds to solve this but I would have thought that on a GM lens they would have thought of this. Apart from this it is indeed worthy of the GM rating and though expensive (as all Sony lenses are) I am happy to have it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Quality!!!

SEL100400GM 23/03/2018 by SeaSir (USA)

Rented this lens before buying and was extremely happy and impressed with speed and quality. Great for wildlife..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Nice clear photos

SEL100400GM 09/02/2018 by Bird Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this lens at the end of November and have really been enjoying it. Nice clear images. Little on the heavy side but still better than my Tamron lens. Most of my photos are birds and other wildlife. So glade Sony came out with a lens with good reach for my e-mount. On my smaller format a6500 it reaches out to 600mm. I’m a happy camper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best Buy

SEL100400GM 06/02/2018 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to believe that this is a 100-400mm lens the weight is great after having had other manufacturers.Using it on a A7mk2 not the fastest but at the moment suits my needs.If you have the A9 I envy you because this would be stellar if you can afford it go for it you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great clarity

SEL100400GM 18/01/2018 by Bird Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this in November and very happy with it’s performance. Very clear sharp images. I use it with my a6500 and the focusing is very fast. I photograph mostly wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Great quality Lens and perfect weight.

SEL100400GM 06/01/2018 by Topper1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At last a 400mm lens I can use with my Sony Alpha 6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 11/12/2017 by Barbara_L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned the lens for about a month and have done quite a bit of hand held bird life and surfing photos. I am delighted with the quality at all focal lengths. Only negatives are the price, which is the most I have ever spent on a lens, and the weight, but I guess without that the quality of construction wouldn't be possible. Am yet to try it on the tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great lens, except for Zoom tensioning method.

SEL100400GM 13/10/2017 by KimKn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp, especially for a long zoom. Tension ring not so great. After a few trips looking for birds, the zoom starts slipping. Now, after a couple of months, I have to move the lens back every few minutes when walking with the lens pointing down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 07/10/2017 by jandtkane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for taking photos of birds. It's fast and clear. I really like it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29/09/2017 by Yervant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

Stupendous when matched with the a9 body

SEL100400GM 26/09/2017 by dcstep (USA)

I've had this lens a few days and have shot about 2,000-shots, with it mounted on my Sony a9 body. I'm comparing it to my Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II. The image quality of the Sony and Canon is very close. Shooting wildlife, neither is leaping ahead of the other in IQ. I'll trust DxOMark when they say that the Sony is slightly better. What is stunning, is the quick and accurate autofocus, even when using all 693-autofocus points of the a9. When I at the Sony 1.4x teleconverter, there's no slowing. It's amazing. The performance is an order of magnitude better than the Canon on a Canon body. Someone was comparing to a Sigma lens. There's NO COMPARISON of the Sigma 150-600mm. The Sigma's image quality is several steps behind the Sony and the Canon. If you crop the shorter lenses to match 600mm, the Sony image will be sharper than the Sigma image. Oh, did I mention, the Sony is noticeably lighter than the competing Canon. Okay Sony, send us a 600/f4 G Master lens and I'll be totally crossed over from Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Superb quality

SEL100400GM 09/09/2017 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for this lens for some time and the wait was worth it, fantastic optical quality and also excellent with a 2x, the only negatives for me is at f40 the images show any dust on the sensor and the A9 really attracts dust and there is an issue with manual focus when using back button focusing, I have highlighted to Sony and it should be fixed with a firmware update (the problem is not on the 70-200), still really love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A very fine lens

SEL100400GM 31/08/2017 by MagW (USA)

After having this lens for a few weeks, I am impressed. I had the A-mount 70-400 mm (and also still have the Minolta APO 400 mm f:4.5), and the E-mount lens is better than it's A-mount zoom sibling in every respect. This lens even focuses fast with my old A7 camera, and can successfully be used for action, like birds in flight. I also like how the tripod socket foot can be removed from the lens, very clever design. Sharpness and contast is excellent wide open at 400 mm, which is the main reason I bought this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Nice lens

SEL100400GM 26/08/2017 by 0824 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like the focal lengthened the size wish it was fixed aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Just wanted to add a photo to my previous post.

SEL100400GM 21/08/2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I shot with an a9 on full auto with stock settings straight out of the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

Excellent Lens!

SEL100400GM 15/08/2017 by Robert45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wonderful lens a week ago. It focuses quickly on the Sony A7R. So far, I have used it to photograph a swallowtail butterfly. I shot handheld at 400 mm, f/11 aperture preferred, and the camera set the shutter speed over 1/1000 sec. The attached photos are edited and cropped. It is a delightful lens to use. The lens uses a lot of power, so I bought a vertical grip and another battery (now 4 total).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

9

0

Great Lens.

SEL100400GM 13/08/2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I've been waiting for some time for Sony to make a quality e-mount zoom telephoto lens I just wish they done it sooner. One thing is for sure this is a very good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Excellent Optics; doesn't zoom smoothly though

SEL100400GM 31/07/2017 by Yitzchal (USA)

The optics from this lens are first-rate; as good or better than the Canon 100-400 L ii lens and better than Sony's 70-200 F4 offering. However, my copy of the lens has a definite grinding feel when zooming down from 200-100mm in focal length, and that concerns me that the gearing might have a problem or need lubrication.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

2

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 13/06/2017 by Datboi34 (USA)

This review is not complaining about the lens itself, it is a very good lens, I am just saying that you can get just as good lens quality and more focal length With the sigma 150-600 and it costs less than half. The reason you would buy this lens is because the sigma Mc 11 adapter is very bad with af.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

141