66

4.7 based on 66 customer reviews

55
7
3
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29/09/2017 by Yervant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03/08/2018 by Fitz Michael (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

66 Customer Reviews

0

Not for video, otherwise great lens

SEL100400GM 30/12/2019 by Mirek S (USA)

This is fantastic lens for photography with practically no compromises but if you look for wild life video lens, this one is not for you. image stabilizer is not optimized for video and achieving smooth footage even from tripod is impossible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/01/2020

Hi, Mirek!

Make sure the lens and your camera are both updated by downloading and installing their latest firmware. These will improve the performance of both the camera and the lens.

If you are still having the issue, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Current Location


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Very sharp. Quick focus

SEL100400GM 25/12/2019 by Elmersquirrel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have enjoyed this for several months and it lives up to my expectations. It is much better than my previous brand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Taking Photography to a new level

SEL100400GM 19/12/2019 by texadian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

have been taking pictures for 60 years, from a Kodak Brownie, to SLR, to SLT to mirrorless. This lens paired with the Sony A7Riii takes my photography to a new level. The lens is as sharp as any I have used. The optical Stabilization is unbelievable. Co-ordinated with the stabilization in the camera I can hand hold at 400mm for less than 1/100 of a second with out visible shake. It is clear that my 70 year old hands can't hold a 3 lb lens that steady but the stabilization of lets me do the impossible. If I had any negatives it would be the weight of the lens. But it is expected in a long lens of that quality. Also the fall off of the lens is less than I hoped for meaning I need to blur many shots in processing. (I never thought of complaining that a lens is too sharp). Sony has outdone itself with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sharp, light, love this lens

SEL100400GM 17/12/2019 by robwas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens instead of the 70-200 since I've always had 70-200's with other systems and have not regrets. Paired with my A7R3 this lens is even good for doing concert photography with marginal light. The only thing that could make this lens even better would be cutting the lens shoe to fit arca swiss, it'd be such an easy mod and if I still worked in a machine shop I'd have done it myself but instead bought an aftermarket foot to accomplish it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding Product G Master FE 100-400 lens

SEL100400GM 03/12/2019 by Lour (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is outstanding and gives you the versatility for photographing portraits to birds in flight. The lens is lite enough that you can take handheld pictures . I mostly photograph landscape and the versatility NYC skyline from NJ. And this lens has become my go to lens. I would recommend buying the 1.4 teleconverter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the tracking for the

SEL100400GM 18/11/2019 by Northern Gale (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens and the A7RIV a few weeks ago and have been very happy with the lens quality and the tracking. I shoot mostly wildlife and it seems like I am always in low light. From all the reviews I was reading I thought I would give it a try as my second camera and lens. I have a Nikon 850 with a 200-500 lens also with me at all times. It is hard to say which is my favorite at this time. I am excited to see how the Sony preforms in the next few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lemon

SEL100400GM 21/09/2019 by Mikrolabstudio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens comes with the build quality I expect with regard to materials but I think I got a lemon because the picture quality is sub-par. Even from tripod and auto focus the pictures are not crisp. Sent in for repair twice now and waiting for second return to test the workmanship. I would like to think this lens was skipped during the manufacturing quality checks. I have several Sony lenses and this was the first time I had issues but will most definitely purchase again!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2019

Hi, Mikrolabstudio!

For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
[Insert platform name] Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.


Sincerely,
David

0

Very versatile lens

SEL100400GM 29/08/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this lens after lots of thought and I'm so glad I did, I previously had the 70-200 and x2 converter but this 100-400 is a much sharper option its not too heavy for the range either, ideal for hiking with your 24-70 and have everything covered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 25/07/2019 by Cordless (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this lens two weeks used on the A7 iii pleased with results without a doubt a quality lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fast focusing

SEL100400GM 20/07/2019 by Davey445 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this - replacing my Canon 5DMk3 camera with A7Mk3 and Canon equivalent 100-400 Mk2 lens. For me - as a wildlife photographer - focus acquisition time / speed / accuracy is key. My new Sony camera + lens combination meets all my needs, plus providing a “complete integrated package” with following additional benefits . . . . . . ** superb sensor performance, not seen on Canon SLR cameras ** excellent low light capture, matching any SLR performance ** superior focus tracking ** burst shot rate equivalent only to expensive SLRs. ** small, light & compact camera footprint / unlike this lens which is solid but weighty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL100400GM 14/07/2019 by Theforth9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens still adjusting to the weight, it has a great range of focal length. Some might say a little overkill for a a6400 but a must have for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A brilliant lens, excellent quality and optics

SEL100400GM 13/07/2019 by PatJF69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been upgrading my system to full format and this lens completed the upgrade. It was an excellent choice. A very good lens optics and response are very good, tracking with the A7iii is superb. This gives me the longer focal options for the photo choices I make. Excellent lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Another superb lens

SEL100400GM 22/06/2019 by Broono (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb quality both in build and image. Perfect companion for my A7r3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Compact and sharp

SEL100400GM 22/06/2019 by aamirsab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks back to give me extra reach

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Awesome Lens

SEL100400GM 19/06/2019 by GeeDaDa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Lens, along with the a6400 mirrorless camera, and I am getting some very sharp photos. I am pleased with this set up and would recommend for wildlife photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Masterful lens

SEL100400GM 29/05/2019 by JulianS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good all-round lens as well as excellent performance as a telephoto lens. Versatile and adaptable in a range of conditions. Image quality produced is excellent and I am very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Incredible lens

SEL100400GM 21/05/2019 by angelsodyssey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently switched from Canon to Sony but kept all my Canon L lenses. I was so impressed with my A7RIII that I sold all my good lenses for the 100-400mm GM – I am not disappointed! This lens is super sharp and the focusing is very fast. I mainly photograph wildlife and this lens is perfect for the sort of environments I photograph (mainly around ponds and woodland). The OSS seems to work very well, and I have no problem shooting at 400mm handheld. Having the programmable button(s) on the barrel is fantastic and it is great being able to have focus lock right where I am holding the lens. The only downside is the colour (not the best for wildlife photography), but thankfully there are third party neoprene camouflage sets available. While it is an expensive lens, you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fast focus & pin sharp

SEL100400GM 10/05/2019 by JLS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with the quality and performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent in all aspects

SEL100400GM 07/05/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally a lens with effect stabilization and excellent optics. Years of using a variety of Canon super telephotos resigned me to thinking I could only get sharp images if I spent 10k dollars or more. This lens is perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

First was worst but now it's wow!

SEL100400GM 07/05/2019 by Cutthroatangler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens at the end of December and did not have much opportunity to test and use it for the first couple of months. When I did, I was frankly disappointed in the sharpness of the lens across the field. Finally I called Sony about it and they decided that we should send it to Precision Camera for warranty service. It came back to me in a week. They returned it to factory specs and updated the firmware. The lens is now incredibly sharp. Now it's wow! So I'm very impressed not only with the lens, but with Sony's warranty service. Thanks so much Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent image quality

SEL100400GM 11/04/2019 by Photo2001 (United Kingdom)

Had this some time, excellent image quality, fast focus, well made. Expensive but good things are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superlative

SEL100400GM 20/03/2019 by Steveah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Phenomenal long distance image quality when paired with my A7Rii I have been a keen photographer for over 30 years, using some seriously good kit and this lens still managed to blow me away with its results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

great quality

SEL100400GM 13/03/2019 by merlot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it has improved my photography know end and renewed my enthusiasm

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very sharp and fast

SEL100400GM 11/03/2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first time I used this lens I was shocked on how sharp and fast it was the lens produces great quality images and well worth the price I paid I would definitely recommend this lense

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Outstanding sharpness from a super telephoto

SEL100400GM 26/02/2019 by DavidHogg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used the original Canon 100-400 lens before and always knew that its sweet spot was around f/8 or thereabouts ... but by contrast this lens seems to be razor sharp wide open at any focal length! It's truly astonishing ... the sharpness at f/5.6 at 400mm is as good as you'd get with a 400mm prime. If you can afford it, go for it, there's no way you will be disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good

SEL100400GM 22/02/2019 by worldaviation4k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the sharp and clear quality. I used it on my Tokyo Haneda Airport live streams at night time (the ones that look brighter as i used to switch sometimes to my camcorder) for my worldaviation4k channel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 19/02/2019 by dnfb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is focuses very quickly and has amazing resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Great

SEL100400GM 16/02/2019 by kimkim90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Is a great great just expensiv I recommend to evryone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Sharp and clear at times

SEL100400GM 16/02/2019 by Go britexit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed my set up from a canon to Sony last year. Generally you can get some really sharp images with this lens, yet one of the most frustrating parts I find as it’s a variable length same with the Canon L series variable lens, is that that it doesn’t hold securely when you change the length of the lens. The lens is quite heavy to compliment the mirrorless range of full frame cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Ultra fast to focus and tack sharp even at 400mm

SEL100400GM 10/02/2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp at every length, and super fast to focus when paired with my A9, this is a very versatile tele zoom. It's great for picking out detail in general shooting as well as the obvious use in wildlife and sport. No compromises here!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A super lens, right in there and as sharp as a pin

SEL100400GM 03/12/2018 by Mark Poly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A lot sharper than the Zeiss lens that I bought with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Sony Lens Ever

SEL100400GM 06/11/2018 by KP2000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp! It's my favorite lens. Fast focusing and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

superb lens.

SEL100400GM 19/10/2018 by Frank171 (United Kingdom)

Always had a 200mm lens but upgraded to the 100-400 cant rate it enough, super fast and pin sharp focusing, a superb companion for the A7riii. Amazing results, and very acceptable with the 2x converter.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fabulous resolution and clarity

SEL100400GM 14/10/2018 by MarkM (United Kingdom)

Very impressed, even with the 1.4 teleconverter, image sharpness and focussing is impressive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL100400GM 27/09/2018 by Mel1of4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use with a7rii and have added 1.4xs converter. Reducing to APC delivers as much as 896mm focal length at f8. Autofocus can still cope and I have good results. The lens is even manageable hand held. Do not be greedy and go for 2xs converter unless you have the a9. A7 and 2xs will drop to f11 and you will be manually focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 31/08/2018 by Bob_Riach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens works well with the A9 still waiting fro the 1.4 extension the lens is also not heavy to carry

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great telephoto but a little husky!

SEL100400GM 10/08/2018 by cvctiger (USA)

I bought this lens because I needed the focal range for my action photography. Nice sharp photos through out its focal range. Only thing I probably have to get used to is its heftiness at just over 3lbs.....that's me coming off an APS-C format camera setup with kit lenses that weigh much lighter. I guess this is where monopods and tripods will help. Lastly I think the price is a little on the high side when comparing it to other mfgs that have similar focal lengths and specs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

R3_100-400GM

SEL100400GM 03/08/2018 by Fitz Michael (USA)

I had this lens for couple months now and I've noticed the lens sometimes it won't focus. I have to turn off the camera and it the lens works again. I updated the software to the latest one available to download and that did not fix the problem. also, the manual focus to infinity is not calibrated correctly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/08/2018

Hi FITZGERALD, Please make sure the firmware of both the camera and the lens are updated. This may resolve any possible software issues. Reset the camera and see if the issue will resolve in case the issue persists.
We will forward your feedback to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Brilliant for wildlife.

SEL100400GM 28/07/2018 by Robonova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just the job for nature walks because you can use it for distant birds etc. or because it focuses so close at 400mm macro's of butterflies etc. & its light as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and sharp lens for action photography.

SEL100400GM 06/07/2018 by BikeVisionScotland (United Kingdom)

Used this lens for the first time for action-shots four days ago. The results are amazing, even when used during sunset. All at 400mm f5.6 1/1000sec ISO640.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Super sharp lens

SEL100400GM 17/06/2018 by Humfan1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An expensive but high quality lens that works well with the Alpha A7R3 giving good auto focus performance and good sharpness, colour rendition and contrast. Works well with the 2x converter. A good lens for wildlifeif you can afford it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing lens. Far better than my previous 600mm

SEL100400GM 15/06/2018 by Maaggiem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best lens I have bought. Picture quality and sharpness is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best purchase

SEL100400GM 10/05/2018 by Pro Papa (USA)

Bought this to photograph my little ones, sports in the future and some nature/animal shots. Love to be far away and get their pure joyous smiling faces. Highly recommended if you didn’t mind the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent performance

SEL100400GM 06/05/2018 by IkeG (USA)

I am happy with performance, very sharp images at the right light of course. Bit slow but that what to expect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

5

0

Top Class

SEL100400GM 01/05/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best super telephoto zoom for your E-mount Sony. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sports and wildlife lens

SEL100400GM 20/04/2018 by Chutch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens together with the 2x extender for most of my nature and distance work as it is an ideal combination ie a 200-800mm lens. I am well pleased with this purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Exceeds expectations

SEL100400GM 09/04/2018 by G1ITV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tremendous capability for hand held use in Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic IQ

SEL100400GM 08/04/2018 by Viramati (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens mostly for landscape use and I have to say that the IQ that it delivers even at wide open apertures across the frame is simply stunning. Focus is very fast and silent and is still good in low light on the A7rIII. Build quality would appear to be excellent and all the controls are well placed. It is not a small or light lens but that is to be expected. My only serious issue with it is that they have not included a zoom lock as my 70-300 G lens had and this means that even when set to the 'tight' position front of the lens can extend if it is hung at your side and you are walking about. There are work arounds to solve this but I would have thought that on a GM lens they would have thought of this. Apart from this it is indeed worthy of the GM rating and though expensive (as all Sony lenses are) I am happy to have it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Quality!!!

SEL100400GM 23/03/2018 by SeaSir (USA)

Rented this lens before buying and was extremely happy and impressed with speed and quality. Great for wildlife..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

Nice clear photos

SEL100400GM 09/02/2018 by Bird Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this lens at the end of November and have really been enjoying it. Nice clear images. Little on the heavy side but still better than my Tamron lens. Most of my photos are birds and other wildlife. So glade Sony came out with a lens with good reach for my e-mount. On my smaller format a6500 it reaches out to 600mm. I’m a happy camper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best Buy

SEL100400GM 06/02/2018 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hard to believe that this is a 100-400mm lens the weight is great after having had other manufacturers.Using it on a A7mk2 not the fastest but at the moment suits my needs.If you have the A9 I envy you because this would be stellar if you can afford it go for it you will not regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great clarity

SEL100400GM 18/01/2018 by Bird Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this in November and very happy with it’s performance. Very clear sharp images. I use it with my a6500 and the focusing is very fast. I photograph mostly wildlife.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

0

Great quality Lens and perfect weight.

SEL100400GM 06/01/2018 by Topper1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At last a 400mm lens I can use with my Sony Alpha 6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent Quality Lens

SEL100400GM 11/12/2017 by Barbara_L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned the lens for about a month and have done quite a bit of hand held bird life and surfing photos. I am delighted with the quality at all focal lengths. Only negatives are the price, which is the most I have ever spent on a lens, and the weight, but I guess without that the quality of construction wouldn't be possible. Am yet to try it on the tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great lens, except for Zoom tensioning method.

SEL100400GM 13/10/2017 by KimKn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp, especially for a long zoom. Tension ring not so great. After a few trips looking for birds, the zoom starts slipping. Now, after a couple of months, I have to move the lens back every few minutes when walking with the lens pointing down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Great Lens

SEL100400GM 07/10/2017 by jandtkane (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for taking photos of birds. It's fast and clear. I really like it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very impressive

SEL100400GM 29/09/2017 by Yervant (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After shooting with Nikon for 40 years, I just recently switched camera systems from Nikon to Sony. For starters, I bought the Sony a7Rii along with the Sony FE 24-70 F2.8 GM and Sony FE 100-400 F4.5-5.6 GM OSS. I have to say, I love this Sony system. The ease of capturing images, especially fast paced images, is surprisingly easy. The images attached were captured with the outstanding 100-400 GM. The focus system on the a7Rii never missed a beat with this fast moving Waverunner. The viewfinder is just incredible. I love being able to see exactly what I am capturing at the exact moment I pressed the shutter release. The detail of 42.5 MP's is unreal. My only regret is that I didn't switch systems sooner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

0

Stupendous when matched with the a9 body

SEL100400GM 26/09/2017 by dcstep (USA)

I've had this lens a few days and have shot about 2,000-shots, with it mounted on my Sony a9 body. I'm comparing it to my Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II. The image quality of the Sony and Canon is very close. Shooting wildlife, neither is leaping ahead of the other in IQ. I'll trust DxOMark when they say that the Sony is slightly better. What is stunning, is the quick and accurate autofocus, even when using all 693-autofocus points of the a9. When I at the Sony 1.4x teleconverter, there's no slowing. It's amazing. The performance is an order of magnitude better than the Canon on a Canon body. Someone was comparing to a Sigma lens. There's NO COMPARISON of the Sigma 150-600mm. The Sigma's image quality is several steps behind the Sony and the Canon. If you crop the shorter lenses to match 600mm, the Sony image will be sharper than the Sigma image. Oh, did I mention, the Sony is noticeably lighter than the competing Canon. Okay Sony, send us a 600/f4 G Master lens and I'll be totally crossed over from Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Superb quality

SEL100400GM 09/09/2017 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for this lens for some time and the wait was worth it, fantastic optical quality and also excellent with a 2x, the only negatives for me is at f40 the images show any dust on the sensor and the A9 really attracts dust and there is an issue with manual focus when using back button focusing, I have highlighted to Sony and it should be fixed with a firmware update (the problem is not on the 70-200), still really love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A very fine lens

SEL100400GM 31/08/2017 by MagW (USA)

After having this lens for a few weeks, I am impressed. I had the A-mount 70-400 mm (and also still have the Minolta APO 400 mm f:4.5), and the E-mount lens is better than it's A-mount zoom sibling in every respect. This lens even focuses fast with my old A7 camera, and can successfully be used for action, like birds in flight. I also like how the tripod socket foot can be removed from the lens, very clever design. Sharpness and contast is excellent wide open at 400 mm, which is the main reason I bought this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Nice lens

SEL100400GM 26/08/2017 by 0824 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like the focal lengthened the size wish it was fixed aperture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Just wanted to add a photo to my previous post.

SEL100400GM 21/08/2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I shot with an a9 on full auto with stock settings straight out of the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Excellent Lens!

SEL100400GM 15/08/2017 by Robert45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wonderful lens a week ago. It focuses quickly on the Sony A7R. So far, I have used it to photograph a swallowtail butterfly. I shot handheld at 400 mm, f/11 aperture preferred, and the camera set the shutter speed over 1/1000 sec. The attached photos are edited and cropped. It is a delightful lens to use. The lens uses a lot of power, so I bought a vertical grip and another battery (now 4 total).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

9

0

Great Lens.

SEL100400GM 13/08/2017 by Gordon M (USA)

I've been waiting for some time for Sony to make a quality e-mount zoom telephoto lens I just wish they done it sooner. One thing is for sure this is a very good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

0

Excellent Optics; doesn't zoom smoothly though

SEL100400GM 31/07/2017 by Yitzchal (USA)

The optics from this lens are first-rate; as good or better than the Canon 100-400 L ii lens and better than Sony's 70-200 F4 offering. However, my copy of the lens has a definite grinding feel when zooming down from 200-100mm in focal length, and that concerns me that the gearing might have a problem or need lubrication.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15

2

0

Great lens

SEL100400GM 13/06/2017 by Datboi34 (USA)

This review is not complaining about the lens itself, it is a very good lens, I am just saying that you can get just as good lens quality and more focal length With the sigma 150-600 and it costs less than half. The reason you would buy this lens is because the sigma Mc 11 adapter is very bad with af.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

144