FE 135mm F1.8 GM

Product Reviews

$2,099.99

7

5.0 based on 7 customer reviews

7
0
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

7 Customer Reviews

0

Much more than a portrait lens

SEL135F18GM 28/01/2020 by Chasdog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using this a month in my sports imaging. It was bought primarily for portrait work and weddings but is actually a real joy for sports, My only gripe would be more to do with me than the lens. I have large hands and perrenially use long lenses with plenty of room to support the lens without fouling the focus or aperture rings. Quite tricky on this lens especially in gloves but I am impressed by the way it feels in the hand, the solid build quality and excellent images especially in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as a razor!

SEL135F18GM 10/01/2020 by Stopher77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to purchase this lens as I wanted a telephoto low aperture lens and traded in my Sony FE 70-200 F/4. Wow! What a purchase. This lens is razor sharp even wide open. This is marketed as a portrait lens, however, I have seen incredible results using it for landscapes paired with my Sony A7 III. My only minor issue is the weight, although, it is reassuringly heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Next Level Lens

SEL135F18GM 17/11/2019 by jloz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I waited and waited to purchase this monster lens and the long wait is over. When I say monster, I mean it is huge! It is a great workout for your forearms as it is very heavy. The IQ this lens delivers is next level. You will not be disappointed, even if you are an image snob. It focuses lightning fast. Performs well in low light conditions. The bokeh melts like butter. Even at $1900 this lens is a bargain. After reading my word salad, go to your nearest online or B&M retailer and do not waste another moment. P.S. Do not purchase the Intl' version. It may be $150 cheaper but it does not come with the manufacturer's warranty and the mount is made of plastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Faultless

SEL135F18GM 16/10/2019 by Chimneyfinder (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very fine lens. The sharpness is incredible and impressive for maintaining such a high level not only through the aperture range but from close to far distances. Focus speed is at a pro level response. Resistance to flare, ghosting, veil, etc. is very high. The weight and size comes with the design capability so it would be fatuous to criticise it for this. Really, I can not say that this lens is lacking in any department and very few lenses would achieve this in my experience. I have this lens (it is the longest lens I own) as it sits in the mid range of a 70-200mm, and it covers what I want as a telephoto. As I go out walking for a whole day the f2.8 zoom would need a larger bag and it can start to feel heavy. Apart from that the 135 is an absolute joy to use and, being used to prime lenses for 40 years, framing isn't an issue, it suits my eye. I am delighted and fortunate to have such a great lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 23/09/2019 by Snowsurfer55 (USA)

This lens is sharp and has an amazing focus system. Great bokeh for portraits and prefer it over an 85mm. So far this is my first GM and it is well worth the money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/09/2019

Hi, Snowsurfer55!

We are glad you like your first GM lens. Thank you for the feedback and for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Absolutely the best 135mm fast len I've ever used.

SEL135F18GM 29/08/2019 by NRE 12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is totally fabulous particularly, for low light work. I tried it out at a stage performance this past summer and immediately returned it to the rental shop with money in hand. I've shot at least 10 low light stage performances sine then and have not regretted paying top dollar for this glass.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, NRE 12!

We are glad to hear about your experience with your Sony SEL135F18GM. You made the right decision choosing this lens. Thank you for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Beautiful lens

SEL135F18GM 29/07/2019 by Doug75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievably sharp lens. The Eye AF tracks perfectly for portraits even in low light. The two focus hold buttons instead of the one is very useful when rotating the camera for portraits. The lens is expensive but you get what you pay for with the G master lens. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0