$1,049.99

53

4.1 based on 53 customer reviews

23
22
2
3
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22/03/2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Wonderful Lens, Inferior Mount

SEL24240 16/04/2015 by ArtisticCreator (USA)

I was so excited to get this lens. It fit my needs perfectly. Unfortunately it didn't fit the camera perfectly. Basically the mount on the lens is made from an inferior material that hasn't been accurately machined or heat treated. (I'm an Aerospace Quality Manager and I know a little bit about this type of thing) There is an unacceptable amount of play in the locking mechanism. Using the telephoto ring causes the play to be very noticeable. And as you turn the ring back and forth over time, the locking pin pushes into the metal on the lens mount pushing metal up and widening the slot for the pin. In the one month I had it, that slot continued to widen. Yes I returned it. For this price, the mount must be hardened stainless that should be machined to a tighter tolerance and fit snugly. If they fix this problem I will buy it in the future. But I will take a close look before I do.

60

13

53 Customer Reviews

0

So far so good

SEL24240 02/09/2019 by Steph400183 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been asked to review this lens far too soon and have not yet had the opportunity to have a good session with it. So far though with the shots I’ve taken I’ve been very happy. Nice and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Meets expectations

SEL24240 31/07/2019 by Huwcin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Big, bold and versatile. Heavy but perfectly suited to the A7 mk3. Especially well balanced as a unit for carrying in one hand by fingertips. Photo quality is maybe not as sharp as the best primes available but not disgraced in any way either. A great choice for everyday and travel.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice versatile lens

SEL24240 04/07/2019 by Ree101 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as I wanted something versatile. Very happy with it's performance so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Useful Lens

SEL24240 28/05/2019 by Leveler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value for money lens that serves my purpose, would like to have had longer zoom but pleasantly surprised with the quality and overall results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not to good

SEL24240 28/04/2019 by Henry36 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Focus slow sometime I took the pictures not sharp,need updates version.

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
09/05/2019

Hi Henry36, Did you update the firmware of the lens? Make sure it runs the latest software version: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/lenses-e-mount-lenses/sel24240#downloads
The camera should be updated as well.
Best regards,
Vincent

0

Great for travel

SEL24240 20/02/2019 by Archibald R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Transportability and quality of outcome were the two dominating reasons for the purchase and both achieved for an amateur photographer like me. Economic purchase for the range offered was also a consideration.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Versatile all-rounder

SEL24240 10/02/2019 by Kenny7357 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In today's cheap and easy travel get-a-ways and escapes, all is not really that cheap when it comes to baggage. I have been caught many times for extra payment, primarily as I travel with 12 -15kgs of camera gear,(includes underwater housings, strobes, etc.). This lens allows me to cut my weight without too much compromise on getting the quality shot. It is wide angle enough for landscapes and a great zoom range for getting in a bit closer or pulling the frame in. I'm not a pro, so I can't go into techie speak, but this is my main lens for land based pics. I have taken shots of a village near Exmoor from a hill 1200m from the church, to zoom in on camera screen and read the time on the clock. A great feature is the lens has a very positive wind in and out for zoom. I use a quick fire shoulder strap and despite the camera dangling, there is no lens creep.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Sony FE 24-240mm

SEL24240 08/02/2019 by JosV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very useful walk-around lens, a bit heavy. Great picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

24-240mm lens

SEL24240 27/01/2019 by philslizzy (United Kingdom)

Compact for what it does and quite heavy. I bought it to use as my 'standard' lens. But the AF is sooo slow. I've pretty much gone back to using a manual focus 28-200 for many things

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Exellent versatile lens

SEL24240 25/01/2019 by Paul7745678 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the lens over a year ago and have been very pleased with the picture quality and sharpness. The wide zoom range means I don't need to carry a variety of lenses around. The steady shot works well. I have just changed to a A7M3 from a A7M2 and so far results have been just as good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fe24-240 - excellent travel lens

SEL24240 15/01/2019 by Spearman106 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to compliment my Video equipment and pleasantly surprised at its versatility, edge to edge sharpness is great from f4 to f11 - that said in difficult low light it still gives usable results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good all round lens

SEL24240 15/01/2019 by Mauve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and have used it in low (winter) light and bright sunlight, across the full zoom range and haven't found any problems.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Almost perfect

SEL24240 08/11/2018 by Jean Luc Oregon (USA)

I love the versatility of this lens and the image quality. I wish it was lighter weight but I can live with that. However I am disappointed in focus speed as it has a hard time keeping up with my a6000’s ability. I have three other lenses which are very rapid focus which I use when I need fast focus speed. A little disappointing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Many features but unfriendly manual

SEL24240 03/10/2018 by Manny c (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After one month I am learning the many features of this camera and lens combination but the instruction manual is hard to follow and using the camera built guide is very unfriendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Great All Round Lens

SEL24240 20/09/2018 by msp0924 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the first lens I've ever bought. I bought it for my Sony a7rIII camera. I've only used on one road trip in the US. I had a lot of fun using it. Very comfortable and easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Everything I wanted and more...

SEL24240 25/08/2018 by Longbowman (United Kingdom)

Was looking for a good quality lens better that the 24-70mm f4 that I bought with the camera. This is that lens. Better reach and image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

One lens for all type of photography.

SEL24240 01/08/2018 by Ajay P (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens, 20 days back, just before going on vacation and used it on my Sony A7iii. +Ve: Excellent performance. Amazing focus tracking. Very sharp, Vibrating colour reproduction. -Ve: Very heavy to carry. Little soft at 240mm Lens jets out at longer range- so difficult to rotate polarized filters if one is using

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Much heavier then expected!

SEL24240 08/07/2018 by Sam552 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lens is awesome. Too heavy. Wish it did not wiegh so much. Hard to change big lens on small a6500 body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

10x Zoom

SEL24240 23/06/2018 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality lens for a 10x zoom. I bought to use on holiday and as a walk around lens on my Sony a7mk2 and possibly my a6300. It's a surprisingly large lens and heavier than expected but I'm pleased with the AF speed and sharpness. It's the best 10x ish zoom I've used. On the a7mk2 it's reasonably well balanced. On the a6300 acceptable. APSC focal range is 36-360mm so pretty good for wildlife and nature. Great addition to my e mount lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Super functional

SEL24240 11/06/2018 by mikeygrn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently switched from Nikon D700 to a Sony A7II. Over the years I had acquired a lot of lenses for my Nikon. Starting over was rough but I am so happy I did. I know I will invest in some quality primes over the next few years but because of my previous experience I knew that starting with a long range telephoto zoom was a no brainer. It’s the type of lens that was kept on my Nikon 80% of the time. Dxomark has the 24-240 ranked last for all of the tested Sony full frame lenses. I have never been a pixel peeper. I am an avid hobbyist and I primarily shoot my family, vacations and the awesome activities we get to do living in Alaska. Whatever technical quality and sharpness you sacrifice with a long range zoom is easily outweighed by the convenience of having one lens that can do it all. Another feature that I appreciate is that the barrel extends ever so slightly (maybe 2-3mm) as you widen out fully to 24mm. This prevents the possibility of lens creep without the need for a locking switch. The A7 series of cameras are amazing and the photos that I get out of Lightroom definitely exceed all of my needs for quality. I have yet to take a picture and think to myself, I wish the corners were a little sharper. By winter I will pick up an ultra wide prime because the only photos that I take where I value that corner to corner sharpness are of the night sky and the aurora. For the first lens after the kit however, unless you have a primary type of photography that you shoot an overwhelming majority of the time, it only makes sense to start with a decent quality lens that can do it all. I can’t imagine any photographer not having use for a lens like this in their collection.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Takes great pictures

SEL24240 01/06/2018 by Millerhill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best zoom lenses I've bought. Takes great pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

A great fit for my sony alpha

SEL24240 15/05/2018 by vwbeetle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed this lens for my new sony frameless camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

0

General purpose zoom

SEL24240 30/04/2018 by Delboy321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought a Sony Alpha 7ii body and wanted a broad range zoom to go with it. This 24-240mm zoom lens was the perfect solution given the limited supply of zoom lens designed to work with full frame camera’s. The lens is slightly bigger, and heavier, than desired but still gives me the versatility that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great multi purpose lens

SEL24240 11/04/2018 by Ralston88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought it to travel Thailand with, got some fantastic shots on the A7ii, only issue is that there is heavy vignetting on certain zooms / aperatures, although easily corrected in post editing can be annoying to some. Buy a pack of Globe fliters, essential add on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great lens!

SEL24240 17/03/2018 by Gehr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to use on my Sony a7r. This is a great, all-around lens. It resolves the 36mps quite well, and the fact that I don't have to keep changing lenses is a super reason for my buying this lens. I am quite pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERSATILE BUT HEAVY

SEL24240 15/03/2018 by Urleyn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this versatile lens for my A7Rii body because it offered a wide range of focal lens and because, given Sony prices, it was the only one I could afford. In use, its proved its worth with excellent quality shots across its range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Like very much

SEL24240 11/01/2018 by Mojazz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought in December I really happy with it a good lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Overall good for every situation

SEL24240 06/01/2018 by DukeJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A fantastic lens that covers any situation.Landscapes, Portraits and even some macro situations. Could be a tad sharper, though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great travel lens

SEL24240 25/12/2017 by Island scot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed a zoom lens to take photos of red squirrels that come into my back garden Great with my A7ii

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Superb

SEL24240 12/12/2017 by JayAP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very handy as a travel lense with no need of carrying different zooms. Very good picture quality and solid built. Very much impressed with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Lens does not produce sharp photos

SEL24240 21/11/2017 by dobrorod (USA)

The lens does not produce tack sharp images that I would expect from Sony equipment. It is good for snapshots but not for art work.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/11/2017

Hi, dobrorod, We appreciate your feedback. Make sure you are choosing the right settings according to the result you want to attain. When using a flash for example, always remove the lens hood and shoot at least 1 m (3.3 feet) away from your subject. With certain combinations of lens and flash, the lens may partially block the light of the flash, resulting in a shadow at the bottom of the picture. Always check for software update. You may compare your unit's firmware version and the updated here: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=SEL24240&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab.

0

Very versatile

SEL24240 28/09/2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharp enough across the zoom range on both full frame and APSC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Very slow

SEL24240 11/07/2017 by Ashuuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compared to the cannon very slow very basic and not very easy

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

22

0

Good zoom range lens

SEL24240 03/07/2017 by Marcus67 (USA)

Excellent zoom range and very good picture quality. Not excellent, but very good. Build quality superb. The only minus "is big and heavy"...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Way Better than Expected! I'm Very Impressed!

SEL24240 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was the first lens I bought for the A7RII when I switched over from Nikon June of 2016. I was amazed how sharp and how fast the focus was. It got even faster after the software was updated on the camera. I have seen some youtube reviews of this lens where they try and talk down it's abilities due to the fact it's not a 2.8 lens throughout the zoom like on the G Master zoom lens. Don't listen to this as this lens performs fantastically! Well worth every penny! You will use this on every trip you take where you don't want to keep swapping lenses! Also I shot in the rain, at night, holding an umbrella, at DisneyWorld during the fireworks at a 1/50th of a sec, 6400 ISO and the shots were excellent! Get this lens! (OK, it is a bit heavy but you won't miss the shot!)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Great All-Around Lens

SEL24240 26/05/2017  (USA)

After soaking my and frying my NEX-5, and selling my Nikon stuff, I decided that the a7 was the choice for me. A quick stint with the kit lens left me disappointed, a new lens was needed. The 24-240mm F3.5-6.3 OSS immediately caught my eye. I love the extreme versatility of the lens, and the 10x zoom makes it great at tackling all types of challenges. I use it form sports to astrophotography, and everything in between. The only downfall is the weight, but I only really notice it after a full day of shooting, so nothing that hinders the lens too much. It was my only lens for about 1.5 years, and even now, with two other lenses in my kit, it still likely spends the most time on my camera than any of the other two. If your looking for one lens to cover all bases, this it the one for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Excellent versatile lens

SEL24240 24/05/2017 by Dashy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A heavy lens with a good solid feel, I use it with my Sony a6500 camera. Slightly heavier than I would have liked but worth it for getting close to the subject. You can also take reasonable wide shots without changing the lens. So far I have not used a tripod with the lens and find the photos straight from the camera need very little sharpening if any. Glad Paul at UK Digital recommended I buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

All in one

SEL24240 29/03/2017 by Garethwmj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just got too tired carrying three or four lenses around to get that one shot. Truth is it took too long to fit the correct lens to my camera then the moment had gone and a truck load of dust and stuff ready to invade the optics. Sure the lens is big and perhaps too heavy but lighter than my previous set up. The lens is sharp from portrait to landscapes. A better than expected solution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Solid Lens ideal when travelling light

SEL24240 20/03/2017 by Alfie1942 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the lens a few weeks and have not really put it to the test. However I am sure it will fulfil the role I bought it for - maximum versatility when travelling and really only want to carry camera body and one lens, as I shall when in Italy in May. The good feature are that it is full frame - hard to find in "travel" lenses. The consequence is a relatively restricted (10x!) zoom range and size and weight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

13

0

SONY 24-240MM LENS

SEL24240 15/01/2017 by Bogeybuster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the quality of this lens and it's construction. The only reason I did not award 5 stars was because it erred a bit on the heavy side but that can be a good thing meaning it is well constructed. It covers a wide range from 24-240mm which is basically all I need for what I do.However if I am shooting a very special occasion then I would put on my Zeiss 55mm f1/8 lens where the quality is just outstanding although it is limited to what you can photograph.The 24-240 gives me all the range I need with more than acceptable results. I would definitely recommend this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

16

5

0

Very Poor

SEL24240 10/10/2016 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Kept the lens over a weekend and sent it back to the supplier probably the worst lens I have ever had. Sad really thought this was my answer to a great travel lens on reflection the varying reports on line were correct some were good others bad I might have had a bad copy who knows. I have a great variety of Sony lenses both E-& FE mount and could not be happier with them we really need a good travel lens like a 18/24 to 105mm Sony are sadly lacking in this range and you cannot rely on Sigma to cover what you don't have.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

40

0

Mostly good but not completely

SEL24240 13/05/2016 by Nilacop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Zoom ring very stiff to turn. Slight radial movementioned between lens and camera body when zooming in and out.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

11

0

Useful range

SEL24240 19/09/2015 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this for the A7r ii, for the price its a good lens, I didn't want lots of lenses to carry and this fits nicely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

13

5

0

Fantastic Travel Kit

SEL24240 02/08/2015 by georgemeow (USA)

This is a fantastic lens for travel! It's silent, quick, and reliable. This lens is very sharp for photographing objects from the size of a grapefruit to a statue. If you're going for tons of detail and challenging situations (low light, complicated contrast) you may want to stick with your primes... but you know that already. If you're looking for a single lens to take day-time photos of a hike or tour a city, this is perfect.

19

2

0

Versatile

SEL24240 14/07/2015 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only just bought it and so far have not used it apart from in the garden so cannot give a review.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

53

0

Flimsy mount

SEL24240 09/07/2015 by Mikefocalpoint (USA)

This is a great all-rounder lens - no doubt. But that is downplayed by the flimsy mounting system that shakes, rattles and disconnects the electronics. Had turn off and on once in every half hour to reconnect the electronics between the camera and lens. Decided to return the lens.

28

13

Response From Sony Support
10/07/2015

Hi Mikefocalpoint,

Thank you for sharing this information with us. We'll let the right people know about this.

0

Disappointing image quality

SEL24240 07/07/2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

While I wasn't expecting prime quality from this lens I was expecting it to at least be on a par with similar superzoom I've used with other systems. While not terrible the image quality is not great and the slowness of the lens at longer focal lengths means in anything other than bright light you have to use high ISO settings which further compromises image quality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

14

28

0

Nice Glass

SEL24240 17/06/2015 by GHUT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a lens that stands alone when you consider zoom range, weight, and sharpness. It's maximum aperture leaves a bit to be desired, but, If you combine it with the Sony Alpha 7S - this is a combo that can go anywhere and shoot in any - and I mean ANY situation. This is a perfect example of a modern, well designed, high tech piece of gear.

12

0

0

Fair all-purpose lens for good light.

SEL24240 25/05/2015 by Logan1949 (USA)

The good --- Wide range 24mm to 240mm, 10x. Extends out with firm zoom ring. Extended lens will move back under pressure from the front. I cannot judge the effectiveness of the Optical Steady Shot in the lens because I have an A7ii with Steadyshot in the camera itself (which works great unless you have it on a tripod in a vibrating car). The limitations --- f/3.5 at 24mm, f/6.3 at 240mm maximum aperture restricts your ability to get more light in dim settings requiring a higher ISO which may result in more noise. Minimum focus-able distance with zoom is about a yard/meter so macro close-ups are not an option, The bad --- Occasionally, The locking mechanism between the lens and camera clicks loose when twisting the zoom; disconnecting the autofocus, f-stop, and the shutter itself, requiring the camera to be turned off and back on to reconnect it. On average, this has happened to me about once per 1-2 hours of use. Very annoying. I would only recommend this to a friend after they fix the loose mount issue.

32

1

Response From Sony Support
27/05/2015

Hi Logan1949,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the lens and also giving info about the mount. We will forward this to the right department.

0

Sony Travel Zoom FE Lens 24-240

SEL24240 25/04/2015 by Procul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for Travels (Holidays, Days out, etc) to replace the kit lens 28-70. Although a little bulkier and heavier, it does give me the wide aspect and zoom capabilities I have missed on holidays. I had to replace my carry case as the lens is longer than the kit one, a new skylight filter (72mm), upgrade the Gorillapod for the extra weight, and upgrade the cameras firmware for the lens. Easy enough to use on zoom and focus, I often use either auto or manual aperture (custom settings). The lens hood is very handy for the bright outdoors. Photos so far appear to be bright colours, stable aspect and good overall quality. No problems on shake or blur, and I am pleased with the lens performance in various lighting conditions. So I am happy with the purchase to date.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

3

0

Wonderful Lens, Inferior Mount

SEL24240 16/04/2015 by ArtisticCreator (USA)

I was so excited to get this lens. It fit my needs perfectly. Unfortunately it didn't fit the camera perfectly. Basically the mount on the lens is made from an inferior material that hasn't been accurately machined or heat treated. (I'm an Aerospace Quality Manager and I know a little bit about this type of thing) There is an unacceptable amount of play in the locking mechanism. Using the telephoto ring causes the play to be very noticeable. And as you turn the ring back and forth over time, the locking pin pushes into the metal on the lens mount pushing metal up and widening the slot for the pin. In the one month I had it, that slot continued to widen. Yes I returned it. For this price, the mount must be hardened stainless that should be machined to a tighter tolerance and fit snugly. If they fix this problem I will buy it in the future. But I will take a close look before I do.

60

13

Response From Sony Support
20/04/2015

Hi ArtisticCreator,

Thanks for giving us this information and showing us a picture of the issue. We will let the right department know about this.

0

ONE great versatile lens for the A7-R

SEL24240 08/04/2015 by HomePlanetImages (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens hasn't been off my camera since I received it. Why would it be? It's sharp at every focal length. It does vignette at 24mm, but it's very slight. The lens is heavier than I thought it would be, which just means it's a lot of glass. "Optical steady shot" seems to be working fine, whether or not the camera is on a tripod. So it's not fancy. No bells, no whistles, just a good all-purpose lens, which is what I've been waiting for.

18

0

0

The best single lens FE solution at this time.

SEL24240 22/03/2015 by ebookman (USA)

SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s The lens, appears to me, to be surprisingly sharp for a super zoom. I think I am going to stop reading graphs and charts. After several days out on the desert with this single lens I am really impressed with the convenience of framing shots quickly over a broad focal range. Many shots would be very difficult to obtain in the rough terrain without a backpack full of lenses and a lot of hiking time. I never go on the desert alone and I almost never go with fellow shooters who would be patient. You can make the shot and keep moving. It is also easier to protect a single camera and lens from wind, dust and rain. As to the images themselves, the SONY FE 24-240mm f/3.5-6.3 on A7s creates an amazing raw file with wonderful shadow detail. I keep forgetting that I am working with smaller images than my A7r. There is also an image quality that I can not describe. This lens likes this camera. Having said that, the lens is certainly not perfect. It has a very stiff zoom. Wide aperture enthusiasts need not inquire. It is a great landscape lens. If the lens performs as well on the A7r, a compact super wide along with this lens would (pardon the pun) cover the whole landscape in a small package.

33

0