10

4.2 based on 10 customer reviews

6
1
2
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

10 Customer Reviews

0

very noisy

SEL50F14Z 23/11/2020 by storm_33 (United Kingdom)

i bought this lens, very expensive - the noise of the focusing motor makes it practically impossible to use for video

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Super Lens with a big flaw

SEL50F14Z 22/07/2020 by Drift (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was so happy with this lens until 2/3's of the lens detached fell off and pulling out the two ribbon cables with no stress on the lens when it happened. I am so bummed this lens was incredible

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

loud motor, WHY AREN'T THERE ANY REVIEWS ABOUT IT

SEL50F14Z 20/05/2019 by Elliotthowe (USA)

OK, so 1400 dollars lens right? right, should be made really well. I get it's big its large etc. but if it's supposedly the best on the market For Sony. should it not be silent AF. when it focuses, it makes a whirring noise.... like what, it should not make this noise, I called Sony and they told me that it shouldn't do this. however I went to my local camera shop and tried their lens, and it makes the same noise. so clearly it's just the lens, because it's moving so much heavy glass... put a better motor in it? like come on... so if you're looking for a dead silent focus this is not it.... aperture ring is also easily accidentally moved, which I find annoying

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

7

0

Fantastic image quality

SEL50F14Z 18/05/2019 by Jodek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had my first shoot with this lens, along with my A7III and the images produced are absolutely beautiful. My model was over the moon with them. I would recommend this lens to any portrait photographer, whatever their experience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lens Gives True To Life Pictures & Video

SEL50F14Z 15/01/2019 by Les864 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Just Purchased This Prime Lens And Found It To Be Brilliant For Creating Good Bokeh. I Will Be Using It Now For Stills & Video. Feels And Is Well Made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Too heavy!

SEL50F14Z 24/08/2018 by emi2018 (USA)

I bought this lens and it worked great with Sony A7iii, but returned it because it was too heavy along with the camera. I love Sony cameras...but the lens with bigger aperture are way too big and heavy. Could you make them a bit more portable? Thank you!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

29

0

The story so far

SEL50F14Z 27/04/2018 by willow walk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens a few weeks ago, I am not sure yet where this lens sits in my collection, too short for my liking in my studio for portrait work, too long for my commercial property work and too heavy in my opinion for street photography although this is where it excels, it has only had a couple of outings on the street so far and I have been blown away by the quality at all apertures, wide open for candid people shots can yield very good results with pleasing bokeh.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

9

0

Perfect

SEL50F14Z 07/06/2017 by Sup3r (USA)

50mm is my favorite focal length. It's very versatile and great for travel, street photography and portraits. The images I get from this lens is truly amazing with very good sharpness throughout the frame, especially the center, even when shot wide open. CA is controlled well, distortion is almost non-existent and while there is obvious vignetting at f/1.4, it doesn't bother because it's correctable in Lightroom. The build quality is amazing. I love the aperture control ring that Sony has been adding with their current lenses and the focusing ring is super smooth. The AF/MF switch is such a welcomed addition as well. Overall, if money is no object, and you're looking for a bokehlicious lens with excellent light-gathering capability, this is the way to go. Albeit it's more expensive and larger than both the 50mm f1.8 and 55mm f1.8, it's really the best native 50mm lens for the FE mount I have used to date. It's permanently affixed on to my A7II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

3

0

Simply Stunning!!!

SEL50F14Z 26/05/2017 by Stephen5393 (USA)

Ever since my purchase (January this year), it has become the Best companion in every photo sessions. Portrait/studio, as well as outside and street shots are just stunning!! Light intake is phenomenal, extremely sharp and well balanced. Feels good (with exception of its a bit heavy weight) and looks lovely. I use it with A7II body, ..and it enhances the camera body/look(!). (Do get lots of compliments!) Premium quality. ..and yes, 11 blade makes stunning bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Excellent lens

SEL50F14Z 17/09/2016 by A doctor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks and feels great. Premium quality. Very well ballanvlced on A7rii and amazingly quick and silent focus. 11 blade makes bokeh look stunning. Very sharp and bright. Great contrast. An amust lens for a7rii and a7sii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

26