99

4.9 based on 99 customer reviews

91
5
1
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03/01/2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07/02/2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

99 Customer Reviews

0

amazing

SEL55F18Z 12/06/2019 by PeterHT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

small, beautifully made and deadly accurate .. it's my current favourite

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL55F18Z 23/03/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice lens. Sturdy built and super sharp. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Love it!

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2019 by Atabales (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and I am so happy with it. Can wait for more Sony lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quite outstsanding superbly sharp prime lens

SEL55F18Z 14/03/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an advertising photographer I require critically sharp images for my clients. This prime delivers on this requirement and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp, small and fast

SEL55F18Z 16/02/2019 by Davidreidphotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens a welcome addition to my kit bag, small light and sharp. A great all round prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07/02/2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A treat for your clients

SEL55F18Z 23/01/2019 by jloz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I purchased this lens, I had high expectations. I must say this lens not only met my expectations, but exceeded them. I can't believe this lens has been out for almost 5 years. If you are looking for a lightweight, sharp lens look no further. You can shoot with this all day with no fatigue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent photo quality in all conditions

SEL55F18Z 07/01/2019 by docv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Shipping worked perfectly. I used the Sonnar now about one week - with really good and really bad light and weather conditions. The photo quality was excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 04/01/2019 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

This is not a newly released lens but it one of the best in my kit, fast, focused and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03/01/2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

0

Best prime I've ever used!

SEL55F18Z 02/01/2019 by Scott SW (United Kingdom)

5 months in with this awesome lens (on A7iii) and absolutely loving it. I'm at wedding photographer and switched from Nikon to Sony this year, so glad I did! This lens is tack sharp at all apertures, lightening fast, beautiful bokeh, great contrast, tiny, light and great build quality. The only con - no manual focus / auto focus switch but hey that can be mapped to a custom button. If you're worried about the price over another 50mm you will be pleased you took the plunge on this one. Ref. I've owned Nikon 50mm f1.4G & Sigma Art 50mm f1.4. Many thanks, Scott

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp as Heck!

SEL55F18Z 30/12/2018 by Sierra NV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp. Solid build yet light and compact. Overall, great prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Tack Sharp & Fast.

SEL55F18Z 11/12/2018 by Teotizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last 1stDec'18 with A7III as a package after I straight swap it with my Nikon arsenal D300, battery grip, nikkor 24-70f2.8, 105f2, Tokina 100 macro, Tokina 11-18, SB800, nikon tele 2X, R1 macro flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Technological Marvel

SEL55F18Z 26/11/2018 by Hillclimber (USA)

I've owned this and several other Sony/Zeiss lenses for a while now, and this lens is special. It's not the sharpness that everyone talks about. It's the color rendering and bokeh that make it so special. The size and weight are also a big plus. It's just the most reliable producer of interesting images of any lens I've used. Can't say too many good things about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Small but well-formed

SEL55F18Z 01/11/2018 by Leftyrex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Sony 850 from some time back, decided to upgrade to an A73R. Most of my lenses are ~1kg apiece, and part of the point is to reduce the weight for everyday photography. The 55mm is small, and seems very well made. From what I can see - limited experience so far - the product is producing nice images.

2

2

0

Possibly the sharpest lens I've ever owned

SEL55F18Z 20/10/2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

When I got my A7R3 I planned to build up a set of primes to go with the zoom I purchased with the camera, and this was first on my list. If I'm honest before buying I would have preferred a 50mm, but I'm happy to say the 55mm has worked out OK for me; in practice I've not noticed the extra 5mm. The title says it all - this is lens is amazingly sharp. It also focuses very quickly, and I've found it to be excellent for portraits and as a general walk-around prime where wide shots aren't needed. I've noticed some lateral chromatic aberrations (colour fringing at the point focus drops out) in certain circumstances, but it isn't a deal breaker by any means - I'm sure most people wouldn't even notice it. I wouldn't hesitate to use this lens for paid work at all. Contrast is great, as is colour rendition, though I'd say its more neutral than saturated. Camera settings can change this, of course. I like that the lens is relatively compact and very light, which makes it easy to carry as an alternative to a heavy zoom. It's also nice to see that it includes a lens bag and hood, but then it isn't a low cost lens at all. It's pricey but well worth the cost in my opinion, and I stand by my comment about sharpness - it's amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 24/09/2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

outstanding pictures and sharpness of the lenses The camera feels like a extension of your hand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Super sharp and super quiet.

SEL55F18Z 07/09/2018 by Andyvalver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantasic little lens. Silent autofocus and a super sharp image. Really impressed with it. I just wish there was a 35mm 1.8 for around the same price or less.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning lens.

SEL55F18Z 23/08/2018 by Mark C (United Kingdom)

This lens is truly stunning.Vibrant colours,the detail is amazing across the frame. The handling is superb,small,light with super fast accurate focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Lens!!!

SEL55F18Z 03/08/2018 by Ray Picart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the sharpest and the best lens money can buy. You will never regret buying it. Portable, light, durable and fast. Definitely I would recommend to a friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

New Zeiss 55mm lens

SEL55F18Z 15/07/2018 by Jim4848 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This my first Sony Lens and it is wonderful and very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning lens, amazing sharpness

SEL55F18Z 29/06/2018 by Pete Lonsdale (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This has to be one of the sharpest lenses you can buy. but for me it's not just about that. With great micro contrast, beautiful colour and the Zeiss "pop" you will love the images. It's small enough to work well with any of the a7 models and unlike some other lenses out there you can use it wide open a f1.8. Such a lovely walk about lens if you don't want the bulk of anything larger. Well worth the money paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 21/05/2018 by Asela (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really please with this lens. It's lightweight and portable. The pictures are crisp and sharp, autofocus is fast - overall a very good versatile lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

If You Love Street Photography, Must Have.

SEL55F18Z 15/05/2018 by Whyment (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great prime lens for street photography, food, people and any daily use. Pro: Sharp, excellent pic quality Beautiful Bokeh Light weight Tiny size Con: N/A

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Compact lens

SEL55F18Z 05/05/2018 by Lees123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very high quality lens which is not only light but I’ve found it be very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens

SEL55F18Z 13/04/2018 by Clived (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a lovely lens, images are really crisp with nice bokeh. Focus is fast. It is everything I hoped it would be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Gorgeous Lens!

SEL55F18Z 13/04/2018 by craigbrandau (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely bright, light and feels solid. I just got it and it will use it everywhere!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

outstanding fast prime

SEL55F18Z 01/04/2018 by drewp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Zeiss 55mm f/1.8 is sharpest lens I've experienced in 50 years of photography. What would make it better is to have non focus-by-wire, because (occasional) manual focus is tiresome. Small compact light fast and extremely high performance. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great lens. Wonderful pictures.

SEL55F18Z 29/03/2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens for all styles of pictures. Wonderfully sharp and wonderful bokah. At first look it seems pricey but this is one lens that wont gather dust.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact brilliance

SEL55F18Z 24/03/2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant image quality in a compact size. Amazing resolution and IQ. Lenses are generally getting larger in order to achieve the resolution figures required for today's high megapixel sensors, but this lens proves that it can be done in a compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent all rounder

SEL55F18Z 11/02/2018 by Grandysandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens primarily for portraiture, but it excels in most situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

One of the best lens ever !

SEL55F18Z 30/01/2018 by Nick1212 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very satisfied with the optical quality . A very precise lens .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Well designed

SEL55F18Z 26/01/2018 by Ceeque73 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light, easy to use, excellent image quality! Can use for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Solid

SEL55F18Z 03/01/2018 by gater27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very pleased with overall quality and images, if I was to ask for one more thing it would be a slightly closer focussing distance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens at a sensible price

SEL55F18Z 12/12/2017 by morse4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply put this lens is stunning and the image quality does not match the way it looks. When I first saw it I thought it might be a kit lens .... how wrong could i be. I tend to shoot weddings with 35/85 but I occasionally switch and use the 55mm 1.8 and i am never left disappointed. The focus is fast and when paired with the A7R2 or 3 the image quality is very professional. Something I really love about it is the size.... again something that I thought in the old days was a negative but now I know clients could not care less I use it a lot as a versatile lens. If I could only have one lens it would be this one, and I have some amazing G master and Ziess glass. The only downside is for manual focus for video. Focus by wire is not good to rack focus or be creative as its just strange.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Stunning contrast, colour and sharpness

SEL55F18Z 07/12/2017 by Mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent and relatively lightweight prime for full-frame Sony cameras. Beautiful IQ.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great portrait lens

SEL55F18Z 12/11/2017 by Andrydeen (United Kingdom)

With Sony 6500 it is perfect combo , especially for portraits

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent picture quality - noisy focusing

SEL55F18Z 18/10/2017 by Greg007 (USA)

The only negative I can say about this lens is it can get a little noisy when it's focusing. Coming from G Master lenses which are completely quiet, this may be important for video people. For them I would recommend the ZEISS Loxia 2/50 which is manual only focus lens. Little cheaper. About the same small size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL55F18Z 28/09/2017 by OwenP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a low light lens for filming on my A7RII and this is the perfect solution. The Lens is sharp wide open and produces decent bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clean and Clear.

SEL55F18Z 01/09/2017 by ScottPhotoNYC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this now knowing if I would use this on a regular basis. I actually find this to be a go to lens for me. It's small enough to use almost anywhere. I find it to be fast and give me the clean results I'm looking for. It worked great on my A7 & A6300.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lightweight

SEL55F18Z 26/08/2017 by Stables3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice lightweight lens on my A6500, good sharp image with nice contrast. Too early to give a long review as just had the lens a few couple of weeks.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is my all time favourite Prime!

SEL55F18Z 19/06/2017 by Residentevilzerofan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the SEL55F18 Zeiss Plannar for 18 months it's my favourite lens - it's the sharpest lens I have ever come across and this is also reflected in DXO Mark for the E-Mount series. I cannot highly recommend this lens enough - The Bokeh is insane.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional lens for a6000

SEL55F18Z 19/06/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this FF lens in anticipation of buying A7x camera. On a6000 gives excellent sharpness, nice colours. Also very light and compact and remarkably 'thin' for a FF lens. Satisfactory only for macro, but very good for portraits with especially nice bokeh. A bit expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Must have lens

SEL55F18Z 10/05/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The FE 55mm is a must have general purpose, short portrait lens. The images it produces are fantastic. They are sharp and the subjects pop. I highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Favorite Lens

SEL55F18Z 07/05/2017 by Teddi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely LOVE this lens with my Sony A7II. It takes great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Lens

SEL55F18Z 06/01/2017 by Rush Videos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this lens to use with our Sony A7sii & couldn't be happier. The lens not only captures great color and depth of field for video, but also works well with the A7sii low light capability. The only reason it received a four star is we feel it coud've been a faster lens for focusing. The pictures this lens are beyond amazing. Overall the build is very well & definitely great quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great lens! works as I expected

SEL55F18Z 04/11/2016 by Wangfa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great outputs, light weight, and perfect for street, landscape, and portrait shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SONY & ZEISS PRO PRIME LENS

SEL55F18Z 16/08/2016 by FDAC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb Prime 55mm Lens on an A7Rii,excellent optic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding lens

SEL55F18Z 11/06/2016 by Mfm20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautifully sharp. ..with true colours. Good general purpose focal length. It is very expensive but the quality is obvious

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Brilliant supreme prime

SEL55F18Z 08/06/2016 by Giggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA has turned out to be the main lens I use most of the time on the full frame Sony Alpha 7 Mk 2. To achieve best results I manually tweak the final focus on the part of the subject that will make the picture pop out the best in an almost 3D look. The lens is razor sharp in any part of the picture frame at any aperture. Although this lens is expensive compared to similar sized prime lenses I think it is worth the extra money and would fully recommend it on mirrorless Sony Alpha cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Lens, you'll love it!

SEL55F18Z 10/05/2016 by keefiman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As most Review sites and reviewers here have said, this lens is pin sharp. Nice bokeh and colour rendering. Probably not the cheapest, depending on where you get it from but worth it. Perfect match for the A7Rll. The only thing it lack is the DoF indicator of the Batis.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Little Choice

SEL55F18Z 14/04/2016 by plattsnaps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had read the reviews and done the research. FE full frame, 55mm versatile lens, F1.8 fast, colours wow, sharpness as anticipated very good, cost? you get what you pay for. Other problems no problem in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Quality lens

SEL55F18Z 07/04/2016 by silkystrings (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This had a lot to live up to. As a recent adopter of the Sony A7R I was used to using a 5D3/Sigma Art 50mm combination. I am glad to say it's up there with the best. Very sharp, very good contrast with excellent colour rendition. Beautifully built and (hopefully) should last a lifetime.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A quality and pinpoint clarity

SEL55F18Z 26/03/2016 by Deepfield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens in early March in London with the Sony a 7RII and do not regret it, the lens has a wonderful solid feel to it and excellent low light capabilities. It's versatile as an everyday prime lens as well as a great for portraits portraits. Using it properly yesterday in a large park in Sao Paulo I was amazed that every shot I took was this great image, even though it was the first time out to actually take pictures. This is a go to lens when ever you are going out. No counts when I understand the eccentricities of the lens and my improved use of it my pics will be even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply fantastic

SEL55F18Z 11/02/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First some background information. I recently sold all my Alpha mount lenses and camera and moved over to the Sony mirror less system. I now own the A7ii, Sony 24-70mm Zeiss f4, Sony 70-200mm f4, Sony 90mm macro f2.8 and my latest purchase the beautiful Sony 55mm Zeiss f1.8. Yes this lens is beautiful, it feels, looks top, top quality and a pleasure to own. The photographs it produces are amazing, sharp, sharp. The colour renditions of this lens are typical Zeiss and 3D like. I honestly believe this is the best lens I have ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Sharpness!

SEL55F18Z 07/01/2016 by Frighty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely happy with this lens however I am upset that it doesn't have any stabilisation built in. But the Sharpness of this lens kinda makes up for it. Over all I'm happy and I'm sure that once I've remortgaged in the distance future I will be able to purchase the 24-70 with built in OSS.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

16

0

Quality Zeiss lens

SEL55F18Z 06/12/2015 by Nick46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb prime lens. Produces clear bright images. Ideal starter lens for my new Alpha A7ii.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL55F18Z 13/10/2015 by Lanadre (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a few weeks ago and what a lens it is. Light, fast, superb image quality, cannot fault this lens at all. I do wish there was a hard focus rather than focus by wire but this is something on most of the sony lenses now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic definition with A7r mk2

SEL55F18Z 08/10/2015 by dacdave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this lens 2 weeks, I have been in photography 50 years and the 55mm f1.8 Zeiss with the Sony A7r mk2 is producing the best images I have ever experienced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Made the right choice

SEL55F18Z 23/09/2015 by The_Northumbrian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A7ii and had to choose between the 24-70 f4 and the 55 f1.8, versatility vs quality and shallow depth of focus - made the right choice with the 55mm. I've never owned a fast prime and the 55mm has now given me the bug to buy other primes. Focus is precise and fast and the quality and sharpness of the files is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Stunning Lens

SEL55F18Z 18/09/2015 by The fool in the rain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and it hasn't left my Camera. Truley a stunning lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA

SEL55F18Z 12/09/2015 by fstop007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I traded all my Canon equipment for the Sony alpha 7 Mark II and a few lenses, including the Sony - Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA. It focuses as quickly and accurately and renders color as well as the "L" Canon lenses. Plus it's less bulky and much lighter, making it easy to carry and pack.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

The best prime ever made

SEL55F18Z 17/07/2015 by Nate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Prime lenses are known for having superior clarity, contrast and a much larger aperture. Well, this lens certainly doesn't disappoint. Its exceptional! compared to allot of primes i have previously used.. At larger apertures like f1.8 some lenses suffer with softness, but lens this is razor sharp! The out of focus elements are buttery smooth! The auto focus is quiet, and fast on an A7ii and A7s E-mount camera system. Use this on the A6000 and it becomes the perfect focal length for portraits. The build quality is a nice solid metal all round, so it will withstand many years of use. It may be a pricey lens, but in my opinion this is definitely one of the best primes ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

An outstanding lens

SEL55F18Z 13/07/2015 by Ulrome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since buying this lens, it has rarely been off my Sony A7 (and now A7II). This and the 35mm Zeiss Prime lens make an extremely good pair. The 55mm is amazingly sharp and when used at wider apertures it produces a lovely bokeh. On an APC camera like the A6000 it is ideal as a short telephoto, for example for portraits. In short, it is every bit as good as the leica lenses that I also use with the A7.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Unbelievable

SEL55F18Z 18/06/2015 by Hillwalker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was originally going to get the Sony ziess 24-70 lens, but after reading reviews went for this lens. It surpassed all my expectations it is tack sharp, amazing even unbelievably good, I would state in all my years it is by a long shot best lens I've ever owned. My advice buy it you won't regret it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

In comparison to the 50mm 1.4 Zeiss.

SEL55F18Z 03/04/2015 by TCGC (USA)

Well, I had to scratch that itch folks. I own the 50mm 1.4 Sony Zeiss and bought an A7. Couldn't resist the need to compare. What can I say? This lens is sharp- stupid sharp. At 1.8 compared to the 50mm 1.4 at wide open...the 55 is sharper in the center and less CA. Almost non-existent CA. Side by side they are negligible at F2 and down, but the 55 comes out ahead in terms of corner sharpness. I see it as a preference. It's a bigon design where the 50mm is a planar. For portraits I personally find the 50mm more pleasing in how it renders bokeh. But really, the differences are splitting hairs. For the price, I think it's safe to say that the 55 is pretty much a steal and a system mover lens. It's also really small and light- I was caught off guard by this. Differences between 1.4 and 1.8 are almost non existent. The 55 was an excercise in what could be done when optimal conditions were met in terms of focal length and speed. Zero complaints- how could you? Great job Sony.

15

5

0

Otus Junior

SEL55F18Z 01/04/2015 by Seba84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sharpness of the photos is the best I have ever seen !!! Lack of OSS is a shame and the price is high but you would not be disappointed with quality from wide open !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lense, just dirty inside

SEL55F18Z 29/03/2015  (USA)

I purchased this lense, had to return it because its dirty inside from manufacturing(chromatic aborations everywhere). I received the second lense to replace the first one, that lense was even dirtier inside. Not happy and not sure what to do anymore. waiting back for response from the place I purchased it from as to what I can do. if sony had more choices for lenses, i would just get something else. but the selection of lenses is pathetic.

1

51

Response From Sony Support
30/03/2015

Hi unhappycustomer,


This is not something we want our customers to experience. Thanks for your feedback, we'll forward it to the right people.

0

Super sharp and fast lens

SEL55F18Z 04/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a beatuful lens for me. It's fantasticaly sharp (almost too sharp - a nice problem to have). The colours transfer is brilliant and holds the whites tremendously well. Well built solid lens too. You can feel the quality when you hold the lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Sony Zeiss Sonnar 55mm f1.8

SEL55F18Z 03/02/2015 by GordonS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As might be expected, this lens delivers superior results, particularly when a decent tripod, or flash, is used. It can resolve fine detail, even in difficult lighting circumstances. The colour transmission lives up to the len's T* badge. It's well built, and feels purposeful in use. On a camera with an aps-c size sensor, it's an excellent portrait lens, perhaps delivering some results that are too sharp. Not everyone appreciates seeing the fine hairs, and pores of their skin. This is a very satisfying piece of optical equipment to use. I'm very glad I took the plunge, and got one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Absolute best obtainable lens you can buy.

SEL55F18Z 22/12/2014 by Dhammawitt (USA)

The single most Must-have lens out of all the Nikon/Canon/Sony bodies I've had. Currently the only FE lens I have for my A7ii.....and I'm still ok with that.

12

0

0

Guest 55 mm lens

SEL55F18Z 11/11/2014 by Stanback (USA)

Bought this as a standard lens for my A7R. Razor sharp with great color accuracy.

5

0