FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

$599.99

35

4.8 based on 35 customer reviews

31
3
0
1
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

35 Customer Reviews

0

Great Value

SEL85F18 29/09/2018  (USA)

I own many FE prime lenses and wanted to add this one as a lightweight option to my bag. It's sharp, has good bokeh and I actually like that it's not as creamy as other FE lenses though it can be a little soft on the edges. I love it for natural light and editorial, street or travel photography and reminds me a lot of the 50mm APS-C 1.8 which made me fall in love with Sony cameras and lenses. It's not a G master but if you're starting out and want a great portrait lens I highly recommend it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 85mm 1.8

SEL85F18 03/09/2018 by Del1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since this is the first lens i have purchased since the purchase of my A7r 111 this lens has been tested in depth over the last few weeks. The build quality is solid and feels like a very good quality lens, having come from Canon where i only used L lens this lens has the same feel although it is not weather sealed. So far i have had good results with this lens from portrait to Landscape. I bought this from an online retailer and paid what i concider a reasonible price for the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing.

SEL85F18 29/08/2018 by EddysEng (USA)

All the superlatives are true. This is an outstanding lens. Small. Light. F1.8! Great optics. Awesome bokeh. What more could you ask for -- especially at this price!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp !

SEL85F18 27/08/2018 by Crerand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am extremely pleased with the results. Minimal weight, great sharpness, colour and contrast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Slow focus as well as front focus issues.

SEL85F18 21/08/2018 by Rich1968 (USA)

Bought this lens based on reviews...big mistake! Fortunately, I kept the receipt to return it minus re-stock fee. If you are a professional photographer of any kind and rely on images being sharp focus...avoid this lens at all cost. Spend the extra $$ and get the Sigma Art variant. First time I've ever been disappointed in a Sony product. The A7iii is AMAZING, and I use it all the time.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Fast and light portrait lens

SEL85F18 08/08/2018 by Chris I (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a few months ago and really happy with the fast focusing and easy handling. Great for portraits and even as a travel lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great low light performer

SEL85F18 01/08/2018 by jlozano281 (USA)

Bought this along with my A7R III. It is a solid lens and excellent Bokeh. I get great pictures even from fast moving toddlers and dogs. Even performs great on continuous shooting mode. The price point on this lens is the icing on the cake. Sure the GM is amazing, but this lens is 95% as good for less than half the price. You will not regret it. Get this lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing Image Quality

SEL85F18 23/07/2018 by bheist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first native Sony lens and I am using it with an A7III. The focus speed is incredibly fast and accurate. The image quality is truly stunning. If you are looking for an 85 that wont break the bank but don't want to sacrifice image quality, this is the lens for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love it

SEL85F18 03/07/2018 by dougalrose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used it for two photoshoots - a school show and a for dance academy. So far I absolutely love it. Lovely pinpoint accurate focusing and depth of field. This is quickly becoming my go to lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Absolutely fantastic!

SEL85F18 22/06/2018 by Marcus51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an amateur photographer and I was looking for a good portrait lens that was also compact enough to suit the A7iii camera body as well as being reasonably priced. I can only say that my expectations have been hugely exceeded, this lens is fantastic, it is super sharp, fast focusing especially with Eye AF, has terrific bokeh and is a perfect size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing

SEL85F18 21/06/2018 by Trumpeter01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful Bokeh. Amazing sharp pictures. Very happy I decided to go for this lens..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic lens all around!

SEL85F18 31/05/2018 by EyePlumber (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lighweight, extremely sharp, quick and accurate focus. My only criticism is that it really can't focus very close at all, but it is pretty normal for an 85mm portrait lens. This is a great value and I love the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great, multi use lens.

SEL85F18 08/05/2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect for family portraits but also a great mid tele for landscapes. Bokah is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome Bokeh

SEL85F18 19/04/2018 by feelit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this yesterday (4/17/2018) and received today (4/18/2018). Had the chance to test at home , but definitely putting it to the test this up coming weekend. The BOKEH is phenomenal! Awesome clarity and compression. Definitely looks like this will be my BUTTER lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Much better results than zoom lens.

SEL85F18 17/04/2018 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although really happy with the 24-70mm Sony zoom I wanted more optical isolation of my subject matter from the backgrounds and it really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Lens, Great Price!

SEL85F18 15/04/2018 by See Yee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you have not own a prime portrait lens yet or looking to get one, this 85MM 1.8 is a must have for your setup. If you want nice BOKEH images and such this is a must have! Nicely build, feels good in the hand, small, sharp, and super quiet Auto focusing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Hands down my absolute favorite lens

SEL85F18 28/03/2018 by LenaNycPhoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my 85 1.8 back in February it is now almost April and I carry it around with me constantly. My first Sony lens purchase was the G master 24-70 which I love but I do practice a lot of street photography and the 85 is easy to carry around. I was going to purchase the 85 1.4 G Master but I'm happy I went with a 1.8 because it's so much lighter and it's over half the cost. The bokeh is exquisite and the photos come out very sharp. Perfect portrait lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

8

0

0

As sharp as the Zeiss 55mm f1.8

SEL85F18 23/03/2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant. Get one. Lens hood is cheap tat but the lens is way better than the asking price. Good enough for pro work all day long.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp as a tack

SEL85F18 26/02/2018 by Taid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the perfect portrait lens. No need for the faster and more expensive version.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome sharpness and Beautiful Bokeh

SEL85F18 12/01/2018 by Sebascelis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I read about this lens in many reviews and everyome said it’s close to perfect, so I decided to buy it and wa not dissapointed at all. This lens is perfect, autofocuses unbelieavably fast and accurate, and the images it produces are breathtaking. I was worried about the lack of OSS (optical stabilization) but with the IBIS in my camera I REALLY don’t need it. I can shoot still objects at 1/8s completely sharp!!! The focus-by-wire is linear and not accelerates which I prefer and manual focus (together with my camera’s magnification focus-aid) is a joy. I strongly recommend this lens, for it’s price, is my best lens so far (lightweight, small, fast...).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Best bang fot the buck!

SEL85F18 20/12/2017 by dmeds (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp images from this lens. Wonderfully creamy bokeh, fast, accurate, silent focus. Lightweight and a lot of bang for the buck. I recently moved from Nikon to Sony and have no regrets whatsoever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Don't be fooled- this is not a consumer grade lens

SEL85F18 05/12/2017 by Vision of You (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

for the past 30 years or so I have shot using Canon L glass- I am indeed a lens snob. I purchased the Sony A7rii and have been using my own glass via an adaptor but thought I needed to try a native lens. I have to admit that I was very reluctant to get a 'cheap consumer' grade lens but the write ups assured me that this was a good lens.. I have used the G Master version of this lens and was not impressed, the focus was slow and the lens itself is heavy. This 'cheap' lens is fast and accurate to focus. The images are sharp, in images of very high contrast you may see some colour fringing (although to be honest you would see this with most lens!), lightroom removes this quickly and efficiently. For the cost point this lens is definitely worth the investment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL85F18 11/11/2017 by gwtog (United Kingdom)

When you see a lens at this price point, with others very similar in features but more than double the price, you assume it will be low quality. You couldn't be further from the truth! The FE 85mm f1.8 is pin sharp, focuses fast and gives you an almost butter smooth background. This will stay on my body for a long time as my new "go to" portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

1

0

FE 85mm F1.8 - WOW

SEL85F18 25/08/2017 by rodriguesn84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

85mm F1.8 compared to FE 85mm F1.4 you're not gonna find much difference, but a little. The lens is well built and it's got a little bit of weight to it, which I really love. The images that you can get from this lens is just so great, if you shoot in Manual like I do you're gonna love the results. If you're a serious photographer and you don't have one of this bad boys in your bag, you've gotta get one. The FE 85mm F1.8 is much cheaper than the FE 85mm F1.4 They both perform great, so if you've got deep pockets get the FE 85mm F1.4 If not, go for the FE 85mm F1.8 and you WON'T regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4

0

Solid performer

SEL85F18 30/07/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month ago and I'm delighted. Sharp, great quality and a great depth of field range. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 14/07/2017 by Pdj57 (USA)

I just treat my self a birthday gift and bought this lens today and I'm blown away with the quality of pictures! Beautiful bokeh, amazing & sharp details. And the price is affordable. I use this lens with A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 20/06/2017 by trfphoto (USA)

I debated spending more money on an 85mm portrait lens for the A7R II, but I'm glad I didn't. This lens performed very well using eye autofocus and allowed me to shoot pretty much wide open during a recent shoot to create a pleasing fall off of focus and background bokeh. The lens is also well balanced on the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Holy Snikeez! This Lens Performs-So Glad I Got it!

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since the Zeiss 85 and the Sony G Master 85 were so expensive I held out for almost a year. I used the excellent Sony Zeiss 55 1.8 for close up portraits. But eventually Sony put out the way more affordable 85 1.8. As soon as I got it (I was one of the first to order it) I was hooked! Creamy bokeh, super sharp and lightweight! It really did check all the boxes. Oh, and it focuses fast! You'll love this lens as much as I do, I promise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

0

0

Great for Portraits with Fantastic Creamy Bokeh

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by JRH4609 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony really created a fantastic lense. This is a must have lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good feel features, magnificent on camera

SEL85F18 05/05/2017 by ideas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 3 weeks ago purposely to get richer shots on baptism event Was greatly impressed. My clients comment says it all- Lovely pictures. Sharp bold and isolated background superb, quick auto focus.The lens balance well on my A7s. Journalists must have this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Amazing "budget" portrait lens

SEL85F18 24/04/2017 by Romelu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens a month ago and it has done nothing produce amazing results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Excellent lens. Thank you Sony.

SEL85F18 19/04/2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It tackles the big three expected from a portrait lens. Good low light performance. Sharp in focus. Pleasing fall off and bokeh. Then it adds surprises. Dust and and water sealed. Fast and silent focus. Not a distraction and easy to take candid portraits. Also consistently accurate focus. Many keepers. Small and light. A benefit of this is that it does not scream, “Hey, I have a really expensive lens over here!”, which is a plus unless you want the attention that brings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL85F18 06/04/2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ergonomic design coupled with a fast F/1.8 aperture that focuses swiftly and provides pleasing images.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Excellent portrait lens for the A7 and A7ii

SEL85F18 05/04/2017 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in preference to the 90mm f2.8 Macro, the 85mm f1.4 and the 85 mm Zeiss Batis because it represents the best value for money for what I shoot. It is sharp, autofocuses quickly and it sits well on the small A7 bodies.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Almost identical to the Zeiss Batis 85mm F1.8!

SEL85F18 01/04/2017 by Carlj (United Kingdom)

I tend to focus on portrait shooting, so when I moved to full frame with the A7ii, I needed a fast, prime 85mm and Sony had just released this. Of the 3 main lenses at this focal length for the Sony, the others being the Batis and F1.4GM, this qualifies as the cheapest. It certainly doesn't earn the title of cheap and cheerful. Wide open, eye af nailing focus, there's a nice fall off into clean bokeh. Where the focus is, the detail is amazing. Certainly better than a lens at this level is expected to perform. In conclusion, I understand now why the Artisans raved about it - so glad I got mine prior to general release.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0