FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

$549.99

67

4.7 based on 67 customer reviews

57
7
0
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

67 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing light weight lens.

SEL85F18 14/09/2019 by Dommy the tommy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had several fast lenses in my time but this lens is a true winner IMHO. Sharp everywhere, super fast focus and light enough to hold and use all day long. My results are astounding and beyond expectations. We'll done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect balance & sharp images

SEL85F18 31/08/2019 by Pauls Studio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having bought the A7R3 with the kit lense 24-105 F4 I wanted a prime with a wider apreture and this F1.4 is such good vaule and had excellant reviews. it balances nicely with the camera and is super sharp and bright

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality at budget cost

SEL85F18 29/08/2019 by Sunflower_pics (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is best for portrait photography and outdoor photography. There is no other option available at this prices yet. Loved it's sharpness, bokeh and smoothness. Weight and grip is a good for handling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2019

Hi, Sunflower_pics! Great! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Best image quality

SEL85F18 20/07/2019 by ClydeA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ive been using this for almost a year. Its the best on the market in terms of image quality and AF. Just 4 stars because compared to other brands, this is almost twice the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/08/2019

Hello, ClydeA!

Thanks for commenting! We're glad to hear that you're having an enjoyable experience with the SEL85F18! We're sorry if the price of the unit did not meet your expectations.

Should you need more assistance regarding your concern, please contact the Sony offices/Sony representative offices nearest to your place of residence in the Asia Pacific region (https://www.sony-asia.com/locale-selector?hpid=countryselector:AsiaPacific). Due to proximity, they are in a better position to respond to your questions or concerns.

Thank you for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Poor quality

SEL85F18 18/07/2019 by Alexg8254 (USA)

I purchased this lens 1 year ago and all of a sudden stop working not focusing, wasn’t drop or anything it looks like new for it not to work very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/07/2019

Hi, sel85f18!

This is not the news we like to hear. You may power cycle your camera to reset it to factory settings to isolate the issue. You may also connect this lens to a different compatible camera to see if it will work. In case the issue is still the same, we recommend contacting the Sony Authorized Service Center to assist you further: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US.

Regards,

Vincent

0

A perfect portrait lens

SEL85F18 17/07/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A truly excellent lens for the price, cannot find any negatives with image or build quality, even shooting wide open at f1.8.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL85F18 08/07/2019 by ljcolina (USA)

I'm very happy with this lens, is excellent I love !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great affordable prime

SEL85F18 28/06/2019 by G4RKO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with lens........ ..... .........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Excellent Portrait lens

SEL85F18 24/06/2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens with super results. Very pleased with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 08/06/2019 by Ty _dnb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this Lens a month ago when and I’m not dissatisfied. It’s incredibly sharp and works amazing with the eye af system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL85F18 07/06/2019 by PFJ59 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved to Sony from Nikon I was worried about image quality but blown away by the excellent images from this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens!

SEL85F18 03/06/2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

Superb lens! Very sharp from 1.8 to 8. 1.8 has a very scary narrow depth of field naturally. I usually use it a couple of stops down. Bokeh is great, if thats what you crave. For the size its light and easy to carry. I find it very useful for isolating subjects at 5.6 and above. Little bit pricey for what it is, but far better value than the 1.4 with equal quality. Who needs 1.4 and for that matter, who needs 1.8, 2.8 would have been fine! Great lens! If portraits are your thing, buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best portrait lens!

SEL85F18 21/05/2019 by MayaMo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality is absolutely amazing! This is the best lens for portrait photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

SEL85F18 12/05/2019 by Cameraman999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been using the 24-240 lens and enjoyed it but the 85 f1.8 is much lighter and so sharp with no colour aberration that I have experienced as yet. It is possibly not for vedeographers because the lens 'breathes' as it checks focus - but I bought it for still shots and it's excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus

SEL85F18 11/05/2019 by Edgar25943 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus. Fast and quiet, great for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Sharp

SEL85F18 04/05/2019 by Ben Jones (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 3months ago after playing with it at the photography show and what can i say? The lens hasn't left my camera since buying it. it is incredibly sharp and the auto-focus is on point, even in low light situations. I couldn't be happier! Pros: Super sharp even wide open. a nice size on the a7iii focus hold button (i've assigned this to eye auto focus) build is great Cons: None really! minor issue is in the design of the focus hold button, I would like to see it on the lens twice so when using the camera in a vertical position you can still use your thumb. overall: excellent value for money for a fast super sharp prime lens. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future

SEL85F18 01/05/2019 by Mila7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bougth this lense for portraits and close up photography and happy with result. Reasonable price. Beautiful bokhen. Good for low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good quality lens that delivers.

SEL85F18 07/04/2019 by Doclis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the lense for photographing artwork, allowing myself to get behind the two soft boxes when shooting smaller pieces. I'm delighted with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL85F18 01/04/2019 by Redrsr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To get the best out of the A7Riii sensor I decided on primes, this one is a cracker, super sharp, lovely bokeh, fast focusing, nothing to fault, looking at the f1.4 it’s a bit of a bargain

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens. Great price.

SEL85F18 31/03/2019 by Mpayne99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve been using this lens for 4 months. It’s great in the studio and out in the field. Super sharp. Lightweight and lovely and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Portrait Perfection

SEL85F18 30/03/2019 by Ajbrickyard (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent piece of glass and is a heavenly match with my a7iii!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s so sharp and fast.

SEL85F18 24/03/2019 by Gigshots Peter (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wasn’t sure whether to get the 1.4 or the 1.8 but glad I saved the money. So far it’s doing an excellent job at low light music gigs for stills and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

More than worth the cost

SEL85F18 17/03/2019 by Azenturi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not to diss Sony's higher-end lenses, but for most people, this is a better idea than the 85mm G Master. It's unbelievably sharp wide open, only gets better as you stop down, it's light, it's small, and it's built solidly out of metal. Focus is super quick in bright light and acceptably fast in low light. Said focus also needs your ear literally pressed against the lens to hear it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL85F18 11/03/2019 by Trubshot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is light, super sharp, lovely bokeh and on my A7iii 75% of the time, with a fe 35mm f2.8 in the pocket. Switch between full frame and apsc (super 35) and I'm covering 35, 52.5, 85 and 127.5mm with 2 primes. Ideal travel set up with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Prime

SEL85F18 27/02/2019 by MidweSteve (USA)

85mm is my favorite. This lens does the job. I like small and high quality primes and don't feel the need to have a 2lb lens for my type of shooting. This lens looks very inconspicuous and unobtrusive and the image quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp,

SEL85F18 22/02/2019 by Trubs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this 5 weeks ago, and its on my A7iii 90% of the time. Its light, f1.8 , very sharp and worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic value for money

SEL85F18 16/02/2019 by RichardFoxPhotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens as a replacement for my old canon 135mm to use natively on my a7r3. I wanted a sharp portrait lens with great bokeh but the 85mm GM was out of my price bracket. AF is very snappy, it's very sharp with low CA and great bokeh for a 3 figure lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL85F18 16/02/2019 by Costasa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is a much have in any photographers bag, amazing value for what you get. Beautiful rendering, nice bokeh, the picture quality is not far from the gm equivalent and very similar to the batis version, comparing the differences in terms of performance and the price is a no brainier, this is the lens to go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just awesome

SEL85F18 16/02/2019 by Dre2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this lens a while ago and have put it through its paces. I have to say it’s brilliant I wanted to get the GM f1.4 but for now this beautiful lens is doing the job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

My First Sony Lens

SEL85F18 09/01/2019 by GMWdesign (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first native Sony lens to go with my A7R2. Images are crisp. Auto focus is quick. I need to play wit the settings more because the eye-auto focus is not as quick as I've seen in demo videos from other photographers on youtube. If the eye-auto focus was working as I've seen in demos I'd give this lens 5-stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 01/11/2018 by DJB609 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first prime lens and after reading many reviews and watching countless videos I took the plunge. Amazing quality, tack sharp focus, quick in low light and the detail is sharp even at 6400 ISO. Not disappointed in this lens selection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Jury is Still Out

SEL85F18 28/10/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not long after purchase, I noticed the iris rapidly opening and closing while my A7RII was in aperture priority mode, AF-C mode and with the aperture set between 9 and 22. It was like the camera was rapidly zooming in and out even though it is a prime lens. With direction of a Sony representative during a chat session, sent lens and camera in for service at a service center in Connecticut. Both returned "cleaned" and "set to factory standards", but the aperture pulsating continues. I am unable to use this lens between f9 and f22 in A mode and AF-C mode. VERY UNHAPPY since it cost me $111.00 to send it in. Very possibly, it could be the camera, but I don't know since that is the only lens I have currently.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/11/2018

Hi ftttu, We are really sorry to hear the issue with your lens. You may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Please include your product details, the issue, and your case number. We will review your file.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Great Value

SEL85F18 29/09/2018  (USA)

I own many FE prime lenses and wanted to add this one as a lightweight option to my bag. It's sharp, has good bokeh and I actually like that it's not as creamy as other FE lenses though it can be a little soft on the edges. I love it for natural light and editorial, street or travel photography and reminds me a lot of the 50mm APS-C 1.8 which made me fall in love with Sony cameras and lenses. It's not a G master but if you're starting out and want a great portrait lens I highly recommend it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Sony FE 85mm 1.8

SEL85F18 03/09/2018 by Del1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since this is the first lens i have purchased since the purchase of my A7r 111 this lens has been tested in depth over the last few weeks. The build quality is solid and feels like a very good quality lens, having come from Canon where i only used L lens this lens has the same feel although it is not weather sealed. So far i have had good results with this lens from portrait to Landscape. I bought this from an online retailer and paid what i concider a reasonible price for the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing.

SEL85F18 29/08/2018 by EddysEng (USA)

All the superlatives are true. This is an outstanding lens. Small. Light. F1.8! Great optics. Awesome bokeh. What more could you ask for -- especially at this price!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp !

SEL85F18 27/08/2018 by Crerand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am extremely pleased with the results. Minimal weight, great sharpness, colour and contrast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Slow focus as well as front focus issues.

SEL85F18 21/08/2018 by Rich1968 (USA)

Bought this lens based on reviews...big mistake! Fortunately, I kept the receipt to return it minus re-stock fee. If you are a professional photographer of any kind and rely on images being sharp focus...avoid this lens at all cost. Spend the extra $$ and get the Sigma Art variant. First time I've ever been disappointed in a Sony product. The A7iii is AMAZING, and I use it all the time.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

15

0

Fast and light portrait lens

SEL85F18 08/08/2018 by Chris I (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a few months ago and really happy with the fast focusing and easy handling. Great for portraits and even as a travel lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great low light performer

SEL85F18 01/08/2018 by jlozano281 (USA)

Bought this along with my A7R III. It is a solid lens and excellent Bokeh. I get great pictures even from fast moving toddlers and dogs. Even performs great on continuous shooting mode. The price point on this lens is the icing on the cake. Sure the GM is amazing, but this lens is 95% as good for less than half the price. You will not regret it. Get this lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing Image Quality

SEL85F18 23/07/2018 by bheist (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first native Sony lens and I am using it with an A7III. The focus speed is incredibly fast and accurate. The image quality is truly stunning. If you are looking for an 85 that wont break the bank but don't want to sacrifice image quality, this is the lens for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love it

SEL85F18 03/07/2018 by dougalrose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have used it for two photoshoots - a school show and a for dance academy. So far I absolutely love it. Lovely pinpoint accurate focusing and depth of field. This is quickly becoming my go to lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Absolutely fantastic!

SEL85F18 22/06/2018 by Marcus51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an amateur photographer and I was looking for a good portrait lens that was also compact enough to suit the A7iii camera body as well as being reasonably priced. I can only say that my expectations have been hugely exceeded, this lens is fantastic, it is super sharp, fast focusing especially with Eye AF, has terrific bokeh and is a perfect size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing

SEL85F18 21/06/2018 by Trumpeter01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful Bokeh. Amazing sharp pictures. Very happy I decided to go for this lens..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic lens all around!

SEL85F18 31/05/2018 by EyePlumber (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lighweight, extremely sharp, quick and accurate focus. My only criticism is that it really can't focus very close at all, but it is pretty normal for an 85mm portrait lens. This is a great value and I love the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great, multi use lens.

SEL85F18 08/05/2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect for family portraits but also a great mid tele for landscapes. Bokah is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome Bokeh

SEL85F18 19/04/2018 by feelit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this yesterday (4/17/2018) and received today (4/18/2018). Had the chance to test at home , but definitely putting it to the test this up coming weekend. The BOKEH is phenomenal! Awesome clarity and compression. Definitely looks like this will be my BUTTER lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Much better results than zoom lens.

SEL85F18 17/04/2018 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although really happy with the 24-70mm Sony zoom I wanted more optical isolation of my subject matter from the backgrounds and it really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Lens, Great Price!

SEL85F18 15/04/2018 by See Yee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you have not own a prime portrait lens yet or looking to get one, this 85MM 1.8 is a must have for your setup. If you want nice BOKEH images and such this is a must have! Nicely build, feels good in the hand, small, sharp, and super quiet Auto focusing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Hands down my absolute favorite lens

SEL85F18 28/03/2018 by LenaNycPhoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my 85 1.8 back in February it is now almost April and I carry it around with me constantly. My first Sony lens purchase was the G master 24-70 which I love but I do practice a lot of street photography and the 85 is easy to carry around. I was going to purchase the 85 1.4 G Master but I'm happy I went with a 1.8 because it's so much lighter and it's over half the cost. The bokeh is exquisite and the photos come out very sharp. Perfect portrait lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

9

0

0

As sharp as the Zeiss 55mm f1.8

SEL85F18 23/03/2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant. Get one. Lens hood is cheap tat but the lens is way better than the asking price. Good enough for pro work all day long.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp as a tack

SEL85F18 26/02/2018 by Taid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the perfect portrait lens. No need for the faster and more expensive version.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome sharpness and Beautiful Bokeh

SEL85F18 12/01/2018 by Sebascelis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I read about this lens in many reviews and everyome said it’s close to perfect, so I decided to buy it and wa not dissapointed at all. This lens is perfect, autofocuses unbelieavably fast and accurate, and the images it produces are breathtaking. I was worried about the lack of OSS (optical stabilization) but with the IBIS in my camera I REALLY don’t need it. I can shoot still objects at 1/8s completely sharp!!! The focus-by-wire is linear and not accelerates which I prefer and manual focus (together with my camera’s magnification focus-aid) is a joy. I strongly recommend this lens, for it’s price, is my best lens so far (lightweight, small, fast...).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Best bang fot the buck!

SEL85F18 20/12/2017 by dmeds (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sharp images from this lens. Wonderfully creamy bokeh, fast, accurate, silent focus. Lightweight and a lot of bang for the buck. I recently moved from Nikon to Sony and have no regrets whatsoever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Don't be fooled- this is not a consumer grade lens

SEL85F18 05/12/2017 by Vision of You (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

for the past 30 years or so I have shot using Canon L glass- I am indeed a lens snob. I purchased the Sony A7rii and have been using my own glass via an adaptor but thought I needed to try a native lens. I have to admit that I was very reluctant to get a 'cheap consumer' grade lens but the write ups assured me that this was a good lens.. I have used the G Master version of this lens and was not impressed, the focus was slow and the lens itself is heavy. This 'cheap' lens is fast and accurate to focus. The images are sharp, in images of very high contrast you may see some colour fringing (although to be honest you would see this with most lens!), lightroom removes this quickly and efficiently. For the cost point this lens is definitely worth the investment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL85F18 11/11/2017 by gwtog (United Kingdom)

When you see a lens at this price point, with others very similar in features but more than double the price, you assume it will be low quality. You couldn't be further from the truth! The FE 85mm f1.8 is pin sharp, focuses fast and gives you an almost butter smooth background. This will stay on my body for a long time as my new "go to" portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

1

0

FE 85mm F1.8 - WOW

SEL85F18 25/08/2017 by rodriguesn84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

85mm F1.8 compared to FE 85mm F1.4 you're not gonna find much difference, but a little. The lens is well built and it's got a little bit of weight to it, which I really love. The images that you can get from this lens is just so great, if you shoot in Manual like I do you're gonna love the results. If you're a serious photographer and you don't have one of this bad boys in your bag, you've gotta get one. The FE 85mm F1.8 is much cheaper than the FE 85mm F1.4 They both perform great, so if you've got deep pockets get the FE 85mm F1.4 If not, go for the FE 85mm F1.8 and you WON'T regret it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

Solid performer

SEL85F18 30/07/2017 by Cast a giant shadow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens about a month ago and I'm delighted. Sharp, great quality and a great depth of field range. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 14/07/2017 by Pdj57 (USA)

I just treat my self a birthday gift and bought this lens today and I'm blown away with the quality of pictures! Beautiful bokeh, amazing & sharp details. And the price is affordable. I use this lens with A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 20/06/2017 by trfphoto (USA)

I debated spending more money on an 85mm portrait lens for the A7R II, but I'm glad I didn't. This lens performed very well using eye autofocus and allowed me to shoot pretty much wide open during a recent shoot to create a pleasing fall off of focus and background bokeh. The lens is also well balanced on the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Holy Snikeez! This Lens Performs-So Glad I Got it!

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since the Zeiss 85 and the Sony G Master 85 were so expensive I held out for almost a year. I used the excellent Sony Zeiss 55 1.8 for close up portraits. But eventually Sony put out the way more affordable 85 1.8. As soon as I got it (I was one of the first to order it) I was hooked! Creamy bokeh, super sharp and lightweight! It really did check all the boxes. Oh, and it focuses fast! You'll love this lens as much as I do, I promise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

0

Great for Portraits with Fantastic Creamy Bokeh

SEL85F18 13/06/2017 by JRH4609 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony really created a fantastic lense. This is a must have lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good feel features, magnificent on camera

SEL85F18 05/05/2017 by ideas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 3 weeks ago purposely to get richer shots on baptism event Was greatly impressed. My clients comment says it all- Lovely pictures. Sharp bold and isolated background superb, quick auto focus.The lens balance well on my A7s. Journalists must have this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

0

0

Amazing "budget" portrait lens

SEL85F18 24/04/2017 by Romelu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens a month ago and it has done nothing produce amazing results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

Excellent lens. Thank you Sony.

SEL85F18 19/04/2017 by ewoodsphoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It tackles the big three expected from a portrait lens. Good low light performance. Sharp in focus. Pleasing fall off and bokeh. Then it adds surprises. Dust and and water sealed. Fast and silent focus. Not a distraction and easy to take candid portraits. Also consistently accurate focus. Many keepers. Small and light. A benefit of this is that it does not scream, “Hey, I have a really expensive lens over here!”, which is a plus unless you want the attention that brings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

0

0

Compact fast lens with a cutting edge

SEL85F18 06/04/2017 by Jackie S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ergonomic design coupled with a fast F/1.8 aperture that focuses swiftly and provides pleasing images.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Excellent portrait lens for the A7 and A7ii

SEL85F18 05/04/2017 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens in preference to the 90mm f2.8 Macro, the 85mm f1.4 and the 85 mm Zeiss Batis because it represents the best value for money for what I shoot. It is sharp, autofocuses quickly and it sits well on the small A7 bodies.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Almost identical to the Zeiss Batis 85mm F1.8!

SEL85F18 01/04/2017 by Carlj (United Kingdom)

I tend to focus on portrait shooting, so when I moved to full frame with the A7ii, I needed a fast, prime 85mm and Sony had just released this. Of the 3 main lenses at this focal length for the Sony, the others being the Batis and F1.4GM, this qualifies as the cheapest. It certainly doesn't earn the title of cheap and cheerful. Wide open, eye af nailing focus, there's a nice fall off into clean bokeh. Where the focus is, the detail is amazing. Certainly better than a lens at this level is expected to perform. In conclusion, I understand now why the Artisans raved about it - so glad I got mine prior to general release.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0