87

3.7 based on 87 customer reviews

35
21
13
10
8
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Unfair reputation?

SELP1650 13/06/2015 by Apocryphon (USA)

This was one of two lenses I got when I initially purchased my a6000. I'm pretty nocturnal and, to be honest, I pretty rapidly got sick of and replaced it, even though I kept it. The slow aperture just left a lot to be desired and I didn't really find its low light performance to be overly exceptional. I was pretty disappointed. Barring the release of a cost-effective a6000s, many of us will be choosing such cameras for our all-purpose carry around, and that means struggling with light a bit. Slow apertures leave a bit to be desired. I've been playing with it again a good deal recently. I still harbor a pretty similar opinion of its low light performance. Though, as long as you don't mind not achieving a proper exposure (which, at night, is sometimes more accurate than what the light meter thinks is "properly exposed", anyway, but that is really beside the point - you can't increase the exposure quite as readily without relying on slow shutter speeds and high ISOs, the point being)... so it is definitely far from ideal as an action shooter at night. Long shutter speed stills on a tripod? Not as bad. You can get some great images out of it, in terms of that. Lately, where I've found it really excels after giving it another chance, is (duh, obviously) in good light at apertures between f/5.6-11. Ideally I've been trying for shots at f/8 or f/11. Under these conditions, I'm glad I reintroduced myself to this lens. I'm actually really impressed with the center detail and clarity I get out of it for what it is. Though, that said, I'm not mercilessly pixel peeping all the corners at 300% crop when I use it. If you're taking the kids out to the beach on a sunny day and need a portable lens? It is pretty good, and casual shooters looking for a portable lens shouldn't have a problem with it. Out with the friends at night in a poorly lit bar? Not so much. Throw up a solid color paper backdrop, get some good lights, stay between f/5.6 and f/11 and you could probably even do portraits and full body shots for a client were you to wish it.

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Smart compromise

SELP1650 23/06/2014 by maistora (United Kingdom)

I got the E PZ 16-50mmas the kit lens with a Nex 5R in early 2013. Before that I was using the 18-55 mm kit lens with a first-generation Nex-5. My first impressions were inevitably influenced by the comparison: - the 16-50 is significantly smaller and lighter than the 18-55. I love this, because compactness is a high priority for my needs. With this lens I had a truly pocketable camera, like the old Nex with the 16mm pancake, but with a versatile zoom instead. - the lens struck me as visibly sharper than the old kit. I hadn't updated the firmware of the 18-55 for phase focussing, and the new lens came witth this capability as native. And the old body didn't have phase focus at all, so the combination 5R+16-50 was notably faster to focus and produced sharper images than the Nex-5 + 18-55. - This is where the good news ended. I started discovering some of the lens's deficiencies. It produces less even focus from centre to periphery: while sharpness in the centre is higher, the corners more visibly lose fine detail than on the older kit. - Image quality challenges are most prominent at the wide end: at 16mm the RAW (ARW) image is much more distorted than the fixed-length 16mm pancake. It can look almost like 'fish-eye' (especially with urban shots with lots of off-centre straight lines). - There is also heavy vignetting - darkening of the periphery. In addition to the gradual darkening, a completely black circular vignette can occur from the thinnest add-on like a simple filter in front of the lens, or a (properly wide) lens hood. As the corners get less light and less detail, noise becomes more apparent there, even at moderate ISO values like 400-800. Any low-light shots of detail-rich scenes at the wide end of the zoom would disappoint with below-average image quality. Not what one would expect from Sony?.. -The workaround: shooting in JPEG produces, counter-intuitively, better images than RAW. How can this be? Simply, Sony are aware of the lens limitations and the in-camera conversion includes correction algorithms, that largely neutralise the geometric distortion and the darkening of corners. - This is when I discovered Lens Profils in Lightroom. I had never used them before, because other lenses needed less correction. With the correct lens profile for the 16-50 lens, post-processing corrections on the PC are even better than the in-camera ones. From 'bad' originals you can get results anywhere from 'acceptable' to 'very good'. The lens-specific corrections cover not only distortion and vignetting, but also chromatic aberration (colour fringing) and fine-tuning all parameters can produce crisp, excellent looking images. Conclusion: Knowing the lens limitations and applying the right post-processing corrections allows you to deliver high quality images with the E PZ 16-50mm. I own a number of higher-quality Sony and non-Sony lenses, prime (fixed-length) and zooms - but nothing beats the humble 'kit zoom' for the combination of versatility and compactness that makes it my go-to lens for all situations when I don't carry a camera bag and need a camera in my pocket or in my laptop case. Some of my images produced with this lens have won awards or were sold via Getty Images. Attached are examples of different subjects and light conditions;

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

24

0

87 Customer Reviews

0

Happy with my sony

SELP1650 05/05/2019 by lali1004 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got my mother's day gift yesterday, I am very happy with my SONY camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Epz 16 -50mm soft focus

SELP1650 29/04/2019 by Johnnykid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sorry to say I have not been happy with this lens at all. Straight out the box it has been very soft. As this is the kit lens that came with the camera I very nearly sent the whole lot back. This lens should not be sold with new cameras as it hides the quality that can be achieved with the camera itself. Very disappointing lens. The build quality is not bad for a kit lens but watch out for the power zoom button as this can be pulled off and lost.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Terrible lens

SELP1650 05/04/2019 by Woodburn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the lens which comes in the kit. Although the focal length is very useful, the inability to add a lens hood or filter although fitted with a threaded front makes this lens useless. I had the lens back to warranty twice, both times they found nothing wrong. the third time they replaced the lens with a new one and I'm sure the problems will continue. I had hoped that this would be the camera I could travel with for years to come but now I feel I need to search for a company who provides good products. Oh, by the way, I am not a disgruntled amateur photographer, spent many years as a stringer for a large newspaper and 27 years in Forensic Science investigating homicides etc. and everything in forensics must be photographed. I also taught photography at the college level.

Picture Quality

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony Social Support
08/04/2019

Hello Woodburn,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Its a Lens

SELP1650 18/03/2019 by Nala yes ME (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its quite compact - which is what I wanted - and covers the range I was after. Pictures so far are OK but still getting used to using it. Just been using it on "auto" until I get more used to the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact but excellent lense

SELP1650 15/03/2019 by Koichi (United Kingdom)

I bought this product 1 month ago. I really like it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good all round lens

SELP1650 25/02/2019 by CPMS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for when I travel, and so for I’m happy with it, however, it’s still early days. I’m not a professional photographer, just an amateur and for the price I thought this lens was a good choice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

stunning clarity

SELP1650 21/01/2019 by Devon lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have this lens as part of a kit with a 6300 body. This is my first Sony lens, and I used it properly for the first time in difficult light conditions. The images were crystal clear and the overall clarity was amazing. I look forward o using more often in the future, but first impressions are wow!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This was an upgrade for me

SELP1650 19/01/2019 by Clifford3504 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about a month now I’m happy with it but I’m still Learning

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good kit lens & works with underwater housing

SELP1650 16/01/2019  (United Kingdom)

This was bought with a Sony A6500. It's a good lens & produces nice results both above the water & below, using an underwater housing. There are only a few combinations that give 4K video for underwater work with a reasonable price & this has been a good combination. Good zoom range & reasonable close up work with a minimum focus length of around 9" is good for marine life

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice lens with zoom features

SELP1650 15/01/2019 by MAK53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Came with the Camera, as a first lens and is very useful at the lowest aperture, the zoom feature is very helpful on this small compact lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Starter Lens!

SELP1650 04/01/2019 by pauldues (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great starter lens for the Sony Alpha series, make sure to get the package deal!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, but one big con

SELP1650 04/01/2019 by StephLuv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality is AMAZING!! However, one of the biggest cons for me is that, I do youtube videos so when I'm filming my vidoes tend to be a little long and the camera does overheat and cut off after about 15 mins or so.Therefore I have to record (and then edit) my videos in pieces. Other than that, this camera is the best.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Kit lens

SELP1650 02/01/2019 by trevor533 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with the camera, and have found it perfect for all my photos. The 16-50mm lens is more than adequate for most shots. The auto focus/aperture/lens zoom is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Lens the 55-210mm optical Steady Shot

SELP1650 08/12/2018 by Gio423 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I purchased this last month I was truly excited for the purchase I made, mainly because I knew these lens are quite pricey, but they are worth every dollar! I'm now a proud owner of the 55-210mm lens from Sony! And truly can't wait to try out a prime lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the beat kit lenses up there, but...

SELP1650 04/10/2018 by Kstsjo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a great kit lens. It is sharper than most of the competition and small, although, the built quality isn't a 100%. It rattles, the adjustment ring has too little feedback and is easy to break.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

It came with defect, cannot focus precisely

SELP1650 23/09/2018 by tomcat_ave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 months ago amd all photos are NOT sharp. then making test with other lenses I realized that selp 1650 I bought is not working properly

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

It Broke!

SELP1650 18/09/2018 by sonyguyny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lens got stock open a few months in and the camera doesn't recognize it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2018

Hi sonyguyny, We apologize for the inconvenience. We recommend that you send the unit to our repair center for evaluation, here's the link for your reference, https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl. Regards, Jen

0

Good lens

SELP1650 03/08/2018 by Shell99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is good for sightseeing and close up potraits

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredibly Fragile

SELP1650 25/07/2018 by Suspense (USA)

amazing photos. drop it once and it's broken. needs more durability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/07/2018

Hi Suspense, We're sorry to hear this. We recommend that you send your unit to a Sony facility to have it repaired, here is the link for further assistance,
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl. Regards, Jen

0

Mixed Feelings - a little more con than pro

SELP1650 08/07/2018 by KeithTandy (USA)

Photo : This was my first kit lens that I got with by NEX6 camera. Its good outside daylight and produces crisp images. But indoors with reasonable lighting and evening/night this lens is a nightmare. All I see is black on the screen even with max aperture of 3.5 without compromising shutter speed or ISO (which ruins the quality of the image). Don't even try using the 50mm length for portraits and bokeh shots unless you have a tons and tons of light. Thats what the 50mm 1.8 lens is for (5 stars). I will give it credit for variable zoom however, and it gets good landscapes (lot of light required again) and long exposures are decent. Video: I imagine more videographers using this lens. The variable zoom is a plus and on auto you can get bright shots as the camera adjusts iso/shutter accordingly. The electronic power zoom noise is DISGUSTING and takes over the audio when you zoom in during a shot, thus i can see this one con ruining anyone using it for video (unless you decide to not use audio). The lens is nice and small and very lightweight too. It was frustrating using this kit lens for a long time, then I finally upgraded to 50mm 1.8 and never looked back. I love portrait/bokeh photography and the 50mm 1.8 is a very specific lens. I came back to this 16-50 and was able to appreciate what its strengths are though. But the lack of a fast aperture left a lot to be desired.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Reasonable results

SELP1650 23/06/2018 by Kinok41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not to bad if kept at f6.5 to f8 and avoid minimum and maximum focal length but does not allow an A6000 to show its league capabilities.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

poor quality but compact

SELP1650 09/06/2018 by CSOCSO (USA)

Got this as my first zoom lens for my sony camera. I only have prime lenses and I needed a zoom lens. Went on vacation in orlando and just took a ton of pictures at my son graduation. Compared to the prime lenses the quality on this one is pretty much disappointing and horrible. Lens is clean. Everything is always soft and nearly blurry.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Camera

SELP1650 01/06/2018 by Anne211 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it, it’s my first and I’m so inlove! Great feature

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fully reliable lens

SELP1650 22/03/2018 by MrLaskez (USA)

Bought Sony a6000 with this lens. Outstandingly astonished.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great!!

SELP1650 12/03/2018 by Leshea (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this at car events it is fast and gets the best photos it is wounderful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great starter lens

SELP1650 03/03/2018 by Rich in Lukang (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little all-around lens! This lens came bundled with an ILCE-5100 camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good basic lens

SELP1650 28/02/2018 by AndrewBig (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Handy to have when you can't carry around multiple lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact with great features

SELP1650 26/02/2018 by RaffyL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was given to me as a Christmas present. It's my go-to camera for indoor and outdoor use. Images are sharp and crisp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good beginner lens

SELP1650 25/01/2018 by Jayy123 (USA)

It is a good beginners lens, and that just about where this lens would market well with. If your the typical point and shoot person, this is the lens for you. Also a good lens for people who travel a lot. Pros: It’s a small compact lens, has OSS, good for video, has a decent focal range from wide angle to about a portrait. Cons: Not the fastest lens, not good for night/dark photography, images are okay quality

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/01/2018

Hi, Jae1526, Thank you for your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward this to the proper department.

0

Camera is too new to form an opinion.

SELP1650 22/12/2017 by JART (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm still getting used to the controls on the camera, AND the PlayMemories, which was an unpleasant surprise.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sharp lens but build quality is sub par.

SELP1650 11/12/2017 by KCreativity (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I will say that for a kit lens it is sharp but the barrel is very loose for a brand new lens I don't know if it is every on or just the lens I got.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great kit lens

SELP1650 09/12/2017 by LucasJ8 (USA)

This lens is probably the best way to go as your initial lens. It comes as a kit in most cases and is a great way to get a feel for the camera and photography before investing too much into the platform. It's not the sharpest lens but, for whats basically a kit, its pretty good. It is capable of utilizing the ClearView zoom that to go beyond the 16-50mm range in lieu of a longer zoom until you can purchase another lens for that reach. It also has built-in stabilization which helps on the a6000/a6300 which don't have sensor stabilization in the camera body. One of the best things about the lens is how compact it is. It's very easy to slip the camera with the lens on in a bag or a jacket pocket and take it with you for the day.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not sharp and image quality as expected

SELP1650 06/11/2017 by Devy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one month ago along with Sony a6000 camera...I am so disappointed from this image quality ..I bought this camera with lens after reading many reviews. But no one mentioned about this kit lens so bad which make this camera 1 star. I bought this camera even after knowing sony lens are very costly as compare to other brands...But i while buying never had intention to buy another lens and wanted to use only Kit lens. However. i saw some video in YouTube after purchasing it..They also mentioned that Kit lens is bad for this camera. By bad quality kit lens and other higher cost of Sony lens. I think may not turn back to sony again...I would suggest, Sony should sell only Camera body and let customer to decide to buy their other costly lenses before buying this camera. However, i am still not sure if its camera or kit lens is bad because i have to buy their costly lens to confirm it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2017

Hi, devy, We appreciate your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward this to the proper department. Thank you for your time and feedback. Regards, Vincent

0

Poor built quality

SELP1650 18/10/2017 by big_dave (USA)

I would have love loving it but unfortunately I can't. I bought this as an everyday portable lens but it got broken after a month or so. The side zoom lever got broken while detaching, carefully enough, the lens from the body revealing the poor built quality. Two ultra-thin (probably 0.5 mm) plastic pins poorly hold up the button to the lens. A part that: -It has a really heavy vignette (that can be corrected in camera). -The zoom lever is obviously electronic and it is quite slow I guess for video use. -The zoom ring is electronic too. Is is a lot faster than the lever but it has a delay anyway, but not a huge deal. -The optical quality is good though. It is true that is a cheap one but be extremely cautious using and storing this lens. I don't know what's the point of building something portable that's so fragile? I come from Canon DSLR and I never experienced anything like this.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/10/2017

Hi big_dave , We apologize for the inconvenience. On this site we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/ ~Ralph

0

Great camera

SELP1650 17/10/2017 by Kristenk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera for a good price. I paid a little more than I wanted to but it was worth it. I do wish it had a view finder.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for short range with good lighting

SELP1650 27/08/2017  (USA)

I recently bought the Sony A5100 mirror less camera for my 11 day trip to Italy. I took 2500 photos. This lens came with it. I just loved the ease of use, the size, the weight and everything about operating it. When it came time to share pictures with others, I realized that my pictures did not measure up to several of the other people who came on the trip. Short distance and good lighting - The pics were awesome Long distance and/or low lighting - It really lacked a lot. Although most of my pictures were short distances, I am really really disappointed in the lense. I am currently looking to somehow update the lense.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great vide quality

SELP1650 30/07/2017 by jackiechan (USA)

I got this lens with the camera and I definitely recommend it. It does a little bit of what every lens does.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still trying to get crisp photos

SELP1650 18/07/2017 by DelawareDon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am excited to begin working with my ICLE-a6300. I am still testing how to take crisp photos but am not yet satisfied with the end results. If I can master all of the core cameras features I will be very happy. My overall rating will go to five at that time.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2017

Hi DelawareDon, We regret to hear that the lens failed to meet your expectations. We value your feedback and we will have this forwarded to the relevant department. -Jerome

0

Small But Good

SELP1650 12/07/2017 by JAM13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens on the A6300 still able to place in my pocket(Jacket) Could lens, takes great shots and I love the power zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony - E PZ 16-50mm F3.5-5.6 OSS -Very easy to use

SELP1650 24/06/2017 by Pete 202 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it for a month and have used it twice with excellent results.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Piece of junk

SELP1650 23/06/2017 by gullible (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Instead of integrating perfectly with the A6300, this lens seems to make the camera inoperable. Sometimes it is fine, but other times it hunts for focus and zooms in and out. Lately it has been inhibiting video recording, making the camera shut off after 3 seconds!! I missed capturing my kids' music recitals because of it. The camera seems to fine with other lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2017

That's not the kind of experience that we wanted to hear. We suggest resetting the camera to factory default. The step-by-step procedure may be viewed here. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39713/

0

Not bad for kit lens

SELP1650 27/05/2017 by fiftysixa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not bad performance, best attribute is being compact

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Works Great!

SELP1650 22/04/2017 by PLund6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super Easy to use and takes very clear and great photos and pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Surprisingly sharp, very light

SELP1650 02/04/2017 by Theoldsmithy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The reviews that go on about this being soft are really nit picking. I have so far found this to be very sharp. It also focuses really quite close up, much closer that I was expecting. Not macro, but perfectly good enough for flower close ups. The best feature is the variable zoom speed. turn the ring quickly and it zips from 16 to 50; turn it slowly and you have fine control. I would recommen buying the 3rd party auto lens caps which work a treat.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Seems good

SELP1650 23/02/2017 by Dudewheresmycar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to know exactly why i need to register a dang camera???????????

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

My favorite camera ever

SELP1650 05/02/2017 by Wayne 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two weeks ago and have tried to give it a good test. I really like the ability to do selfies by flipping the screen on the back. I find it easier to use than my I phone to do selfies. I will sooon be looking for a telephoto lens to add to my camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great lens!

SELP1650 02/02/2017 by Kamey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my Sony a6000 and it's perfect. A good standard lens to cover the mid range distances.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Camera

SELP1650 29/10/2016 by Gajitguy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera which had this E PZ 16-50mm OSS lens to replace my other Sony camera which had the Sony E 18-55 F3.5-5.6 OSS lens. I got it mainly because the newer lens is more compact when the camera is switched off. I am doing a fair amount of travelling now and I wanted something which would be more compact. This fits the bill and the camera takes really great photos with this particular lens attached. I can highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Small, light and good quality

SELP1650 15/06/2016 by smithy_sid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this bundled with my Sony camera. It's amazingly small and lght, and the optical quality is better than I expected for the price. I've compared it with fixed focal length lenses, and while the optical quality is not quite as good, it's more than adequate.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good everyday lens

SELP1650 15/05/2016 by Magpie2016 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a good everyday lens for general travel as it does not add weight or bulk to the A6000 body.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing!!

SELP1650 21/04/2016 by Sabrina101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony camera and lens on my birthday which I was so excited about! I originally was going to buy an Olympus camera but I'm so glad I chose this one! I am very pleased with it and have not had any problems so far! I recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good lens

SELP1650 24/03/2016 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this recently to replace an earlier on that I had sold. I thoughly enjoyed using it before.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Great lens

SELP1650 10/03/2016 by P3nf0ld (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent value for money nice build and finish great photo quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic love my new camera

SELP1650 21/02/2016 by Jilldenn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and I love it it takes beautiful photos and has a great recording feature so it's perfect for vlogging I'm really happy with my new camera and would defo recommend it is also really easy to use and prompts come up on the screen guiding you it's brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good

SELP1650 10/01/2016 by Ash333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lens is good. Not superb but considering the price it is a good lens. If you are using it for video you may have an issue with the zoom motor being heard on the audio I would prefer a manual zoom ring

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Not a bad kit lens, but there are better

SELP1650 10/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wish I bought my camera as body only and saved the money to buy a better lens. This lens is not bad but it's not great, I find it produces mediocre shots with inconsistency.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Clear focus

SELP1650 07/01/2016 by Jim L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in December 2015. Still getting used to setting but great camera, light and easy to use

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

no happy :(

SELP1650 14/12/2015 by Gullyraw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As soon as I bought my camera i thought was ideal, they updated this exact model and now I'm left with a camera that feels less than it should... its just disenchanting.....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

15

0

Good kit lens

SELP1650 25/11/2015 by AAG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good kit lens. Not fast but reasonable quality images.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great for beginners

SELP1650 20/11/2015 by Lucian Iurea (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being my first lens, I took over 1000 photos (up to the moment of review) and had no problem. The only thing that I find bad with it is when taking video the zoom is noisy. Overall great product for beginners.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great Features ...

SELP1650 04/11/2015 by blueman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought last month and is nice and work very well .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good quality

SELP1650 14/09/2015 by MalckyB47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens along with an a6000 camera a month ago, and for a kit lens paired with the camera the quality of photo is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good in parts

SELP1650 08/09/2015 by terrymacsurfer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens with my NEX-6 and have been reasonably pleased with the sharpness and colour quality I get on Raw images. There is quite a lot of vignetting at wide open and a lot of barrel distortion, both of which can be greatly reduced in post with software corrections. The build quality of the lens is a little rough and the zoom is noisy and feels a little loose, but seems to work adequately. All in all, for such a small lens and the price it sells for I'm quite happy with this lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pretty darn good wide angle

SELP1650 02/08/2015 by ritchierich (USA)

I don't see what all the fuss is about. I had reasonable expectations with this "kit" lens, but actually was blown away with its performance! I work at a camera store and see all sorts of optics and this one is well worth it. I was initially planning on the 10-18 lens as an additional wide but really found this to be quite sufficient and sharp. I shot a wedding (video) with this mounted on the Sony A 6000 and was very impressed with its quality and clarity. Do not hesitate to get one for yourself.

8

3

0

Terrible lens

SELP1650 08/07/2015  (USA)

Terrible distortion below 20mm. No straight line will look straight with this lens at those wide angles. The distortion is so bad that you have no chance of correcting it in post processing. Also don't shoot in any direction where there's alot of light, because the lens will flare any light into a haze. It doesn't have to be light coming towards the lens. It can be a bright object and you're image will be pretty much ruined. I'm using it on a Nex-3N, and it could be the camera, but I have a zoom telephoto lens also and I don't see the flaring issue with that lens.

7

6

Response From Sony Support
09/07/2015

Hi DavidM,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will forward your feedback to the right department.

0

Excellent Lens

SELP1650 01/07/2015 by George8 (USA)

Certainly not a professional, but I do like to take good photographs. I gave up a nice Nikon more than a decade ago to dabble in digital photography - a simple Sony at the time. Four more simple yet great Sony's later, I'm finally back with an a6000. Love the camera and still learning about it - but I'm very impressed with this lens. Beautiful color, perfect focusing, no barreling as far as I can see. Very much recommended.

4

0

0

DIED

SELP1650 14/06/2015 by Tob64 (USA)

Great lens. Fast focus and useful in many different situations. But at 15 months the lens is suddenly a paperweight. When attached to the NEX-6 body the camera says "Cannot recognize lens Attache properly". My Sony 55-210 lens works perfect. So I contacted Sony support. I had registered the camera and lens when purchased. But Sony could not tell me if it was under warranty? Why did I bother to register it? BTW I have the receipt. So I contacted the Repair center that Sony uses. I explained in detail what the issue is. I received a canned response. The minimum charge to work on a Sony NEX-6 is $269. I sent another email emphasizing it was the lens NOT the body. I received the same unhelpful response. Nice customer service.... :) Sony...You should stand behind your products. A lens shouldn't die at 15 months.

30

2

Response From Sony Support
19/06/2015

Hi Tob4,

We're sorry for the frustration this has caused you. The lens and camera both have a one year Manufacturer's warranty.It seems like the lens would need service. You can set up repairs for the lens at http://www.precisioncamera.com/.

0

Unfair reputation?

SELP1650 13/06/2015 by Apocryphon (USA)

This was one of two lenses I got when I initially purchased my a6000. I'm pretty nocturnal and, to be honest, I pretty rapidly got sick of and replaced it, even though I kept it. The slow aperture just left a lot to be desired and I didn't really find its low light performance to be overly exceptional. I was pretty disappointed. Barring the release of a cost-effective a6000s, many of us will be choosing such cameras for our all-purpose carry around, and that means struggling with light a bit. Slow apertures leave a bit to be desired. I've been playing with it again a good deal recently. I still harbor a pretty similar opinion of its low light performance. Though, as long as you don't mind not achieving a proper exposure (which, at night, is sometimes more accurate than what the light meter thinks is "properly exposed", anyway, but that is really beside the point - you can't increase the exposure quite as readily without relying on slow shutter speeds and high ISOs, the point being)... so it is definitely far from ideal as an action shooter at night. Long shutter speed stills on a tripod? Not as bad. You can get some great images out of it, in terms of that. Lately, where I've found it really excels after giving it another chance, is (duh, obviously) in good light at apertures between f/5.6-11. Ideally I've been trying for shots at f/8 or f/11. Under these conditions, I'm glad I reintroduced myself to this lens. I'm actually really impressed with the center detail and clarity I get out of it for what it is. Though, that said, I'm not mercilessly pixel peeping all the corners at 300% crop when I use it. If you're taking the kids out to the beach on a sunny day and need a portable lens? It is pretty good, and casual shooters looking for a portable lens shouldn't have a problem with it. Out with the friends at night in a poorly lit bar? Not so much. Throw up a solid color paper backdrop, get some good lights, stay between f/5.6 and f/11 and you could probably even do portraits and full body shots for a client were you to wish it.

12

0

Response From Sony Support
15/06/2015

Hi Apocryphon,

Thanks for your feedback and for giving the lens a second try. We appreciate the detailed review, it would surely help other users.

0

SELP 1650 Focus Ring Design Problems

SELP1650 08/06/2015 by sonyfan_sometimes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I have bought 3 of these SELP 1650 lens, the reason being the focus ring [end of lens] is made out of a very soft material, if you put the camera down a little heavy, the focus ring deforms and then the lens does not function at all, you can try to rebend the focus ring and some times the lens will work again, sometimes it will not, hence that's why I have so far purchased 3 lenses , Sony charge 55 pounds to just look at the lens, and around 100 pounds to fix your lens, I bought a neoprene camera case , and still managed to bend the focus ring, Obviously Sony have a design / material problem, this is not a very robust lens, it is not a camera lens combination that you put in your rucksack or over your shoulder or go cycling , you can not recommend it to a friend, you know they will be buying a new lens in a very short period, if you use your camera on a daily basis it is no use what so ever, it is just not robust enough., it is a lens that you take the camera / lens out of a bag, take a photo , and put it back in the camera bag, not a usable product., could not recommend, Sorry Sony you really need to do some work on this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

4

0

Great size and weight

SELP1650 01/06/2015 by Hopbackman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For its size it produces very sharp pictures at a great price. Would have liked the power zoom to keep its focal length after power off. But this is a minor quibble

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

New experience.

SELP1650 28/05/2015 by grandkids6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, light weight with great optics. It will fit in with my travels shortly without adding bulk. Love using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality product.

SELP1650 14/05/2015 by Willwick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great build quality and looks. Rapid focus and optical performance good. Very happy with product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2