9

4.1 based on 9 customer reviews

5
2
1
0
1
Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

excellence in all ways

Xperia 1 21/02/2020  (USA)

i just purchased xperia 1. it is best and most beautiful display on the earth and eye catching camera is brilliant. dynamic vibration with audio stand out tall. amazing xperia care and services would be appropriated . just need to more marketing to show people about and selling too. its enough to beat other brands in market. hope so Sony market come back soon. thank you sony.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Fingerprint Sensor Nightmare

Xperia 1 11/03/2020 by Mike650 (USA)

I bought this phone last year and all was going well until one day the fingerprint sensor stopped working and completely disappeared from the software. Since then, I've sent the phone in for repair 3 times in 2020 and the last 2 times it came back, it worked for approximately 24 hours before the problem reappeared. It is frustrating to spend hundreds of dollars on a device and to continually have it fail. I've spent at least $20 shipping it back and forth for the same issue! Yet, the first time the repair indicated no fault, second time they switched the ROM and provided a new IMEI, and this time....???? Sony, you can do better. I want to love Sony phones, but this experience has me seriously debating the switch away from the Xperia line after a good 6-7 year run.

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

9 Customer Reviews

0

A New Experience!

Xperia 1 16/03/2020 by Nier6 (USA)

I've been using this phone for almost a month now and I got to say that I very pleased with it's 21:9 aspect ratio - it makes for a richer experience for games, browsing, videos and multitasking! Furthermore, it given the phone, a nice, modern look to it, it looks really nice, comfier too. The display quality is fantastic for video playback and it has great cameras (althought, there is room for improvement) and it the first Xperia that makes me feel like I truly have a cyber shot Cam in my pocket with it's Eye AF and updated camera app. Great job all around! Like mentioned, there is some room for improvement, the super wide angle camera does not perform as well I'm low light as the other two & there is dedicated Night Mode. The newly announced Xperia 10 II (a more budget friendly phone) will be coming with an integrated Night Mode & Natural skin tone processing. Seeing that this is still an expensive flagship, I'm am confident that Sony will update the camera with a feature update and bring those same improvements in this device as well. Other small improvements can be made in the fingerprint reader - as I found it to be slower and take more time to recognize my finger than my older XZ3. Lastly, some small bugs need to be ironed out on the Android 10 version (runs very, very smooth in overall), main one being the casting (from Album app) to the TV, my photos look clear, and detailed on my smartphone but not once casted on the TV, not even close, found this to be very annoying! In overall, I have been really enjoying the Xperia 1 and I look forward to see it grow, and improve!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

Hi, Nier6, We are happy that you are very please with your new Xperia and enjoying using it. Hopefully, your concerns will be fixed by software updates. Thank you for the feedback and for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Fingerprint Sensor Nightmare

Xperia 1 11/03/2020 by Mike650 (USA)

I bought this phone last year and all was going well until one day the fingerprint sensor stopped working and completely disappeared from the software. Since then, I've sent the phone in for repair 3 times in 2020 and the last 2 times it came back, it worked for approximately 24 hours before the problem reappeared. It is frustrating to spend hundreds of dollars on a device and to continually have it fail. I've spent at least $20 shipping it back and forth for the same issue! Yet, the first time the repair indicated no fault, second time they switched the ROM and provided a new IMEI, and this time....???? Sony, you can do better. I want to love Sony phones, but this experience has me seriously debating the switch away from the Xperia line after a good 6-7 year run.

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/03/2020

Hi Mike650,

This is definitely not the news that we would like to hear. Allow us to turn your experience around and make things right. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Case number:

Please include your case number so we can review your file.


Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Great features

Xperia 1 26/02/2020 by bernobi (USA)

Im so happy Sony to have a Great pictures od my Sony Xperia 1

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

H ibernobi,

We're glad that you are happy with the pictures of our product!

~Earl

0

Great camera amazing screen bad fingerprint reader

Xperia 1 25/02/2020 by Tessoro (USA)

I buy my phones basically on looks,. Other features are a plus as all sony s phone this one is designed beautifully, impeccable shapes, elegant and intriguing.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi, Tessoro!

We appreciate your feedback on your new Xperia 1. To isolate the issue with the fingerprint sensor, we suggest visiting this link: https://support.sonymobile.com/us/xperia1/faq/8019307401536b04f016fe9ebe302007625/.

If still getting the same issue, kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Great Phone for Gaming

Xperia 1 25/02/2020 by Gage Quach (USA)

I just bought this phone for 2 months and I have experienced with it for the last 5 weeks and it was fantastic. I recommend if anyone choose a phone with great performance, choose sony for the best! from your top fan Gage

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/02/2020

Hi Gage,

Thanks for the cool review! We're glad that you're having an enjoyable experience with our Xperia 1 smartphone.Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Detailed Overview

Xperia 1 25/02/2020 by Kevbot (USA)

Owning this phone since released in the US was a bit disappointing. I've always been a Sony fan and always wanted one of their phones. Finally getting my hand on the Xperia 1 my initial impression was why does is it feel hollow and wow this is a long phone. Best thing about this phone was the screen. It's has amazing definition and great color accuracy. Just wish it didn't have curved glass on the face because i would but palming the screen a little and that would be irritating. Cameras on the phone is awesome 95 percent of the time. Only when there is a huge exposure difference in the picture the phone didn't seem to blend it together we'll. The reason I wanted this phone was the size fit so much better than my note 8. Turns out the phone has very good ergonomics. The button placement is great but I seem to press the camera button a lot more than intended. Also the finger print scanner was not very good at reading if my hands were at all moist or dirty a little. Overall the phone worked well but still has some bugs to work out. Great at consuming media and I'm sure creating media but I'm not a creator. Cons Lacking in call quality and speaker phone didn't sound good Not custom lock screen/ change Google assistance and camera shortcuts Finger print scanner works about 85 percent of the time. Finger can't be dirty On some videos when I adjust the volume i hear crackling Not great at photo editing Bad picture organization method no drag select Slow moving pictures/content around and deleting Slow processing/loading pictures Camera app can't use camera key to take pictures (just my phone I guess) but the key still works somehow Flash is not bright at all. Good luck using it as a flashlight Phone feels cheap sounds and feels hollow No headphone jack Bluetooth acts up Battery life isn't that great (struggles to get through the day) Lock screen has some bugs (issues with swiping to unlock) Vibration motor feels sloppy would like to customize it Duel speakers aren't that great Not many accessories from Sony or 3rd party Exposure on camera not stable No wireless charging Screen can't doesn't get bright Pros Great button layout. best ergonomics It has a camera button to wake up camera Cameras are really good and accurate (unless over or under exposed) image processing is really good accurate coloring Night shots are fairly accurate Never really used the cinema pro app but the video from it looks good Wide angle is really good Color accuracy great/screen and pictures Oled 4k screen top notch Expandable memory very welcomed Smart charging is nice Duel speakers Screen at night and indoor is great Great media consuming device Would like to see a buy back program from Sony so I can try out the new mark 2 coming out

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi Kevbot,

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. I understand that your Xperia-1 is having issues. Please try following the steps on the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-phones-tablets-mobile-phones/xperia-1/articles/00235706

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-phones-tablets-mobile-phones/xperia-1/articles/00236500

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
SONY store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

~Earl


0

Truly the best Xperia experience

Xperia 1 24/02/2020 by Joey B (USA)

Seamlessly smooth software experience in a sleek and sexy design with exceptional camera. Brilliant display, best in class audio excellence for wireless headphones. Everything this device features I love.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

excellence in all ways

Xperia 1 21/02/2020  (USA)

i just purchased xperia 1. it is best and most beautiful display on the earth and eye catching camera is brilliant. dynamic vibration with audio stand out tall. amazing xperia care and services would be appropriated . just need to more marketing to show people about and selling too. its enough to beat other brands in market. hope so Sony market come back soon. thank you sony.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/02/2020

Hi Nirav,

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Great phone, lacking with hotspot thought

Xperia 1 21/02/2020 by Hey Mo Mo Yeahh (USA)

Pre ordered this phone in purple,the only color you should get this phone in. I also got the Sony style touch cover. It adds great drop and back scratch protection, not so much for the front and can also use as a stand pending surface it's being placed on. One of my complaint's is for the mobile hotspot. I have Verizon old unlimited data plan and this is how I get online with my PS4 and other devices. I had the Xperia Z3v before this and that phone had a little bit of more hotspot tweeting like having an allowed list of devices. The other feature that would be good to have on a phone of this caliber and price would be for it to be close on hotspot speeds to the phones actual speeds. I thought maybe it would be added in the Android 11 update , but it wasn't. Many in a not to distance future update.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/02/2020

Hi Hey Mo Mo Yeahh,

We're glad you like to product. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl