113

3.7 based on 113 customer reviews

54
22
10
5
22
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

It's pretty

ICFC1PJ 04/10/2014 by LD100 (USA)

It's pretty, it's small, it's a clock radio. I can see it from across the room, the alarm goes off at the time it's set for, and it displays the time on the ceiling. That brings us to the first caution: the projector automatically shuts off after 16 hours. Your guess is as good as mine why? Second caution is the batter backup is a CR2032 rather than an easily available 9 volt or AA. Last caution is the speaker is 4 cm or 1 5/8 inches in diameter, so don't expect to use this as your main music source. If these cautions don't bother you...they don't bother me...then it's a great little clock radio.

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good, Except Projection stops at 16 hrs

ICFC1PJ 08/03/2015 by RandWro (USA)

Great alarm clock. But we bought it for the projection, which is clear and sharp. BUT it cuts off after 16 hours, and you have to press a button again. What?!? Gosh, please just offer a Projector Setting of Off/On/16 hours. So its a very mixed review for a PROJECTOR ALARM CLOCK.

24

0

113 Customer Reviews

0

Really bad feature

ICFC1PJ 02/05/2021 by Red1dog (USA)

I bought this for the projection function but it keeps turning itself of. After digging through the manual, I find it is designed this way. What numbnut thought that was a good idea? Would be a 5 star unit without that major fail. Possible they could do a firmware update to fix that?

Design

Poor

0

0

0

Great full of features

ICF-C1PJ 03/04/2021 by Dierdre (USA)

A few issues. The display is white so it lights up the room too mush unless I dim it to the lowest light, then it’s hard to see in the day. Also the off button is hard to find in the morning and I glued a button to it so I can find it. I also need the manual to set it up. But even so I love this cube. I had a very old clock radio before and it’s so nice to have the weekday only option so I don’t need to remember to set the alarm. I love the nature sounds and I love that it starts out very soft and then increases in volume a bit, rather than blasting you out of sleep. The usb socket is very handy too. Reception is great. Very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Nearly Perfect

ICFC1PJ 05/02/2021 by Colonel Brody (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only one suggestion for improvement. I like having two separate alarms. But it was not a good design to restrict operation to Weekdays or Weekends on each of the alarms. This is not necessary since either alarm could simply be chosen for any day -- thus allowing more flexibility. But this is a very nice product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Not good at all

ICF-C1PJ 29/01/2021 by Smittyman (USA)

I received thjs unit as a Christmas present. Today is 1/28/2021 and it still isn';t set up and worling. Whoever had the idea to use grey for the lettering and half the letters don't even show up on the unit. I have one friend try with no success you don't know which button is which. Anr both of us are over 70 and the small print on the directiobs is unreadable without a Xglass.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

am antenna,

ICF-C1PJ 21/01/2021 by abvelco (USA)

what should be done with am antenna after it is hooked up to radio????

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This product is great

ICF-C1PJ 22/12/2020 by HawaiiMan (USA)

I bought this product about 2 months ago and it has performed very well as described.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

End of long search

ICFC1PJ 12/10/2020 by tomm89 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just needed a very basic clock radios without a lot of stuff that I don't need. Other products I explored were confusing to figure out with poor instructions, but most of all, the sound reception was awful! Your product gets an A from me!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

0

My new SONY DREAM MACHINE

ICFC1PJ 28/09/2020 by Flossie6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My last one was 40 years old. This model has awesome updated features. BTW. The old one still works I just need a second one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great little radio!

ICFC1PJ 20/09/2020 by Shih Tzu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value for the price. Good sound and real versatile. A bit complicated to use at first, so you have to read the operator's manual. I'm real happy with it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product,Great Company.

ICFC1PJ 11/06/2020 by CMDR Curley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I always wanted one,but the clocks that i had were still giving good service. Until,last month. I won't mention the brand,but it suddenly stopped.The time in my bedroom is very important and I usually wake up to soft music.This new CUBE not only with music but also ocean sounds.Truly wonderful!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Diversity

ICFC1PJ 10/05/2020 by Wild Willy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very diverse product with great clarity for such a small radio. I love the "Projection" feature onto my ceiling so I can lying on my bed at night look up at the ceiling and see the time.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/05/2020

Hi Wild Willy, we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Works wqell, decent sound for small clock radio

ICFC1PJ 26/03/2020 by nambu1810 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift, and it is totally satisfactory.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/03/2020

Hi nambu1810, We're glad to hear that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Absolutely SUCKS

ICF-C1PJ 04/03/2020 by tod728 (USA)

The worst design ever. I have 3 college degrees and it took me an hour to figure out how to set the alarm. Why can't Sony use the same buttons as every other alarm clock on the planet? Because they SUCK.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/03/2020

Hi, tod728,

We are sorry to hear about your experience using your clock radio. The Sony ICF-C1PJ is not just an alarm clock. It has a lot of functions and features. You may like the ICF-C707 clock radio better. Thanks for your feedback

-Vincent

0

Not worked

ICFC1PJ 19/01/2020 by Cableman20 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

since I bougth this product it did not work!! and none want to accept he responsibility. Wath can I do??

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
20/01/2020

Hello, Cableman20!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great features, specifically the projector feature

ICFC1PJ 07/01/2020 by Mr E (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We were in need of a radio for the master bedroom. Prefer Sony products and this radio meets our needs,

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Projection expires

ICF-C1PJ 04/01/2020 by Vladimir8484 (USA)

Why a unit that has a constant electric power supply would have expiring time projection function? It could be an option but...no. Back firing speaker - not the best solution. Option to see time, day, date on one display - could be much appreciated by someone!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2020

Hi, Vladimir8484!

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Erin

0

No display! Not OKAY!!!

ICF-C1PJ 04/12/2019 by Brownsugar117 (USA)

I've had this clock radio for nearly 2 years and now, all of a sudden, I cannot view the time. At first, The projector would come one, but now, after unplugging it from the wall and removing the backup battery, nothing displays. I hear a beep when I press the alarm reset button, but no display of lights. I DO NOT want to purchase a new one, nor pay for support. Who can help?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/12/2019

Hi, Brownsugar117!

We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

~Earl

0

Setting the alarm is RIDICULOUSLY difficult

ICF-C1PJ 09/11/2019 by WANTSSIMPLECONTROLS (USA)

There really ought to be an alarm out there with decent digital FM reception that had an alarm that was easy to set. This is not it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

Response From Sony Social Support
09/11/2019

Hello, WANTSSIMPLECONTROLS!


We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.


~Zac

0

Nice digital tuner

ICFC1PJ 28/10/2019 by Dino88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We had an older Sony cube clock radio for over 15 years, and lived it. It finally needed an upgrade so we got this model, with the digital tuner. It holds the stations great, and the added bonus of dual alarms and the soft start volume. Nice! It sounds good for a compact unit. The little buttons make it a little challenging to set up initially (or just my old eyes! )

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, Dino88!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Looks nice, good features, only lasted 6 months!

ICFC1PJ 05/07/2019 by Gzane (USA)

I really liked the versatility of the ceiling display, and the nature sounds are okay, but the sound quit after only 6 months.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/07/2019

Hi, Gzane!

We are sorry that the sound quits. Please try following the steps on the manual below to help fix the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4528/3c77bd38d38eb653293191e563988119/45284781M.pdf

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Thank you,

Erin

0

Ceiling time projection upside down

ICF-C1PJ 03/06/2019 by Kelgirlm (USA)

The clock sits next to me on my nightstand and the ceiling time projection is upside down. Is this by design? Can it be changed?

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/08/2019

Hello, Kelgirlm!

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. You can rotate the projector unit to point the
projector lens in the desired direction. Please follow the instruction below:

https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4528478131.pdf (Using the projector)

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Radio doesn’t work

ICF-C1PJ 24/02/2019 by Plb603 (USA)

I did the setting to wake up to Radio, howeverI get the buzzer, I unplugged, I changed the battery, still I get the buzzer even when the setting isn’t on Radio. Am I doing something wrong? All other option should works except the Radio

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
28/02/2019

Hi Plb603,

We regret you are having some issue with this product. We are more than glad and happy to help. Please take note that in order to set RADIO ALARM you need a radio preset first. You can follow the steps down below:

Under the section "Setting the alarm" and then A (Setting the radio alarm).
https://docs.sony.com/release//ICFC1PJ.pdf

Hope this helps.
Regards,
Earl

0

I like this alarm clock

ICFC1PJ 24/02/2019 by JAB49 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the fact that I can actually turn off the time; the dimmer is very effective; my husband and I love the projection of the time on the ceiling. Surprisingly the projection on the ceiling is not a distraction.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Keeps the alarm clock relevant

ICFC1PJ 12/01/2019 by KevinLB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to set up, easy to use. Keeps the functions of the alarm clock simple but does everything so elegant. Front of the clock can be used as a mirror if you turn the display all the way down. Good quality materials and feels solidly built. Definitely worth replacing an old alarm clock or using instead of your phone. Looks nice in a room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Doesn't Work

ICF-C1PJ 11/12/2018 by Dawn79 (USA)

I had to rate everything 1 star because after only using this radio alarm clock for three months, it no longer works. It randomly turns on nature sounds and the only way to turn it off is to unplug it. And now none of the buttons work even after unplugging and plugging it back in. This product is garbage which is very disappointing with how much it costs. Read the reviews carefully and do not buy this product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/12/2018

Hello Dawn79, we do apologize for the inconvenience, you may try to replace the battery. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.
Regards, _Bob

0

Already have issues

ICFC1PJ 10/12/2018 by Dawn79 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This clock has everything I wanted in an alarm clock. I like the dual alarms and the fact i can set the alarm for just weekdays. The tuner picks up quite a few radio stations clearly which has been hard to find. My complaint is that the nature sounds will randomly turn on. When it does this, none of the buttons will work. I have to unplug the clock in order to turn off the sound and for the buttons to work. I'm very worried that one day this will interfere with my alarm and I'll end up oversleeping. The clock is less than 3 months old, so this should not be happening already.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/12/2018

Hello Dawn79, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your personal and product information.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Like it, should be more simple, projector turns of

ICF-C1PJ 28/11/2018 by tomket (USA)

+ I like clear projection on the cling nice design and display with dimming. The quality is great. - It has too many buttons which makes it hard to setup, its a bit confusing. The radio on/off button is not clear (black), hard to find. - Sadly after installing it I found out the projection shuts off after 16 hours (it is in the manual), why? That's very annoying for me. I have it plugged in. If there is some other reason for that, save it during the day but put it on again at evening.. Hope you change that someday as I relay like it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Still learning how to use it.

ICFC1PJ 16/10/2018 by Andrea9 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an old clock radio I had and was wearing out. This new Sony radio alarm clock is really nice. I haven't used the alarm yet but all other features are great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Features

ICFC1PJ 11/07/2018 by Texas2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like all the features but it is very complex to setup. Takes time and patience. I lilke the looks and size.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

WOW! No more straining to see the time

ICFC1PJ 20/06/2018 by SN2935 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a late Father's Day gift on 06/20/18. It was worth the delay. The time display is very clear and does adjust to that just right brightness so as not to blind you at night. The AM/FM radio is very clear for a mono sound. Even has a number of nature sounds to wake up or go sleep too. Radio/Clock has a battery backup using the CR2032 lithium battery. You can even charge your smartphone up by using your USB to cellphone cable. Initial setup was easy, but it takes a few try's to get it right. You will not regret buying this FM/AM Clock Radio or even better if you get it as a gift as I did.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Great clock except the 16 hr projection

ICF-C1PJ 03/06/2018 by Dan4InPhilly (USA)

Love the clock in every way and projection is the best on the market. BUT - it turns off after 16 hours. This is a real user design flaw. SONY - I've seen many reviews with the same complaint and limited response. WHY is this? Why do other clocks stay on but your defaults to turning off? Is there a fix? I need more for my house - other clocks have poor projection and hesitant to buy another one of these because of the 16 hour 'flaw'.

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/06/2018

Hi Dan4InPhilly,


We regret to hear that it didn't exceed your expectations. We do appreciate providing us with your feedback for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. 

0

Poor quality

ICF-C1PJ 30/05/2018 by Pat16 (USA)

We purchased this a little over a year ago & it now switches several times a day from standard time to daylight savings time. This also affects the projection light & dimmer, therefore this clock radio is now worthless.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

7

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/05/2018

Hi Pat16,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Brilliant

ICF-C1PJ 28/05/2018 by LEN 85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely pleased with this product. Projection feature is great for seeing the time in the early hours, and the alarm has a good choice of sounds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Alarm settings

ICFC1PJ 02/04/2018 by Neck (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have arthritis in my neck. I am unable to turn my neck to see the time on the alarm clock. The feature that I made the purchase for works wonderfully. That is that I can project the time on to the ceiling. I find that setting the alarm the few times that I use it is difficuly.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worthless

ICF-C1PJ 31/03/2018 by Dr spock (USA)

Only lasts for 1 year. The second lasted 1,5 year.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2018

Hi Dr spock,
Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America, Latin America, and Asia Pacific. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

FAIR

ICF-C1PJ 24/03/2018 by MSTOKES (USA)

Much tooo complicated as a small radio to set up and use!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/03/2018

Hi MSTOKES, thank you for sharing your feedback and experience with the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

easy to luse

ICFC1PJ 22/03/2018 by RPetty3941 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good buy and has good features this is the best little radio I have bought

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2018

We appreciate taking the time to let us know your feedback o this clock radio, RPetty3941. This is truly appreciated. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

bedside companion

ICF-C1PJ 16/03/2018 by dozy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The clock that has it all...all features easily accessible, optional natural sound effects, plus your five chosen radio pre-sets, and for me, projecting the time onto the bedroom ceiling/wall is very beneficial, without the need to manoeuvre in bed, plus sleep function...a delightful clock by a well established manufacturer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quits on me

ICF-C1PJ 10/03/2018 by Suz 2 (USA)

The first clock I bought just quit. I only used the clock and the projection feature. loved it so much I thought I would try again. This one didn’ Last as long as the first one. I plugged my phone in to charge and poof the clock went blank. Nothing since.

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Clear screen with great projection clock

ICF-C1PJ 11/02/2018 by flappers72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace another - the previous one had started to turn off the projector clock of its own accord. It's great though. Reasonable size. Good alarm and, generally, great, clear projector clock. It is an analogue radio which works just fine but not quite as slick (obviously) as a DAB which I've got use to using in all other rooms in the house but the projector clock was the pertinent feature for me thus why I purchased this item.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

lots of features in a small welll built package

ICF-C1PJ 05/02/2018 by rols (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

has more features than i was aware of so great. the nature sounds are good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Ceiling Image of Time

ICFC1PJ 27/01/2018 by semoerfi1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Reception not to good. Trying to figure out why image has to be turned on every night.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/01/2018

Hi semoerfi1, thank you for sharing your feedback. Please refer to this link to troubleshoot the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39111.

Regards,
-Erin

0

Love this clock!

ICFC1PJ 19/01/2018 by travi94 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this clock! I just bought another one - I have one at work and one at home. Love the projection feature! Would recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dual Alarm, Preset Time, Date, and USB charger

ICFC1PJ 07/01/2018 by SandyJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a gift. It replaced the alarm clock, 'Sony Dream Machine, Model B1392683' I had for over 20 years. It was also a cube with dual alarm. I know Sony products and I'm sure I'll have this for another 20 yrs. My sister gave me this one and got one for herself too...She always liked my Sony Cube!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent replacement

ICF-C1PJ 06/01/2018 by divebuddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as Christmas present for my wife to replace a different projection alarm clock which had failed. Once I read the instructions it was easy to set up and is doing a great job. We do like the nature sounds for the alarm and the radio is not as "tinny" as other small units. The projection system works well and the varying brightness of the numerals is also a good feature.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sophisticated radio

ICFC1PJ 25/12/2017 by amacl3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony clockradios have been keeping me company for about 24 years, because they last forever. always good build quality, I'll keep buying Sony next time I need to.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Features - but unreliable, dies in months

ICF-C1PJ 22/12/2017 by grumpyoldsod (USA)

I was really happy with this. Accepted, setting it up initially can be head scratching ... there's lots of buttons. But the built in sounds to help ypu off to sleep are great (rain/birds/waves crashing/water running). I love the beam function that projects time onto the ceiling. I love the 3 brightness settings. I love the USB port on the side for charging mobile phone (great for guest bedroom). Setting the alarms is tricky but once you get the hang of it its fine. What I don't like is it reliability. I bought it 4 jan 17. On 10 dec I went to set it and it stopped working- no display, nothing at all. I googled it etc & find that Im not the only one. It seems this is a known problem. So in summary, a great well thought out product BUT it just seems its poorly fabricated ... maybe faulty wiring/solder on the pcb etc. So its going back and I regret I must buy something that works!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

BEST ALARM CLOCK

ICFC1PJ 22/11/2017 by dragonladd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent design it comes with USB charger, auto DST adjustment & time projector.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I Like It

ICF-C1PJ 03/11/2017 by JimBeam (USA)

There is distinction among the top buttons. For example the radio "on" button protrudes and the radio "off" button is flush. The projection "on/off" button is easily found near the projection wheel. There is a long bar at the top front that quickly controls the display lighting to high, med, low or off. This clock radio has antennas for both AM and FM and receives an amazing number of stations. The sound quality is average. However, there is no buzz, hum or static on received stations.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great ceiling light

ICF-C1PJ 19/10/2017 by Iainm (United Kingdom)

This is my second clock in two years the first one stopped working frozen and looks like a common fault the reason I bought another one is that’s it’s the best of a bad lot the ceiling beam is good and I hope it keeps working or it’s goodbye Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Out the box, did not work.

ICF-C1PJ 05/10/2017 by Ranger_Ed (USA)

Bought as a gift for daughter the new school year. Bought a month early, once she finally open it, didn't work. Flashing 12:00 and dead battery sign. I've changed the battery, still no luck. I'm a true believer in "you get what you pay for." Sony has let me down.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/10/2017

Hi Ranger_Ed, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can review your file. Thank you, _Bob

0

Do not buy- all of ours broke!!

ICF-C1PJ 21/08/2017 by Stan1 (USA)

After 6 months the projector stopped working!! Now it's 1 year old and the alarm doesn't work. This is ridiculous!! Do not buy this clock. We bought 3 of these and they all broke within the first year.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2017

Hi Stan1, We're sorry to hear about what happened. Your feedback is highly appreciated, it will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. You may have it serviced by visiting our eservice website at https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
~Ralph

0

not easy to use

ICFC1PJ 13/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very difficult clock to operate and does not work easily. NOT USER FRIENDLY

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2017

Hi, feel jipped, We're sorry for the inconvenience and we appreciate your feedback. For more information about this unit and how to operate it properly, you may check the link below:
https://docs.sony.com/release//ICFC1PJ.pdf.
Regards, _Bob

0

SO disappointed and frustrated!

ICF-C1PJ 07/08/2017 by SAM2017 (USA)

Because of Sony's reputation and my past experience with MANY Sony products I purchased this clock radio Dec 30, 2015 and in July 2017, it stopped worked. Lost control of the buttons; did the unplug, remove battery thing and now it simply flashes 12:00 and cannot do anything else. After having numerous Sony clock radios that have lasted years, I am so DISAPPOINTED in the failure of this defective product. I am more FRUSTRATED that Sony customer service has not been helpful and the company will not stand behind their relatively new and very lightly used clock. I am sorry to say that after 30+ years of me personally purchasing Sony products, I guess I am done. Too bad! I am angry with myself for not reading reviews, which may or may not have been available at the time of purchase.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Not a bargain

ICF-C1PJ 01/08/2017 by Justin630 (USA)

Bought the about a year ago. Worked fine for 11 months. Then it started getting flaky. Clock always worked but none of the features. Had to remove the battery and unplug it and then start the programming again. It happened several times. Then several nights ago, it started chirping in the middle of the night. I had to pull the plug to get it to stop. The following morning it was DEAD. The only thing what worked was the time display; it constantly flashed 12:00. Couldn't resuscitate it

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/08/2017

Hi Justin630, That's definitely not the news that we would like to hear. Kindly check the link below for troubleshooting steps to further isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40158
~Ralph

0

way to gadgetty, poor design, luckily it broke sho

ICF-C1PJ 01/08/2017 by newtoolstom (USA)

Buttons on top, side and back. Either too bright at night or unreadable during day. Quit showing time after about twow months.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2017

Hi newtoolstom, thank you for your post and our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused. We appreciate your feedback and we would like to hear more from you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Thanks. -Erin

0

Stopped working, blew a circuit breaker

ICF-C1PJ 24/07/2017 by TARreview (USA)

It worked GREAT for almost 1 year. Then it kept resetting itself and seemed to blow my circuit breaker. Initially it set itself to the "set timezone" setting, and I could reset it twice (in two days); then it froze on the time setting, but none of the buttons worked; then it went blank, no buttons worked, so I unplugged it (however, the battery allowed the alarm to ring to on old alarm setting that was not "set"...while it was unplugged); now, just to check it, I plugged it in and it just flashes "12:00," but no buttons work...all over a couple of days... I'm most concerned that the circuit breaker, on relatively new wiring, blew, twice, and has been working fine since I unplugged the unit...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/07/2017

Hi TARreview, we are sorry to hear what happened. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you. Thanks. -Erin

0

Almost as good as the ICF-717PJ

ICFC1PJ 13/07/2017 by ENGR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The ICF-C1PJ should have included the external audio input and thermometer as the above unit has.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DO NOT BUY ICF-C1PJ!!!!

ICF-C1PJ 25/06/2017 by M Wilmoth (USA)

I AM ON MY 3RD ONE ( I'AM SLOW TO LEARN) ALL THREE QUIT WORKING AND JUST FLASH 12:00

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/06/2017

Hi Culandun, thanks for bringing this up. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your concern so we can further assist you. Please also include your contact and product information as well as your reference number so we can review your file. We will do our best to help. Regards, ^Ron

0

no good

ICFC1PJ 11/04/2017 by spikeeman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

soon as i plug this clock radio up !Not one of the buttons work!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

5

0

Does what it says on the tin

ICF-C1PJ 19/03/2017 by mikenjane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few weeks ago functions exactly as it should projector clock is great for when u half wake during the night and wonder how much longer you have in bed. Sounds are fun and birds one is brilliant find myself waking easier nowerdays to pleasant natural sounds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worked Great for 6 months then died.

ICFC1PJ 14/03/2017 by Surveydude (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 6 months ago and loved it, until one day when it just stopped working. Everything was working fine, but then nothing worked. It just sits on my nightstand and i turn the alarm on/off each night, then for no reason the screen went totally blank and no buttons would work. Tried resetting the power but nothing worked, tis totally dead.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

2

0

Great little clock radio

ICFC1PJ 13/01/2017 by Cee Dee Bee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a Christmas gift. I wasn't sure I would like the time projection feature but decided to try it and I really like it. I also love the variable brightness of the digital display on the clock face. The fact that I can charge my phone using the USB port is an extra bonus.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stopped Working After Six Months

ICFC1PJ 10/12/2016 by KathyA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loved the product for the first six months, then completely quick working. I'm just hoping I can get it replace as this has the best features and I researched forever.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

Nice product

ICF-C1PJ 09/12/2016 by vjlwalker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very easy to set up. The radio sound is of good quality. Dual alarms both display time and alarm mode when set. There are 3 display brightness settings. The brightest can serve as a night light it's that bright. Plus you can turn it off altogether if you are using the projected display. The volume for the radio alarm can be set to your own preference. However, the buzz alarm volume is not adjustable. It sometimes doesn't wake me up straight away as it is not loud enough. That said I absolutely love this product. It's the best radio alarm clock I've ever had and I've had a few.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fabtastic!!!!!!!!!!

ICF-C1PJ 13/11/2016 by Stephen3219 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ticks all the boxes in what I ever wanted in an alarm clock.Last Sony Digicube I bought in 1982 is still going , but wanted a well over due upgrade.Thanks Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love It!

ICFC1PJ 14/10/2016 by SteveF325 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my Mother at Christmas time. Recently visited her and stayed for the week. I liked this product so much I purchased it for myself.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very Clever

ICF-C1PJ 16/09/2016 by Im Bob M (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few weeks ago, as a replacement for a different manufacturers alarm clock which was not what it claimed. This was thus purchased with some doubts. Will the volume turn down low enough? Yes! Is the sound quality good enough? Yes! will the increasing alarm volume be controllable? Yes! Can the brightness be turned down low enough at night? Yes! In addition to the above it has brilliant features like the time projection on the wall which is not distracting but means you can see the time on the ceiling or wall without straining to look at the clock. Some good sounds too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Life Span One Year

ICFC1PJ 15/08/2015 by Sunnyfun (USA)

We loved the size and the projection ability. We use this in our RV and have had it just over one year. As another reviewer commented, the LED is no longer visible. Only the projection works so cannot set alarms or anything. Good idea but needs to go back for serious review.

25

5

0

LED not bright after 1 year

ICFC1PJ 13/08/2015 by OB15 (USA)

I bought this about 1 year ago. I can no longer read the time as the LED has dimmed to almost black. It goes from black --> black-> to very faint ---> to barely readable. At this price, I expect the product to last longer. Now, it's just a piece of junk.

20

3

Response From SonySupport
20/08/2015

Hi OB15, sorry to hear about this problem and for the frustration this has caused. Try the steps below to adjust the brightness level of this device.
- Press SNOOZE/BRIGHTNESS/ENTER button on the unit.
- Press it repeatedly until the Brightness level is set to high.
Each time you press SNOOZE/BRIGHTNESS/ ENTER, the brightness of the display changes as follows:
High ( Default ) > Middle > Low > Off
NOTES:
When the alarm is sounding or the snooze function is active, the brightness of the display cannot be changed.
Even if the brightness is set to off, the display lights at a low brightness level when the alarm sounds

Your feedback is highly appreciated. Thank you,

0

Good Product

ICFC1PJ 08/06/2015 by Gane (USA)

I would like to know How many hours it can run on Battery for the Radio application. Pls help.

0

6

Response From Sony Support
10/06/2015

Hello Gane! The backup battery power source is used only to keep the clock and the alarm operating during a power interruption. In order to be able to use the radio function it will be necessary to have the power cord connected to the outlet at all times.

0

2 functionalities would make it perfect!

ICFC1PJ 28/05/2015 by liquidsunshine (USA)

Wish you could mix or match the sleep/wake options instead of choosing either nature sounds OR radio for sleep/wake Wish I could plug in my device as source of the music instead of just charging it. All else is quite wonderful!

3

3

Response From SonySupport
02/06/2015

Hi liquidsunshine,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time.