16

1.9 based on 16 customer reviews

1
2
1
3
9
Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great if you have an A7R4!

LA-EA5 28/01/2021 by john925 (USA)

I have an A7R4 and the three A-mount screw drive lenses I care about using with it work perfectly. However, I gave four stars rather than five because it needs to support screw drive AF on more bodies, both already released and all new bodies in the future. No screw drive AF support for the a7c is very disturbing since it came out after the LA-EA5. I'm going to say I would recommend it to a friend, but only if it currently supports the lenses you have with the bodies you have.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

Most Helpful Critical
0

Useless

LA-EA5 30/12/2020 by Max1979 (USA)

The main feature is the motor. But it doesn't work with most cameras (A7M3, o A7-C for that matter). It's ridiculous, for most people this adapter is useless.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0

16 Customer Reviews

0

Good With Supported Lenses

LA-EA5 03/04/2021  (USA)

I purchased the adapter along with the a7iii body to allow me to continue to use my Alpha Mount lenses in conjunction with my a99 body. With the SAL-70200G 70-200mm F/2.8 APO G zoom, performance was about the same, but with more in focus shots than on the a99, but slightly slower performance, and a little hunting in low light/ low contrast (red logo on black leather) than on the a99 (which caught the focus quickly and smartly). If anything, the focus was actually FASTER on the a7iii with the SAL-2470Z 24-70mm f/2.8 Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* AF SSM zoom. I expect similar results with the Sony SAL-1635Z 16-35mm f/2.8 Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* AF SSM zoom. With both the Sigma 50 mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM AF, and Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM AF primes, the autofocus exhibited some of the "jackhammer" focusing issue (that originally needed re-chipping for the a99); more so with the 85mm than the 50mm. It was not unexpected and not a deal breaker. The only disappointment was that af does not work with the Sony SAL-135F18Z 135mm f/1.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* AF prime. I do ted to grab manual focus with this one a lot, but I do hope Sony will eventually provide a firmware update for this lens with the a7iii. 3 Days after getting the camera and adapter, it was out in the field working right next to the a99. All in all, pretty satisfied; hoping for a new firmware update to include the a7iii.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

This adapter is only useful a couple of camera's

LA-EA5 31/03/2021 by Menasor (USA)

I had a lot of hope for the screw drive functionality of this adapter. Sadly, it is limited to only the A7Riv and the A1. Very disappointing. The AF with SSM works well, but I am very disappointed that this adapter doesnt at least work with the Gen 3 cameras, A7Siii A7Riii and the A7iii. PLEASE allow this adapter to work on more cameras!

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Good adapter, but ...

LA-EA5 23/03/2021 by Santander2016 (USA)

... only if you have one of the latest Sony cameras. So it supports old Minolta/Sony screw drive lens, but only with 2 cameras??? For sure camera/adapter firmware upgrades are needed.

Performance

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

No auto focus

LA-EA5 04/03/2021 by 20fps (USA)

I just tried this LA-EA5 adapter at a camera shop on my a9 with my A mount Minolta 80 -200 which says auto focus on the side. This lens auto focuses perfectly on my Sony a77 Mark2 but would only manual focus on my a9. Very disappointed

8

2

0

Great features ruined by unclear product support.

LA-EA5 30/01/2021 by JustinV (USA)

The actual adapter works great for my SSM and SAM A mount lenses; and even supports some of the HSM and USD third party lenses I have (although not fully), which is an unexpected bonus. But there’s no overlooking the limited support of only allowing the screwdrive to be used on two bodies. Even cameras released after the EA5 are lacking support. Sony should announce a clear product roadmap and support for the adapter in new bodies; and ideally add support to older generations via FW updates, when possible. The screwdrive is the main selling point of this adapter over the EA3; restricting it permanently to only two bodies and ending support is a waste.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

2

0

Great if you have an A7R4!

LA-EA5 28/01/2021 by john925 (USA)

I have an A7R4 and the three A-mount screw drive lenses I care about using with it work perfectly. However, I gave four stars rather than five because it needs to support screw drive AF on more bodies, both already released and all new bodies in the future. No screw drive AF support for the a7c is very disturbing since it came out after the LA-EA5. I'm going to say I would recommend it to a friend, but only if it currently supports the lenses you have with the bodies you have.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Waiting for an update

LA-EA5 13/01/2021 by Aaron88 (USA)

It is not possible that it is only compatible with only 2 camera models. I own many valuable lenses including the 135 zeiss, but it doesn't work with my A7r2. i hope sony will update soon as it is not acceptable that it does not work on such expensive cameras.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

28

6

0

Too few bodies support screw driven lenses

LA-EA5 09/01/2021 by Tyler D (USA)

Bought this at launch. I had emailed Sony support asking if screw driven lenses would be supported on the a7c (it wasn't part of their chart). I was told it would So, I bought it in good faith that it would work for some classic Minolta and Sony lenses. But, alas, it does not. I was misinformed. Support for screw driven lenses needs to be expanded to the a7sIII, a7c, and a7III AND every a9/II. Very disappointing when I did my best to research it.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

2

0

Disappointed

LA-EA5 07/01/2021 by Stuck with SLT (USA)

I bought the A7R II as an upgrade from my A mount SLT. WOW it’s cruel joke. Cancel your order now it will save you the trouble of returning it. Sure I can use the EA4 but If I want another element in the light path, I would just keep my SLT. I really want to feel good about my purchase but this is a big stain.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

2

0

Yay and Nay

LAEA5 07/01/2021 by BAH629 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It works great on my a6600, but it’s extremely disappointing that Sony has only made it compatible with two cameras.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Useless

LA-EA5 30/12/2020 by Max1979 (USA)

The main feature is the motor. But it doesn't work with most cameras (A7M3, o A7-C for that matter). It's ridiculous, for most people this adapter is useless.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

0

0

AMAZING!!!!

LA-EA5 11/12/2020 by DukeP (USA)

The LAEA5 works wonders on a Sony A7R iv. Now A mount lenses work 99% as good as the E mount native lenses. I put the Minolta 100mm macro f2.8 and it works just as good if not better than it did on the A99ii. The same goes for the 70 300 G. I didn't like the LAEA4 but the 5 is on a whole nother level. It's not bulky like the LA EA4.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Dont support AF for motorless lens in a7r3

LA-EA5 03/12/2020 by Ljhtxdy (USA)

I cannit believe it doesnt support AF mode for motorless lens in a7r3. A7r3 is much more expensive than a6600. Why A6600 can but a7r3 cannot? It is ridiculous!

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

25

4

0

Very limited compatibility

LA-EA5 29/11/2020  (USA)

I bought this a few weeks ago but sent it back because it didn't work with any of my E mount cameras or A mount lenses despite recommendations from both Amateur Photographer (they ignored my email and have not corrected their review) and Ken Rockell (he has corrected his review after I wrote to him).

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

1

0

only support for high end cameras

LA-EA5 26/11/2020 by dr_kolew (USA)

only support for high end cameras,sony alpha a7rm4 or alpha a9...

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

14

3

0

Literature states it requires a software update.

LAEA5 21/11/2020 by brewcruisin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I falsely assumed that in the nearly 3 months it took to deliver, that the software patch would have been issued. My LA-EA3 works better with my A7RM3 3.10 with any of my motored Amount lenses. Disappointed that product managers would release an ill-advertised product that basically works on just two brand new Emount cameras?

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

21

2