262

4.4 based on 262 customer reviews

152
83
12
8
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

The HX300 is an amazing value!

dschx300b 30/12/2013 by Aube1 (USA)

Overall, the DSC-HX300 is a stunning achievement for Sony. What attracted me was the 50x optical zoom (100x digital enhancement if desired) and the AVCHD movie capability. What convinced me to buy was a series of YouTube reviews by professionals and hobbyists raving about the many features of the camera from its image stabilization, 1200mm (35mm equivalent) zoom lens, and its special effects provisions. Now that I've had a chance to test the camera in various environments from indoor low-light to outdoor snow storm conditions, I'm absolutely thrilled with my decision to buy. I could only be happier if the camera's accessories were a little more reasonably priced. The micro HDMI to HDMI cable is one example. If you're looking for a bridge camera (between a point and shoot and a DSLR) the HX300 is certainly one to consider. If you wanted to equip a DSLR to match the capabilities of this package, you'd have to spend hundreds, if not thousands more. Well done Sony!

24

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Value for money

DSC-HX300 11/09/2015 by Steve5819 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The video quality is excellent even at full zoom with great colour in all conditions. The camera is easy and light to use the picture quality disappoints but never the less it is more than acceptable for most people.its not my main camera I use this as camera I carry around with me just in case something needs recording.for more professional images I take my high end canon. It's ok for holiday snaps

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

262 Customer Reviews

0

Good Camera for 5 years at least!

DSC-HX300 14/02/2020 by JemT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 5 years ago. Being a complete novice it's taken me a while to get used to the features but they are quite simple once you know how to use it. I have been very happy with the photos produced by this camera and it's capabilities. The video is brilliant quality. It is quite bulky and heavy but the casing feels good. Unfortunately after 5 years of use and taking care of this camera I received a dreaded error message (E:62:10) which is apparently to do with the lens balancing. Of course by now it is out of warranty and the only advice Sony could give was to send it away for repair but they couldn't give a cost estimate (even though I now believe this to be a common fault) and I suspect given it's age and current value, it wouldn't be cost effective to repair. On reading reviews I've seen that sadly this is a common fault with Sony cameras. As I needed a camera and knew this wouldn't be sorted out immediately (if at all) I had to buy a new camera but I've gone for a different brand this time. I'm a big Sony fan but despite 5 happy years with this camera, this has put me off. 3 of my friends have similar cameras to this one (slightly different model numbers but still a Sony Bridge) and they are all going well and they're really happy with them. I guess I got unlucky!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Lightweight and great zoom

DSC-HX300 02/01/2020 by lochiegirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this camera for two weeks now and I am delighted with it....the main advantage is the weight of the camera. Also I like to photograph wildlife and the zoom on this camera is exceptional

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Zoom

DSC-HX300 19/11/2018 by John207 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only obtained this recently, and am still in the process of thoroughly testing it. The camera is quite light, and fits nicely in the hand, and the swinging screen makes it easy to get shots from unusual angles. The controls are well placed and easy to operate. The results so far have been very good throughout the zoom range, and on various modes. I would have preferred the change from screen to viewfinder to have been automatic when you put your eye to the viewfinder rather than on a separate switch, but that is a relatively small down side. I haven't yet tried any flash photographs, and the pop-up flash does seem to be quite small, so I am not expecting great coverage. A hot-shoe for an external flash would have been nice, but since the built-in microphones are exactly where that would be, it would have meant a complete re-design of the camera. I have not tried any movie yet, but in view of the good results obtained from still photographs I have no reason to expect that results will be anything but good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Easy Use!

DSC-HX300 13/10/2018 by Debs22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera a couple of weeks ago and couldn’t be happier with it. Easy to use, lots of features and produces great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great buy

DSC-HX300 08/10/2018 by Kombucha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

fast and good, always sharp focus, light and ergonomic in hands

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good camera for price

DSC-HX300 19/07/2018 by Dhakshin (USA)

I bought this about 5 years ago, but still its good in focus and taking shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Operates well

DSC-HX300 27/06/2018 by David377 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not really had the camera long enough to be fully conversant with it but I like its performance so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Use to love Sony NOT ANYMORE

DSC-HX300 23/06/2018 by Me22 (USA)

After all my life using sony products this is the END, they ruined my memories for my daughters wedding because the stablizer in the H300 goes out when you try to film or take pictures of very blue scenery

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Good Camera

DSC-HX300 19/04/2018 by BPBN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 50X optical zoom was the main attraction, takes nice sharp photos and still compact to carry around. I always use the AUTO setting! Why oh why isn't the lens cap attached to the camera though?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Features

DSC-HX300 29/01/2018 by qwertygirl01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two months ago as my first ever bridge camera and whilst I'm still learning, I'm really enjoying the excellent features, the look, weight and feel of the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great camera

DSC-HX300 05/09/2017 by Lullabell (USA)

I love this camera, but when I try to hook it to my pc, it never wants to let me download the photos. Something is broken between the HP and Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2017

Hi Lullabell, We apologize if you are having trouble importing the images stored in the camera. The link provided will show you the proper way of transferring images using a USB cable to a computer. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/35806

0

Good compact

DSC-HX300 10/08/2017 by Sorry none (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product with a good integral zoom lens,fair amount of information within its menu

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Wonderful Camera

DSCHX300/B 03/05/2017 by Simply Pics (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this camera! Can set on automatic features and take great looking photos! Or for the more intense picture taker, you can manually set as you like for desired effect! Great features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

very good camera

DSC-HX300 08/01/2017 by rog25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera initially as a short term replacement for my stolen dlsr, however i am keeping it because it is almost as good and takes great pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Zeiss lens

DSC-HX300 10/12/2016 by PhotoMad2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the Zeiss lens but it's a shame the camera anti-shake function doesn't work well, and the final result is not a clear sharp photo. View it at 100% and you'll see what I mean. Even when resting the camera on something solid when taking the pic, the end result is not sharp, and it's not always handy to take every photo using a tripod, so because of that I am so disappointed in this camera. There is no booklet manual, you go online to read it, or use the guide stored on the camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

Love my camera

DSCHX300/B 27/11/2016 by Littleone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got it as early Christmas present. Great camera for so small of a camera. Really light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Novice Photographer

DSCHX300/B 24/09/2016 by DTSilva (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this each and every day. I am an artist and art historian. Need to document my work so a simple entry level point and shoot was my reason for purchase. Now I am into landscape photography and am learning how to use this camera like a pro. It takes great photos and I enjoy the hobby.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Colour is colour!

DSC-HX300 25/08/2016 by beachcomberoflee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera on the advice of a friend and have been pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My new photographic sketch book.

DSC-HX300 15/08/2016 by Sunnymead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted with my new DSC HX300 camera. The only two slight criticisms are that the lens cap cannot be attached to the camera by a lens strap like I could with my two previous Sony Bridge Cameras, and also the lack of a printed comprehensive manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

First class!

DSC-HX300 12/08/2016 by Spod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We think this is one of the best cameras I have had even though most of my previous cameras have been SLRs. I love the lens and have found it particularly useful in taking wildlife pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great phone

DSC-HX300 29/07/2016 by buster202 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

liked the price and quality, good looks and build 10/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-HX300 23/05/2016 by Derilict (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lots of features to help take good photos and videos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

LOVE IT!!!

DSC-HX300 15/05/2016 by MARY POPPINS TO 4 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT THIS CAMERA AFTER A LOT OF LOOKING FOR A CAMERA THAT WOULD GIVE ME GOOD QUALITY PICTURES UP CLOSE AND WITH THE ZOOM. THIS DOES EXACTLY THAT -LOVELY CLOSE UPS AND GREAT DETAIL AT A DISTANCE. I AM ONLY USING IT ON AUTO BUT I THINK MORE EXPERIENCED PHOTOGRAPHERS COULD MAKE GOOD USE OF IT TOO. WHEN MY SON IN LAW SAW IT HE IMMEDIATELY SAID THAT HE WAS GOING TO BUY ONE TOO!

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera ,great features,great price

DSC-HX300 13/04/2016 by Neil54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with my camera , it does so much for a great price ,would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Easy to use and great results!

DSC-HX300 11/04/2016 by Chicky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given my HX300 as a present and am really impressed with my results, makes me look like a professional photographer!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The camera perfect for the next step up

DSC-HX300 31/03/2016 by Rod 45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had digital instant snap cameras for years I was looking to upgrade to a dSLR as I wanted a camera that could more with (A) a high power zoom and (B) a multi pictures per second to capture fast moving wildlife action and this camera is just the job ,easy to use with a built in menu and instructions , it fits well in the hand , and costing a lot less than dSLR cameras it's great value for money

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

DSC-HX300 'BRIDGE' CAMERA

DSC-HX300 22/03/2016 by The Old Geezer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the design, good handgrip / control placement. The '?' button to access the in camera guide is an excellent idea. The camera has a quality feel to it - smooth zoom action, sturdy controls, good thumb rest and for people like me with big hands, a video button which is far enough away so that I don't keep taking videos by accident. The tilting screen is useful, too. Picture quality is great. Minor gripes - no 'captive' lens cap; no lens hood and I found the diopter adjustment difficult to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent for my first bridge camera

DSC-HX300 16/03/2016 by peter 58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still learning all the camera features, but very pleased with it so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-HX300 09/02/2016 by G0RD0N (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this two weeks ago, great features, only let down lense cover has no cord securing it to camera when removing from lens. Can be dropped or lost.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

well specked, easy to use

DSC-HX300 09/02/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

easy to handle , sensible menus, and an easy shoot mode , plus the versatility of program modes make this superb value for money. I needed a camera with an eye view as well as a screen. Other features include the focus/zoom ring I find easy to use. 10 out of 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

very good bridge camera

DSC-HX300 07/02/2016 by rich63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb auto focus, great functions. Picture quality top quality . Only one small niggle, no attachment for lens cover.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great camera with brilliant zoom

DSC-HX300 29/01/2016 by SYD 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good quality piece of kit does what it says on yhe box

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great for wildlife photography

DSC-HX300 21/01/2016 by sats (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

pulled in some rare birds[feathered] due to the stunningly good zoom,a must for wildlife videoers

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

DSC-HX300 13/01/2016 by Nigel B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After doing a lot of research Sony cameras came out best in bridge cameras

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant zoom

DSC-HX300 06/01/2016 by Ozzy10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The zoom is brilliant and unbelievably clear. The video function is full he and works well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

super snapper

DSC-HX300 05/01/2016 by redcap (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present the best thing ever given to me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great alround bridge camera

DSC-HX300 02/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a Christmas present for self. Great camera for good amature, Self, and even budding professional. Easy to use and get used to. Well satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent quality images

DSC-HX300 10/12/2015 by Andy H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good quality camera, easy to use and excellent pictures. Used mainly for images of component parts to be inserted into assembly instructions used ina factory environment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great menu setup ,easy to follow and execute

DSC-HX300 10/12/2015 by jonjo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

only regret I have,i wish I had puchased the next model up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great zoom and stabilisation

DSC-HX300 30/11/2015 by jondoe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have put this camera through a tough time driving many miles on uneven roads and am happy to say the stabilisation still works well. I like that I can take a snaphot during filming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

zoom

DSC-HX300 24/11/2015 by jaz89 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great zoom but took a bit of adjusting to take close up insects and flowers

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features, photos look professional!

DSC-HX300 24/11/2015 by Laura001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used both the camera and HD video features, which are fantastic. I've not had the chance to use the 3D feature as I've yet to have a 3D TV, but that's for future. My pictures look professional taken with this camera despite being a complete beginner. I would definitely recommend this camera. Also, it works seamlessly with my iMac.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

What a camera!

DSC-HX300 19/11/2015 by iains (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant camera I'm happy to recommend. The resolution is great and the zoom stupendous. Loads of features to play with and the best of all - the anti-shake - is the best of all as I'm prone to the odd shake especially when zooming in a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good camera

DSC-HX300 31/10/2015 by Yankpist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I 've not had the time to really explore the camera's capabilities but the pictures I have taken are very good and overall I am well pleased. Except it still should have come with a hard copy manual.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

DSC-HX300 22/10/2015 by bigtaximac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for going to zambia and I wish I had bought it a few weeks sooner so as to get used to the features. The photos it takes are superb, the animals and birds I snapped were crystal clear , it was only my lack of knowledge that let some of the snaps .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Features

DSC-HX300 18/10/2015 by Crispy2015 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good camera, love it. Great picture and video taking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Good, but not perfect.

DSC-HX300 12/10/2015 by GFC001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having taken over several thousand photographs I’m currently still getting used to it. The only real negative I have found is the image write speed. The delay between shots at maximum image quality is several seconds. This means many photographic opportunities can be missed. I moved over from a Canon Compact to this camera as I could not justify and DSLR & all the lenses I would want. I wanted better zoom & image quality which I got. I found the controls fall easily to hand & are fairly self-explanatory. Once you are used to them it is easy to switch between modes & control Speed, Aperture, ISO, Flash, etc. I usually use either Auto or Manual. The image stabilisation seems good and it is fairly easy to hand hold the camera at maximum zoom, including digital, in reasonable light. The trade off in quality when digitally zooming is very significant. The weight of the camera is good. It feels solid, yet does not weigh too much when carried for a long time. I’m getting over 300 images to the battery & like the fact that it recharges when connected on the USB port. This means I can recharge it in the car when on the move. Saying that I did invest in a second battery for the times when recharging is not an option. To conclude I’ll say it is a very capable camera produces very good results. It is just a pity about the image write speed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A real camera with amazing features

DSC-HX300 14/09/2015 by De Elby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera a couple of weeks ago and am still discovering surprises with it. The operation is easy and the photographs are excellent. I believe it was great value for money and will meet all my picture taking requirements.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0