364

4.4 based on 364 customer reviews

201
125
26
6
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome camera

With GPS 11/12/2013 by BobHarris06 (USA)

Very impressed by this camera. Picture quality is great even in low light, even in full zoom they are good. The HD video is amazing, as good as a dedicated hand held video camera. Battery life is very good as well. Big zoom with awesome picture quality and great battery life. GPS and Wi-Fi are the icing on the cake.

50

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great camera

With GPS 07/07/2015 by Blondy503 (USA)

I am an amateur photographer who loves taking pictures of my kids. This camera makes me look like I know more than I do about photography. It's nice and small and easy to carry. The picture quality is amazing and I LOVE the fact that you can transfer the pictures over wifi. HOWEVER....unfortunately this past week (1 week after 1 year limited warranty was up) I took a picture and the pop up flash sparked and made a popping noise and no longer works. I have Googled everything possible to find a replacement pop up flash and can't find one anywhere. I love this camera but it's useless without the flash. VERY unhappy due to this issue. other than this....the camera really was amazing.

4

0

364 Customer Reviews

0

quality design automatic Manuel and many more

DSC-HX50 19/08/2018  (United Kingdom)

i got it a while back from a friend and I'm so glad i did

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great photos

DSC-HX50 09/08/2018 by Lez999 (United Kingdom)

Had this three years and still takes great photos all over the world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great

DSC-HX50 22/07/2018 by rob1066 (United Kingdom)

very happy with this camra thanks takes great long distance shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fabulous camera until you get the C32:60 error

DSC-HX50V 19/06/2018 by Sailorgirl87 (USA)

I bought this camera in 2014. It has fabulous zoom and macro capabilities, pocket size, easy for traveling or shooting while out and about. Used the camera regularly for three solid years, over 2000 pictures. In 2017, I turned the camera on and got the C32:60 error message. I've sent the camera back to Sony for repairs twice. Each time it has come back, worked for a short period of time, then the error message comes back. It is a roll of the dice as to whether the camera will function properly when I turn it on. I did find the 'hard reboot' instructions, which, again, only temporarily solve the problem. My dilemma is that I love love love this camera, and have not been able to find a comparable new product which has the macro and zoom capabilities of the HX50. But I am so frustrated that Sony has not been able to repair the camera, and it is 50/50 whether the camera will function properly when I need it. Can't begin to tell you how many shots have been missed of late.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It's a great camera ,like all Sony cams ..

DSC-HX50V 05/05/2018 by Prem10000 (USA)

I'm happy with this camera ..I love to use this ....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/05/2018

Hi Prem10000, We are glad to hear that you are happy and you love using your new Sony camera. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Greatest camera ever

With GPS 25/04/2018 by john303 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 years ago and it has been with me on many trips. The pictures are crisp and look great. The zoom is also the best I've ever seen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sony Camera With Lots Features

DSC-HX50V 23/04/2018 by CowboysFan982 (USA)

I got this camera back in 2013. I replaced my Canon compact camera which I considered one step down from a DSLR. I wanted a smaller camera I could use for travel and whenever I am out. There is a lot more you can do with the sony hx50v than you can with cameras iPhones and smartphones. More features and takes incredible pictures. The quality is excellent. I would definitely recommend the Sony HX50v to anyone. I plan on buying the Sony RX100V

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great little camera

With GPS 19/04/2018 by Lupe el villano (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 years ago an the reason I am replacing it with another Sony camera is that I dropt it and the flash do not work

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great

With GPS 16/12/2017 by pvaleso (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I so happy with this product, I can take excelent pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unique

DSC-HX50V 06/12/2017 by Sharlz2day88 (USA)

Fantastic, small, great for out and indoor use and great for being creative in photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality macro to zoom

DSC-HX50V 31/07/2017 by 3iram (USA)

VERY happy with this camera. Fits in my purse and take great shots anywhere I go for any occasion :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not worth the money

DSC-HX50V 24/06/2017 by Lynne E (USA)

I was really happy with this camera when I first purchased it. It has nice features, and pictures look good. However, after owning it less than 3 years, the flash has already broken, and I can no longer get clear photos indoors. What a waste!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2017

Hi there! We're really sorry to hear about what happened to your camera. Rest assured that your feedback will be forwarded to the relevant department. If you wish to have it repaired, you may visit our eService website at https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl

0

Tele-photo Lens

With GPS 13/12/2016 by xoxo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a previous model and the electrical blew out so I purchased a replacement. Love the camera - relatively lite and the telephoto is phenominal for such a compact camera - It has lots of app tho I only use a few but takes great pics. I use it primarily for sporting events (Basketball and Football) and it takes great shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant compact camera

DSC-HX50 06/12/2016 by BryPeaPod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect for snapping but has enough features to ensure the perfect photo every time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The 30X is the great

With GPS 04/12/2016 by rick7447 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best camera I have ever had. The 30X zoom is what sold me on the camera. I no longer have to lug around bags full of lens to get the shot I want.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good

DSC-HX50 15/11/2016 by phuday (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera just for fun and to achieve mega zoom on my pocket :)

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good quality video recording

DSC-HX50 14/11/2016 by Lou Lou Bug (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and carry round. I receive a good quality recording experience with quality sound. Easily fits into my pocket ready to be at hand when required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera but fussy

DSC-HX50 16/08/2016 by Blackbird (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera eighteen months ago to replace one that had broken (not a Sony product) after it was recommended by a friend. Although very versatile and efficient I found it more difficult and less convenient to use - the controls are overcomplicated and fiddly, and my previous camera had an adjustable viewfinder instead of a display screen which is often far from ideal especially in bright sunlight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Sony cybershot.

With GPS 29/06/2016 by Shaun68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for our holls. Loved it. The video quality is superb as is every thing else on it. I take it everywhere.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Compact wizard

DSC-HX50 23/04/2016 by JanRR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To get the best from this camera, you need to use it regularly - there's a lot to learn. However, from my irregular use, I've mastered the basics - the pictures are sharp, the zoom is brilliant, the weight is ideal to hold the camera steady when using the zoom and it fits into a jacket pocket. My "techie" son thinks it's great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Very pleased

DSC-HX50 21/04/2016 by Cargocare (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is small, high quality and a great lens. The 3 x photographs shown were taken from approx. 6m (20ft). The camera is easy to use, (could be better when using the WiFi) and has good features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Sony camera DSC-HX50

DSC-HX50 12/03/2016 by Pottyscotty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It stopped working and I don't know how to sort it out, and I'm in need of some help, cause the camera comes on, but you can't see nothing throw it, or can't take a picture and it don't let you load up the menu so that I can factory reset it, so I don't know what to do with it, bin it or not

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great features and quality for the price

DSC-HX50 15/01/2016 by stewym (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this several months ago and have used it for video and pictures. I got this after my Panasonic TZ20 failed. Difficult to see much difference in picture but the video performance on the HX50 is much better especially the low light (in door) performance. There is so much less noise and the autofocus usually locks on OK. I like that you can send pictures to your phone and play them on your Sony TV just a shame you cannot do video as well. I shoot 1080p50 and the file sizes are not too large but it might be nice to have the option to do 720p50.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Packed with features

DSC-HX50 13/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about four months ago. It suits me well, as I'm only a holiday snaps type of photographer. The pictures it takes are lovely and there is an unexpected array of additional features - most of which I haven't yet used, although they would be of great interest to a more expert photographer. I'm very pleased with the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Almost perfect

DSC-HX50 06/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this camera, especially now that they are at an easily affordable price. The only reason it doesn't get the full 5 stars overall and for design and ease of use is the maddening ease with which the video start/stop button can be pressed. It is poorly placed and not recessed enough to prevent inadvertent activation. Otherwise a great camera which I use a lot for in-flight paragliding shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

great for night pitchers. with or without flash

DSC-HX50 03/01/2016 by zippordh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my sony-hx50 because it was cheep and im glad I did its easy tp use with its 30xzoom good for night pitchers happy

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Graet Value

DSC-HX50 02/01/2016 by JohnM67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had to replace my old Sony Compact after I dropped it. Very pleased with the advanced features and easy to use after initial familiarisation. The 30x zoom is quite adequate and hand-held images are sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A really useful camera

DSC-HX50 21/12/2015 by Grandad70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This handy sized camera packs all the features you could ever need. I find the Wi-Fi transfer of data excellent, quick and easy. I would recommend this to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-HX50 21/11/2015 by Macrock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 10 days ago & have used it twice with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sony little Gem

DSC-HX50 20/11/2015 by wayne27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera loads of good features but could have done with GPS as standard on all models but fantastic ge

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Everything is perfect

DSC-HX50 18/11/2015 by Zaki96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The pic is cleat and very easy to use as it has different types of connectivities...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very good camera

DSC-HX50 06/11/2015 by Biggyfly101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy to have purchased this camera, very good features

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Super Zoom Compact

DSC-HX50 04/11/2015 by garethg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wannted a compact camera with a good zoom lens,after having several DSLRs'. Needed somethging that was esy to carry around and has a good set of features.I looked at other high zoom compacts to compare ,and this one was the best. Super value, superb image qaulity,good chunky size.Only one niggle, on/off button is too small and not easy to press if you have big fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant Camera

DSC-HX50 20/10/2015 by rhys963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned a few cameras and this is easily the best within the price range. Picture quality is great as is almost everything else about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Easy to use quality compact

DSC-HX50 18/10/2015 by Grandad 50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this two weeks ago as replacement fro aging Bridge camera. At least 500 pictures taken to date, people, places, flora and fauna. After quickly getting used to differences in operation from bridge camera I am very pleased with how easy this is to use and what good, sharp images I get. At least every other one so far is a keeper! My wife is also using it alot and os pleased with the ease of operation and quality of results. You can't go wrong !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing user control

DSC-HX50 10/10/2015 by Bacchus719 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As someone who started out using an SLR with an assortment of lenses, I find this a wonderful and superior replacement and I don't have to carry a bag full of kit with me! The stabilized zoom is incredible and full manual control if I wish. I could never handhold a medium telephoto at less than 1/125 second, now I can with a much bigger zoom. A lot to memorise in the guide and it will need to be read many times.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

video recording broken.item returned for refund

With GPS 08/10/2015 by kurt61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

video recording broken.item returned for refund...

0

0

0

Pocket perfect.

DSC-HX50 29/09/2015 by Satalite (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased for a coming trip to India. Initial findings are that the camera is very comfortable to hold when shooting. The colour rendition is very true to life and the picture sharpness is spot on, with the exception on occasion at full zoom setting. The menu is reasonably easy to navigate, and the mode options cover all of the usual SLR camera range. The rear screen is quite challenging in bright sunlight as definition is not the best. I found that a Matt screen protector made a slight improvement. Very little manipulation required to produce a very acceptable A4 size print. For the price, I believe that it would be a camera hard to better. I think Sony have got it about right. Can recomend to all requiring a camera in a similar price range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Experience after a month

DSC-HX50 28/09/2015 by MunchMunch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the DSC HX-50 as a replacement for my old Canon Ixus which was well past the sell by date. My decision was based on the many favourable reviews in magazines and online. Keeping it short the basic operation is fairly simple though more complex settings are quite hard to figure out, even for an experienced snapper like me (though I do mostly use DSLR) . I found image quality ok but was disappointed after the reviews 'bigged' it up so much. Main problem being low light and image stability and yes I have tried all of the appropriate modes and settings. My biggest bug bear however is the time between shots, even my old cam bought about 2008, could shoot faster then every second this model sometimes takes 3 or 4 seconds, unacceptable really. Movie quality is very good and the image stability is for movies also fairly impressive. The 30x zoom feature is fair if shooting from a stable base. All in all I can't say i'm impressed for this price which is a shame as it seems quite well built apart from some give in the lens when extended. Hopefully more time and experience will lead me to better results.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Neat little camera

DSC-HX50 24/09/2015 by Jaxlarkabout (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my old Sony Cybershot because I wanted a higher optical zoom. This camera is perfect. It's easy to use, has lots of great features, looks good, is an excellent size and yes - it has a 30 x optical zoom. I love that you can send your photos to your computer using Wifi too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0