26

4.3 based on 26 customer reviews

12
11
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

26 Customer Reviews

0

Compact and feature filled

DSC-HX99 10/08/2019 by Willsley (United Kingdom)

Owned for a month so still getting to grips with the camera layout. Once I have got to grips with it, it will be perfect fit my needs, due to size and lens quality. So far the results are amazing, getting them on to my iPad however is near impossible, due to Sony App.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Early days

DSC-HX99 26/07/2019 by 56614 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not found all the facilities on the camera yet, so far so good, haven't got the copy to smartphone going properly, persevering.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Well built & very compact camera.

DSC-HX99 23/07/2019 by Pea Jay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to be more portable than my SLR + lenses but still capable of very good photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice camera

DSCHX99/B 10/07/2019 by DeeMo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera seems easy but without a printed user manual it is a pain in the ### to have to print 500+ pages or go online to find out how to use the features

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

STILLS CAMERA???

DSC-HX99 08/07/2019 by Baptist (United Kingdom)

Youtube reviews focus on this cameras video qualities and few talk of the still image quality. I have had cameras by nikon, panasonic, and with sony imaging used in top class phones, i decided to go sony for their sensor. As I like to take a camera with me to my local nature reserve i wanted a pocket sized zoomer. unfortunately i am far from satisfied with this cameras stills. even putting the camera on a base and using 700mm to photograph ducks the images were out of focus and poor. I think also that there are far too many settings and features to contend with, i find i am going to have to experiment with the settings to get the best out of it. Then there's the popup view finder. Ok so its a little inconvenient poping it up but its really anoying when you push it down and the lens retracts, then you think its off and put it away, only to have the lens open again. you then have to power off manually with the button, whats going on. Surely when i pop the view finder in i may want to carry on shooting by screen, why does the lens retract then come back out again. I just wanted a point and shoot with zoom. My Huawie p30 pro does better stills. My wifes Panasonic lumix is a 30x zoom and its a few years old now, but it just point zoom and you have a good shot. no worrying about if stupid AI is on etc. Sony, stop putting gimmicy setting on your superb sensors and lets have a point and shoot that does just that. So would i buy on knowing what i know now. Sorry Sony but no. I will probably take my wifes Panasonic with the sony one day and test them out on the same subjects. As for video, well the Utube videos are right, its great. May be im expecting too much and should continue to use my larger format camera but its just a pain to carry when your walking the dog.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Good Specification

DSC-HX99 02/07/2019 by Cotswolds (United Kingdom)

The 'Noise' levels are unbelievably BAD. Noise at 200 ISO

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

My new favourite camera!

DSC-HX99 29/06/2019 by Classic Chris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've just had this camera for over a week so I haven't had a chance to discover all its features yet. However, since taking some practice shots I have to say i am very impressed as I am really just a point and shoot photographer. I like the fact the camera helps me to get the best photo by offering advice re use of flash. I really wanted a small, lightweight camera to take on holiday but one that would allow me to zoom in on points of interest. This one appears to fit the bill for me. Getting the chance of £50 cashback from Sony is an added bonus. I am impressed with the zoom on this little powerhouse. I took a photo from my back garden then by chance the zoom allowed me to spot a young magpie nestling in a fir tree. I will be looking forward to testing the zoom even more when I go on holiday. Another feature I really like is being able to send photos from the camera to my Samsung phone with ease. This will be handy if I want to share holiday photos to view on the larger phone screen. My husband has decided to rely on my new Sony hx99 to capture all our holiday moments this year rather than take his heavier and bulkier bridge camera. No more lugging a heavy shoulder bag for me! I just hope I don't have to beg to use my new camera as he may not want to give it back once he tries it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Difficult to understand how to work

DSC-HX99 22/06/2019 by No to Sony (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Far to difficulty to understand all the functions Also the money back incentive that is on at moment so difficult to get the money back

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Everything fine

DSC-HX99 06/06/2019 by Earld (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far all aspects of camera are working fine. Only problem is when turning camera off there is a significant lag so unsure whether camera is shutting down or not.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

sd card shipped doesn't fit into the camera.

DSCHX99/B 31/05/2019 by inspired (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven't used the camera yet. The 32 SD shipped with the camera was not a micro that can be used in the camera.

0

2

0

Very small compact but great zoom

DSC-HX99 28/05/2019 by Fazered (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant camera. Auto focus is good and loads of features. For its size it performs really well. Sharp images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features for A Photography Beginner

DSC-HX99 26/05/2019 by lynddyloo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven’t used the camera much so can’t review all the features. However, what I have used is great. I love the way the automatic setting adjusts to a landscape, portrait, macro etc picture. The zoom is fantastic, although the picture isn’t as clear at full zoom (I expected this). I am hoping to take some great shots on holiday in a few weeks time. I am one of these photographers that finds it very difficult to get to grips with manual settings so my DSLR is rarely off automatic. This Sony also has the benefit of producing good pictures and still fitting in my handbag unlike my DSLR.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super zoom super compact

DSC-HX99 26/05/2019 by ExWeddingPhotographer (United Kingdom)

I have been waiting for a truly pocket sized all round camera for travel pictures and i have no regrets buying this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Exactly what I wanted

DSC-HX99 22/05/2019 by Fred53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few weeks ago. Having owned Sony cameras for a number of years was sure it would be a good choice. I wanted a camera with bridge like capabilities but small enough to put in a jacket pocket. Having tried the camera initial results are excellent. The small size is taking some getting used to but the pictures I have taken and video footage is brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great small camera that fits easily in my handbag

DSC-HX99 12/05/2019 by Sueandwhimsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it 3 months ago on holiday when my previous camera broke

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Easy to Use, So Portable and Professional Results

DSC-HX99 08/05/2019 by Rob Norfolk (United Kingdom)

The HX99 camera is such a powerful camera, yet so small that can fit easily into a pocket or in my wife's case easily lost in her handbag. I'm not a professional photographer, just casual snaps with the children, but the pictures we go from the camera at our recent wedding was superb. Fantastic action shot of the confetti, and even with it being zoomed in you could make out each piece of confetti. Amazing, the pictures from the first dance, where it was dark but with some bright lights in the back ground was amazing. Normally blacks become grey and fuzzy in previous cameras or phones we use. But this camera's low light sensors are fantastic. Although the camera has lots of function, we only use it a decent point and shoot and have to say we are very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Compact Bundle

DSC-HX99 27/04/2019 by Caro2 (United Kingdom)

Happy to have a neat camera with excellent features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera but hard to share photos

DSC-HX99 11/04/2019 by Whereisthegeotag (United Kingdom)

The Sony HX99 is a really great camera but it is really hard to share photos if you don't have access to your desktop. We bought this camera to take photos travelling around the US, but the process to get a photo back to even your iPhone is so messy and time consuming. And the lack of (easy) geotagging is a big disappointment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

No More Missed Images

DSC-HX99 10/04/2019 by ChrisB15 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was into the camera as soon as it arrived. Luckily I had a MicroSD card to hand as the camera comes without storage media (the norm these days!). Loved the handling, holding steady is easy but the back-up of 'Steady Shot' is reassuring. The quality of the tiny viewfinder is amazing, as is the range of the zoom. I shoot in Raw so processing is my forte. Noise might be a problem but I am preparing to research into that. Only problem is acquiring a constructive approach to macro. How close and at what focal length do I switch from the 'Aperture-Priority' setting to the Scene setting of Macro. I have downloaded the manual for some intensive research of this and to see if there are many benefits of using the DMF focus setting. Now I don't have to remember where a good image was if I haven't got my Sony DSLR with me & go back later (often forgetting!). The HX99 slips out of my pocket and I can immediately capture the scene I want at high quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Great zoom

DSC-HX99 23/03/2019 by Gilly68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for two weeks, and I love it, small enough to fit in your pocket, but it packs a punch, the zoom is fantastic, lots of other features, very easy to download., and great clear pictures. Against is very small controls. Would recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Pocket size power pack

DSC-HX99 16/03/2019 by Scrumpy77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a novice camera man but what a dynamic bundle this camera is. Amazing quality pictures even at the ridiculous 30x zoom. Best camera I've ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great budget 4k camera

DSC-HX99 09/03/2019 by Jeffrey Productions (USA)

Been using this camera for about 4 months. And it has held up surprisingly well. I put it through rain and extremely cold conditions and it is fine though I do not recommend this since it is not water proof. I used a Sony handy-cam CX-405 for about a year and when I upgraded in December I noticed a large difference. I use the camera just for its video and it is great, the 4k is clear and has great color. The camera is small so it has a smaller censor so it is not great in low light anything under 400 ISO and the image is really clear. Very good mic for a point and shoot and fairly quick zoom during video, but the movement of the lense does come across on the cameras mic but unlike the handy-cam there is no noise coming from the camera that gets picked up on the mic. The only thing I would like to be added is a night shot mode, like the one on the FDR-AX33. Over all great camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Workhorse

DSC-HX99 12/12/2018 by MocaPalm (USA)

I purchased this three weeks ago for a trip to Peru, also carried my Sony A6000 along. The 4K videos were crisp and selfie mode is perfect if you're into that sorta thing. Viewfinder was fine once we figure it out but touchscreen was not great for shooting. (I may need to read up on the touch functions more) Zoom was nice but a small tripod is helpful to keep steady. Menu system is complicated so familiarize yourself with it before a big trip. WiFi worked fine for transferring photos. Shot in JPEG and Raw.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

So small

DSC-HX99 28/11/2018 by Jyunes (USA)

I'm happy with the cam. The thing is extremely easy to take with you. The problem is that the stabilization is very lacking. You can get blurry photos even at half zoom. Let alone full 720mm. 3/4 times the photo won't be usable. They should try to fix this. The zoom is the main selling point and you can't use it that much. Also the touchscreen is almost useless. You can't even use it to input a password!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

Response From Sony Social Support
30/11/2018

Hi Jyunes, You may use the SteadyShot function of the camera for both still images and when shooting videos: https://helpguide.sony.net/dsc/1820/v1/en/search/search.html?search=stabilization.
We appreciate your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Interesting update of the HX90.

DSC-HX99 27/11/2018  (USA)

Good: RAW finally. I would assume it shots photos and HD video as well as the HX90. Bad: HDMI jack still in an unusable location. 4K only 5 minutes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Bang for the buck!

DSC-HX99 17/11/2018 by Gjsmith (USA)

Just started playing around but my plans to shoot Rome and Venice without my FX DSLR and all my gear is getting easier to imagine. Still need to do some long exposure testing but I'm currently getting much more comfortable with the idea.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0