292

4.5 based on 292 customer reviews

192
73
11
7
9
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Powerful Camera -- Perfect for Baby-Boomers

DSCRX100/B 26/07/2012 by BeJay (USA)

This review comes after my having read all of the pre-release and early on-line reviews, then buying an RX100 in a local Sony Store -- it totally exceeds my expectations. This product review is probably different from most others. I am a Senior Citizen with very specific needs, needs which the RX100 is satisfying brilliantly, for instance: (1) I have been experiencing vision issues which challenge my use of a DSLR's eyepiece. The huge and hugely bright LCD display on the RX100 aides my composition and focusing comfort (as does the quick and accurate autofocus). (2) The combination of several features in one compact camera body precludes my needing other equipment. In particular, the 28mm-100mm optical zoom together with the digital zoom extension to 200mm; the ultra-wide angle panorama mode; and, its breath-taking 1080 HD video with full active camera functions and still frame capture ability. I'm using its MP4 format and Mac computers. (3) Also, besides adding years to its "Obsolescence Window" by jumping to 20Mpixel resolution [my last Nikon digital camera works but has only 5Mpixel, hence obsolete], having such large images allows me to crop down to smaller sections of the image and still have plenty of pixels to print -- effectively increasing the RX100's "magnification" even more than it's stated optical and digital zoom ranges. (4) The combination of a very large sensor and the F1.8 lens, together with the camera's uncanny ability to adjust for strong backlight, has allowed me to minimize the need for any flash at all. I'm taking pictures that my previous equipment simply couldn't handle w/o fill flash. (5) And, finally, the fast internal processor and support for large, fast memory cards, encourages me to use the RX100's 10 image per second burst capture, which is a major aide in getting just the right expression when I am photographing blinking adults and/or typically hyperactive Newborn to 4-year-old granchildren. The price of having to kill all of the "extra" stills in the burst is small compared to getting the perfect shot, or not getting it. I'm using a 16Gb Class 10 but intend to try a 95Mbps Extreme Pro memory to see whether the Rx100 is even faster! So, although there are a few "shortcomings" as mentioned in the on-line and other customers' reviews (i.e., weak on-camera flash, no hot shoe, HDMI port next to the tripod mount, weak user manual so far), this camera truly is top of its class and an excellent investment for people like me who do a lot of grandchild photos and vacation/travel photos -- I started photographing my latest grandson's birth the same afternoon that I bought the RX100; and I can hardly wait for next February to take this little beauty along to New Zealand and Australia (for this active vacation I am buying a trekking pole with a camera mount to use as a monopod).

72

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Frustratingly Disappointed

DSC-RX100 03/06/2014 by Sadder (United Kingdom)

Sent 2 back. First started great - fantastic picture quality, then something went wrong, picture quality went haywire and it corrupted sd card. Second one had noticeably poorer picture quality than first one. So disappointing as at it's best the pictures were fantastic. Need to up the quality control. Didn't risk a third.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

292 Customer Reviews

0

Outstanding Compact Camera

DSC-RX100 15/08/2018 by Markii (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a premium compact camera that gives images that are as good, if not better, than many DSLR’s. I’ve been really impressed by the quality of everything that I’ve seen so far. The build quality is outstanding. The camera is quality throughout and that lens is everything you’d expect from Zeiss.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love everything about this powerful compact camera

DSC-RX100 14/08/2018 by jaygee1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought after reviewing many compact cameras. Feel I made the right choice. Images are pin sharp. Easy to use menu. It is as if I have a compact SLR camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best point and shoot I ever owned

DSCRX100 04/08/2018 by SEDSON (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to supplement my Pro Canon DSLR’s when I want or need to travel light. It fits in a pocket and allows me all the creative control.i get with a DSLR. I have tried numerous point and shoot solutions in the past for this same purpose and I’ve never beeb satisfied with the results. Sony hit a home run with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Takes very nice pictures

DSCRX100 02/08/2018 by Robin555 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have had this camera for a couple of days. Impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A compact camera with a great range of options

DSC-RX100 31/07/2018 by DaveyK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera a couple of weeks ago after reading a number of glowing reviews. It's taking some time to understand its many functions but I'm getting there. A superb lense gives razor sharp pictures. It can be used as a point and shoot camera or in manual mode to give the amateur photographer something to experiment with. A good value for money camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

outstaning camera

DSC-RX100 19/07/2018 by Chilla (United Kingdom)

easy to use a great camera, it cannot be simpler, each setting gives a brief description on what to expect

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Takes some getting used to...

DSC-RX100 11/07/2018 by Garryzxl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a travel camera having read lots of positive reviews. Certainly feels solid and well built, but the location of the pop-up flash is awkward, and I am having to re-learn how to hold a camera. Lack of a hard copy manual makes learning the camera's features quite tiresome.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Too many icons

DSC-RX100 01/07/2018 by ladymanchester (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought RX100 as reviews suggest easy straight forward. After 2 weeks, still playing with camera to try get my head round it. I wanted to point, click,enlarge, focus on image and down load to computer. I am not a camera geek but I am am intelligent 60 plus femail. I. just wanted a simple small camera to carry in my handbag. Too may icons on the screen, like a washing machine 10 programmes and most people only use 2. I went on course but the others had big cameras with long lenses so not much help to me. The pictures I have taken are sharp and good quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Advanced features

DSC-RX100 25/06/2018 by Fred123456 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera mainly for its advanced features, especially that it shoots in RAW format

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent and was always a trusty companion

DSC-RX100 18/06/2018 by RRXXFan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this fine little camera since it first came out years ago and its done its job brilliantly. Sadly I have dropped it one too many times and it no longer works properly. Amazing as it survived an almight fall on rocks once in the pics attached.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100 mkI

DSC-RX100 06/06/2018 by Nico18 (USA)

Good image / Battery very expensive / Flash photo bad (on Auto mode) / External charger to buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

DSC-RX100 09/05/2018 by Pandian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the product. Good photos with excellent quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to follow instructions

DSC-RX100 25/04/2018 by Beany50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought this camera for an upcoming holiday, so haven't been able to fully review as yet, but the setting up of the camera is straightforward and it looks like it's going to be a great camera.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Packs a lot into a small device

DSC-RX100 13/04/2018 by Stumate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my wife to replace a broken small canon ixus. The price for this version has come down, making it a real bargain. Suitable for beginners but also for experienced users. Ideal for DSLR users who don't want to carry a lot of gear around. Slips into a pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use and has a superb lens

DSC-RX100 29/03/2018 by Ploto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very advanced compact camera and a credit to the Sony company for producing it at such a good affordable price. In use the screen is fairly good in bright light but as with all screen-only viewfinder cameras they could benefit from a proper optical or electronic viewfinder for those occasions when you can't see what you're snapping on the little screen. Functions are very easily set and if you don't need a lot of bells and whistles you don't have to use them even though it has them designed-in. You can set it into simple quick mode on P or Auto. And occasionally I use A priority Aperture to set the f level at 11 so I get a really long depth of focus from just in front of me right to the horizon. Of the cheat's quick modes I use the sunset one most of all. The camera deals with shake very well. If I could criticize 2 or 3 things I'd say the user manual/guide is very poor and misses out on a lot of things users need to find out by going online to help forums where one always finds masses of other people with the same problem. Accessing quick things such as EV light value is a bit of a rigmarole and not available in some modes. Another thing is the way the multi-shot panorama mode appears to fail on 9 attempts out of 10 and tells the user to move the camera more quickly. This goes against one's natural tendency not to move camera quickly otherwise you get blurred shots. Anyhow for those occasions where you need to capture a shot quickly before the subject flies away or whatever, then this Sony is perfect - take it out of you pocket - press the on button and it's ready to shoot - so impulse and opportunity shots are dead easy and the camera won't let you down. A fair bit of post-production fiddling is necessary with some shots and the camera does tend to over bias the blue but this is easy to correct in common software when taking the pictures off the camera card. So summing up, it's the best little compact I've ever had and I've tried at least 6 makes since year 2000. The sensor is large enough to cope with the millions of pixels and the results have been very impressive - and a final mention of that wonderful Zeiss lens that Sony put in this one and used to be in earlier Cybershot cameras, it's supreme and has almost zero barrel distortion. I've never found that before in any camera - Now after 3 weeks of ownership it has a very optimistic future and could very well render my DSLR confined to a spare camera! Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera

DSC-RX100 23/03/2018 by Marie2390 (United Kingdom)

Not as expected. Photos look too obvious just like using a phone camera

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

6

0

Great pics pocket size

DSC-RX100 16/03/2018 by Ps11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great pocket size camera easy to use fast and good on low light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding adventure of a camera

DSC-RX100 12/03/2018 by Robo 007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I acquired my camera about 2 weeks ago and I have been amazed that for such a small camera it packs a powerful punch. There is so much going for this camera with all the features it’s like going on an adventure, and the quality of the pictures is so good. Sharp and pinpoints with clear accuracy it doesn’t feel like a photo. With a landscape shot it feels like you are actually there, and for me that’s exactly what I am looking for, and with time I am sure I’m going to be surprised with it’s many qualities. I am an ardent photographer with a few cameras and I have never seen anything like it. Speechless! Amazing! Can’t say much more really!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact and lightweight to carry around.

DSC-RX100 24/02/2018 by JuneH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to use instead of a heavier bridge camera. Very happy with it, easy to use and light to carry around. My daughter in America researched the best for me to buy and came up with the RX100. Very happy with the choice!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Advanced features in a truly compact package

DSC-RX100 22/02/2018 by Mike 81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera less than one month ago, and have had little opportunity to put its extensive capabilities to the test in that short time. Whilst I still have much to learn, however, (in spite of photographic experience gained over many years), I already know that I am not going to be in the least disappointed. Everything points to the fact that this is a highly specified camera with a very fast lens, capable of producing excellent results in every conceivable condition, and at the same time being truly compact even when housed in Sony's splendid (if rather expensive) LCS-RXG leather case. My only negative comment which can fortunately can be easily resolved is this: In common with most other cameras the camera arrived well packed and complete with one battery and charging USB cable. (No memory card included, but this is fairly usual). However, what did concern me was that the only printed instructions were in the form of a small 34 page 'manual' explaining how to fit a memory card and charge the battery, followed by little more that a list of the features that could be accessed by the menu controls. Of course, a full set of instructions were available online, but these ran into 252 pages - far too many for me to print out and certainly to carry in my now aged head! Fortunately Alexander S White came to my rescue. His excellent series of handbooks published under the title "Photographer's Guide to the..." includes the Sony DCS-RX100. In his introductory notes the writer admits that he had not previously published a guide to any other Sony camera nor any other manufacturer's small compacts. In his own words, however, he acknowledges: "When I saw the announcement for the Sony Cybershot DSC-RX100, though, it did not take long for me to decide that this camera is a winner, and one that deserves a book. I decided with no hesitation to turn my attention to this great little camera." Other readers will find, as I have, that he not only loves this camera, but also provides them be they beginners or experienced camera users, with all the advice and instruction they could possibly want. Get the camera with confidence, but also get the book.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cyber Shot cameras

DSCRX100 13/02/2018 by High Plains Joker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Sony Cyber Shot. Excellent product. When I tried to register, note came: "already have this person" or words to that affect. Did not allow any response to that. Fix your web site.

0

0

0

Crisp and clear photos

DSC-RX100 13/02/2018 by Rowlands (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I`m new to the camera, but the photos I`ve taken have been amazing, especially at night. I`ve only used the Auto feature so far and it has delivered very good results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Perfect Fit

DSC-RX100 12/02/2018 by Talls (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a short while ago to replace an RX100 I have had for about four years. The camera suits me in every way: compact, 1inch sensor, reasonable zoom, easy to handle, manual mode, good lens. It's ideal to carry around but delivers quality shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Sony camera

DSC-RX100 09/02/2018 by Whip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this 2 weeks but the photos are brilliant. The lens by Zeiss is crystal clear. This camera is mainly for photographers that like to fiddle with all the options, otherwise you are paying for a camera that will not be used to its full potential .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to use and quality images

DSC-RX100 01/02/2018 by Malcxxxx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Difficult to rate accurately at such an early stage as this was a recent present. Hopefully I will still think 5 stars is correct in a year's time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

DSC-RX100 27/01/2018 by tommy s (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, well built and easy to use. Brilliant picture quality which is why I bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect for photos or videos

DSC-RX100 20/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the simple design with all the features. Only needs a filter for taking pic/vid outdoor with hard sunlight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Best point and shoot camera

DSCRX100 15/01/2018 by Travel Jo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best point and shoot camera on the market

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

DSC-RX100 27/12/2017 by Esta1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is light, small,very practical.Good quality photos. Only I wished to have memory card inside allready, because it is extra money to spend what I was not expected.Like this got confused, had extra stress. Two months and still no decided which card to choose.My Sony mobile did not have that problem about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Straightforward

DSC-RX100 17/12/2017 by jojo48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a present from my son. I have only used it as a basic camera so far, but it is very simple to use and gives excellent pictures. I shall be trying out all the features in time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All I wanted

DSC-RX100 16/12/2017 by jaspops (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this compact, I get great pictures, super quality. It feels solid and tough and is easy to use. I would have given five stars except the strap broke the day I fitted it! The mode wheel also slips round easily when in transport so you might easily shoot on the wrong setting if you don';t look.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, but no cash back yet.

DSC-RX100 14/12/2017 by mel1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera, but beware, sony will only give you the cash back if you jump through many hoops.

0

0

0

Ease of use, easy to use after getting it

DSC-RX100 08/12/2017 by Menace 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for use with both JPEG and other formats. Good micro photos..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat camera

DSC-RX100 08/12/2017 by Crafting mad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Neat and small, pocketable, feels robust, many features and programs, has ability to assign favourite features to different controls, great screen with plenty of information, really sharp and punchy photographs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good camera, but awful quality control

DSC-RX100 03/12/2017 by Frustrated_One (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've taken the camera out on 4 separate days since I purchased it. On three of them the camera has displayed 'low brightness' when switched on and shows now image at all. It has not been possible to clear this either by a reset or taking the battery out and re-inserting it. The camera then starts working again some time later when switched on again. Very poor quality control from Sony - the camera should not have got off the production line in such a state. When the camera does work, it takes good pictures and has good facilities.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX-100 Excellent and Solid Camera

DSC-RX100 23/11/2017 by Mike CameraMan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have 2 of Rx100 cameras (and other bigger Sony cameras as well). The camera has a solid build. It is easy to hold, quite small for what it does. It has all the features most of us will ever need, and many more. I see some features as 'smart features' as they make decisions on my behalf - like finding the main subject in the photo. I like these features, and seem to work quite well. The one inch sensor produces quite sharp pictures. This helps my other family members use the camera easily. I have several Sony cameras, including DSLRs. They all use the same desktop software. I wish there was a way to name the image filenames as yyyymmdd or put the date image is taken in the filename. This feature is missing, and creates lot of problems when trying to figure out when I took the picture, as files cannot be sorted easily. But this software is separate from the camera. All Sony cameras I have, work very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top Quality

DSC-RX100 22/11/2017 by Pilgrimwalker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the RX100V for roughly one month, it that short time it has impressed me immensely. The quality of both the product and the images is simply stunning. The improvement in focus and performance belies belief. It’s video capabilities are on a par with its stills. All this in such a small package, hats off to Sony for their dedication to producing the best compact camera ever ( imho). I have added a Gariz half case, both for protection and for its better grip. Also a screen protector. Lack of a touch screen does not bother me as its extensive focusing selections are first rate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tiny tank

DSC-RX100 14/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

Bought this for holiday in New York... Took 1000 photos and well pleased with the results! But a bit expensive for the features.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too expensive for Quality

DSCRX100 31/10/2017 by pswanson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like price tag was too high for quality of camera.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2017

Hi, pswanson, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward your feedback to the proper department. Regards, Vincent

0

A fantastic little canera

DSC-RX100 27/10/2017 by Yorki (United Kingdom)

This camera is so versatile in all conditions with a wide range of photographic options but it slips in ones pocket so can go anywhere. The quality of the image is as good as very much larger cameras. I use it in an underwater housing and the photos and video are very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

works

DSCRX100 10/10/2017 by pj camera (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this a year ago , haven't used it poor quality, battery door clicks open

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2017

Hi, pj camera, Make sure the direction of the battery pack is correct, and insert it until the battery eject lever is locked. You may also check for possible foreign object inserted in the battery slot. We appreciate your feedback and we will forward this to the proper department. Regards, Vincent

0

Great little camera!

DSCRX100 01/10/2017 by jkoehm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I do a lot of backpacking and I purchased this camera for its lightweight and pocketability. I also own a DSLR and love it, but it is too large and heavy for backpacking. The RX100 takes outstanding photos and makes my life a lot easier. I would recommend this camera to anyone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera but very vague directions

DSCRX100 30/09/2017 by Stock Photographer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent camera, but the directions to transfer a photo from the camera to your iPhone is very vague and incomplete. After many Google searches I found out I had to download an additional application on my iPhone to be able to transfer a photo. There is quite a bit of noise with this camera, even with the low noise setting on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent entry level compact

DSC-RX100 26/09/2017 by AD828321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So complicated, it';s taking me to learn all the features which is something I love. A toy which you can play with forever. You can point and shoot if you like but the manual settings and the different shoot modes mean there's depth to the thing as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good selection of modes available

DSC-RX100 27/08/2017 by dill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using this camera for the last 6 weeks and can say that I am extremely pleased with the results. There are still an upward learning curve to be completed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

looking forward to big resolution

DSCRX100 26/08/2017 by napalama (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just use the camera few days, so far what I expected. I wish I could have a little stronger zoom

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Camera - Awful Support

DSC-RX100 16/08/2017 by Farweasel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pro: *The camera is pretty capable and has already allowed me to take some good challenging pictures, eg, animals moving at speed. Con: * The guide notes are useless and Sony's Customer support is appalling - * Expect to buy an independently written user guide to get the best out of it. * Curiously it does not include a 'Macro' feature which makes some shots difficult or impossible. * Once a memory card is fitted battery life soon acts as a limiting factor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Early days but I'm very impressed

DSC-RX100 13/08/2017 by Andya90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the Sony rx100 for a couple of weeks now and I'm very impressed. I agonised for sometime between the rx100 and other larger sensor compact cameras. I wanted the quality of image of my full frame DSLR but in a package that didn't weigh a ton and would go easy in my pocket for taking pictures of my family as they grow up. It ticks all my boxes and more, capable producing a bit of bokeh and has the manual control that I'm used too. The image quality is impressive for a compact camera. I would highly recommend rx100 mk1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SEEMS SIMPLE

DSC-RX100 30/07/2017 by rudders (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera as an introduction to photographry for my wife seems simple to use but user guide could be printed and just on line but the results are good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

sony RX100

DSC-RX100 24/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had the camera 8 weeks very good and I have always liked sony At the moment too many setting for this camera will take a while to fathom them all out. Faults-Flash to close to the edge- gets in the way.- it has switched its self on twice in my pocket and has also released the battery in the same way.Slow focus.Seems to take a long time to charge Overall I find it very good as usual with sony equipment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good value snapper.

DSC-RX100 15/07/2017 by Pop2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of photo's is very good, from such a small camera. I have bought a stick on grip to help hold the camera easier. This should have been on the camera from the start.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good camera in a small package

DSC-RX100 14/07/2017 by dscrx100fan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this camera since 2013 and have found it ideal for travel photography because it is portable, has good battery life, does not need an external charger and provides excellent image quality. Some might find the to be colours overly saturated, but I like the effect. The documentation provided is fairly lightweight so I recommend purchasing a third-party manual to get the most out of this camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High spec camera in a small package

DSC-RX100 06/07/2017 by buntonn (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera for walking holidays as I needed something smaller than my Fuji XT-1 system that I could put in my backpack for travel. The camera is lovely and small, feels well made, has a lot of features and lots I have not even tried yet tbh. The quality of the photos I have taken to date is very good so all in all I have made a good choice. Although I did see videos and photos created with this camera on youtube that I thought were very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Versitile and pocketable Gem

DSC-RX100 04/07/2017 by artfulwelshdodger (USA)

Professional photography was once my life, now I shoot photographs strictly for fun and family reasons. I looked for a pocket-able camera, which would hold up its end like the big boys. I had owned a previous Sony for a decade before, and I once even used it to photograph British Royalty, it had great optics, but I still could not carry in my pocket. I needed a small camera, with a fast lens for using available light, and superb image quality. After much research I opted for the DSC-RX-100. That was a few moths ago, and since then I have had no regrets, the RX-100 does everything it says on the box and much more. The image quality is top-notch, as is the construction, I keep it in the leather-like carry case and find that the lower part best to leave on while shooting, otherwise the camera feels a bit small for my hands. I shoot mostly people portraits and nature and the lens is brilliant for my needs, however, you may wish a longer zoom, but I do not. In all the RX-100 camera is typical Sony quality, and a great successor to the one I had owned for over a decade before. For me it was just what I needed to keep me satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic

DSC-RX100 29/06/2017 by menoname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received as a birthday present . and I am very happy with the excellent photo output that it gives me, the clarity is fantastic

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality, terrible if you're an OSX user!

DSC-RX100 26/06/2017 by sf101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't fault the quality of the camera. Can fault the fact that it won't work under latest and previous versions of OS X. Mac won't see the camera natively or with the software.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

0

Sony rx100

DSC-RX100 22/06/2017 by The silver fox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent picture quality and versatile menu options make it easy to produce great photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSCRX100/B 20/06/2017 by ourpix (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice to have defocus options in a point and shoot camera. Great pictures and functions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feature packed real small camera

DSC-RX100 13/06/2017 by Papa Smurf2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not a photographer but do take a lot of photographs of my hobbies like running hillwalking and if holidays etc. I have always wanted a decent camera for better quality photographs. However the bottom line is that I know I would not carry a large SRL on holiday never mind when lightweight backpacking. Enter Sony RX100. I found out about it and did research including buying Photographer’s Guide to the Sony DSC-RX100 Getting the Most from Sony’s Pocketable Digital Camera by Alexander S. White on kindle. I decided after months of research to get the original model RX100 along with Sonys case. As in everything it is a compromise. The main thing needed for good photographs is a camera. No matter how good a camera is, it will not take pictures when it is lying in your hotel room ! This camera is small enough to be always with you and has the quality to take pretty decent pictures. You can use the auto settings then play about with other settings as you go and learn more about photography. Only had it a couple if weeks but first results are very encouraging and I am already getting some very nice pictures. Just back from a holiday where I carried it most of the time and took far more pictures than normal and I am very happy with the camera. Still learning but very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Highly pocketable

DSC-RX100 14/04/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

High qulity photos in a very small package. On that it delivered. However, dust reaching the sensor is a big problem. And now, about three years from new, there is a break in the internal circuitry, and tghe camera is useless. Repair is too expensive, as is replacement with a later model. It was good while it lasted!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product and easy to use

DSC-RX100 01/04/2017 by ianm944 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera as a pocket friendly point and shoot camera which I could rely upon whenever out and about. Very pleased so far after two weeks of usage. Controls are easy, instructions clear, menu is easy to navigate and the end results are - for me - good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My new toy!

DSC-RX100 21/03/2017 by Wirralite (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this less than one week and the quality of the photographs is VERY good. I have not fully had the chance of using it fully but look forward to. By all accopunts it seems to be a top rated camera by the people in the know, as I am not one of them I may take some time trying it out!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

great compact camera

DSC-RX100 13/03/2017 by JC29 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my RX100 camera a month ago, so it will be dificult for me to to make a full revew, I found it to be easy to use.The in-camera guide is very usefull. The quality of photos exelent, very nice to handel. Great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Camera

DSCRX100/B 04/03/2017 by larryG1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the camera a month,it is easy to use and take great pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony - DSC-RX100

DSC-RX100 14/02/2017 by Paulinerose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had it a short time. Will really try it out when I go to South Africa in March.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

6