Skip to Content
302

4.5 based on 302 customer reviews

204
74
12
7
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

DSCRX100M3/B 13/10/2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

DSCRX100M3/B 18/01/2017 by muskturtle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

302 Customer Reviews

0

An excellent companion for my A7

DSC-RX100M3 17/09/2017 by Andrew 77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been considering this for some time and was advised by several stickists to go for M3 not M5 My only criticis is the very poor pop-up viewfinder - I wear spectacles!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's all in there...

DSC-RX100M3 09/09/2017 by AndrewWT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since buying this camera ten days ago I have taken nearly 700 pictures all over Iceland in all weathers and light conditions. The camera has responded perfectly although I had a steep learning curve remembering where some of the featured are "hiding", and which are unavailable in certain modes. The screen mobility is a little restricted and quirky, without a physically protected position but the whole has withstood a challenging outdoor week.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

DSC-RX100M3 28/08/2017 by Endybubu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Battery doesn't want to charged, keep saying doesn't supply any power, I have to buy a new adaptor and spare battery, that's not cheap! Doesn't send image to iPhone, it said sending....but nothing happened

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

This is the 21st century's Leica M3

DSC-RX100M3 27/08/2017 by BILLidontcareuseitagain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the models I, II, III, and IV. 3 years ago I went through Calcutta and Darjeeling with a I and a II; and the A3+ prints hang on my wall. I am.only sorry I didn't have a MIII. It is the most useful to date.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Eric

DSC-RX100M3 27/08/2017 by Rumbold (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago and am just amazed at the functionality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great compact

DSC-RX100M3 23/08/2017 by jack z (USA)

i had a sony compact years ago and always loved the pictures it took. had a canon but just wasnt happy with it so i happy with it. went back to sony and could not been happier. first time i used it i was at a wedding. i shot in manual and was amazef how it performed in low light with out flash. pictures were excellent. the only thing I didn't like was the focusing in low light love this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic travel friend

DSC-RX100M3 22/08/2017 by PH Kringster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this wonderful camera, but I wish I did it a year ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features.

DSC-RX100M3 14/08/2017 by So nice (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was recommended to m by a friend, and I am happy with th photos I have taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera.

DSC-RX100M3 09/08/2017 by Polash100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a little miracle especially after you learn about what all the settings can do. It is compact and easy to transport. It also takes superb fast moving scenes. I am incredibly impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A huge little Camera!

DSC-RX100M3 28/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very flexible and impressive Camera with outstanding prformance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony RX100 111

DSC-RX100M3 24/07/2017 by Jim R (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First Class camera Optical Viewfinder Excellent very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superbly sharp compact.

DSC-RX100M3 21/07/2017 by Ray4711 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use compact without being fiddly. Produces lovely sharp photos in either automatic or with manual settings. Beautiful depth of field.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cybershot DSC RX100M3

DSCRX100M3/B 17/07/2017 by iberger (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought and like product. Manual very poor to help neophyte read clearly to have sufficient information. Sony went cheap on providing a readable manual

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2017

Hi iberger, We do appreciate you taking the time in writing this review. Rest assured that we will take note of your feedback regarding the operating manual for future improvement of our products. -Jerome

0

Sony DSC-RX100M3 - a critical assessment.

DSC-RX100M3 15/07/2017 by Caffrey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony DSC RX100 M3 compact camera I have recently obtained a M3 Sony RX100 camera to replace a Canon S120 camera which I had for a few years. The Sony seemed to be considerably more advanced and has been hailed by some reviewers as the almost perfect advanced compact camera. In my opinion, however, it could be developed considerably further. My main gripes about the M3 are firstly that its viewing screen is not adequate to properly view the high quality images and secondly that the relatively short zoom range of the lens can feel very limiting. No doubt the camera has a fine lens to provide ultra sharp images and that is desirable if one is prepared to do quite a lot of adjustments off-camera. Possible solutions to these problems is to make it possible to clip the camera onto the back of a tablet (22 x 14 cm say). This would give a screen size of about 308 sq cm as opposed to the 6 x 4 cm camera screen (24 sq cm) – a 12 fold difference. Put a few off-screen controls on the tablet as well such as zoom control and shutter release and the problem is solved. Regarding the plethora of controls on-camera I think that there are just too many. The main purpose of the camera should just be to capture as simply as possible all the information necessary to make it possible to manipulate various parameters later if necessary. Why complicate things out of sight on the camera when it is far easier to later make many of the adjustment on a computer? Perhaps there could be two sets of processing programmes: a relatively straight forward one for easy use and a more advanced one to make maximum use of the camera's capabilities. Then perhaps there could be additional on-camera features such as shutter speed, aperture and ISO settings bracketing. An automatic GPS tracker and self-setting clock would also be nice! Could be a bit lighter as well by using a marial such as titanium in its construction. T A Dyer, Cambridge, U K

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A pocket-sized wonder

DSC-RX100M3 13/07/2017 by MalyLad (United Kingdom)

Having read extremely favourable online technical reviews of this camera, I reluctantly abandoned my usual Canon choice by going for the Sony product and have not been disappointed. It really is a piece of technical wizardry with particularly favourable features such as the fast lens and the pop-up electronic viewfinder. My only disappointment was the extremely limited usefulness of the Sony manual; having paid a substantial sum for the camera, I expected far more. However, I bought a digital book called 'A Photographer's Guide to the Sony DSC-RX100 III' by Alexander S White which I have found to be absolutely excellent; I strongly recommend it to anyone who is new to this camera. It's early days yet to judge the quality of the images from the camera but first impressions are very favourable and I'm expecting to get many years of service from this expensive piece of kit. I also would say that I made the right choice in going for the version III which is a lot cheaper than the latest version which seems to have few additional features, and none that I was interested in. I also bought the Sony carrying case which is an excellent fit but rather over-priced in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Product

DSC-RX100M3 13/07/2017 by Obi Wan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good camera, would recommend this camera to friends

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy little Snapper

DSC-RX100M3 13/07/2017 by Cadran (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this for moments when my DSLR camera was either to much hassle or not with me. And it works fantastically

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100 review

DSC-RX100M3 12/07/2017 by Stanley Durham (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good camera, superb picture quality, especially for beginners like me

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So easy to Use

DSC-RX100M3 09/07/2017 by Sandie14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this camera for a few weeks but already I have taken so many photos, panoramic, group, close up what ever and they have come out great. I am still learning the features but all shots so far have exceeded my expectations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best small camera available.

DSC-RX100M3 06/07/2017 by Jeddydxx33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Did some research and the advice which echoed in my thoughts was this. "The best camera is the one you have with you". So a camera that easily fits your hand or hangs off your neck that goes totally unnoticed, yet has the picture power of many bigger more expensive cameras. It was a 'no brainer' for me, Sony RX100 M3 best available camera in its price point. Awesome, very easy to get familiar with its many controls and features. Takes great pictures and Sony colour rendition is in my opinion the very best on small cameras. Absolutely brilliant, I love my RX100 M3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many hidden qualities

DSCRX100M3/B 29/06/2017 by Krys201 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an amazing little camera that can easily shift from auto shots to manually adjusted shots. There are many different options hiding in the menu. It's lightweight and very well designed. The battery doesn't last long especially if you take panoramas so I bought a second battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Recommendation from a professional photographer

DSC-RX100M3 25/06/2017 by Gerry17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera to have if you are a regular DSLR user. So light and great for the beach because you can get underwater housing. Great in low light, shoots in RAW, deals with movement well and is pocket size! Fantastic! I bought a waterproof bag for it in the sea but would love to try the official Sony hardcasing. Great camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact, easy to handle, great for travelling,

DSC-RX100M3 24/06/2017 by popsie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have carried my camera in a pocket so it's easy to travel with. All the instructions you need are embedded within the camera (great). Functions are many and easy overall a great little camera without having to lug massive bags of equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent photos and easy to use

DSC-RX100M3 21/06/2017 by shelley51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a digital SLR that I was finding too heavy when sightseeing. I am delighted with the usability and lightness and results of my photography with it. Both stills and videos are great quality. My only teething issues were pressing the buttons and wheel on the right when holding the camera but I think I'm over this now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera, but Play Memories app poor

DSC-RX100M3 16/06/2017 by Spoks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this about two weeks ago, and the quality of the pictures are stunning. Very happy with the camera. The only bugbear is the Play Memories app which I cannot get to work at all. The instructions seem to follow a completely different layout to whats on my phone and camera. Your are supposed to get a QR to scan but it nver comes up. An email to Sony just gave me links to the same web sites I had been looking at. Given up at the moment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mixed thoughts - not as good as I had hoped

DSC-RX100M3 14/06/2017 by AirmaxAndy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my Canon G15 after a friend highly recommended it. So far I am happy with it, but have not been impressed by the image quality - although more megapixels on paper, they dont seem to be usable megapixels as at 1:1 sharpness isn't brilliant - almost like its interpolating or something. It lacks crispness looking that closely. That said - printing uncropped images up to A3 size you dont really notice but since the lens doesn't zoom very far it is often necessary to crop hard if you can't get closer to the subject and that where the pixels matter. I shot some 1080p video on it and it took ages to import through the Sony software. Adobe Lightroom seemed to do a much better (and faster) job. Actually having played with the sony software I'd ditch it and use Lightroom every time. OLED Viewfinder is okay but i dont like having to remember to pull it back as well as pop it up. Flip screen works well. The WiFi control from iPad/iPhone needs an app installing on the camera. This seemed to work a lot better when the camera firmware was updated, but the remote control app is a bit unintuitive to use and options vanish and re-appear inexplicably. Some things like moving the AF point around the screen are buried in menus and would be better if they were easily accessed with one key. Early days - I will keep this camera a couple more weeks before deciding to trade it in - the jury's out.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Pocket powerhouse

DSC-RX100M3 09/06/2017 by Bern5000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it to take on holiday instead of my mirror less system and glad I did. Always in my pocket and auto settings normally bang on. I usually shoot in manual but have no need, so spend more time composing shots or catching candids. A few quirks with how it handles but easily worked around. I also had to buy a rubber grip as struggled to hold small sleek body, which works very well. Would have been nice to have it in box tho as an option. I held off buying because of price but the MK3 came on budget and so glad I did. I can see it replacing my mirror less system for most of the time now as it suits my hectic family life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket rocket!

DSC-RX100M3 07/06/2017 by thefotografa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd read a lot of reviews about this camera and thought that it was time to take the plunge! I have not been disappointed. How Sony can work such magic in a minuscule form factor defies logic. It delivers awesome photos and I can't be happier!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

pocketable titan

DSC-RX100M3 01/06/2017 by Real Wool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The options are huge but you can also just use auto and still end up with excellent photographs. Anti slip panel on front of camera would be helpful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent compact with view finder

DSC-RX100M3 29/05/2017 by Mile Muncher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera while on holiday in Cornwall as a birthday present. Early days but so far I am delighted to get high quality pictures in such a compact camera. It has re-ignited my interest in photography and is light enough to take cycling or into meetings and seminars. I'll be doing some studying of the instructions to get the best out of it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M3 13/05/2017 by Achie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this camera but despite being a Sony fan, for safety's sake I brought along a very good bridge camera on a cruise of the Baltic capitals. Within a few days the bridge camera was abandoned as I found the rx100 lll coped with all the situations in which I found myself, and with results superior to those of my bridge camera. I was photographing townscapes and moderate landscapes and the rx100 lll on enlargement produced excellent results, better than medium telephoto shots by the bridge model. I am delighted with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Very impressive!

DSC-RX100M3 01/05/2017 by Muzzle (United Kingdom)

Bought this last month so still finding my way around and lovely camera that has so many features. This camera was one of three I looked at fairly closely before deciding that is positive features were the important ones. 1 If a powerful zoom is important to you, then this camera is limited. But I've found the sensor is so good that much can be done in editing too achieve close-ups. 2 I was concerned that a small camera with small buttons and controls might be a problem for my aged fingers. But so far I'm happy and no problems. Now the delightful features include 3 Very good clarity with a lens that is so so sharp and where the lighting levels are so impressive - the limited zoom comes into its own here and exposure is not hampered. 4 A terrific range of features, both preset for you to choose and manual for greater flexibility. 5 The compact size of this camera is a great feature and it sits in a pocket so neatly. I take it with me everywhere without a worry. I have to say I am not a fan of the software - Play Memories. It is clunky and slow and I have yet to find how to transfer edited photos from this software easily to other folders in my computer. I use direct downloading from the camera either by the cable or by using the memory card. Overall I think this is going to be such a worthwhile investment and I look forward to exploring its features still further. It may be too early to be absolutely sure, but so far so very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very Happy!

DSC-RX100M3 27/04/2017 by timsk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The RX100 III is a stunning camera - superb features and image quality - easily the best camera I've ever owned. The only negative is not with the camera itself - but with the user guide / manual which is next to useless. I had to rely on YouTube videos to learn how to use it - hence the 1 star rating for 'ease of use'. Other than that - the camera itself is awesome! Besides using it for photos of family, friends and holidays etc., as a mosaic artist, I wanted it to take photos of my work and that of my wife - a few examples are attached.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

seems exactly what we where expecting

DSC-RX100M3 23/04/2017 by carpy 75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

not had long enough for long term test but so far very pleased

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Can't beat it!

DSCRX100M3/B 21/04/2017 by drewsflb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife and I took a recent trip to Madrid, Spain and Marrakech, Morocco. Weight was an issue, since we were backpacking, and the RX 100 III delivered. We needed a camera that was small, light-weight, and capable of producing excellent pictures and video. We bought the camera two days before our vacation, and the interface was so easy to learn, that we taught ourselves on the train! The video was shot from a terrace about 30m in distance. As you can see, this camera does it all. We loved the Electronic View Finder feature, and as a whole, feel that we definitely got our money's worth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Power in my Pocket

DSC-RX100M3 18/04/2017 by bannisterr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No longer not taking photographs because I couldn't be bothered to carry my camera bag. This camera produces images that compares favourably to my old DSLR

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

DSLR in a tiny package

DSCRX100M3/B 02/04/2017 by A Brit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two months ago I bought a Sony RX100 M3 and have used it extensively in a wide range of lighting conditions and on different subjects. As a former user for decades of a professional SLR (film), and owner of other point&shoot digital cameras, this camera is astonishing. From p&s to manual and everything in between! At a recent wedding in my family, the professional photographer came up to me and told me he uses one as a back-up (then told me to get out of his way).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Compact CAMERA

DSC-RX100M3 01/04/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from the RX100 II. Better quality and more bells and whistles. I like the viewfinder particularly, as in bright light it is often difficult to see the back screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Slightly disappointed

DSC-RX100M3 31/03/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The general quality of photos is excellent. However, an important feature for me was the ability of the camera to choose to do an automatic HDR in difficult lighting conditions, but I am quite disappointed that the camera seems to use or not use this in a very random way which I cannot control. Sometimes the exposure it uses is frankly rubbish. The user interface is very poor, especially the video button which I keep hitting by mistake when holding the camera. Documentation is abysmal, you need to buy a book to make sense of it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Excellent point and shoot

DSC-RX100M3 31/03/2017 by Angrvaðill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using this for the past 3 months. I am very happy with it. Considering its size, its features are amazing. I would wish for a slightly bigger sensor and possibly an extra button to have more ease of access to some features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great second camera for enthusiast photographer

DSC-RX100M3 17/03/2017 by Aljobe2013 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this as a pocket camera for times when I am out and about, but not specifically with photography in mind. However I still needed the camera to take raw images and to have a high specification so that I could achieve high quality images when necessary. This camera fits the bill (and pocket) perfectly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great for low light shooting

DSC-RX100M3 03/03/2017 by SPKUK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used this at the Funchal Carnival to shoot great no flash pictures that captured the spectacular moment. My old small zoom produced very dark and muddy shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great upgrade

DSC-RX100M3 21/02/2017 by christ0 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd had my original RX 100 M1 for just over 2 years and decided after reading reviews and feedback from a friend that the Mark3 was a good upgrade. I am not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

the RX100 III remains excellent even in 2017

DSC-RX100M3 20/02/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this in early Feb 2017 after much consideration and research. The camera is true to what people have been raving about. It's very compact, very user-friendly. The image quality is excellent, even in low light settings. My friends have also been raving about the camera as I took it out to social gatherings. seriously, where can you find a camera with both an EVF and a flippable screen in the same camera?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

wow

DSC-RX100M3 19/02/2017 by bobcee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this to replace an rx100m2. i thought that was great but this is better - eye level viewfinder option is icing on the cake.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Abandon your Iphone

DSC-RX100M3 15/02/2017 by dmac2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic pocketable camera which complements your DSLR, but hopeless manual supplied by Sony. I recommend buying a separate independent manual to get the best out of a sophisticated camera like this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding camera

DSCRX100M3/B 11/02/2017 by SF_Tom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second RX100, an upgrade from my first RX100. It is a fabulous camera, equal in photo quality to the Leicas I own and have used in the past. Sony has packed it full of capabilities to give me total control of every aspect of recording an image. Its small size lets me have the camera in hand or nearby at all times on vacation, playing with our grandkids, or just walking downtown. Two complaints: the camera has more features than I can remember, and Sony does not provide a complete manual on all those features (thus my 3-star grades for ease of use and features).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

so far very good

DSCRX100M3/B 30/01/2017 by bluesdog (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

only had it a few days , real happy with size and belt ,and picture quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great start but after 6 weeks not working!!

DSC-RX100M3 30/01/2017 by Bozzer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this just before Christmas 2016. Initial photos really pleased with results however 29th January 2017 and not working. on/off button green light flashing and lens coming out and in. Screen lights up and goes out with no information. Very disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding Image Quality for Size

DSC-RX100M3 27/01/2017 by Veritas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as a back-up camera to my Sony DSLR. The image quality is excellent, particularly considering the camera's diminutive size. It's a very complex beast and you have to work hard to understand its full potential and how to get the best from it. Shame that Sony did deem it necessary to supply it with the grip accessory because it adds virtually nothing to the size but transforms its handling. Altogether it's a beautiful, minute photographic machine that can deliver surprising quality especially if you learn how to use it properly. Just hope your hands are small and agile enough to operate its controls!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A small package with great features

DSC-RX100M3 19/01/2017 by Harpon70 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is hard to believe that so much can be packed into such a small framework. Quality of image is superb, control of exposure is excellent and the wi-fi connectivity is very powerful. As well as superb features, it has a good solid feel which confirms that it is a serious piece of equipment. The viewfinder is incredibly useful and unique in a camera of this size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

DSCRX100M3/B 18/01/2017 by muskturtle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

So far, so good

DSC-RX100M3 14/01/2017 by no one special (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had it a week, still learning all functions, seems promising

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant Camera

DSC-RX100M3 08/01/2017 by Pugs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago and it's the best I've had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100 III

DSCRX100M3/B 05/01/2017 by Mike669 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have now used for 4 years with travel to Europe (France, Spain, Italia, Greece, etc.) Canada, and various cruises, it is easy to use and carry - sharp image - great for travel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Complicated

DSC-RX100M3 14/12/2016 by KatieW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The button to take the picture is too insignificant while the wheel is too sensitive. The manual you can download is too big to print off and take out with you. You can't alter the exposure in scn like I have been able to do with other cameras. You need a really good memory to remember which function is where. The cover for the lead is very flimsy, l am not sure it will last very long

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Excellent Travel Camera

DSCRX100M3/B 28/11/2016 by DenFer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've taken photos and short videos all over the world with this camera. There are more powerful cameras, longer lenses, etc., but THIS IS THE ONE I TAKE!! It is small in size, excellent to handle, razor sharp Zeiss Lens, FULL-SIZE excellent view finder as well as the led viewer (I wear glasses, this is the best, crisp - razor sharp viewfinder), and the SENSOR captures EVERYTHING ... excellent in very very low night light. With the leather 'Sony' case, it is very well protected ... it is not a fragile camera ... but don't push, take care and it will put a BIG SMILE on your face!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great little camera..as good as a big fancy one

DSC-RX100M3 19/11/2016 by Blueflash (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for a trip to Argentina I found myself using it more than my Sony ax6000....great quality photos...easy use...not the greatest zoom but a small price for overran quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A portable potential DSLR replacement

DSC-RX100M3 30/10/2016 by bkaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera with a degree of trepidation as it was expensive but I was looking for a quality compact for situations when carrying a dslr and associated lenses was cumbersome (I have a Nikon D5500 & Canon 60D). I feel that for many "consumer" situations (I mainly do landscapes & portraits) the camera has delivered great results. I have been lucky that the lens on mine has been a good 'un (my friend's is not as sharp around the edges & there are reports of sample variation).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera with one downside.

DSC-RX100M3 26/10/2016 by ra41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera two weeks ago, and it has had quite a lot of use already. I enjoy using it, and it is not as difficult for me to hold as I thought it might be. Generally, the images it produces are sharp and clear, but their has been very visible moire in most images where there are repeated patterns. This is particularly noticeable on brickwork and roofs. I would appreciate some help on how to deal with this. However, for landscape, this camera is ideal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M3 24/10/2016 by Jackiec (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera 2 weeks ago wanted something small but that would take a good photo Very pleased with my purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A really impressive compact

DSC-RX100M3 22/10/2016 by roger the dodger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this a fortnight ago for the pop-up viewfinder on bright days and for its RAW functionality. I am enjoying exploring its impressive capabilities and am already feeling quite at home with it. I have kept to using it on AV and haven't tried the Intelligent Auto or Scene modes. I had toyed with buying the camera 4 months earlier for trekking in the mountains of Jotenheimen N.P. in Norway, and only wish I had. I like the impressive range of Depth of Field obtainable by such a small lens, yet down to f1.8. The real test of its focussing will be photographing high alpine flowers next trek! The only downside is the processing of RAW images - the Sony Image Data Converter is very slow compared to the Canon converter I am used to, and it doesn't dovetail so well with Photoshop (Elements). I like being able to review images without having to first use the ON/OFF button and exposing the lens. My one real concern is the unprotected screen!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera I've ever used.

DSC-RX100M3 24/09/2016 by Nb Cypry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I turned 60 at the end of May and wanted to treat myself to a new camera. I spend a lot of time on my narrow boat so wanted a small camera that I could very quickly pick up and get excellent photographs without much faffing about setting things up. After reading lots of reviews about lots of cameras, I decided that I would go for the Sony Cybershot RX100 3. It had excellent reviews and the price seemed reasonable. I'm really glad that I decided on this camera, it is so easy to use and the picture quality is superb. My only slight disappointment is that the zoom is only X3, I would have liked to have a slightly more powerful zoom. But when I've loaded the pictures onto my pc and used the zoom function on my photo editing program, the picture quality is still excellent. My preferred medium is black and white and the setting on the camera produces excellent results. I am only an enthusiastic amateur when it comes to photography, but I am certainly very pleased with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great big little camera

DSC-RX100M3 02/09/2016 by philippah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

a great pocket sized compact camera, does everything and more I hoped it would. the ability to step up a gear for advanced photography when I want, as well as the simple grab a fun shot as it happens is excellent. quality is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing camera

DSC-RX100M3 27/08/2016 by Ambient (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still very new to me, but amazing results so far for a pocket camera. Agree with most comments made, paying for the grip etc and how expensive the mock leather case is. Shame the hotshoe couldn't be crammed back on, or a mic outlet, maybe in the future. Buy it! ( but what do I know?)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

mostly good, touch screen would helpO

DSC-RX100M3 22/07/2016 by irritatad44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had it for four days, still getting used to controls

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0