387

4.5 based on 387 customer reviews

256
102
14
9
6
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome except doesn't support iOS8

DSCRX100M3/B 13/10/2014 by gmanjapan (USA)

I really really want to use the WiFi features but apparently the software broke with iOS8. Please update your software Sony! Otherwise so far I love it. I had an RX-100 for 2 years. Just upgraded to the model 3. That in itself is a glowing review because if I didn't like the RX-100 series I wouldn't have been willing to upgrade.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony RX1003M A Great Camera if You Have a Ph.D.

DSCRX100M3/B 18/01/2017 by muskturtle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We got this camera in 20150505 and it's currently 20170117. I'm writing to offer this up in hopes it might be of some benefit to those considering one. The operating system for the camera is quite complex. Granted, considering I come from a film background, for years having used a top of the line competitor's camera, I learned about f-stops, shutterspeeds, exposure values and ISO and so a jump into the foray of things digital was, for me the second digital camera we owned. The first was a point and shoot. This camera, the Sony RX1003M is hardly a simple point and shoot. The imaging technology is excellent as would be expected however, the operating system is challenging and hardly intuitive at all. There are many videos on youtube that can be viewed and I suggest watching as many as possible. I suspect other manufacturers have similar problems. It would be useful if Sony had a series of video tutorials on this camera. The camera as I said is excellent for what its capabilities are. But if you want to set up the camera using Manual settings be prepared for let's see, using mathematical combinations 10 modes x 118 Menu Items! Meaning if you factor this out there are 118 menu items possible (not in reality) factorial. So for you mathematicians out there, correct me if I'm wrong, that means (118x10)! different possibilities. Still, all in all the camera is truly amazing considering one eventually begins to grasp its capabilities. The problem is how to set up the camera with the way one wants to make photographs since it has so many wonderful features. The other problem is recalling exactly where everything is in the event one wishes to 'tinker' with things like shutterspeed, ISO, f-stops and so on. For example finding the photographer can set up the 'control ring' which can be set to govern f-stops or aperture and other things is a challenge. Finding that the Menu button brings up icons like the Gear icon and then on page 4 of the Gear icon, finding Custom Key settings and then clicking on Shutter Speed gives the photographer the option to select it, or Aperture or Creative Style (I thought Creativity was in the eye of the photographer). But given the complexity of choices and how much is possible with this camera at best it is a challenge for users to remember all it is capable of doing. Clearly the developers are attempting to appeal to as many markets as possible. It should appeal to those who are familiar with the Sony product line and also to very advanced digital photographers. All in all this is an excellent camera. The technology is first rate. The camera feels solid and seems responsive and yet it is light and appealing to me and would seem the ideal camera to carry around. It's WiFi abilities are amazing. But again, this requires considerable tinkering once the cell phone operating system is aligned with its Sony Play Memories software, which can be put on the phone, desktop or tablet in accordance with the operating system. My experience was with the Android system on the HTC 626 Desire Cell Phone. The ability to turn the phone into a WiFi hot spot the phone can recognize was somewhat challenging but do-able. The camera's logic seems convoluted and deviates from historical film photography with its many nuances. It is a great camera if you need one to carry around with great still and movie capabilities. Just be prepared to spend a lot of time learning your way around the ropes. Perhaps upwards of 1000 hours. At least that was my experience. And consider this. My view is based on my experience as an amateur. Pros no doubt will have their opinions. Considering all the work that went into its design and production, the quality of the electronics and the legendary quality of the Zeiss lens and the machining involved, it is a first rate camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

387 Customer Reviews

0

Good features

DSC-RX100M3 15/08/2018 by Pops58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased recently. But so far feel it is a good purchase . Easier to use than my old camera and better picture quality...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good but complex and the viewfinder is awkward

DSC-RX100M3 10/08/2018 by Bechet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over a month ago and am finding it heavy going. The build is excellent, pictures sharp and it has many features which I'm still struggling to grasp although I've used SLRs, bridge cameras and compact digitals for many years. I was attracted to the availability of a viewfinder but this is quite fiddly to use and I doubt whether I'll bother unless sunlight makes the screen unusable. Although ingenious, raising the viewfinder barrel from the camera body and then pulling out the eyepiece is a bit of a drag so you either leave it up all the time, like a lump on top, or waste time getting it ready.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent pocket sized go anywhere camera.

DSC-RX100M3 10/08/2018 by GJS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the results so far. Sharp, detailed and good colour.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent in low light

DSC-RX100M3 05/08/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the RX11 since the first version came out, and the III is a noticeable step up from the earlier versions in terms of performance. I am not a camera expert and you can read proper technical reviews elsewhere, but I can just tell you my experience. the camera is compact and easy to use, and crucially for me works very well in low light, as I mainly take photos of food in restaurants, where the lighting can be poor. It is a fine camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Choice

DSC-RX100M3 03/08/2018 by LFKupfer (United Kingdom)

Happy to realize such a good match in Price and features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very good picture quality with compact size

DSC-RX100M3 30/07/2018 by dek16 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased approximately 3 weeks. Have not had opportunity for great deal of use yet but so far very happy with puchase. deinately need a viewfinder and good quality pictures in a compact form and this seems to fit the bill well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality, competence and portability

DSC-RX100M3 29/07/2018 by None that I am aware of (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had a stroke, 7 years ago, I could no longer handle a full DSLR. For a few years I had a series of compact cameras, but none provided what I wanted. Then I bought an RX100 it was excellent but I damaged it. The replacement in an RX100mark3 it is excellent plus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

More than I'd hoped for

DSC-RX100M3 25/07/2018 by Davey6666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After months of bouncing from one review to another, comparing rivals and deliberating pros and cons, I finally purchased the camera. The camera came with a stick on grip and leather case. Although I wanted an easily transportable and easy to carry camera, my first thoughts were that it might be too small and my fingers fumbled for the small controls whilst trying to maintain grip. However, after a couple of days out and about with camera, familiarity brings new skills and ease of use. The case is very convenient and practical. However I feel it might lack a small storage pocket for spare battery or card. That aside, it seems hard wearing and stylish. The image quality exceeded my expectations and so too the video. Setting the camera up through the pages of menu items can be challenging but I soon got used to knowing where things are. The function button is very useful and easy to navigate and allows you to change settings without going into the menu. I mainly use the auto settings, however I am making efforts to use the manual mode and program mode. The camera starts up very quickly and focuses quickly and rivals smartphones for this convenience. The battery life is very good, but drains quickly when trawling the menu and previewing. I have only had the camera for less than a month, so these are my first impressions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect small camera

DSC-RX100M3 24/07/2018 by Froginaplane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a good quality small camera, one I could take in a bag and not know it was there. It's perfect for that, good quality pictures (RAW) and easy to use. Got a case with it as well that is custom made. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So much in such a compact package

DSC-RX100M3 18/07/2018 by Bluedave (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a compact camera that I could use when travelling. As I do an almost equal share of still and video work, it had to be good for both applications. I had read and watched reviews for a number of possibilities, but each time I kept coming back to the rx100 m3, so I bought one. Unbelievably it does everything I want very very well, in fact it exceeded my expectations. Like anything it is not 100% perfect, but it is 99%.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact and versitile

DSC-RX100M3 07/07/2018 by JMD1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two things stand out in the month or so that I have had the camera it's portability , it easley fits in my breast pocket of my waistcoat, and IQ It's very close to my mid-range DSLR overall I am very happy with my product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony rx100ii

DSC-RX100M3 07/07/2018 by Sukhy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Sony rx100iii about two weeks ago good camera good picture quality for a 1 inch sensor camera only thing is would of been better if had headphone and microphone connection and hot shoe connection otherwise good product hopefully Sony will bring out Rx100 mark 7 with these connections

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exceptional camera.

DSC-RX100M3 06/07/2018 by Fr666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Professionals comment on superb depth of field and crispness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M3 05/07/2018 by DesO57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had my new camera about 6 weeks now, used it quite a bit and very satisfied with results. What I wanted was something small, so I would be more likely to have it on me when opportunities arise; this fits in jacket pocket or bum bag (fanny pack for US readers). I also wanted good LCD screen, viewfinder, ability to shoot RAW, decent megapixel count and full manual controls. No issues on any of these fronts, haven't used viewfinder as much as I expected as rear screen so good (and good range of movement). Happy with low light performance which is so much better than the 11 year old camera it replaces. Cannot comment too much on video as I have only just purchased a 64G SD card which seems to be required to use highest quality mode, my one test video did look look very clear and smooth. Overall very pleased with camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Compact EVER!

DSC-RX100M3 03/07/2018 by Poohmonster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it for my daughter to walk the hills with, she is over the moon with the quality of the images and how easy it it to use. My friend has bought one, after seeing the quality of the images, for himself!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I'm Over the Moon

DSC-RX100M3 27/06/2018 by MInnie Bannister (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera so that it can stay with me wherever I go. I have used it all the time in Intelligent Auto - frankly, it does such a good job I have not felt the need to interfere. If you do get the urge to tweek, you have immediate access to the main adjustments for depth of field, exposure compensation, white balance, etc. I have been blown away by the quality of both still photographs and video. Even the sound is better than I would have expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good hardware - rotten software

DSC-RX100M3 27/06/2018 by Paul444555666777888 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's obviously a very good camera with high quality optics. I eventually found a setting which saves movies to MP4 format and how I could download them from the camera without needing additional software, but I wasted a lot of time in the process registering for the bloated Sony software. I am very disappointed that the video recording shuts off automatically after 29 minutes with no possibility to override this 'feature'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Superb camera!

DSC-RX100M3 22/06/2018 by GoengRSV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I have been ver pleased with the camera. At widest aperture (F1.8), the results are simply brilliant. However, Sony could have built in the grip and not having to add as an extra option. Anyway, I dodn’t bother, because I sensed that it would not look right! Well done, Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

DSC-RX100M3 19/06/2018 by angelika_anna (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera a week ago and I already love it, takes amazing photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 18/06/2018 by 3000 oldboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's expensive, but a great little quality compact. To me it was worth every penny and saves carrying around a heavy DSLR or CSC, at times when you think you may need a camera, but don't need the weight or bulk

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great pocket size camera

DSC-RX100M3 18/06/2018 by Paul 61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony RX100 m3 a few weeks ago for our holidays, so far I’ve Taken photos of the Dog & photos at a wedding has a guest . Great camera easy to use & produces lovely photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good feature set, but a bit complicated

DSC-RX100M3 14/06/2018 by PoppyCat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera to supplement Nikon D7100 where baggage allowance makes it difficult to carry. Good quality camera with long battery life. I particularly like the pop-up focussing len which has a good range of optical correction. Normal focussing is good, but only has about 4x optical, then digital which uses quite a large area. The large picture capacity (abt. 22Mb means using 4x optical you can still zoom in a good way. The main draw backs to me, a DSLR user is that all the functions have to be set on the screen, rather by feel and dial and button controls. Me and you have to select the settings before taking the foto. Otherwise ok. A bit expensive with all the competition available. I always use my DSLR where practicable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M3 13/06/2018 by Judith 49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting to know the camera, a holiday coming up soon and it will then be really tested.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not as good as reviews say!

DSC-RX100M3 26/05/2018 by Horvath2500 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a super quality point and shoot, i normally buy canon but this sony was getting good reviews and thought it would suit us. All i wanted is to put in auto and let the camera do the work, results seem varied im not a photographer but some pictures are better using my phone? Whilst the odd one is good. I previously had the canon g7x mk2 pics from that were super nice great vibrant colours but was bulky with the original case, opted for the sony as it felt smaller but actually nearly the same, unless im doing something wrong but i only use it on auto modes its nowhere near as good as the Canon. Sorry sony but not as good as i was expecting on the auto modes, in the future i will just stick with Canon

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Handy pocket sized camera

DSC-RX100M3 25/05/2018 by Metgirl1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Never miss a shot again. How often have you seen something and thought "Wow that would make a great photo - shame I didn't have my camera with me" This powerful pocket sized camera gives crispy sharp photos and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice little compact with class

DSC-RX100M3 18/05/2018 by Willy xxx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera since 8th May. I have mostly spent my time with the camera checking it out. The photo's I have taken have been excellent. Compared to my Nikon Compact they match for quality. The flash on the Nikon burns the subject. The flash on the Sony is excellent. I like the built in explanations built into the camera. I am sure I will be having a lot of enjoyment using my RX100

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new camera

DSC-RX100M3 18/05/2018 by JC226 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with my purchase and am still exploring all the features o& the camera. Two points 1 a larger print leaflet that accompanied the camera would be an ad vantage.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality and ease of use

DSC-RX100M3 10/05/2018 by JeromeS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've got more out of this little gem in 4 weeks than in years with previous cameras. The quality in RAW is excellent, but not quite as good in jpeg so I just shoot in RAW. I found the menus fairly straightforward to navigate. The controls used frequently, such as the lens ring and the rotary control (on the rear) are beautifully easy to use, compared with another well-known brand where I found the rotary control tricky because I found myself pressing "right" or "left" instead of "rotate". Not so on this little camera. I've enjoyed the focussing ability with "peaking" and "magnifying the focus area" which allow great detailing and coupled with the bright lens, I've had some wonderful bokeh effects. The speed with which you can shoot is something else I am delighted with. Without setting up "continuous shooting" I can take individual shots repeatedly, I guess at about half-second intervals or faster. Fantastic for getting informal shots - at least one of the sequence will catch the right facial expression! And of course, the size and weight and physical handling are a delight too, although I have fitted the extra handgrip (only a few ponds extra) and strongly recommend it. The EVF and screen, which is in a "pantograph" hinge are great too. I've never been into DSLR but am a serious amateur always searching for quality photos, with a degree of manual control, ease of setting up and physical handling, and with an EVF. This is it. It's great. I'd have liked a bit more zoom ability (without compromising the lens quality) and better jpeg's. But I don't regret the purchase at all. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best pocketable compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 10/05/2018 by Denzzzxxx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you want a truly pocketable replacement for you heavy and unwealdy DSLR then this is the compact to go for. Expensive but you get an awful lot for your money, excellent lens at especially once you stop down below f2.8 it can be simple to use or very complicated, to access all the availiable functions you need to buy a book! l like the moveable viewing screen and the electronic view finder, very useful in bright sunlight. You do need a spare battery or 2 and a mains charger. The zoom is a very useful 24 to 70mm, fairly limited at the long end, but the quality of the image makes up for it and can be adjusted later by cropping. The tiny little pop up flash works remarkably well, and you can bounce it by tilting it up with your thumb, l really like this feature. The camera feels very well constructed and solid, and feels like it will last for many years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera -easy to use

DSC-RX100M3 03/05/2018 by JamieM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great photos .. lots of features .. very portable .. sturdy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Perfect Travel Companion!

DSC-RX100M3 30/04/2018 by GaryW in MK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought two days before a holiday, it was the perfect travel camera. Easy to use, the viewfinder was so useful in bright sunlight and the images it produced from its small 1.0" sensor are superb. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My go to camera for street photography

DSC-RX100M3 27/04/2018  (USA)

I bought this camera almost a year ago specifically for street photography. Before this, I was lugging a Canon DSLR around the city. This camera is small and silent, and doesn’t draw attention on the streets... oh, and the image quality is SUPERB! Probably even better than some entry level DSLRs with a kit lens. I’ve started packing this along with my DSLR when I go shooting landscapes, and I’m surprised at how well it performs. If you’re a landscape photographer, it’s not going to replace your DSLR by any means, but it’s definitely worth keeping in your pocket or bag. Overall, this little camera is a versatile beast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great pocket camera

DSC-RX100M3 26/04/2018 by Supertoffees (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this camera 3 years now. Was a great investment. Not wanting a huge dlsr to lug around on holidays but yet looking for quality photos this fits the bill perfectly with plenty of features. Not the best zoom if your looking for this but is adequate. Did contemplate the similar Panasonic and the more expensive Leica, but haven’t been disappointed with my choice

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality - but you need to study!

DSC-RX100M3 09/04/2018 by Mr Frodo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using this camera for both work and family for nine months now, and am still working out the best way to use it. With a large and complex range of options, often difficult to find in the messy menu, and poorly explained by Sony, I would recommend studying YouTube tutorials and web discussions to get the most out of this camera. If you half know what you are doing it will provide you with decent or better shots, and if you are desperate the semi automatic features almost always produce something satisfactory. But by taking the time to study and work things out, even a total non-professional like me can manage to get some fairly impressive stuff even under at times difficult conditions. My Nikon D5000 SLR now stays at home, and this handy compact goes everywhere with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Handbag sized but high performance.

DSC-RX100M3 07/03/2018 by Jane IOW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Phone cameras are great for general use but in low light or moving objects they fall short. Lets face it, a blurred image ( unless planned ) just does not cut it these days. The RX100 Mk3 is ideal for those evenings out, bag or pocket, its size is ideal. The quality of the photographs are as good ( if printed at conventional sizes ) as the Sony mirror-less cameras and the menu system is the same. Two features I love on this camera which are not usually available on other compacts, are the ring around the lens that can be used as a zoom, I am not happy with the lever type, and the built in software that mimics an ND filter, as this is really good for water pictures. In summary as a point and shoot extra camera it is ideal but if you do want more control, then the camera will do this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My super compact

DSC-RX100M3 05/03/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had so many cameras it's hard to choose a favourite but my first one was a Praktika, so that should show anyone my knowledge of photography. The RX100 M3 blew me away! I was prepared for it by the reviews but I find it a little jewel of a camera. I have a Nikon DSLR and the weight of it was literally getting me down, so I bought one for my travels and so far I think it's going to suit me just fine. The UI took me a while to master but it does follow a logic of its' own. I'd like some more ability to programme to buttons. That's Nikon coming through but when I find my feet I'll be good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M3 23/02/2018 by Mac 8 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased mainly to use when travelling. Good features with plenty of options to be a bit more creative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

DSC-RX100M3 14/02/2018 by Falabell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have yet to find a way to stop the subject being blocked out by previous images being processed as I shoot in continuous mode. I photograph fast moving rally cars but after two shots I am missing the remainder of the car travel because I am blinded by my first two shots. Have I missed some setting?To complete this I am required to rate each question. Sadly they are much lower than I would like to give.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

so powerful

DSC-RX100M3 09/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I needed to take some professional quality stills whilst filming video.I needed something small that would fit in with my pocket and would that I could just whip out and shoot when I saw something.High quality jPEG and RAW The auto functions are great but the manual mode and being able to set shutter speed and exposure to the front and back rings is a bonus. I still like control like a film camera. The pop up viewfinder is a fantastic idea and separates the model iii from its predecessors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A versatile little demon!!

DSC-RX100M3 25/01/2018 by Gillo1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy using the RX100. Its an easy to use camera for someone like me who is not overly technical. The features are good and i find the wide angle, zoom and viewfinder particularly good features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 25/01/2018 by LizH3843 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love his camera. It is so compact and lightweight. the main reason I chose it is because it has a viewfinder. (Other compact cameras do not have a viewfinder and I cannot see the screen in sunlight.) it takes escellent photos.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really impressed at the quality of images

DSC-RX100M3 23/01/2018 by Marly53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to ensure that I always had a camera with as an addition to my DSLRS. I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to improve on the quality of images provided by the IPhone X. However I have been pleasantly surprised. Maybe I expected too much in low light situations but, generally, the images are clear even when using the Intelligent Auto. Shooting Raw raises the bar even further.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very high quality camera in a compact body

DSC-RX100M3 23/01/2018 by Michael07 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Mark one which was very good but the Mark three is even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

General comment

DSC-RX100M3 21/01/2018 by victorlaurence (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This review is a bit early as I have had it only for just over a month and haven't had much chance to use it. It would be handy if there was a proper manual so I can read what all the features are for

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very compact

DSC-RX100M3 21/01/2018 by ham1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best camera is the one you have on you. This camera is one you can always have on you so you can get *near* SLR quality shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M3 20/01/2018 by jblackie1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A few years since I had a camera, using my phone. Very impressed by the quality of the pictures, particularly in low light. Also very good at videos, panning shots useful for landscapes. Looking forward to getting to know the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera - shame about the software

DSC-RX100M3 16/01/2018 by TrailingTim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is as good as the reviews so I won’t be returning it. But the online Sony software is a nightmare. The camera claims to be WiFi enabled but cannot link to my computer wirelessly - and I don’t want to edit images on a phone screen. The manual is of very limited help and the Play Memories software is a nightmare. Oh, and I failed to convince the Online register system that I was not a robot. Clearly Sony’s robot was unable to accept that I was not one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M3 16/01/2018 by Sonymac2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a two months ago and until now works perfectly. I recommend!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact, quality pictures and cincenient

DSC-RX100M3 12/01/2018 by Norm42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant for holidays. Easy to use, portable, excellent controls, quality device!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact with all the features of a larger camera

DSC-RX100M3 12/01/2018 by JGS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used the camera over Christmas and was impressed with the overall picture quality and ease of use. Simple point and press if that is what you want or you can use the many additional features for the more specific images -and it will fit in my pocket!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So many features!

DSC-RX100M3 11/01/2018 by AlexMUK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given a DSC RX100 III for Christmas, and so far my experiences are very positive. My previous camera was a HX50 compact zoom camera, and the RX100 III is a massive leap forwards. First impressions and things I like so far: 1) Pop-up electronic view finder is extremely usable and I find that it helps me with framing and composition greatly. The EVF is bright and sharp, and has good enough diopter adjustment to allow me to use it without my glasses - really excellent.. I love it for this feature alone. It really is a feat of engineering to cram a high quality pop-up EVF into such a compact chassis 2) Fast lens at wide apertures and big (ish) sensor with wide ISO range make it much more usable in low-light conditions where you can't use flash 3) Advanced drive modes, aperture and exposure priority modes really allow you to start to experiment with creative effects in different shooting scenarios. The creative shooting modes are a lot of fun - I had a lot of fun with the colour filter mode that allows you to have red objects in colour and the rest in B&W - great shooting letter boxes and phone boxes! 3) Rear screen pivots up and is capable of rotating 180 degrees to allow selfies. I'm not generally a selfie-taker, but it allows you to frame them correctly if you need to and would also be good for vloggers in video mode 4) Overall image quality is very strong for a compact camera - images appear sharp and crisp with good detail and exposure is generally very good across a range of natural and artificial lighting situations in the auto modes including artificial lighting and overcast days 5) The camera makes reliable choices for focus and there seem to be very few shots where the the scene analysis has put focus where I didn't expect it to. 6) Powerful built-in flash - it didn't look like much, but is surprisingly powerful and can be flipped up for bounce flash. Just as well because there isn't a hot shoe any more... 7) Startup is quite quick from pressing power to ready to shoot - much better than my old HX50 8) A lot of flexibility and control - I bought this camera because I wanted to start to experiment with expanding my photographic techniques beyond the use of auto modes and this camera has a lot of DSLR-type configurability and flexibility. (Possibly too much for me to get to grips with quickly - there is a lot to work with!) 9) Good stabilisation on video modes - very usable, without 'jelly roll' type artefacts Areas that could be better 1) Closing the EVF shuts off the camera, and this can't be defeated. This should be a configurable setting 2) No external mic input. This is a shame as this would be a very useful video camera for vloggers but being limited to the internal stereo mike is quite limiting 3) slightly longer zoom range would be useful for candid portraits 4) Fast lens is stopped down quickly as you zoom 5) Needs a thumb grip on the right of the camera, especially if you have big hands Overall, I'm very pleased and impressed and look forwards to years of great photos from this camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Stunning compact,slr level features

DSC-RX100M3 09/01/2018 by Munro277 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A friend has been using one of these on his backpacking trips for years, but on a recent trip to the Artic circle the results on his northern light pictures were amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 08/01/2018 by porcupine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good size for carrying in all situations although some of the buttons are not always easy to access. The picture quality is good in poor light conditions but a flash unit that comes up automatically would be useful, appreciating that it is not always necessary. A better zoom would be very useful as I feel that this is its main drawback. Very satisfied with all other major features.

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera!

DSC-RX100M3 08/01/2018 by Stevedean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera. Many more features than you would expect from such a small size, and excellent image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First impressions

DSC-RX100M3 07/01/2018 by Paul C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a great travel/compact camera with a good sensor and great reviews. The Mk 5 has some great reviews and in most of them they say that the older models where just as good, cheaper and if you don't need 4k are worth a look. So I looked and choose the M3. The photos are great but the lack of time lapse as standard is a let down. Overall the menus are easy to use and the Fn button is great for quick access to lots of useful features. I am looking forward to using this camera in the future and to capture some great shots.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera

DSC-RX100M3 06/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

May even part with my DSLR it s so good . A superb take anywhere camera with outstanding control and picture quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

DSC-RX100M3 04/01/2018 by Peabee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use but with more advanced features. Small enough to take on a hanglider and use one handed though this can be tricky with gloves. A raised shoot button would help with that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony rx100 iii

DSC-RX100M3 04/01/2018 by Jr55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased a Sony rx100 iii it takes excellent pictures has a fast 1.8 lens it is very well made is small enough to carry all the time and the WiFi is easy to use I would recommend this camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great IQ and build, but handling not ideal

DSC-RX100M3 03/01/2018 by Pdk42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very good compact camera that delivers excellent image quality for its size. Shooting raw and with careful post processing it will deliver great images up to ISI 3200. The lens is sharp over most of the frame, even wide open, and it offers a good zoom range. With an aperture of f1.8 to f2.8 it is also pretty bright and can offer the opportunity for blurring backgrounds if you work at it. My only real complaint is that it's not ideal in the handling/ergonomics department. It's probably fine if you just shoot JPEG on iAuto, but if you're an enthusiast photographer and want control over focus, exposure, aperture etc, and are used to using larger cameras, then you'll likely get frustrated with it at times. However, I accept that when a camera gets this small the handling will always be compromised - but I think with a just an extra dial at the front (like the Canon G5xii), it's would be immensely better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

brilliant compact ,cant fault this product

DSC-RX100M3 02/01/2018 by cheesy1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

excellent product.i sold a lot of Nikon camera equipment,bodies,lenses etc and then wondered whether I had done the wright thing.After using the RX100 for a couple of weeks I am now getting the same results from a much smaller and lighter unit.Im glad I made the change.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact

DSC-RX100M3 01/01/2018 by cybermanrx100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only owned for 2 weeks, so not yet explored all its fearures, but impressed by the range of settings available, and had good results so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality camera

DSC-RX100M3 30/12/2017 by Mikeeeeeeee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Intuitive and easy to use in automatic mode. The camera adjusts the settings to produce the optimum pic for the conditions; great results so far. I have still to explore the additional functions and settings. My only complaint is the hideous process of signing up on line for Sony's picture management software which was tortuous and confusing; you end up with an account which is combined with on line gaming features. The software itself is difficult to use, and I am not confident with its security and the amount of information that may be shared, and with whom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good things come in small "packages"

DSC-RX100M3 29/12/2017 by Ropeyrider (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic Potential but it was a Christmas present so I've not had enough time to try all the features yet. The pop-up viewfinder is a great asset. I find it difficult to apply the light pressure needed to focus and end up firing off multiple shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M3 19/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality compact camera, takes fantastic photographs, once you understand the settings, happy with my product..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

RX100 M3

DSC-RX100M3 14/12/2017 by Steve1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second Sony camera . owned it less than one month and very impressed with performance and photos. Easy to use but still learning from menu . Quality of build is good , heavier than I expected but not a problem . metal construction , not plastic . Very happy so far , been a Sony fan for over 40 years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High quality images

DSC-RX100M3 11/12/2017 by WilliamEH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous compact was nearly ten years old and the technology has moved on since then.The image quality of the RX100M3 in RAW enables me to obtain and manipulate very high quality images. It has been quite a learning curve to understand all the menus and features but well worth the effort. Online resources such as You Tube have proved invaluable. This camera is not replacing my DSLR but augmenting my resources. Importantly, it fits into my pocket or into the small Sony leather case and can be carried by me when the DSLR is too heavy or conspicuous. I look forward to experimenting further.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The perfect compact?

DSC-RX100M3 10/12/2017 by Spinky12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a pocket size camera without having to compromise to much on the image quality I'm used to from my DSLR. After a lot of research, and pros and cons lists, I arrived at the RX100 III. After two weeks of intensive use I can say that I got exactly what I wanted. Build quality is great and it's a tiny body so easily fits in my pocket. Auto focus is quick and accurate and image quality is brilliant even at higher ISOs. Video wasn't high on my list of requirements (if it had been I might have gone for the RX100 mk IV or V) but I was surprised how well it performed. I used the RX100 III as a 2nd camera in a simple set up and it outperformed the far more expensive primary camera in dynamic range and colour balance. Overall I'm very impressed and it's secured it's place by my side for daily use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony rx100 m3

DSC-RX100M3 09/12/2017 by luteum123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good compact camera. Takes great pictures and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M3 08/12/2017 by Cav42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use controls, good viewfinder and excellent quality pictures. Only problem is connecting via WiFi to phone to send pictures. Very hit and miss with more misses than hits!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0