160

4.5 based on 160 customer reviews

110
37
4
2
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Razor sharp pictures.

DSC-RX100M4 15/01/2016 by Jackflyer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best compact camera I ever had. I was looking for a camera that I can take with me everywhere instead of my large DSLR without compromising the IQ. This is it, love it. Cost a little to much perhaps? I still think it's worth it. It is the best advanced compact out there at the moment... untill the m5 comes out that is.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Failed after 5 months

DSC-RX100M4 14/04/2017 by Aprofessionaluser (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As far as features, image quality and functionality goes this seemed like an incredible little camera, and it was for a while. However it would simply not power up after 5 months. I returned it to be repaired and it was returned to me in 3-4 days. Good. However it still had the same fault. I returned it again and I'm now waiting for it to be repaired again. Big disappointment.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

160 Customer Reviews

0

Nice little compact.

DSC-RX100M4 22/04/2019 by BJ47640 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was bought about 1 month ago this is my first sony so far i am pleased with this, as with everything it takes a bit of getting use to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A great camera for general day to day usage.

DSC-RX100M4 15/04/2019 by Kinok (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace a mk1 this is a better camera in nearly all areas just miss the little extra Zoom but overall a superb camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

So far, so good

DSC-RX100M4 08/04/2019 by Littlewhitebull (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm still a beginner with this ace camera but the results so far are excellent. Ploughing my way through the online instructions but haven't had enough time to get through it all yet. Perfect for popping in my pocket instead of my Nickon "beast".

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Quality, Great Video and Images

DSC-RX100M4 06/04/2019 by NickyT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really impressed with this little camera. I make a living taking shots with my big slr cameras and wanted something pocket sized to carry when not working. I am rally impressed with the capabilities of this camera and particularly the ability to use a view finder and manual setttings when I feel like it. I may be another Sony convert !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small but still professional

DSC-RX100M4 05/04/2019 by DjMurha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two weeks a go and it been my pocket every day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Seems great but day-to-day proves frustrating.

DSC-RX100M4 25/03/2019 by sonychump (USA)

I've had this camera for a few years now. The battery and controls make it the most frustrating camera I have ever used...and that is from day one. It takes a while before you realize how bad it is because when you're just taking pictures it's not horrible. The pictures can be beautiful but if you try to change a setting the cursing begins. I'll give you the pros and cons and then the most recent example of this camera ruining what could have been a beautiful shoot. I'll never know. Just a bit about me. I am an award winning fine art professional photographer. I even won an award for a series that I took with this camera. The only reason I was using it was weight but still it can take great photos. I bought this new knowing there were battery issues, the controls blow, and the menu system is one of the worst in the industry. I am willing to work around all of these issues if i can get the right image. This is my "pocket" camera and originally for shooting quick videos. I have used the Nikon D8XX cameras during this time frame for anything professional. PROS: - Fast sharp lens - Beautiful image quality as long as you don't have to adjust any setting during shooting. - Compact-is size - A pop-up view finder that's relatively good. - The screen is pretty good even in bright light, not great but pretty good - The WiFi is one of the best I've used (this is not saying much for some reason camera manufactures cannot seem to get this down). But the drain on the battery does make an external battery pack not optional so a lot of the compactness of this camera is canceled out. CONS: - Since day one I have had two batteries and an external battery pack. Calling it a battery is hard because it only works reliably in extremely perfect conditions. - You have to take the camera off the tripod to change the battery (Including any plate you may have attached no matter how small. (I have the smallest I am aware of by Peak Design and nope gotta take it off). With my Nikon's this would never have been a big deal because their batteries work but you can also change them on the tripod. However, having to dismount the camera to change the battery on this is made exponentially harder because they are so poor and need constant monitoring. - You cannot turn the neutral density filter off when using the "Smart Remote" - The main control dial is so sensitive it takes two - five attempts to select the item you want. This is made even worse in the application section because you will inevitably start the wrong application and it's slow. Some applications require you to do something before it will even allow you to exit to try again. - You cannot turn the rear screen off! If Sony cared about their customers they would update the software/firmware to allow this. Like I said, I've had this for years and still nothing. Not to sound like I'm beating a dead issue, but again, when using the "Smart" Remote why does this need to be on, WASTING THE ALREADY LIMITED AND INCAPABLE BATTERY? It's nuts. - It's expensive to repair even the smallest issue. I dropped this a while ago and the top piece on the EVF broke. The EVF is fine, it works fine, but the aluminum piece that is on top of all plastic snapped off. It would have cost close to $400 to fix. - The video looks great but there is a five minute limit on any shot. Doesn't sound that bad for the occasional use right? Well what is not part of that five minutes is the time it takes to cool down. It's been so bad that I have only gotten five minutes every hour. Then another five minutes. This was inside very moderate temperatures. - The biggest con is that due to the short comings of the controls, ridiculous menu system, and terrible battery performance you miss shots. It's a camera. It should take pictures. Five minutes and 45 minutes of cool down for video doesn't cut it either. Today led me to leave this review. Don't buy it. Maybe the newest version is great even thought the lens is slower in exchange for reach, but I cannot trust a company that releases and even worse continues to sell a camera with such terrible battery life. Even worse are the shortcomings that could be reidied view firmware/software updated have never been addressed. So this is a typical day with the Sony RX100 mIV...I wasn't planning on it but the clouds were clearing and I really need a short video of the area for a volunteer project I'm working on for a nonprofit, so I hiked up a mountain, literally. I had my external battery back and a battery at 50%. External battery pack you say? Yep. If it's anywhere near 40 or below, the battery will last about 5 minutes if it's warmer it's anybody's guess but it's never great, so I always bring it with me. Like I said I've had this for a few years so I am no longer surprised by the incredibly poor design of the controls or the menu system that's equally as horrible or the battery. Again, I had my external battery pack. So after a fair amount of time setting up I hit record and about 2 seconds (seriously 2 seconds) into recording it's done. But I have the battery pack plugged in. It's a full power pack too it outputs as much power as if it were plugged into to regular old electricity. I let it charge for a while...try again. 3 seconds.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
07/04/2019

Hi sonychump, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

Superb camera

DSC-RX100M4 18/03/2019 by GChak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this for several months and am very happy with it. It has exceeded my expectations. Great value for a superb camera. Would prefer the grip to be better (didn't want to buy the separate grip as it wouldn't have fit in the custom case) but otherwise the design suits me fine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what i need

DSC-RX100M4 07/03/2019 by ahw1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've always wanted to get a compact camera that I can point and shoot instead of a bulky camera with multiple lenses to attach. This camera is great. The colour is natural, and very high resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Complicated to use but results are superb

DSC-RX100M4 06/02/2019 by Manxfarmer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first got the camera I found it difficult to use, but after buying a book on how to utilise the amazing number of features it has and lots of trial and error, I have taken some of the best pictures I have ever taken, And for capturing photos of birds it is eye-openingly good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

A great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 22/01/2019 by biglad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy I bought this camera. It made my christmas a very happy and memorable day,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fast and feature-packed

DSC-RX100M4 22/01/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed to update my LUMIX LX3 for something newer and faster. The RX100 range have always had good reviews, so I went for the mk I’ve; fast but not too expensive. It’s early days, but the camera is superb so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Most impresive quality

DSC-RX100M4 11/01/2019 by Fiat 500 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although the controls and features are difficult to find in the menu system the quality makes up for it..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very comprehensive specification.

DSC-RX100M4 09/01/2019 by redgreenblue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased several weeks ago but have not used all it's facilities yet . Firstly it has a nice solid feel and is very compact, (although maybe too compact if like me you have large fingers). I have found the viewfinder quite difficult to align in bright light but otherwise OK. The image quality is very pleasing as is the focusing and exposure. From my very brief experience it is ideal if you don't want to carry the bulk of a DSLR but still want quality shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredible camera

DSC-RX100M4 04/01/2019 by AZZ1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera last month and am blown away by the quality of image, build/appearance and usability. The only reason I have given this a four star is because you WILL need to buy the case for this - it’s a beautiful piece of kit and needs protecting if you’re going to using a lot - so would have been nice (for the price) to have had the case included. Overall - BUY IT - you will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

RX100 -A wonderful box of tricks. All top quality.

DSC-RX100M4 02/01/2019 by DavidWales (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was delighted with the product but totally disappointed at the very poor and scant set of instructions in the Guide Book. It proved necessary to buy a separate guide book dedicated to this model so that I could start to understand all the tools at my disposal. This prevents me from giving a 5 star rating.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Transfer of photos to smartphone doesn't work.

DSC-RX100M4 27/12/2018 by Vishelley1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an actual camera I don't have any problem, but the ability to transfer photos from camera to smartphone doesn't work properly.  Sony customer services have been  abysmal and of very little help. I have, in the end, had to contact the place I purchased from. They have been of great help. I don't think i would buy or recommend Sony in the future.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Amazing

DSC-RX100M4 17/12/2018 by Yzm a (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

amazing one,It is a wonderful camera with good picture quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact size with good picture quality and feature

DSC-RX100M4 16/12/2018 by Immleman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as my go anywhere camera to keep in my coat pocket. It's a little larger than I'd like but the features, picture quality and especially electronic viewfinder really sell it. I'm also chuffed with its video capabilities which are better than my DSLR. It was the right choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Little gem

DSC-RX100M4 13/12/2018 by RBS1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it and take it everywhere. It really is a superb little camera. There is only one drawback and that concerns the supposed WiFi. It is so complicated that only a rocket scientist could make it work. Why you have to create an access point whatever that means. Why can't it connect to any other WiFi system by simply entering the password? I still haven't managed it am quite computer literate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small but powerful

DSC-RX100M4 20/11/2018 by skywalker LUKE 3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had this camera long but it is proving to be what I had hoped. I needed something close to a DSLR but much more portable. I take this when out cycling. It fits in my back pocket. I enjoy shooting RAW and JPEG with it. Obviously there are limitations such as lack of interchangable lenses etc. but it has advanced features and will keep me learning for some time yet. Very pleased with it so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

What's not to like?

DSC-RX100M4 04/11/2018 by Skye Jeep Tours (United Kingdom)

I wanted to take great pictures, but needed something that was small enough to be with me ALL the time. The RX100 is perfect for this. Stunning images, nice wide aperture, 4K video and all completely customisable once you've got used to the menus. All in all, the best camera I've ever owned and now I'll never miss those magic moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

poor service

DSC-RX100M4 12/10/2018 by mikel71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife bought this product for my birthday in September from John Lewis under their 'click and collect' system.There was a £100 cash back offer on the product which despite many 'phone calls and e-mails with Sony I have still not received.

0

0

0

Almost perfect

DSC-RX100M4 08/10/2018 by JavaGe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with the hope to left my (sony) handycam home during traveling. Almost perfect for me because much more easy to care. But there is still one problem....I'm not able to zoom all details I used to do during my city trips and vacations !!!

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great travel gear

DSC-RX100M4 26/09/2018 by Sherry138 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago and so far I loved it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent balance between image quality and size.

DSC-RX100M4 25/09/2018 by SteveHerts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This can't fully match my DSLRs for image quality and flexibility but it can still produce excellent pictures and, most importantly, is with me most of the time, so I actually take those pictures! Given its size and cost I'm very impressed with the image quality, the auto focus and accuracy of exposure (with sensible intervention from me). It's a pity the camera doesn't come with a front grip (which I had to buy as an extra). For me, a viewfinder is essential and this one is good, though fiddly to pull into position; but I guess that's the only way to fit so much into such a small unit. I think this has been one of my best buys in the field of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Tiny and effective

DSC-RX100M4 22/09/2018 by MAdeupname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because my previous cameras were so bulky I ended up never having them with me at the right time. With this pocket camera I was able to bring it with me every day of my trip to Peru. I was truly stunned with the image quality, and found it very easy to use. I'd love to share some of the wonderful pictures I got from Machu Picchu, but this review site wont let me upload photos bigger than 5MB lol

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value

DSC-RX100M4 09/09/2018 by Seanazz (United Kingdom)

Low light and great picture quality. happy with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great featues for such a small camera

DSC-RX100M4 07/09/2018 by rochford100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used it extensively since purchasing the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Camera

DSC-RX100M4 01/09/2018 by Hils2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera a couple of weeks and changed from a Nikon FX camera, whilst I have excellent shots sometimes but find the sony menus complicated and it really takes some time to learn, but I have been assured that perseverance is the key.. The photo was a practice shot hand held. A very comfortable camera to hold and no too heavy. It is very expensive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good pictures!

DSC-RX100M4 31/08/2018 by BLoew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the cam 2 weeks ago, to have an alternative to my iphone cam. Good pictures, 4K video and low light results. Ui and App connectivity could be very better.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Promising little compact.

DSC-RX100M4 02/08/2018 by Phill the fish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had the camera a week or so and had very little opportunity to test it out fully. However the results I have had have been very impressive. Handling is also good, I particularly like the position of the control ring. Battery life is not so impressive so always worth having a charged spare in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love the size and the great features

DSC-RX100M4 28/07/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent a long time researching pocket cameras and decided on this one, despite it not being the latest model. It was a good decision as otherwise I would have paid a lot for for features I would probably not have used that much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does an excellent job

DSC-RX100M4 10/07/2018 by sheilab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago specifically for digiscoping - it was recommended for use with my spotting scope. It's the most sophisticated camera I've ever owned, but I'm having little problem finding my way around and finding a group of settings that give me the best digiscoped images I've yet to take. I particularly find the viewfinder very useful in sunlight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great size and features

DSCRX100M4/B 05/07/2018 by LarryMH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent camera, very flexible. Wish it co-existed with the Apple universe more easily.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Almost the complete camera

DSC-RX100M4 23/06/2018 by Kinok41 (United Kingdom)

Purchased to upgrade from a mark1 much better camera I fitted a front grip which is absolutely essential- don’t know why it’s not fitted as standard- the only thing I miss is a longer zoom that has now been addresssed in the upcoming Mark 6 but other than that it’s a superb camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 13/06/2018 by PM50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a few weeks now as an add on to a DSLR which I am finding to heavy to carry round my neck. The Sony RX100M4 is a cracking little camera. My only disappointment is the short zoom. It could have been a bit longer but otherwise am well pleased

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Serious Piece of Kit

DSC-RX100M4 21/05/2018 by JohnnyExton (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

About the best camera you can get in this field and I did a lot of research before opting for this model. Two minor niggles: first, it doesn't come complete with the plastic grip, which you have to buy separately; second, there's no quick way to do multiple deletes. Otherwise, though, it's everything you need and much more, with so many options you almost get swamped by them. Great camera and even the weight is satisfyingly solid, great monitor and EVF. Haven't taken many pictures yet as I'm still new to it but the ones I have done have come out really well. You can do Auto or Manual and a load of other stuff in between. Would recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Compact easy to use

DSC-RX100M4 03/05/2018 by Yakstrangler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fits in my jeans pocket and the 1 inch sensor gives great image quality so cropping is not a problem.I use for all types of shots- Bands,nights out,days out,long night exposures and landscapes.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact with a lot of punch

DSC-RX100M4 15/04/2018 by Royaljock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had this camera a few weeks and I am so glad I made the discussion to buy it. My Canon became to big and heavy for my arthritic hands, so the Sony is a delight to use with lovely pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small superhero

DSC-RX100M4 11/04/2018 by Evil666devil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything is fantastic, but I can't create account to download an apps. I live in Poland witch is on the support list, so I don't know what's wrong...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overvalued?

DSC-RX100M4 10/04/2018 by Jasmose (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera recently and still struggling to establish its value. Very disappointed in the zoom capability which is more limited than I expected. Still struggling to make the WiFi functions work, the software and instructions are not easy to follow. Certainly work in progress at this stage. Pleased with the quality of shots that I have taken.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony RX100 M4 battery drain

DSCRX100M4/B 29/03/2018 by aaronwanhk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a Sony DSC-RX100 M4 two days before and having a battery drain issue. I place a fully charged battery in the camera and it worked properly at the very beginning. Before I go to sleep, I have shoot only a few photos and the battery is still fully charged (shown in the display). I am sure that I turned it off before going to sleep. But when I wake up in the morning, the camera cannot be turned on any more. When I put another fully charged battery to it, it work again. I am sure this is something wrong with the camera. I have see others on here and elsewhere on the web complain about the battery drain problem that causing this. I can assure you this is not the case here and the battery is being exhausted without the camera even being moved. I am very sorry to find that this is not a new problem! It happened years ago in RX100 series. Is Sony aware of this issue? Will a firmware update solve it?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Super Snapper

DSC-RX100M4 26/03/2018 by JDL48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb quality. Wonderful results. Worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Inpressive pocket sived Camera

DSC-RX100M4 10/03/2018 by iamspecialfish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was an unexpected present and thus it has taken time to get round to writing this review. As it is, much of the review will be limited to handling and performance as opposed to picture quality, as I have yet to edit edit photos taken with it. However, reviewing what pictures I have taken on a TV would suggest that quality will be good. Out of the box the camera is impressively small for something with so many features. In the hand it feels solid and weighty but not overly so. Control buttons are small and set almost flush with the camera body. this makes them hard to find when you have your eye to the EVF (electronic viewfinder) again I expect with time and practice this will become less of an issue. The mode dial feels solid with a positive click and I have not inadvertently change the camera mode in transport or in use. To get the best of all the cameras features you will need a SDXC memory card U3 or equivalent. For such a small camera were space is such a premium I was surprised that it did not accept micro memory cards without an adapter. Setting up the camera to my preferences took some time, the age old issue of the sony menu system did not help as did the lack of a touch screen. That said once you get to know the menu system it does become a lot easier. Being able to map buttons to your preferences helps set the camera up the way you want it. But not all functions a can be mapped to all buttons. For example the eye detection can only be mapped to wither the centre or “C” buttons. The control ring also has a number of options. Set in auto it is semi intelligent it’s function varying with whatever mode you are in, eg in Aperture priority or manual mode it will change aperture in programme mode it will alter aperture and speed to correctly expose and so on, if you wish other option such as zoom control or others you will find them in the control ring option set. However, you can not set the camera to remember a preference in any of the three available memory modes. You should note that if you switch the mode dial guide off, than selecting which of the two auto modes (intelligent auto or superior auto) to use becomes a little harder. So if you do intend to use these auto modes often I suggest that you either leave the mode dial guide on or leave the shoot mode option in the function menu set. This that gives you access to 12 functions at the press of the Fn button. Otherwise you will find yourself having to dive into the the full menu if you wish to switch between auto modes. In use the camera is a great it gives you most of the control you would wish for or allows you to shoot in full auto. I have small to medium sized hands how someone with larger hand would far iI can not say but they might find it a little harder to use than I. As I said above at present I am finding it hard to find buttons when using the EVF. The EVF is a very good feature and particularly useful in bright light. I like that the camera switches on if you pop up the EVF, just remember to then pull it out to actually use it. Like so much of the camera you can control what happens when you take your eye away from the EVF or shut it down. This may sound like a small thing but it is very useful features in some situations. As with most EVFs you can also review photos in the EVF. Focus acquisition is quick in almost all lighting situation and the eye focus is an impressive and helpful focus mode. To get the best from the focusing ability of the camera you do need to become familiar with sony’s focusing modes and drive modes. I do miss touch focus whilst this is on the apps the screen on the camera itself is not touch sensitive and I do miss this feature it would be particularly useful in combination with the evf. Metering is accurate providing well exposed shots control through exposure compensation gives +- 3 stops enough for most purposes and there is a good selection of bracketing option should you wish to do your own HDR photos or are just unsure of the exposure you want. On the down side you can not Link metering to focus point or select where you would like spot metering to occur, not a deal breaker as you you can set a button to auto exposure lock (AEL) but it would be nice to have. On TV as I’ve already said the shots look good the 24mm to 70mm lens produce what seems to be good crisp images. For some the lens may not f have enough reach and maybe 24mm to 105mm would be better. Also others will point out that the maximum aperture of f1.8 is only available at 24mm at all other focal length it is f2 or above. Both to a small extent limiting it usefulness as a premium travel camera but that should distract from what it can produce. Finally whilst I have download some apps from play memories and played with them I am yet to use them. What I will say is download the smart control app from the playmemories store it is free and appears to offer more functionality than the one pre installed on the camera. Maybe I’ll return and update this review once I’ve edited some photos but so far this is a mightily impressive camera, that I believe anyone would be happy with. Would I have got the Mark 5 instead... of that am not sure, so far probably not. Do I already have a wish list for any new marks oh yes but I’ll save that for later.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great solid camera

DSC-RX100M4 22/02/2018 by Iannich (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is packed with features and feels very well made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything that I hoped that it would be!

DSC-RX100M4 13/02/2018 by Newreview (United Kingdom)

Only owned this camera for a couple of week and I am still trying to work my way around all the options in the menus. I would only request 2 changes, a decent downloadable manual and a seamless wireless transfer to mobile device. Have a look at how Nikon do this with the D750 (wireless) and for all their cameras on the manual side. It's not a cheap product and no detailed product manual that you can download to your phone...could do better Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony rx100 M4 Ultimate point and shoot camera

DSC-RX100M4 29/01/2018 by ravster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Highly recommend if you want the ultimate point and shoot camera which fits in your pocket. Wish Sony chucked in the camera protection case in the price and package. For me taking good pictures was a priority , the 4K video is a bonus so if you want to do more longer 4K video then I would suggest other options. its a bit pricey but am sure they will make further developments and this one will go down in price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features - but it reveals them slowly

DSC-RX100M4 24/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago after some of the best reviews I Have ever read for any product. It is slowly revealing its hidden mysteries to me, but it rewards the patient. It is the most expensive and most sophisticated camera I have ever owned - I guess I like it fine, so far!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I want and more than I'll ever need.

DSC-RX100M4 22/01/2018 by Bairdedoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used another very good make of camera for over 40 years, finally breaking free from my default choice, something I could never previously envisage. I'm so glad I did. The picture quality of this Sony is every bit as good as my other camera and it has all the features I would ever want or need. The Sony is easier to use and, a big advantage this, it has true pocketability and solidity without undue weight. That means that, once again, I carry my camera everywhere, something I had stopped doing. This camera is not only perfect for me, it is a great camera in its own right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic

DSC-RX100M4 22/01/2018 by Pete138 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such amazing picture quality in a small body. Packed full of features like slow mo and the pop up flash and view finder. Great results all the time thanks to the quality Zeiss lens and stacked CMOS sensor. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just keeps getting better

DSC-RX100M4 13/01/2018 by Tigg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hi I bought the M1 when it came out and boy it takes great photos but that was a few years ago and it’s now a bit battered. Upgraded to M4. Looked at M3 & M5, but iv was the best price/spec compromise. It’s like the original, but just a bit better in almost every way Best feature is probably min ss on auto iso. Menu is exactly the same as original so easy peasy I also have a6000 and regard myself as keen photographer This camera will not let you down. You can control it, but as a point and shoot, it has no equals. Picture quality is fantastic and you can crop and crop without it affecting print quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exciting camera-poor user guide

DSC-RX100M4 09/01/2018 by Henf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is pin sharp, light (ish) and reasonably user friendly (I've moved from Canon) but the user guide is brief,flimsy and not sufficiently detailed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Not a fan of the app store.

DSCRX100M4/B 05/01/2018 by Booper10000 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very small even smaller then I expected. Good photos. Usable slow mo at 240 FPS. Not a fan of the app store but that is what you get in today's market days with EA and every other company.... DLC for your camera...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing quality for such a compact camera

DSC-RX100M4 04/01/2018 by Sidlops (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently decided to switch systems to Sony, and have had my eye on an RX100 as a secondary or family camera for a while. After weighing up the features of each version of the RX100 I deviced on this as it offers so much without being the most expensive. I used it over Christmas, got oads of amazing photos of my 2 year old opening his presents, super slow motion of snow, and crisp winter parks. The lens is stunning, even wide open at 1.8 it's amazingly sharp, I tried an astrophotography shot one night, 10 seconds, ISO100 F1.8 and it's the sharpest starfield I've ever taken. Every other lens is hard to focus, or has coma towards the edges, this is perfect. I haven't had a clear night since to do more, but I can't wait! It's great in low light, high ISO performance rivals my previous APSC mirrorless system, and the OSS makes it even better. Looking at the RAW files in Capture One (the free Sony version!) you can see loads of detail, and dynamic range, being able to get lovely photos of my boy being read a story by firelight next to the Christmas tree without a flash, while zoomed in fully was quite unexpected. The build is great, it feels very solid, the EVF and screen are both superb, and the NFC/wifi and Android app make sharing photos quickly very easy. It lasted me about 5 days of shooting over Christmas before dropping to about 50% battery, so that seems very good too. My only negative to report is that its crams so much into such a small body that it can be a bit overwhelming at first. It's seriously impressive, showing people the popup flash, tilting screen and then a popup viewfinder, then super slow motion video, the photo quality, the normal video... it's just awesome. I highly recommend this camera, and that probably goes for any in the range too. This is the kind of camera you do replace a DSLR with, you can take this anywhere and getting stunning photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Still a great compact

DSC-RX100M4 18/12/2017 by Jony99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony invented this super-compact camera type, and still leads the field with sensor quality and smart technology. But it's still difficult to use RX100s except as a rather dumb 'point and shoot' camera. Instead of adding ever more features to this already feature-overloaded model, some thought should be given to ergonomics and to more advanced photographers using this as a second or third camera. Ergonomically, it's still a mess and difficult to hold without a grip. And the features you are always adding are often difficult to access or use properly. And still no control dial for aperture??!! You could always disable it for beginners... And still no way to attach filters without clumsy glue-ons? Silly. Would a tiny screw thread hurt?! The fact that each iteration costs more also erodes the long-term VFM of this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent camera

DSC-RX100M4 17/12/2017 by Piratemarks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks ago, very pleased. Takes very good pictures out of the box, but allows full range of control, as on a SLR. Full use will take time to learn, as I am moving from a point and shoot camera, but pleased that I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb camera

DSC-RX100M4 15/12/2017 by Norm 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Glad I chose this, beautifully made and packed with functions, the quality of processed pictures is excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought for night time photography

DSC-RX100M4 10/12/2017 by Keef1962 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Doesn't disappoint when taking pictures at night, really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Smart and poweful Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M4 07/12/2017 by mandarinbus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tales a while to explore all options as very clever camera. Used in Auto mode with very good effects. Particularly impressed with some of the scene selections for night time shooting. Panoramic shooting very quickly stitches together a seamless image. Still getting to grips with the more advanced features. Wifi transfer of images is incredibly slow, much quicker to plug into computer and transfer images that way. Overall though, a very clever piece of kit that takes stunning pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A Useful Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M4 01/12/2017 by SNW2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have many larger cameras but find that I take most pictures on my iPhone simply because it is with me most of the time. Now I can take higher quality pictures in RAW format and control the images much more. So far I am very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

In love sony rx100m4

DSC-RX100M4 15/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

its a perfect compact camera nice picture and video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, Sony still suck at software

DSC-RX100M4 06/11/2017 by hman (United Kingdom)

The camera itself is wonderful, pictures are beautiful, and controls are well laid out. I find having to pop the eyefinder up and then have to extend the rear of it unnecessarily fiddly, but that's the only thing I can find to criticise on the camera. The software associated with the camera unfortunately still reminds me too much of the Sony software of old. For example to connect the camera to my phone for reviewing and transferring shots is nice, but I ended up downloading 3 separate Sony apps for this! One for the NFC, one for the actual transferring, and the third with a similar name turned out to be for online storage and wasn't actually needed for what I want, but why are they all separate in the first place? After I installed the Sony playmemories software on my PC I noticed some of my photo folders now had duplicates files of the photos in there, in an unrecognised format. I googled it and turned out its a Sony format, and a bunch of people were complaining in *2013* about playmemories duplicating all their photos - thousands of them. Thankfully on mine it only seems to have done it in a couple of folders, not all of them, but how is this still an issue 4 years later? So yeah same old Sony, great hardware, but software yet to catch up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Alround Image Quality

DSC-RX100M4 16/10/2017 by JoBow (United Kingdom)

High quality images in a very compact camera with excellant set of features - only criticism compact design presents fiddly operation that takes some getting used to

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Happy chappy

DSC-RX100M4 13/10/2017 by rb1904 (United Kingdom)

Bought a few weeks ago to supplement my A6000. Over the moon with the overall performance. Its the ideal size for carrying in the pocket and therefore perfect for every day use. Only one niggle in that it switches off when closing the viewer but I can live with that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pocket maestro.

DSC-RX100M4 11/10/2017 by Welshmagician (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This compact digital was purchased to supplement my Nikon D600 full frame digital slr, with the intention of using it as an every day camera that I could carry in my pocket rather than lug around my D600 with associated lenses and other paraphernalia. To date it's lived up expectations although I've yet delve into many of the cameras more detailed features, I've used it mainly in Auto mode for taking quick snaps on the hoof when circumstances have meant carry my D600 with me wasn't practical.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding Camera

DSCRX100M4/B 01/09/2017 by Paul whoever (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had numerous "point and shoot" cameras. This is not a point and shoot. It is a fantastic, sophisticated camera, which is easy to use, but offers a huge variety of adjustments to personalize the capabilities, if one wants to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sexy But not Stupid

DSC-RX100M4 31/08/2017 by MarloweC (USA)

Sexy, Sharp and Beautiful. I have owned point and shoots before but never have the other's amazed me. Sharpest photo's since my film days. A pocket camera great for vacation trips, family photo's . Canon photo guy for more than 30 years. Sony got it right I love this camera. The realistic tools that comes with this camera the simplistic sexy style. Keep your eye on it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent little camera

DSC-RX100M4 22/07/2017 by SPJ58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for a year and always in my pocket for the taken shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 19/07/2017 by Robbo999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera, I wanted a small camera with big features. The only feature I really miss is the ability to take stills from 4K which I had with my previous camera (Lumix TZ100)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Quality

DSC-RX100M4 07/07/2017 by Ian G61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the RX100 IV after reading excellent reviews and also recommended by a friend. I was looking for a camera to take quality images and keep with me all the time instead of taking my SLR cameras except on photoshoots. So far I am really impressed with the image quality even in low light conditions, which in previous compacts that I owned this was a real problem. I really like the handling and the many features I just need to try them all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M4 02/07/2017 by Orchard 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera for a week and still finding my way around the various settings but so far the images straight out of camera are on a par with my DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Quality

DSC-RX100M4 17/06/2017 by photosjohn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been experimenting with this camera for only a week.So far I am very pleased with so much quality in so small a size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0