78

4.4 based on 78 customer reviews

43
28
3
2
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Both Focus and Exposure Are Fast and Accurate:

DSCRX100M5/B 22/01/2018 by Robert45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it for a trip to Europe on a tour. I had to shoot fast as I was always with family and a larger group while we listening to a guide. The pop-up viewfinder is really wonderful to use. The photos were in focus with accurate exposure. It worked well both outside and inside. Inside included art museums, churches and castles and bakeries. Because of the high contrast conditions inside (dark objects and bright windows), I set the Dynamic Range Optimizer (DRO) to +5, which worked well. Upon downloading the files into my computer, I had many nice choices. The files were easy to enhance with photo software. Last, this camera functions delightfully well as a point and shoot. However, I recommend the book by Alexander S. White so that you can get even more out of your camera as it has advanced and professional features. Happy Photographing!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good product

DSC-RX100M5 14/02/2017 by Tangowhisky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera to replace my semi pro very heavy camera and I'm very pleased with this camera. It does every thing I wanted although it lacks grip on the metal frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

78 Customer Reviews

0

Great Features; good camera.

DSC-RX100M5 11/05/2018 by cmtavares (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend this camera because it has features above average, taking into consideration other cameras of the same range; However, I do not understand how it is possible for a customer not to be able to buy Sony Playmemories apps, when he is from a country where is not available. It’s a shame for Sony. That’s the reason for not giving 5 star

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very easy to carry with you

DSC-RX100M5 27/04/2018 by buster 83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was fed up with carting my camera and lenses abput

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrific spec for a pocket size camera

DSC-RX100M5 18/04/2018 by Marlow One (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera several weeks ago so have not used it very much. I am delighted with the results so far although the camera had to be returned for repair when the electronic viewfinder pulled out and could not be returned to its correct position.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

2

0

0

Takes great photos not just snaps

DSC-RX100M5 08/04/2018 by Finni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it as a travel camera and took it to Paris for the England France game. Takes great land scapes and great for street photography. Very versatile.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Superior pocket camera

DSCRX100M5/B 06/04/2018 by kbruff2018 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply put this camera is fun, powerful and reliable - feature packed and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Something else

DSC-RX100M5 05/04/2018 by Kevin27 (USA)

To have in camera slow motion up to 960fps alone's insanity, but with an end trigger option??? -----

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

EVF problems

DSC-RX100M5 05/04/2018 by aa_harvey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with imaging, but EVF ..I'm unable to retract, although Sony product, only Sony Europe Warranty honoured and camera was bought on holiday from Sony dealer in Hong Kong

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top of the Line Camera

DSCRX100M5/B 04/04/2018 by bob_the_builder (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony is the best - I had a RX100M4 and decided to upgrade to RX100V. Not disappointed. What a high speed versatile camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/04/2018

Hi bob_the_builder,

We are happy to hear that you're satisfied with this camera, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Wrong dimension

DSC-RX100M5 24/03/2018  (USA)

The camera thickness dimension is wrong in the ad. 41 mm is not 8"

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Time for a longer range

DSC-RX100M5 22/03/2018 by Photorara (USA)

I own a rx100 mk1 and just finished using this mk v, while there are speed improvements and better video on this new model, the 24-70mm range is now obsolete. To have a worthwhile upgrade it is overdue To extend the range to at least 120-200mm at the long end.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

Outstanding performance

DSC-RX100M5 16/03/2018 by Jules0606 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera around 4 weeks ago and it's not left my person. I needed something alittle smaller than my Sony A7r when out and about and as a wheelchair user this camera ticks every box for me. It has fantastic focus speed and great Zeiss fast lens so ISO can be nice and low. Would recommend this pocket rocket to anyone, professionally and as a amateur.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

good

DSCRX100M5/B 04/03/2018 by lakevin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

want to take lots of good pictures, travel a lot, meet many people and leave good pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great and compact

DSCRX100M5/B 26/02/2018 by Sadra1988 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Advanced features in the small body Superb photo quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great quality, interface and manual focus not

DSC-RX100M5 26/02/2018 by madaeon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Photo quality and video quality is very good. The 1000fps feature and AF are very good. Navigating through the settings using the interface is not intuitive and complicated. Using the manual focus is not easy in video mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

camera is good but horrible sony online support

DSCRX100M5/B 17/02/2018 by faisaltaher (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am trying to add application timelapse but cant do it and there is no proper support

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Both Focus and Exposure Are Fast and Accurate:

DSCRX100M5/B 22/01/2018 by Robert45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got it for a trip to Europe on a tour. I had to shoot fast as I was always with family and a larger group while we listening to a guide. The pop-up viewfinder is really wonderful to use. The photos were in focus with accurate exposure. It worked well both outside and inside. Inside included art museums, churches and castles and bakeries. Because of the high contrast conditions inside (dark objects and bright windows), I set the Dynamic Range Optimizer (DRO) to +5, which worked well. Upon downloading the files into my computer, I had many nice choices. The files were easy to enhance with photo software. Last, this camera functions delightfully well as a point and shoot. However, I recommend the book by Alexander S. White so that you can get even more out of your camera as it has advanced and professional features. Happy Photographing!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Fantastic autofocus

DSC-RX100M5 12/01/2018 by 4wdcowboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought mainly for video, the way it snaps onto what you wanted to show almost instantly is amazing. The way the rear screen folds up, while useful, seems clumsy and part of the screen is hidden, plus it will get damaged against the camera body if you don't have a protector on. Stills are outstanding too though I have noticed moe noise than expected in the background of expansive scenes. The viewfinder is potentially useful but my previous (Canon) didn't have one so have got out of the habit of using one, and forget it's there. I would much rather all that space was used for an external microphone input, and a way to mount a small microphone is sorely missed too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

no software

DSC-RX100M5 08/01/2018 by wendo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was a Christmas present. It is a fine camera but I cannot use the RAW options as my old version of lightroom (5) cannot upload the RAW files. The download software wont work on any of my 4 computers windows or MAC. I am in despair. I have a very expensive camera that I can only use a limited amount of functions.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

5

0

Great starter camera!

DSCRX100M5/B 29/12/2017 by Taramisue (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago for a birthday present to myself. I have really only had experience with camera phones so I am excited to learn on this camera. Right away I am impressed by the quality of the images and the ease of finding information on settings to get the most out of this product. I am excited to learn more about this camera .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Nearly Perfect..

DSC-RX100M5 21/12/2017 by gurjj (United Kingdom)

I can not fault it in terms of the quality of image or video it produces but I do have a few wishes for it. It would be great if there was an audio input for an alternate mic, the software could be better and surely the screen should be touchscreen in the next model. Would be great to control when to shoot with a bluetooth remote. The app you can download to view what is on the screen needs to be improved so it has move functions. All the software stuff can be fixed which would make this camera the go to point and shoot as the hardware is solid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony

DSC-RX100M5 13/12/2017 by Rombud (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for holidays nearly as good as canon DSLR also own mk 1

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Awful Software -Unable to use on Apple Mac

DSC-RX100M5 11/12/2017 by Marksy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

While the camera is OK the complete lack of up to date software for a Mac to enable the photographs to be transferred to a Mac is unbelievable - and what makes it worse is Sony just don't seems to care. I contacted customer services and they said "it does not work" The best option is to take the card out and copy the photographs using this method. I am sure that this will not be available on Son'y site but if not then I will put it on plenty of other site. They just don't seem to care and just shrug me off. I have spent a lot of money on this camera and this has spoiled my whole experience of Sony.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

8

0

Size and features.

DSC-RX100M5 11/12/2017 by Pehan1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Without doubt quality of workmanship and lens. SW - you need to spend some time to learn all benefits. Basic features are clear enough. I am more at home with still pictures and I wanted to have camera which I shall have in my pocket all the time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact, versatile, powerful

DSC-RX100M5 08/12/2017 by Tommy10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needs something compact to carry with me all the time. Something with quality images and a wide range of shooting parameters. Delighted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very high quality images

DSC-RX100M5 05/12/2017 by Rubica (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been very impressed with the results I have been able to achieve with this camera so far, especially in low light conditions. It gives me image quality very similar to my much larger (and heavier) interchangeable lens system camera, and does so with very little fuss. As a carry around camera when I don’t want to be lugging bags of kit it is superb. The only problem I have found is as a result of the factor that is also its main advantage which is the size. You do need to pay a bit of attention to which controls you are using, but this is inevitable in a camera so small, and I would not want it to be any larger.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The best pocketable ‘proper’ compact you can buy!

DSC-RX100M5 01/12/2017 by KavKav (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the Mark 1 and also the Sony RX1 do I have plenty to compare the mark V with. To have all of the features I want in a camera this size is remarkable, added to which the markV delivered superb pictures and is very fast. It is hard to see how the upcoming markVI can meaningfully improve on this. 10/10 Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M5 22/11/2017 by Leave blank (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredible power in a tiny body - exactly what I wanted in a second camera to back up an interchangeable lens system. It gets some flak in reviews for its complex menu system, and yes it takes a good deal of time to research and set the camera up to one’s preference. But I do have a PhD and enjoy that kind of thing! The range of focussing options is particularly complex, and could do with better explanation. However once there I really like the system; everything you need to find is quickly accessible without diving into menus. And it works so well, particularly the focus system. The battery life is not good, but a price I am happy to pay for the compact size and level of performance. However given that, it is poor that Sony fail to supply a battery charger, and that their branded batteries are so overpriced. Charging is by micro usb lead to the camera itself, rather fiddly, and in my experience that connector is not very robust. So I suspect most owners will be driven to the aftermarket for batteries and charger, with its associated risks. Sony, please include a second battery and charger in this premium product. I originally rejected the RX100 series because the included viewfinder didn’t work well for spectacle users, in particular it just got pushed back in when placed at the eye. I am learning to live with it, but it would go from good to great with the simple addition of a lock. I haven’t used the camera enough to make a definitive judgement on the all important subject of image quality, but initial impression is that discerning users wil be satisfied with the lens and sensor performance. Zoom range is limited at the long end, but a necessary compromise for the compact size of body and sensor size. Some competitors have extended the long end, and this should be a target for the next model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great quality and features in a tiny package

DSC-RX100M5 21/11/2017 by joskiboy (United Kingdom)

Downsized a DSLR for this and am very pleased. Really fast to use, really fast to focus (phase detect is great). Image quality is great. Shame there is no touchscreen but it is really quite amazing how many features and what such quality they have crammed inside such a small machine. Easy enough to be with me whenever I need it and more than good enough picture quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A big-hearted camera in a very compact body.

DSC-RX100M5 21/11/2017 by HMhappysnapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camera for about a couple of weeks now. Being a long-term SLR user I wanted to try a compact that fulfilled the range between point-and-shoot with the ability to benefit from features that a full-blown SLR could provide. This certainly does not disappoint. The quality and capabilities of this little camera have amazed me. It goes with me everywhere (in my pocket) and gives me opportunities for those shots that would previously have required me to carry bulky camera gear. I am still learning how to take advantage of of its many capabilities and will continue to enjoy doing so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M5 20/11/2017 by oasissteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera and I am happy with it but I have issues with processing raw files in Lightroom and using my iPhone six for camera remote which is the only disappointment I have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-RX100M5 18/11/2017 by zdzyisiek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to add to my collection. It is easy to use if you are used to Sony cameras. Otherwise it is of the quality you expect for this price and it fits in your pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ultimate pocket camera, most probably!

DSC-RX100M5 02/11/2017 by Injun (United Kingdom)

I bought the Mark V (M5) as a replacement to the my ‘aging’ M2. However, the M2 is till ca very capable camera - but I now needed to upgrade to a better design Zeiss lens (equivalent to my Canon 24-70 mm f2.8L II lens for Sony A7rII). The results so far from the M5 are outstanding and I am very satisfied - and certainly of high quality and able to produce A2 prints if required. The technical upgrades since the M2 are most welcome, however, in my current area of photography 4K video capability is secondary, but delivering high quality images is my primary reason for purchasing the M5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony RX100 V

DSC-RX100M5 17/10/2017 by paul_ie (United Kingdom)

I purchased the RX100V to support my USA photo trip. It was to be my record shot camera backing up the DSLR but I found myself reaching for this camera before the DSLR. The handling and fast AF and 4K video meant good sharp shots and true exposure reproduction. Feature packed, retractable view-finder and flash, adjustable LCD screen, good long-lasting battery. All-in an excellent camera for every-day shooting or special trips.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A truly awesome camera. The best point and shoot.

DSC-RX100M5 09/10/2017 by PheasantPluker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera blows me away with its ability to take stunning images and video. I’m an amateur videographer and I have fallen in love with this camera. It’s so versatile and the ability to take amazing images and video in low light is the icing on the cake for me. The only con for me is the price. A very expensive point & shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Size/Compact! Perfect!! Weight! Perfect!!!

DSCRX100M5/B 01/10/2017 by Quetal1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I will use it today for the 1st time, so I can't say much yet.And fulling around with it this morning, it is EASY...I gave my Sony AX plus 2 lenses to my grandson because I just didn't want to carry weight anymore. Will review after my trip to Nevada City

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great pictures

DSC-RX100M5 18/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, great pictures and can go anywhere in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

good quality video recording

DSC-RX100M5 11/09/2017 by Johnnnn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have upgraded from the RX 100 3 because I wanted the improved video quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superior Quality For A Compact Camera

DSCRX100M5/B 04/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I searched a lot for a compact camera before I settled on this one. The 1.0-type sensor was the selling point for me. I've had it for over a month now, and I can safely say that I'm pretty happy with it. Pros (what comes to mind) - Surprisingly good in low light - Responsive - Lengthy battery life - Video stabilisation - Ergonomic - Easy to use - Electronic view finder Cons - Disappointing quality in HFR (High Frame Rate mode) - Electronic zoom slower than expected Feature Request (Below are things that I already knew about before purchasing, so they're not disappointing. Nevertheless, it would be nice to see them added in future generations.) - Mechanical zoom - Bigger zoom range - Touchscreen - GPS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M5 04/09/2017 by Sbradec (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned the two previous models of the RX100, it is a great camera, the Mk5 makes a good camera, a great camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Studio quality on the go!

dscrx100m5 29/08/2017 by BRealz81 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these for about a year.5 now and I use them everyday during my travel to work. I high recommend ... hands down one of the best wireless headphones I've ever tried and owned. The Bass Boost button is what makes the ultimate difference in my opinion (it's what separates it from the rest - it deep rich bass). The only one negative would be the size (they're quite bulky).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

10

0

RX100M5 is a great compact camera. Best for travel

DSCRX100M5/B 17/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 days ago and took quite a few photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it

DSCRX100M5/B 15/08/2017 by onsunset (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My only problem is the lack of long range capability; hope a lens can be added in the future. Realize this might offset the benefits of it fitting in your pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

VERY FAST

DSCRX100M5/B 30/07/2017 by Badbob (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a couple weeks ago. While it is extremely fast shooting and the AF is great, it is limited in some ways, i.e., AF Lock is disabled is you zoom and other issues. It is a great little camera, but limited in use if you are a semi-pro or pro. Will be great for vacations and a quick backup camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Little Camera

DSC-RX100M5 24/07/2017 by Blue Baron (USA)

I bought this camera in May 2017 because I did not want to take my DSLR on a European tour. When I got home I was very impressed at the quality of the pictures it took. I don't do video, so I can't comment on that, but the stills were very good. I did some comparison shots between it and my full frame DSLR and was amazed at how close the RX100 V came to the DSLR. I am used to using menus on my other cameras, so it does not bother me that the RX100 V does not have a touch screen. In fact I really prefer not to have one. The fold out monitor on the back was very useful. I just wish it would fold down more than 45 degrees. Sometimes when I needed to take overhead shots, I would fold the monitor up 90 degrees and turn the camera upside down. I really like the video viewfinder since I take most of my pictures outdoors and the sun on the monitor can be a problem. Five things I don’t like about the camera: the lens is soft at the edges. In wide angle there is noticeable distortion at the edges. The lens could use more reach, the material used for the monitor scratches very easily. I wish Sony used something as durable as my smart phone. The camera goes through batteries quite fast. I took a lot of pictures each day and would go through three batteries each day. Overall, though, this is a great little pocket camera that takes very good pictures and has pretty much any capability you could want in a camera with a fixed lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bought todo great slow-mo Videos

DSC-RX100M5 21/07/2017 by Stewthebrew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because of the good reviews and the fact it does great slow-mo videos as well as having a great 24fps and also a good low light lens of f1.8. I have a Canon G7X MkII which I think is a better overall point and shoot/Vlogging camera especially as its half the price. The Sony does not even have a Touch screen, which is really useful on my Canon camera's and would have been the icing on the cake for this Sony camera especially useful because of the size of these cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera for all occasions

DSC-RX100M5 18/07/2017 by Johnts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was initially sceptical about picking a compact camera to replace my somewhat cumbersome DSLR whilst loosing some of the features from this type of camera. After a couple of weeks use the RX100 V5 is a revelation and has surpassed all my expectations. It may be compact on the outside but everything else is immense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera

DSCRX100M5/B 17/07/2017 by Eme253 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this two days ago and I'm overall satisfied took me a couple hours to get used to its not to user friendly but nothing to stress over

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but fragile

dscrx100m5 10/07/2017 by dennismv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing camera, but gosh darn it, it is easy to break. Seriously consider wearing a body-cord attached to your body and the camera to prevent accidentally dropping the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Pocket sized punch

DSC-RX100M5 10/07/2017 by Probus5002 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A serious pocket size compact with reasonable image quality. I used a Leica MP240 and a Fuji X-Pro 2 for my main photography but there are times when I need a decent camera and the smartphone is simply not good enough. A relatively short range zoom lens will produce better image quality than a highly compromised 10x zoom lens. That's important as far as I am concerned. The start up for the camera is quick and auto mode will give you a high probability of a decent snap. I like the outer ring in the mode where I can zoom back and forth; although in P mode that ring gives easy access to setting aperture and shutter speed. Battery longevity is better than I expected. The tilt screen is a major plus. I am not yet comfortable with the wifi transfer of JPEGS. This may be a question of getting used to the app which seems much more cumbersome than Fuji's X Pro2 app. I do have a major issue with not being able to view JPEGs in camera after transferring JPEGS to my iPhone using the app. I can view Raw files but not JPEGS. A grey screen with "unable to display file" appears on the screen when I try to view JPEGs. The only way round this seems to be to swap memory cards and format the card after all files have been downloaded. A serious issue in my view. I am sure this can be overcome by a firmware update but I am not sure Sony will recognise the issue. I had no luck on the Cybershot Forum.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great camera

DSC-RX100M5 09/07/2017 by winpat1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really like this camera, focus is quick, easy to use and great photos and videos, one slight niggle, should come with grip on camera, slippy sometimes in use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Dissapointed

DSC-RX100M5 06/07/2017 by Howardartist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera from excellent reviews... features and results vety good. Battery life terrible. Fully charged battery and didn't use it... totally flat within 48hrs.. taking it back.

3

4

0

Love the RX100V!

dscrx100m5 27/06/2017 by StugotsGolf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading, hearing from a friend and watching a number of UTube videos I got the RX100V. I've not been disappointed in the least, it's a great small SLR that captures great photos. I have an A600 and using the same interface made it very easy to adapt to this smaller feature loaded camera. The videos are excellent. I highly recommend for anyone who wants the best photos from a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

RX100v - A Truly Superb Camera

DSC-RX100M5 24/06/2017 by Jerr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this camera about a month and it is nothing short of outstanding!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super Speed and Picturs

DSC-RX100M5 22/06/2017 by Dogloverx4 (USA)

I bought this camera in February specifically to take to concerts. I have used it twice so far and it is way beyond my expectations. I have some high end cameras but you can't take those into a concert. This fits in a pocket but really handles concert lighting well. Pics are crystal clear! It's not an inexpensive camera but if you want really clear pics AND speed AND compact, spend the money on this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/06/2017

Hi Dogloverx4, thank you very much for your kind words. You made Martina Mcbride proud with this shot! Thank you for choosing only the best!

0

Great Performance for such a small camera but....

DSC-RX100M5 19/06/2017 by RobFJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the camera for a couple of weeks now and, with one exception, it outperforms my previous high end compact digital significantly in many areas. Very strong points are lens quality, size/weight, menu system (for the most part),speed to lock onto focus and fps. It's /huge/ drawback is its optical viewfinder. It is a two stage process to use it. Release a pop up catch which locks the viewfinder in the raised position (fine); then slide the viewfinder housing back towards your eye. Unfortunately that does not lock so if you wear spectacles like me, your spec lens pushes the viewfinder back making it pretty unusable. (According to the camera shop I bought the camera from, that is the way the v/f is designed so the best solution they came up with was for me to stop the viewfinder from sliding back by my putting a finger on it.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great Quality Compact

DSC-RX100M5 17/06/2017 by hmy7k (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my RX100 M5 for a couple of weeks now. I am enjoying the compact size, just slips in my pocket. I use it mainly for stills but the slow motion video is amazing. I have an A7r2 also so the user interface is similar which makes for an easy transition between the two cameras. Picture quality is very good too and you have access to the same apps as the A7 which is handy. Definitely recommend this product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good first camera

DSC-RX100M5 27/05/2017 by sam2222 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am happy with this camra, its auto focus is amazing. small but clear picture.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

You will get a lot out of this little guy.

DSC-RX100M5 22/05/2017 by AndyTM (United Kingdom)

I have the luxury of trying out a number of cameras on daily basis from pro DSLR to compacts, this 1 inch sensor compact cameras from Sony is one of the best compact premium camera you could buy with standout features and performance to boot. It is not going to replace a Pro DSLR and lens but it does come close, sometimes better than an entry level DSLR. Take into account its weight, size, 4K, slow motion, speed of focus (a dream for vlogging), add on apps, superb viewfinder and by no means least the download of Capture One for Sony, you will get a lot out of this little guy. Owning the Sony RX100 V is more than a joy to use and has replaced my heavy everyday camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best for travel

dscrx100m5 12/05/2017 by Frito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very friendly user and compact. Best for travelling and blogging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great in (many) parts - still weak in others.

DSC-RX100M5 25/04/2017 by Jayaysee (United Kingdom)

Bought (?) as an insurance replacement for an M4 that met it's end in a brief dunk in the Indian Ocean. As far as I can see it's a re-work of the M4 with some tweaking at the edges, sorry Sony, and inherits all of the well known strengths and weaknesses of that model. One particular disappointment that I experienced first hand is over-heating when shooting 4k video. I got the warning symbol after just under 3 minutes and whilst I understand everything that's being asked of a point & shoot here, this is by no means a cheap camera and, frankly, I expect and expected better. If we've got a model with something not quite right perhaps Sony could let me know otherwise I'm going to have to look elsewhere for video work which is disappointing, in my opinion, at this price point. Apart from that, the macro is still a weakness but the rest is highly capable. The AF-A is a welcome addition particularly under video and the increased High Frame Rate is interesting but I've yet to find a time to use it. Oh and please get someone who actually uses the items to write / translate your User Guides. It could so easily be so much better and stand out for that amongst the volumes of mediocrity and literal translations. Then again that's why there's such a strong market in 3rd party guides - you have to ask why the need thought surely. Was going to give 3* but gave it the benefit of the doubt - just don't expect this to do 4k for any meaningful length of time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This is my third RX100.

DSC-RX100M5 16/04/2017 by Normsky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have previously bought the RX100 and the RX100M3. You will need to carry a spare battery. Otherwise an excellent camera. Well worth the hefty price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great little camera.

DSC-RX100M5 15/04/2017 by trevorad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only purchased this camera a few weeks ago and as yet have not had much time or reason to use it. However, it fulfils everything that I need in a camera, whilst being compact at the same time. In the past, I have been frustrated by having to carry around an SLR camera or larger compact/bridge type camera. As a result, I have tended to use my smartphone more often as it is always in my pocket and available for those opportunistic shots. This camera appears to have all of the features that I could need (and previously had) combined with flexibility and high quality. I am looking forward to using it more whilst on our holidays and during the summer months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera!

DSC-RX100M5 10/04/2017 by BluesCruiser182 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I gave this it's first outing last weekend and am delighted with the results - clear, sharp images with great colours. I used the HD (not 4K) video to record a couple of songs at a concert and the quality was great. I'm very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A new camera, a new world

dscrx100m5 09/04/2017 by Visionary (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am still learning about the features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought It Twice

dscrx100m5 28/03/2017 by Murph3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a Sony point and shoot, small and relatively light, with RAW and low light capability. The Menu was not hard to follow. Some exploration is needed to find out which modes of shooting support which features. It does have a limited telephoto range, but I knew that before buying. I miss the longer range, but it's not a deal-breaker. The camera is well built, strong but not invulnerable. After a few hundred shots, my camera fell four and half feet to the pavement - hitting the surface with the leading edge of its lens barrel, the barrel was chipped and "stoved in" on a bent angle - exactly the worst way. Had it landed on any other part of the camera, I think it would have survived. It was not the camera's fault; removing a glove in darkness inadvertently snagged the wrist strap, stripping it from my hand. Talk about Murphy's Law! I like the RX100 V, and have bought a second one as a replacement. While I like the wrist strap, I wish Sony would also include an inexpensive neck strap in the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

All I was looking for, for such a descent price!

dscrx100m5 17/03/2017 by Roshie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgrading from my SONY HX9V, I Love the size and features of this one. So excited to take it everywhere with me & capture the beautiful world.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

dscrx100m5 15/03/2017 by Presteam24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting to buy this camera. I love it I highly recommend it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, disappointing battery life

DSC-RX100M5 14/03/2017 by Sunboi79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I agonised for weeks over whether to choose the RX100M5 over others and finally took the plunge - overall I'm glad I did. It's solid, well-made, easy to use and with a bit of practise, takes great photos! The one aspect I am still a bit disappointed by is the battery life. I'd read the reviews and bought an extra battery... coming from a NEX-5R, where I could get a whole day of sightseeing in without swapping batteries, I wondered how different it would be. It's really noticeable. You MUST have at least one spare battery. After two hours and about 200 photos and a few short videos, it was dead.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera. Tad complicated !

DSC-RX100M5 13/03/2017 by Mickeyt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely bit of kit but super complicated at first Was initially disappointed as the sharpness wasn't what I expected. However having reset to factory it's ok but I'm still learning how to handle. I think the instructions are poor so a lot of trial and error and should be clearer. It's expensive for what it is but I hope with a bit of patience I'll master The zoom is small and I do think would have liked better So would I recommend this camera ? Jury is still out

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0