36

4.7 based on 36 customer reviews

26
8
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

36 Customer Reviews

0

Professional camera that fits in a jeans pocket

DSC-RX100M5A 16/07/2020 by GuyMP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are astonishing little cameras: so small that they fit in the front pocket of a pair of jeans, and yet capable of full manual control and truly professional results. I knew the RX100M3 already. I deliberately chose the M5A over the M6 or M7 because I prefer the brighter, sharper lens of the original. M5A is a considerable improvement over the M3, being faster and more responsive in operation. Results, processed in Capture One Pro, seem sharper than ever, too. My only criticism is that the on-screen menus are awful, so that options are hard to find without reading every page, but custom menus help with that. It's a small niggle in an otherwise brilliant product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good features-tedious to use

DSCRX100M5A/B 12/04/2020 by jj19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great pictures but internal and external software are difficult to use--internally looking at your set up and externally difficult to transfer pictures or to use with phone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From DI PRO
01/05/2020

Hello. Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. If you need any technical assistance, please contact us at 1-239-245-6360 or email advancedcustomersolutions@am.sony.com. -Nick

0

Excellent camera

DSC-RX100M5A 01/03/2020 by PFThomas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect combination of customisation and ease of use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Amazing

DSC-RX100M5A 17/02/2020 by RX100User (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this camera, very easy to use on the go, fast and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M5A 25/01/2020 by JJJ1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera three weeks ago there are a lot features to work through . The picture quality is great fairly easy to navigate the menu .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great all round camera

DSC-RX100M5A 20/01/2020 by Brad123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this mainly for the wide appature. The photos in low light are just brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Outstanding little camera

DSC-RX100M5A 13/01/2020 by Condyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tiny camera but astonishingly capable and the ideal travel gadget.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent Quality

DSC-RX100M5A 09/01/2020 by Dougal Double Doodle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The SONY RX100VA packs such a lot of functionality into such a tiny device. Whether you want to completely master and control the image or just simply point and shoot and let the camera do the work, the RX100VA caters for both and all stops in between. Impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Wonderful photos

DSC-RX100M5A 27/12/2019 by Sollymydog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera only 2 weeks ago and using on holiday now. The results are good but there are so many features that I need to become familiar with. I would have liked to have been supplied with a good old fashioned manual to help me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Expensive but full of features

DSC-RX100M5A 07/12/2019 by OldOne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already have a Lumix Tz80 which is a great travel camera with a terrific zoom lens. However it has poor performance in low light and indoor sports shots were not great. Also I wanted to be more creative so a faster lens was needed. I like a camera I can slip in my pocket so I'm ready to take pictures at any time. The RX100 Va fits the bill. It is a high quality camera in a small size. I would like a longer zoom and a cheaper price then this would be the perfect camera for me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Amazing camera

DSC-RX100M5A 30/11/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this camera 10 days and taken over 4000 pictures plus a hundred videos already. This has included some amazing gymnasts in quite poor night lighting. The results are staggering. Everything I have heard and read about this camera is true. Including the manual, which is horrendous. It is disjointed, difficult to read and looks like it’s been written by a committee. If you are using my review to base a buying decision on - I have 4 DSLRs and 3 compacts. This one is well worth the cost, but be prepared to do battle with the Sony supplied guide. Much of my work involves children’s sports, so unfortunately I can’t post any examples

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality is superb

DSC-RX100M5A 25/11/2019 by Tony1234567890 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a small quality camera and read most of the reviews and it was a toss up between the Panasonic Lumix and this one. Having previously owned the larger Alpha camera and the old cybershot, I chose the one I'm most familiar with and wasn't disappointed. Great camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quality images, compact design and super fun!

DSC-RX100M5A 03/11/2019 by Shoddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mega fun and easy to use! Packed full of brilliant features! And most importably a super quality to the images! Aperture mode is amazing! And the auto mode covers a lot of ground... Great video capabilities too - the built in mic isn't bad at all! Capture live performances very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fanastic Little Camera

DSC-RX100M5A 25/10/2019 by JohnFromLondon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot believe that Sony has managed to fit so many features in such a small camera. The quality of the picture is excellent. It can be used as a point & shoot camera but it is capable of very much more. I particularly like the focus assist feature and the ability to manually focus a shot. The exposure is pretty accurate and the viewfinder is very good. The camers small size can occasional make it a little fiddly to use but that is only to be expected in a camera of this size. The video feature is similarly very good and produces exellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Little Camera

DSC-RX100M5A 06/10/2019 by wotnot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned an RX100 and found to it be a great camera. Deciding to upgrade, I went for the RX100 V and it does not disappoint. The added feature of the video feature is a real boon, apart from the other upgrades. My first impressions are that is it is a brilliant little camera, which has been confirmed as its now my second one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

DSC-RX100M5A 30/09/2019 by Shakey Bluesman (United Kingdom)

Exceptional small camera with a bright, fast, sharp lens. Brilliant in low light which is why I bought it and the 24 frames per second is phenomenal. Can be used in full auto/semi auto/manual modes to suit all photographers needs and perfect to carry in your pocket at all times. The Sony grip is a must as the camera can easily slip out of your hands without it. I also went for the Sony LCS-RXG case which, out of the 2 available from Sony, is the most versatile. Yes, it's expensive, but this lovely camera deserves the best!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great but not perfect

DSC-RX100M5A 26/09/2019 by Jimjam7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Traded in a Lumix LX100 - love the Sony's compact size and much better viewfinder but miss the LX100's exposure compensation wheel - so easy. Unfortunately a viewfinder faulty - waiting to get fixed. Remained stuck down and now freed up but will not retract completely.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

superb compact camera

DSC-RX100M5A 14/09/2019 by picture this (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera just a couple weeks. It takes high quality photos. The build quality is also excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So many features

DSC-RX100M5A 11/09/2019 by Lads 8387150 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy but W I P that are going to take time to but will persevere

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Simplicity personified

DSC-RX100M5A 25/08/2019 by Peripatetic Scribe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At age 76, I decided to become "minimalist" in my photography whilst at the same time retaining those features of a DSLR that I felt to be important to me. Thus, I came to the SOny RX100 V and can say in all honesty that my choice has been 100% successful. It does all that I demand of it, producing some excellent results for example, over the last few days here in Dartmouth Devon we have had some wonderful "autumnal" morning with splendid layers of mist over the river and surrounding hills. My little Sony has been remarkably faithful when reproducing a feeling of "softness" inherent when photographing under such conditions especially in monochrome which I enjoy greatly. To summarise, I have nothing but praise for the all-round quality the camera gives me, and would not hesitate to encourage others to purchase.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Pocket powerhouse

DSC-RX100M5A 11/07/2019 by Digital David (United Kingdom)

I've had an earlier model of the RX100 and was so impressed with it that I have upgraded to the VA model. The improvement in spec is certainly worth the higher price and I as looking forward to some even better photographs. When buying a camera I will always look for a viewfinder as I do not like using the screen when talking pictures, the VA viewfinder is a dramatic improvement on the M3 and is great in use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great pics

DSC-RX100M5A 30/06/2019 by Cooksolo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted with my purchase unfortunately I have had no luck in claiming the £100 cash back I was promised.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

My new RX100M5 "Locked Up" on overseas vacation!

DSCRX100M5A/B 08/06/2019 by Night Train (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The first trip with my RX100M5 ended in disappointment. 5 days into a 17 day vacation, it locked up. Reboot, Reset, wifi telephone Sony Service all unsuccessful. Online search for help showed other RX100M5 owners with similar problems. I was given an RMA and sent it in for service when I returned. The service was excellent and very quick. A ribbon cable came loose but I cannot imagine there is enough room inside this camera for a cable to fall off. Very disappointed with what is otherwise a great camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2019

Hi Night Train, We are sorry to hear about your experience. We are not expecting this event to hear from our customers, considering the camera that you have. Hopefully, you'll get a replacement as soon as possible. We will forward this to the relevant department. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Glare

DSC-RX100M5A 26/05/2019 by Leigh1234 (USA)

I purchased the RX100MV5 about a year ago. Overall a good camera but lacks a decent telephoto lense. I consistently get a glare or bright haze around any object that is bright such as a white T shirt in a sun light photo. Very annoying.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Useful at work and home

DSC-RX100M5A 19/05/2019 by sdey66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent for family photos and video but also for my work. I work with museums and it's small size, low light capabilities, angled screen and SLR quality images mean it is very useful to me for imaging ancient artefacts and specimens. I take 100's of images of each object and turn them into 3d models using photogrammetry. These models are then 3d printed. The RX100v is now my first choice tool in this work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Fantastic little camera capable of so much

DSC-RX100M5A 11/05/2019 by Adz34 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned a few Sony’s in the past like the A7 and A72 it’s packed with so many features and the menu system is a lot more user friendly only wish it had the time lapse features of the earlier models.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Small, light, pocketable

DSC-RX100M5A 10/05/2019 by JimboGC (United Kingdom)

In a couple of months, started to get used to the camera, not yet explored its full capabilities. Decided to go small, after losing DSLR bag and kit, which was used largely for wildlife in South Africa. Back in UK, wanted a go anywhere, small light camera, better base image quality than my Pixel 2 phone. Challenging myself to take proper photos, to think about photography again, but without the paraphernalia. So far, so good. Went for the 5a rather than the 6, partly on price, but also on reviews, and size. Thought about the Lumix 100 LX100 II, which has some nice features, but was too big for my pockets. I'm still working on the menus and buttons, and the ring, but everything appears possible with practice, which has been limited. Only accessory so far is a case, LCJ-RXF, which works well, except I'd like to be able to detach the shoulder strap with clips, to put the camera in pocket. Like that you can detach most of the case, if required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M5A 28/04/2019 by Jess2019 (USA)

I was thinking about buying the RX100 V or the RX100 VI. I wanted a camera that would take the best pictures within my budget. Sure the RX100 VI has a superior zoom lens, but at the expense of losing low light quality, which the RX 100 V has. I had to prioritize.. So, I decided on the the V. And, I'm glad I did. The pictures are stunning!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Amazing little camera

DSC-RX100M5A 18/04/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this little camera to go with my DSLR but to use this when carrying a big camera isnt an option and I’m afraid to say but this is now my go to camera over the dslr. The auto focus is super fast and the quality of the image is just amazing and you can just slip it in your pocket it’s crazy!! Also really love the portraits this camera can achieve :) I’m always have a RX100 in my pocket from now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Greta featres and a compact size

DSC-RX100M5A 08/04/2019 by mnra (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera over 3 weeks ago and so far I am really please with the resaults especially slow motion, 4k,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Sony RX100VA, a little gem!

DSC-RX100M5A 31/03/2019 by AlBG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera three months ago after six months of agonising over which camera to buy. I watched loads of Youtube videos of this and other manufacturer's cameras and finally settled on the Sony RX100 Mk VA. I had to keep reminding myself that I wanted a quality camera that would slip in my pocket so that I am not always tempted to carry a heavy (Canon 5D Mkll) DSLR. This one fits the bill perfectly and now goes with me everywhere. It's great for street and travel photography and is so much more versatile than a phone camera. I chose the Mk VA rather than the Mk 6 because of the faster lens (f1.8 - f2.8) as I looked at most of my Photo subjects (people and landscapes) and decided that this one fell into the category of what I use most when using my DSLR. This doesn't mean I don't use the DSLR anymore, I now reserve that one for really serious photography when I don't mind walking around with a heavy backpack full of gear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Excellent Quality with Some Quirks

DSC-RX100M5A 21/03/2019 by GregTurnbull (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony RX100VA is an amazing camera, very small, great fast lens which can zoom from wide-angle (24mm) to portrait (70mm). Obviously no telephoto optical zoom for this size & speed which is OK by me, I just move closer to the subject if possible or crop the image if not. It does have some quirks though, no GPS chip to record my location on the images, which is a shame, the essential handgrip should be included & not an extra at this price. The battery does run out fast in cold weather so you need a couple of spares. However, the worst issue for a landscape photographer is the annoying overexposure by -0.3 to -0.7, which is a mistake that should be fixed by a firmware update to the sensor &/or the processing S/W. I hate having to set a general -0.3 compensation, because you can forget when shooting darker subjects. :-) Obviously with such an expensive camera you should be shooting in RAW so some of these issues can be fixed by post-processing in Lightroom, Photoshop, etc., but this should not be necessary. Sony, please listen to the reviews in this regard! Overall a great camera, but one that takes a little effort to think about your subject, lighting conditions, etc., and make adjustments in the camera before taking any pictures, but then this is not a bad thing. Be aware that you are going to spend some time later on fixing some of the issues in S/W on the computer, so budget for this accordingly...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

great camera

DSCRX100M5A/B 12/12/2018 by cowpoke (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

user interface is challenging takes grewat pictures even at iso6400 and above

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Loaded with quality but still fits in your pocket

DSC-RX100M5A 07/12/2018 by denso pemburthy01 (United Kingdom)

Well built with an easy menu system.Takes good pictures in low light (for a compact) and great video. Loaded with quality and has all the features I need but still fits in my pocket.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Brilliant but complex

DSC-RX100M5A 27/09/2018 by Pauler (United Kingdom)

My initial reaction is that it will be highly suitable as a compact holiday camera instead of my Sony APS-C. In the early stages it seems very complex although versatile might be a fairer description. One seemingly mean feature is the obvious need to buy an (admittedly low cost) grip for such an expensive camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

3

0

A small camera with a lot of impact

DSC-RX100M5A 12/08/2018 by Marcia G (USA)

I bought this camera to take with me while I walked over 635 miles across Northern Spain last Fall. I needed something compact (fits in pants pocket) yet took good quality photos. It's spoiled me....though I still love my DSLR and lenses this little camera has proven itself over and over again for quality and impact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0