Starting at

$1,299.99

27

4.3 based on 27 customer reviews

14
10
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 19/11/2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

28

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 31/12/2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

27 Customer Reviews

0

Great product but let down a little by accessories

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 11/01/2020 by Kevin2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for travelling and hiking. I will always take my DLSR but there are times where the size and weight is impractical. I chose the Sony because it gave me scope to cover wide angle and zoom, it had great features and I can just pop it into my pocket. However, for a product costing over a £1,000 I would have expected the grip to be included. Also, Sony has changed the orientation of their screen so the only way to install the screen protector is upside down so the word Sony appears upside down and back to front (it doesn't look very professional)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Travel Zoom

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 10/01/2020 by Ray101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am primarily a dSLR user but wanted a pocketable camera for hiking and general use. After much research, I settled on the RX100 VII. I wanted a camera with a 1 inch sensor rather than the usual 1/2.3, and a flexible focal length. Whilst the zoom isn't as long as Panasonic's 1 inch sensor TZ200, image quality from the Sony is much better and it also has much faster auto focus. My only gripe is the touch screen. It cannot be used for any of the menu functions. Why include a touch screen, then not use it to the fullest.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Another advancement technology, external flash nxt

Body Only 06/01/2020 by drken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera does not compromise on improvements even from rx100-V. Much improvements were needed. I wish the manual was true to Sony's quality, I am laboriously printing at 2up, both sides & bound short left side in enhanced color printing. That is what is needed for those of us that like a printed book, seriously the world is digital but the manual should not only be for the price that I paid. Again not questioning the product its a big imprisonment and so needed but a manual production made large enough to read would be a nice touch even if you needed to charge me $5 more. There is so much that you have included and hunting would never uncover all the features or how to use them. This amount of time already spent 2 days is keeping me from using the camera. And by the way the contents page does not address the page numbers so it is also taking me forever to match up to the printed pages with page numbers. I found the software hard to locate for the remote control and still can't upload thru wifi, still says there is an error. Working on it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/01/2020

Hi, drken! Your feedback is highly appreciated. It will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. Thank you for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

Great Camera with fast focus !

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 06/01/2020 by Yadu (USA)

I bought this camera from Best Buy soon after it was released. It's a very good camera with fast focusing and very sharp picture quality. Ideal for casual or even serious shooting. Because of it's size, easy to take around. Since I have more Sony cameras, it was very easy for me to get hang of its menu.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/01/2020

Hi, Yadu!

You chose the best brand! Thank you for sharing your positive feedback using your new camera. Thank you for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 31/12/2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great picks

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 18/12/2019 by Paulzxcvbnm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super flexibility to control the shot... once you have understood the menu structure and programmed the various buttons to allow quicker access to the most used items

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A premium compact camera.

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 17/12/2019 by Birdofprey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probably the best compact camera on the market today albeit at a premium price.As a fan of the RX100 series having owned mk1 and mk4 and now the 7,it amazes me how Sony manages to improve and add features at each iteration to keep us RX100 fans interested.I fine now I use my DSLR cameras less and less as the RX performs as well and I can have it with me all the time.The reason I upgraded to the 7 on this occasion was the increased focal length and excellent tracking and eye detection this model has which makes such a versatile camera.I'm not finding the lack of built-in ND filter on this model to be to much of a problem as I am learning to adjust camera settings to get round this.As seasoned photographers as myself say ''the best camera to have is the one you have with you'' and because the RX100 is so convenient in its compact size no excuse not have it with you at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent pocket size travel camera

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 02/12/2019 by Cocodog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera when I wanted to travel light but still wanted good image quality and full control. It ticks every box in my experience so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 19/11/2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

28

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/11/2019

Hi, CHDigitalMedia!

Thanks for sharing your input on your Sony RX100M7 camera. We appreciate your time and feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Disappointed upgrade user

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 07/11/2019 by Disappointed upgrade user (USA)

I upgraded from version ii. The greater reach of the zoom lens is a plus. However I was disappointed by several things. First, for the price of the camera, SONY could sport its users with a WELL WRITTEN PAPER user's manual. It took me half an hour to find out how to reformat a memory card, and that was by search and discover, not by finding it in the on-line manual ....and I had been using version ii for several years! Second,there was no battery charger in the package, and I had disposed of the charger that came with my version ii.....come on SONY, be a sport and include it in with the camera. On the other hand the RX 100 is a great camera for high quality travel and informal shooting. If I were asked to recommend a camera for that purpose, I would present the above factors and suggest that the buyer compare brands and models that might also be of high quality, but whose manufacturers are more generous with its customers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/11/2019

Hello!

Certain Sony products do not have a physical user's manual. You can access your unit's manual online or purchase a physical one instead: http://www.truemanuals.com/sony/. It also didn't come with a battery charger but an AC adapter. You have the option to buy a battery charger from Sony Parts: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/model-accessories?language=en_US. We will forward your feedback to the relevant department.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Amazing Camera above and below the water!

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 06/11/2019 by Swanee (USA)

I bought this camera a month ago to take on a "bucket list "dive trip to Palau.The pictures taken with this camera above the water are sharp, detailed ,with great color. the pics taken at depth with the camera in a housing are just amazing.i have used many brands and types of camera over the years but this thing is a step above the rest!! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to purchase camera like this.menu was pretty easy to figure out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

It does it all

Body Only 04/11/2019 by sam311 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to add to my Sony collection of cameras and this by no means is the very best I’ve ever had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Grate camera

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 28/10/2019 by Wiggiey (USA)

Hi sony should create Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX 200 with 64 bit raw photo format and HDR 10 for photos and with a quad full frame studeo sensors and quad full frame exmor cmos sensors for the best picture quality ever

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, Wiggiey! Awesome! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Weather seal??!?!?

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 27/10/2019 by Alex9132 (USA)

This camera is the one of the best point and shoot on the market and very good for specific travel. Why specific ... well it does not have an environmental/weather seal like the alpha 6 series, so travel to a humid environment would really destroy the camera which really is disappointing. Sony why can we not provide weather seal to the Rx series ?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, Alex9132! Your feedback is highly appreciated. It will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. Thank you for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

Poor quality. Defective

Body Only 24/10/2019 by nonoy2629 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took camera on vacation to Europe and camera broke after two weeks of use. camera will not stay ON but recycles On and Off continously and will not turn off unless battery is ejected. it ruined my entire vacation which cose me close to $10,000.00

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/10/2019

Hi, nonoy2629!

We are sorry to hear this. You may perform a power reset to isolate the issue:

1. Turn off the camera.
2. Remove the battery pack and let it sit for a full minute.
3. Press and hold the POWER button for 30 seconds.
4. Release the POWER.
5. Reinsert the battery pack.
6. Turn on the camera.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

USB cable does not fit my camera

Body Only 20/10/2019 by BilS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera is great but the supplied USB cable does not fit into the camera slot, the plastic sleeve is too large. I want someone to send me an appropriate cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/10/2019

Hi, BilS! Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can provide further assistance. ~Ralph

0

Amazing feature, complicated, too small

Body Only 15/10/2019 by AllIsWellInNJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing feature set, complicated, too small to use efficiently and effectively... Used it first time on a 3-day weekend shooting movies and many stills. Very, very complicated camera operation - mostly due to overburdened and quite unnecessary features set in a camera this size (for the intended audience of enthusiasts travelling light I suppose). Manual is 634 pages! This camera made me firmly believe that smaller is NOT better - looks great on paper - and it is feature-wise - but operationally its a bit of a bust. e.g. methodology to upload pictures or videos to PC or smartphone (iPhone) is way, way too difficult (and flaky). And why do I have to use special software apps to do it (maybe I didn't read enough of the 634 page manual :-). Bottom line: Anyone interested in spending upwards of $1300 for a camera should really look elsewhere no matter how "great" the reviews and etherial the features of the RX100M7 (Mark VII) are. Who needs all that magic in a travel camera? I dare anyone to use it effectively outside the "auto" mode without the 634 page 1.5"x 8.5"x11" 2-sided printed manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2019

Hi, AllIsWellInNJ! We appreciate your time in writing this honest review about the camera. We value your feedback and we will surely take note of this for the betterment of our products. ~Ralph

0

so far so good but initial problem with warranty

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 05/10/2019 by didcotdude (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera a few weeks now and so far so good, just need to get to grips with all the features. I had a Canon G16 Powershot before. There was a problem though. In what appeared to be a sealed camera box, the extended service plan card had been scratched off already! I tried to enter the number to register and it was not accepted so I can only assume it has been used before!!! I'm currently in dialog with Jessops who sold me the camera to try and sort this out. Will provide a more in depth review later once I have used the camera a bit more

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

8

0

Unbelievable, so many features and so well made.

Body Only 03/10/2019 by Ken206 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from Amazon 3 days ago and can't believe all of the features and how will built the body is. I also own the A7r III and find the menu system in both to be so similar. When I can't carry the A7r iii on long walking trips I now have a very similar camera that is so easy to cary and that mirrors the larger full frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
08/10/2019

Hello, Ken206!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

My ideal camera

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 28/09/2019 by BarryBull (United Kingdom)

Retired mostly food still life photographer. Wonderful change to use a compact camera giving all the high quality images that I look for

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

7

0

The Best Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 21/09/2019 by 8064Sta (USA)

I bought this camera several weeks ago and used it during my recent trip to Europe: Netherlands, Belgium, France, Spain, Portugal, Gibraltar. This was a upgrade from the RX100 M2 (which has been my go to travel camera for many years). The VII performed superbly both for still photos (love the new auto focus capabilities) and video. Only downside is the battery life is worse than M2, but of course with the continuous auto focus, etc. I'm not surprised. What makes this a truly great travel camera is the 24-200 mm zoom. Yes you do pay a penalty in minimum aperture vs my old M2 but with stabilization and excellent high ISO quality I can live with that to get 200 mm on the far end of the zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/09/2019

Hi, 8064Sta!

Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

GREAT CAMERA BUT!

Body Only 19/09/2019 by DrMike (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can't say more positive things about this camera but its missing one thing a writen Manual. I see one online but it is a pain in the neck to always have to go to the computer and look it up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2019

Hi, DrMike!

We appreciate your feedback. We will forward this to the relevant department. In case you want to have a copy of a written manual of your camera, you may visit this link: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/compact-cameras-dsc-rx-series/dsc-rx100m7/articles/S1F1786?cpint=spt-banner_00204815_purchasemanual_i.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Innovative technology and quality products

Body Only 23/08/2019 by mousa99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third RX100 compact camara, I love the portability and all the new almost professional options available, very happy to own this last VII version!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2019

Hi, mousa99!

We are thrilled to know that you have three RX100 cameras. Wow! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for trusting Sony! Enjoy!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Had it only two days and shot 7 GB of video

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 23/08/2019 by Highwater Media (USA)

I pre-ordered the Mark V and received on the 22nd. I did an interview for a customer and got some outdoor video of the area. I did it all in 4K and the results were excellent. I did have to search for the video as it wasn't in the DSC folder. Which did give me a mini-heart attack at first. The rapid focus and facial focus were perfect. As during the interview he picked up items to show and the focus stayed on his face, even when he was off center. The effect was amazing and I hadn't even read the manual yet. Bravo to Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2019

Hello!

We are glad you like your new camera. Thank you for sharing your experience and your thoughts. You chose the best brand! Thank you for trusting Sony!


Regards,

Vincent

0

First Impressions

Body Only 21/08/2019 by TimG1677 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely cheap packaging. The camera is made in China (big disappointment for a premium product at this price point). The camera doesn't necessarily come with a charger but rather a cable to plug your camera to ( not a big deal just buy a triple charger with 2 extra batteries on amazon for $29 and you are good to go). The instructions are non existent ( single page is all you get). The app that allows you to control the cam and utilize other features is absolutely unusable. It requires a lot of tinkering to understand how to make the eye tracking work. Don't even think about utilizing 4k video unless you buy a UHS I - 3 sd card. It will not work with the older ones, not at those speeds. It is a tiny camera with a lot of features and an absolutely astounding fps shooting abilities that will take more than one day to give adequate review to but amount of noise in low light conditions is a bit much ( I have yet to tinker with iso so it might not be an issue once you properly set all the setting). So 3 takeaways : 1. No manual to speak of 2. Buy UHS I or higher SD card 3. Get extra batteries with a charger because the camera doesn't come with a conventional charger.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2019

Hi, TimG1677!

We do apologize for the inconvenience. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Here's the link of the help guide of this camera.

https://helpguide.sony.net/dsc/1920/v1/en/index.html

Regards,
David

0

Seems really well built

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 19/08/2019 by Nikon to Sony (USA)

Just opened the box, and my first observation is it is so little. Pocket sized of course, but coming from an a7III, it is small. This will be my sneaky camera when I want to be unobtrusive. The menus are virtually the same as the a6500 and the a7III, so it was easy to set up. The first one or two shots were equal to the a7III, but I expect that there will be things the a7 will do that this will not do. So far, charging the battery and then taking it out for some real world tests. Fingers crossed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hello!

The camera is already in its 7th generation and still keep on upgrading and improving its features. You chose the best brand. Thank you for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Fantastic Shots from a small unit.

DSC-RX100M7 / DSC-RX100M7G 27/07/2019  (USA)

Have used it several times, itz easy to learn the different abilities & takes stunning picX. ALL OG KUSH users should look into this for great picX.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

33