422

4.3 based on 422 customer reviews

239
113
35
9
26
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

easy to use and handy to fit in your pocket

DSC-W800 22/08/2016 by i havent got a nickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found this camera by going online and it was everything that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

422 Customer Reviews

0

Very handy

DSC-W800 19/02/2018 by GymB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because it was a compact. Very good spec, point and shoot.i have had a compact before and this beats the features on that.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

W800 Camera

DSC-W800 10/02/2018 by Pete 49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, compact in size for ease of carrying, very portable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

you don't have to waste $$$$ on batteries!

DSCW800B 05/02/2018 by ask her (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

found this wonderful camera while flying, as a friend had one, so purchased it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for money

DSC-W800 03/02/2018 by Timewasting (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a gift for a beginner. Good value entry product

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera with excellent features

DSC-W800 01/02/2018 by KH99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with the results from the camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Seems easy enough to use

DSC-W800 21/01/2018 by xyx654321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Requested this as a Christmas present 7 so far have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

very handy size

DSC-W800 20/01/2018 by Big papa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had given to me as a gift and very pleased so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rubbish pictures

DSC-W800 18/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does not produce very good quality pictures menu quite hard to get to grips with

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Very easy!

DSC-W800 18/01/2018 by CathTen1827 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to set up, use and save pictures. Very happy with this product. Only the focus is hard to control when taking pictures.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

DSC-W800 17/01/2018 by chickenlicken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a present to be a replacement for my previous camera which gave up the ghost after many years of service. I have only tested this one a little but was very disappointed to find that I could not edit, and retain, taken images by using the zoom feature, something my last camera did. To be sure I hadn't misunderstood the instructions I emailed Sony who confirmed that this camera did not have this feature. Otherwise it seems a basic pocket camera, easy to use, although like most cameras it is difficult to see what's on the screen in very bright conditions. I have not yet tried to edit photos online.

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 12/01/2018 by T2m34m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this as an Christmas present and I am thrilled with it and its functions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

DSC-W800 12/01/2018 by FROGGY 47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

EASY TO USE WITH EXCELLENT RESULTS IN ALL LIGHTING CONDITIONS

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

ms

DSC-W800 08/01/2018 by miss piggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present from boyfriend love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

Small and compact

DSC-W800 07/01/2018 by Mart 62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a Christmas gift for my husband it is easy to use compact and portable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great compact

DSC-W800 04/01/2018 by clobb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for Xmas and for a small point and shoot, videos also, its superb. Highly recommended at this price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SMALL, COMPACT AND LIGHT

DSC-W800 03/01/2018 by Cunning (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a small compact camera and this one fits the bill

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very poor quality images

DSC-W800 01/01/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed this for close up work . It turns deep reds faded pink , deep blues faded sky blue . The only plus i can find is good battery life as i have tried umpteen times with different settings to no avail but at least the battery held up! Deleting images is also a chore needing 2 buttons and drop down menu

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

poor auto focus

DSC-W800 25/12/2017 by bjan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about month ago. poor & variable auto focus. Will be returning.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

it the best thing i ever have

DSC-W800 23/12/2017 by gtif3 (USA)

I just got it today and is great and its feel like a phone. I like the HD photo on it and the 360 panorama is good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

DSC-W800 13/12/2017 by Bude (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Transferring my first photos to a computer produced pictures of outstanding clarity.What a delightful present to receive?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Tough Getting Started

DSCW800 12/12/2017 by hebotrout (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality looks great once you can figure out how everything works. Instructions are woefully inadequate on how all the buttons and functions work. Not clear how or when the shutter button works, ended up with a dozen shots when thought was getting one. I think it is a great little digital toy, but you need to clarify usage instructions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Features

DSC-W800 10/12/2017 by Ally Pally (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 2 months ago I have not used it very much yet but it seems to do everything I need

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Ideal for me

DSC-W800 09/12/2017 by Healdy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Up to now it is quite satisfactory and does everythink I expected

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very neat

DSC-W800 01/12/2017 by juwhitby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased up to now, although the lead supplied is too short for me to transfer from camera to computer, other than that all is good

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 27/11/2017 by Shirl60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to set up and use. Would have appreciated an SD card with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera, (extracting the pics could be easier)

DSC-W800 27/11/2017 by sng165 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial Set-up OK Takes great photo's, light, compact (a case would have been nice) Have to have some IT knowledge to download pics. I was disappointed that it required Play memories software installing in order to download the photo's - even once downloaded, their instructions were not clear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect little camera for what we need

DSC-W800 21/11/2017 by Lammy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to use on tourist trips where carrying around my Nikon DX is a bit cumbersome. We're just back from a weekend in Budapest and the photos with the DSC-W800 are fine

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

COMPACT EASY TO USE

DSC-W800 13/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

SUITS ALL MY NEEDS SMALL COMPACT HIGH PIXELS FOR CLEAR PHOTOS EASY TO USE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

CAMERA

DSC-W800 08/11/2017 by TELL1 (United Kingdom)

I OWN SEVERAL SONY PRODUCTS AND THEY ARE ALL VERY GOOD

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor quality photos

DSCW800B 08/11/2017 by Sophia312 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I need an affordable pocket camera for an event I was going to. I must sat I am disappointed in the quality of the photos that this camera produces. For the price range I didn't expect too much. Low light is extremely bad and the camera is really slow in processing the photo.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2017

Hi, Sophia312, You may try to turn on the Dynamic Range Optimizer of the camera. This feature will automatically optimize the difference between light and dark parts of an image. Data read/write speeds may also differ depending on the combination of the memory card and the equipment used. Check here for other details: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/dvimag/2014/DSC-W800_guide/en/contents/TP0000234062.html
Thank you for your feedback. We will forward this to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Easy to use -so far!

DSC-W800 29/10/2017 by Nan Wheels (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace a Ricoh which I found too advanced for me this new one seems about right

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SONY-W800

DSC-W800 28/10/2017 by Gevan (United Kingdom)

Very good indeed and I look forward to my holiday soon

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Perfect camera for my needs

DSCW800 25/10/2017 by cyberruk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an educator who teaches public speaking and presentation skills. I needed an inexpensive camera that could also take video so I could record student presentations and provide direct feedback on how to improve. The Sony DSCW800 meets every requirement I have. When on a mini-tripod, the battery compartment is accessible and I can exchange the SD card simply. Compact yet providing sufficiently high resolution and good enough sound quality. The camera is light weight and does not add any appreciable burden to an already overload computer bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Photos are very grainy.

DSC-W800 18/10/2017 by Tookie123 (United Kingdom)

I got this camera a couple of weeks ago hoping with 20mp it would replace using my phone but the photos are very grainy.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Terrific camera

DSC-W800 16/10/2017 by ian1253 (United Kingdom)

I have only owned my Sony DSC-W800 for two weeks, but have found it so easy to set up and use. Photos are excellent, and the on screen instructions are so easy to follow.On line help and support is first class.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice size

DSC-W800 04/10/2017 by Rose1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had time to use it much but so far still trying to work out how to do things. Not as easy as my last camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cheap and cheerful compact

DSC-W800 03/10/2017 by smed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In fact, I have used the camera little, since purchase, but it seems to be an improvement on the earlier model, which I had successfully for several years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really good little point and shoot camera

DSC-W800 02/10/2017 by RitaT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently bought this camera and I'm impressed with how easy it is to use. Good quality shots and some nice features. I particularly like the selfie face recognition and multiple shots options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Camera

DSC-W800 01/10/2017 by Stella2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I bought this camera, but it takes a bit of getting used to as it is quite different from my previous camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0