553

4.2 based on 553 customer reviews

304
151
49
15
34
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

554 Customer Reviews

0

Brilliant little camera

DSC-W800 22/02/2020 by JennyT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace an old compact camera. Really pleased with the Sony. Automatically adjusts for type of shot being made eg. close up, landscape, indoor etc. Really good pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 13/02/2020 by Stiz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony camera this month and it has not yet malfunctioned, which is good...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice size camera for traveling

DSCW800B 09/02/2020 by Lee72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift because I accidently left my 8 yr old Sony on the plane and still waiting to hear if it was found. My sister & Brother in law in Florida whom I was visiting bought it for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi Lee72!

Awesome! We’re very happy to hear that! Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

Lovely looking camera

DSC-W800 28/01/2020 by Cherry B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present from my husband and I am looking forward to using it to photograph my great grandsons christening.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Good small camera

DSC-W800 23/01/2020 by Heclantis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for Christmas and delighted. Good results but would like to turn off the flash. It also takes a long time to do a flash picture as it goes off 3/4 times!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony cybershot

DSC-W800 11/01/2020 by Jen20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely little camera. Was a Christmas present. Fits in my handbag and takes great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to snap with !!

DSC-W800 08/01/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a small camera that I could carry in my handbag for taking quick but quality photographs at events. Look no further. Small enough to fit easily in a handback, and really easy to use. You don't really need the instruction, if you're had camera's before, its simple to pick up and use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Response Time

DSCW800B 04/01/2020 by Happy Jack MO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being vastly old school, I miss the eyepiece in any camera, but this little Sony is very easy to use, has a very clear view screen, and a snappy response time so what I picture is what I capture. Bright, crisp images. I tested it on several "ugly sweaters" and got good resolution on convoluted patterns. Colors conform nicely both on screen, on computer screen and in print.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and Compact

DSC-W800 02/01/2020 by Lindy19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A no complicated camera, just the way I like modern tech. Easy to use, including the various programmes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

W 800 Camera

DSC-W800 30/12/2019 by Greggo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's ok but has to many options on it . can't say anymore than that .

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to Use

DSCW800B 28/12/2019 by lfno (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a similar Sony camera that finally died. I was so happy with my first purchase, that I looked for the same camera. The features have been updated and this model is easier to use. It is easy to recharge, easy to upload photos, and takes tremendous pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great disappointment.

DSC-W800 23/12/2019 by simplefool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading the item description on Amazon; I was looking forward to receiving and playing with a new toy. I was to be very disappointed with both the product and the whole shopping experience. The camera was tiny. There was no mention of a memory card in the item's description page; which I felt was an error of omission. Because, it really required a memory card to fulfil it's purpose. Having charged the battery; this particular camera wouldn't function beyond displaying what would become an annoyingly ironic message, asking me ''What Language Do You Want'' or words to that effect . . . After reading, and following the ''Quick Guide'' instructions; I came to the conclusion that this particular camera was defective. Void of function. Then began an epic saga of world wide web travels and adventures, involving Spaniards (in their European context) Indians (In they're hub of communication guise) . . . dare I mention the Chinese (as manufacturers!?) Yet another carbon footprint, involving global and local deliveries. Bus journeys, and return deliveries. Then the time factor. However, the person on the Amazon Messenger Assistance Service (or whatever it's called) was excellent. The camera was very disappointing. The shopping experience was disappointing.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Instructions are USELESS

DSC-W800 18/12/2019 by databoy (United Kingdom)

The instructions imply that this camera can use Internal memory, Memory Stick PRO Duo, Memory stick micro, SD and micro SD cards for storing media. I really doubt this is true. I can only see space for an SD Card. The option of using internal memory also seems to be false as I have tried taking photos without an SD inserted and cannot find them by either playing back on the camera or connecting the camera to my laptop.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

easy to use

DSC-W800 18/12/2019 by gofree (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

happy with purchase easy to use instructions easy to follow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super slow. Poor Pictures unless optimal light

DSC-W800 14/12/2019 by maps (USA)

I bought this at Target while I was in Florida about a month ago, In 1 weekend I took over 400 photos an I can use about 20. The picture quality is that poor. Unless light is optimal don't expect much at all. The camera -in every setting- also tries to correct and essentially ruins the point of capturing a true image. My hands, perhaps due to disability and other issues actually get very tired in between shots, it takes a second a more in between shots. I have never had a camera operate this slow -. If you want to capture important moments forget it. I trust and use Sony as a brand consistently. I will not be buying another Sony pocket camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/12/2019

Hi, maps!

If you are shooting in low-light conditions, you may turn on the SteadyShot feature of the camera. If your hands or body shake during the shots, we suggest using a tripod or place the camera on a flat surface to minimize the blurriness of your pictures.

To get high-quality pictures and videos, you may check out a high-end camera, like the DSC-RX100M7 or DSC-RX10M4 instead.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 01/12/2019 by Turbotrev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great pocket size camera. Loads of features nd easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bit disappointed

DSC-W800 08/11/2019 by chegga (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for my Cannon Sure Shot which was lost. The photo quality so far is ok but navigating the menu is far less user friendly. One particular disappointment is that try as I might I cannot get the date stamp on my pictures

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-W800 29/10/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes lovely photos and very easy to use. Menu sounds are very nice and a super bright flash mode is available for extra dark shots. Although normal flash is quite bright. Excellent. Thanks

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use.

DSCW800B 24/10/2019 by porkypine52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, but still trying to get images into my computer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, porkypine52!

To import and manage the pictures you took from your camera, we suggest using the PlayMemories Home application. You can download it from this page: https://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/disoft/int/download/playmemories-home/win/en/index.html. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Easy to grasp

DSCW800B 05/10/2019 by Glorybee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s great for keeping at hands reach using the strap.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, Glorybee!

That's nice to hear. Thank you for your positive feedback and for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

greatcolour

DSC-W800 25/09/2019 by sue77 (United Kingdom)

this was bought for us has a gift for our annervesary

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good compact little camera

DSC-W800 25/09/2019 by Johnnie2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera with all that you need in one small item, haven't used it much but appreciate it's little items inside.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very compact and handy.

DSC-W800 23/09/2019 by JulieHT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was bought as a gift and is very much appreciated!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very neat, compact , easy to use.

DSC-W800 16/09/2019 by Mariaobe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have got any photos yet, i am just learning to use it, as an older person, but i would recommend it to my elderly friend, as i am very pleased to have it been given as a birthday present by my kids.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect!

DSCW800B 13/09/2019 by PaulaT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not my first Sony. User friendly, gorgeous shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, PaulaT! That's great! We are glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Super practical compact camera at great value.

DSC-W800 13/09/2019 by Islander 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super, practical compact camera with terrific features at great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact and small

DSC-W800 05/09/2019 by Blessing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago as I needed a camera for my holiday trip abroad. I liked the camera because it is small and compact. At first I was not fond of the camera as I felt that the quality of the pictures did not come out as clear as I hope. I am getting to like it now, but I wished that it could be clearer and a lot sharper, especially at night.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Alright for snaps but needs a proper manual.

DSC-W800 02/09/2019 by Oldblandford (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good pictures in easy mode but the online "manual" is not helpful. The menu offers some interesting features but I need more guidance. Disappointing since it seems basically to be a good little camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A good functional camera

DSC-W800 27/08/2019 by Geoffc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very practical camera, for people who want pretty good photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pleased with new camera

DSC-W800 27/08/2019 by Wendy a hamer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with my new camera now to take to poland in 2 weeks time

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best thing bought in ages

DSC-W800 26/08/2019 by June all year found (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent price, small enough to slip in a bag but takes great pictures. Easy to use, just right for me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Operating instructions terrible

DSC-W800 01/08/2019 by Archie39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and had great difficulty setting it up. The date and time did not work on what instructions there was. The various settings are unexplained and I can not get of different setting that appear on the screen

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

nice little camera

DSC-W800 23/07/2019 by bill55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this to take on holiday, trying it out, having problems with night time shots,(fuzzy lights) cannot add sample photo's images to large, and don't know how to reduce them

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Present for 9 year old

DSC-W800 16/07/2019 by Carrotflan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent- she found it easy to use and good result.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and easy to use

DSC-W800 12/07/2019 by woodie69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Remember to buy a memory card for this great little camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camera

DSC-W800 03/07/2019 by SteveUU (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was looking for a low cost but capable little camera for a 3D Stereo picture project. I bought two. The 20 Mpixel option is insane (my old SLR is only 8Mp) but I find the 5 Mpixel returns stunning pictures and excellent prints without needing huge SD cards. Operation is simple point and shoot but with scope to play with options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely style ....but

DSC-W800 28/06/2019 by Goatsrant (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is acceptable but given its price it is a tad disappointing. Colours are too vibrant and menu is not simple to navigate. All this may improve after regular use

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent purchase

DSC-W800 27/06/2019 by Dorabella (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last week and already pleased with my purchase. Good value, light weight and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful pictures and good colors

DSCW800B 15/06/2019 by Bettina69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was a Christmas present from my husband and I used it for the first time for vacation pictures. Great videos and pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great gift

DSC-W800 07/06/2019 by Dizzy Dee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We brought this for our 11 year old daughter, she had shown an interest in having her own camera so we got her this as a starter she has taken no end of photos and loves it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact

DSC-W800 30/05/2019 by JennyMP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not used it much yet, but have found it easy to take pictures, download them and get good prints. Have not managed to attach the wrist strap!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not up to the great Sony standards I expected.

DSC-W800 28/05/2019 by Geeshot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I realise that this is not one of the more expensive cameras I have used, but as a basic product am disappointed with it. On pressing the shutter the camera is slow to react and you get the actual shot a fraction of a second after. Often after the person has finished posing for the photo and is walking away!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A Simpler directions

DSCW800B 25/05/2019 by watch4it (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was rather confusing with the instructions, Had to try numerous search and select before I was actually able to talk to a live technician to accomplish the finalization on the install. Now I just hope that I can remember the steps to transfer the pictures from the camera to the PC. Was very confusing, had me baffled.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-W800 24/05/2019 by Megan1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to keep a record of our lovely litter of Jack Russell pups and for a trip to Malta. Easy to use and good quality pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

DSCW800B 10/05/2019 by Photo guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted an extra camera, one that could easily fit in a flight bag. This one is small and compact and versatile.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissapointed.

DSC-W800 30/04/2019 by BLEASIE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this in a hurry as I was told Memory Cards were no longer available for my existing camera I have had for over 20 years. When it arrived I was surprised how flimsy it looked

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great wee camera with easy to use features

DSC-W800 21/04/2019 by jp1970cat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great small camera with easy to use features and software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slim styling

DSC-W800 19/04/2019 by Nattydread (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera only a few weeks ago. I like it but have not fully tested it.

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ok, but a bit slow.

DSC-W800 18/04/2019 by Stevecanfixit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a compact camera to take with me on trip to Cairo. My main camera is a Nikon DSLR. I know Digi compacts have come along way but still find them slow to actually take a picture after framing up, often missing the moment I was looking for. Its OK for still stuff, like a pyramid. But to capture my boys expression whilst kissing the Sphinx, too late.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fine for special occasions

DSC-W800 17/04/2019 by Pokènn (United Kingdom)

Great camera. If you're a starter it's got a easy mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

average point and shoot

DSCW800B 30/03/2019 by dipp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this a month ago and it is too slow taking pictures, have th wait forever between pictures.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
02/04/2019

Hello Dipp,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with your camera. Have you tried to reset it? Please follow the steps below to know how:

Reset all camera settings by performing MENU - (Settings) - (Main Settings) - [Initialize].

Regards,
Zac

0

easy to carry in pocket or wallet, simple to use

DSC-W800 25/03/2019 by redeagle (United Kingdom)

main purpose for buying this camera was to have ready and easy access to its use; eg bumping to old friends, making recordings and taking photos without worrying about storage and accessibility. etc

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 24/03/2019 by Tiatot (United Kingdom)

I received this camera as a Xmas gift and have just used it on holiday. It is easy to use, takes great pictures with little altering apart from the zoom and is compact to fit into my handbag. Really pleased with my gift.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr J Urquhart

DSC-W800 19/03/2019 by Johnny32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not actually used the product fully as I bought it for my forthcoming holiday. Took sample photos and they appear very good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little snapper

DSC-W800 12/03/2019 by Ejaydee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for a short trip to Oz, for quick snaps on the move. So far, it has performed faultlessly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact pocket handy camera

DSC-W800 05/03/2019 by John15 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to replace an older model which I had used for over ten years. Completely satisfied and the picture quality is superb. Very good price paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to handle

DSC-W800 27/02/2019 by robinn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not used the camera much. I have not yet looked at the online instructions but I can see that I will need to study them carefully to obtain maximum benefit. There are many more features than there were on my old digital camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

DSCW800B 22/02/2019 by lefty19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received camera as a Christmas gift, it is a definite upgrade from old camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Okay

DSC-W800 30/01/2019 by riley8661 (USA)

I bought this camera so I could take nice pictures to have on my phone because my phone camera is not the best. Only to find out it's super hard to get the pictures from the camera to my phone because the directions the camera comes with tell you nothing. It's been a couple weeks now and I still can't figure it out. So I don't recommend this camera to anyone, especially beginners. I would've rather bought a new phone or something.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/02/2019

Hi riley8661, We're sorry to hear that this camera didn't meet your expectations. For you to send photos to your phone they need to be transferred first to the computer. Please refer to this link for more information on how to do it; https://helpguide.sony.net/gbmig/45333561/v1/en/cover/level2_07.html.

0

Excellent product

DSC-W800 21/01/2019 by Linda48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value product, exactly what I needed, easy to operate

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0