601

4.2 based on 601 customer reviews

334
161
51
17
38
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 29/11/2020 by RAS12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I am a technophobe I found this camera very easy to use. Also, it is light weight so can comfortably be carried in a pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

601 Customer Reviews

0

It’s not that great

DSCW800B 02/04/2021 by Stonebreaker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in 2018 I thought this was the top of the line it’s so bad iPhone 6s has a better camera

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I want but cannot download images to com

DSC-W800 20/02/2021 by geriatric101 (United Kingdom)

Camera is just what i wanted but cannot download images to computer with Windows 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Read the instructions online instructions! Twice !

DSC-W800 31/01/2021 by RustyOToole (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this for Christmas basically to take pictures of stuff to put on Ebay. I'm just an open the box, point and click person. It takes very good photo's but I haven't quite mastered the (auto) focusing so I get the occasional blurred one. If, like me, you are not particularly interested in being David Bailey then it's useful to read the online User Guide. I would have liked to see a basic memory card included though I understand that would probably take it out of the price point Sony are aiming at. I

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 24/01/2021 by Auntie Boo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought before Christmas. Easy to use, good photographs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Photographs

DSC-W800 08/01/2021 by Nams (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace previous Sony compact camera bought many years ago. Pleased to find operation menu very similar and easy to set up. Wish I had kept printed paper manual that came with original - had to print off many pages from web site to refresh memory on what the icons on menu meant. Only problem took many attempts t get the battery to begin charging - still don't understand what was the problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Little Camera

DSC-W800 07/01/2021 by Beau 45 (United Kingdom)

Compact camera which is easy to use. Good features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 05/01/2021 by rich007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great useable camera at a very reasonable price. Usual Sony build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceelnt features

DSC-W800 05/01/2021 by anted (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a Xmas present to replace old one that had ceased to work

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

disappointment

DSC-W800 27/12/2020 by Burty54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very disappointed. I bought this camera and cannot actually initialise it as it will only take me to the Language set up and then switches the single English page, so I press ok on the screen and then set. It then goes to the drop down menu of Languages so I then select English, OK and set and it switches back to the previous page. I cannot access the menu page so I am having to return the product. Customer service advice:- Try turning it off and on again

2

3

0

All features are great.

DSCW800B 25/12/2020 by Dan 4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera a few weeks ago and it works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very Neat

DSC-W800 21/12/2020 by terrytig (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for a couple of weeks and it seems to be very good. It is very neat and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

useful easy to understand pocket-sized camera

DSC-W800 19/12/2020 by PatsyIpswich (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is my second sony camera of similar style but quite a few differences. However the software 'PlayMemories at Home' is the same so downloading came easily. The main difference is that you cant get maximum zoom while using on Easymode. The essential thing for me is the antishake as I have a tremor. It is very good value and I would recommend for convenience.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Camera

DSC-W800 29/11/2020 by h1833 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little camera . Small size fits into pocket . Very easy to use with different programs and noo need to buy batteries

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 29/11/2020 by RAS12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I am a technophobe I found this camera very easy to use. Also, it is light weight so can comfortably be carried in a pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not What I expected

DSCW800B 28/11/2020 by Thomp56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I puchased a song Cyber-shot 10.1 camera few years back for our business (Great camera). I decide to get another one, since this cyber-shot was old, so I purchased the above DSCW800B, it's not the same, trouble with the setting and picture taking in and outside and the program for downloading pictures are not working well, constantly having problems with this issues, called and sent emails to Sony for help. Their customer service is terrible. I sent another email a couple of weeks ago, got a reply back, saying will get back with you soon, no one yet... Terrible, Terrible. I really would like my money back or something better for our business.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to Use!

DSCW800/B 20/11/2020 by jamq19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it on a Monday, I received everything that Thursday! Everything works fine and I'm excited to have this technology at use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good cheap and simple

DSC-W800 20/11/2020 by Nicklink4 (USA)

It is one of the best cameras for someone getting into photography, or just for fun!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great little camara

DSC-W800 18/11/2020 by Ascotmm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great compact design, picture quality and ease of use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

...Ideal pocket camera...

DSC-W800 12/11/2020 by Old48 Kangaroo (USA)

This is the second one I've bought,this one as a gift for my wife.It's an inexpensive camera that easily fits in a pocket and takes good photos.For some one like my self or my wife who aren't heavy use camera people this camera is a great fit,especially for the money.For anyone getting into photography this an excellent starting camera.I've taken video with sound and have to say I was impressed with the quality of both image and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Only Sony for me

DSC-W800 10/11/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a replacement and I am so glad I did.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good buy

DSC-W800 29/10/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

gives a good picture,very handy to fit in hand and pocket,yes very good compact camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features and portability

DSC-W800 15/10/2020 by JRenner702 (USA)

I bought this for my birthday and I absolutely love it. It’s small and portable, yet just as powerful as my dslr

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 14/10/2020 by Bell 11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my husband as he wanted a smaller one so that it could fit into a bag as his main one is quite large. He is very happy with it good clear picture easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

DSC-W800 03/10/2020 by spud75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple f weeks ago just what I wanted fr taking quick photos when I am out walking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 23/09/2020 by Gorbet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present and very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good little "Shoot and go" camera

DSC-W800 07/09/2020 by Stuart44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second time we have purchased the same model, having worn the first one out by continually swapping data cards which eventually damaged the mechanism. We had no hesitation in choosing another one and resolving to make more use of the usb cable to interact with our computers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 07/09/2020 by Blueovation (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for everyday use. We use this at our factory for recording accidents, taking pictures of machine parts that are worn or need replacing and use the video function for recording short clips which we use for training purposes. The compact size and ease of use makes it ideal as an everyday item that slips easily into a pocket. The picture quality is good and the flash function gives a clear bright light that doesn't blur the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

smart looking camera

DSC-W800 16/08/2020 by hobbitboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i got this camera a short time ago, its the best compact camera i have ever bought .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Sony Digital Camera!

DSCW800B 12/08/2020 by Sujoy7635 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a new Sony digital camera online. It is a nice camera, small, easy to use menu and taking pictures. I registered my product. I like photography. Sony is a cool company.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT PURCHASE!

DSC-W800 07/08/2020 by RUTHIE60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago. Looks good. Easy to operate. Neat sharp photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very portable

DSC-W800 05/08/2020 by Dave the rave 123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I wanted a good pocket camera, and I am not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fun little toy!!!

DSCW800B 03/08/2020 by Skinhorse (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this little camera to replace a bigger bulky one. Is lightweight and fun little camera with enough buttons and whistles.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Purchased believing I could download pictures to m

DSCW800/B 28/07/2020 by Husker1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased believing I could download pictures from camera to my computer so I could enable my ability to send them to my daughter and family in Italy

2

4

0

Small camera that packs a large punch!

DSC-W800 27/07/2020 by Rob 104 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looking for a compact "Point & Shoot" camera to carry around every day, this more than meets my requirements. Clear pictures every time, with excellent zoom facility. Hopefully this will serve me well in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Handy Little Pocket Camera

DSC-W800 09/06/2020 by marjon46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I always carry a small camera in my pocket because a photo opportunity can present itself at any moment. This camera is handy for such times and can be activated and the photo taken in seconds. Colour resolution is excellent and photos are sharp enough to be enlarged to 13mm x 18mm but no further.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice compact little camera

DSC-W800 18/05/2020 by Evie 63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes lovely photos,but as yet have not developed any.so handy to put in your pocket,nice size screen very happy with it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Camera - Excellent Lense

DSC-W800 08/05/2020 by Rbh27 (USA)

I've had this camera for about 6 years and it is great ... I use it for work and it gets knocked around in breafcases and backpacks, Lense quality is outstanding and easy to use vs my little Lumix. and other fullsize cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Can't figure it out!

DSC-W800 02/05/2020 by CherylD (USA)

This was a Christmas gift from my son because he thought I needed an upgrade from my Nikon cool pix. Well, for one thing, I took it on a walk with me and after a few pictures got a message that there is no internal memory space remaining - and so I thought I would download on my computer to get what I took off, and it doesn't connect?? Glad I didn't get rid of my little Nikon which doesn't require a memory card and I can download to my PC with no problem.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Not the best

DSC-W800 30/04/2020 by DD Almighty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it and sent it back, picture quality was worse than my Iphone6S. I bought a Canon G9X MkII at a lot more money but pictures are superb.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than using your mobile!

DSC-W800 29/04/2020 by Cardman (United Kingdom)

I have just got this excellent piece of kit and, for the price, I am astounded by the quality of the pictures! The quality of the build is very good too! Simply removing the memory card, plugging it into a dongle, and, connecting it to my iPad is simplicity itself. Will never not take it with me in future!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

can not connect to my computer

DSC-W800 29/04/2020 by notwen (United Kingdom)

about 7 years ago and is old but the camara works ok but i can not connect it to yhe computer

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great Camera

DSCW800/B 25/04/2020 by Richp2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it and the photos are excellent. I just recommended to a relative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Never took so many blurry pictures

DSC-W800 24/04/2020 by Feraltamer (USA)

Seems the camera needs to be braced against something so the image doesn't end up blurry. Looked on the camera menu for image stabilization. No go. Looked on the help guide, still nothing. My Kodak easyshare (rest its soul) did much better than this. Flash is too bright, and washes out subject.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From DI PRO
24/04/2020

Hello, we're sorry for the unsatisfactory experience. Typically, when an image is blurry it's either due to too low a shutter speed or a dirty lens. If you'd like some guidance on settings, please give us a call at 1-239-245-6360

0

Compact and Easy to Use

DSC-W800 20/04/2020 by Wisim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this camera. Easy to use and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ease of use

DSC-W800 20/03/2020 by ginty1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this about a month ago, and tbh not used it that much, as been self isolating, so nowhere to go to take pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, compact and easy to use

DSCW800B 09/03/2020 by cmills33138 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The DCSW800B camera comes in handy for taking quick tourist photos with a better zoom and photo quality than my mobile phone. No drivers were necessary and the device was immediately recognized by my system running Ubuntu Studio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/03/2020

Hi cmills33138, Great! We're glad you like the camera. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Great value camera with many features

DSC-W800 28/02/2020 by Benny 99101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a birthday present just what I wanted will definitely put it to good use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant little camera

DSC-W800 22/02/2020 by JennyT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace an old compact camera. Really pleased with the Sony. Automatically adjusts for type of shot being made eg. close up, landscape, indoor etc. Really good pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 13/02/2020 by Stiz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony camera this month and it has not yet malfunctioned, which is good...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice size camera for traveling

DSCW800B 09/02/2020 by Lee72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift because I accidently left my 8 yr old Sony on the plane and still waiting to hear if it was found. My sister & Brother in law in Florida whom I was visiting bought it for me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi Lee72!

Awesome! We’re very happy to hear that! Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

Lovely looking camera

DSC-W800 28/01/2020 by Cherry B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a Christmas present from my husband and I am looking forward to using it to photograph my great grandsons christening.

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Good small camera

DSC-W800 23/01/2020 by Heclantis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for Christmas and delighted. Good results but would like to turn off the flash. It also takes a long time to do a flash picture as it goes off 3/4 times!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony cybershot

DSC-W800 11/01/2020 by Jen20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely little camera. Was a Christmas present. Fits in my handbag and takes great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to snap with !!

DSC-W800 08/01/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a small camera that I could carry in my handbag for taking quick but quality photographs at events. Look no further. Small enough to fit easily in a handback, and really easy to use. You don't really need the instruction, if you're had camera's before, its simple to pick up and use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Response Time

DSCW800B 04/01/2020 by Happy Jack MO (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Being vastly old school, I miss the eyepiece in any camera, but this little Sony is very easy to use, has a very clear view screen, and a snappy response time so what I picture is what I capture. Bright, crisp images. I tested it on several "ugly sweaters" and got good resolution on convoluted patterns. Colors conform nicely both on screen, on computer screen and in print.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and Compact

DSC-W800 02/01/2020 by Lindy19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A no complicated camera, just the way I like modern tech. Easy to use, including the various programmes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

W 800 Camera

DSC-W800 30/12/2019 by Greggo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's ok but has to many options on it . can't say anymore than that .

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to Use

DSCW800B 28/12/2019 by lfno (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a similar Sony camera that finally died. I was so happy with my first purchase, that I looked for the same camera. The features have been updated and this model is easier to use. It is easy to recharge, easy to upload photos, and takes tremendous pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great disappointment.

DSC-W800 23/12/2019 by simplefool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading the item description on Amazon; I was looking forward to receiving and playing with a new toy. I was to be very disappointed with both the product and the whole shopping experience. The camera was tiny. There was no mention of a memory card in the item's description page; which I felt was an error of omission. Because, it really required a memory card to fulfil it's purpose. Having charged the battery; this particular camera wouldn't function beyond displaying what would become an annoyingly ironic message, asking me ''What Language Do You Want'' or words to that effect . . . After reading, and following the ''Quick Guide'' instructions; I came to the conclusion that this particular camera was defective. Void of function. Then began an epic saga of world wide web travels and adventures, involving Spaniards (in their European context) Indians (In they're hub of communication guise) . . . dare I mention the Chinese (as manufacturers!?) Yet another carbon footprint, involving global and local deliveries. Bus journeys, and return deliveries. Then the time factor. However, the person on the Amazon Messenger Assistance Service (or whatever it's called) was excellent. The camera was very disappointing. The shopping experience was disappointing.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Instructions are USELESS

DSC-W800 18/12/2019 by databoy (United Kingdom)

The instructions imply that this camera can use Internal memory, Memory Stick PRO Duo, Memory stick micro, SD and micro SD cards for storing media. I really doubt this is true. I can only see space for an SD Card. The option of using internal memory also seems to be false as I have tried taking photos without an SD inserted and cannot find them by either playing back on the camera or connecting the camera to my laptop.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0