Skip to Content
398

4.3 based on 398 customer reviews

225
108
33
9
23
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

easy to use and handy to fit in your pocket

DSC-W800 22/08/2016 by i havent got a nickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found this camera by going online and it was everything that I wanted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

400 Customer Reviews

0

Great Features

DSC-W800 10/12/2017 by Ally Pally (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 2 months ago I have not used it very much yet but it seems to do everything I need

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ideal for me

DSC-W800 09/12/2017 by Healdy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Up to now it is quite satisfactory and does everythink I expected

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very neat

DSC-W800 01/12/2017 by juwhitby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased up to now, although the lead supplied is too short for me to transfer from camera to computer, other than that all is good

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 27/11/2017 by Shirl60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really easy to set up and use. Would have appreciated an SD card with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera, (extracting the pics could be easier)

DSC-W800 27/11/2017 by sng165 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial Set-up OK Takes great photo's, light, compact (a case would have been nice) Have to have some IT knowledge to download pics. I was disappointed that it required Play memories software installing in order to download the photo's - even once downloaded, their instructions were not clear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect little camera for what we need

DSC-W800 21/11/2017 by Lammy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to use on tourist trips where carrying around my Nikon DX is a bit cumbersome. We're just back from a weekend in Budapest and the photos with the DSC-W800 are fine

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

COMPACT EASY TO USE

DSC-W800 13/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

SUITS ALL MY NEEDS SMALL COMPACT HIGH PIXELS FOR CLEAR PHOTOS EASY TO USE

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

CAMERA

DSC-W800 08/11/2017 by TELL1 (United Kingdom)

I OWN SEVERAL SONY PRODUCTS AND THEY ARE ALL VERY GOOD

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor quality photos

DSCW800B 08/11/2017 by Sophia312 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I need an affordable pocket camera for an event I was going to. I must sat I am disappointed in the quality of the photos that this camera produces. For the price range I didn't expect too much. Low light is extremely bad and the camera is really slow in processing the photo.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2017

Hi, Sophia312, You may try to turn on the Dynamic Range Optimizer of the camera. This feature will automatically optimize the difference between light and dark parts of an image. Data read/write speeds may also differ depending on the combination of the memory card and the equipment used. Check here for other details: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/dvimag/2014/DSC-W800_guide/en/contents/TP0000234062.html
Thank you for your feedback. We will forward this to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Easy to use -so far!

DSC-W800 29/10/2017 by Nan Wheels (United Kingdom)

Bought to replace a Ricoh which I found too advanced for me this new one seems about right

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SONY-W800

DSC-W800 28/10/2017 by Gevan (United Kingdom)

Very good indeed and I look forward to my holiday soon

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Perfect camera for my needs

DSCW800 25/10/2017 by cyberruk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an educator who teaches public speaking and presentation skills. I needed an inexpensive camera that could also take video so I could record student presentations and provide direct feedback on how to improve. The Sony DSCW800 meets every requirement I have. When on a mini-tripod, the battery compartment is accessible and I can exchange the SD card simply. Compact yet providing sufficiently high resolution and good enough sound quality. The camera is light weight and does not add any appreciable burden to an already overload computer bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Photos are very grainy.

DSC-W800 18/10/2017 by Tookie123 (United Kingdom)

I got this camera a couple of weeks ago hoping with 20mp it would replace using my phone but the photos are very grainy.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Terrific camera

DSC-W800 16/10/2017 by ian1253 (United Kingdom)

I have only owned my Sony DSC-W800 for two weeks, but have found it so easy to set up and use. Photos are excellent, and the on screen instructions are so easy to follow.On line help and support is first class.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice size

DSC-W800 04/10/2017 by Rose1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had time to use it much but so far still trying to work out how to do things. Not as easy as my last camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cheap and cheerful compact

DSC-W800 03/10/2017 by smed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In fact, I have used the camera little, since purchase, but it seems to be an improvement on the earlier model, which I had successfully for several years.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Really good little point and shoot camera

DSC-W800 02/10/2017 by RitaT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently bought this camera and I'm impressed with how easy it is to use. Good quality shots and some nice features. I particularly like the selfie face recognition and multiple shots options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Camera

DSC-W800 01/10/2017 by Stella2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I bought this camera, but it takes a bit of getting used to as it is quite different from my previous camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

pictures from a bus came all out of focus

DSC-W800 25/09/2017 by LCFA (USA)

I lost my camera on 2nd day of tour and had to buy something to replace it. It does not take good pictures from inside a bus (with very clean windows). The landscape photos were almost all out of focus.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/09/2017

Hi, LCFA, The subject is too close is one of the possible reasons why the image is out of focus. When shooting, make sure to position the lens farther away from the subject than the shortest shooting distance (approximately 5 cm (0.16 ft.) (W)/60 cm (1.96 ft.) (T) from the lens). You may also play with different focus settings this camera has. Just select the setting according to your subject and preference: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/dvimag/2014/DSC-W800_guide/en/contents/TP0000233994.html. Thanks! -Vincent

0

Neat and easy to use

DSC-W800 09/09/2017 by Dafd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the camera as a replacement for a older ( & and busted) Nicon compact. So far it is very good and the picture quality is excellent. The tracking focus is a good feature. Have not yet explored all the shooting options.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small and snappy

DSC-W800 05/09/2017 by Teacup (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera as it appeal to me with it's feature's and also it wasn't to bulky, it fits great inside a bag and whenever you want to take a picture. You have your camera ready and at reach to take amazing photo's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Difficulty

DSC-W800 02/09/2017 by pat1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It looks great from the outside, but after a week of trying and many attempts, I still can'i get it to work The main problem is it does not come as a complete package. No memory card, which are extremely difficult to source. no clear instructions, and what appears to be only one way of charging the battery.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 27/08/2017 by Bogart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Light camera,easy to use.Great pictures.Easy to download.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

small & cheap

DSC-W800 26/08/2017 by sillyoap (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

have no photo's to send still learning how to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

simple features

DSCW800 22/08/2017 by kinney (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

haven't used product as yet , but am looking forward to using features.

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 13/08/2017 by Ragpuss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for wedding very good pictures taken this camera will now be my constant companion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love its Size!

DSCW800 11/08/2017 by JennieB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this because my husband and I will be going on a cruise soon. I wanted to give myself plenty of time to learn about my camera. It is so easy to operate and I look forward to using it and taking great pictures.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lots of features and easy to use

DSC-W800 11/08/2017 by CrockettChops (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good price,very compact and takes Brill' photos.Easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

neat & compact

DSC-W800 04/08/2017 by stickymarg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is simple and easy to use has good features. looking for ward to taking it on upcoming holiday.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good pics.

DSC-W800 26/07/2017 by MalcD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased recently for a holiday have found pictures of very good quality andeasy to download.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very good compact camera

DSC-W800 23/07/2017 by very many old man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a mid range and mid price compact that would do what I needed it to do. This one does just that. It is not an all singing and dancing camera but will do basic stuff very well. I don't want to carry a large and expensive one around all the time but one I can put in my pocket easily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best small camera with the best picture.

DSCW800/B 19/07/2017 by kleon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera three years ago and it still perform well

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

W800 for site works

DSC-W800 17/07/2017 by Leadballs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My employer supplied this camera as my previous camera had stopped working. Difficult to see what is displayed on the screen when the Sun shines onto it. Still difficult to see what is on the screen when the Sun shines onto your face and it reflects off the screen.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

good practical camera

DSC-W800 14/07/2017 by chey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

camera working well...but instruction manual on how it works should come with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Simple and effective

DSC-W800 12/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple weeks ago for my son to use on trip to Kenya, awaiting first pics but pre travel quality good.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony W800 camera - recently bought

DSC-W800 11/07/2017 by maninthedales (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 4 weeks ago. So far results are very good. Easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great photos/directions for photo access unclear

DSCW800/B 09/07/2017 by naturelover38 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is easy to figure out and use. It's taking me forever to figure out how to download pictures to my computer. The directions are essentially limited to saying that it can be done. The rest is online and very confusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Simple little camera

DSC-W800 08/07/2017 by JHFoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If all you need is a small lightweight camera with very simple controls this is the camera for you

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

1

0