493

4.2 based on 493 customer reviews

278
131
42
11
31
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

494 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Camera !

DSC-W800 19/01/2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought my W800 camera a few weeks ago and am very excited about this little powerhouse.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

DSC-W800 16/01/2019 by ratgirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

got it for christmas. and i love it. good features and lightweight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Problems

DSCW800B 14/01/2019 by Mike5617 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After taking pictures/videos and transferring to USB, they will not show up when I try to review them on my video recorder.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

small camera with great features

DSC-W800 08/01/2019 by Supercc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a Sony A37 SLR and HDR-CX240E video camera and this is a great little camera to compliment them

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use, simple features

DSC-W800 07/01/2019 by Colin56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this for Christmas by my son, he thought that with this I would take better pictures with the camera rather than using my mobile or tablet. I have shaky hands, he thought it could deal with this problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I have had the same camera before and it was very.

DSC-W800 05/01/2019 by Sunbeam 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the new camera for Christmas and it is a very good camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-W800 05/01/2019 by jaso (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as a christmas present, its really easy to use and as an occasional user the picture quality makes you look better than you acctually are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

DSCW800B 04/01/2019 by Cecilia2710 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it it's awesome I use it for my YouTube videos it's also very travel friendly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture quality

DSC-W800 02/01/2019 by Hsjdbjz (USA)

It is apsulutli like the 1000 mark 6 and like a dslr

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value!

DSCW800 25/12/2018 by NikNaxCutsNCrafts (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was purchased for our teenage daughter who was interested in photography. We didn't want to make too big of an investment but still wanted a quality item and we got it! Would recommend!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I wouldn't recommend it.

DSC-W800 16/12/2018 by Pugilist_king (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does the job if you don't care too much about the photography aspect. But if youre looking to take next-level photographs I do not recommend as this camera is limited.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great beginner camera!

DSC-W800 29/11/2018 by CoolXDude1 (USA)

Awesome beginner camera. It takes amazing photos. I totally recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 19/11/2018 by ZumbaGirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ideal size to fit in your pocket. Easy to use and follow.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Seems to be idiot proof

DSC-W800 07/11/2018 by lindylou1951 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago ready for my holiday.So far I am getting on very well with it and have not had any major disasters. It is easy to use but so far I have left it on the easy setting as I don't want to make a pigs ear of anything. I seem to be getting good photos ( mainly views ) but am very happy with the camera. I used the movie setting today and was pleased with the result. It is a good replacement for my last digital camera and I am sure I made the right choice .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good wee camera for the price

DSC-W800 07/11/2018 by aberfeldy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago as I was looking for a cameras I just fit in mytrousew or shirt pocket and this fits the bill. For the money it is an excellent small around camera with a good flash and spec. Not tried it out fully yet but from what I have tried I think it will just be fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy sized camera

DSC-W800 25/10/2018 by Smokeraiser (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous elderly Sony camera was do good that I did not hesitate to buy another one when I lost the original.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not good outdoors

DSC-W800 21/10/2018 by gammo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i took the camera on a day out at the swanage railway gala , but it does not have a quick shoot app. so ,by the time an engine comes into view ,and you press the shutter , it only takes a picture as the engine is passing ,because it has to focus on the subject,,also ,it is not very good on the shadow side ,,, nothing shows up clearly until one uses the computer to lighten the subject ,, all in all , not the best ,,unless sony can come up with some information as to speed shooting and shade picture taking

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

0

1

0

Neat camera at a good price.

DSC-W800 30/09/2018 by Lizzieb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 10 days ago as my old one had broken (not a Sony one I must add) & I needed to replace it. It has taken me a time to find out how to access the different camera settings I really do miss a detailed instruction manual ( I found the online one was not quite as detailed as I would like) . However it is a great little camera & good value too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding Image Quality!

DSC-W800 27/09/2018 by KingSmillBG (United Kingdom)

I was impressed with the quality of the images when transferred over to a 1080p monitor, it is also a great value for the quality as this camera exceeded my expectations!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good value lower end of range

DSC-W800 25/09/2018 by Tom H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An easy to use camera with good quality photos. Movie feature has tendency to momentarily go out of focus on occassions even in low dynamic situations.I have tried to get some advice on this from Sony but lm affraid to date lve had no response, which is pretty poor..its compact size allows makes it easy to carry around...had the focus issue not been present l would have rated this camera higher.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bad

DSC-W800 24/09/2018 by Virgipor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It doesn,'t work. When i turn it on , it is locked

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Quite good

DSC-W800 18/09/2018 by fieldgun (United Kingdom)

I find the image not sharp enough for a 20 mp camera

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A great little camera

DSC-W800 18/09/2018 by squirrel48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace a failed Sony DSC-S500. This DSW-W800 does not feel as well built but it is smaller, lighter, and has got a bigger and clearer screen. It does everything the old camera did and has a single button to operate the video facility which is much more convenient. Meanwhile the stills picture quality is good and the navigation menu is fairly logical. All in all a good quality compact digital camera for less than £50. Let's hope it lasts as long as the old one did.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too Light

DSC-W800 08/09/2018 by Gracy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sent back as this item was way to light and felt it was made cheaply, thought if i put it down and a gust of wind came, it would blow over or if someone knocked the table it would be on the floor broken. I was very disappointed as i really needed a nice compact camera, but made of metal and heavy feel would have been best, instead of it being plastic and light. :(

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ease of use

DSC-W800 08/09/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes good quality pictures. By this I mean very clear and sharp. Very compact in terms of size. Choice of two colours when purchasing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

EASY TO USE

DSC-W800 07/09/2018 by janey 64 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a couple of months ago for a trip to LA. Very lightweight. I would say give yourself a little time to learn about the features and settings on this camera. I struggled a little taking photos of fireworks. My previous camera had a setting for that. Otherwise takes good photos and I am pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First Out of the Box...

DSCW800 02/09/2018 by R Russell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yea, opened the box, and added all accessories, got up and running in less than 5-minutes! Awesome! all devices should be so logical, thanks Sony... Also, bought a 128GB card, could not tell from the Sony site if it would would work or not, there was nothing online that said it would not work...It works perfectly...128GB WOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

DSC-W800 01/09/2018 by Stimmo68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice size to fit in my handbag or pocket. Good battery lifd too

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SEE BELOW

DSC-W800 28/08/2018 by GEORGE W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

UN PACKED; YET TO USE; ASK ME AGAIN IN OCTOBER 18

0

1

0

nicely compact

DSC-W800 20/08/2018 by jimrod12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am very happy with this purchase it is nice and light and very compact and has all the features I need I can recommend the sony dsc-w800 to anyone

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 09/08/2018 by Gansey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not up on technology so I use the camera in easy mode so just aim and shoot and it’s all worked out for me. Have only had the camera a few weeks but the photos I have taken are very crisp. Great value for money

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 31/07/2018 by Jeff75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a fortnight ago and used it twice. Compact easy to slip into pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HANDY AND SIMPLE TO USE

DSC-W800 30/07/2018 by BORO 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

SHARE WITH MY YOUNG GRANDSON WHO HAS ESTABLISHED USE VERY QUICKLY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

new camera

DSC-W800 22/07/2018 by Bazzer 46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace an older compact camera. this camera has less funtions than my other but does the job although a lot slower, it is though lower in weight and thinner. I think this would be better with more functions to give more options taking photographs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very easy to use

DSC-W800 17/07/2018 by Shirley43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a camera that was easy to use and also easily portable handbag size this fits the bill perfectly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony dsc-w800

DSCW800B 16/07/2018 by Wanda G (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good camera, reasonably priced and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

light weight

DSC-W800 14/07/2018 by Mike201751 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

only advantage is it,s light weight the camera is complex to work out confusing to go through the settings with no control over the flash. will not have another

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

light to use

DSC-W800 11/07/2018 by Haitch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this very light weight camera, which is easy use, slim and fits easily into the pocket , produces good pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

User friendly

DSC-W800 09/07/2018 by mandie1962 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for the Managers at work to photograph damaged cargo in a warehouse. works amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I wanted

DSC-W800 26/06/2018 by Katie123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased especially to take pictures at my son’s wedding. Easy to use, very clear pictures. So small and handy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small compact camera

DSCW800 18/06/2018 by duncanlight (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a little over a month ago. It's an okay camera, does take a second or so when you snap the picture for it to actually take it. When recording video, it sometimes gets blurry if you move.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 16/06/2018 by Kevsta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera for my dad. He loves it. So simple to use and quick and easy to shoot from the hip, unlike his phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture Quality

DSC-W800 13/06/2018 by Bennytag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best camera i have had it is so easy to use and great quality photo,s

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camara ever

DSC-W800 10/06/2018 by Ammy123 (USA)

I brought this camara on thei weekend .it have so many best features .i like this camara very much although it makes my and another things pic very good and it have good result when I try it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

DSC-W800 08/06/2018 by Jackaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only owned this camera for a few weeks but very pleased with the item

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 05/06/2018 by Petmar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this a short while ago and took it away with us and found it so easy to use. Wish we had bought it a long time ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0