477

4.2 based on 477 customer reviews

268
128
40
11
30
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

477 Customer Reviews

0

Neat camera at a good price.

DSC-W800 30/09/2018 by Lizzieb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 10 days ago as my old one had broken (not a Sony one I must add) & I needed to replace it. It has taken me a time to find out how to access the different camera settings I really do miss a detailed instruction manual ( I found the online one was not quite as detailed as I would like) . However it is a great little camera & good value too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding Image Quality!

DSC-W800 27/09/2018 by KingSmillBG (United Kingdom)

I was impressed with the quality of the images when transferred over to a 1080p monitor, it is also a great value for the quality as this camera exceeded my expectations!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good value lower end of range

DSC-W800 25/09/2018 by Tom H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An easy to use camera with good quality photos. Movie feature has tendency to momentarily go out of focus on occassions even in low dynamic situations.I have tried to get some advice on this from Sony but lm affraid to date lve had no response, which is pretty poor..its compact size allows makes it easy to carry around...had the focus issue not been present l would have rated this camera higher.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bad

DSC-W800 24/09/2018 by Virgipor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It doesn,'t work. When i turn it on , it is locked

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Quite good

DSC-W800 18/09/2018 by fieldgun (United Kingdom)

I find the image not sharp enough for a 20 mp camera

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A great little camera

DSC-W800 18/09/2018 by squirrel48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace a failed Sony DSC-S500. This DSW-W800 does not feel as well built but it is smaller, lighter, and has got a bigger and clearer screen. It does everything the old camera did and has a single button to operate the video facility which is much more convenient. Meanwhile the stills picture quality is good and the navigation menu is fairly logical. All in all a good quality compact digital camera for less than £50. Let's hope it lasts as long as the old one did.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too Light

DSC-W800 08/09/2018 by Gracy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sent back as this item was way to light and felt it was made cheaply, thought if i put it down and a gust of wind came, it would blow over or if someone knocked the table it would be on the floor broken. I was very disappointed as i really needed a nice compact camera, but made of metal and heavy feel would have been best, instead of it being plastic and light. :(

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ease of use

DSC-W800 08/09/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes good quality pictures. By this I mean very clear and sharp. Very compact in terms of size. Choice of two colours when purchasing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

EASY TO USE

DSC-W800 07/09/2018 by janey 64 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a couple of months ago for a trip to LA. Very lightweight. I would say give yourself a little time to learn about the features and settings on this camera. I struggled a little taking photos of fireworks. My previous camera had a setting for that. Otherwise takes good photos and I am pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First Out of the Box...

DSCW800 02/09/2018 by R Russell (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Yea, opened the box, and added all accessories, got up and running in less than 5-minutes! Awesome! all devices should be so logical, thanks Sony... Also, bought a 128GB card, could not tell from the Sony site if it would would work or not, there was nothing online that said it would not work...It works perfectly...128GB WOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera

DSC-W800 01/09/2018 by Stimmo68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice size to fit in my handbag or pocket. Good battery lifd too

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SEE BELOW

DSC-W800 28/08/2018 by GEORGE W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

UN PACKED; YET TO USE; ASK ME AGAIN IN OCTOBER 18

0

1

0

nicely compact

DSC-W800 20/08/2018 by jimrod12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i am very happy with this purchase it is nice and light and very compact and has all the features I need I can recommend the sony dsc-w800 to anyone

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 09/08/2018 by Gansey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not up on technology so I use the camera in easy mode so just aim and shoot and it’s all worked out for me. Have only had the camera a few weeks but the photos I have taken are very crisp. Great value for money

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 31/07/2018 by Jeff75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a fortnight ago and used it twice. Compact easy to slip into pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

HANDY AND SIMPLE TO USE

DSC-W800 30/07/2018 by BORO 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

SHARE WITH MY YOUNG GRANDSON WHO HAS ESTABLISHED USE VERY QUICKLY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

new camera

DSC-W800 22/07/2018 by Bazzer 46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace an older compact camera. this camera has less funtions than my other but does the job although a lot slower, it is though lower in weight and thinner. I think this would be better with more functions to give more options taking photographs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Very easy to use

DSC-W800 17/07/2018 by Shirley43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a camera that was easy to use and also easily portable handbag size this fits the bill perfectly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony dsc-w800

DSCW800B 16/07/2018 by Wanda G (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good camera, reasonably priced and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

light weight

DSC-W800 14/07/2018 by Mike201751 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

only advantage is it,s light weight the camera is complex to work out confusing to go through the settings with no control over the flash. will not have another

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

light to use

DSC-W800 11/07/2018 by Haitch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this very light weight camera, which is easy use, slim and fits easily into the pocket , produces good pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

User friendly

DSC-W800 09/07/2018 by mandie1962 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for the Managers at work to photograph damaged cargo in a warehouse. works amazing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I wanted

DSC-W800 26/06/2018 by Katie123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased especially to take pictures at my son’s wedding. Easy to use, very clear pictures. So small and handy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small compact camera

DSCW800 18/06/2018 by duncanlight (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a little over a month ago. It's an okay camera, does take a second or so when you snap the picture for it to actually take it. When recording video, it sometimes gets blurry if you move.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 16/06/2018 by Kevsta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera for my dad. He loves it. So simple to use and quick and easy to shoot from the hip, unlike his phone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great picture Quality

DSC-W800 13/06/2018 by Bennytag (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best camera i have had it is so easy to use and great quality photo,s

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camara ever

DSC-W800 10/06/2018 by Ammy123 (USA)

I brought this camara on thei weekend .it have so many best features .i like this camara very much although it makes my and another things pic very good and it have good result when I try it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

DSC-W800 08/06/2018 by Jackaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only owned this camera for a few weeks but very pleased with the item

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 05/06/2018 by Petmar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this a short while ago and took it away with us and found it so easy to use. Wish we had bought it a long time ago.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Instructions

DSCW800 22/05/2018 by lhoward51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

SIMPLE instructions on the basic use of the camera are needed. For ratings below, I have not yewt used the camera enough to give it a meaningful rating.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Magic camera

DSC-W800 18/05/2018 by Ron234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good replacement for broken W810. Easy to use.Quality pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very handy

DSC-W800 17/05/2018 by octopus18 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this was bought as a standby for my wife and it does the job

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very useful camera

DSC-W800 13/05/2018 by PEB21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera because of its small size making it easy to slip into small pocket or carry bag. I use it for recording pictures of installations and equipment during maintenance or repair as well as personal family photographs. Really useful camera. It is easy and quick to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Buy Camera

DSC-W800 11/05/2018 by Pattifromoxford (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This little camera is simple to operate and perfect for slipping into a handbag or pocket on a day out,giving excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great buy

DSC-W800 07/05/2018 by Jilly7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted a camera that was easy to operate and this is. The size is just right easily fits into a bag, very pleased with my purchase

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice little unit

DSC-W800 01/05/2018 by Bluejim22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had the camera 5weeks Before it decided it was,not going to work anymore Very disappointed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very easy to use...

DSC-W800 24/04/2018 by Dabs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a month ago. I wanted a straightforward camera to replace one which was dying after ten years of good service. This new camera is perfect for me. Simple, lightweight, petite - it's ideal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

W800 camera

DSC-W800 21/04/2018 by Vogue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The size of the camera makes it ideal for slipping into a pocket or handbag, the length of time that it has been in my position has not enabled a qualified assessmet of it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simplest digital camera you can use.

DSC-W800 20/04/2018 by Andreas2018 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Sony digital camera was easy to use and the quality of picture on the view screen was crystal clear. The camera is fun to use too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good little camera

DSC-W800 18/04/2018 by Pathsbooks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A camera you can put in your pocket ready for any event. Simple to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to operate.

DSC-W800 16/04/2018 by Teen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only used it once and is light and easy to use. simple to operate instructions good. I had hoped it was a bit more sturdy as I am not sure about all the plastic used. Taking it away on holiday soon and will transfer photos onto laptop, lets see how this goes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Problems - but solvable!

DSC-W800 14/04/2018 by JanetS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed more information on box and leaflet. Rang Customer Service as needed help with setting up. They were very good. Then internal memory ran out after only about 4 photos and had to search for a memory card stockist while on holiday. Suggest Sony charges more to include a memory card, or states on box and leaflet that you MUST buy one when purchasing camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Didn't work properly

DSC-W800 13/04/2018 by Wannabe81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wouldn't hold the exposure setting even after following the Sony support instructions. Bought the WX350 which is great.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

reasonable features only

DSC-W800 06/04/2018 by trousigmt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this at Christmas to replace my FUJI. Peformance/features is OK at best and not as good as my previous camera. Build quality is inferior and camera has already been replaced as lens jamned. Sadly Fuji no longer make cameas of this type and I thought buying a brand such as SONY would have been a good replacement. Sadly not - maybe ok for some buyers but, had I the opportunity would look for an alternative.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2