529

4.2 based on 529 customer reviews

289
146
49
13
32
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Customer is thrilled

DSC-W800 26/01/2018 by Smudgei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad I bought this camera. I am a bit of a technophobe so I was hugely relieved to be able to understand the instruction leaflet. Additionally, I have had no problem working out how to use its various functions by myself. It is a small, compact camera and I love using it. I would recommend it to anyone. Especially to the more technically challenged!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Slow operation- flash fires 4 times for Red Eye

DSC-W800 11/07/2015 by mickey c (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago to take photos on a recent holiday. I selected this camera as it had excellent reviews on Techradar which rated this camera in the top 10 for compacts. It was also considerable cheaper than the competition but the old adage "you get what you pay for" definitely applies. The red eye reduction setting means the flash activates 4(!) times before the photo is taken. I lost count of the number of action shots I lost or people moved before the photo was taken. Also the flash intensity meant some photos were over exposed and some were poorly lit. Video footage kept on going out of focus even though the subject moved very little.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

530 Customer Reviews

0

Perfect!

DSCW800B 13/09/2019 by PaulaT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not my first Sony. User friendly, gorgeous shots!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super practical compact camera at great value.

DSC-W800 13/09/2019 by Islander 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super, practical compact camera with terrific features at great value.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and small

DSC-W800 05/09/2019 by Blessing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago as I needed a camera for my holiday trip abroad. I liked the camera because it is small and compact. At first I was not fond of the camera as I felt that the quality of the pictures did not come out as clear as I hope. I am getting to like it now, but I wished that it could be clearer and a lot sharper, especially at night.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Alright for snaps but needs a proper manual.

DSC-W800 02/09/2019 by Oldblandford (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good pictures in easy mode but the online "manual" is not helpful. The menu offers some interesting features but I need more guidance. Disappointing since it seems basically to be a good little camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A good functional camera

DSC-W800 27/08/2019 by Geoffc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very practical camera, for people who want pretty good photos and videos.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pleased with new camera

DSC-W800 27/08/2019 by Wendy a hamer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with my new camera now to take to poland in 2 weeks time

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best thing bought in ages

DSC-W800 26/08/2019 by June all year found (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent price, small enough to slip in a bag but takes great pictures. Easy to use, just right for me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Operating instructions terrible

DSC-W800 01/08/2019 by Archie39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and had great difficulty setting it up. The date and time did not work on what instructions there was. The various settings are unexplained and I can not get of different setting that appear on the screen

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

nice little camera

DSC-W800 23/07/2019 by bill55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this to take on holiday, trying it out, having problems with night time shots,(fuzzy lights) cannot add sample photo's images to large, and don't know how to reduce them

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Present for 9 year old

DSC-W800 16/07/2019 by Carrotflan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent- she found it easy to use and good result.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice and easy to use

DSC-W800 12/07/2019 by woodie69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Remember to buy a memory card for this great little camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice little camera

DSC-W800 03/07/2019 by SteveUU (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was looking for a low cost but capable little camera for a 3D Stereo picture project. I bought two. The 20 Mpixel option is insane (my old SLR is only 8Mp) but I find the 5 Mpixel returns stunning pictures and excellent prints without needing huge SD cards. Operation is simple point and shoot but with scope to play with options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely style ....but

DSC-W800 28/06/2019 by Goatsrant (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is acceptable but given its price it is a tad disappointing. Colours are too vibrant and menu is not simple to navigate. All this may improve after regular use

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent purchase

DSC-W800 27/06/2019 by Dorabella (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last week and already pleased with my purchase. Good value, light weight and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful pictures and good colors

DSCW800B 15/06/2019 by Bettina69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was a Christmas present from my husband and I used it for the first time for vacation pictures. Great videos and pictures!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great gift

DSC-W800 07/06/2019 by Dizzy Dee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We brought this for our 11 year old daughter, she had shown an interest in having her own camera so we got her this as a starter she has taken no end of photos and loves it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very compact

DSC-W800 30/05/2019 by JennyMP (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not used it much yet, but have found it easy to take pictures, download them and get good prints. Have not managed to attach the wrist strap!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not up to the great Sony standards I expected.

DSC-W800 28/05/2019 by Geeshot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I realise that this is not one of the more expensive cameras I have used, but as a basic product am disappointed with it. On pressing the shutter the camera is slow to react and you get the actual shot a fraction of a second after. Often after the person has finished posing for the photo and is walking away!

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A Simpler directions

DSCW800B 25/05/2019 by watch4it (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was rather confusing with the instructions, Had to try numerous search and select before I was actually able to talk to a live technician to accomplish the finalization on the install. Now I just hope that I can remember the steps to transfer the pictures from the camera to the PC. Was very confusing, had me baffled.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-W800 24/05/2019 by Megan1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to keep a record of our lovely litter of Jack Russell pups and for a trip to Malta. Easy to use and good quality pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

DSCW800B 10/05/2019 by Photo guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted an extra camera, one that could easily fit in a flight bag. This one is small and compact and versatile.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dissapointed.

DSC-W800 30/04/2019 by BLEASIE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this in a hurry as I was told Memory Cards were no longer available for my existing camera I have had for over 20 years. When it arrived I was surprised how flimsy it looked

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great wee camera with easy to use features

DSC-W800 21/04/2019 by jp1970cat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great small camera with easy to use features and software.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Slim styling

DSC-W800 19/04/2019 by Nattydread (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera only a few weeks ago. I like it but have not fully tested it.

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ok, but a bit slow.

DSC-W800 18/04/2019 by Stevecanfixit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a compact camera to take with me on trip to Cairo. My main camera is a Nikon DSLR. I know Digi compacts have come along way but still find them slow to actually take a picture after framing up, often missing the moment I was looking for. Its OK for still stuff, like a pyramid. But to capture my boys expression whilst kissing the Sphinx, too late.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fine for special occasions

DSC-W800 17/04/2019 by Pokènn (United Kingdom)

Great camera. If you're a starter it's got a easy mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

average point and shoot

DSCW800B 30/03/2019 by dipp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this a month ago and it is too slow taking pictures, have th wait forever between pictures.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
02/04/2019

Hello Dipp,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with your camera. Have you tried to reset it? Please follow the steps below to know how:

Reset all camera settings by performing MENU - (Settings) - (Main Settings) - [Initialize].

Regards,
Zac

0

easy to carry in pocket or wallet, simple to use

DSC-W800 25/03/2019 by redeagle (United Kingdom)

main purpose for buying this camera was to have ready and easy access to its use; eg bumping to old friends, making recordings and taking photos without worrying about storage and accessibility. etc

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 24/03/2019 by Tiatot (United Kingdom)

I received this camera as a Xmas gift and have just used it on holiday. It is easy to use, takes great pictures with little altering apart from the zoom and is compact to fit into my handbag. Really pleased with my gift.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr J Urquhart

DSC-W800 19/03/2019 by Johnny32 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not actually used the product fully as I bought it for my forthcoming holiday. Took sample photos and they appear very good.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great little snapper

DSC-W800 12/03/2019 by Ejaydee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for a short trip to Oz, for quick snaps on the move. So far, it has performed faultlessly.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact pocket handy camera

DSC-W800 05/03/2019 by John15 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to replace an older model which I had used for over ten years. Completely satisfied and the picture quality is superb. Very good price paid.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to handle

DSC-W800 27/02/2019 by robinn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not used the camera much. I have not yet looked at the online instructions but I can see that I will need to study them carefully to obtain maximum benefit. There are many more features than there were on my old digital camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

DSCW800B 22/02/2019 by lefty19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received camera as a Christmas gift, it is a definite upgrade from old camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Okay

DSC-W800 30/01/2019 by riley8661 (USA)

I bought this camera so I could take nice pictures to have on my phone because my phone camera is not the best. Only to find out it's super hard to get the pictures from the camera to my phone because the directions the camera comes with tell you nothing. It's been a couple weeks now and I still can't figure it out. So I don't recommend this camera to anyone, especially beginners. I would've rather bought a new phone or something.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/02/2019

Hi riley8661, We're sorry to hear that this camera didn't meet your expectations. For you to send photos to your phone they need to be transferred first to the computer. Please refer to this link for more information on how to do it; https://helpguide.sony.net/gbmig/45333561/v1/en/cover/level2_07.html.

0

Excellent product

DSC-W800 21/01/2019 by Linda48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value product, exactly what I needed, easy to operate

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Camera !

DSC-W800 19/01/2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought my W800 camera a few weeks ago and am very excited about this little powerhouse.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

easy to use

DSC-W800 16/01/2019 by ratgirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

got it for christmas. and i love it. good features and lightweight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Problems

DSCW800B 14/01/2019 by Mike5617 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After taking pictures/videos and transferring to USB, they will not show up when I try to review them on my video recorder.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

small camera with great features

DSC-W800 08/01/2019 by Supercc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a Sony A37 SLR and HDR-CX240E video camera and this is a great little camera to compliment them

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use, simple features

DSC-W800 07/01/2019 by Colin56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this for Christmas by my son, he thought that with this I would take better pictures with the camera rather than using my mobile or tablet. I have shaky hands, he thought it could deal with this problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I have had the same camera before and it was very.

DSC-W800 05/01/2019 by Sunbeam 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the new camera for Christmas and it is a very good camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-W800 05/01/2019 by jaso (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as a christmas present, its really easy to use and as an occasional user the picture quality makes you look better than you acctually are.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

DSCW800B 04/01/2019 by Cecilia2710 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it it's awesome I use it for my YouTube videos it's also very travel friendly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture quality

DSC-W800 02/01/2019 by Hsjdbjz (USA)

It is apsulutli like the 1000 mark 6 and like a dslr

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value!

DSCW800 25/12/2018 by NikNaxCutsNCrafts (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was purchased for our teenage daughter who was interested in photography. We didn't want to make too big of an investment but still wanted a quality item and we got it! Would recommend!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I wouldn't recommend it.

DSC-W800 16/12/2018 by Pugilist_king (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does the job if you don't care too much about the photography aspect. But if youre looking to take next-level photographs I do not recommend as this camera is limited.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great beginner camera!

DSC-W800 29/11/2018 by CoolXDude1 (USA)

Awesome beginner camera. It takes amazing photos. I totally recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 19/11/2018 by ZumbaGirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ideal size to fit in your pocket. Easy to use and follow.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Seems to be idiot proof

DSC-W800 07/11/2018 by lindylou1951 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago ready for my holiday.So far I am getting on very well with it and have not had any major disasters. It is easy to use but so far I have left it on the easy setting as I don't want to make a pigs ear of anything. I seem to be getting good photos ( mainly views ) but am very happy with the camera. I used the movie setting today and was pleased with the result. It is a good replacement for my last digital camera and I am sure I made the right choice .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good wee camera for the price

DSC-W800 07/11/2018 by aberfeldy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago as I was looking for a cameras I just fit in mytrousew or shirt pocket and this fits the bill. For the money it is an excellent small around camera with a good flash and spec. Not tried it out fully yet but from what I have tried I think it will just be fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Handy sized camera

DSC-W800 25/10/2018 by Smokeraiser (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous elderly Sony camera was do good that I did not hesitate to buy another one when I lost the original.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not good outdoors

DSC-W800 21/10/2018 by gammo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i took the camera on a day out at the swanage railway gala , but it does not have a quick shoot app. so ,by the time an engine comes into view ,and you press the shutter , it only takes a picture as the engine is passing ,because it has to focus on the subject,,also ,it is not very good on the shadow side ,,, nothing shows up clearly until one uses the computer to lighten the subject ,, all in all , not the best ,,unless sony can come up with some information as to speed shooting and shade picture taking

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

0

1

0

Neat camera at a good price.

DSC-W800 30/09/2018 by Lizzieb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 10 days ago as my old one had broken (not a Sony one I must add) & I needed to replace it. It has taken me a time to find out how to access the different camera settings I really do miss a detailed instruction manual ( I found the online one was not quite as detailed as I would like) . However it is a great little camera & good value too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0