Skip to Content
DIGITAL PAPER

Product Reviews

$699.99

36

3.3 based on 36 customer reviews

8
10
8
4
6
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing, suggetion

DPT-RP1 21/06/2017  (USA)

RP1 is so amazing! I've used too many tools that promise great productivity gains, but rp1 is totally powerful and highly productive tool! However, there're two functions have to be updated! 1. STICKY NOTE RP1 doesn't have sticky note function like s1, when I use s1, this function is really useful, Ican make note and answer the question by putting a sticky note beside the text. Although rp1 can display note of a document, sticky note is still needed! 2. TABLE OF CONTENT Just like s1, this function had been canceled, but why? This function is really needed when the student read a huge course book. I really hope you will update these two functions ASAP. What I still like to refer here, rp1 is amazing! You produced so incredible a tool! Hope you have a great day!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please open up the possbilities

DPT-RP1 03/10/2017 by Andy 91 (USA)

Nice screen and hardware, but it would be nice to be able to use it in more flexible ways. How about allowing for connecting bluetooth keyboards, make it accessible through usb storage and webdav and adding text to speech functionality?

12

0

36 Customer Reviews

0

HW good - SW to be improved

DPTRP1 02/12/2017 by g1n0_s (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Many SW features are missing. A SW update is needed. Many basic navigation funcions are missing.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good screen but easy-broken case

DPT-RP1 01/12/2017 by Annis (USA)

I purchased mine in the middle of September. It is a amazing tool to read paper and to make some notes. I don't use it quite often, but I do like it. However, the lower left corner of my DPT-RP1 suddenly popped out today. The upper right corner popped out as well but I tried to push it back. However, the lower left corner remained the same. I am wondering what is the problem? How I can have it repaired

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/12/2017

Hi, Annis, We are really sorry to hear this issue with your Sony Digital Paper. We highly recommend contacting our Product Specialists to better assist you with this: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-contacts.pl?mdl=DPTRP1
We will also take note of this and we will forward your feedback to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Amazing hardware - 20 years old software

DPT-RP1 17/11/2017 by Panos Z (USA)

This PDF reader has the best screen I have ever seen, better than any other ebook reader, tablet or even iPad pros. It is also the fastest e-ink device I've ever seen thanks to its fast processor and its more than enough RAM. And then it's its software. Someone would think this is the easy part, you only need to copy the functionality of other ebook readers in the market or some functionality of the numerous tablets with iOS or android in the market. After all this is only an ebook reader/writer so the software can be quite simple. But no, in 2017 the functionality of this ebook is simply unacceptable. I guess this would be true if this was introduced back in 2007 and maybe it could be acceptable back in 1997 (but not 100% sure about that). I knew all its software drawbacks before I purchase this, but it is different when you see it first hand. I don't understand what Sony had in mind before rolling out this. It is a truly amazing piece of hardware, it's a pity Sony doesn't or can't improve the software side. But Sony please if you can't do it, open it up for independent developers so people could have a choice. Everyone shown my Sony ebook would like to buy it, only before they realized what this amazing product can't do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

11

0

0

Overall is good! Hope mobile app support!

DPT-RP1 02/11/2017 by Yszh (USA)

I own DPT-S1 and RP1, both are good e papers. Can cover my daily use and organizing my docs easily. However, I would like to request if it Possible to support: a. WebDAV Sync -- that's a very helpful resource on DPT-S1 b. Cellphone Sync app --- cell phone is becoming a more and more important access to news, docs, and other information. Will it possible to push some news articles to DPT RP1? That would be great!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Working well for Journal papers

DPTRP1 22/10/2017 by KRPark (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Working well for reading grayscale journal paper. Display area is widest for digital paper available in market, and it's very slim and light enough to carry around. Some con.. "White background" is characteristically somewhat yellow-ish, making the reader uncomfortable to stare for long period of time. By the way, currently, this product is supporting only monochromatic screen. As a customer opinion, how about developing a digital paper with color functionality? Although this product is enough to read the grayscale PDFs, such as old journal papers, however, most recent journal papers are currently published in color.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Great hardware software still lacks

DPT-RP1 15/10/2017 by RGarcia (USA)

I got a couple of months ago and I'm very pleased with the hardware the main drawback is that it doesn't have an app for Android or iOS I need to take out my computer to sync the notes before I can send anything to anybody I will really love to be able just to carry my digital paper and my cell phone.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

9

0

0

Improving workflows

DPT-RP1 10/10/2017 by Workflow (USA)

Dear Sony, it would be a big plus if some applications would be developed to facilitate the workflow with the Sony DPT. For example in order to integrate online articles or other website pages in the e-reader, it would be very useful to have Firefow add-ons to print a pdf of a website page and automatically transfer the pdf in the Sony DPT library. Something similar than Pocket and Aura are providing but in pdf... Ideally it would also be possible to do it from a smartphone directly tranfering the pdf to the Sony DPT. So please consider the possibility to pair the e-reader to a smartphone too (for example with Sony Xperia wich I am using.) (By the way, the idea of connecting keayboard to the e-reader is brilliant. This would allow me to work in the train with a multidevice keyboard and the e-reader writing simple texts and email. great !) Secondly, we need an application for computers (windows, linux and OS) which can exports higlights and annotations (done previously on the SONY DPT) in text formats. Ideally it would also enable a system of classification of the highlights and annotations by labels (not only with stars and square) but something like #mynextpaper #giveittomycolleague ... Finally, if we can combine these highlightd, annotations and labels with libraries in mendeley or zotero, you will save the time of thousands of scientists if they get the Sony DPT of course. If any of these features already exist please inform me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

6

0

0

Please open up the possbilities

DPT-RP1 03/10/2017 by Andy 91 (USA)

Nice screen and hardware, but it would be nice to be able to use it in more flexible ways. How about allowing for connecting bluetooth keyboards, make it accessible through usb storage and webdav and adding text to speech functionality?

12

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/10/2017

Hi, Andy 91, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Let us forward this to the proper department. We appreciate your time. Regards, Vincent

0

TRULY EXCEPTIONAL!

DPTRP1 01/10/2017 by Jack1985 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the product one month ago. it great and cannot find any downside to it. really exceptional. the best technology on the market. there is always room for improvement, especially in relation to the writing experience. However, I am extremely satisfied. the product does its job perfectly, that is letting me read and annotate.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Can we use the DPT as a second monitor?

DPT-RP1 26/09/2017 by WW99 (USA)

I have the S1, and while it is useful, I have gone back to an iPad Pro because I cannot use the S1 as a second screen. Please look into adding this function. Thanks.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/09/2017

Hi, WW99, The Digital Paper cannot be used as an extended/secondary monitor. For other concerns, please contact the Sony offices/Sony representative offices nearest to your place of residence in Asia Pacific region http://www.sony-asia.com/countryselector.html?hpid=countryselector:AsiaPacific. Due to proximity, they are in a better position to respond to your questions or concerns. -Vincent

0

bad pen

DPT-RP1 25/09/2017  (USA)

Please please please find another factory to produce the pen. Besides, I can not believe this is the wrap of Sony! I cannot even tell whether it is a brand new one or used one

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2017

Hi, patrickstansen, We appreciate your input. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include the details of your unit, more details of the issue and your reference number (if available). Regards, Vincent

0

Great for note taking. Very closed device.

DPT-RP1 24/09/2017  (USA)

The screen is amazing and pen is very good. Please allow easy transfer of pdfs by presenting the device as a mass-storage device over usb. It is major drawback that special software is needed.

Performance

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

16

1

0

Better hardware, worse software

DPT-RP1 18/09/2017 by mwittie (USA)

Bring back webdav integration. Allow me to sort documents by date. Allow me to create a note in the current folder. The last version of your reader was a big leap forward. This one has better resolution and response time, though a less white screen and a pen that has to be charged. The software on this device is a step back. Please bring back the old features fast.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

15

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2017

Hi, mwittie, Thank you for your feedback. There are actually a lot of improvements of DPT-RP1 compared to its predecessor including the network connectivity, battery life, and display but we will still forward this to the proper department. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. The links below will give you more details:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/digital-paper-notepads/dpts1/specifications
https://www.sony.com/electronics/digital-paper-notepads/dpt-rp1/specifications
Regards,
Vincent

0

Eye sight saver - Missing Epub format support :(

DPT-RP1 10/09/2017 by vanand (USA)

Bought this three weeks back and have been using it IT field to keep reading technical books and print out MSDN documentation to the digital paper. Several colleagues of mine were surprised and impressed by the light weight nature. Connectivity via bluetooth and WiFi is thoughtful and Sony has excelled in making a proper utility tool. One major major set back is the lack of support for EPUB format. This could be a software update in future. The note packing ability is excellent and feels better than the Ipad pro 12 that I own as well. I strongly request the epub support to make this product more usable and expand its adoption.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/09/2017

Hi Vanand, Thank you for telling us what you like about this Digital Paper. We also appreciate providing us these feedback for the betterment of our product. We will pass what you've said about the EPUB support to the proper department. Thank you for your time.

0

Good but software needs work

DPT-RP1 05/09/2017 by JJHub (USA)

I bought this a few days ago. Great product overall. Am used to using the DPT-S1 for the past three years...things that seemed easier on the DPT-S1 seem to be harder on this. I wish they would bring back some of the DPT-S1 features like: 1) I liked having a list op open documents in tabs at the top (some may not). Each tab had a little x beside it so that when you were done with the document you could close it...it seems that with this version there is no way to close a document (or if there is one, then I haven't found it and if someone knows how please let me know). 2) copying things from a technical PDF to the notes page - I liked being able to copy a figure from the PDF to my notes so that way I could keep all the important figures together 3) Need to have a way to navigate pages. 4) thumbnail views were great - alas, they are lost in this version 5) scrolling in a page or zooming and then scrolling around the page are very useful features that were also lost 6) PLEASE bring back the ability to use the drive as a USB storage - avoids me having to install the software (which I can't anyway) on work computer. It really cripples the device - without being able to transfer work files to it directly. All in all, I really like the RP1 - but software needs some work.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

12

0

0

Fantastic Reader, Horrible Stylus

DPT-RP1 29/08/2017 by WYChan (USA)

I purchased the digital paper for school, in hopes to replace my notebooks all together. The reader itself is absolutely fantastic, and does exactly what it says it does. It is so light weight that I can hold it up to read for hours without feeling tired. However, the same cannot be said about the stylus. It was under charged the first time that I used it. I could only write while pressing very hard on the stylus. Without any prior writing experience to compare to, I thought that was the only way. So, that was my mistake. But then, after it is fully charged, it became way too sensitive, and started writing when the stylus was as far as a quarter of a centimeter from the reader. And needless to say, the resulting writing was horrible. I didn't bother to recharge it and gave up the stylus altogether after it fully discharges two weeks ago because I was mainly just reading books. Now it is not even charging at all, I have tried both the computer and with my phone adapter, and it only charges for about a minute until the red indicator light turns off.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

trash

DPT-RP1 27/08/2017 by jason13 (USA)

I used S1 for 2 years, it was really good. very thing on S1 is fit to our reading. however, when I use rp1, it is suck! I charge the pen almost one day but used it only 1 hour! pen never work well!!!! the function is so simple! no clock, poor function of turing page!

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2017

Hi, jason13, We are sorry for what happened here. To make sure the pen is charging, kindly use the supplied USB cable and connect it to a computer. The charge indicator turns off when the stylus is fully charged. You may visit this link for more details: http://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178311.html. We will make sure your feedback will be forwarded to the proper department. Thank you. Regards, Vincent

0

Buggy Digital Paper App

DPT-RP1 26/08/2017 by Jiashu (USA)

On my digital paper, it shows wifi is connected, but Digital Paper can't connect Digital Paper App via wifi. USB and Bluetooth work both fine. I use 64-bit Win 10. I found that I could use connect digital paper app via wifi on my girlfriend's Macbook.

10

1

0

Awesome but flawed

DPT-RP1 25/08/2017 by Atos44 (USA)

pro's: + great writing and highlighting experience + no real alternative + thin and light + support for bluetooth, wifi and NFC + documents are securely stored con's: - no linux support - no EPUB support - no syncing with dropbox folder It's kind of strange that the product is so good on the hardware side but lacking on the software side. I would really recommend that sony open source the developer documentation so that people can make their own file transfer app for linux, or setup syncing with a dropbox folder, or file transfer over bluetooth via smartphone. I think it is likely that during the development there was not paid enough attention to which features like dropbox syncing are important for academics and the focus was on business users. I'm still giving it 5 stars because there is simply no viable alternative to the digital paper.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

20

1

0

Best paper writing experience I've ever seen

DPT-RP1 21/08/2017 by robertlee (USA)

I've had the RP1 for about 2 weeks now and I have to admit that I'm quite a believer in this device if you want a paper like writing (and reading) experience. Compared with an iPad Pro 10.5 The RP1 is superior for reading documents (Word docs need to be converted to PDF) and marking them up is almost identical to marking up a paper document with a pen. Reading long legal documents (which my job requires) is like reading them from a printer copy and since this device is so large, it is easy for me to scan through the different sections. Also this device is surprisingly thin and SUPER light. I have no idea how Sony can make such a light device, it feels almost like an empty "demo" product you see at mobile phone kiosks (empty plastic with no electronics inside). It's simply that light. The iPad has lower latency and Apple Pencil is amazing with the tilt function and pressure sensitivity. Also the support for colors makes the iPad a great device for artists. Also the device can actually edit Word documents directly which makes it more of a productivity tool. For me, I think there is room for both the RP1 and iPad in my brief bag. The RP1 is my go to for note taking and document review. If I want to edit documents and do internet browsing, I'll whip out my iPad.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Feature suggestion

DPT-RP1 15/08/2017 by Cc1990 (USA)

The product is a very high quality device. However, I want to make some suggestion for possible update / patch 1. Files are now arranged in folders in ascending order by name, I would like to have more control with sorting, including sort by creation date or modified date 2. Ability to sync with cloud drive 3. The files copied / synced with computer are in fact created as fresh on DPT. it is in fact more helpful to copy even such file attributes into dpt so that the file management / sorting correspond better with the files in computer.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2017

Hi Cc1990 , Thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements of our products and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter. ~Ralph

0

Bad Quality, needs exchange service.

DPT-RP1 02/08/2017 by rhneqq (USA)

1. turn/change/refresh page with noise(like Current sound), especially in two pages spread. 2. the Frame and the Screen has very significant gaps. I think I need a exchange service.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

7

0

Awesome

DPT-RP1 25/07/2017 by Wmcl (USA)

This device is outstanding - lightweight, fast, secure, and has really helped my studies and productivity at work. I can’t recommend it enough.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

14

0

Light

DPT-RP1 22/07/2017 by Tenrual (USA)

I love read book or report in my bed or in the train the light could be off or very poor. With my kindle we have an integrated light with this device nothing .... Please give us the light in your knowledge quest

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2017

Hi, Tenrual, Thank you for your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

file transfer problems

DPT-RP1 22/07/2017 by Nicholas001 (USA)

makes no sense to limit the storage to 11G file transfer is extremely slowwwwwww, like forever to transfer 1G.....

5

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2017

Hi, Nicholas001, We apologize for any inconvenience. You may try to isolate this issue by resetting the unit. Follow the link here for the steps: http://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178293.html. Regards, Vincent

0

No EPUB Support

DPT-RP1 20/07/2017 by FirstReader42 (USA)

This device is great to handle it but with no EPUB Support, this is a common standard

Performance

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

18

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/07/2017

Hi, FirstReader42, Thanks for your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Very Productive, despite some improvements in need

DPT-RP1 14/07/2017 by IsaiahMJC (USA)

I purchased this device on preorder, and I've used it for almost 1 Month. Additionally, I've used the previous product, DPTS1 as well. This product is very useful and productive for me and my law-relating job. Tons of PDF files and even normal MS office files can be read on this device. It really releases the pain of my eyes after a long time working on my laptop. Additionally, the reflecting and refreshing speed of this product is very acceptable as an e-ink electronic device. I hardly feel any delay when turning pages or writing on it. BUT I have some serious advice for this device and I'm pretty sure, these points are all related to the software. Really hope any Sony staff member could read my genuine words. 1. Please cancel the page display and redirection function on the top of the page, shown when touched once. It's very annoying whenever the redirection ability is activated and the page suddenly turns out of any such intention. And it happens quite often, especially when I'm writing on the top of the page with my hand around the page portion. 2. Page jumping function could be helpful. With the current software, I can only jump page with the very weak page bar on the top, it's not accurate at all. And the thumbnail view is very limited, either. Page jumping function is still useful, especially when the file is of long pages. 3. Sometimes, I don't want my handwriting be adjusted. I feel it more natural and comfortable if the original handwriting could be kept, instead of the adjusted handwriting. Or at least, please consider turning the option on for people to choose whether let their handwriting be adjusted automatically.

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

9

0

Linux support / USB Drivers

DPT-RP1 09/07/2017 by bkamath (USA)

DPA only runs on Windows / OSX, while all my computers run a linux-based OS. Regardless of that, I'm surprised SONY abandoned the idea of having the device present as a USB mass-storage device (as opposed to CDC ACM?), as that would have required no software on the host side. Alternatively they could maybe have made the app in an OS-agnostic way, such as by exposing a REST API or a web-app from the device itself. Syncing pdfs with my host computers was going to be a huge part of how I wanted to use this device. I suppose I can find a windows computer with any cloud storage and accomplish the same thing but it is very inconvenient.

Performance

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

53

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/07/2017

Hi, bkamath, Thank you for your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. I’ll pass what you've said onto the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Linux not supported

DPT-RP1 09/07/2017 by euclid (USA)

At first glance, this device was very promising: it offers the ability to read and annotate an academic article and to take notes during a talk. However, the USB interface doesn't work as a classical mass storage device. Moreover the Software provided by SONY doesn't run on Linux (Windows and MacOS support only), even with wine. Hence, it is not possible for me to send my notes to my computers and to put some articles on the device. I think it is a shame since: 1) Linux is widely used by the targeted audience (such as academics) 2) The device relies on... Linux (according to the OSS website of Sony). Because of this single fact, the usage of the device is very limited for me.

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

54

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2017

Hi, euclid, We appreciate your time and feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward this to the proper department. Regards, Vincent

0

Severe Software Flaws Limit Great Product

DPT-RP1 09/07/2017 by GradStudent23 (USA)

Love Sony, and most of their products; however, what would otherwise be a great product is severely limited by tragic software flaws that should be standard in this type of product and price point. This version of the Digital Paper lacks basic pdf editing functions such as adding bookmarks and indexing. Any large document over 100 pages is impractical to navigate. It doesn't even allow quick access to a table of contents and you can't create shortcuts to any pages besides drawing on them. I don't understand this type of oversight in the software design. Any free basic pdf reading software grants you this type of features because they are essential. If Sony is going to limit the documents which can be accessed on the DPT-RP1 to only PDFs then they at least should have provided the tools to properly navigate through them. It literally makes no sense. The DPT-RP1 would have been the perfect tool for anyone working in reading intensive technical fields or for whoever has to constantly read papers from academic journals. I don't know if Sony ever expects to significantly update the software in the DPT-RP1, but until they do, I cannot honestly recommend it to anyone since it's so severely limited.

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

37

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2017

Hi, GradStudent23, We appreciate your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. Regards, Vincent

0

of limited use for academics - fatal design flaw

DPT-RP1 03/07/2017 by timberrattler (USA)

I own a Sony DPTS1, which I love, but I canceled my preorder of this product (the RP1), because it has a fatal design flaw which limits its usefulness in its primary target market: academia. With the DPTS1, one can simply use a USB connection to transfer files. With the RP1, one must first install software on the target computer. This means that with the RP1 one cannot simply transfer files to a classroom computer, a computer in a seminar room at another institution, or indeed any linux system (as a good chunk of tech-savvy academics use). There are at least 10 DPTS1's in my department, but I'm pretty sure there will be 0 RP1's because of this shortcoming.

54

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2017

Hi, timberrattler , We appreciate your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Best PORTABLE electronic WRITING device

DPT-RP1 30/06/2017 by Enterprise Architect (USA)

I have had writing devices ranging from Wacom Cintiq Companion (earlier version of MobileStudio Pro) which I do *not* consider as "portable" (clumsy to bring from meeting to meeting or to write on a subway), MS Surface Pro (Wacom based), MS Surface (N-trig), iPad Pro and this Sony product is so far the best WRITING experience. Note that this is for note-taking only and not for drawing with color, DIRECT copy and paste from other apps, etc which obviously this product doesn't feature. This is a WRITING a device and not even a tablet like iPad. The paper like surface is excellent. There is lag/latency which can be annoyed it and depending on your writing style and speed, with my style and speed it registers 87% of the strokes which means every so often the device fails to register. I guess this is more of the limitation of E-Ink than the processing power, and any E-Ink product will encounter it. I guess when you are willing to get used to it or adjust (including recalibrate so often) it will work. I believe it will get better over the years with the technology. So it depends... if you want a *perfect* paper-like experience, either you opt for MobilePro (which is rather clumsy/I do not consider it as "portable"), wait for several years or this product helps me for now. You just bring it like a folder (it's very light), low profile/wouldn't attract much attention that might distract you and I must admit I want a smaller version of it; but I guess this product is intended to work more with legal size documents.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

15

0

Amazing product, few tweaks possible

DPT-RP1 30/06/2017 by swang101 (USA)

This just arrived in the mail after pre-ordering the product. So far, I'm beyond impressed! I've tried numerous e-readers and tablets and for me, a person who really just wants to read and annotate PDFs, this has impressively been the best product. Small tweaks I would suggest: 1. An ability to add notes in the form of 'stickies', which existed in the previous version 2. A more convenient method of zooming into areas of the PDF (perhaps by pinching and sprawling the fingers, as with other products like the iPAD) 3. A signature feature, where pressing a button inserts a saved signature 4. An option to take what we wrote and minimize or increase the size of it 5. A way to enter the page number of the PDF you want to go to, for large documents Small questions: 1. In the future, will additional tips for the stylus be available at B&H? I sure don't want to loose the ability to use the product because of the pen! Also, how long should the tips last?

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

17

0

0

Makes me love reading again!

DPT-RP1 29/06/2017 by szjx (USA)

I bought it since I read textbooks, papers and slides daily and I was sick of having to print them out, carry them around, and only soon later to have them rot on the shelf, unable to be indexed and queried. It solved this need perfectly. The page flipping is lightening fast and the handwriting is incredibly responsive and natural-feeling, with almost no delay at all. The speed is even beyond my expectation. Somehow unexpectedly, it also turned out to be a perfect device for reading anything in general. The reading experience is magnitudes better than that offered by Kindle since its screen size is naturally A4. Kindle might be used to read novels but the reading experience for any other kind of document is woefully underwhelming and tiring. Even when reading novels/news articles, I often find myself losing focus with Kindle before I could even finish an article, not to mention with computer screens. Not anymore with this device. Now I just save news articles from the Internet and read them on digital paper, and I can finish them with concentration, in a flash, instead of allowing myself to be diverted by useless distractions. I'm now considering selling my Kindle Voyage. The only two gripes I have with it are the somehow inexplicable inability to use a pdf file's index table to jump to the desired page, and the lack of a Linux companion app, which I'm sure will affect quite a number of people in the academia/tech industry. However, they are all minor problems and wouldn't stop me from giving it a 5 star rating. I've been feeling so happy since receiving it!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

7

0

Amazing, suggetion

DPT-RP1 21/06/2017  (USA)

RP1 is so amazing! I've used too many tools that promise great productivity gains, but rp1 is totally powerful and highly productive tool! However, there're two functions have to be updated! 1. STICKY NOTE RP1 doesn't have sticky note function like s1, when I use s1, this function is really useful, Ican make note and answer the question by putting a sticky note beside the text. Although rp1 can display note of a document, sticky note is still needed! 2. TABLE OF CONTENT Just like s1, this function had been canceled, but why? This function is really needed when the student read a huge course book. I really hope you will update these two functions ASAP. What I still like to refer here, rp1 is amazing! You produced so incredible a tool! Hope you have a great day!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

0

0

big downside : emailing notes is not supported.

DPT-RP1 06/06/2017 by spco (USA)

this is very nice device. very helpful fr reading and writing. unlike the previous version it doesn't support emailing docs. so I m very disturb. bcoz i need to email my writting to the typist. proof chk the typed pdf. i can easily do this with dpts1

Performance

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

43

29