Skip to Content
DIGITAL PAPER

Product Reviews

$699.99

17

3.1 based on 17 customer reviews

4
3
4
2
4
Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing, suggetion

DPT-RP1 21/06/2017  (USA)

RP1 is so amazing! I've used too many tools that promise great productivity gains, but rp1 is totally powerful and highly productive tool! However, there're two functions have to be updated! 1. STICKY NOTE RP1 doesn't have sticky note function like s1, when I use s1, this function is really useful, Ican make note and answer the question by putting a sticky note beside the text. Although rp1 can display note of a document, sticky note is still needed! 2. TABLE OF CONTENT Just like s1, this function had been canceled, but why? This function is really needed when the student read a huge course book. I really hope you will update these two functions ASAP. What I still like to refer here, rp1 is amazing! You produced so incredible a tool! Hope you have a great day!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

suggestion

DPT-RP1 28/07/2017 by dpts1 (USA)

I use dpt s1 for two years. I just got a dpt rp1. I want dpt rp1 to keep some good functions from dpt s1: 1. 'Thumbnail' 4 pages and 9 pages view. 16 pages view is so small. 2. 'Jump to specific page' 3. add 'Table of contents' 4. add 'Sticky note'

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

18

0

17 Customer Reviews

0

Feature suggestion

DPT-RP1 15/08/2017 by Cc1990 (USA)

The product is a very high quality device. However, I want to make some suggestion for possible update / patch 1. Files are now arranged in folders in ascending order by name, I would like to have more control with sorting, including sort by creation date or modified date 2. Ability to sync with cloud drive 3. The files copied / synced with computer are in fact created as fresh on DPT. it is in fact more helpful to copy even such file attributes into dpt so that the file management / sorting correspond better with the files in computer.

Performance

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2017

Hi Cc1990 , Thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements of our products and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter. ~Ralph

0

Bad Quality, needs exchange service.

DPT-RP1 02/08/2017 by rhneqq (USA)

1. turn/change/refresh page with noise(like Current sound), especially in two pages spread. 2. the Frame and the Screen has very significant gaps. I think I need a exchange service.

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

suggestion

DPT-RP1 28/07/2017 by dpts1 (USA)

I use dpt s1 for two years. I just got a dpt rp1. I want dpt rp1 to keep some good functions from dpt s1: 1. 'Thumbnail' 4 pages and 9 pages view. 16 pages view is so small. 2. 'Jump to specific page' 3. add 'Table of contents' 4. add 'Sticky note'

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

18

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2017

Hi, dpts1, Thanks for your feedback about your DPTRP1. We do not have information yet about the changes or the features will be added in case Sony will release a software update for Digital Paper. The updates will be posted here: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=DPTRP1&LOC=3. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Awesome

DPT-RP1 25/07/2017 by Wmcl (USA)

This device is outstanding - lightweight, fast, secure, and has really helped my studies and productivity at work. I can’t recommend it enough.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

9

0

Light

DPT-RP1 22/07/2017 by Tenrual (USA)

I love read book or report in my bed or in the train the light could be off or very poor. With my kindle we have an integrated light with this device nothing .... Please give us the light in your knowledge quest

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2017

Hi, Tenrual, Thank you for your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

file transfer problems

DPT-RP1 22/07/2017 by Nicholas001 (USA)

makes no sense to limit the storage to 11G file transfer is extremely slowwwwwww, like forever to transfer 1G.....

4

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2017

Hi, Nicholas001, We apologize for any inconvenience. You may try to isolate this issue by resetting the unit. Follow the link here for the steps: http://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178293.html. Regards, Vincent

0

No EPUB Support

DPT-RP1 20/07/2017 by FirstReader42 (USA)

This device is great to handle it but with no EPUB Support, this is a common standard

Performance

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/07/2017

Hi, FirstReader42, Thanks for your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Very Productive, despite some improvements in need

DPT-RP1 14/07/2017 by IsaiahMJC (USA)

I purchased this device on preorder, and I've used it for almost 1 Month. Additionally, I've used the previous product, DPTS1 as well. This product is very useful and productive for me and my law-relating job. Tons of PDF files and even normal MS office files can be read on this device. It really releases the pain of my eyes after a long time working on my laptop. Additionally, the reflecting and refreshing speed of this product is very acceptable as an e-ink electronic device. I hardly feel any delay when turning pages or writing on it. BUT I have some serious advice for this device and I'm pretty sure, these points are all related to the software. Really hope any Sony staff member could read my genuine words. 1. Please cancel the page display and redirection function on the top of the page, shown when touched once. It's very annoying whenever the redirection ability is activated and the page suddenly turns out of any such intention. And it happens quite often, especially when I'm writing on the top of the page with my hand around the page portion. 2. Page jumping function could be helpful. With the current software, I can only jump page with the very weak page bar on the top, it's not accurate at all. And the thumbnail view is very limited, either. Page jumping function is still useful, especially when the file is of long pages. 3. Sometimes, I don't want my handwriting be adjusted. I feel it more natural and comfortable if the original handwriting could be kept, instead of the adjusted handwriting. Or at least, please consider turning the option on for people to choose whether let their handwriting be adjusted automatically.

Performance

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

6

0

Linux support / USB Drivers

DPT-RP1 09/07/2017 by bkamath (USA)

DPA only runs on Windows / OSX, while all my computers run a linux-based OS. Regardless of that, I'm surprised SONY abandoned the idea of having the device present as a USB mass-storage device (as opposed to CDC ACM?), as that would have required no software on the host side. Alternatively they could maybe have made the app in an OS-agnostic way, such as by exposing a REST API or a web-app from the device itself. Syncing pdfs with my host computers was going to be a huge part of how I wanted to use this device. I suppose I can find a windows computer with any cloud storage and accomplish the same thing but it is very inconvenient.

Performance

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

42

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/07/2017

Hi, bkamath, Thank you for your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. I’ll pass what you've said onto the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Linux not supported

DPT-RP1 09/07/2017 by euclid (USA)

At first glance, this device was very promising: it offers the ability to read and annotate an academic article and to take notes during a talk. However, the USB interface doesn't work as a classical mass storage device. Moreover the Software provided by SONY doesn't run on Linux (Windows and MacOS support only), even with wine. Hence, it is not possible for me to send my notes to my computers and to put some articles on the device. I think it is a shame since: 1) Linux is widely used by the targeted audience (such as academics) 2) The device relies on... Linux (according to the OSS website of Sony). Because of this single fact, the usage of the device is very limited for me.

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

38

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2017

Hi, euclid, We appreciate your time and feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward this to the proper department. Regards, Vincent

0

Severe Software Flaws Limit Great Product

DPT-RP1 09/07/2017 by GradStudent23 (USA)

Love Sony, and most of their products; however, what would otherwise be a great product is severely limited by tragic software flaws that should be standard in this type of product and price point. This version of the Digital Paper lacks basic pdf editing functions such as adding bookmarks and indexing. Any large document over 100 pages is impractical to navigate. It doesn't even allow quick access to a table of contents and you can't create shortcuts to any pages besides drawing on them. I don't understand this type of oversight in the software design. Any free basic pdf reading software grants you this type of features because they are essential. If Sony is going to limit the documents which can be accessed on the DPT-RP1 to only PDFs then they at least should have provided the tools to properly navigate through them. It literally makes no sense. The DPT-RP1 would have been the perfect tool for anyone working in reading intensive technical fields or for whoever has to constantly read papers from academic journals. I don't know if Sony ever expects to significantly update the software in the DPT-RP1, but until they do, I cannot honestly recommend it to anyone since it's so severely limited.

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

30

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/07/2017

Hi, GradStudent23, We appreciate your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. Regards, Vincent

0

of limited use for academics - fatal design flaw

DPT-RP1 03/07/2017 by timberrattler (USA)

I own a Sony DPTS1, which I love, but I canceled my preorder of this product (the RP1), because it has a fatal design flaw which limits its usefulness in its primary target market: academia. With the DPTS1, one can simply use a USB connection to transfer files. With the RP1, one must first install software on the target computer. This means that with the RP1 one cannot simply transfer files to a classroom computer, a computer in a seminar room at another institution, or indeed any linux system (as a good chunk of tech-savvy academics use). There are at least 10 DPTS1's in my department, but I'm pretty sure there will be 0 RP1's because of this shortcoming.

42

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2017

Hi, timberrattler , We appreciate your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you. -Vincent

0

Best PORTABLE electronic WRITING device

DPT-RP1 30/06/2017 by Enterprise Architect (USA)

I have had writing devices ranging from Wacom Cintiq Companion (earlier version of MobileStudio Pro) which I do *not* consider as "portable" (clumsy to bring from meeting to meeting or to write on a subway), MS Surface Pro (Wacom based), MS Surface (N-trig), iPad Pro and this Sony product is so far the best WRITING experience. Note that this is for note-taking only and not for drawing with color, DIRECT copy and paste from other apps, etc which obviously this product doesn't feature. This is a WRITING a device and not even a tablet like iPad. The paper like surface is excellent. There is lag/latency which can be annoyed it and depending on your writing style and speed, with my style and speed it registers 87% of the strokes which means every so often the device fails to register. I guess this is more of the limitation of E-Ink than the processing power, and any E-Ink product will encounter it. I guess when you are willing to get used to it or adjust (including recalibrate so often) it will work. I believe it will get better over the years with the technology. So it depends... if you want a *perfect* paper-like experience, either you opt for MobilePro (which is rather clumsy/I do not consider it as "portable"), wait for several years or this product helps me for now. You just bring it like a folder (it's very light), low profile/wouldn't attract much attention that might distract you and I must admit I want a smaller version of it; but I guess this product is intended to work more with legal size documents.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

10

0

Amazing product, few tweaks possible

DPT-RP1 30/06/2017 by swang101 (USA)

This just arrived in the mail after pre-ordering the product. So far, I'm beyond impressed! I've tried numerous e-readers and tablets and for me, a person who really just wants to read and annotate PDFs, this has impressively been the best product. Small tweaks I would suggest: 1. An ability to add notes in the form of 'stickies', which existed in the previous version 2. A more convenient method of zooming into areas of the PDF (perhaps by pinching and sprawling the fingers, as with other products like the iPAD) 3. A signature feature, where pressing a button inserts a saved signature 4. An option to take what we wrote and minimize or increase the size of it 5. A way to enter the page number of the PDF you want to go to, for large documents Small questions: 1. In the future, will additional tips for the stylus be available at B&H? I sure don't want to loose the ability to use the product because of the pen! Also, how long should the tips last?

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

0

0

Makes me love reading again!

DPT-RP1 29/06/2017 by szjx (USA)

I bought it since I read textbooks, papers and slides daily and I was sick of having to print them out, carry them around, and only soon later to have them rot on the shelf, unable to be indexed and queried. It solved this need perfectly. The page flipping is lightening fast and the handwriting is incredibly responsive and natural-feeling, with almost no delay at all. The speed is even beyond my expectation. Somehow unexpectedly, it also turned out to be a perfect device for reading anything in general. The reading experience is magnitudes better than that offered by Kindle since its screen size is naturally A4. Kindle might be used to read novels but the reading experience for any other kind of document is woefully underwhelming and tiring. Even when reading novels/news articles, I often find myself losing focus with Kindle before I could even finish an article, not to mention with computer screens. Not anymore with this device. Now I just save news articles from the Internet and read them on digital paper, and I can finish them with concentration, in a flash, instead of allowing myself to be diverted by useless distractions. I'm now considering selling my Kindle Voyage. The only two gripes I have with it are the somehow inexplicable inability to use a pdf file's index table to jump to the desired page, and the lack of a Linux companion app, which I'm sure will affect quite a number of people in the academia/tech industry. However, they are all minor problems and wouldn't stop me from giving it a 5 star rating. I've been feeling so happy since receiving it!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Amazing, suggetion

DPT-RP1 21/06/2017  (USA)

RP1 is so amazing! I've used too many tools that promise great productivity gains, but rp1 is totally powerful and highly productive tool! However, there're two functions have to be updated! 1. STICKY NOTE RP1 doesn't have sticky note function like s1, when I use s1, this function is really useful, Ican make note and answer the question by putting a sticky note beside the text. Although rp1 can display note of a document, sticky note is still needed! 2. TABLE OF CONTENT Just like s1, this function had been canceled, but why? This function is really needed when the student read a huge course book. I really hope you will update these two functions ASAP. What I still like to refer here, rp1 is amazing! You produced so incredible a tool! Hope you have a great day!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

32

0

0

big downside : emailing notes is not supported.

DPT-RP1 06/06/2017 by spco (USA)

this is very nice device. very helpful fr reading and writing. unlike the previous version it doesn't support emailing docs. so I m very disturb. bcoz i need to email my writting to the typist. proof chk the typed pdf. i can easily do this with dpts1

Performance

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

29