DIGITAL PAPER

Product Reviews

Starting at

$499.99

105

3.2 based on 105 customer reviews

23
26
20
20
16
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing, suggetion

13.3" 21/06/2017  (USA)

RP1 is so amazing! I've used too many tools that promise great productivity gains, but rp1 is totally powerful and highly productive tool! However, there're two functions have to be updated! 1. STICKY NOTE RP1 doesn't have sticky note function like s1, when I use s1, this function is really useful, Ican make note and answer the question by putting a sticky note beside the text. Although rp1 can display note of a document, sticky note is still needed! 2. TABLE OF CONTENT Just like s1, this function had been canceled, but why? This function is really needed when the student read a huge course book. I really hope you will update these two functions ASAP. What I still like to refer here, rp1 is amazing! You produced so incredible a tool! Hope you have a great day!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please open up the possbilities

13.3" 03/10/2017 by Andy 91 (USA)

Nice screen and hardware, but it would be nice to be able to use it in more flexible ways. How about allowing for connecting bluetooth keyboards, make it accessible through usb storage and webdav and adding text to speech functionality?

26

0

105 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great tool, but lacks some functions

DPT SERIES 09/01/2020 by m321 (USA)

I'm a musician and use the digital paper mostly for sheet music. It's an amazing tool to study, but for the use on stage it would be an absolute necessity to implement support for bluetooth page turner pedals. With that it would be the perfect tool for musicians and I would love to see that feature coming through an update. As far as I know all the technology is there and it's just held back by the software for no reason. So please, do the musicians around here a favor and add this feature!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

How can activate the digital paper app for PC?

13.3" 01/12/2019 by Kevin C (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one and installed the app in my PC. I click one "deny" button accidentally in the first time, and I TRIED to re-install the app many times. However, it couldn't be activated. I created the member and tried to ask in sony community, but I couldn't login in the community. So I WRITE DOWN THE REVIEW HERE.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/12/2019

Hi, Kevin!

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please try to uninstall the Digital Paper app then restart your PC. Download and install the app again to see if the app will be reinstalled properly.


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Operating system of your PC:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Repeated Hardware Failures Intolerable at this Pri

DPT SERIES 28/11/2019 by BigG1983 (USA)

Was one of the first to buy a RP1 when it came out. The device failed after a year and a month: it entered a never ending boot loop. Sony - after being told it was out of warrantee an email to the CEO of their North American Division - replaced it. The device they sent as a replacement has never worked correctly: it will only refresh portions of the page, leaving text too faint to be readable in some sections, and perfectly fine in others. This is a beautiful device, that for the price, should work, not be the most beautiful paperweight on my desk.

Picture Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/12/2019

Hi, BigG1983!

We apologize for any inconvenience. You may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your case number and details of your concern. We will review your file.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Unable to connect to app and poor product support

DPT SERIES 10/11/2019 by indigillow (USA)

I have been using this for some time, and recently the digital paper app (on MacOS) is unable to connect to the device using cable, wifi or bluetooth. And since I'm currently not based in US, there is absolutely no product support from Sony. An extremely frustrating experience.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hi, indigillow!

We are sorry to hear about your experience. For best assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards,
Vincent

Regards,

Vincent

0

I love it !

DPT SERIES 29/10/2019 by adnsmg (USA)

I have been using SONY DPT-RP1 for some time and I like writing on the product because it feels like writing on actual paper, but the problem is the limited option of pen thickness. Please add in the next update Flexible pen thickness.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/11/2019

Hello, adnsmg!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Sony products and service used to be great.

10.3" 07/10/2019 by Danny12345 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony DPT-CP1 digital paper, because I was so happy with the VIAO. Back when a virus killed the operation of my VIAO, years after I bought it, I was able to open a ticket for just $39 that allowed me, 3 weeks, I think, to resolve any problem at all. With this produce, let's start with the phone number. I called for service and there was no selection for Sony Paper, so I had to select Camcorder. The service rep took the longest time to understand I wasn't calling about a camcorder. Nor did he seem to know what Sony paper was, and thought I was talking about a paper service. Then he escalated to a rep that told me I need to reset the device. So now I have to go home and do that, because I don't have a way here at work to download things into my work computer (I have used this device well and have lots of stuff written down already). Then I can reset. And then, after verifying the power button is still broken, I'll have to call again tomorrow to find out if I can send it in for repair.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2019

Hi, Danny12345!

We are sorry to hear the issue with your Digital Paper, and we apologize for any inconvenience. To further isolate the issue, you may consider the suggestions from this page: https://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178292.html.


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Case Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Useful software improvement easy to implement

DPT SERIES 05/10/2019 by grandnez (USA)

Hi, I am rather happy with the product. I only wanted to make an improvement suggestion that; I think, it is very easy to implement. Currently the syncronization can be done (recursively) only for forlders under the "System storage" folder. This is pity, because each time the folder structure structures in "system storage", have to reconfigure the syncing. If your Digital Paper is synced with several computers, you have to redo this reconfiguration work several times and there are possibilities of errors. All this can be avoided by simply allowing to sync the "System storage" folder itself. In this way, you can sync the "System storage" folder only once in life in each computer, indepentently of how the internal structure of this folder (how you organize your documents in you Digital Paper) evolves with time. A further, completely independent suggestion: In the zoom mode, it could be useful a slide to control more easily the level of zoom. Thank you very much

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, grandnez!

We appreciate your time and input. We'll take note of your feedback, and we will forward this to the relevant team. For other concerns and further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Awful experience ...

10.3" 01/10/2019 by JohnCYC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought the product on 22nd September 2019 and received the product on 27th ... It's amazing. The writing experience cant be better. Unfortunately, less than 48 hours upon receipt of the product....the stylus tip is broken. As I noticed later, that is a fatal defect shared by lots of people. I am regretting. No way to buy a new stylus at US80 !!! no way !!!!

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2019

Hi, JohnCYC!

We are sorry for what happened with the stylus of your Digital Paper. Could you please tell us more about the issue and send it via email at socialsupport@am.sony.com? Make sure to include your product details so we can help you further.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Good Product, good software updates

DPT SERIES 20/08/2019  (USA)

Really happy with my digital paper. I read a very large amount of PDFs so this helps me keep my paper waste down. PROS: 1. The desktop app is pretty easy to use, and I am able to pair it with my laptop using bluetooth for a quick sync every few days. Every once in a while I'll use the mobile version to send a doc over. The mobile app is not quite as easy to use. 2. Sony seems to make reasonably frequent software updates, which is good. Pinch zoom is a real nice feature. 3. Battery life is wonderful. I was skeptical at first, but I'm a heavy reader and I only need to charge the device once a week or so. 4. You can export annotated versions of your PDFs. Incredibly useful feature. CONS: 1. Its flimsy. You have to get a cover or a protective shell. This is not going to be able to take much rough handling. 2. The stylus is terrible. Charge barely lasts a day. Customer service was pretty unhelpful, just told me how to charge the stylus, which was neither an acknowledgement of nor a fix to the actual problem. Not a deal-breaker, but having to charge the stylus everyday is a pain. 3. Minor nit- the app does not let you alter the meta-data associated with PDF docs (like author etc).

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, Anand!

We are glad you are happy with your Digital Paper. Regarding the stylus of the unit, please make sure you are charging it the right way" https://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178311.html. You can also calibrate the pen by following the guide here: https://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178306.html. We will forward your feedback to the relevant department. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Connection to USB disconnects computer wifi

DPT SERIES 06/08/2019 by daliq (USA)

I received my DPT-RP1 from amazon. This is more than I expected, I like it a lot. I've set up the Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connection. Also setup a synced folder to my device. When I plug in the DP, my computer loses Wi-Fi connectivity. I cannot update the DP to the latest version. I need some guidance.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/08/2019

Hi, daliq!

If only the computer cannot connect to the wireless network, we suggest contacting the manufacturer of your computer. If your Digital Paper is having a Wi-Fi connectivity issue, you may consider these suggestions:

-The Digital Paper may be experiencing signal interference from nearby wireless devices (a cordless phone, microwave, Bluetooth device, etc.) using the 2.4 GHz frequency band. Turn off the wireless function of those devices, or move the Digital Paper to a different location.
-The connection may be weakened by obstacles such as walls, metal, and concrete between the Digital Paper and the wireless router. Move the Digital Paper to a different location.
-Confirm that your wireless router is within the communication range.

On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Love your new SOFTWARE UPDATE

DPT SERIES 24/07/2019 by Eric the student (USA)

Love the option you added to the last software update to zoom in and zoom out with the fingers, it was so much needed. Now you just need to: *****add to the next update***** the option to cut a piece of writing from the note while in zoom in mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Poor quality

DPT SERIES 21/07/2019 by Sanc632 (USA)

The Sony DPT RP1 I bought on Amazon had a bulge on surface. After replacing It, I got the second one had exactly the same problem. I believe this product will help me to work more efficiently. But I don’t know where to buy a one without such defects. I am gonna return the new one now. It is so confusing that why Sony create such a useful product with such a low quality at a not low price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/07/2019

Hi, Sanc632!

We are sorry to hear about your experience. If the unit is still with you, you may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can assist you with this.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great But Needs Improvements

DPT SERIES 06/07/2019 by Emmax (USA)

It's a great product but for it to become even greater, the next generation of this device, which is said to be released later this year, could imrove on the following points: Improvements to the stylus: 1- It would be appreciated greatly if the stylus itself could be improved . To hold greater charge/ for longer amounts of time if possible and to shift the charging port off to another place, or to at least have it protected by a cap binder that is more durable . If at all possible, removal of the concept of a stylus that needs to be charged all together . I understand that it is needed for accuracy in note-taking, however, other companies such as reMarkable have succeed in procuring a stylus that is both accurate and does not need charging and I believe that it is also well within Sony's capabilities of making a stylus in that way . 2- Making the stylus a bit more comfortable to hold for extended periods of time . Lighter and less a bit softer to hold could be great improvements Improvements to the overall device: 1- Sturdiness . The hardware is great but I do not believe that it is durable enough to be carried around in backpacks, which is a disadvantage for many students . 2- Speed . I understand that there are huge limitations to E-ink devices softwares' but if possible, despite these limitations, when turning many pages at a time, the speed lag becomes quite a nuisance . 3- It would also be great if the device could connect to a wifi network directly, without the need for a computer to set up a hub first And finally, improvements to the app: Would be great if the app was a bit more capable, in terms of the reading and editing experience . Thank you for reading and if anyone from Sony's customer service is reading this, I would be greatful if you could relate this to the relevant department so that we could maybe see some of these changes in the next generation of this device .

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Poor Buils Quality and Buggy App

DPT SERIES 04/07/2019 by _cm_ (USA)

The writing experience is superb. However, the build quality is poor. I had to replace my first DPT-RP1 because the micro USB stopped working and Sony does not offer repair service. I got my second DPT-RP1 replaced for free because the screen went blank after two months.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2019

Hi, _cm_!

We are sorry to hear about your experience. In case you are still getting an issue with your Digital Paper, you may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can assist you further.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Excellent tool for academics

dptrp1 01/07/2019 by Turnip21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For people who have lots of digital document to read and annotate, this device is excellent. You can spend several hours a day on this screen without feeling any of the inconveniences of the common LCD screens of computers and tablets. Documents on your computer are automatically synced to the anotations you made on the device but what is quite remarkable is that it does not alter the original document: instead, the annotations are saved as comments that you can select, move, and delete easily on Acrobat Reader for example. Perfect for peer-review, reviewing your own writing, or annotating articles and books which are now often available in open PDF format (this cannot read DRM encrypted PDFs). Scanned documents also look quite nice. The interface is uncluttered, but you feel that the designers have thought thoroughly about every feature you might need while reading/taking notes. I have encountered no bugs whatsoever, which is amazing when compared with the other large e-ink devices on the market I have tried. This is not a beta version; all the advertised features just work. I am still expecting the ability to insert sticky notes into documents using the excellent inboard virtual keyboard - it feels like a waste that you cannot do that. (You can read existing sticking notes though.) Another minor annoyance is the menu to change the pen color and thickness: it closes automatically when you change colors, forcing you to open it again if you meant to also change thickness. The search tools are quite advanced, but there is room for improvements: (1) the highlight list is cluttered; it shows the author name and time for each highlight even when similar; it gives only the few first words of your highlight with no way of expanding it without jumping to the page (takes a while on e-ink) and thus closing the annotation menu; if you have several pages of highlights you have to skip page per page to get to one you might be looking for. I would suggest an optional fully fledged annotation menu similar to the side-note mode, with highlights fully featured and enhanced review tools; including the ability to export highlights as a summary in a separate pdf document. (2) The handwriting list unfortunately looks awful, it boldens your handwriting so that it can show on the miniature pages, but that does not help at all to distinguish what you wrote! I would suggest a light, grey circling of strokes, or even the mere rendition of the miniatures with no modification. Finally, I wish I could active/deactivate the bluetooth directly from the home button menu, since it drains so much of the battery when you leave it on. Since I suggest academics will find this device useful, I should mention that you simply cannot use the wifi capabilities of the device on the eduroam network which is standard in US university campuses. If find this to be quite a blunder from Sony since they advertise it partly for academic purposes. They should definitely do something about this; but in the meantime be advised that you will have to use a USB cable to transfer large PDF libraries since the Bluetooth is expectedly very slow and only appropriate for the (quite useful) "Print to Digital Paper" option from your computer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Could be better

DPT SERIES 28/06/2019 by Nathan Explosion (USA)

it is currently THE best digital paper optimized for working readablity. I'm a PhD and heavily need to read a huge amount of PDF everyday, and this provide an eye-friendly option. However, there are several severe drawbacks: 1. File synchronize is too inconvenient, that it needs a media (PC, Phone) to do the synchronization from cloud drive. As a researcher, my requirement is just simply to view the PDF in the digital paper asap. 2. Stylus needs battery 3. Filter manager is too simple. 4. Please use USB-C in your future production.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

The future paper (not TV) for human civilization

DPT SERIES 21/06/2019 by jack1311 (USA)

When we finally realize the harm caused by long-term exposure to direct electromagnetic radiation to our eyes, we will know this is the solution to our future screen. Save your kids eyes as soon as possible.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Unresponsive touch/pen and USB connection issues

DPT SERIES 08/05/2019 by MonLoSi (USA)

I bought this device almost when it was released. I was very satisfied till the touch and pen input stopped working. First it was temporal and no it is permanent. A colleague of mine just recently experienced the same issue. The malfunction cannot be reproduced and it isn't possible to verify if this is a software or hardware issue. Nothing helps and at the moment the device is not usable. Unfortunately I purchased the product from Europe because of Sonys incomprehensible product policy to release this very useful device only in the USA and Japan. There is a post in the Sony community (https://ap.community.sony.com/s/question/0D50B00005aYWKcSAO/screen-on-unresponsive-to-pen-touch-power-button-and-reset?language=en_US) with similar issues, but because of geo-blocking I'm not able to add something to this issue or start an own thread. Furthermore the answer to this issue was via PM and isn't publicly accessible. In short, I had some great reading and annotation experience till it stopped working. Sadly it is almost impossible to get in touch with Sony to work out a solution so this is my last approach. If this doesn't work, I certainly will switch to an alternative solution (Onyx or remarkable). So please let me know, if there is a way to transform this thing from a 700 $ piece of trash back into the very nice and useful device it once was.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
09/05/2019

Hi MonLoSi, You may reset the Digital Paper by pressing the RESET button using a safety pin. Turn on the device to test. If still unresolved, initialize the settings to factory default.

For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Vincent

0

Best pdf reader

DPT SERIES 30/04/2019 by saty123 (USA)

If you are like me that has huge files to read or review, nothing can be better than this digital paper. I like the fact that my data are protected also from the internet connection. It seems that nowadays it is almost impossible to have things totally private, and the digital paper assures that. I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

3

0

Extremely Limited

DPT SERIES 27/04/2019 by promotheon (USA)

I can get an ipad pro for half this price with an apple pencil which can do a million more things. Sony, this thing needs to be $70 given what it does. It is not even equivalent to a kindle. Stop trying to be smart and release a dumb product which does little to nothing.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

13

27

Response From Sony Social Support
29/04/2019

Hello promotheon,

We regret to hear that this Digital Paper failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.


Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great device!

DPT SERIES 27/04/2019 by Rliao (USA)

I've been using this to replace lcd screen for months. I'm glad I did. My eyes feel much better since then.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Digital Paper will not connect to computer via USB

dptrp1 16/04/2019 by HeidiT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Digital paper last week and for taking notes it is great. However the Digital Paper App on the computer will not register the Digital Paper when connected to USB, which means that I cannot connect it to the internet and hence not through the Phone. This highly limits the usefulness of the device.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony Social Support
19/04/2019

Hi HeidiT,

We're sorry to hear about what happened. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps. First, try to replace the USB cable, USB cable might be faulty. Next, try to uninstall and reinstall the app and restart your computer. If those steps didn't fix the issue, press the reset button at the top of the digital paper using a pin or any thin object. Kindly check the link below for details.

https://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178293.html

Regards,
Sam

0

Great hardware - limited functionality

DPT SERIES 16/04/2019 by Jannnnn (USA)

I am a university professor and use this to read articles, comments/correct student papers and keep notes. It is great that I have everything in a single place, and it is an excellent way of reading and writing on pdfs. The major issue, and it is so major that I am giving it up, is the fact that the software is below what would be expected making it very hard to use. Let is run android and allow apps, a web browser, synching directly with dropbox and native access to the file system and it will be an amazing product that you can use without the need of having the syncing computer close by. A second best option, is to have a fully fledged android/apple app that can run on a mobile phone. There are also other minor inconveniences, but this is so major that it overshadows everything else. Finally, please note that the mobile app is not available in Europe. In an answer to one of the reviews, Sony support points to the support section in this website, however, as of 16/04/2019 the app is NOT at the webpage where other apps can be found.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

11

0

Response From Sony Social Support
17/04/2019

Hello Jannnnn,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great Device

dptrp1 12/04/2019 by ash10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this for about a 1.5 yrs. now. I love that I can now get rid of all paper PDFs in my house. It is great for work and school. It doesn't hurt the eyes, which means I can work at night without the light interfering with sleep. I like that it is thin but sturdy enough to write on it as I would with a normal paper notebook. The only things I don't like about it are: -needs a better way to be able to scroll through the pages quickly. -The magnets on the pen and side of the tablet weakens over time. Now the pen just falls out from the side of the tablet without much nudging/moving around in the backpack. -Because of this, the pen fell to the floor, the felt tip broke off inside the pen stylus, and now I had to send it back to Sony (which they have graciously said that they would pay for shipping and work on it) because I couldn't remove the broken tip that was stuck inside the pen. However, this means I cannot use the tablet for a week or so until the pen comes back in the mail. So yeah everyone needs at least a second pen just in case or maybe should put velcro on the pen and tablet so the pen doesn't fall off. -Overpriced (not worth $700. $300-$500 is more reasonable). It better last at least a decade or so for this reason.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Storage

DPT SERIES 10/04/2019 by abt1234 (USA)

16G (or about 12 effective for document storage) is a bit of a joke, even for the purpose of storing PDF documents. System should come with minimum of 32G, ideally 64G, as many technical PDF docs, such as books, can run into 10-20MB and even 100-200MB (in the case of scans). The product's usefulness is in its ability to be able to store an entire library of technical documents, such as books, journal articles, etc, a use case that requires multiples of the current storage capacity.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

7

0

Response From Sony Social Support
11/04/2019

Hi abt1234, Your feedback is highly appreciated. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward this to the relevant team.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Very poor quality

DPT SERIES 25/03/2019  (USA)

I bought this item a month ago, and once when I opened the package, I found that middle part of the panel is not flat at all, the middle part of the panel is higher than the other parts. I firstly didn’t too care about it because I like it’s internal function very much. However, right now, I found the right edge is not associated well and therefore dust goes in. I expected to use it for the coming three years for my PhD studies and as I student I actually saved up some money for this device, and I have been taking very good care of it, without breaking it on the floor nor I never misplace it. It is very disappointed and I can’t imagine what will be going on next if the edge problem grows.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
01/04/2019

Hi Samantha Li, We apologize for the inconvenience. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, Jen

0

For software - Super limited

DPT SERIES 13/03/2019 by BookieLove (USA)

Functions are too limited for the price compared to similar products on the market. Although the hardware form and qualiy is great, software-wise and its features are so few and unable to do other reasonable functions like no Android OS with Play Store, no apps, no ability to read other file formats like epub, txt, no dictionary built in, no page number selection, no table of contents, no web browsing to read the news, no buying books on it, no monitor function, etc. All it does is read PDFs and it's not even that good considering the cost. Software is way too limited! The only good thing about this is the hardware which I like for minimalism-look, thinness, lightness, and big screen. Best looking device on the market. But software, I give 0 star for minimalism. Funny thing is you can hack it to do much more stuff [risky] to run Android 5, so its massive potential is already there through unofficial support.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Response From Sony Social Support
17/03/2019

Hi BookieLove, we do appreciate providing us feedback for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time. Regards, Jen

0

DPT 13 inch

DPT SERIES 07/03/2019 by Max1122 (USA)

I am not satisied with built quality, the panel is not flat when I bought it, but I didn't bother, but later I found that there is the panel is not closed, leaving a gap for dust

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
10/03/2019

Hi Max1122,

We apologize for the inconvenience that this may have brought you. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following information to better assist you.

Your name:
Contact number/s:
Current Location:

Model number:
Complete UUI/Serial number:
Purchased date:
Dealer/Purchased from:

Please provide also some photos of the gap in the unit.


Regards,
Jen
sony Social Support

0

Excellent notepad but a problem with mobile app

DPT SERIES 23/02/2019 by AKader (USA)

I bought this about 2 years ago, and have been using it extensively. I still work with some documens on an IPAD, but when I want to read articles and student essays, I only use my Sony digital paper. I like the ease with which I can make notes, and transfer the files. Recently, however, I have heard that there is a digital mobile app for moving files from the Sony to my tablet. Sadly,this app is not available in my IOS store (South Africa). I could not for the life of me understand how and why an app would be restricted to a country. And I bought the device, just like anyone else who bought it and has access to the mobile app. Rather than the 5 stars it deserves, I will given it 2 for this reason.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/04/2019

Hi AKader, For best assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Stunning device

DPT SERIES 08/01/2019 by Rechner17 (USA)

Very lightweight and comfortable to hold. I have it sync with Mendeley for scientific papers, and Dropbox for book-PDFs etc. Perfect. Crisp and high-res screen is a joy to read. I printed a contract to this device, signed it with the stylus, and synced back, to email the signed contract: flawless. Note-taking works great as well. Sure, it needs some iterative improvements, but I think Sony is admirably bold to put out a product like this. Ever tried to read a 100-page PDF on your iPad or laptop? No thanks. It's a niche-product, but it serves its niche very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

9

0

Terrible build quality

DPT SERIES 27/12/2018  (USA)

I like the product itself. It provides everything I can expect from a digital paper reader. Despite the fact that its Android application does not work and poor battery life, I still enjoy using it. The main flaw of the product is its build quality. After using it for 1 week, the battery swelled. I do not know what to do and what should I do. I hope you can help fix this. Thank you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
29/12/2018

Hi DavidYang, We regret to hear about these issues with the Digital Paper. Tell us more about the battery, was it charged overnight? Did it happen within the week? Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following information:

Model number:
Serial number:
Date of purchase:
Dealer/store where it was purchased from (spelled correctly):
Website: Sony Store
Current location:


Regards,
Jen

0

Can do better

DPT SERIES 14/12/2018 by Sunnysun (USA)

I tried both reMarkable and Sony DPT and chose SOny over ReMarkable because of the its versatility. HAving said this,there is a lot Sony can do to improve it. The zoom feature allows zoom only on the circled portion or page and does not carry over to the next page. For those in need of a larger print this is a bear to deal with. I am happy with the hardware but software is way below to the SOny standards we are used to.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

17

0

Response From Sony Social Support
15/12/2018

Hi Sunnysun, Your feedback about the performance of the Sony Digital Paper is greatly appreciated and we regret to hear that it didn't meet your expectations. This kind of feedback from our customers helps us improve for the betterment of the products. We will forward this the proper department. Regards

0

Huge potential, malfunctions after a while

DPT SERIES 04/12/2018  (USA)

I have the 13.3 model, and I've been using it for 13 months. While it worked, it was a great experience and this is truly a remarkable device. Yet: - it started to have a incredible slow response after 8 months of use (and no, its drive is not full, less than 10% occupied) - there's been only 1 firmware update, without any consideration from Sony to our calls for obvious features lacking (such as index reading) - the most serious flaw: out of the blue, a whole horizontal strip of the screen stopped responding to the pen (or, when it does, it distorts a straight line, take a look at the attached picture). It COULD HAVE BEEN one of the best products I've had my hands on, but unfortunately it has a weak construction and lasts only enough to go past the warranty time. For this price, that's just unacceptable: don't waste your money on this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Response From Sony Social Support
05/12/2018

Hi HenrySmith, We understand your frustrations and we really apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you. Have you tried resetting the unit? You may do so by visiting the link below for assistance; https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/reader-digital-book-dpt-series/dpt-rp1/articles/00084262.

If the issue still persists, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with this photo and the following information below;

Name:
Contact number/s (daytime and evening phone number/s)
Email address:
Physical address:
NOTE: DO NOT enter a PO Box address since couriers will not deliver to PO Box addresses

PRODUCT DETAILS:
Model number:
Serial number:
Date of purchase:
Dealer/store where it was purchased from (spelled correctly):
Brief description of the issue:
Website: Sony Store

Regards.


0

Suggestions

DPT SERIES 03/12/2018 by percy123 (USA)

Overall it is a good experience to WRITE on rp1, but there is much room for improvement, to make it a really competitive PDF READER against new iPad Pro 12. 1: back-up deleted files. Often I want to recover the deleted files. Occasionally, I delete the FILE but my intention is actually to delete the PAGE. The mistake doesn't happen so often, but when it happens, the consequence is devastating, and there is no efficient way to recover in the current OS. I knew sync-option with Laptop, but honestly, this shouldn't be the merely option. 2: more rich features in editing. At least we should be able to view table of contents and perform cross-reference. The later meaning that once I follow the link of a reference to other pages, I can immediately go back and continue my reading. These are the crucial features for reading paper/book with > 20 pages. Hence I found that rp1 can afford reading for short articles.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

14

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/12/2018

Hi Percy123, We're happy to know that your writing experience using this digital paper is a good one. We appreciate your time providing us suggestions and feedback for the betterment of this device. Rest assured that this will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department.

0

Fantastic device

DPT SERIES 02/12/2018 by Seb123 (USA)

I have the digital paper for over year and it is my favorite electronic device by far. As an academic, it is the perfect device for comfortably reading PDFs, annotating them (e.g. when I am editing or reviewing papers), and writing extensive notes. The e-ink is much better on my eyes and allows me to work for hours without fatigue or distraction. Highly recommended!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

A little disapointed

dptrp1 22/11/2018 by AndreaLM (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it to try to avoid paper at work. It doesn´t support any kind of document but PDF (I hopped it works with .doc). You have to be in the same wifi in order to transfer from your desktop to the device... my desktop is wired so I only can transfer using USB cable.. You have to have mDNS in your network to transfer. Not always you can enable it (consider being in an hotel).You realized that your pen is out of battery when it is late, during a meeting. The app is only available on a small region. I was outside the US and I coul not download it.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

9

0

Response From Sony Social Support
24/11/2018

Hi AndreaLM, we're sorry to hear that the Digital Paper didn't meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and rest assured that it will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department.

0

Sony Digital paper

DPT SERIES 13/11/2018 by Saeedoo (USA)

I like the product but needs more flexibility of use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

Response From Sony Social Support
14/11/2018

Hi Saeedoo, We appreciate your feedback. Rest assured that this will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. We place a very high value on feedback from our customers because it allows us to continue to improve. Thank you for choosing Sony!

0

Fantastic hardware, poor software

DPT SERIES 10/11/2018 by qdpercy (USA)

The OS in this system is a disaster, I couldn't find table of contents and moving pdf into subfolders is miserable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

11

0

Response From Sony Social Support
12/11/2018

Hi qdpercy, We're sorry to hear that this Digital Paper didn't meet your expectations. We do appreciate providing us this feedback for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time. -Jen

0

The worst customer service!

dptrp1 09/11/2018 by sartrism (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A year ago, Sony promised to their loyal customers who bought this product right after the release that they will update the essential features including table-of-contents. Still there is no major update at all. If you go to a community page, you can see the moderators simply ignored every inquiry about updates, selectively. On the other hand, it has been already hacked (supposedly by internal leak) by Chinese hackers and only honest customers cannot use the product with full power.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

13

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/11/2018

Hi sartrism,

We regret to hear about your disappointment. A software update was already released in May 2018. Please refer to this link for further assistance; https://helpguide.sony.net/dpt/rp1/v1/en/contents/TP0001178296.html?search=firmware. This update includes Screen Capture /Display Output Mode, Interactive PDF and Smart Forms, Page Jump, Pan and Zoom, Automatic Page Rotation, Page Thumbnails Mode, and Digital Paper for Mobile App.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we'll make sure that this will be directed to the proper department.

-Jen

0

I really wants to bookmarks

DPT SERIES 11/10/2018 by ajwz (USA)

I really wants to bookmarks when I read a book more than 20 chapters and 500 pages!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

15

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/10/2018

Hi ajwz, You may use the mark feature of this unit to note a specific page/s. We appreciate your time and feedback. We will forward this to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Critical flaw - lacks handwriting recognition

DPT SERIES 05/10/2018 by St12 (USA)

This is *half* of a great product. The world is and has been waiting for a product like this that can read handwriting to fill forms (PDF forms would be fine). There are many, many applications that require form filling by hand and that are not adequately served by paper forms or by on-screen forms filled whether they are filled by on-screen keyboards or by bluetooth keyboards or by anything less than recognition of handwritten input. I well understand the huge variations in written input that make this a challenge, but this is what will make a device such as this one a major commercial hit. As it is, this is just a niche product because the marks left by the stylus are not machine-readable and thus cannot be processed in a computerized workflow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

13

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/10/2018

Hi St12, We do appreciate providing us your feedback for the betterment of the Digital Paper. Rest assured that this will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. Thank you for your time. Regards, Jen

0

Good but the battery life of stylus is very short

DPT SERIES 02/10/2018 by sam787 (USA)

I have a DPT-CP1 but the battery life of stylus is very short about 2~3 days even if I can't use it. Is it necessary for this stylus to power off ?

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/10/2018

Hi sam787, We apologize for the inconvenience. I've already replied to your other post about the stylus pen. Kindly check on it. Should you have other concern please let us know. Regards, Jen

0

Very very comfortable

dptrp1 01/10/2018 by Samuel S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a few months ago to replace my paper notes. I use it every day in my office... It had not disappointed me so far, except the short battery life . I have to keep connected to power all the time.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

6

0

Definitely grew on me, and I love it now.

DPT SERIES 29/09/2018 by grplr (USA)

It's a great product that can become even better if Sony really takes some of the feedback on the unit and applies it to future updates. When I first received my Digital Paper, I spent about a week wondering if I had just spent all that $$$ because I was overly excited. After a few months now I can honestly say this thing is awesome, BUT it definitely needs a little more refining. For example, not all of the line thicknesses seem to react with the same speed and degree of accuracy as others. It's little things like this that seem like they could be addressed in firmware updates, but its hard to know how to send feedback to Sony. The stylus/pen could also use a little work on the calibration and orientation settings. For a leftie, its ok, but there are a few positions in between those you offer that would be beneficial. You have to calibrate in portrait mode, so if you turn the Digital Paper to landscape orientation, the calibration of the pen seems slightly off. The stylus is good. I prefer the powered pen over a passive one. It took me a while to get used to writing with it. The tip depresses into the pen body when you start writing, and because of this, you need to hold up the start of your pen strokes just a little to get the tip depressed and then start moving, or else you will lose the first portion of your stroke. I write in all caps like a draftsman making blueprints, so I probably have the worst handwriting style for this device. Once i adjusted and slowed slightly, I can say the second to thickest line weight is great for me. I would be super super happy if Sony read this and adjusted the middle line weight a little to speed it up and smooth it out a little like the next one up. I'd give you another half star. Make the thing perfectly calibrates in both landscape and portrait, even if you have to run a second calibration in landscape mode, and I will give you that other half star to bring you up to a perfect 5 star product. I put this thing through some torture when I first got it. Loaded a PDF that was over 500 MB, something like 800 pages, and had no OCR run on it. Slight lag when flipping pages in side note mode (that's when you have your book on one side and a blank note page on the other). But nothing too annoying, and its totally an extreme case, and I was impressed. But overall, the reviews are mostly accurate, this is one of those devices that you kind of fall in love with its simplicity. And you realize how much the backlights on the monitors and screens we stare at hurt our eyes. Since getting this, I have much less eye strain and I don't have blurred vision when I get home from staring at the computer all day.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Good but not perfect

DPT SERIES 24/09/2018 by Balian (USA)

Everything is awesome except the screen it not flat, there is no battery percentage and the pen do not have a physical on-off(which cause my pen losing battery quickly can only use 2 days).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/09/2018

Hi Balian, We regret to hear that the Digital Paper didn't meet your expectations. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following information so we can assist you.

Model number:
Serial number:
Purchased date:
Dealer/Purchased from:
Detailed description of the issue:

The screen of this unit should be flat, please provide some pictures of the screen issue so that we can check it.

Regards,
Jen

0

Good..... But really need it in color

DPT SERIES 15/09/2018 by Ksh123 (USA)

Better than bamboo reader but only drawback is no color version and only pdf support

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Great thing, a lot of room for improvement

DPT SERIES 07/09/2018 by AnonymousReader (USA)

I use it personally and apart from being a great device (hardware) it lacks some features (software). I categorize them for Personal use and for Classroom as I would love to give them to course participants instead of printing packs of paper. Personal: Itegration with Dropbox/GoogleDocs/etc. Dedicated email address to drop docs for on the go (blabla@mysonydpt.com). Pretty much like Kindle Mountable as USB storage Major format support: epub, mobi Single page landscape mode TOC Bookmarks Classroom Easily eraseable remotely Find my device even if based on WiFi only (of forgotten to be returned) Email doc with notes taken (simple client) Pen tip that does not wear off so quickly Pen that needs no charging Hope ot comes some time soon, so I can uograde and maybe use extra tens of them in classrooms, too

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, AnonymousReader. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward this to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

great

dptrp1 21/08/2018 by blusave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good so good,i am happy to buy this fantastic product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

12

0

The Software MUST IMPROVE!!

DPT SERIES 18/08/2018 by kurahell (USA)

I recently bought this product (DPT CP1) to read pdfs, the hardware and all the tangible parts are amazing, BUT my main problem is that you DON'T have the most basic options such as reading ONLY ONE document on LANDSCAPE mode, the only option is having two pages on landscape but that makes the letter smaller and you can't take advantage of the full size of the screen. My second issue is that you also don't have a continuous reading option when you ZOOM IN, you have to zoom in and out every page!, and reading a pdf with more than 500 pages like that is a BIG PROBLEM. Believe me that I'm not the only person with that issue and that adding at least those two functions will make a better device, SONY has made an EXCELLENT product for people who read a lot, but the lack of improvements on the software makes an e-reader with wasted potential. You should take the advices in the comments about the improvements of the software and BELIEVE IN YOUR CUSTOMERS THAT YOU WILL CREATE AN EXCELLENT E-READER!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

20

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/08/2018

Hi Kurahell, We appreciate your feedback and suggestions for the betterment of this product. Rest assured that this will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. We place a very high value on feedback like this from our customers because it allows us to continue to improve. Regards, Jen

0

Unhappy in Canada

10.3" 15/08/2018 by spau (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like I only have 50% appreciation for what this product can be. It's a real drawback to not have access to the companion mobile app for this product in Canada. If Sony is able to resolve this issue so Canadians can download and install the companion app in order access the full functionality of this device, I would be happy to provide a much better review and recommend this product to others. (NOTE: The "Digital Paper App for Mobile" is not available in Canada.)

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/08/2018

Hi spau, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward this to the proper department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Comment on the Digital Paper line

DPT SERIES 01/08/2018 by KimSM (USA)

I have an older Digital Paper model, version DPT-S1. It works great and especially the battery life is awesome. It is my go-to device for reading long pdf files. I get migraines from reading too long on my tablets so this is great. However, I a a little confused. It seemed like Sony discontinued this line of product for a while. Am I able to update my tablet’s software through this website? Is the pen sold with this new line of product compatible with my older model? Thank you.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Good device but no PDF Table of Contents.

DPT SERIES 12/07/2018 by pilotmia (USA)

It works well for my needs, notes, templates and read PDF. I really like the battery life with possibility of connecting to the DPA mobile APP any time, thats the best feature! I think for now they should add the option for the Table of Contents, I understand the mobile APP its still running the first version and missing options like delete files. Thats my 2 reasons for the 4 stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Great for reading Letter /A4 size papers!

DPT SERIES 05/06/2018 by Ali_md (USA)

I had a 6” size e-reader, which is nice for reading books. However it was impossible to continue reading a letter size pdf document (Orthopedic Books for me). So i decided to buy this 13” reader about a month ago. It is lightweight, however big to carry around by hand, but it’s not a problem for me since i already use a bag for laptop & other stuff. Much faster for pdf reading, compared to 6” sized reader. Turning pages & creating pages are much quicker, even though both have e-ink technology. Pen feels great, but no idea how long the tip will last! The only problem is there is no Table of Contents part(!), which is terrible for a thousand pages book! Thus, i split my books by chapters & keep them in folders named by books.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The worst software i've used ever

13.3" 08/05/2018 by Hyman (USA)

tbh, this is a great machine, but the software is just piece of junk. sony you have two choices to make this machine great again, the first one is updating the software, or you should tell the poor users how to root this device. btw, i browse the community everyday, i didn't see any valuable response from any sony employees there.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

27

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/05/2018

Hi Hyman, We're sorry to hear this as this is obviously not the experience that we want you to have. Rest assured that your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. We place a very high value on feedback from our customers because it allows us to continue to improve. -Jen

0

DPT-RP1 has the best hardware, the worst software

13.3" 16/04/2018 by Mic Kwan (USA)

I wait for the DPT-RP1 for 1 year and I finally buy it.Finally, it may be a wrong decision.For such a gadget with only weight under 350g,Sony had done a good job, but that 's all! I use Windows 7, and I cannot transfer document to Digital Paper, the device only support PDF, that mean I cannot see other document format, even cannot browser the website on the digital paper, all I can read is PDF,PDF,PDF,PDF..... .What's worse, there is no fixed cropping function on DRT-RP1, I have to circle the readable area each page, it makes me crazy for using this stuff. Why don't Sony hire someone good at software or user experience to develop the system??

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

31

1

0

Elegant gadget with a lot of room to perfection...

13.3" 10/04/2018 by Sonycrazy (USA)

Regardless of its imperfections, i am totally enjoying it. I do really hope Sony will listen to its customers and take action asap. This thing takes reading to the next level, and i can't thank Sony enough for making it. But i am sure a lot of people will buy it regardless of it's price, if the navigation functions are made available, which is one of the many reasons, apart from the price, discouraging people to buy it. Previous view, Next view, jumping to a page are all the functions completely missing from this beautiful creation of Sony. And one thing i thought about while reading and working in the split screen is, instead of splitting it only in the landscape mode, which by the way the text becomes so small and you lose the enjoyment of it, portrait would have been great - the text size would be the same as the original- but of course for this to work, we also need to scroll- which is missing right now too. With all the problems i have mentioned above, and its hefty price, i do give it a four star, and i can't wait to give it a five star when all the missing functions are added. Thank you Sony!!

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

An academic's best friend!

13.3" 06/04/2018 by B Bassetti (USA)

This little gadget has revolutionised my working life. I do not carry books or papers with me anymore, I just put everything in this lightweight A4 folder and I'm off for weeks of productive work. As an academic, this has increased productivity. I can mark students' work including entire theses, underline/highlight/comment journal articles, store all the books on my endless to-read list as pdf files. It's also incredibly cool, and I receive a lot of attention in public places (admittedly mostly by fellow academics or geeks). After just three months of using it, suddenly two lines of broken pixels appeared, which I think happened when I was reading in the sun, so I'd advice to avoid reading in direct sunlight. I am also not very happy with lack of support for pre-Sierra Macs, considering how many people are unhappy with Sierra and sticking to previous OSs. Someone also mentions issues with data protection, and I'm not sure this product complies with EU regulations. However, overall, it's super!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

The best paper notepad replacement!

13.3" 29/03/2018 by Rayzwief (USA)

I first have to admit i've been working with digital paper since the early versions so i am a fan. I am a avid note taker, i seem to recall more if i write down. i have not been able to use my computer or ipad for this in a way that feels natural. Sony Digital Paper with its legal pad size is perfect and the pen/pencil to paper experience is seamlessly transferred to a digital medium. the advantage for me was a very simular notetaking experience with digital sync to my computer. no more drawers full of paper notepads. While I mostly use for notes, a secondary advantage is 'printing' any paper documents directly to the SDP to eliminate carrying around paper, and having the ability to markup/highlight while reviewing in full page form like a paper print out.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

7

0

dont buy

13.3" 29/03/2018 by vkra (USA)

My sony DPT-RP1 has ceased to synchronise with my windows 10 PC and I keep getting the error message and another error message saying the batter cannot charge even though I had used it on only some 20 occasions over a period of 7 months since its purchase. getting help is impossible. sony lacks support for this product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/03/2018

Hi vkra,

We really apologize for the inconvenience. We already replied to your email, please check. Thank you.

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/03/2018

Hi vkra,

We really apologize for the inconvenience. We already replied to your email, please check. Thank you.

0

Great device but...

dptrp1 26/03/2018 by serdarcenk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does not have enough comfort in terms of software. Things I propose in terms of software; 1- It would be good if we did not have to press the middle button every time to return to the main menu. By pressing once on an empty space on the screen, a small icon appeared in the corner to reach these options. 2- PDF features can be made more comfortable, such as using different fonts or enlarging or reducing font size. 3- Would not it be nice to have a web browser 4- It should be possible to connect to Wifi networks without using a PC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Without display of bookmarks, Hard to navigate

13.3" 19/03/2018  (USA)

There is no display of bookmarks which makes it hard to navigate through the whole book. I can not jump from where I am reading to any place in the book with the assistance of bookmarks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

Translation function

13.3" 09/03/2018 by Berman (USA)

Great products with many new innovation. But, for the users in non-English speaking countries, if the digital paper can insert the translation function and adjustable word size, it will be best.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great Hardware - Lousy Connectivity

13.3" 14/02/2018 by DieMaus (USA)

The hardware is cutting edge. Clearly, this e-reader is the best in its class. There is no better way to read 8.5" x 11" black and white pdf documents. No other e-reader comes close. The software is mediocre. It is usable, but there is considerable room for improvement. Please consider open sourcing the APIs and fostering a community of developers that improves the existing functionality and adds new features not sanctioned by your marketing department. Connectivity to other devices and the cloud is an anachronism. These days, our gadgets connect to each other and to the cloud effortless and without user intervention, everywhere and all the time. Not this e-reader - it can connect and interact only with Windows and Mac computers that have the Sony App installed. Linux, Android, ChromeOS, and iOS are out of luck. There is no connectivity to Dropbox, Google Drive, etc. either. Therefore, when traveling, one has to carry a notebook computer with the app installed. Otherwise, it is impossible to upload pdf documents. Sony, please bring this e-reader into the 21st century. Let it connect!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

22

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/02/2018

Hi DieMaus, We appreciate your time and feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward this to the proper department. Regards, Vincent

0

Autosync

13.3" 19/01/2018  (USA)

I love how easy it is to get files from the computer to tablet and back. I can also print to digital paper... Very convenient.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

9

0

The best e-reader I have ever used

13.3" 15/01/2018 by Cbuzzi (USA)

I bought it about five months ago. It is very slim, light, easy to read. The application whereby files are transferred from PC to the Sony paperless is useful and easy to use. The only negative feature is the lack of table of contents, as already remarked by other users.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Digital paper

13.3" 14/01/2018 by Sanjaym (USA)

Can we increase contrast of screen. . Its good for textbook readers .

Picture Quality

Average

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great purchase

dptrp1 08/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product about two months ago and I like it that it is light.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

8

0

Good ebook, I want a bit more

13.3" 06/01/2018 by Tarantular (USA)

It is overall well designed. I enjoy reading pdf using it. I hope some more functions can be added in the future. For example, I hope I can return to my original page after jumping with a simple return button. I also hope a basic browser can be added so that I can visit Wikipedia from time to time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

1

0

Great use experience

13.3" 19/12/2017 by cheung (USA)

Easy use and benifit to my eye. I use it for work and life everyday.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

5

0

HW good - SW to be improved

dptrp1 02/12/2017 by g1n0_s (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Many SW features are missing. A SW update is needed. Many basic navigation funcions are missing.

Picture Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

19

0

0

Good screen but easy-broken case

13.3" 01/12/2017 by Annis (USA)

I purchased mine in the middle of September. It is a amazing tool to read paper and to make some notes. I don't use it quite often, but I do like it. However, the lower left corner of my DPT-RP1 suddenly popped out today. The upper right corner popped out as well but I tried to push it back. However, the lower left corner remained the same. I am wondering what is the problem? How I can have it repaired

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/12/2017

Hi, Annis, We are really sorry to hear this issue with your Sony Digital Paper. We highly recommend contacting our Product Specialists to better assist you with this: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-contacts.pl?mdl=DPTRP1
We will also take note of this and we will forward your feedback to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Amazing hardware - 20 years old software

13.3" 17/11/2017 by Panos Z (USA)

This PDF reader has the best screen I have ever seen, better than any other ebook reader, tablet or even iPad pros. It is also the fastest e-ink device I've ever seen thanks to its fast processor and its more than enough RAM. And then it's its software. Someone would think this is the easy part, you only need to copy the functionality of other ebook readers in the market or some functionality of the numerous tablets with iOS or android in the market. After all this is only an ebook reader/writer so the software can be quite simple. But no, in 2017 the functionality of this ebook is simply unacceptable. I guess this would be true if this was introduced back in 2007 and maybe it could be acceptable back in 1997 (but not 100% sure about that). I knew all its software drawbacks before I purchase this, but it is different when you see it first hand. I don't understand what Sony had in mind before rolling out this. It is a truly amazing piece of hardware, it's a pity Sony doesn't or can't improve the software side. But Sony please if you can't do it, open it up for independent developers so people could have a choice. Everyone shown my Sony ebook would like to buy it, only before they realized what this amazing product can't do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

46

4