Skip to Content
29

4.3 based on 29 customer reviews

16
10
1
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

It Wow'd Me

FDRAX100/B 27/12/2014 by SanLoGent (USA)

Over cautious I always research as much as possible before purchasing anything. This video camera met all of my criteria and exceeded my expectations . Twice I have let independent film producers use this video camera when we were on film location scouting trips and they were very impressed with the size, weight, ease of use and clarity. A very wise purchase decision on my part. No regrets and I highly recommend it.

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No HDMI out in 4K recording

FDRAX100/B 05/08/2015 by majgomboc (USA)

Beautyfull pictutre! Professional ? No. When i recording in 4K resolution sony disable the HDMI output. I can not use external monitor. The focus ring in zoom mode, not smooth....

70

19

29 Customer Reviews

0

Performs excellent.

FDRAX100/B 06/05/2017 by Minister (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did a wedding with it and am very suprised with its IMAGE clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

An amazing machine far beyond prosumer

FDRAX100/B 30/01/2017 by Kelechi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got the camera and on the first use, it is incredibly crisp in color balance and the focus is equal to none in all the Camcorders I have ever used

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sometimes first generation is better...

FDRAX100/B 07/10/2016 by OleCharlieBrown (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I studied the options, there were newer, less expensive models... But reviews indicated that certain features were lost over time and that the BOSS system might not be useful for my work. The only failure my 20 year old TRV720 had was a mechanical failure so the BOSS system was a concern... This older model had a great rating, minimal moving parts, big Zeiss lens system, excellent low light from a large capture surface, 4K and a remote. Doubly happy that it was available in a store.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

No HDMI out in 4K recording

FDRAX100/B 05/08/2015 by majgomboc (USA)

Beautyfull pictutre! Professional ? No. When i recording in 4K resolution sony disable the HDMI output. I can not use external monitor. The focus ring in zoom mode, not smooth....

70

19

Response From Sony Support
05/08/2015

Hi majgomboc,

We're saddened to see that the camcorder failed to meet your expectations. we appreciate the feedback and information you've given us. We will forward this to the right department.

0

Great 4K performance at a reasonable price.

fdrax100b 30/06/2015  (USA)

I've had my AX100 for a couple of months now and have thoroughly been enjoying recording with it. Resolution is amazing and low light, relatively noise free recording, is impressive as well. Be careful when panning and moving camcorder too quickly as rolling shutter effect is unavoidably present and visible. This is a quirk of almost all CMOS sensor consumer camcorders and is somewhat exaggerated by the large 1" 4K sensor. The manual controls and 3 step neutral density filters are just wonderful. Once you understand how to use them, the maximum 30 fps 4K rate can look fabulous. In 4K try to set shutter speed at 1/60 to make motion look smooth. High shutter speeds tend to make 24 and 30 fps recordings look stroboscopic. Unfortunately, the fabulous BOSS stabilization is not available with the camcorder, likely due to the large 1" sensor, so the steady shot is OK but a tripod is recommended if you are zooming to the larger end of the scale. The Active SteadyShot introduces digital stabilization by reducing the active part of the sensor and consequently reduces detail slightly. I prefer standard SteadyShot and a tripod, if necessary. Build quality is great. This is the first Sony camcorder of many I've owned, that is manufactured in China. I've updated the firmware to 3.0 to allow 100mb recording in 4K but I can't really say I've noticed and significant improvement over the 60mb rate. The both look great. Pictures grabbed from 4K videos look surprisingly detailed and sharp. All in all, this is the best camcorder I've ever owned (and I've owned a lot!!).

15

5

0

Great Video Camera

FDRAX100/B 13/05/2015 by mms8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was a little worried about buying this camera as I didn't see any reviews or test videos on youtube of sporting events. The reason I wanted this was to tape my son's soccer matches and develop recruiting videos for colleges. I will tell you the 4K videos are EXCELLENT. The coach was as shocked as I was with the video quality. The only real downside is the massive size of the file in 4K. HD video file size is slightly smaller but you can see the quality difference. Overall I'm glad i purchased this camera.

4

3

Response From Sony Support
13/05/2015

Hi mms8, It's good to know that this unit exceeds your expectations. I will forward your feedback regarding the video size to the proper department.

0

good camcorder

FDRAX100/B 13/05/2015 by koshi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

good camcorder, upgraded from a 1080p hd vixia hg20. this one has a clear resolution that allows me to import the footage into tracking programs to do 3d tracking. the deviation is always quite low and the result is good for 3d tracking and compositing applications where computer graphics and animation are needed. this is probably a good stop over camera before upgrading to a red camera for 8k and beyond.

11

7

Response From Sony Support
13/05/2015

Hi koshi, Thank you for your feedback. It's good to hear that you are enjoying this Sony camera.

0

FDRAX100/B 28/04/2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

2

6

Response From SonySuppport
30/04/2015

Hi CLEME,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for choosing Sony!

0

Best bang for the buck.

FDRAX100/B 11/04/2015 by JTendy (USA)

This is a great piece of gear. Aperture, gain and shutter speed controls at your fingertips. Program AE makes it idiot-proof if you want to hand it to an assistant to use as an extra camera. Variable speed zoom lever, low lux setting makes for great performance in low light, touch screen is precise and f/2.8 seals the deal. WiFi control is a simple setup and allows record on/off, touch focus and zoom. With the optional XLR kit, this is a much better choice for run & gun than XA20. Two small gripes: 1. I searched through menu for 20 minutes for WiFi before I realized system calls it "Ctrl with Smartphone". 2. Closing the flip-out screen turns off the camera unless the eyepiece is pulled out. I would have preferred an on/off switch on the outside of the camera instead of a button under the flip out screen. But I'm so impressed with this camera I'm going to order it's non-4k cousin CX900.

9

0

0

Awesome quality and easy to use

FDRAX100/B 28/12/2014 by cristalclear (USA)

This is a great little 4k jewel. It is super easy to use, the battery lasts forever, and shoots great quality video. Look no further if you want to preserve your memories in 4k and not break your head with settings, though they are there. Expandable memory and features. Good sound too.

8

7

0

Great Camera

FDRAX100/B 28/12/2014 by Johny14 (USA)

Great Camera! 4K is amazing, great indoors in low light. I would recommend this camera to anyone who appreciates great video!

0

16

0

one secret best purchase

FDRAX100/B 27/12/2014 by EdwardO (USA)

Sony created a very serious UHD camcorder for a very good price. In the right hands and with a little knowledge this consumer product reaches deep into prosumer territory! I consider this a secret power tool for most professionals and ambitious filmmakers - used for layouts or second unit or even as first cam for many ideas needing a compact form factor with excellent quality.

8

4

0

It Wow'd Me

FDRAX100/B 27/12/2014 by SanLoGent (USA)

Over cautious I always research as much as possible before purchasing anything. This video camera met all of my criteria and exceeded my expectations . Twice I have let independent film producers use this video camera when we were on film location scouting trips and they were very impressed with the size, weight, ease of use and clarity. A very wise purchase decision on my part. No regrets and I highly recommend it.

10

0

0

My Best Camcorder Ever ,

FDRAX100/B 27/09/2014 by Vishnevsky (USA)

I have Sony 8 mm PRO , Sony Hi 8 , Sony DV - and FDR AX 100 Simple the BEST

4

0

0

Great performance, unbeatable price level

FDRAX100/B 26/09/2014 by SuspendedMoments (USA)

Manual controls and full frame sensor are the BIG deal with this little camera. It's a grab and go for me, compact and inconspicuous in low key situations such as theatre performances or chamber music performances. The lens is super sharp and fast when zoomed out and wide open... razor sharp focus. Though I don't have much demand for 4K, it's a top performer at 1080p as well. Solid build, love the optic automatic cut on and off when looking or not looking through the viewfinder. Diopter is a great function also, so I can fine tune the focus to my own vision. Card that came with is was not fast enough, so had to replace it for full 4k performance/read/write. Also added a larger capacity battery. Solid build, natural feel in hand. Added the Sony Stereo mic and that was a vast audio improvement, though wind noise is still a tad bothersome. Very happy with this camera, it's my favorite video cam without interchangeable lenses. Would definitely recommend it to serious amateurs or low level professional work. You can view video samples on You Tube.... look for it by Model name/number. You'll be impressed.

10

4

0

AWESOME

FDRAX100/B 26/09/2014 by plummervideos (USA)

It is easy to handle,performs very well,works well in-hand,on a dolly slider,on a crane jib,on a shoulder rig and on my flycam. The quality of the video footage is simply awesome,I love it.

1

1

0

Best and only 4K camcorder for 2K

FDRAX100/B 26/09/2014 by 4KGene (USA)

Best video ever, but the stabilization system could be better

0

2

0

Excellent in Detail/ devalued too quickly

FDRAX100/B 26/09/2014 by focusonurbest1 (USA)

I have high expectations in my purchases because I have little to no budget at times and I have to scrap together money to be competitive. Recently, I purchased this camera and filmed in Hawaii with three film production companies. To make a short story short, they had Blackmagic cameras, Canon's and Panasonic GH4 Cameras. Out of all the footages, the AX100 came out the sharpest in detail and the colors were accurate. This was both a pro and con. My footage had to be "dumbed down" because it was so sharp. The wide establishing shots in our film are all from the AX100 and everyone where very impressed. Although this camera has no interchangeable lens options, the zeiss lens gave me a great range of clarity that was better than the other cameras. I shot on a sailboat in slightly rough rolling motion and the stabilizer made a huge difference. I did worry about the occasional ocean spray splash on my camera and hope it doesn't effect the internals. Also, using the wifi monitoring was a joy because everyone below deck could view my shots without being wired like the Canon C300. What I need desperately is a follow focus that would fit my camera. I have tried several rigs and haven't found one to my liking. Maybe someone can suggest one that is not too expensive either. Another observation I worried about was how hot the unit got when shooting under the hot Hawaii sun. It got too hot to hold at time and needed to cool it down for 30 min. It made the production day pretty long. The con: I cannot use my lilliput monitor to the hdmi to see what I'm shooting during recording. Besides watching it on my iPad, I am the cameraman and I need a bigger monitor. Everyone below deck could see but Sony has purposely cut off the video feed in camera. The camera eyepiece is really useless. Please Sony, just remove it. My earlier camera was the NX30 and I had a great lanc remote to control then zoom in/out function. You have to buy another adapter for this camera to use that. kind of sucks to buy more accessories. This comes to my last con. The XLR accessory was $900? So they put it on the new 4k camera but not on my camera. They conveniently put it on my NX30 but not on this camera gets me angry. The 5.1 Dolby is fine on top of the camera but when you need audio through the shotgun mic it would of been a perfect camera for me. Oh, 5.1 Dolby is recorded only in 1080p! At 4k, you will get a 48k file. I will never buy the XLR accessory. I use my iphone6 with a trrs shotgun mic for my recording. BTW, menu is not user friendly. It always resets after you make a selection and it can be 3 deep in the menu to get what you want. As a suggestion to Sony, why don't you make a app to control the camera functions through wifi. Lastly, I bought my camera at full price. within a couple months B&H had it $300 cheaper and started seeing the AX100 on craiglists for as low as $1200. You'd think Sony wouldn't put out the PXW-X70 until later which is the identical camera with all the above features missing. I could of waited but to me it felt like a bait and switch or bait and oh here you could have this now but we won't tell you until you buy it first. ok, so I vented. Overall, its good.

8

5

0

Impressed

fdrax100b 07/09/2014 by nickname2 (USA)

Very impressed so far with the looks and feel. The quality is there... and for a first time owner I'm sure I won't be disappointed. My customer service representative was very helpful in explaining my questions and I'm sure she will be very helpful in the future.

5

1

0

The BEST Hanycam Made So Far

FDRAX100/B 22/07/2014 by RickBennette (USA)

This camcorder is well beyond the needs of most users as it borders on the realm of a pro camera in a small body. Yes, for a home unit, it's large. For a Pro unit, it's small. For video, this thing outperforms any DSLR on the market, including the new 4K DSLRs from the competition, albeit by only a small margin compared to 4K DSLRs. Image quality is tack sharp from corner to corner with absolutely no loss of sharpness and no visible chromatic aberation anywhere in the image. The corners look as crisp as the center. There's also no moire effect when shooting intricate patterns. Details are simply stunning. Even the feathers of birds show every bit of detail in the ribbings. It has a 12x optical zoom, which is darn respectible for a one inch sensor. Digital zoom works flawlessly out to 24x with no visible digital distortion. Beyond 24x the artifacts become visible, and by 160x they make the image useless. The color is rich and lush, but not overly saturated, even in the automatic mode. Skin tones look film like in the correct light. Depth of field is way better than any three chip pro camcorder, but not so shallow that noses look out of focus when the eyes look clear. Everything seems well balanced in the full auto mode. The pro features really shine on this little gem. Every major function like focus, iris, white balance, shutter speed and gain has its own dedicated button on the camera body and is totally independent in its function. They retain their manual settings even when the camera is powered off and back on. Other pro features include video peaking and zebra stripes. XLR inputs are available through an optional adapter that sits in the hot shoe. The eyepiece is so crisp you'll swear you're looking through an optical lens and not at an electronic device. The flip out viewfinder is crisp as well. Low light shots are simply amazing with grain held to a minimum even at 33 dB video gain. At that setting, it sees things brighter than my eyes, and any grain simply is masked when viewing at normal distance from a TV. In good room lighting and obviously outdoors, grain is not even visible in the image. Digital artifacting is barely visible only if you sit too close the TV looking for it. Othewise, you won't see it. The 4K mode looks tack sharp even downsampled on a 2K monitor. The X-AVC 2K mode looks almost as good on a 2K monitor, but lacks that razor sharpness of downconverted 4K. It goes without saying on a 4K monitor, the image is simply breathtaking. Only reality is sharper, and that's only if you have 20-20 vision. Set this thing in Cinema Mode, 24 frames per second at 4K and you'll have an image that will look as crisp and rich in color as an iMax movie. In fact, iMax is 4K. Stills are also very good, approaching the quality level of a mid priced DSLR. 14 megapixel gives the most bang for the buck. The 20 meg setting interpolates more pixels with little added sharpness, so stick to 14. Batteries last a respective 2 hours or more for the small one, four hours for the medium and nearly seven hours for the largest. a 64 GIG card shoots over six hours at the highest AVCHD mode, and over two hours at the 4K mode. The native 4K files import easily into the Sony Vegas editor, even the older version 11. Vegas only outputs the finished project in 2K, however, unless there is some new plugin for that. A quad core machine is enough to handle the high data rate sufficiently to edit 4K on a PC. Bottom line - using this in the full auto mode will get you great video in all regards. Use of the manual controls by a capable user will yield incredible results usable in any feature documentary.

71

1

0

Excellent video

FDRAX100/B 21/07/2014 by Geneo157 (USA)

I have owned the camera since March and have produced some stunning videos. However I have a problem with the OLED EVF, its brightness is so low that it is unusable in bright sunshine. Two other EVF cameras I own have at least double the brightness. I also found the complaint on websites dedicated to this camera. The video certainly rates 5 stars but for the EVF

8

2

0

First day with the FDR-AX100

FDRAX100/B 03/04/2014 by arondene (USA)

So far so good, everything is a go, no problem of sd card. I got an ADATA Premier Pro sdxc 64gb (95 read/45 write). And it was recognized without problem.

16

4

0

DISAPPOINTED in XAVC-S Card Problems

FDRAX100/B 27/03/2014 by SonicJ (USA)

I like the way the camera feels in my hands, and most operations are fairly easy to change on the fly. But, Why Oh Why sill an 80 MBps EXTREME 1 Type 10 SanDisk 32 Gig Memory Card not work in XAVC mode?? This is the fastest card I have right now. On Page 12 of the so-called manual it says you can do 4k at 60 MBps. I have reformatted the card in the camera and still no go. XAVC-S HD says it works at 50 MBps, but again, no go. Does the camera only like Sony Media?? Prior to owning this, I had tried a Sony RX 10, and the video quality was great. But, there was some lens wobble due to the way Sony has set up the servos on the lens. If/When I get this working, I will get back. But for now, two Stars and that's about $1000/star........

23

16

0

I'm Very Disappointed in Sony

FDRAX100/B 24/03/2014 by HorseMoney (USA)

I've had this camcorder in my hands for 4 days now. First off Sony didn't have the weight of this camcorder listed in their specifications when I first pre ordered the camera several weeks ago. It's way too large and heavy for my small hands. Second I was very disappointed in the image stabilization, I was hoping it would be at least as good as my PJ-650's, it's not, it's about on an equal with my old Panasonic. On active mode it bounces around quite a bit before it settles down. The image quality is wonderful, however they don't tell you that you can't edit 4k video with Play Memories Home. When you first start the camcorder it tells you to go to Sony.net/PM to download the software. After you shoot the video in 4k and can't edit it on PM. I contacted Sony online support and they told me that I have to buy Sony Vegas Pro 12. I like Vegas but it's rendering is too slow for the number of videos I turn out.

64

16

0

Appears to be DOA

FDRAX100/B 23/03/2014 by DVCinLV (USA)

16GB Class 10 95MBps Sandisk Extreme Pro -- AX100 reports it cannot support XAVC S. The blinking NO CARD indicator is on. Brand new card from BB! Will, however, support AVCHD. 32GB Class 10 30MBps Sandisk Ultra -- AX100 reports it can not support XAVC S. The blinking NO CARD indicator is on. Brand new card from BB! Will support AVCHD as will an old Class 6 card. The error reports are constant. One after the other.

16

16

0

Proud owner

FDRAX100/B 21/03/2014 by eugene157 (USA)

Did a few test videos, results better than expected . I edit with Power Director 12. It was awesome to watch the video on a Sony 4K TV. Test pattern I use says 1800 lines resolution PPH. This reminded me of the HC-1 I bought in 2005, same wow factor! Good compromise in performance vs cost ratio.

12

1

0

camera is pretty awesome

FDRAX100/B 17/02/2014 by adeem (USA)

This camcorder is brilliant in the sense it has so many tremendous features its 4k video capable equipped with 20 mp still camera along side. A professional film maker i think wont go to shoot his film with this cam but still one can make a hit with camcorder . for immature film makesr like us it is definitely a power tool and a good way to enjoy the 4k fruits .Sony should make a slightly cheaper 4k cam for immature film makers and for film students .

9

14

0

I believe it will be an EXCELLENT camera.

FDRAX100/B 16/02/2014 by Batas151 (USA)

The only thing that I can add is this: If there's a AX100 with all the features and a CX900 without 4K, there should be a BX*00 without Wi-Fi. Cause it is a good feature to have, but a lot of people, like myself don't really need it and it's just adding up to the price. :) Please, SONY, be awesome and make this happen :)

8

19

0

INCREDIBLE for some apps, falls short for others?

FDRAX100/B 14/01/2014 by RedRob (USA)

Well -- this camera isn't out yet, but reading the specs and looking at the images, here are my first impressions: This looks like a promising camera, possibly with some usability limitations that make it *excellent* for some applications, but lesser for others. Some PROS: - If it's really got a 1" sensor that's pretty huge for this format camera.. I've not seen that before, and it'd be very likely to handle low light VERY well. - The 120 fps option can be nice for slow-motion capturing which is an increasing trend and can create gorgeous imagery - I am intrigued by cameras with WiFi controllability; throw this baby onto a remote pan/tilt head and control zoom wirelessly and it's a decent unstaffed B-cam (I wonder if it can send decent video image wirelessly??). - I have no idea what "golf shot" mode is, but the name is curious indeed! - Happy to see it has zebra bars Some QUESTIONS: Looking at the images, it seems the controls haven't been well thought out for optimum usability, and I'm left with questions.... - Only one ring which doubles as zoom/focus depending on a toggle switch; I have that on my smaller form-factor JVC and really dislike it. I want to have three control rings (iris/zoom/focus) on my cameras. The thumb-dial MAY be able to control iris, so together with the ring as zoom this could work IF auto-focus works well on this camera (TBD). The ol' PD170 was setup like that (thumb-dial to adjust iris) and it worked very well actually. If the thumb wheel can auto-gain after the iris is all the way open (like the Z5U and FX7's "exposure" mode) then this won't be much of a problem, although it'd still be nice to have dedicated focus and zoom rings - Putting the HDMI and headphone jacks on the left just behind mission-critical controls to adjust shutter speed and gain seems like a BAD design; if you're sending output to a live switch via the miniHDMI that'll make getting to those controls difficult and increase chances of inadvertently pulling out the cable.. yikes! - I see the iris/gain/shutter buttons, but no wheel to change values?! Or maybe pressing those buttons toggles auto/manual and whichever one is selected is worked by the thumb-wheel? - I'm glad to see all the different options for "quality mode"... it'll be good to know the actual bitrate on the CODECs available, to get an idea of how good the saved image will be and how large the files will be (e.g. record time) - 12x zoom is OK.. 20x would be nicer. With SONY's ability to get 50x zoom on their handheld super-zoom still cams, why aren't they putting that technology into camcorders too? - Want to know SD card implementation.. is it single card or hot-swappable dual-card implementation? Although it looks like single memory card, it also says "dual video recording" is a feature - Does the A/V out (via the optional cable) still work when HDMI is being used? On two other cams I tested, when HDMI (digital output) was used, the analog output ports were disabled.

67

41